JPJ told to take immediate action to improve its level of service, cut down on waiting time for customers

The road transport department (JPJ) has been instructed to improve its services and cut down on the lengthy waiting time for customers. The call was made by the chief secretary to the government (KSN), Datuk Shamsul Azri Abu Bakar, following a surprise visit to the JPJ headquarters in Putrajaya yesterday.

In a Facebook post, Shamsul said he found the work process and the waiting time for customers to be quite lengthy. “Therefore, I have instructed the secretary-general of the transport ministry and the JPJ director-general to find a suitable method to reduce waiting times,” he wrote.

He added that the waiting area (of the Putrajaya office) needs to be improved so as to be more conducive and customer-friendly, as there were broken chairs and a lack of fans. Shansul said he had instructed that action be taken immediately within a week.

He said that the surprise visit to inspect the JPJ office was to see how its operations and services were faring following the department’s move to extend counter operating hours by an hour in selected states, starting from August 19.

In his post, Shamsul expressed his gratitude to JPJ staff for their hard work in delivering service to customers, and urged all government departments to ensure that they offered the best possible service to the public.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Sohai on Sep 04, 2024 at 11:35 am

The whole system is rotten. If you go to JPJ, you will likely experience the normal walk-in people sitting there waiting for long time as the number flow doesn’t really move.
    But at the same time you see the JPJ officers are all busy serving people with a runner standing next to them. Semua potong que.
    You have to assume that this practice is condoned by the very top in the Jpj office. Don’t tell me they don’t realize this is happening.
    So when a statement like the above say they want to “improve service level”, is like rubbing salt on wound.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 2
    • Laziness...A clear and present danger on Sep 04, 2024 at 7:54 pm

The whole damn system is rotting to the core.
      Why the last Sec to govt didnt see the rot in Putrajaya?
      Now this new Sec is proactive,at least doing something.
      Runners have a field day at puspakoms and JPJ..unless u r blind,u cant see them.
      If PMX and Co,make a surprise visit..he might faint..looking at the long queues.
      Time to freeze the pay hikes to these dudes.They dont deserve it.Better still,remove the lazy ones from the pension scheme.

• Just@ice on Sep 05, 2024 at 7:10 am

The system is corrupted and experience were worst, even the customer service have bad attitude. Not all are friendly and most of them are rude… JPJ @ Anthony Loke take notes

• Agents gang at JPJ on Sep 05, 2024 at 8:28 am

Agents can jump queue and walk direct to counters. Dont believe? Go JPJ KL and check it out.

• hahaha… macamlah tak biasa

• Peppa on Sep 04, 2024 at 12:51 pm

He is doing better job than anthony loke whose only know to sell number plates

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 8
  • Kea Was on Sep 04, 2024 at 1:07 pm

Solution very easy just add more workers because my cronies, family & friends all want to join the endless tax payers sponsor guaranteed no fired job and most of all get much increment too.

• Lazy,Lazy,Lazy..is it a norm or easy way out on Sep 04, 2024 at 1:24 pm

After PMX have given them a generous pay hike,apart from small bonuses every year,it is unacceptable for this shit to continue.
    Mind you,there r thousands of Msians laid off like those from Goodyear and others downsizing,here we have the besok lusa type ,somemore aiming for future pencen.
    At 1.5 juta or more civil servants, we can easily walk over the PLA of China,without weapons.
    PMX..the pay raise is for the hardworking.Those that the someone describe as “lazy”,why keep them? Retrench them,pay them off..you cut down on the ballooning pencen,let them apply private companies.Then,baru insaf how hard to cari makan.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 4
    • you must be kidding, they have a large union behind backing them, no PM dare to touch government servants or else the union will make all government servants vote against the government.

• 24/7 Self Service Kiosk on Sep 04, 2024 at 1:33 pm

Open up the self service kiosk on 24/7 service can at least serving half of the customers. Instead of running them as per normal government office working hours, the machines are occupied by runners or not in service all the time during office hours!

• david on Sep 04, 2024 at 3:50 pm

sembang kari

• Lim Heng Cheng on Sep 04, 2024 at 3:52 pm

Today 4 Sep 24, only 2 counters is open. Maybe should do another surprise check, or axe some heads

• Ho chee guan on Sep 05, 2024 at 12:11 am

All our MP must take turn to do spot check forever then we can see the changes.

• Panjang on Sep 04, 2024 at 3:57 pm

Wonder what happened these few years.When i was younger and working with a local bank i will use JPJ and Public bank as reference on good and efficient over the counter service. During that period, JPN was the worst.Now JPN took over JPJ by a lot.

• Pendatangnonmauapa on Sep 04, 2024 at 4:32 pm

The reason why JPJ waiting time is long is because the civil servants in JPJ is making money off it. Let’s make the waiting long so customers will pay the “ulat” waiting outside to be the runners for them. And the civil servants took a cut from it. This has been happening in broad daylight for years. Just go to JPJ, park your car and walk towards the front door you will be approached by multiple “ulat” even before you could reach the front door.

One other shameless practice is if you arrived 1 hour before closing time, the abang security will use his leg “terkangkang” in front of you blocking you from entering the office and tell you to datang lagi esok. Absolutely rude and classless. Also absolutely befitting the image of spoilt civil servants.

• you mei you on Sep 04, 2024 at 4:38 pm

same same no difference oso. still wait 2 – 3 hours.

2024 still work like 1980s

• uj_unny on Sep 04, 2024 at 5:19 pm

JPJ please dont issue driving licence for foreign worker categories such as construction workers, factory workers, labourer and other low labour categories, these low level foreign workers misuse driving licence to start illegal small business and they are likely to corrupt our Malaysian law enforcement officers. Without this JPJ driving licence, they wont be able to easily move about, transport their goods, their people and start their illegal business. JPJ should restrict driving licence only for foreign professional work permit holders like doctors and engineers

• Minjay on Sep 04, 2024 at 6:56 pm

Naik gaji naik taraf

• Dahlan on Sep 04, 2024 at 9:38 pm

If you go to JPJ Melaka main office. You can see the diffrent.Customer Service is 100 percent excellent..better and best then Antony Loke..number is working very2 well..what the heck you all comment a bad service? Perhap your document is not in order..

• Frankc on Sep 04, 2024 at 10:34 pm

My experience with JPJ counter staff in Batu uban office Penang, have been very good. But there’s one area to look into is, we were made to queue outside the building.. tepi longkang pulak Tu.. during their lunch break and queue to get to front desk.
    The staff took effort to pre instructed us to download and prepare our hp to scan qr code at front desk for queue number
    That’s the longest wait. Beyond that 5 mins is all I need to get counter work done. Awesome

• Fed Up on Sep 05, 2024 at 3:23 am

Gone to JPJ Bandar Permaisuri last month to renew my company car’s roadtax.Ground floor self-service Kiosks only two out of three is working BUT both also cannot pay roadtax, only reprint registration certificate.
    Was told must go up to level 2 for counter service to pay.

Cannot pay company car roadtax at post office nor through any third party e-Govt service providers like MyEG or BJAK, unlike before. MyJPJ app can only renew private vehicles roadtax. So must physically pay a visit to a JPJ branch.
    What kind of govt e-transformation is this?

Used JPJeQ scanned a QR token and queue was nearing 50 customers awaiting with estimated time of waiting of almost 2 hours.

Noticed availability of perhaps 13 counters but only 5 staff manning OPEN counters. Out of these five, one chap was busy playing handphone while another was occupied tinkering with her dot matrix printer, so only three counters were actively serving customers.
    Snail pace of clearing the crowd left many at their mercy, grudgingly waiting for their turns.

PMX, your pay hike seemed to have not motivated your “hardworking” civil servants with much success…no?
    Anthony Loke, don’t just visit KLIA to check the Aerotrain progress, ride the MRT train & spot check on MRT stations, DO hurry up to make surprise visits to JPJ branches please!!!

• How you know Loki is not a “willing party” in this rotten system?
      KLIA and MRT have little opportunities for corrupt practices, not the same in JPJ wei.

• Dont bother ask on Sep 05, 2024 at 11:55 am

Is already 2024, wake up! no improvement since 2010? It has been like this all the time, if u want fast, i have to pay more for the service. Everything is corrupted. Soon this country will be 3rd world country

• Xavier on Sep 05, 2024 at 9:47 pm

Get Malaysia to employ Singapore AXS and automate 90% of the admin. You can do everything administratively on your mobile phone.

It is so sad to see laziness, corruption and low wages for my neighbour country up North.

Take Action….Malaysia can be so much better!!

• Lagi sohai on Sep 06, 2024 at 6:54 am

What the hell that now only realised the JPJ waiting time is lenghty? Meaning to say you are so many years not in working mode to supervise is it ? Idiot brain to say idiot things …