The transport ministry remains confident that the East Coast Rail Link (ECRL) will be completed by December 2026 as scheduled, Bernama reports. According to transport ministed Anthony Loke, the project, which will connect the Klang Valley to the East Coast, had reached a 72.93% completion mark as of September.
“Terengganu has recorded the highest completion percentage of 87.4% and is ahead of the other states, namely Selangor, Kelantan and Pahang, involving the alignments, tracks and stations. I am confident that with such progress, we will be on schedule. According to the schedule, the train services between Kota Baru and Gombak must start on Jan 1, 2027. That’s our target,” he said.
The ECRL track from Kota Baru to the Gombak Integrated Transport Terminal is slated to begin operation by then, with the line from Gombak to Port Klang expected to be completed by December 2027.
Asked by reporters if work on the project would be affected as Terengganu is expected to experience monsoon season next month, he said the matter had been taken into consideration by Malaysia Rail Link and China Communications Construction (CCCC).
“Everything has been taken into consideration. We have made detailed planning. They know how the weather is on the East Coast and armed with their experience, I am confident work will not be affected… (it) will be according to schedule,” he said, adding that several areas that the ECRL will pass through have been built on elevated ground to avoid flooding problems.
The 50:50 joint venture project between MRL and CCCC was announced in 2016. It was then cancelled in 2018 before being revived the following year with changes to its alignment.The 665 km route connecting Kota Bharu to Port Klang, which will have 59 tunnels, is expected to reduce travel time between these points to four hours from the current seven hours needed for an equivalent road journey, or more than 12 hours during festive seasons.
From the picture I got, it seems it’s only a single track system.
Plus they should look into reviving the Kuala Selangor to klang rail line.
Thank goodness Dr Wee came back in time to change the alignment back to common sense from the stupidity of previous PH Gomen and push this project so far that this current PH Gomen cannot realign back to stupidity again.
Yes, I agree. I still remember when PH rerouted to Negeri Sembilan during the Port Dickson by-election to please An-uar
Disagree
I don’t think the PH1 Government are stupid as he was currently PH2 Minister of MoT, and he is the Best Minister from his party n the Best from past Minister of MoT. I do agreed with the alliangment which run through the Nilai Dry Port cum Industrial arae to Kuala Pilah , Kelawang and it will spur the development around those areas.
To me
Why not!