6,360 Rolls-Royce, Lambo, Bentley, Ferrari, Porsche cars have unpaid road tax, RM35.7 million owed – Loke

Owners of 6,360 luxury vehicles in Malaysia across the Rolls-Royce, Lamborghini, Bentley, Ferrari and Porsche brands have recorded nearly RM35.7 million in road tax arrears, transport minister Anthony Loke has disclosed in a press conference today, reported Bernama.

The five brands named by the road transport department (JPJ) revealed that Rolls-Royce accounted for 345 units with RM6,455,563.70 unpaid, Lamborghini with 372 units (RM3,761,345.40), Bentley with 660 units (RM7,055,197.10), Ferrari with 675 units (RM4,718,395.60), and Porsche with 4,308 units (RM13,751,078.20), reported Malay Mail.

“I want to remind this group of the ultra-wealthy that they, too, have responsibilities. The government has been generous enough to extend subsidies to everyone, including those with luxury vehicles, but that comes with the responsibility of renewing their road tax,” Loke said.

The figures show that many owners of luxury cars have failed to fulfil their responsibility to renew their motor vehicle licences (LKM), said the transport minister. “Among the owners are Tan Sris, politicians, businessmen and other well-known individuals. If this continues, we will take more drastic measures,” he said.

The road transport department has commenced Op Luxury, an ongoing enforcement operation where luxury cars on the road without valid road tax and insurance will be seized.

The transport minister said that some owners of luxury cars were deliberately delaying payment of road tax, as records show that vehicles a recent as one to two years old have gone without road tax renewals for periods of six months to more than a year. Some motorists waited until their cars had been seized, as the RM300 compound was considered “worth it,” according to the transport minister.

So far, 421 luxury vehicles have been seized so far under Op Luxury, reported Bernama.

Sell your car, get paid in 24 hours

Renew your car insurance with us, 10% discount!

Use the promo code 'PAULTAN' when you checkout for 10% discount!

Renew Car Insurance

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• plainbs cry more on Sep 24, 2025 at 7:12 pm

best transport minister ever Loke is so brave . WKS would never have the guts to go after those vvip criminals

Thumb up 31 Thumb down 8
  • turborider on Sep 24, 2025 at 8:00 pm

No need reminder, don’t waste time, fines apply to all vehicles, not only luxury cars.

1) Retain their vehicles, until the road tax+fine is paid. If failed to clear payment by 30 days, vehicles to be forfeited by JPJ.

2) 1st time offence, road tax + 100% fine, 2nd time offence, road tax + 200% fine and keep going up for the same registered owner.

Thumb up 36 Thumb down 1
  • Menteri car plate on Sep 25, 2025 at 12:00 am

If I never use the car, leave there parked at the house, never renew the roadtax is okay one right? These fella being fine is it because they still drive those car around without any valid road tax? I don’t quite get it

Thumb up 15 Thumb down 2
    • These people are caught at roadblocks. If your situation is not using the car for more than 3 years and want to renew roadtax, then have to go Puspakom to rectify that the car is ok, which also added cost (towing and inspection), and who knows what else needed repairing after years not moving.

Thumb up 4 Thumb down 0
      • Menteri car plate on Sep 27, 2025 at 11:53 pm

Thank you. I have total 5 cars, using 1 at the moment. 2 at the garage, 2 parked behind the house (one of it is under company name).

Only using 1 car for now, all cars left unattended and has not been driving for more than a few years. COVID came then went overseas for a few years, very troublesome to keep asking people from the house to help start the car every 2-3 days, very troublesome. At last, f**k it.

Towing and repair isn’t an issue, I know it required Puspakom also, got runner for that, not an issue. Still finding some solutions to remote unlock and start then car even when I’m overseas.

I find it ridiculous why would someone drive a car without road tax on the road? I thought the current rulling gov want us to renew those car even if I’m not driving it. Haha!

Thumb up 2 Thumb down 0
    • Apparently, yes. if they didn’t use the car on the road. it is not a crime.

However, we have a lot of other cars without any of both, drive restlessly on the road like no tomorrow and often an incident end up in a fight.

To treat all the same, enforcement should check regularly or using street camera car plate recognition system, to detect all of these cars on the road.

Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0
  • opmanmy on Sep 25, 2025 at 8:27 am

You buy the car, you pay for road tax. Period!

Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0
  • Johnny on Sep 25, 2025 at 8:54 am

Everytime do Press conference but what’s the actions to be taken? Last round highlight so many lorries/buses no pay summon and give 14 days grace period to pay and once paid, case close. Now, is it same? If same then is it fair to the other rakyat who has been compliant to the laws? PMX said want to plug the leakage and this is leakage but seems like leakages are allowed to happen – surely JPJ knows who has not paid road tax, zzz on the job?

Thumb up 2 Thumb down 0
  • azgarffield on Sep 25, 2025 at 9:33 am

Semua pun orang kaya, family members dan kawan2 politician.

Kenapa semua lepas selama ini?

Thumb up 2 Thumb down 0
    • cry more plainbs on Sep 25, 2025 at 11:58 am

i guess some of the culprits include former ministers Bijan and WKS. if he dared to C4 mongolian model and put kevin morais in cement then non-reneweal of road tax is a small matter for him .

Thumb up 2 Thumb down 0
    • Kea Was on Sep 25, 2025 at 12:59 pm

Aiya all the corrupt and cronies has been swindling government money with even a need to pay for taxes for decades now the rich just trying to learn the same.

Thumb up 1 Thumb down 0
  • please confiscate all and lelong! the money collected please spend on rakyat program as usual! well done!

Thumb up 3 Thumb down 0
  • i got a kancil 660 at home, without roadtax just continue renew insurance for future ncd, i think my kancil is going to get seized soon

Thumb up 0 Thumb down 2
  • Just put them in jail la…apa susah?
    You let them go home like that doesn’t mean they are going to pay taxes anyway
    Auction off the cars and the money goes back to gov

Thumb up 6 Thumb down 0
    • knn use brain on Sep 25, 2025 at 11:56 am

putting someone in jail require involvement with AG/PP and pdrm. transport minister is not all-powerful

Thumb up 2 Thumb down 0
  • Name and Shame Them All. This group doesn’t think the law applies to them.
    Give Deadline to settle, if not seize cars and auction them with proceeds to Government Coffers

Thumb up 1 Thumb down 1
  • Louis Lee on Sep 25, 2025 at 12:07 pm

Yes instead of targeting normal citizens, should focus more on some ranking ministers and some special titles which they assume they can overcome the law. Everyone is equally and the 6 feet remained the same even they highly praised themselves hence obey the rules for human unless they are animals

Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0
    • Loke is the transport minister, not PDRM nor SPRM. His job is to go after car owners, not targeting political foes.

Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0
  • Squid on Sep 25, 2025 at 2:20 pm

My guess is a big chunk of those cars are either sitting at collectors homes or tersadai at workshops, not being used on the roads.

Thumb up 1 Thumb down 0
  • Azmir on Sep 25, 2025 at 3:29 pm

They would need to understand the root cause. People do not want to pay due to price structure by CC size just does not make sense.

RM380 for 2L engine, RM2,300 for 3L engine, RM6.6k for 4L engine and 5L at RM11.1k. The ratio is too floppy.

Upfront, they already pay sky high tax when purchasing the car, then pay insurance also being taxed, car servicing also being taxed, change tyre taxed. All in all, they are still a car with 4 wheels using same uneven and patchy road with other road users.

Gov need to relook at this, fix the tax structure then ppl will buy-in and support.

Thumb up 4 Thumb down 0