New special edition Volkswagen Golf GTI teased for Malaysia – branded tyre valve caps, darker wheels

A new special edition of the locally-assembled Volkswagen Golf GTI looks set to be launched here soon, as Volkswagen Malaysia has teased the model on its social media pages.

“Tap and hold to see what we’ve been cooking. Something special is coming.” That is the caption accompanying the video teaser posted by the company that shows various parts of the hot hatch. Based on what we are shown, the special edition will come with GTI-branded tyre valve caps and 18-inch ‘Richmond’ alloy wheels, the latter in what appears to be darker finish.

In other screengrabs, we can see the familiar GTI fender emblem in red (the same as on the regular Golf GTI) as well as the vehicle’s rear. We did try to brighten the shot of the car’s rump and there is indeed a name on the number plate, although it is too blurry to make out the letters.

Volkswagen is one of the car brand’s participating in this year’s Malaysia Autoshow (MAS 2025), and we expect the special edition model to make its debut there. The regular Golf GTI currently retails for RM254,012 on-the-road without insurance, with price inclusive of the Volkswagen Assurance Package (VAP) that includes a five-year, unlimited-mileage extended warranty and five-year maintenance package.

Without VAP, the figure drops to RM241,512 but you only get a standard two-year, unlimited-mileage warranty. Last August, Volkswagen Malaysia introduced the limited-edition Golf GTI Edition 50 that is priced higher at RM269,012 or RM256,512, the latter without VAP. We reckon the new special edition will be priced higher than a Golf GTI too, but we will have to wait for a full reveal to find if that’s true and what other unique touches it gets.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard's strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Ex VGM staff on May 05, 2025 at 11:16 am

Tyre valve caps from Shopee or Temu?

• wat4mau on May 05, 2025 at 2:11 pm

a boomer/millennial car. cant imagine any new generation wanting to buy this car lol

• Lmao, just like the special edition M340i where it’s literally a small bodykit / appearance change. How lah want to fight other competitors now?

• lol, GTI-branded tyre valve caps to be stolen very soon