Automatic conversion for the Malaysian B2 (below 250 cc) motorcycle licence to the B Full (unlimited capacity) will begin October 1, 2024. This was announced by Malaysian Minister of Transport (MOT) Anthony Loke during a press conference and applies to current holders of the B2 and B1 motorcycle licence, with conditions.
Cost of the conversion is RM160 as service charge at any accredited driving institute. The course will consist of a practical test, information on safe riding and how to handle a large capacity motorcycle with a Qualified Training Officer (QTO) at the driving institute being the final determinant of a candidate’s competency.
Candidates undergoing the conversion need to have a clean licence with no blacklist, unpaid summons, business restriction or any outstanding cases under Act 333 of the Road Transport Act 1987. “This conversion course is important to ensure the ability and competency of any person wanting to ride a large capacity motorcycle as well as their safety,” said Loke.
According to Loke, the individual must have held the B2 or B1 motorcycle continuously for the last 10 years at a minimum. Additionally, the individual should also make a self declaration they are physically and mentally fit to ride a motorcycle in the B licence class.
Additionally, the B1 motorcycle licence will be folded in the B licence. “Beginning October 1, there will no longer be a B1 licence offered by the Road Transport Department (JPJ),” said Loke.
Current holders of the B1 licence may choose to remain in that licence category or convert their licence to B by attending the course. Loke added this was because the number of applicants for the B1 licence decreased over the years with most opting to apply directly for a B licence.
need to wait 10 years… LOL… so those who got their license at age 16 and now age 26 can a superbike.
1st thing 1st
They must learn
Not to beat traffic lights
Not to ride against traffic
Use bike lane only on hway
Also, pay your bike’s insurance
What’s your point? Any 16 years old now can take B license straightaway if they want to. It has been like this for ages.
dude is quite famous for yappin nonsense on PT
You’re getting it bud..
Wahhhh. Grab and foodpanda now can deliver food faster. Also, more people can opt for B full, so no excuse to be late for work.
Lmao if they can afford Superbike, they won’t be working on Grab/FP
Got B full licence don’t means that they must have superbike, as Grab food rider how much they can earn her trip? That kind of money enough to maintain the superbike and fuel consumption?
This country wants to go backwards so badly, racing to beat Pakistan kot lol
JPJ says RM160. Later driving institute charge RM160 + admin fee + facility fee + macam macam fee = something RM700-800 with 90% you may get it. 10% nasib.
One time 700-800 compared to expensive maintenance on high cc bikes. Don’t forget rotek, insurance are more expensive too
This means “Automatic upgrade to B FULL”
macam beli motor la .
harga dicadangkan jenama Y/H ini ini.
datang kedai lain harga .
So are we able to hold motorcyclists responsible for accidents they caused and claim their insurance? Or is it still like the current motorcycle > everyone else on the road terms?
Many motorcyclist presumed has deity protection or immunity to death or serious injuries Common sighting motorcyclist not wearing helmet around rural and squatters road but now also common to see non wearing helmet motorcyclist with pillion rider around Mutiara Damansara area roads.
Thank you Wak Zahid.
What is the point of this while you can sign up for B license, pass the test questions exam and ride big bike with your L sticker even before you get your first riding class?
The problem lies at the enforcement. If everyday got roadblocks and flying helicopters to catch speeding vehicle then increase summon price increase 10 times.
Those didn’t pay summon for more than 3 months will get ROTAN and imprisonment up to 10 years.
Then majority of the people will follow the rules.
Rotan ≠ Sebatan
Not gonna work when the gomen is desperate for money
Does it make sense for the abah-abah to take a practical test on a 500cc bike when he only wants to ride a 350cc scooter untuk bersantai santai with his better half. There shd be special exemption for scooters up to 500cc.
“Additionally, the individual should also make a self declaration they are physically and mentally fit to ride a motorcycle in the B licence class.”
all those teeanagers and athletes cases of dropping dead… after get B2, buy superbike and while riding they drop dead…how?
Cost of the conversion is RM160… convert also need to pay… jilaka haram jadah punya antony loke
Auto upgrade must put “A” sticker front n back for life.
real question here , the price is confirm RM160 or driving institute gonna have extra charges according to their own policy?
After 10 years pay RM160 should be good , if cannot wait just get in class again and get B full
From what I understand, it is misleading to call this a conversion. The fee is 172rgt after service tax. After a 2 -hours instruction, you undergo the test under a JPJ officer. The test is said to be identical to the previous test. You flunk, you pay 172rgt and have another go. What has changed after all the hooha and waiting?!
It’s not auto. Loke said this himself during the PC. It’s an easier path to B full provided you have held B2 for 10 continuous years. Easier path means, a single day 2 hours practical followed by assessment by JPJ officer. Plus payment is only RM160 max (versus rm400 to 500 for normal B2 to B full upgrade via existing course.) Those who can’t wait for 10y, can still do the normal course also.
upgrade B2 to B full not RM400/500 bro..minimum RM900 upgrade only.haizz
Depends on location I guess. I did it in Kulim for RM530, 2 years ago. Another friend did it 2 months ago for RM450. B2 to B Full.
It’s not assessment but rather a full test. That’s why it should not be calla conversion but rather a proper tests.
Kapchai riders transitioning to big bikes? If will be a disaster. Their mental attitude is all wrong and breaking rules are the norm for them, and in a big bike, the issue is gonna be compounded.
Same bad attitude, more dangerous weapon…
Remove the “Auto” word. This is more like “Upgrade” eligibility.
This is acceptable. 10 years of clean riding followed by practical testing to get a B full. This massive discount is good incentive for safe riding.
Just keep the price RM160 NETT.
Things that could happen;
1.Number of upgrade wont be significant. Of course there will be some that enjoy the feeling of owning B full license but ride a marhaen bike.
2.Sale of big bike will increase by a bit but will taper off immediately.
3.Big bike theft might increase. Its because not many can afford to buy and keep a big bike running.
I would say the terms and conditions is still unfair. I hv B2 experiences for nearly 30 years with totally non traffics summons, blacklisted and etc as mentioned in requirements. Healthy and fit but unfortunately I lapsed only once just a couple of years ago. I was not entitled for applying B full RM160. People can clear their unpaid summons. Why those who only missed once with totally clean record can’t apply? I usually renew my licence every 3 or 5 years. One lapse = not eligible.
The minister in his PC announced it as an easier path. This easier path (not accurate to label it as a conversion) is more for those who have been riding the big bikes for some time.
It would have been better to offer a scheme where qualified riders are offered a course of a stated number of hours, after which they can qualify for an automatic conversion.
Cost involved:
RM 172 (2 hours training + JPJ Test in the same day)
RM 25 (JPJ fee to convert B2 to B after 3 working days of passing JPJ Test)