Malaysian-market MG5 not the same as ANCAP zero-star car; CBU Thai with seatbelt pre-tensioner – SAIC

The MG5, which was launched earlier this month, has been attacked by a rival carmaker in unprecedented fashion, at least in Malaysia. The rival, which sells a sedan in the same price bracket as the MG5 (RM86,900 with intro offer), has released material that explicitly names the new entrant, and the chosen area of attack is safety.

In its official social media posts, the OEM points out its own safety credentials while urging consumers to not accept anything less. This puts the spotlight on the MG5’s unflattering zero-star rating in the Australasian New Car Assessment Program (ANCAP).

Here’s the context. Crash tested last year by ANCAP, the MG5 scored 37% in Adult Occupant Protection and 13% in Safety Assist, making it ineligible for any more than zero stars. The budget sedan (starts from the equivalent of RM72,199 in Australia) scored high enough for only two stars in Vulnerable Road User Protection (42%) and Child Occupant Protection (58%).

SAIC Motor Malaysia has not reacted to the ‘heat’ on social media, but we now have a response. According to head of marketing Phang Rick Kee, the MG5 sold in Malaysia is not of the same spec as the car tested by ANCAP.

He explained that the Australian-market MG5 is a base model that’s CBU imported from China, and the car tested by ANCAP was not equipped with pre-tensioner seatbelts. Malaysia gets the MG5 from Thailand, and the cars are specified with pre-tensioner seatbelts. Also on our car are six airbags and the MG Pilot suite that includes blind spot monitoring, rear cross traffic alert, lane change assist and rear collision warning. No AEB, though.

The purpose of the pre-tensioner is to ensure that the seatbelts fit tightly against the occupant’s body in a crash. With no ‘slack’, one gets the maximum protection benefit of the front airbags and it also helps prevent the body from ‘submarining’, which is sliding away, under the seatbelt. As you can imagine, this is a vital feature.

Indeed, in December 2023, MG Motor Australia announced a series of safety changes designed to improve the MG5’s crash-test performance. The list includes seatbelt pre-tensioners on all five seats plus dynamic load tensioners (seatbelt pre-tensioners were only on the front seats, and only for the top variant), lane-keep assist, traffic sign recognition and a more advanced AEB system.

It remains to be seen if the MG5 will be crash tested again by ANCAP, or if its local handlers will send the sedan to ASEAN NCAP. What’s more certain is that moving forward, SAIC Motor would be chasing for a high rating to put to bed any doubts on the crashworthiness of its cars.

Sized like a Civic, the boldly-styled MG5 has a default B-segment powertrain (114 PS/150 Nm 1.5L NA with CVT) and pricing that undercuts the highest variants of the Honda City and Toyota Vios. The CBU Thai import has a RRP of RM93,900 on-the-road before insurance, but an intro offer pulls the price down to RM86,900. Kit that are unique to the B-segment include a powered sunroof and six-way powered driver’s seat. Our full launch report here.

GALLERY: MG5 Malaysia launch

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• AI-generated Summary ✨

Comments focus heavily on the safety aspects of the MG5, criticizing the zero-star ANCAP rating and safety features like seatbelt pre-tensioners. Many express disappointment that the Malaysian version may lack safety upgrades present in the Australian model, raising concerns about consumer safety and transparency from SAIC. There is criticism of China-made cars generally, with calls for mandatory ASEAN NCAP testing before launch. Some comments highlight the importance of safety features, with frustration over the omission of auto-braking and pre-tensioners, and questions about the car’s actual safety ratings. The discussion also touches on brand perceptions, pricing, and the disparity between different markets, emphasizing the need for better safety standards and testing transparency for Malaysian consumers.

• My 10 yo Persona SV got seat belt tensioner. How hard it is to install one?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 1
    • FrankC on Oct 22, 2024 at 5:24 pm

unimaginable a car of 21st century without seat belt pre-tensioner. to send in a car for ancap to find it getting zero star is truly embarassing. the car supplier is not smart or truly incompetent. nobody gets zero star. the worst car is datsun that goes to russia with 1 star.., which nissan immediately withdrawn from market. the brand have since become obsolete.

• Dah Menang Semua on Oct 22, 2024 at 7:36 pm

Maybe that’s a norm in China
      But better we be careful lo

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
  • Dingo on Oct 22, 2024 at 4:06 pm

Of course the Malaysian market is so special, like its such a huge market that we always get special cars unlike other countries…now what are the chances?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 0
    • Anyways, much better than rival carmaker that always attacked where honda used to attack one of his enemy

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
      • Nadia on Oct 22, 2024 at 7:16 pm

So agree. We can see haters coming to hate this or that desperately lately

• Good notice

• To the hatersss

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 11
  • Attack by rival carmaker, already know what brand….where last time honda used to attack one of the major brand….well not nice to hear

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
    • newme on Oct 22, 2024 at 5:25 pm

They can easily repeal the attack by showing their ASEAN NCAP score.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
      • Paperworks on Oct 22, 2024 at 9:37 pm

Yeah, how about have your toyota business solves the problem that’s what everyone are concerned

• newme on Oct 23, 2024 at 8:49 am

Why bring Toyota in? I don’t own a Toyota.

The “The US also like this or Japan also does that” won’t work here.

• Flybuds on Oct 23, 2024 at 8:52 am

Someone is very jealous here

• Paperworks on Oct 22, 2024 at 9:40 pm

Yeah never buy arrogant brand, not more for me

• Paperworks on Oct 22, 2024 at 9:40 pm

Yeah never buy arrogant brand but not this brand, not more for me

• newme on Oct 23, 2024 at 9:19 am

Yes. I don’t want to buy Honda or Toyota. I am interested in this MG5. Therefore, show me the NCAP rating.

• Of course la toyota! Attitude not changed till today. Thought they have improve but back to square one

• Absolutely

• ROTI CANAI on Oct 22, 2024 at 4:31 pm

Lol don’t hide. Give the car better safety specs

• Yes, we get it. It’s not the same.
    THEN, WHAT IS THE SCORE of this CBU Thai with pre-tensioner model?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 0
  • LMQTU on Oct 22, 2024 at 4:32 pm

Well done

• Wireless on Oct 22, 2024 at 4:50 pm

Kudos to MG Malaysia

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 6
  • Ben Yap on Oct 22, 2024 at 4:57 pm

can believe a marketing guy talking?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
  • Phaser on Oct 22, 2024 at 5:17 pm

So just to confirm what the Head of Marketing for SAIC Motor Malaysia is saying:

“…the MG5 sold in Malaysia is not of the same spec as the car tested by ANCAP. He explained that the Australian-market MG5 is a base model that’s CBU imported from China, and the car tested by ANCAP was not equipped with pre-tensioner seatbelts.”

That means the base model car that is built in China and then sent to Australia doesn’t even have seatbelt pretensioners and is a zero-star car. Yes, they have updated it but prior to this they knowingly and willingly sold this spec of MG5 to unsuspecting customers. Great. Am sure owners of that spec of car feel much better now after reading such a comment.

• ChinaCarFans on Oct 22, 2024 at 5:40 pm

It’s the size of a C-segment car, but priced in the B-segment range. You expect top-notch safety? Sports car performance? Hybrid fuel consumption? Wake up please.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 17
    • Chinaman on Oct 22, 2024 at 10:15 pm

Doesn’t matter what segment, safety is safety. It’s actually not that hard to get 5 stars ANCAP, almost every car is 5 stars so to get 0 stars you must be so special LOL.

• K-Car on Oct 23, 2024 at 9:03 am

Is this hybrid? You better wake up

• newme on Oct 23, 2024 at 3:18 pm

The old Saga that embarrassed Proton so much also got 1 star.

• Sohai on Mar 12, 2025 at 11:40 am

Certainly nobody expected ZERO star.
      You are right that you bough a cheap car and dont expect too much. But nobody expected to die in it…

• Nadia on Oct 22, 2024 at 7:17 pm

And this car is also consider to buy, thanks boss

• mystvearn on Oct 22, 2024 at 7:48 pm

damage done. better publish new version of ANCAP results or other car makers will still attack it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 10
  • Dong gor on Oct 22, 2024 at 8:14 pm

Well, seat belt pretentioner is something basic that should come with seat belt in the first place. If this u can skim, many other underlying things have already been skimmed. Don’t just look at the spec. Given this information, probably best to skip this brand /manufacturer

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 11
  • Paperworks on Oct 22, 2024 at 9:38 pm

With this attitude coming from rival that attack not only honda but this brand and worries for others, better skip the arrogant brand but not this

• newme on Oct 23, 2024 at 9:16 am

Dude, write in Chinese. We can translate with Google.

• Ding ding on Oct 23, 2024 at 10:26 am

@newme = ioma

Both names but with same sentence

• My dear boy, this is english article. OMGGGG

• newme on Oct 23, 2024 at 12:14 pm

The article is in English but your post is badly translated to English from Chinese. So you better off write in Chinese. We can use Google translate.

• Post badly? Huh? I didn’t even translate from Chinese to English, my dear boy. Aiyoo, what happened to you nowadays! Are you okay?

• newme on Oct 24, 2024 at 9:01 am

Then you should google translate before posting. Wait a min, you don’t have google there?

• Unfortunately, haters don’t want to read but love to bash this brand

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 6
  • Megat on Oct 22, 2024 at 9:50 pm

Mantap!!!

• Drivingdriver on Oct 22, 2024 at 9:58 pm

In my opinion this brand should disappear. Not only bad quality cars but also unsafe for the sake of saving costs because they can only compete by being the cheapest. It’s the same thing when you buy a RM10 power bank and then it over heats and explodes. Put your money wisely and don’t fall for these type of brands. A car must be safe, non negotiable.

• Baik la, beli MG jer la

• Good explanation. Thanks for your tips

• Up up up

• Ruslan Bahari on Oct 23, 2024 at 7:22 am

Wow what bravery. So tell me now, what is your ANCAP score, or any rating from any agency, of the model sold in Malaysia?

Buyer beware: the carmaker has taken weeks to even respond officially. At launch, no mention at all about the two apparently different models. It seems to suggest they were fully aware of the issue, but decided to launch anyway. Malaysia is after all seemingly the dumping ground of a whole list of China cars.

But let’s be clear. These ratings do not in any way make the model, or any car for that matter, illegal. For better or for worse, there exists no local regulation for vehicles to have minimum safety ratings of even minimum passive or active safety features.

As the pepatah says, tepuk dada tanya selera.

• Just a pre-tensioner would still at most make them a 3 star rated, like the MG3.

• WOW

• K-Car on Oct 23, 2024 at 9:02 am

Thanks for your advice. Now can buy this car

• Kurious Worm on Oct 23, 2024 at 9:32 am

I got hit from behind by a Cherry Omoda5 while waiting in traffic. Checking my rear dashcam showed the driver of the omoda5 was not focused. So, these “modern” cars dont even have auto-braking??? garbage safety features sial.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
    • Salleh Bhai on Oct 23, 2024 at 2:36 pm

yea china cars are not as good as people think. outside and design all look good. But if you drive one you find many things missing or not properly thought out. safety wise not really tested. Like you said, no auto-braking. Poor man’s car.

• You think japanese cars as you think. Have you forgotten that japanese cars got full stars but in reality safety fail part of cheating scandal?

• Buy japan car, but later you will realised that japan car aren’t as durable as car from other countries

• BanyakOrangSudahGila on Oct 23, 2024 at 2:04 pm

Talk so much. Tok kok sing song. You should send the car for Asean NCAP to test before launch. Stupid bosses sees profits only, now kena hentam only do damage control. No point telling people this is improved blah. Send your car to Asean NCAP to test. We should not support car companies who took tgis thing lightly.

• opmanmy on Oct 23, 2024 at 2:58 pm

The most useful feature is reverse camera, auto emergency braking, other than those base stuff like ABS, TC, HC/HSA. DC, etc. The rest is just another way to jack up the price exorbitantly.

• Kea Was on Oct 23, 2024 at 4:29 pm

Can’t wait for 50% off in a few months time since it can’t publish the ANCAP safety ratings and as if that 3 point belt can make the car metals safer.

• kilimanjaro on Oct 23, 2024 at 5:15 pm

hi MG Malaysia, reported that the price sold in Australia is what price? => The budget sedan (starts from the equivalent of RM72,199 in Australia), care to comments ?

• antiJunkChinacars on Oct 25, 2024 at 8:48 am

Another junk China cars ! And still people are gullible in buying them…
    Way too many of these junks getting dumped in MY.
    So sad situation. JPJ or even the useless MAA should mandate every cars sold in MY be tested to ASEAN NCAP at the very least…