Cycle & Carriage Bintang and Volkswagen in superdealer talks

small_golf_gti.jpgCycle & Carriage Bintang Bhd is close to signing a superdealer agreement with Volkswagen Group Malaysia Sdn Bhd to distribute Volkswagen cars here in Malaysia. The deal will involve distributing CBU Volkswagen vehicles here and should be finalised end this month or early next month.

After that’s done with, sales should begin within the next three months, pending Volkswagen’s new strategy revamp is complete. Volkswagen has had to put it’s plans here in Malaysia on hold due to the National Automotive Policy’s new tax structures which made it’s cars uncompetitive.

On a side note, although Cycle & Carriage Bintang Bhd will be carrying out sales, marketing, promotions, and have showrooms for Volkswagen cars – basically do everything to sell the cars here, it will not have rights to import the cars. Importing rights are with the AP holders for Volkswagen, AutoStadt Asia Sdn Bhd, which were only recently awarded with the APs only in February 2006.

I am disappointed with this as it is similiar to the shake leg AP middlemen situation which existed back before the new National Automotive Policy was formed. The fact that AutoStadt Asia Sdn Bhd’s owners are the same people who own Emeritus Equities Sdn Bhd who lost their rice bowl when the government stopped giving them Kleemann APs gives you more reason to be suspicious. If you want to know who the owners are, click here. You will not be suprised.

The excuse the government gave for this middleman situation was a problem in the AP policy where public listed companies could not qualify for APs because they did not have the required amount of bumiputra shareholders even if they were bumiputra-controlled. As you all know, APs are for bumiputra companies only. This policy is not in effect anymore, and companies like DRB-HICOM have been able to get APs directly and not go through middlemen like West Star. Does anyone know whether Cycle & Carriage is predominantly bumiputra-controlled? I bet they’re not, hence the requirement for AutoStadt to even exist in the first place.

Ridiculous. Well, if Volkswagen cars are a hit in Malaysia, you can bet that helicopter dealers will be overjoyed.

Volkswagen appoints AutoStadt as sole importer
DRB-HICOM granted it’s own APs
How franchise AP holders make their money with no effort

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• mycar_stolen (Member) on Jul 06, 2006 at 6:52 pm

I need some help here if they Volks enthusiast that know where to get volks spare part. My uncle have a very old and rare VOLKSWAGEN KARMANN GHIA 1960.he needs my help to buy some parts. where to find ha? any advice cheers everybody.

• oversight (Member) on Jul 06, 2006 at 7:50 pm

Haiya still AP issue ke? new volkswagen expensive la. only can drive 1968 volkswagen beetle.

• mystvearn (Member) on Jul 06, 2006 at 8:13 pm

The cars will be priced more due to the middleman?

• e-nabilll (Member) on Jul 06, 2006 at 9:25 pm

this wil jus roll on n on n on..headache already…poor VW..thy wanna sell cars here n do a proper biz..bt the way its done here…thrs no proper way…this AP ting is jus complicated n utterly rediculous…it jus benefits 2 or 3 ppl n dats all…the NAP should have cleared this mess once n for all wen it was anounced….

• demio121 (Member) on Jul 06, 2006 at 9:26 pm

why am i not surprise with these dealing at all??? why??? close one business but open another. preference to friends and relative.

VW must find it rather difficult to comply with all these "special" requirement to do business here.

God luck VW.

• althalus_vii (Member) on Jul 07, 2006 at 12:07 am

here is my dream~~

be the next prime minister…

make myslf the trade minister and rejoice all the rakyat for a better NAP

:):)

• motorhead (Member) on Jul 07, 2006 at 1:30 am

ni la komisyen minded.. must got middle man one.. the victim is the public.. haiya.. when will end oso dunno.. any ministry involve with money sure get so much involve with politics…. i am tired to talk about it oredi…

• redragon (Member) on Jul 07, 2006 at 2:10 am

Wonder if C & C will service VW not bought from them ?

• raybrig85 (Member) on Jul 07, 2006 at 2:58 am

hhmmm…more and more toureg and golf on our road in the future…

mycar_stolen…

wow…ur uncle owned karman ghia???wow…i really like dat car…sexy ma…if u dun mind can u post ur uncle's car pic soon???

• KingKong (Member) on Jul 07, 2006 at 4:35 am

wtf, Autostadt soon earn money with only "goyang telur"

anyway, hope God will judge all of us fairly during judgement day.

• KingKong (Member) on Jul 07, 2006 at 4:36 am

Autostadt is Pidah's niece company.

that's why last time Dr.M angry about this, because if Autostadt didn't go and pursued VW about the deal, i think Proton could form alliance with VW.

• szw (Member) on Jul 07, 2006 at 4:50 am

can compete anot ?

• V_NoZ (Member) on Jul 07, 2006 at 8:50 am

i need my 'fast' quick!!!!…

• whodz (Member) on Jul 07, 2006 at 5:33 pm

The ministers, mostly, were all 'tebal muka'. They do not know ke, they were all are spectated by millions of rakyat? They do not know that millions of rakyat know what they are doing? WTH are they trying to do..I respect one thing je for those ministers, i.e., they are so 'tebal muka', they think rakyat think that they are doing the right thing. Pity. Anyway, I hope Malaysian Government will always have the justice for rakyat over than their rice bowl. I hope that this forum will bring some moral aspect to their own. I hope that one day, our minister will share their(National) wealth to their rakyat (kind of campaign or what-so-ever), respectedly to all races, not only to Malay Bumis. I hope that there are no big gap between poors and riches. I hope that my words will come true, and to be their motivation towards happy Malaysian. MALAYSIA BOLEH! can what!

• mycar_stolen (Member) on Jul 07, 2006 at 5:42 pm

dear raybrig85,

can give you the photo(s) but now the car in Kota Bharu la..but register with B plate number.nice car still going strong,very sporty look and sexy.

cheers….

• johanbey (Member) on Jul 07, 2006 at 7:58 pm

autstadt or not, there is no way we can fulfill our "fast" with p1 or p2 or even p3 around. i a country cant even manage their sugar provisions, even tough we produce sugar on our own, you all expect they can manage an automotive industry? even a 8 year old would understand how important to stock up your provisions, 1st for the own consumption, 2nd for trading to expand economy (if there is extra). You learn that from a computer game! And what would you do if you know there is a traitor in your kingdom? you put his/hers ass back into dark ages.

Im not implying running a country is that easy, but basic rules of governing a group of people through history have not changed much. However if one start to take things for granted and seduce by the sin of greed, then hell turn lose and it will create a chain effect in the system. so you think the 8k earning minister can afford to send all their childfren to oxford or harvard w/o even taking a dip into the candy jar? lets be realistic here, the good stuff like a golf gti will forever be affordable to the upper-middle class, and the upper-middle class will forever protect their interest among themselves.

so we all are stuff with 2nd grade stuff, over-paid for it, chained ourselves with a 9 years repayment interest rate and feel damn good about it cause we are finally buying a vios or city (so long its not a p1 or p2) while some dato' or datin' or their extended families laughing their way to the bank.

with this sort of culture and mentally deeply instill in to our soiciety, where one can take advantage, while another willingly being exploited, lets not say getting to 2020, i dont thin we can even get pass afta.

• mycar_stolen (Member) on Jul 07, 2006 at 11:04 pm

make money out of other people suffercation..or squeeze on other people desperation that they have planned..some poeple not even can afford a car while other people simply drive thier houses….

• althalus_vii (Member) on Jul 07, 2006 at 11:59 pm

guys, wat happen to the talk between G and the thai bout the NAP status aa?

no news bout it yet rite

• Siva (Member) on Jul 08, 2006 at 1:46 am

We must read between the lines when Dr Mahathir lamented that the APs were 'killing' Proton. In what way are the APs killing Proton when the class of cars being imported are not in direct competition to Proton? What Dr Mahathir was trying to say, without directly saying so, is that someone who managed to get his hands on some APs has torpedoed a deal Proton was sealing with a foreign car manufacturer that would have been Proton's saviour.

In 2004, Proton entered into negotiations with Volkswagen to formalise a joint-venture with a view that Proton would manufacture their cars in Malaysia plus get technical assistance and transfer of technology from Germany. However, Zulkifli Ishak went to meet VW to negotiate the VW franchise for Malaysia. VW said they will consider the proposal but only if Zulkifli can arrange for the APs to import the cars into Malaysia. On 29 April 2005, Zulkifli and his partner, Ahmad Rashdan Amir Hamzah, set up a company called Autostadt Asia Sdn Bhd (company number 689924-A) with a paid up capital of RM500,000 and with both of them as Directors. Ahmad Rashdan, however, does not hold any shares in the company. The shares belong to Zulkilfi (499,999) while Zulkifli's wife, Annie Tajul Arus, holds the one remaining share. They then applied for APs specifically for VW vehicles and got them — though the company was dormant, did not have any business address, and did not yet have the franchise for VW. These APs were shown to VW who then agreed to appoint Autostadt Asia Sdn Bhd as the Malaysian franchise holder for VW. This would be better than having to sell VW vehicles through Proton plus having to transfer the technology to Malaysia.

Of course, in the meantime, Proton was still talking to VW not knowing that the franchise had actually been hijacked. Dr Mahathir was hoping the deal with VW would transpire whereby Proton's arse would be saved and its future look brighter than it does now. Imagine Dr Mahathir's horror when he found out that Autostadt Asia had 'stolen' VW from Proton. But what made him really fly off the handle was when he found out that Autostadt Asia's shareholder, Annie Tajul Arus, is Rafidah's niece, and Zulifilfi is Annie's husband, a husband and wife outfit related to the Trade Minister. And that was why, last year, Dr Mahathir fired his shot against APs and alleged that it was detrimental to Proton's health. And we all know what happened recently. VW announced that it was aborting the deal with Proton. They did not even officially inform Proton who had to read about it from the newspapers. VW, in a way, told Proton to go jump in the lake. VW does not need Proton anymore to penetrate the Malaysian market. They have their own Ali Baba, Autostadt Asia Sdn Bhd, which is actually funded by a Chinese businessman.

Of course, there are more issues than these, but all these are now already public knowledge so we really do not need to go into too much detail on what is available in the public domain. What we want to raise are the unsaid or 'silent' issues, those that are the hidden agenda for everything that is being said and done. There is one more thing, the Ani Arope public confession on the way the IPPs were thrust down his throat. This is actually the 'Ani Arope Bear Trap'. They are just waiting for Dr Mahathir to respond to Ani Arope. Then they will boil him in oil. We will not reveal anything just yet. We will see whether Dr Mahathir responds to Ani Arope or not in the next few days. If he does, then they will fry him alive. If he does not, well, then we will reveal in the next episode of The Corridors of Power what they had planned for Dr Mahathir. It is actually a very ingenious strategy and certainly one that will damage Dr Mahathir quite badly (not 'slight bruise' as what Dr Mahathir said in his press conference). Whether this story they are going to spin is fact or fiction is not for us to say.

The point we are making here is that it is a very convincing story that even a person like Dr Mahathir would be hard-pressed to rebut or deny. And only someone with a very brilliant mind would be able to come up with this ingenious and most convincing yarn. Anyway, stay tuned, and in the next episode we will reveal how they plan to cook Dr Mahathir's goose and turn the hunter into the hunted.

http://malaysiafinance.blogspot.com/2006/06/proto…

• kendo (Member) on Jul 08, 2006 at 2:46 am

how many u want??

I can get it from FAT lady:

10,000 AP x RM30,000

= Rm 300 MILLION

we can build PROTON 2

with that EASY money

• raybrig85 (Member) on Jul 08, 2006 at 6:15 am

wow…ver rare species…its really hard to c dat car..i really luv it…btw…its ok…how lucky is ur uncle own dat car…

• V_NoZ (Member) on Jul 08, 2006 at 7:14 pm

remember the days when the VW beetle used to be the king of the roads…. my granny had one.. gave it to my unc( my real auntie husband) . and he had to sell it to some guy and now iam knocking myself for not being able to buy it back coz i was to young lah!). its digs the chicks…it sure does.. trust me..

• chris_the_germ (Member) on Jul 08, 2006 at 8:51 pm

mycar_stolen

What about
    http://www.karmann-ghia.de/vers_uk/index.htm
    Looks good, but it's in Germany. No experience with site or vendor.

• fookeatmin1989 (Member) on Jul 09, 2006 at 1:19 am

#$^@#$&#$@*&^!

Free meal does exist in this world…..

• NeedGoodCar (Member) on Jul 09, 2006 at 6:38 pm

what is with all this nonsense? we could have the choice of decent cars if not for the ridiculous automotive policy and to accomodate the hopeless national car projects. how many of us can afford a CBU or even CKD VW? A Passat 2.0 FSI is selling about RM120k in Taiwan, I reckon it could stretch to about RM190k bcos of the tax and unjustifiable practices here…SAD…

• raybrig85 (Member) on Jul 10, 2006 at 1:55 am

hhhmmm…nak buat caner…nasib kite di BOLEHLAND…

• sonia2chin (Member) on Jul 10, 2006 at 8:02 pm

let's have some real facts instead of posting rumours and hearsay here. 1) the proton/vw deal fell through because the germans wanted majority control in proton. it would be another case of what happened to skouda when vw took control. proton being the national car doesn't want that. the deal fell through then. i'm not on either side. there's pros and cons if vw took over proton. 2) to siva…pls don't copy what u read from another forum. if u know the actual dates when autostadt sealed the deal with vw and when they only got their ap's approved u will be very surprised at the huge time gap. and mind u, they didn't even get 20% of what they applied for. thus the deal was for something far more important than some aps. 3) my sources told me it's not a bed of roses for autostadt. it's strictly normal genuine business. there is no charge to vw for any ap used. a small minimal fixed handling fee/commission of a few percent is charged which is chicken feed when compared to the price of those who sells ap for a profit. instead, autostadt source it's own financing to import the vw cars upfront. thus autostadt are not selling aps to vw. 4) what makes the cars so damn expensive is the tax. the docket price is rediculous and the tax on it sky high crazy. why do u think there are so many vw cars stuck at port by walds?