Volkswagen Polo GTI 1.8 Turbo

vw_polo_gti_1.jpg

The Volkswagen Polo GTI was shown at the end of October last year at the Tokyo International Motor Show. I’ve posted about it before, but I thought it would be nice if I’d do another feature on it right after my post on the Volkswagen Polo Bluemotion. Kind of like two opposite ends of the Polo model range you know, one of them offers mega mileage and the other one offers you mega horsepower :)

Volkswagen Polo GTI 1.8T Test Drive Review

vw_polo_gti_2.jpg

The Volkswagen Polo GTI pays tribute to the original 1986 Volkswagen Polo G40, the original performance Volkswagen Polo. It had a 115 horsepower 1.3 litre force inducted powerplant put down to the ground with the front wheels. 0-100km/h took 9 seconds and the little pocket rocket’s top speed was 195km/h. Pretty good for a 1.3 litre mini-car back in the 1980s.

The new Volkswagen Polo GTI bears some similiarity to it’s older brother, the Volkswagen Golf GTI in terms of bodykit design. Under the hood is a 1.8 litre four-cylinder powerplant making 150 horsepower with the help of a intercooled turbocharger. 150 horsepower from a turbocharged 1.8 litre engine isn’t really all that impressive, and you would expect at least 180 horsepower. Volkswagen probably wanted to match the engine output to the chassis size. The 1.8 litre engine is a 20 valve engine, 5 valves per cylinder – 2 inlets and 3 outlets. Torque is a maximum of 220Nm from below 2000rpm. The engine is probably tuned for low-end power, which explains the low peak horsepower. But I reckon a simple rechip would unlock all that extra horses if you need them.

vw_polo_gti_3.jpg

vw_polo_gti_4.jpg

vw_polo_gti_5.jpg

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• tbcheese (Member) on Apr 05, 2006 at 1:12 pm

: ) and I was just talking about this car earlier too.

It'd have been nicer if they used the 1.4 twincharged engine. I reckon its lighter than the 1.8 and it makes nearly 170hp too. The downside is it requires higher octane petrol.

• Initial D (Member) on Apr 05, 2006 at 5:39 pm

push the torque n HP higher, then it would be a high rev engine!!! wow

• gawieong (Member) on Apr 05, 2006 at 5:45 pm

2 inlet and 3 outlets? wow, that's new to me…the 4A-GE 20v is the other way round rite?

• motorhead (Member) on Apr 05, 2006 at 6:46 pm

1.3 = 115hp = 195 kph??.. huyoo… this what malay call, kecil cili padi…. even more powerful than gen2 1.6.. bye2 la poton…, sad when poton & VW deal off..

if not VW for national car, good la…

ps: motorhead likes small but powerful… like cute amoys….

• kody (Member) on Apr 05, 2006 at 7:19 pm

wahlaueh…

The car;s side view may look like 'Charade' a bit, but the front look really impressive, further more with woo… factors engine & performance… OMG… i really love this baby.

Stupid P1 for giveaway VW offers, to maintain national pride then we, malaysians have to suffer for high price low quality cars…

• xefron (Member) on Apr 05, 2006 at 10:02 pm

150 hp is enough for me lor… anyway sure Paul is a VW freak especially the Golf and Polo….hahahaha

• motorhead (Member) on Apr 05, 2006 at 10:52 pm

kody.. yea lah.. but i think VW was very greedy oso… want complete control of poton.. how can.. cannotlah… partner like perodua ok what.. can perform oso…

• Shaun on Feb 12, 2011 at 12:02 am

The reason its only got 110kw is because this engine is detuned by VW…

Its actually capable of 132 kw… Same as the Polo CUP..

Vw was probly just embarrest that a Polo GTI would beat its flagship model Golf 5