ECRL project cancelled – prime minister Tun Mahathir

The proposed East Coast Rail Link (ECRL) project has been shelved due to Malaysia’s need to manage its finances, according to prime minister Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad.

In reports by The Edge and The Star, the premiere said the Chinese government has been made aware of the decision, and that it understands the financial woes currently facing the current administration. “I believe China itself does not want to see Malaysia become a bankrupt country,” Mahathir said.

Even so, he stated that the government would have to provide compensation on the cancellation of these projects, which will be negotiated at a later date. “This is due to the stupidity of the previous government,” commented Mahathir.

Initially, the railway was to consist of two phases; Phase 1 with 21 stations along a 600.3 km line, connecting Kota Bharu in Kelantan to the Integrated Transport Terminal Gombak (ITT Gombak) in Selangor – a future interchange for the Kelana Jaya LRT line – and Phase 2, which comprises 88 km of combined track from Gombak North to Port Klang, and an extension link between Kota Bharu and Pengkalan Kubor.

Previously, the project was under review by the government to ascertain not just the construction costs (said to be RM80.92 billion) but also the viability of maintain the rail network. The latter, as explained by finance minister Lim Guan Eng, was estimated to be RM600 million to RM1 billion annually.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Pilihanraya Kalah Teruk on Aug 21, 2018 at 3:12 pm

Better to cancel it because we all know that previously, everything was artificially jacked up double in value

Who suffers? Rakyat suffer because the money comes from LHDN…all our tax payers money only

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 73
    • bangsa on Aug 21, 2018 at 5:16 pm

This the best news for me this Raya Aidiladha although lost huge sums of cash in AQRS shares. Dannng!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 12
      • Daylight Robbery on Aug 21, 2018 at 9:56 pm

Kota Bharu to Wakaf Bharu (18km) = 18,000 juta

• Abu Kassim on Aug 21, 2018 at 10:55 pm

This thing is waste of money. Build more Universities in the country. We lack education. This is why majority always go to Kesas to rempit.

they got no goal in life.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 16
        • Wan Shazrul Zekri on Aug 22, 2018 at 2:34 am

I agree. My late brother was a doctor and use to tell me that during weekends the most admissions to the hospital was motorcycle accidents. He used to ask, “Kenapa adik merempit?”, you know what he answered, “Pasal rumah sempit”, Big family and a small flat! what do we expect them to do?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 8
          • Zaqiyah on Aug 22, 2018 at 10:13 am

Agree. My ex high schoolmate was a NGO volunteer for street vagrants in 2015. She used to ask a kakak, “Kenapa hidup tersepit?”, you all know what she answered, “Pasal salah pemimpin yg kaki kepit”.

• Yup. Previous government is stupid. We need 3rd national car when 1st and 2nd are still nowhere near the top recognized international brand names.

Malaysia boleh!!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 101 Thumb down 11
    • Pilihanraya Kalah Teruk on Aug 21, 2018 at 7:06 pm

3rd car can work if you get China workers to work in the 3rd car plant. The problem with Proton, all the workers relax and lepak and half the time tuang kerja. How do you expect it to succeed?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 34
    • China’s view is macro positive view on Malaysia, more than ECRL and etc. Malaysia…

• Pilihanraya Kalah Teruk on Aug 21, 2018 at 3:13 pm

This shows China cares for Malaysia. Instead of punishing us, they know we are suffering because of previous corruption.

Thank you China for caring for Malaysia. You really do understand how corruption has affected us badly in the past.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 76
    • DonkeyKong on Aug 21, 2018 at 7:40 pm

LOL China isn’t very happy with the cancellation la! You believe that old liar ka?? China basically said screw you, you wanna cancel it, you pay for compensation. I don’t care what pitiful stories you’re telling, a contract is a contract LOL….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 3
      • Wan Shazrul Zekri on Aug 22, 2018 at 2:19 am

Why laugh out loud? We and our children are and will be paying for the unseen cost including your good self. Better pay compensation that would be much lesser than the actual amount. Like you said, a contract is a contract. So, better pay less than pay more. Nothing to laugh about.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 13
        • Albert Yong on Aug 22, 2018 at 12:48 pm

A contract is illegal if there was corruption involved. Basic law la brother

• In previous gov, we pay less and get more.
          In New gov, we pay more and get less.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 9
    • Abdul Wahab Khalid on Aug 21, 2018 at 10:58 pm

China have to save not only Proton but even our energy companies, rail companies and so many other companies.

I think local CEOs don’t know how to run business

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 11
      • Ghani on Aug 22, 2018 at 10:35 pm

I agree with this. Certainly they have more refined and smarter bodek-ers whom are very convincing in their arguments as compared local bodek-ers such as one above who lazily copy-paste his bodeks, while assuming we cannot see through his multitudes of name change. I suggest PH to replace their bodek teams with China mari. They will get their money’s worth looking at such poor results above.

• Quote of the Year on Aug 21, 2018 at 3:15 pm

“This is due to the stupidity of the previous government”

This is truly the best ever quote I have ever heard.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 54
    • Rakyat Malaysia on Aug 21, 2018 at 5:03 pm

We can say the same for the current gomen as well. Most stupidest gomen in the world.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 101 Thumb down 32
      • Spin Too Much on Aug 21, 2018 at 5:48 pm

Not stupidest. Most belakang pusing, uturn around and around, making & breaking promises, Government.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 71 Thumb down 10
      • Muhd Latiff Ibrahim on Aug 21, 2018 at 10:34 pm

I voted PH not for their promises or manifestos. I voted PH to kick a corrupt Government out.

I am happy for PH to take even 1000 days instead of 100 days to keep their promises.

Even if they don’t keep also I am happy. At least they don’t curi duit

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 43
        • How do you know?

• Truckers on Aug 22, 2018 at 4:17 pm

Such a well paid mahacai. Good boy!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 9
        • JOACHIM on Aug 22, 2018 at 5:37 pm

Yes they did. Economics experts have estimated that Mahathir’s projects costed us RM500 Billion in clean losses. With him back with his voracious ‘appetite’, we can expect more of the same losses but much sooner than before.

• Better prioritize LPT3 connecting Kuala Nerus–Kota Bharu, easier for Raya balik kampong tmr..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 1
  • Mikey on Aug 21, 2018 at 3:31 pm

Habislah crony crony sekarang tak dapat wang

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 6
    • Kawans now got Protiga to play play with. No problemo.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 2
      • Mikey on Aug 21, 2018 at 5:10 pm

P3 is Proton. Same same.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 10
        • Geely demanded Kawan vendors to reduce prices by 30%. All of them will run away to Protiga, leaving only capable ones in P1. P1 will be cleansed of ur Kawans.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 2
          • Mikey on Aug 23, 2018 at 4:48 pm

Ha ha ha. Loki dah bongkar Kawan AES adalah kroni BN. Semua wang(129 juta) dah masuk poket Kawan BN.

• Abd Karim on Aug 21, 2018 at 11:00 pm

poor john, now no more money. That is why you are commenting so much here.

Get a job and contribute to scoeity

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 17
          • U still havent tell me where ur showroom is. I wanna come buy brand new Camry for Rm60k like u claimed. Come i gip u sales. Mana u?

• Lets See on Aug 22, 2018 at 4:30 pm

PT should ban silly comments like this

1) What is john having money got to do with you? If you lacking, go work.
            2) Why you personally attacking john?

I hope we keep PT clean without any personal attacks and contribute healthy car matters.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
        • Albert Yong on Aug 22, 2018 at 12:51 pm

john tak ada modal lagi. Old employers kalah and now got no money to pay him

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
          • Lets See on Aug 23, 2018 at 9:48 am

This is a car site. It is not a john modal or old employer site. You want to talk about john modal or old employer go to that site.

Here we talk about cars (& motors).

• Bernard on Aug 21, 2018 at 3:36 pm

Excellent news! Great work Tun:)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 43
    • DonkeyKong on Aug 21, 2018 at 7:45 pm

You decide to buy a car, the bank loan is approved and is being disbursed, and then you decide you don’t want that car anymore, and the bank says that you still have to pay a hefty sum anyway (which, for most people, it would make more financial sense to continue and not cancel it).

But you go ahead and cancel it anyway, and have to pay crap loads of money to the bank while getting nothing in the end except for the satisfaction of getting rid of the car.

Great work? Maybe for the low standards of Mahacais, it is..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 7
      • jinggo on Aug 22, 2018 at 5:06 am

deswai pipu now choose to sambung bayar.
        when you decide you don’t want that car anymore.

• frankC on Aug 22, 2018 at 12:51 pm

Nothing in return even after pay compensation right. That’s the reason why Tun M say “..stupid government”.
        It’s a difficult decision to cancel the project. Especially ECRL. The other pipeline project, nothing to salvage anymore 80% payment out and built up very small, so decision is easier to made. Cut it so no cost over run effect.
        ECRL, as I read, there is studies made to simplify or scale down the project to keep it going and reduce the cost. But we don’t have info so there must be something that helps the cabinet to decide to cancel rather than delay it.

• Muhd Latiff Ibrahim on Aug 21, 2018 at 10:38 pm

In 4 months, Tun has accomplished the same at 15 years what the korup Gomen has accomplised. Good work Tun

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 20
      • I agree. The corruption in past 4 mths outweighs all those purported done in last 15 years.

• Engineer on Aug 21, 2018 at 3:40 pm

Did China rejected his overtures to invest in his new national car project, which drove him to cancel ECRL? It is already ongoing so for him to make such drastic decision must meant that he was rebuffed rather hard.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 2
  • John Fake News Sdn Bhd on Aug 21, 2018 at 3:40 pm

We are so happy we don’t have a korup Gomen and korup Cybertroopers anymore…oh wai!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 35
  • arowana on Aug 21, 2018 at 3:44 pm

LOL bijan administration is stupid indeed

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 30
  • Spin Too Much on Aug 21, 2018 at 3:45 pm

Poodah! Who says got no money? Got so much money to subsidise AES lawbreakers and make new national car again. Stop the spin la!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 69 Thumb down 12
    • xoxox on Aug 21, 2018 at 5:07 pm

most probably you didnt read the news properly…the new national car spending will not come from government funding…and AES rubbish is from previous gov…stop paying the summons=stop paying the AES company…government did not earn a cent from the AES summons…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 49
      • Bruno Mars on Aug 21, 2018 at 5:46 pm

If you believe that statement, then most likely new national car is a flying unicorn with a magical wishing granting horn. Stop dreaming, reality is P3 will screw us again like so many-many of his other projects.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 62 Thumb down 3
  • Not Toyota Fan on Aug 21, 2018 at 4:01 pm

Aiyoh, Ahmad Shabery Cheek said (in 2017) ECRL will bring cheaper seafood to KL wor. So ex-Minister, how lah? My kembung fish not gonna drop below RM18/kilo lah.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 5
  • Haris on Aug 21, 2018 at 4:07 pm

Our car prices are expensive because last time our Government was kotor.

If our Government was clean, we can buy now Toyota Camry for RM60k

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 43
    • Rakyat Malaysia on Aug 21, 2018 at 5:06 pm

Changed gomen ady. So why Camry prices haven’t drop to RM60k like you claimed? Where’s your showroom so that we can buy brand new Camry from you at your quoted RM60k price? Don’t run away when you see us yea.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 62 Thumb down 4
      • basher said on Aug 21, 2018 at 5:47 pm

That pricing is stupidity of bashers direct, comparing USD wit MYR, lesser summore. If follow basher logic , all mcd workers can afford to use luxury cars

• Jenah on Aug 22, 2018 at 12:16 am

Pfftttt..car price gonna be higher after SST later. Camry 60k just in ur dream u less its under protiga

• I oso want to buy new Camry from u at Rm60k. Where ur showroom ah?

• lut you on Aug 22, 2018 at 3:50 pm

Thanks to TUN M
      To protect his proton, other brand need to pay excess duty

• Omage007 on Aug 22, 2018 at 6:56 pm

I think PaulTan should blacklist and ban this Haris that post such a rubbish useless comment!! Even at USA the Camry starting price is around USD$24k, Langkawi and Labuan no tax Camry also above RM100k.

• Abesla on Aug 22, 2018 at 10:38 pm

Abesla Toyota salesmen! Now all Malaysians will invade Toyota showrooms nationwide demanding for new Camry at Rm60,000. If this proves to be a lie, then Toyota will double abesla for having their member lying to the public.

• intelligent on Aug 23, 2018 at 1:32 am

this is the stupidest assumption made by a stupid people i ever read. LOL. sekolah sampai darjah berapa je ni?

• John Bin Dedak on Aug 21, 2018 at 4:11 pm

Cannot stop laughing. No more dedak for the corrupted. 63 yrs of dedak has stopped

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 23
  • John Bin Dedak on Aug 21, 2018 at 4:12 pm

63 years we have suffered with corruption. Now we are heading for better times.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 41
  • Terence on Aug 21, 2018 at 4:14 pm

Cannot recoup the cost. You think those poor kampung Trengganu and Kelantan people can afford RM300 ECRL ticket?

Even RM30 bus ticket to KL also they cannot afford to buy

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 57
    • What the fish is wrong with you. Still think Kelantan and Terengganu ppl poor?? Bodoh nak mampus u ni

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 6
    • OMG That’s a big joke, you must crawl out from some caves. Express bus tickets to East coast are sold out in every peak seasons. You said they cannot afford it?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 4
      • Fariz on Aug 21, 2018 at 6:55 pm

Not only express bus, even flight tickets always sold out eventhough it was not festive season. Duhhhh

• DonkeyKong on Aug 21, 2018 at 7:46 pm

Huh? Kelantan and T’ganu people can’t afford the ticket?

I guess you didn’t know that the ECRL’s primary strategic value is for logistics and freight, not for passenger transport?

Yg bodoh memang bodoh… no cure..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 3
      • DefgabC on Aug 22, 2018 at 5:19 am

I second that! ECRL, Hambantota & Djibouti port semua for logistics and freight too..

• azhar on Aug 23, 2018 at 9:13 am

even the experts say the logistics cant cover the cost of ECRL and it will be a big lost for govt if ECRL get a go ahead

• Must survive on Aug 21, 2018 at 6:46 pm

I was waiting for a High Speed Train. Anything faster than the antiquated Diesel powered train to go back to JB. The highways are usually jam packed with cars and high probability of accidents. Now cancelled.
    I was also waiting for an East coast train link to the without having to pass through Gemas. Now cancelled.
    So what is the New Govt proposals? Expand the hiways or make new hiways to ease the congestion?
    Give us facts not crap. No more U -turns, please.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 16
    • Cannot survive on Aug 23, 2018 at 7:48 am

Gemas-JB electrified double track will be completed by 2022, so by then you don’t have to use the old Diesel trains.

ECRL not viable (and very expensive!!) as the main reason for building it is to connect Port Kuantan to Port Klang for cargo shipments. The Chinese gains more from the project.

What U-turns?? The review and cancellation of these mega projects (ECRL, HSR) were part of their manifesto LOL.

• Olang kita on Aug 22, 2018 at 7:47 pm

Kesian rakyat…asyik kna ja
    Rakyat memilih mahukan yg lebih baikkk tapi….
    Ha…ha…..kena lagiiii

• Then Anthony Loke says ECRL will postponed like MRT3.

• Ohmai.. pilih PH nak hidup lebih baik, tp jadi lebih teruk. Keretapi semua batal, kereta nasional baru pula dipaksa beli dgn naikkan harga kereta honda toyota..

• The government now scrapping the ECRL project, but on the other hand, went on to approve Penang LRT project, which is RM46 billion for the Penang island. So what is this?
    The LRT, together with a monorail, cable cars and water taxis, is part of the state government’s RM46bil Penang Transport Master Plan (PTMP).
    Read more at https://www.thestar.com.my/news/nation/2018/08/11/goahead-likely-for-penang-lrt-state-govt-expects-to-get-approvals-from-doe-and-transport-ministry-by/#VQ4CvYfuBFkyeAP2.99

• Avenger on Aug 23, 2018 at 4:16 pm

LRT for one state is Rm46bil. Train thru 4 states is Rm55bil. Something seriously wrong with Pakatan calculation there. Seems like we are paying more for less!!!!