New Toyota Vios line-up teaser with prices

New Toyota Vios

[ LATEST UPDATE: Click here to find out more details on the Toyota Vios that will be available here in Malaysia, straight from the Malaysian press preview launch! ]

[ LATEST UPDATE #2: The official launch prices for the 2007 Toyota Vios has been released by UMW Toyota Motor. The sporty top of the range Vios 1.5S is priced at RM88,100. The mid-range Vios 1.5G costs RM84,800 and finally the baseline 1.5E costs RM78,700. Click here for more details. ]

UMW Toyota Motor has put up a teaser section on the new 2nd generation Toyota Vios (known as the Toyota Belta in Japan) on their website in place of the usual section where information on the first generation Vios was available.

There are 3 trim levels available, up from two from the previous generation Vios. All three are 1.5 litre versions and none of them are under 70K as previously mentioned, so I suppose either the cheaper models will come later, or they are just missing from the teaser and will all be launched together.

Toyota Vios 1.5E

The baseline Toyota Vios is the 1.5E model which features front disc brakes and rear drum brakes with 14 inch alloy wheels wrapped with 175/65R14 tyres. This baseline model has it’s turn signals on the fender and foglamps on the front bumper.

On the interior, you have an electric power steering with a steering wheel that’s tilt adjustable but not reach adjustable. Seats are fabric seats done up in beige, and the interior is generally a two tone dark grey and beige/silver colour scheme. The centrally-mounted meter cluster uses analog white meters are there is no multi-information display – this will probably be a trip computer with fuel economy calculation of sorts. The in-car entertainment system uses a 1-DIN standard size CD player with 4 speakers.

Both the 3-spoke steering wheel and shift knob are wrapped with urethane. Wing mirrors are manually adjustable. The Vios 1.5E has no hood silencer and only has an inner dash silencer. This shouldn’t be too much of a hassle as you can add your own sound-proofing later from aftermarket accessories. Safety features include ABS, EBD, Brake Assist, and a single driver airbag.

The Toyota Vios 1.5E is estimated to be priced at RM79,200.

Toyota Vios 1.5G

The middle-child is the Toyota Vios 1.5G. Brakes have been upgraded to include discs at the rear. The steering wheel is similar to the 1.5E, but it is now wrapped with leather, and so is the shift lever and knob. The in-car entertainment system uses a dash integrated head unit with a tuner and a CD player featuring MP3 and WMA support. This is hooked up to a 6-speaker system.

Other than that, the interior is the same 2-tone dark grey and beige/silver interior as the baseline model. The turn indicator is now mounted on the wing mirrors, which are power adjustable and retractable. As for sound dampening, this mid-range model gets a hood silencer and a better dash silencer with both inner and outer silencing material. Safety features are similiar to the 1.5E, except this model has two airbags – one for the driver and one for the front passenger.

The Toyota Vios 1.5G is estimated to be priced at RM85,300.

Toyota Vios 1.5S

This is the top of the range Toyota Vios. The Toyota Vios 1.5S can be seen as the sportier model of the range as it is fitted with an aerokit on the exterior. It’s specifications are an upgrade over the Toyota Vios 1.5E, so whatever the 1.5E has, the 1.5S will have something equivalent or better.

The interior is a more sporty dark grey and black combination colour scheme, and the centrally mounted meter cluster are Optitron meters which light up in amber. There is also a multi-information display, something all the other variants do not have. This display will probably be a trip computer of sorts, providing you with various information like average fuel economy.

The Toyota Vios 1.5S is estimated to be priced at RM88,600.

Mechanically there is nothing much new Toyota Vios as the proven 1NZ-FE 1.5 litre engine with 109 PS at 6,000rpm and 141Nm of torque at 4,200rpm is retained, but the usage of an electric power steering in this new Vios instead of a hydraulic power steering in the old Vios might contribute a little to fuel economy and power.

As it is counter-productive to repeat everything about the car here, please read my previous posts on the new Toyota Vios linked below to learn more about the car and view more photos.

New Toyota Vios launched in Thailand
Toyota Belta on test in Thailand as Toyota Vios
UMW Toyota plans to price new baseline Toyota Vios at under RM70,000
2006 Toyota Belta (JDM name for Toyota Vios)
Toyota Human Touch advertisement featuring Toyota Belta/Vios

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• szw (Member) on Sep 12, 2007 at 4:24 pm

izit up from g not e ?

• zack_keyme988 (Member) on Sep 12, 2007 at 4:27 pm

HUH??????? GETTING EXPENSIVE LO… HOW CAN TOYOTA PUT THAT PRICE TAG????IS IT A KILLER… BASED FROM THE EXPLANATION..1.5E IS LIKE PERSONA M-LINE LA..ANG 1.5G IS LIKE PERSONA HI-LINE….BUT IS IT WORTH TO PUT THAT PRICE>>??? THINK AGAIN TOYOTA?? IN THIS CASE I’LL PREFER HONDA CITY THAN THESE… HUH…WAT A SHOCK PRICE..AGAIN..HOWEVER..IT WOULD NOT DISTURB PERSONA’S SALE…THE LOOK???JUST NORMAL..NOTHING TO SHOCK FOR..NO ‘WOW’ FACTOR…BUT IS MORE UGLY FRONT DESIGN..SORRY TOYOTA.. I NEED 2 SAY THAT..BUT ITS TRUE.. TO ME….WE WILL SEE THE SELL PERFORMANCE..

• transformer (Member) on Sep 12, 2007 at 4:32 pm

will sell well as long as its from “T” make and sell under Rm100K !

• MaverickNeo (Member) on Sep 12, 2007 at 4:37 pm

Bro, u seems pissed off..LOLZ. Anyway, the car looks like shit, abit expensive, and seemd abit under-equipped. I don’t think I would buy it.

• zack_keyme988 (Member) on Sep 12, 2007 at 4:48 pm

#
    MaverickNeo said,

September 12, 2007 @ 4:37 pm

Bro, u seems pissed off..LOLZ. Anyway, the car looks like shit, abit expensive, and seemd abit under-equipped. I don’t think I would buy it.

YES MAVERICKNEO……….I AGREE WITH YOU..SHORT FRONT BOOT… SMALL REAR BONNET LUGGAGE… CRAMPED WHEELBASE…2550MM?? PERSONA 2600MM..IS MORE SENCE IF U OWN A PERSONA…PROMOTING..HEHE

• gonggok (Member) on Sep 12, 2007 at 4:55 pm

Why is the Vios more expensive than the Avanza? The Avanza is bigger, has more parts (glass seats etc), RWD which is more expensive to make but still can sell profitably at RM 60+k.

The only reason is that a lot of people are ignorant enough to pay those prices…
    Toyota laughs all the way to the bank…

• proton.com (Member) on Sep 12, 2007 at 4:58 pm

It seems overpriced, it just a yaris sedan. Small car like that it not worth RM 90000. Are you guys just ignore this price because of TOYOTA?

• transformer (Member) on Sep 12, 2007 at 5:02 pm

Inflation ?

If you really pocket loaded, i will advise you to go test drive Latio and this before you make up your mind!

Paul,
    Anyway to do a comparison on Belta vs Latio(Sedan) ?

• Paul Tan on Sep 12, 2007 at 5:03 pm

These are not the final prices, just estimated ones provided by Toyota. They might drop later when the model is launched.

• bobdbilder (Member) on Sep 12, 2007 at 5:50 pm

Methinks after Toyota see the reaction on this website they’ll reconsider. You see they need more revenue than last year (which was phenomenal). And they really need to show it to the shareholders.

But they must be pissing in their pants now with the Persona clawing back market share.

• hyundai (Member) on Sep 12, 2007 at 5:50 pm

this car is priced similar as the nissan latio but it is smaller in both interior and size and also the engine (latio is 1.6) so latio makes a better sense!

• akshen_kamen (Member) on Sep 12, 2007 at 5:51 pm

ugly design…just yaris “sedan”…if this is Protong car..in one day.. it can exceed 100 comment from the basher..haha

• rhoma (Member) on Sep 12, 2007 at 5:54 pm

well in that case, bad marketing strategy!

• xstan (Member) on Sep 12, 2007 at 6:20 pm

Slight increase in price then. I too dream for competitive pricing as Edge Financial paper did report of below RM70K for manual tranny back then.

Toyota direction is to sustain its pricing & has no intention to lower its price even with NAP advantage. It is also to strengthen its value of its older unit & public confidence. Moreover it maintained its target segment that is mid income.
    Heard from dealer it will only be launched by 19th Oct 07.

I really anticipate for the launch & would perhaps fight my way to test drive it 1st. Hope it stand out than City since its price range similar.

I doubt the price will be lowered even during the launched. The dealer known to me just teasingly laughed at me when mentioned of the missing J Manual spec. Arrogantly & proudly stressed that Toyota never ever produce Manual tranny..it will never be. Also mentioned that Toyota will never dropped its price for new model. But still it interest me..

• jamsbong (Member) on Sep 12, 2007 at 6:37 pm

ok, I do admit this is an expensive car but the car is not marketed like a bargain basement product. That is definitely the case. just have a look, ABS, 2 airbags, mp3, etcs. this is a prestige small car. I think the other way to put it is that this car is Made in Japan, where as the Kijang/avanza is made in Indonesia. moreover, Kijang is a work machine, not a comfort traveller.

As we all know, Msian currency have always been loosing value, so obviously Japanese product is gonnabe expensive. Know this though, you’ll get Japanese quality for it.

All that said, I don’t expect this Yaris to be popular especially looking at these comments.

• torishimeyakuin (Member) on Sep 12, 2007 at 7:24 pm

Yeah for this time i have no choice but to kick Toyota right into its arse for rendering such a terrible looks car to Malaysian.Well design and looks is subjective though…but to me, this model deserves no compliment at least from me.Price wise, well i reserve my comment due to Paul Tan’s notification up there.

By the way Jamsbong Sir, talking about Kijang, yup it’s from Indonesia but Avanza, apparently not. It’s made in Perodua.

• J (Member) on Sep 12, 2007 at 7:24 pm

Ya, agree, the price is too crazy high :)
    Need at least 5% lower for each varian.

Paul, one typo you posted here:
    The Toyota Vios 1.5E is estimated to be priced at RM85,300.

Should be 1.5G for that line price.

• The Unicons (Member) on Sep 12, 2007 at 7:28 pm

Even though I knew how the car look like few months ago as I read from some magazines, but I really can’t wait to really feel this car.

Anyway, I kinda surprise about the variants of this new Vios. There are E, G and S variants. However, what I read from one of the local magazines, the editor said that there will be J, E and G not S. As J is the baseline model with steel wheel…. and priced around RM70K plus plus….

Anyway, we’ll just wait and see for this car when it launch soon.

• MaverickNeo (Member) on Sep 12, 2007 at 7:41 pm

Well, pricing is not yet confirmed…but I can still bang on the looks…hehe…Toyota normally dishes out decent looking cars, but this is just crap. Lazy, un-inspired, un-derserving, FAIL!

• AmiR (Member) on Sep 12, 2007 at 8:11 pm

NOT WORTH IT!!!!!!!!!!!!…

Better Buy Proton Persona….Cheaper, Bigger then current vios..
    Only those who is filty rich n dont really think will buy This kind of car including Honda City!

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Sep 12, 2007 at 8:12 pm

If they still sell the price stated above.. i think a lot of ppl will turn heads to latio and city more better… suddenly i felt latio 1.6L a big buy compare to this…

• engtaokia (Member) on Sep 12, 2007 at 8:15 pm

fail big time! lousy thing with expensive price tag! prefer other makes rather than this one…
    see?ppl here not only bash proton but even toyota can kena bash :)

• shamel (Member) on Sep 12, 2007 at 8:16 pm

Very arrogant pricing from corky Toyota. After saw the car in the flesh at Singapore Borneo Motor last Saturday l’ll never put my hard earned money on this overpriced yet “over-proud” car. This car fugly with dugong-head design, though this is my personal view. Imagine next Altis must around RM120-130k ‘coz they know people will buy it.

Just because it sport T badge doesn’t mean it deserved that price. Go for Latio instead or wait upcoming Altis. Once a while we should give T a good lesson: their product mere overrated by people.

Bangkok Post, Motoring section August comparo between new Vios, Latio and City gave Vios 3rd (last) place, whereas City claim top spot. BTW, those are looking for cheap to run (economical) car will opt for this car. Those are looking for safety maybe will pick Nissan Latio.

• Prem3377 (Member) on Sep 12, 2007 at 8:17 pm

the Badge might sell a few hundred cars,the price of secondhand vios might help it sell a few hundred cars,the interest rate might help it sell a few hundred cars,the secondhand value this car give will help it sell a few hundred cars and and toyota followers will buy a few hundred cars..besides that i dont think it will sell..design wise its terrible(same goes to city but people still buy it) and space wise it should be good and engine wise its sad to see no improvement at all..atleast another 3 bhp increase and 10 Nm of torque can be something to brag about!!having the same engine with an awful outdate design(i think the previous design is way much better than these) will not help at all..whats wrong with you Toyota??i though you guys are the best marketing people around???

• Prem3377 (Member) on Sep 12, 2007 at 8:19 pm

and next Gen city is gonna win hands down…and gonna eat up toyota vios’s market…and even persona might be another better choice!!

• wong (Member) on Sep 12, 2007 at 8:58 pm

overpriced,overrated…never liked the previous version and this is worst,’save’ money and get a Camry,or ‘safe’ money and get a Persona or a Myvi…

• 90125 (Member) on Sep 12, 2007 at 9:07 pm

I must say that this not an ugly car,just a bit expensive and looked really horrible!!!

• akshen_kamen (Member) on Sep 12, 2007 at 9:45 pm

after this, we can see a few “dugong” on our road..only die hard fan toyolta will buy this car and said this is the most beautifull “dugong” i havent see….

• oec88 (Member) on Sep 12, 2007 at 10:51 pm

No matter it’s expensive or not, money is still controlling it. People will still buy it because they trust in quality, it’s Toyota :-)

At least it’s Japanese made, more fun to drive, more feature, stylish, use own technology…at least better.

Not bad looking what. Don’t like it? Then don’t buy it, money is yours, judge yourself.

Still waiting for the new Altis…looks bigger, more comfort…

• e-nabilll (Member) on Sep 12, 2007 at 11:08 pm

pig nose

• king (Member) on Sep 12, 2007 at 11:10 pm

fugly, unbelievably overpriced, over-rated and under-spec. however i bet it will still sell like hot cakes. Just bring in brad pitt n britney to save the day. UMW toyota getting incredibly too greedy.

this car just made the Latio ( especially Latio sport )seem so much more value for money. Even persona HL beats this car in all aspects.

I don’t think they will reduce prices coz otherwise they will kill their old vios 2nd hand value which was the main reason ppl buy this car in the 1st place.

• darkwizard (Member) on Sep 12, 2007 at 11:23 pm

Is it made in Japan or Thailand? Everyone here write it made in Japan.

For that kind of estimated price eventhough they have the advantage over the NAP is like leaching on those mid-rich youth. Within that range of price there are other options to choose.

How about the warranty for parts? Warranty for services? etc…

• shamel (Member) on Sep 12, 2007 at 11:29 pm

Guys,

Think of VIVA as P2 and UMW-T share some DNA, share etc. Viva try to emulate Myvi success BUT l don’t see Viva did. Maybe, Viva now offer by BankRakyat for 10 years loan, and we can see Viva quite ‘berlambak’ at stockyards.

Perhaps, we can ‘ajar’ UMWT how to be less greedy? Don’t buy…eventually price will drop. Just matter of time.

• mits27 (Member) on Sep 12, 2007 at 11:30 pm

I still remember UMW reduced vios price after seeing the launch of city with lower price…blood sucking UMW toyota…

• king (Member) on Sep 12, 2007 at 11:40 pm

Vios has always been made in thailand

• king (Member) on Sep 12, 2007 at 11:41 pm

mits27 said,
    September 12, 2007 @ 11:30 pm

I still remember UMW reduced vios price after seeing the launch of city with lower price…blood sucking UMW toyota

_______

i remembered that well too

• ingolstadt (Member) on Sep 12, 2007 at 11:46 pm

Toyota is used to con malaysians and a quick check from history, we like being conned, either by toyota or our government or proton.

I used to promote Vios alot cos i ‘thought’ city was about the same. till recently i really did sat in one for a long time, and after my bro bought a vios and i compared = Vios is nothing compared to City, except maybe how it looks.

And Vios just pawned City 5 to 1 in terms of sales…. easily…. weird weird malaysians.

• mits27 (Member) on Sep 12, 2007 at 11:57 pm

Better wait for new city, the new jazz going to get the new 1.5L i-vtec 120hp
    engine, mostly the new city will get the new engine as new jazz. At least, the city with new engine is better than this ‘not good looking’, ‘nothing change engine’ vios…

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Sep 13, 2007 at 12:02 am

fun to drive??? err.. i think of all the things you can call a toyota sedan(quality, value..etc), fun to drive is definitely not the first thing that comes to mind.

but it will sell, thats for sure.

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Sep 13, 2007 at 12:28 am

UMW is owned by bumiputra… and Tun Dr.M have share in it…I think he has 1 Lexus LS given by Toyota chairman himself to him… So? Know how they do business now? I personal think that , once they knew that the branding is good.. they knew ppl will come buy without questioning.. that’s when the company can earn more… But what they don’t know is that the new generation of people knows what going on with automobile world around of us.. For me, with a price tag like that.. is a very expensive car to buy… Even a Waja is better then this… Persona? I personally felt Waja is more tough then the persona..

• Prem3377 (Member) on Sep 13, 2007 at 12:54 am

LittleFire85 said,
    September 13, 2007 @ 12:28 am

UMW is owned by bumiputra… and Tun Dr.M have share in it…I think he has 1 Lexus LS given by Toyota chairman himself to him… So? Know how they do business now? I personal think that , once they knew that the branding is good.. they knew ppl will come buy without questioning.. that’s when the company can earn more… But what they don’t know is that the new generation of people knows what going on with automobile world around of us.. For me, with a price tag like that.. is a very expensive car to buy… Even a Waja is better then this… Persona? I personally felt Waja is more tough then the persona..

so??what tun Dr M got to with this??and how you know the presented him with a Lexus?and what that got to do with the price??can you please explain??
    i am curious to know!!

• mofo (Member) on Sep 13, 2007 at 1:06 am

As i know current price might be pending with G, it happens same with Latio due to taxes on parts still in progress stage not yet finalize. But it kinda exp tag price for me. Mayb its another method to bailout P1.

I wish G consider about the taxes once again for the sake of, maybe GE. haha Let my dream come truth. Hopefully G version could placed around 80k.

• 90125 (Member) on Sep 13, 2007 at 1:43 am

Whoever owns UMW will not change the Viossauraus looks..hehe..oopps sorry,its a Toyota…

• azrai (Member) on Sep 13, 2007 at 6:34 am

Not price wise. Furthermore toll and petrol increase next year will deter people from buying this car. It look like Persona and the upcoming new Saga gonna be the winner next year. It seems Perodua already catch-up with introduction of new OEM bodykit for their Viva too.

• razor_clawzz (Member) on Sep 13, 2007 at 7:59 am

For those of you complaining about the price, blame UMW Malaysia and not Toyota. Toyota sold it for approx. RM35k-RM50K outside Malaysia. Ask the Bruneians or Thais, since they’re the nearest

• wildthingz (Member) on Sep 13, 2007 at 9:09 am

hahahahaha ugly car with expensive price people will buy it cause the toyota tag name and logo stupid people will proud driving toyota even its ugly and overpriced hey if u have bucks go see lancer its better or u can just grab persona

• proud2BMalaysian (Member) on Sep 13, 2007 at 10:36 am

i agreed with wildthingz, ugly but expensive.

• KL-ATR (Member) on Sep 13, 2007 at 10:38 am

Ahh… Toyota’s Beetle car is finally here. :-)
    I think they tried to make it look cute but it turned out to be otherwise. Hehe…

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Sep 13, 2007 at 10:57 am

I think UMW is not the person to blame.. blame the G who tax the car higher to protect our national pride… P1. If the S spec sell at RM58k,E spec sell at RM48k, G spec sell at RM55k do u think the persona will sell? Mati terus P1…

• TRANSPORTER (Member) on Sep 13, 2007 at 11:23 am

Toyota never made a good to drive cars.except a very few and that was about a decade or so ago such as the supra,mr-2.The latest models mostly from their Lexus stablemate like GS300,IS200/300 are more driver’s car.The rest are rubbish.Please read some of the car mags out there,u know what i mean.I read somewhere that says “Toyota is good at making cars but not at making good cars”.
    For family car,they are ok,but for the sporting type look somewhere else.
    Ppl will buy anything with Toyota badge.Imagine the Avanza was badge as a kia or hyundai.Will ppl buy it? I am not too sure.

As for the new Vios,that’s the ugliest car i ever seen.I dont know,it seems that they are designing what would you call it,corporate face.Look at Peugeot,BMW (up to a certain extent) and Audi especially.Almost the same front look across the range.But the thing is what works well on a mpv/suv doesnt mean it will work well on a sedan.Look at their Hilux/Innova/Avanza/Fortuner.Pls dont make a mpv/suv look on a sedan,or it will look fugly.

• TRANSPORTER (Member) on Sep 13, 2007 at 11:29 am

Buy the Persona,much better value.Ok the quality is not so great,so what.It is not like you going to keep it forever.Btw,save that rm25000 and get yourself some 17/18″ wheels,upgrade the sound system etc.

• e-by (Member) on Sep 13, 2007 at 12:45 pm

Actually I believe UMWT can price this car even below RM70K (base version) but they choose not to. Imagine if MMM can price their CBU Lancer below CKD Civic then what does it means. Yes, it means both HM and UMW are ripping our hard earned money at the highest level. They can get away with that since the branding of Honda/Toyota are so strong until people will just buy whatever they produce.

MMM previously also think they can do the same as HM or UMW but they’ve failed miserably. Lancer 1.6, Colt and Grandis just can’t sell. They’ve realised that their brand is not strong enough to challenge Honda/Toyota. As a result, we now see a cheap new Lancer and soon Grandis. Maybe Colt will come later.

We need to send a clear message to UMW.

• wheregotcar (Member) on Sep 13, 2007 at 1:06 pm

where actually they manufacture these crap.. err car huh? i dun think they get CBUs straight from Japan, tak cost effectivela macam tu. I heard theres a HUGE factory in Thai.. diorg manufacture Toyota cars or merely assembling them? either way.. not good enuf for me to splurge RM80K on..

• wheregotcar (Member) on Sep 13, 2007 at 1:08 pm

alamak lupa nak tambah..

reason why I didnt think it was worth it.. because I saw the car on road back in Phuket. No real looker, plus Thai ppl there already getting bored with it.. malu laa nak beli.

• tommy73 (Member) on Sep 13, 2007 at 1:51 pm

Hello UMW Toyota marketing, anybody home? Anyone has been sleeping lately?

New car prices are dropping lah. Just look the two gorgeous models Suzuki Swift 1.5 (RM69k) and Lancer GT 2.0 (RM112k). Both have been priced competitvely. Now this dugong looking car wants to sell at RM85k. OMG!

• kington (Member) on Sep 13, 2007 at 1:53 pm

I agree its ugly, but in an effort to draw similarities with the rest of the Toyota family, especially the Camry and Altis, i believe this car looks interesting. I’m sure some of you have received some photos circulated via e-mails on the sports version, based on the bodykits by TRD, and with those installed, i quite like it.

The thing about the new Vios is electri power steering. I know it’s cheaper and more efficient but it is dead in terms of feel and feedback, much like a Logitech unit.

I’m sure many of you expected a whole new car with new engines and gearboxes, but so far, this package has been very well accepted by those who test drove the car.

I’ve had MANY unpleasant experiences with my Proton and as well as my friends. Safe to say, i won’t consider the Persona until things get much much better. It’s not that i’m not giving Proton a chance but even at RM 40K, i still don’t think it’s worth my money.

• ingolstadt (Member) on Sep 14, 2007 at 12:59 am

Persona? Whats that? Can eat?

By the way, to answer a few; Toyota’s World’s Largest Manufacturing Plant is in Thailand.

As for the price – UMW has been selling Vios succesfully at RM80k+ There’s no reason for them to drop the price, even by 10k – Shaving 10k off a new car is not a good move to attract sales (not that RM80k wont) but UMW would rather collaborate with banks to give you sub 3% annual interest rather than giving a RM10k off. – Which i don’t think they would do so as Stupid Malaysians will always buy well branded stuffs without looking into whether they’re really ‘good’ in an objective manner.

• McPadey (Member) on Sep 14, 2007 at 1:22 am

Price + look = campak lombong

• mofo (Member) on Sep 14, 2007 at 7:56 am

I believe the sport version, its not comes with TRD bodykits. Remember paul’s article on vios launching @ thailand. Browse it through, there’s a version with bodyktis.

Source Paul : http://images.paultan.org/uploads2/4459-thai-vios/thai_new_vios_15.jpg

Btw to all who thinks P1 is good. Remove the heavy taxes, compete like others. Come on its a fact that everyone should know, we’re applied to these taxes as long as we’re still here. No way we could escape from it. At last, RM 80k nett (with 2%++ interest) for G spec still reasonable price, not RM85,300

• stewpid (Member) on Sep 14, 2007 at 8:14 am

wanna bash summore..
    the front..Tak Lawa Langsong…
    why they dont wanna put facelift like the new Altis ar? and why Toyo didnt bring in 1.3cc version?

• kington (Member) on Sep 14, 2007 at 8:48 am

Stewpid,

Wait till you see the car, it looks pretty elegant…

For them to bring in the 1.3 kitre engine would not be such a good move as it may affect the sales of the MyVi.

• xstan (Member) on Sep 14, 2007 at 9:25 am

In catalogue look..it looks weird but in reality its not that bad..one will grow liking it.

It is best to compare with City in view of its price similarities. But quite agree City wins even on E specs. I just realised even with standard ABS EBD etc..it has only Drivers Air Bag…darn..hated it. In Singapore or in Thai Air Bags is standard for both variants. I still reserve my remark till launch date after test drive…but meantime City is laughing all the way to Victory.
    I got its price list with me, so the price confirmed.Sad..I do have high hope for the vehicle.

• zack_keyme988 (Member) on Sep 14, 2007 at 3:45 pm

TOYOTA MARKETING IS VERY BAD….RETHINK ABOUT PRICES… THEY SHOULD KNOW THT MARKET COMPETITION NOW BCOME HEAVY…IF THE TOP VARIANT OF THIS ODD VIOS ABOUT 85300…THINK AGAIN..PERSONA HI LINE ABOUT 54800..SPECIFICATION NEARLY SAME AS THE VIOS.. EVEN MAZDA 3 1.6 NOW COST AROUND 98000…

VERDICT : *****/10*

• prangin (Member) on Sep 14, 2007 at 11:17 pm

sorry, but this looks too much like a bloated dugong.. with curves in all d wrong places.

• akshen_kamen (Member) on Sep 15, 2007 at 1:24 am

anyone like to but toyota “viogong” from price RM 79200 and above??

• observerV (Member) on Sep 15, 2007 at 5:00 am

the previous design looks much better.
    i rather burn my pocket even more and get the new civic type-r.
    Anyway my civic is still running great.im just being dramatic hehe

• mits27 (Member) on Sep 15, 2007 at 1:41 pm

It will be better to have all lines to have fual airbag, for this city won on the spec…

• mits27 (Member) on Sep 15, 2007 at 1:41 pm

It will be better to have all lines to have dual airbag, for this city won on the spec…

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Sep 15, 2007 at 4:33 pm

Persona have 1 thing not same… Toyota VVT-i engine + super ECT 4-speed
    gearbox… If persona have CPS+VIM maybe same…

• akshen_kamen (Member) on Sep 15, 2007 at 4:45 pm

LittleFire85 said,

Persona have 1 thing not same… Toyota VVT-i engine + super ECT 4-speed
    gearbox… If persona have CPS+VIM maybe same…

u think if the persona equipped with CPS+VIM..u think much the price will go up?

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Sep 15, 2007 at 7:00 pm

So if persona price go up so what? The G will always protect his own car company.. even go up, he will still not let other competitors to compete fairly.. This is what i call Ketuanan G mindset.. So if the Proton so chicken, then don’t raise the price laa.. Cut the tax of foreign cars and fight fairly.. if persona still sales good, then bravo *clap hands* Car of the year award…

• shamel (Member) on Sep 16, 2007 at 9:50 pm

Before this l merely saw the car from net, paper or mags. But, after l saw the car, sit inside and look from every angle l know this is not worth the RM80k+-. l can accept VioGong if the price for 1.5 even slightly below RM70. RM79.2k just suggest about GREEDY, STUBBORN and down rate our rational.

Perhaps, UMWT can change VioGong front design to look like better shape yaris hatchback. Interior-wise not that bad except you never compare to Latio. Just show our stubborn, if we don’t consider VoiGong UMWT will reduce the price when they launch this VioGong.

• intermilan (Member) on Sep 17, 2007 at 12:43 pm

buy bestari,swift latio la… think outside the Toyo & Hon box…

they have been short-changed all of u (their lover) for quite some time already.

people who are lucky to be outside this love circle and know all about the pull-push relationship between all of you and T&H know the sad fact.

like here .. many people mentioned this particular car is ugly and overprice. they just play u around only. …. when & if they lowered the price… almost all suddenly keep out or congrats them and start the usual buying again…..

from the people outside this weird lover circle …. we pity u but most likely, u r beyond help.

• akshen_kamen (Member) on Sep 18, 2007 at 2:16 pm

#
    intermilan said,

September 17, 2007 @ 12:43 pm

buy bestari,swift latio la… think outside the Toyo & Hon box…

they have been short-changed all of u (their lover) for quite some time already.

people who are lucky to be outside this love circle and know all about the pull-push relationship between all of you and T&H know the sad fact.

like here .. many people mentioned this particular car is ugly and overprice. they just play u around only. …. when & if they lowered the price… almost all suddenly keep out or congrats them and start the usual buying again…..

from the people outside this weird lover circle …. we pity u but most likely, u r beyond help.

u know..in some malaysian people thinking..it only have toyota and honda only..

• 90125 (Member) on Sep 19, 2007 at 5:22 pm

Toyota and Honda are favorites in Malaysia,but I prefer underdogs

• akshen_kamen (Member) on Sep 19, 2007 at 6:35 pm

#
    90125 said,

September 19, 2007 @ 5:22 pm

Toyota and Honda are favorites in Malaysia,but I prefer underdogs

____________________________________________________________________________
    example of underdogs brand?

• bmwvan (Member) on Sep 20, 2007 at 12:17 pm

The VioGong prices must be competitive to City especially under the NAP era. For instance, 1.5 E at RM78K, 1.5G at RM 82K and 1.5 S at RM85K plus cash rebate with low interest rate & LCD TV. These are attractive goodies for people to consider driving proudly the VioGong :-).

• punisher (Member) on Sep 24, 2007 at 3:59 pm

thou below 70k 4 basic…below 80k max 4 the premium…any $$ above,,think hard 2 sell…look at Persona..

• mishima (Member) on Sep 26, 2007 at 8:01 pm

Btw Guys,

Any VIOS enthusiast here… i’ve check on the indon web.

http://www.toyota.co.id/newvios/index.php

There specs so terrer wan ? Got (START Engine) button !
    Does anyone else know if this car can intergrate the IPOD ?
    The new Honda City got this AUX port for the mp3 player integration.

• hotwheels (Member) on Sep 27, 2007 at 9:38 am

wah got start button and all? HID lights? not bad… i wonder if the local version will feature the same specs?

• sleepycat (Member) on Nov 01, 2007 at 1:30 am

actually i cannot understand y ppl like to compare those japanese car with malaysian “proton” cars like the new persona… i know there’s a gap in price but not much difference in specs… but does the proton’s ABS, air bag, or the “fuel sucking” Campro works in the way it should be? compare with those vtec, CVT, vvti, ECT, EBD, BA, how big the differences is??

well… back to the new vios, looks odd in photo, okay in real (eyes catching somemore). the price is higher due to the add on in specs, bigger size and ALL NEW DESIGN…(unacceptable for many ppl, same for me at the begining) new chasis and body, but same engine with different setting… a bit lame…

• amal.com on Jul 13, 2009 at 5:41 pm

the toyota is a good car but the prise not very good.

• vios j spec (M) is a winner….

just add on aftermarket trd body kits and it will do just fine.

to me the interior is much more better than proton or perodua which has the lowest grade of plastic dashboard

• jaikumaran on Aug 27, 2009 at 6:59 pm

Hi i and my wife insisted to buy a Toyota Vios 1.5. We look forward 100% loan. We are Um garaduate. Can u help me to sort our problem. Call me at 012 925931 or email at [email protected]

• jaikumaran on Aug 27, 2009 at 7:01 pm

I and my wife insisted to buy Toyota Vios 1.5 Call me at 012 925931 or email [email protected]