Volkswagen cranks up twincharged 1.4 to 200hp

golf_tsi_enginebay.jpg

As if 170hp from their new 1.4 TSI engine is not enough, Volkswagen is currently testing a 200hp version of their twincharged pocket rocket engine. The engine is currently available in 140hp and 170hp units, and uses twincharging – a combination of supercharging at low engine RPM and turbocharging at high engine RPM – and really precise direct injection to achieve it’s amazing power figures.

Volkswagen acknowledges that most consumers still have the impression that displacement rules all, and look at the size of the engine rather than the amount of torque and horsepower it produces. The 1.4 TSI engines that go into current Volkswagen cars do not have the 1.4 litre engine capacity advertised anywhere including on the model names. The Volkswagen Golf with a 170hp TSI engine is called the Volkswagen Golf GT.

The 1.4 TSI is currently found in the Golf, Golf Plus, and Touran models, but will eventually find it’s way into the Polo, Eos and Passat. I think it will do especially well in a Polo GTI, which is currently powered by a 1.8 litre 150hp engine.

Volkswagen 1.4 TSI Twincharged Engine
Volkswagen Golf GT 1.4 TSI and 2.0 TDI

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• mycar_stolen (Member) on Jul 10, 2006 at 7:31 pm

wah..working as engineer with VW group must be overwhelming..a well respected achievement (for myself through the reading only la, never being close to drive a new generation VW so expensive.

BTW what happen hah to a batch of Under Declare Golf stuck in Custom Warehouse?somewhere in Perak?are they selling "one eye closed" to "friends"..errr "40k or less" maybe…

• Paul Tan on Jul 10, 2006 at 7:39 pm

Very impressive indeed. Volkswagen seems to be the new Honda when it comes to engine innovations.

• motorhead (Member) on Jul 10, 2006 at 8:13 pm

1.4 – 170hp? goin for 200hp??.. how they manage to doit??.. macam mana dia orang bikin arr? anyone can explain how??, small engine but big power.. hebat betullah… our campro 1.6 – 110hp only.. auto tech has improved so fast… hail VW!!

• lembagatanah (Member) on Jul 10, 2006 at 9:09 pm

lancer evo 2.0 can produce more than 400++ hp with turbocharger (with numerous other mod of course). accord cf4 fb20 engine can produce 200hp (stock standard). big 1.6 vtec produced up to 170++ hp, both wit vtec only, no supercharger and turbocharger. the turbo tech is too powerful, but seems like there are some disadvantage, which i dont know, that deter car company from using it, not so popular to say the least.

with this kind of power, wah so powerful la. power to weight ratio can beat those bmw pranks easily

• Paul Tan on Jul 10, 2006 at 9:15 pm

lembagatanah: vtec has to rev pretty high to get that 170++ hp, plus it has mediocre torque. thats the problem with high revving + aggresive cams to gain more power as opposed to forced induction which provides good torque together with horsepower.

• mycar_stolen (Member) on Jul 10, 2006 at 9:22 pm

the big vtec if B16A the 170HP only for manual trasnmission, if auto "only" 155HP.if I not mistaken la.

Yes agree with you Paul, need to rev quite high.but this kind of technology make the owner very happy and also sought after by car thieft..oouuuch….

• paradoxx (Member) on Jul 10, 2006 at 9:51 pm

if you VW would consider producing new generation' air cooled flat 4 engine' with the same amount of power as above… we classic VW enthusiasts will be extra proud people..! :)

• motorhead (Member) on Jul 10, 2006 at 9:53 pm

They have high knowledge in steel material composition of the engine..the engine's block can withstand extreme power and heat for normal and long duration.. this kind of tech we cannot develope in short time.. need huge investment in R&D.. we might have to wait another 3-5 years (may be more)before we have the chance to see it on msian road with amazing price tags.. or it will never reach bolehland…

• pirate (Member) on Jul 10, 2006 at 9:57 pm

I thought 170bhp from the 1.4TSI Twin-charged engine is already awesome!

But now, it's manic!!!

Something tells me that the direct-injection+chargings applications from VW has that turbo-diesel latest common-rail tech in it…

Paul, any torque figures? Can't get them from the NST-CBT and Msian EVO articles…

Anyway, I think VW is very good at mashing direct injection + supercharging + turbo together for this powerplant!

Wonder if it's as responsive and lag-free as the already superb 200bhp/280Nm 2.0L TFSI motor from VAG group…

• Paul Tan on Jul 10, 2006 at 10:33 pm

pirate: the 1.4 tsi making 170hp has 240Nm of torque between 1750-4000rpm! volkswagen admits the 2.0 FSI is smoother at low rpms compared to the 1.4 TSI, but the 1.4 TSI performs well at medium to high rpms.

• KY (Member) on Jul 10, 2006 at 11:14 pm

all i want is my v10 pushrod engine. =/

• Whopper (Member) on Jul 10, 2006 at 11:22 pm

Hmmm….a 200bhp 1.4litre engine…I wouldn't mind getting my hands on that VW engine. Just imagine…paying road tax for a 1.4litre engine but you get the performance of a 2.0 or more litre engine. Sounds tempting.

• redragon (Member) on Jul 10, 2006 at 11:48 pm

I'm a big VW fan. driven the MK V Gti dsg, what an amazing machine. the dsg is really cool and now 200bhp from 1.4 ? way to go VW.

• tbcheese (Member) on Jul 10, 2006 at 11:56 pm

wow Paul this is some exclusive piece of news. You're the 1st site I've seen with it. Not even the VW fanatical sites I've been to has it. Good job mate.

• jtshin (Member) on Jul 11, 2006 at 12:22 am

200bhp for 1.4L… how about 2.0L engines? wow… its only a stock engine though.. wat bout it tuned? bigger bhp in 1.4L?

• raybrig85 (Member) on Jul 11, 2006 at 2:47 am

gosh…vw…vw…hhmm…i dunno wat to say…bside beemer and merc…alwiz got alot of news abt vw in all site i visit…incredible…ya…ure rite whoper…dats a great idea…huahuahua…road tax low…best…

• szw (Member) on Jul 11, 2006 at 4:29 am

nicest !

• ingolstadt (Member) on Jul 11, 2006 at 5:22 am

Hi revving engines means the pistons had to be lightweight and small in size. Hence a small piston would have less torque…. anyway… Volkswagen is really playing the cards well. Many innovations recently, they certainly caught their momentum.

• xXx (Member) on Jul 11, 2006 at 6:12 am

and proton didnt want a collaboration with Volks AG…..

love that engine man… imagine a specific output of over 142bhp per litre…..wicked…

• KingKong (Member) on Jul 11, 2006 at 8:31 am

"and proton didnt want a collaboration with Volks AG….."

VW terminated the negotiation with Proton when Autostadt eventually ask MITI to give AP for them to imports VW. Then, VW appointed Autostadt to be the authorised-importer of VW. That's why Dr.M open his mouth about AP.

• cbljkkj (Member) on Jul 11, 2006 at 9:01 am

Although the B16A can produce up to 170 on wheel horsepower. Nobody wants to rev up to 7-8000 RPMS. If one has to rev that high everyday, the petrol consumption would be alot worse.

The reason that they are turbocharging/supercharging the smaller displacement models such as the 1.4 TSI models is that people who drive it dont have to rev like crazy just to keep up with other cars on the road or on the highway. Japan did the same thing to the Mira L2S and other cars like the Mira Cuore L7 and Move L9 most of which had 660cc engines but comes with a turbocharger.

• weili (Member) on Jul 11, 2006 at 4:12 pm

This company had gone through a long journey.They have the experts in R&D , not like our potong….keras kepala…old design also said new from them…using back dated technologies to produce then said new tech…..really tired of their saying…..if continue like this sure they blingkup…..n the rakyat suffer coz have to paid more tax to support the junk!

• bobdbilder (Member) on Jul 11, 2006 at 5:19 pm

Looks like Ingolstadt trying to break Munchen's claim to fame for bhp:cc ratio. Technically it looks like a winner for a certain segment of the market.

Weili is right about Volkswagen. But it had more than 70 years of history of making cars for the people. They were using the Beetle design up to the 1970s when Golf came out and moved Beetle to Brazil. But they also had the Karmann Ghias but for a niche market.

There wasn't really much a revolution in design or technology. Theirs have been typically about turning business around back to black and giving solid, reliable products.

But they were also protected by law against foreign takeovers.

Does it sound familiar?

• honda_driver (Member) on Jul 11, 2006 at 6:27 pm

This is definitely one of the more interesting engines to come out of VW. I wonder how the buying public will choose. VW has engine choices like baskin robbins with ice cream.

if i'm not mistaken, the VW beetle started production in 1938 and stopped in 2003. I suppose thats quite a bit longer than iswara/saga.

hi weili, whats the latest thing that proton claims as new tech, but is actually old tech? i havent actually been following what they've been saying lately.

• chun (Member) on Jul 11, 2006 at 8:33 pm

I believe that the VW/Audi group possesses one of the best, if not, the best car engineers in the world. They are leaders in drivetrain technology which includes the engines (as best demonstrated with their TSI, FSI, TFSI, and diesel models) and transmissions (CVT and DSG). In addition to that, their structural engineering is peerless. They produce some of the stiffest bodies in their classes, with the Phaeton in the upper range and the Passat in the mid-range. Where Toyota beats VW is in their manufacturing processes, which should not be confused with engineering prowess.

• lembagatanah (Member) on Jul 12, 2006 at 5:36 pm

what i tried to mention is even n/a engine can achive almost the same power output compared to the turbocharged one albeit at higher rpm. you mentioned turbocharged vs n/a, of course charged engine is the clear winner ;-).

this morning i saw a vw model, even my wife is attracted, but couldn't clearly see the model. not a big fan, so don't know what the model is. but very nice. obviously not golf. as for vw, none of my colleague drive one, so pretty hard to anticipate buying one, apart from the look.

• honda_driver (Member) on Jul 13, 2006 at 4:13 pm

chun, no doubt that VW engineers are some of the best in the world, and they do build great cars. But they didn't invent/design the CVT or DSG box. Someone else did. In the case of DSG, VW paid a 3rd party engineering company to help them build a DSG box for them.

It's not unlike Proton for example, who gets their gearboxes from Mitsubishi.

• cardboard (Member) on May 08, 2007 at 11:32 pm

hi guys im new to this and was wondering if anyone knows how i could get some more specific information about this engine. i need to find out the piston weight and dimensions.

thanks

• maaruts on May 14, 2010 at 11:58 am

well i heard the DSG was first introduced by FIAT in 1980s but then they dump it maybe due to reliability problem. as for VW, their engineers have long history of achievement. during WW2 VW (refer: back then vw is the german national car company as volks = nation) engineers working at gunpoints of Nazi were forced to come up with engine that doesnt need water radiator (refer: WW2 german african campaign). they damn did and the technology was used in the old air-cooled vw beetle. as for the the 1.4TSI, it is a remarkable feat. but the tech implementation is not a breaking-through though i.e. supercharging & turbo systems has been around for a while. But is this the future of internal combustion engine esp with more expensive petrol? i still prefer the VTC-VTEC combo of K20Z though..as for proton, they did well. their campro CPS is still short of VTC. they have cam switching n IAFM. now lets wait for proton to come up with VTC..peace

• techniquebrat on Jan 11, 2013 at 4:26 am

How innovative, a warmed up technology from the 80ies , formerly used by Lancia with the Delta S4 group B. Slightly altered with direct injection.