2006 Toyota Belta

Toyota has just launched it’s smallest sedan car, the Toyota Belta for the Japanese market. Belta means ‘beauty’ or ‘beautiful person’, derived from the Italian word belleza. The car is 4.3 meters long and 1.7 meters wide.

The car has 3 engine options available. The 1.0 litre 1KR-FE and 1.3 litre 2SZ-FE is mated to a Super CVT-i continuously variable transmission, and is front wheel drive. There is also the option of a 1.3 litre 2Nz-FE mated to a 4-speed Super ECT automatic transmission with four wheel drive. All engines are equipped with VVT-i variable valve timing. The 1.3 litre 2WD has a fuel consumption of 19.6km/l while the 1.0 litre 2WD manages 22km/l.

It looks like this new grille styling is set to be Toyota’s new identity, as also seen on the 2006 Toyota Camry. Frankly I don’t like it very much.

Not too keen on the beige interior, I prefer dark coloured interiors like the City VTEC’s.

The car has a centre-mounted dashboard console just like the VIOS. Digital trip meter and fuel meter is already pretty common in the latest cars.

Last but not least, here’s a version equipped with a bodykit. I like how Toyota always has a few bodykit sets already available once a car is released. Don’t need to wait for someone else to develop it.

This should be a pretty interesting car to watch, as it might come to Malaysia as some form of VIOS replacement or something, though the VIOS was designed to be a 1.3/1.5 engine capacity car and this one is a 1.0/1.3 engine capacity car.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• karim alias on Dec 01, 2005 at 1:49 am

It looks like a smaller version of the new camry. I bet this will replace the current vios. a pretty car.

• SEE FU on Dec 01, 2005 at 2:00 am

This BELTA plantform is the same as Vitz or so-called YARIS in Europe.

I think for me the Looks is so so, I don't like the meter located at the center. Anyway, it is an afforable car. The 1l0L engine is only 3 Cylinders but not underpower because the technology is getting canggih!!

I knew someone might said the IP copy Jen2 and Lotus….soon hei..heii…he!! Wanna to bet!!

YAU MOU GAU…CHOR!! Why TOYOTA come out so many models every year!!!?

Cheer :) Toyota is F**King good and rich now!

• Better look compare to Vios and of course City. Further more with the aerokit. For me, I prefer 1.6 ~ 2.0 liter car. Or else, look see look see only.

• SEE FU on Dec 01, 2005 at 2:06 am

Paul arr!!

You did scan these photos from Magazine arr??

Thank you Paul, I know it is not easy work. Wait lah….I think there will be more FREE photos soon….Stay tune….will let you know

Check this — > http://wongseefu.blogspot.com/2005/11/spy-toyota-…

YAU MOU GAU…CHOR!!

• SEE FU on Dec 01, 2005 at 2:08 am

One more lei,

Paul, what do you think about the Lady standing beside BELTA. I a bit High looking at her!!

YAU MOU GAU…CHOR!! no Zoom in arr!!?? Paul please!

• mitsu_galant_2000 on Dec 01, 2005 at 2:30 am

HAHAHAHA.. ( a very loud laugh!) ..

no no.. maybe it's just me mention..

that the design is little.. but maybe banyak juga sama..

dengan our Proton Gen-2!

the front bumper and the V shape ir intake just the lamp and gemuk sikit saja make it different.. and the V is double..

the vertical linear RADIO n AirCond Knob also similiar in Gen 2 .

anyway.. it's still nice look car.. and powerfull 1.6 engin too .. ;)

gen2 not worst for all :D

• Joshua on Dec 01, 2005 at 2:35 am

SEE FU, go to http://toyota.jp/ and u can see a larger version of the belta photo with the white shirt girl standing beside it. but u have to wait till the flash loads la. :)

• nuggyn on Dec 01, 2005 at 2:44 am

Look at the front seats….so plain!! so "flat"!! what a turn off.

• [Half-Half PBâ on Dec 01, 2005 at 2:46 am

hmm… i doubt we would see this car on any malaysian roads anytime soon… nice look though…

• honda_driver on Dec 01, 2005 at 2:49 am

looks like a "vios" replacement, especially the one with the bodykit. but the vios isnt even sold in japan right paul?

anyways.. has all the typical DNA of current toyotas. if you just compare the silhouette, they all look pretty much the same, the altis, camry..etc.

• MyBoy on Dec 01, 2005 at 3:07 am

The front end is as ugly as new Camrys.

• [Half-Half PBâ on Dec 01, 2005 at 3:19 am

man… that white shirt girl is gorgeous!!!! somehow she got some kind of look that made me keluar air…. liur!!! i replayed it's 30second commercial again and again to lok at her…. wah….

• HumanSanzz on Dec 01, 2005 at 3:26 am

wah lau this toyota has a fake fuel comsumption.22km/l and 19.6km/l.

FAKE FAKE.I thought my camry is a fuel saving car aledi.Unbelieveable!!!!!!!!

This car will favour those auntys and young girls a lot.So damn cute lar.If a man drive it,i think we will call him as gay..LOLZ juzz joking…

But i must say that the rear is abit ugly lar..Bad Bad……

• mitsu_galant_2000, the front design follow the Toyota Vitz lar… if copy means Gen2 copy Vitz la… Gen2 baru lagi maaa…

• Toyoda on Dec 01, 2005 at 3:27 am

Notice the dashboard. Looks like a very fair skin gal wearing a black thong.

But it gonna real sexy in all-black exterior/ interior colour. Belta….dance like sexy hot Arab belly dancer hehehehe.

• Jenssss on Dec 01, 2005 at 3:53 am

Why not we suggest to PERODUA to rebadge this and sell here at 35-45k. Sure can kill SAGA and the gang.

Name it KURA-KURA or whatever, sure laku punya!!

• Kureng la… put the name CIPAN… it's so familar and everybody love to say call this name… yes!!! Perodua CIPAN… kalau keluar mesti ramai orang lompat-lompat punya…

• daniel on Dec 01, 2005 at 4:00 am

damn~! the fuel consumption quote is reality or just an assumption? but i bet when enter m'sia.. also already rm5ok at least.. haiyah.. damn the taxes.

• Jenssss on Dec 01, 2005 at 4:10 am

No..no…no PERODUA KONTOT. Kalau ada sureheboh punya larrr. Bebudak Langkawi le lompat sakan, can get below 25k, maybe?

• Toyol Kemli on Dec 01, 2005 at 4:48 am

front end looks retarded

typical Toyol metalbox for the wimpy masses

• gegaoff on Dec 01, 2005 at 5:05 am

the seat look bad… and truely… is nothing big different with VIOS ah… i mean, no 'fresh' ideal for consumer market…

guess may be becoz it target female market kua… emm…

cheers…

• camry on Dec 01, 2005 at 5:54 am

Vios-ish look……notice tat c pillar

• AE86 Tan Chong MOtor on Dec 01, 2005 at 5:56 am

we okey what….. What more do you guys aspect hah. Buy one free girl beside hah…..chi sih….

for me okey laa but if any company want to rebadge this car also can make a good money like Naza is doing right now. If the car enter Malaysian market and the price would be arround 30 to 35k i'm sure saga and the soft body construction gang will be throw into the sea coz nobody will buy.

when it compare to Vios, I think vios is better. I dont think that this freshie will replace Vios.

Hey gang what do you think if this car is converted into TRD ????????

• camry on Dec 01, 2005 at 6:02 am

let perodua rebadge tis car…sell it at 40-50K and put the meter back to its right place….then sell like hot cakes

then i can get a ready stock myvi asap

btw….who want to cancel myvi booking (high spec 1.3 auto)…..pass 2 me

019-9539155

• Chineseman on Dec 01, 2005 at 7:09 am

NIce nice…. Toyota finishing always very good… If can save fuel comsumption, is something that most Lower and Middle Class income earners in Malaysia is looking for. Good la… looking forward to see this car on the road…

• neurra on Dec 01, 2005 at 7:28 am

wahh.. 1.0/1.3 on sedan? that's really an attempt

• zanggief on Dec 01, 2005 at 8:15 am

it's better oso2 get a hybrid model

• zongtwi a.k.a. speed on Dec 01, 2005 at 8:23 am

Quote from the post: "Last but not least, here’s a version equipped with a bodykit. I like how Toyota always has a few bodykit sets already available once a car is released. Don’t need to wait for someone else to develop it."

Toyota is well-knowned for that, especially in the US. The 'Scion' brand is Toyota's effort to target the younger generation in America. The brand was specifically launched to provide cars with complete bodykits already available. Brilliant move.

• zongtwi a.k.a. speed on Dec 01, 2005 at 8:26 am

check this out:

www.scion.com

• nice looks, good proportions. (both :D)

• tiuniasing on Dec 01, 2005 at 9:20 am

I think it shares the same platform and chassis as VIOS… If you look at its doors, pillars, and bodyline, it's exactly the same as VIOS.

• Well I am really sorry for all the toyota fans but the word "beauty" or "beautiful person" REALLY does not suit this car.

Just because it's a toyota you all (not everyone) say the looks are so so or okay. But frankly it looks more like a fat nose dinosaur! And if you call proton interior "plasticy" and cheap what do you call this ? Just look at the seats!

Oh I hope toyota does not bring this car here. The vios is way, way better. At least the vios looks like a……car.

• weilun on Dec 01, 2005 at 12:06 pm

damn

the TRD kits are nice

• cbljkkj on Dec 01, 2005 at 2:38 pm

Does anybody notice that this looks exactly like a "mini" version of the 2006 Toyota Camry

• The Belta comes with a 1L variant with the 1KR-FE engine + Continuous Variable transmission + Intelligence (probably a swipe at Honda here) or the 1.3L 2SZ-FE with a choice of the CVT-i or Super ECT transmission. The good mileage is no doubt due to the CVT-i transmission being implemented with the Beltas.

• camry on Dec 01, 2005 at 6:18 pm

I wish to see a rebadge version by Perodua……then they doing some changes by putting the meter back to its right place(right side instead of center)…..then we can call tis…..hmmm maybe "anggun" or "cantik" ker.

• clark_kent on Dec 01, 2005 at 6:27 pm

one word… "ugly"

• Tan Yew Eng on Dec 01, 2005 at 6:47 pm

Hi Paul

Do you know whether and when this new will be release here? And if so, the expected price range?

• The 1.3 liter 2WD has a fuel consumption of 19.6km/l while the 1.0 liter 2WD manages 22km/l.

HOLLY SHIT….. are u sure about this figures.

My NEW P2 Myvi 1.3cc Auto , town driving is 10km/l.

• SEE FU on Dec 01, 2005 at 7:30 pm

edw,

I think this figures are showing the BEST conditions means with the rights speed, temperature, humidity, driving conditions,…..only tested on a specific machine as standard record.

I think the REAL case only about 17km/l for 1.0L engine and MAWI only can meet best 8.5 to 9km/l.

Anyway the technologies is getting Canggih smaller size engine doesn't means under power. Lower fuel consumption but higher performance !!! GOOD job.

YAU MOU GAU….CHOR!! Cheers!! :P

• Michael Chua on Dec 01, 2005 at 7:54 pm

Looks like Mazda 3. What is it with Toyota? 1st the 2006 Camry looks like a Mazda 6 now this Belta looks like a Mazda 3?

I always thought Toyota's cars are not designed as well as its competitors like Honda, Mitsubishi.

• SEE FU on Dec 01, 2005 at 8:26 pm

Attention pls!!

I found some F**KER copy my Nickname and give f**king comment on others.

So if you do found such kind of comment, JUST ignore it. THis He/she must be a PSYcho. What the f**k to use other person name to Said bad words to others. I wish this f**KER will be FOUND soon!!

YAU MOU GAU………CHOR!!

Paul can you find this f**ker for me?

• Dear See Fu

myvi spec… on the books, 13km/l for the 1.3cc Auto.

BUT i get about 10km/l town driving.

the book say 19km/l, If this car get 17km/l on the 1.3cc auto…. that is great comsumption.

BUT what will be the $$, VIOS is RM81k to RM88k, even this car can come in and sell at RM60k to RM68k…. I want to change my car.

• SEE FU on Dec 01, 2005 at 10:33 pm

ebw,

Don't compare the price in Malaysia lah! That's PRICE TAG figure somemore Ridiculous lah! I can buy Mitsu COLT only RM40k in Japan but need to pay over RM100K in Malaysia….TOTALLY F***K man!! Same goes to Honda Jazz (Called Fit in Japan) cheapest Honda but selling LUXURY car price!! Really BANG the WALL!

YAU MOU GAU…..CHOR!!

• damon on Dec 01, 2005 at 10:52 pm

wonder what is the OTR price?

im sure it will sell good coz the fuel consumption is unbelieveable.

• mata-motob on Dec 02, 2005 at 12:16 am

the car doesnt impress me a lot.. especially the interior.. center meter display again??? why all the cheap toyota cars are all come with center meter display???!!! suxxxx!!!

• anonymous 17 on Dec 02, 2005 at 1:32 am

That is BEEEYOOOUTIFUL !

• its me on Dec 02, 2005 at 10:03 am

the car looks spacious but the engine is kinda small.boleh lari ker?

• FiveElements on Dec 02, 2005 at 10:55 am

SEE FU,

Agree with you about HONDA JAZZ. It's selling point in overseas is affordability. But when it comes to M'sia it cost RM100K and people are still buying it.

I just can't understand that…….really…it's suppose to be a budget car…..it's damn over priced in M'sia……

• SEE FU on Dec 02, 2005 at 3:01 pm

FiveElements arr!!

YOu know when you really Hungry for something, high price doesn't really matter to you. Our Bolehland case is like, for example: YOU damn Hungry for FOOD and Water in the middle of DRY F**king DEsert place, when A F**Ker is selling Nasi Lemak and TAP Water with RM5000 in front of you and you can afford to pay it or if you can't, you can also allow to load it, in such a case I'm strongly believed that, you will 99% pay for it! of course 1% to steal it!!

YAU MOU GAU…..CHOR! What kind of World we have over here!!! HElps!

• eMalaysian on Dec 02, 2005 at 5:44 pm

Being 1.0/1.3 the price is sure lower than 1.5vios one mah. Isn't it. And then the power also lower lah. So who want to buy? Buy gen2 better lah since cost 45k for a 1.3 come with lotus tech.

• mitsu_galant_2000 on Dec 02, 2005 at 7:34 pm

dont 1.0 and 1.3 is UNDER POWER? for the car in that size? ..

cant argue.. no matter how.. Price still main subject.

most malaysian wanna the CHEAP one.. but want a car like ferrari.. haha

• rexis on Dec 03, 2005 at 4:46 pm

Depends on yer personal taste, buy car for racing or go pasar pagi, or cant accept anyone overtake you on highway, or prefer to go slooooow on 60kmph and ikut kiri jika tdk memotong.

The key for this car its the fuel efficiency, the CVTi should make good use of the engine power. Save FUEL you know~!

heh, perodua going to sell sedan ahh? Dreaming…

• Nameless on Dec 03, 2005 at 8:26 pm

When i can book this car??

• Check out both air-cond console (left & right), just like Myvi isn't it? Toyota > Daihatsu > Perodua = Equal DNA

• in Japan,they usually drive for short distance.there are lot of traffic lights and believe it or not,if u are seeking for 2nd hand car,u can get a car 5 years old with only 20-30k km mileage. n the price get cheaper about half of original price.

• when i can get the car??how much is it??

• Traliccio on Dec 06, 2005 at 8:12 pm

The girl looks japanese…hehehe

• linkis on Dec 08, 2005 at 6:00 pm

hei….hei… i also want to know the price la……

i want to change my car loh…

• Rupa macam lipas….. Toyota Lipas.

• Kenneth on Dec 13, 2005 at 8:50 pm

I love this car so much. Is time to change my car…

• Nice, smart car. Good use of latest technology. I think it will go a long way in todays cities, being very economical. Will compete strongly against the Hybrid cars – give them a run for their money. Good one Toyota.

• Driven2020 on Dec 20, 2005 at 7:36 pm

it's real

http://www.toyota.co.jp/en/news/05/1128.html

Cool mileage!! even EK3 no match for it lol~

• toyota on Dec 20, 2005 at 8:21 pm

the name and the car is a great combination!!

is shaped to it's name!!

• Eric Lim on Dec 23, 2005 at 10:10 pm

When i can get the car???? How Much???

• chang on Jan 06, 2006 at 8:43 am

"Buy gen2 better lah since cost 45k for a 1.3 come with lotus tech….."

hi,man….. moon cake also got lotus!!!!!

fc gen2 cannot compare with toyota lah…

i m 1 of the gen2 victims….many problems….gen2 6.2L/100km?impossiblem!!!!

vios 17.1km/1L,also cannot make it….but i get it in 15-16km/1L.

gen2 1.6a-full tank 50L,get around 450km-+,

vios G-full tank 45L,get around 620km-700km.

c the diffrent???

I LOVE VVTI

• Roti Canai on Jan 07, 2006 at 8:20 pm

I think it's look like Vios ….the front grill and front bonnet slightly difference .

Anyway anything from Toyota is always welcome . This year the analyst predicted that Toyota is goin' to dislodge GM group from No1 Automotive Comapny in USA . Kudos to Toyota . Hope they bring the car here …

Cheers

• friedbeef (Member) on Jul 25, 2006 at 9:42 pm

Hmmm… Pretty pricey for a 1.0-1.3 and you'd have to think it'd be underpowered vs the current Vios.

• chuamike (Member) on Feb 08, 2007 at 1:09 am

Its 1.3L version is super fuel-efficient. It can travel up to 19.6km on 1 liter of petrol.

• khalid (Member) on Dec 22, 2007 at 11:10 pm

i have belta car but its navigation system is not working i want vice navigation system for toyota belta 2005

• heathercole (Member) on Dec 24, 2007 at 3:16 pm

japanese cars are really inferior to continentals.Yuck

• too tired to wait a perodua sedan.

• hi
    is there anywhere i can download the user manual for toyota belta? or is the user manual same as yaris and vios?
    i got down a belta from japan and i didnt get a manual and even the navi/GPS system is in japanees. is there a way i can change it to English?

• hey.
    do you kno if there is a way i can download a toyota belta user manual? or is it the same manual as the yaris and vios?

• If someone find a manual of 2006 Belta 1.0L in English, please let me know below by submitting comment.

• Tint Zaw Oo on Aug 08, 2012 at 2:58 pm

If someone knows the gear options please tell me how to operate D, S and B options shown in gear box. In addition I would like to get a manual book of Belta. I bought a Belta from japan auction, 2009 1.3L 2SZ-FE 2WD. I have no owner’s manual book for proper maintenance. Thank you!

• jean paul on Jul 08, 2013 at 4:03 pm

the 2006 Toyota belta is the best I have one but I need to buy a body kit where can I find it ?

• g mariamootoo on Jan 13, 2015 at 4:02 pm

I owned a toyota belta year 2011automatic and the fuel consumption is hardly 10 km per litre. I have gone to several tests to see if there is any problem but nothing.Toyota Mauritius had it checked but they found nothing. If anyone could help me. I would be glad to have the mail address of Toyota Japan.thnx

• MANENGA on Feb 19, 2015 at 6:57 pm

well i just got one but the 19.6km/1litre does not work…. i think its a fake assumption… just thinking

• tafie dee on Sep 08, 2015 at 4:27 pm

this one is the best it’s big and it saves fuel hey belta for sure

• Christin Masanganise on Jul 25, 2017 at 8:15 pm

im looking for the latest Toyota vits

• Alex Tinkler Chishika on Jun 29, 2022 at 10:28 am

This one looks good, I need a manual transmission if can be find white in color.