Auto upgrade of B2 to B Full licence – announcement to be made soon says Malaysian Transport Minster

An announcement will be made soon regarding the automatic upgrade of the Malaysian B2 (below 250 cc) motorcycle licence to B Full (unlimited capacity). This was said by Malaysian Minister of Transport Anthony Loke during a site visit of the Light Rapid Transport 3 stationing Padang Jawa, Klang.

“A decision has been made (regarding the upgrade from B2 to B Full) but I will be announcing it later, not today,” said Loke when speaking to reporters. In an Utusan Melayu report, Loke referred to a proposal made by Deputy Prime Minister Datuk Seri Ahmad Zahid Hamidi.

Zahid had earlier suggested the Malaysian motorcycle B2 licence should receive an automatic upgrade to the unlimited class after a certain number of years because the rider would have acquired sufficient riding experience. The proposal by Zahid was forwarded to the Ministry of Transport for consideration.

The proposal was first reported in August 2022, from a proposal submitted by Superbikers Association Malaysia (SAM) president Datuk Abdul Halim Sulaiman to Zahid for an automatic licence upgrade after three years on the proviso the rider has a clean record.

Zahid said he did not see a problem in implementing the proposal as “it is an administrative issue only.” “I don’t think they need to go for another driving test because they are experienced riders and I also do not see the need to impose strict conditions,” said Zahid.

Coming with diverse and extensive experience in heavy engineering, Mohan enjoys making anything with wheels go fast, especially motorcycles. His weapon of choice is the Desmoquattro engine, and he has a penchant for anything with a dash of Italian design. Strangely enough, he insists he's a slow rider.

• Other country has motorcycle license by cc category. I’m not against this, but high powered motorcycles are uncontrollable if you jump from 250cc to > 600cc. Scrap the B2 and B full license. Create a category (eg. B1 from 0-250, B2 from 251-500, B3 from 501-700, B4 > 700). Implement again merit points for riders who behave so that they are eligible to earn for the upgrade by stages. This zahid has no common sense by saying like that. Motorcycle accidents are a com here.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 40
    • We already have B2 (less then 250 cc), B1 251 – 500 cc) and B Full (501 cc above).

• madanon on Jul 30, 2024 at 1:50 pm

sama macam kereta la. in class you training guna axia. after dapat license you can drive lambo kan,

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 3
    • Motorcycle Enthusiast on Jul 30, 2024 at 3:27 pm

Other countries (EU) have motorcycle license based on horsepower. That one makes much more sense.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
    • Ah Chong on Jul 31, 2024 at 10:12 am

CC is almost meaningless. It should be classed by power to weight ratio. Similar to European licensing but maybe modify them to suit Malaysian road.

If anything it should be like:
      B2 = not fast, cannot remit, but can get to work or go to Pasar.
      B1 = Auto upgrade after x number of B2 and no offenses. Big enough to ride mid size sport touring or those low powered modern classics or cruisers.
      B = 150HP+ superbikes or sport tourer, need special training and license to make sure you okay.

• B2 should allowed max 500cc, more than that should required BFull.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 1
  • Rider Driver on Jul 30, 2024 at 1:42 pm

“Experienced” rider? How many of these “experienced” underbone/kapcai riders uses front brake to perform evasive manoeuvre or emergency brake? Most of them used 100% rear braking till the tyre locked and skid which was a huge mistake. If “eye positioning”, “body positioning”, “foot positioning”, counter-steer, counter-lean and trail-braking is inclusive in driving license syllabus, then I don’t mind for the auto upgrade. To be honest, big bikes (600 cc and above) requires a lot of skills and self-restraint to be riden safely and responsibly.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 2
  • Superbike on Jul 30, 2024 at 2:12 pm

Imagine bunch of superbike ignoring the motorcycle lane on Federal Highway…

• to those comments here. people are already driving BIG CC bikes without full B license.. nothing weird. also, giving them full B doesnt mean they have the money to buy/maintain/upgrade those bike for race. the ones with big bikes, sayang bikes and life. the most they do is convoy trips. not rempit ok.. so giving a full B from B2. i totally support.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 9
  • You guys tak faham. Given time with lower CC, with clean record, then only can upgrade. Maybe by stages. Maturity comes with age. If golongan kaya, at the age of 18 bleh ambik lesen cause they got money. I have been through this B full test. It is almost exactly the same test, only with heavier, powerful bike. It doesn’t teach you how to handle more powerful bike or raise your common sense on danger while riding. Experience does. Faham!?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 4
  • Ngapain Ngobrol Gituan on Jul 30, 2024 at 3:07 pm

I do not think the government will announce it in this year, which is in 2024. As I can understand, when the statement says “but I will be announcing it later, not today”, that “later” refers to sometimes in the far future, and that “not today” refers to sometimes in the further future beyond future. Never trust politicians’ words for words. They are good at tongue-twisting. What you heard today will definitely be the opposite by the next hour, or even minutes. Finally, when it’s time to announce the decision, then the statement will appear “after so much time spent on debating the issue, we have come to the conclusion that the idea to upgrade is impossible to be approved due to bla bla bla bla…”. Don’t worry, it has been expected. Trust me… it is what it is.

• Don Green on Jul 30, 2024 at 4:48 pm

Graveyard diggers gonna have lots of orders soon, thanks Zahid and Anthony!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 8
    • Anyway not many can afford the big bike.
      And so far , this is the best decision Zahid have ever made.

• Dunno what 7 u say on Jul 30, 2024 at 6:12 pm

I don’t think these clowns know how to ride a motorcycle. Make sure u vote for them ya. Sohai

• Ram Into The Pit on Jul 30, 2024 at 7:33 pm

What license? I don’t need one.

• Not a good idea to introduce & add more “risks” of accidents happening in MY roads & highways.

These bikes are heavy & powerful, not like Kapcai at all.

Good for all bikers but BAD for the public road users/pedestrian & Rakyat/

-Do they able to maintenance of those powerful & expensive big bikes to be road worthy?

-Bang, pinjam your Ninja ZX-10R kejap, nak pi kedai depan tu beli rokok saja!
    -Or ZX-10R owner not around, so I naik jalan jalan saja.
    -Our highway will become race track where bikes criss-cross vehicles easily at >200km/h.

My next vote will not for Zahid or Loke (I already do not agree with the dark window tint)

• Muthu theva on Jul 30, 2024 at 8:20 pm

We should appreciate this new Madani Government ,as they were considering on rakyat needs. Such as previous government whom were 60years in countries oldest government didn’t consider all this factor’s.
    Rakyat were made parpet and all rakyat’s needs and request were just ignored. Every each rakyat should appreciate and thank the good work as government were setting up

Only our law ministers should review entire Labour law and civil laws act .as this to ensure all this ammended law act should be aligned with current situation. Most of our law still outdated since from year 1954, which now we were in 21st century.
    Hope necessary measurements were carried out

Thank you

• Masterpiece_78 on Jul 30, 2024 at 8:37 pm

Adil ke…? Kami yang ada lesan B Full ni bayar mahal nak upgrade B2 ke B Full.., korban cuti, korban masa nak belajar, belajar L balik sebab L dah expired dulu, Motorsikal kecil dgn motorsikal besar banyak beza nya, kena kerajaan yg ada ni senang betul bagi tukar dgn percuma je.. Hampehhh…! Bayar balik la kami yang ambik mahal-mahal bayaran lesen B Full yang sedia ada ni.., Buat lawak betul Komidi ni.. Senang mudah aje..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
  • I still waiting it then upgrade, yahoo ~

• Champion on Jul 30, 2024 at 9:12 pm

Idiot policy, please do something useful

• Frankc on Jul 31, 2024 at 7:26 am

Tak ramai mampu biayai motor lebih 650cc. Mungkin ini membuka peluang untuk Naik tsraf 250cc ke 380-400cc.motosikal Dalam lingkungan cc ini lebih murah. Mungkin ini akan menarik perhatian penunggang ygvdgn lesen b1 Dan B2 untuk mencuba activity biking.. ride on.

• Uncommon Sense on Jul 31, 2024 at 10:31 am

From comments here, i think it is the right time to implement separate license for cars also. Do you expect the skill from driving axia in driving school is enough for you to drive higher cc and hp car? And size also. Imagine the skill driving suv/pickup truck against small car like axia. No wonder so many stupid drivers on Malaysian road!

• Tommy Hng on Jul 31, 2024 at 11:57 am

Auto upgrade??? I want to know what our beloved minister is taking. . As a retired (70 years old) super biker who started with a Suzuki cub for many years before taking a full B license, it’s surely not a given. I started with a Kawa 550 and then upgraded to a Suzuki 1100R. There are skill sets and strength in not only riding but pushing and parking. If the minister wants to auto upgrade, the blood and death of the riders and other innocent victims will forever be with him. A superbike bike school lesson is mandatory, IMHO.

• NuTDaVe on Jul 31, 2024 at 12:16 pm

Aku ingat lagi masa muda2 dulu, upgrade scooter 150 to 250 pon goyang. Blom dapat adjust power tu… langgar kreta. LoL!! But I was lucky, no major injuries nor damage. So lepas tu baru la da tau perbezaan dia. Pastu amik moto lagi tinggi CC da tau la x leh pulas mcm masa 150. Cuba bayangkan kalo aku teruih upgrade dari 150 ke scooter maxim yang power2. Itu baru scooter, yang SPB tak yah cakap la kot?

• TripleY21 on Jul 31, 2024 at 1:13 pm

Beli Undi Saja

• Imo, saya setuju dgn auto upgrade B2. Saya juga tdk setuju auto upgrade B2 ke B full. Kita kena lihat kesan atau impak jangka masa panjang. Lebih sesuai jika auto upgrade dilaksana secara berperingkat.

Mula: B2
    Selepas 3thn: B2 ke B1
    Selepas 3thn: B1 ke B full

Kalau kerajaan ingin bantu kurangkan beban rakyat, dicadangkan hapuskan sistem renew lesen memandu. Tapi teruskan sistem renew roadtax. Jadi, rakyat tak perlu renew lesen setiap thn. Bukan kah cadangan ni lebih bermakna.

• I think B2 to B1 upgrade can be auto after a years. But B1 to Bfull should require special training, and I don’t mean the current “training” we have, which is just running the same JPJ course with bigger bikes. I mean actual training course meant to teach riders to properly handle big bikes.

• Hmmmm on Jul 31, 2024 at 10:35 pm

Those whom said there will be more rempit2, bla2, are talking nonsense. Lets face it, only those whom are rich enough can afford and keep a big bike running. Most of existing B2 riders maxxing their lesen cant even properly maintain a 250cc bike if they ride on a daily basis.

Why make noise abt this?
    A lesen P holder can drive a supercar right after they got their lesen right? Then again, not all are lucky enough to do that. I am happy if this go through as i love riding but will i get a big bike? Nope, i just dont need them even during weekend.

Tons of experience is useless if a rider does not know the equipment limits and most of all their own limit. Same applies to car driver.

I frequently swap between a proper 4×4, a van, a B sedan, C sedan, D sedan, and a kapchai. Knowing the limit of each vehicles keep me safe till today.

• B2 to B full is good …. 1. Please check the price Moto above 500cc and service how much 2. How much income can get what range Moto and service 3 .. what education the person who buy this Moto and what range ….before talk

• Perlisian on Aug 01, 2024 at 11:03 am

B full auto upgrade? I not against this idea since from my experince, the test is almost the same.

But gov need to make sure refund my money paying for B full license and for all Malaysian with B full license.

Another option, charge them RM1k-1.5k to upgrade the B full. Not auto upgrade. This way gov can generate more money, and can give back to the rakyat, eh?

• Penggali kubur kena keje overtime la jwbnye lepas ni…

• Parjo on Aug 01, 2024 at 8:14 pm

Siapa yang dah ada B2 lebih 10 tahun tanpa ada kesalahan kalau auto upgrade to B full Aku setuju