Additional RM3.3 billion required for backlogged maintenance of federal roads – works minister

A further RM3.3 billion will be needed to resolve the backlog of maintenance works required for federal roads, according to works minister Datuk Seri Alexander Nanta Linggi, The Star reported.

This sum of money would be put towards maintaining 3,821.03 km of the nation’s federal roads, and this includes pothole repairs, the works minister said, adding that the sum of money is in addition to the RM3.3 billion that had been used for the same purpose in the period from 2018 to 2023.

“The allocation given during this period has still not been able to solve the problem of damaged roads as a whole. The deterioration has been caused by increasing traffic nationwide as well as overloaded heavy vehicles,” Nanta said.

This was during a Dewan Rakyat session in response to a question by Hulu Selangor member of parliament Mohd Hasnizan Harun, regarding the ministry’s efforts in overcoming the constant issue of road repair work throughout the country.

The works minister added that new “speciality mixes” are being used for road repairs, and these mixes had been developed between the ministry and private companies. These consist of crumb rubber modified asphalt, super fibre mix, and fibre mastic asphalt, among others.

Plants which manufacture the materials have been audited by the works ministry, according to Nanta. “This is to ensure that the quality of the materials used for these mixes and the mixes themselves match the ministry’s preset requirements and standards for road repair,” the minister said.

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• Peppa on Mar 14, 2024 at 4:20 pm

This madani needs to stfu and just do their job!! Cakap lebih tapi kerja lembab gila

• Lets See on Mar 15, 2024 at 11:05 am

Haha wat. They ady gave up responsibility as Gomen in fixing the road and want rakyat to do their jobs now
      https://paultan.org/2023/06/02/government-will-soon-allow-public-to-apply-for-small-budgets-to-fix-potholes-clogged-drains-rafizi-ramli/

High time to replace them all with a competent Gomen.

• Peppa on Mar 15, 2024 at 11:48 am

But right now we don’t any competent party to replace them sadly

• Casual reader on Mar 15, 2024 at 10:02 pm

We had one that was running fine for 60 years. Its too late to bring him back and make him PM again.

• Gomorrah on Mar 19, 2024 at 9:24 pm

Running fine? Running fine? Where we ditched our agricultural independence to syiok sendiri making tin can cars? Are you kidding me? Your proton/perodua can feed your kids at a reasonable price issit?

• Rakyat Malaysia on Mar 21, 2024 at 5:49 pm

We had a functional long serving Gomen, an economy that was going up, rakyat had jobs, rakyat had money in bank, we no need raid our EPF money, inflation was low, USD $1 was only RM2.50 unlike today RM 4.70, we had no complaints on subsidising rakyats, we had everything but thanks to PH we threw away everything and left with shit.

• Huuva on Mar 14, 2024 at 4:56 pm

this has just amplified the Risk Level of @ Malaysian’s Road.

• Squid on Mar 15, 2024 at 8:24 am

RM3.3 billion is not much at all. There are 15 million cars & commercial vehicles on the road. It’s only RM200 per vehicle.

• PeeEmX on Mar 15, 2024 at 9:13 am

instead of giving free tolls every festive season, use the money to fix the road la. otak tak boleh fikir ka

• pandaicakapbolehmenang on Mar 15, 2024 at 11:43 am

the more articles like this pops up the more i get upset. please paultan dont make my heart pain.

We all know the lack of funds is due to tax collection shortfall of 15bn a year. cannot collect from business, collect from rakyat.

only in malaysia pandai cakap boleh menang, pandai buat kena kutuk, maki, caci, aib sampai x habis.

No wonder the talented individuals stay out of the gov. Respect to the competent that go through this on a daily basis only to be ousted at the end of the day.

• Casual reader on Mar 15, 2024 at 10:05 pm

60 years of competent government got replaced by lies. Well the rakyat has to live with it unless we bring them back make him PM again.