DRB-HICOM granted it’s own APs

The Ministry of International Trade and Industry (MITI) has granted Appoved Permits for all CBU models imported by DRB-HICOM into Malaysia. DRB-HICOM currently brings in the Chevrolet, Citroen, Honda, Mahindra, Suzuki, Audi and Mitsubishi marques. Before this, there was a problem in the AP policy where public listed companies could not qualify for APs because they did not have the required amount of bumiputra shareholders even if they were bumiputra-controlled. Of course, APs are for bumiputras only and being public listed, it’s hard to control the amount of bumiputra shareholding in the company.

The APs for DRB-HICOM’s cars are awarded to it’s wholly owned subsidiary DRB-Hicom Auto Solutions Sdn Bhd.

How franchise AP holders make their money almost for free

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• honda_driver (Member) on Apr 17, 2006 at 5:07 pm

interesting stuff.. i heard that toyota are still having problems getting their AP's, which is why the yaris..etc. is still not launched yet.

but thats just something i heard.

as expected, the first people to get a whole big bunch of APs after the nap announcement was naza.

• cratzelogy (Member) on Apr 17, 2006 at 6:11 pm

so what, no offence but cars under DRB-HICOM sucks big time. Ask those who purchase them. I guess guys from Chevrolet, Citroen, Honda, Mahindra, Suzuki, Audi and Mitsubishi should go to audit DRB-Hicom from time to time.

• honda_driver (Member) on Apr 17, 2006 at 7:03 pm

the cars under DRB-Hicom are lousy cars? or the company doesn't manage those brands well?

i dont think cars like audi, suzuki, honda or even mitsu are lousy cars right?

• pendek (Member) on Apr 17, 2006 at 7:17 pm

might as well remove AP's altogether,

G can now tax directly to those who wanted to buy foreign cars. afterall there's no thing such as protective policy for our p1 & p2

this will eliminate issues like …AP king , MITI roles, car prices.

hahahah….. if the real life is as simple as that.

• rexis (Member) on Apr 17, 2006 at 10:52 pm

Why is there a AP system anyway? To help bumi venture into auto industry?

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Apr 17, 2006 at 11:58 pm

What to argue, AP will be ceast to exist after 2010! It is illegal under WTO.

• Ricc (Member) on Apr 18, 2006 at 12:11 am

WTF?? AP is for Bumiputra only? I wonder wut is meant by the PM, "No Malaysian wil be leftout"

• Driven2020 (Member) on Apr 18, 2006 at 12:26 am

why not just buy 2nd hand cars instead? loads of them around n not like singapore COE. Give the local car industry a shock and see how the government react to it.

We can't say what we want but we still can buy what we wish.

• mycar_stolen (Member) on Apr 18, 2006 at 1:17 am

Driven2020 said,

April 17, 2006 @ 4:26 pm

why not just buy 2nd hand cars instead? loads of them around n not like singapore COE. Give the local car industry a shock and see how the government react to it.

We can’t say what we want but we still can buy what we wish.

Yes throw away our ego on buying"new and over price cars,(some more depreciate so fast),"

we buy second hand non-national cars.the G wont listen to you but you may take action that will be effective.

• Nemo (Member) on Apr 18, 2006 at 2:53 am

Ha.. mycar. G will listen to us. Otherwise G wont cancel the bridge project suddenly.

Now is the time to go into 2nd car market. Agree?

• swarty (Member) on Apr 18, 2006 at 5:09 am

Guys, does "option" exist in our dictionary? No matter how far we dream for a better a car we fall back to car made out of Can Tin and Kelapa Sawit. Lets face it we will continue driving this car since we can't effort better car and we don't have an option. The word will be "terpaksa". Beside that we never practise consume rights, what the point even when we did?

Once I file a complaint to Lembaga Penguna, about oil leak problem with my bike. There she was sharing with me her story about Waja and its radiator problem. Note that guys, Lembaga Penguna! She is one of the judge between the bike dealer and me. Who going to fight if you have car problems and customer support issues?

Yesterday, I saw Gen2 at a road show with reduce price. There is also a Quality improvement with the Gen2, none of the wheel with disc breaks! Or I just can't see. Next I notice is dangling soft plastic cover attachment near the side mirror adjuster. "Must glue this piece just after buy this car".

Oh well.. MyVi is the best option now. All the AP and NAP rubbish talks, that wasted their time and ours too. Proton can't survive without G support like other company, it never will. And G can't survive from money earning from car taxes.

I like the 2nd car idea!! Yah that will be great too, import 2nd car from Thailand and Singapore. Let Malaysia be 2nd dumping ground, "Boleh! …(beli)". Malaysia can't be Automotif Hub instead 2nd Hub… Just my sound of frustration.

• jehutyz (Member) on Apr 18, 2006 at 5:53 am

Just want to know what is the different between got AP and no AP?

Price will be cheaper or more expensive?

Coz currently like Suzuki Swift, is hard to get at KL already due to all the current stock nearly sold out and the 2006 batch is still on hold due to the price increase as estimate will increase RM8,000 but heard government don't approve that therefore still on hold.

• triplesaber (Member) on Apr 18, 2006 at 7:12 pm

Im Malay, or Bumi some may call it, but Hey, aint Orang Asli a Bumi too? Altho im malay, i must say tht AP must not exist. People r getting greedy..

• superman (Member) on Apr 18, 2006 at 11:20 pm

cratzelogy said,

April 17, 2006 @ 10:11 am

so what, no offence but cars under DRB-HICOM sucks big time. Ask those who purchase them. I guess guys from Chevrolet, Citroen, Honda, Mahindra, Suzuki, Audi and Mitsubishi should go to audit DRB-Hicom from time to time

Honda, Suzuki Audi & Mitsubishi are Great cars in terms of design, build quality etc.

How do judge them as "sucks"????

On a different note, it's about time the Principal Importer, Distributor and Sales companies are granted the APs. They do all the hard work while two fellas( who have close ties with MITI) undeservingly reap rewards from doin nothing but sitting on papers (APs)

Govt should take it further and award the APs only to the Principal companies Malaysian Branches such as Daimler Chrysler Malaysia, UMW Toyota , BMW (M) , Honda Malaysia, VW Malaysia etc.

• outspoken (Member) on Apr 19, 2006 at 1:53 am

towards a corporate malaysia………………..

• outspoken (Member) on Apr 19, 2006 at 1:56 am

by the way, i see more and more people taking cheap snipes at racial issues. cut them off please. this is an automotive forum.. Paul, i think we need you to remind readers about this…

• ingolstadt (Member) on Apr 20, 2006 at 10:36 am

outspoken said,

April 18, 2006 @ 5:56 pm

by the way, i see more and more people taking cheap snipes at racial issues. cut them off please. this is an automotive forum.. Paul, i think we need you to remind readers about this…

Stop being a 'malaysian' can you? we need some freedom of speech here. Bugger off and read your son's diary if you want some peace of mind or 'clean talk' … go read Ladybird bed time stories if you want to live in a fantasy world. Adults discussing issues here. Nothing to contribute then read, felt inflicted by comments then change your mindset, too old to change your mindset then buzz off, go read some fishing blog, or flower-planting blog.

APs are a real harm to our industries. They can impose APs to forcefully strengthened Bumiputras to have a strong foothold at Malaysia's Automobile industries, being so ignorant of international laws, Malaysia can anytime impose APs for handphones, computers or even your cha siew pau or chee cheong fun …. anything can change then. Perhaps cybercafe or mamak stalls as well ? Oh ya, maybe blogs too. Paul, you rock; but nowhere near fireangel :D

p.s. delete my post if *outspoken* decides to kill himself and eventually did.

• Fairman (Member) on Apr 21, 2006 at 6:29 pm

honda_driver said,

April 17, 2006 @ 9:07 am

interesting stuff.. i heard that toyota are still having problems getting their AP’s, which is why the yaris..etc. is still not launched yet.

Really ? but is saw a toyota yaris OTR last week at Sarawark…would it be imported from foreign country as 2nd hand car ?

• outspoken (Member) on Apr 24, 2006 at 3:38 am

Stop being a ‘malaysian’ can you? we need some freedom of speech here. Bugger off and read your son’s diary if you want some peace of mind or ‘clean talk’ … go read Ladybird bed time stories if you want to live in a fantasy world. Adults discussing issues here. Nothing to contribute then read, felt inflicted by comments then change your mindset, too old to change your mindset then buzz off, go read some fishing blog, or flower-planting blog.

Obviously i have pulled the right string to upset you. Nonetheless, your comments are full with personal attacks and does not reflect the "Adult-ness" you referring to…..

APs are a real harm to our industries. They can impose APs to forcefully strengthened Bumiputras to have a strong foothold at Malaysia’s Automobile industries, being so ignorant of international laws, Malaysia can anytime impose APs for handphones, computers or even your cha siew pau or chee cheong fun …. anything can change then. Perhaps cybercafe or mamak stalls as well ? Oh ya, maybe blogs too. Paul, you rock; but nowhere near fireangel

— ———————-

The majority of bumis does not benefitted from the AP's. Instead of reading too many flower plantng blog and fishing blog, you ought to seek the truth.

p.s. delete my post if *ingolstadt* decides to kill himself and eventually did.

my point is simple: let us base the argment on facts (not general assumptions)..

• I my (Member) on Apr 27, 2006 at 11:30 pm

A BIG why to DRB-HICOM. Chevrolet, Citroen, Honda, Mahindra, Suzuki, Audi and Mitsubishi all this is under same Group?? 'coz they hv APs?? if all most of car brand is under 1 Group now on earth we can hv competitive price??