2006 Toyota Camry

Here’s a sneak preview of the latest Toyota Camry due in 2006. This is the Japanese/American model, so it’s not 100% sure that we’ll get the exact body styling here in Malaysia as even currently the USDM/JDM and ASEAN models are different. Our Camry is less sporty.

UPDATE: The new 2006 Toyota Camry has been sighted in Malaysia. Click here.

The car has received alot of strong lines to it, to make it look a bit more muscular. It look ALOT like the current Honda Accord available on our roads.

I really hope they change the grille and other body styling. The front will definitely not be accepted very well here on Malaysian soils. UPDATE: [click here]

The new 2006 Toyota Camry is 4815mm long and 1470mm tall. That makes it actually 20mm lower than the current model, which should increase it’s handling capabilities.

The car is powered by the 2AZ-FE 4 cylinder 2.4 litre engine with a few enhancements over the previous model. The cylinder block has been updated, and there are some changes to the exhaust system. This results in a small increase in the engine output from 158hp to 167hp. The car now comes with a 5 speed Super ECT gearbox. There is also a 4WD model.

2007 Toyota Camry coming soon!

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Cammyer on Nov 29, 2005 at 1:03 am

wow! This is nice.

• Padaidik on Nov 29, 2005 at 1:10 am

just dreaming about it :)

• Chee Weng on Nov 29, 2005 at 1:16 am

If it's an American model, why is it a right-hand drive configuration? A JDM model as well perhaps?

• jakesky on Nov 29, 2005 at 1:25 am

omg this is one hell of a baby

• Jurgen on Nov 29, 2005 at 1:32 am

Rear boot looks like current BMW 7-series'…

• cloudz on Nov 29, 2005 at 1:36 am

isnt that a rebatch accord.. LOL

• Toyoda on Nov 29, 2005 at 1:38 am

Certainly Camry's latest triumph over Accord soon…

The headlight n taillight looks sad….

• Del Piero on Nov 29, 2005 at 1:45 am

interior is fantastic.. but exterior does not surprise me… Toyota also lack of Idea.. seems like cloning

• SEE FU on Nov 29, 2005 at 1:47 am

Nice looking Camry Ever from TOYOTA!!

Good!! In and outside looks great!! This car can fight with Nissan and Honda YEAH!!

YAU MOU GAU……CHOR!!! :P

• E-nabill on Nov 29, 2005 at 2:25 am

camry series since decades ago always looked like sh*t frankly speaking…really boring old aged design…atleast now it lookes beter thanx to mazda 6 front,accord rear n 7series side profile….!

• eRis-Aeir4s on Nov 29, 2005 at 2:27 am

WAH!! A CLONE!

Looking at the rear, what do you see?

—- A 2005 Honda Accord!

Look again at the interior, what do you see?

—- Again, a 2005 Honda Accord..

Eee, this sucks.. *Oops?*

• diabloCruiser on Nov 29, 2005 at 2:34 am

Yeah man the exterior is super….but the interior seats abit plain, also the wooden interior if have a darker shade of wood it's nicer….yeah overall its super!!

• nuggyn on Nov 29, 2005 at 2:35 am

There's something really wrong with the steering wheel's design….could be the light colored wood top and the silver colored area around the buttons. what a turn off. hehe!

• My opinion? 2005 model is better still… apa kelas tiru…

• Prometheus on Nov 29, 2005 at 3:09 am

looks much better than the current camry, and i agree strongly that it look like the current acccord.. Must see the specs also.

• albagmane on Nov 29, 2005 at 3:24 am

looks like the 2005 honda accord is a pioneer!!! hey, not only camry copy the shape of the accord. the hyundai (its sonata – if im not wrong) also is a copycat on the honda accord.. especially its rear!

by the way, the new camry looks nice to me.. not bad ler..

• accordmania on Nov 29, 2005 at 3:26 am

it is like a toyota "accorrd" to me… i just admired the front "mazda 6 sarong" & the "bmw 7 series booth", and the rest is just like accord

• Copied and changed…smart way to compete.

• Ihateproton on Nov 29, 2005 at 3:50 am

In the US and Aus. the Camry apeals to people who dont have a huge budget… whilst here the Camry is more of a luxury model. I'm sure it will look more up market once it comes here..

already the Aus Camry has a revised grill with the Toyota logo in the middle.. and it looks sporty… well at least more sporty than the ones here…

• A facelift of Accord?:-) Toyota is tougher in term of durability compared to Honda though. Still, musculine look. Sporty also. Just need to change the rims, blink2 and become BlackMafia's tuned car.

• The new Hyundai Sonata also look like this. Is it trend? How about the Perdana Replacement Model?

• gegaoff on Nov 29, 2005 at 4:40 am

but when u view the car at side view, the front part a bit like POTONG wira ah…

• rikeys on Nov 29, 2005 at 4:46 am

looks much much better than the current camry hopes it handles better!

• Toyol Kemli on Nov 29, 2005 at 4:47 am

ZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz

• fariq on Nov 29, 2005 at 4:52 am

I am more interested in the new Altezza.. It is already out as the Lexus IS series.. Its the hottest Toyota sedan i've seen in a long time ..check out www.lexus.com if u dont believe me

• SEE FU on Nov 29, 2005 at 4:56 am

Okay if you ask Honda accord and Toyota Camry same price which one to buy, I will take the camry.

This copy accord looks mix with 7 series boot, is much better than original accord lah. Frankly speaking the 2005 accord looks like a banana, I hate the front and the back.

YAU MOU GAU….CHOR!!! :)

• HumanSanzz on Nov 29, 2005 at 5:24 am

wah lau saliva drop down from my mouth drop by drop lar….Tak boleh tahan.

Nicer than mine.Haizzzzz

Great engineering and designing from a toyota.Keep up the hard work and dun ur rival beats u….Hehe

To:eRis-Aeir4s,

this camry which part looks like accord leh??????If look like accord is considered unfortunate coz the sales of the accord so teruk.

• MahathirSpeakz on Nov 29, 2005 at 5:24 am

eRis-Aeir4s said,

November 28, 2005 @ 6:27 pm

WAH!! A CLONE!

—- A 2005 Honda Accord!

Sawi is de BEST loh…

• HumanSanzz on Nov 29, 2005 at 5:34 am

bosses sure will like this car.Give the feel of being a boss after owning this car.Haha…………….

I saw on the interior has quite a lot of analog button.hope it won't confused those wealthy and buta huruf boss.Who likes to read through the manual b4 drive the car?????We drive the car not the car drives us mar.And finally the air-cond vent is correct placed at the centre.Phewwwww.Not like the current one besides the radio player.Can frozen ur hand when u hold the steering.

• this stuff is abit huge…

• MutantTomato on Nov 29, 2005 at 6:16 am

why on earth did they use that stupid coloured wood for the interior la?! Should have used a darker shade la. Baru cun…. Now, it looks like they killed some cheapo cupboard from Tesco or Courts Mammoth for the wooden interior! :P

Yes, thank GOD they moved the aircon vents back to a position where you wouldn't freeze your hands off everytime you drove…

• accordmania on Nov 29, 2005 at 7:04 am

if you really compare the accord to the camry, camry want to eat dust also difficult. on the layout of interior to the exterior, size also shorter and narrower, horse power, suspension, even price also lose to accord… why u still bother about that camry which now they try to copy accord

• eRis-Aeir4s on Nov 29, 2005 at 7:04 am

HumanSanzz : ALOT.

The interior is an exact copy. Albeit this Camry has cheaper looking woodgrain trim. And the steering design also same. Look into the interior of the Accord and you'll see it's an exact copy. Even the CD player/GPS Syst.'s location is the exact same.

Wah, I tot someone say the Accord's back is slanted down so no boss feel? Is this slanting upwards?

…Dunno leh?

• accordmania on Nov 29, 2005 at 7:11 am

to HumanSanzz : who say accord sale is teruk? go and research again, don't simply say thing while you are ZZZZZZZZzzzz

• keniji on Nov 29, 2005 at 7:12 am

shame on U,

Proton perdana, waja chancellor!

• accordmania on Nov 29, 2005 at 7:16 am

c___y is for those 'kia su' & 'old aged' uncle buyer. they are not buying peformance and technology but a simple & basic car

• HumanSanzz on Nov 29, 2005 at 7:50 am

To eRis-Aeir4s,

I am not that sure how is the accord interior looks like leh.U may say this copy that and that copy this.But who could determine whether accord did not copy from others.if the location of the GPS and radio is placed at the centre consider as copy,then i think in this world u could claim every car is copying as well lar.Do u expect the aircond vent placed at the upper or perhaps beside ur centre rear mirror meh????The steering design is same as mine lar.Only now they added the silver colour plate at the side only lar or more buttons.

Ok now we cannot really judge this car by these few photos because the latest honda city looks damn nice on the advertisement.But on the real car,it turned out to be a damn ugly car leh.FROM my own opinion lar.Look for the real car 1st.

Abt the slanting upwards or downwards at the rear,it all depends on the feel.It must match the whole body design.I can say that this camry really looks nice from the back and the slanting upwards is suit this car well.

• MyBoy on Nov 29, 2005 at 7:51 am

From side view, the rear end look like 5 Series.

The new Camry look nice from inside but not so apealing from outside, especially the front end.

• Flizzardo on Nov 29, 2005 at 7:54 am

first time came out of my mind when i see the side BMW 7 SERIES?

then when i saw rear ACCORD?

but i have no idea how accord interior looks like so i cant comment on that

i personally dont like the front though

• r3_maniac on Nov 29, 2005 at 8:12 am

macam mulut Cell dalam cerita Dragon Ball ahahaha…

some says interior good, exterior sucks, some says otherwise.

my say, not a single toyota car looks good ahahaha… all plain boring, not ugly but also not beautiful. lexus on the other hand, demmm cunnn.

| i'm talking about look only. not other properties of the car. chiaowwww muahahaha

• izudeen on Nov 29, 2005 at 8:18 am

offtopic..

paul, would you be kind enough to do some review/screenshot of the newly launched in Malaysia 'Smart roadster'… and the pricing too.. (not that i would be able to afford it :p)

• dictionary on Nov 29, 2005 at 8:21 am

the honda accord already use 5 speed since 2003 but camry only apply 5 speed on 2006, so which one is more advance.

• eRis-Aeir4s on Nov 29, 2005 at 8:29 am

#

eRis-Aeir4s said,

November 28, 2005 @ 6:27 pm

WAH!! A CLONE!

—- A 2005 Honda Accord!

#

Believe me when I say Toyota have alot of DIEHARD fans.

Lets do some rephrasing.

The same meaning as the above..

————————–

Looking at the 2006 Camry, it's exterior's rear part kinda resembles the Honda Accord, but it's probably the Accord that's copying it.

Oh yea, the Interior is copied by Honda from Toyota too, that's why it's so nice.

Accord Rebadged? Nah, Honda's probably producing a rebadged Camry since.. 2 yrs ago? So it's Honda copying Toyota, not the other way around. And the air-cond vents + the CD player/ GPS Syst. just happened to be the same as the Accord, cannot meh? Aiya this is not copying, this is called "Info-Sharing".

———————

I believe this will please alot of people. Haha. Esp HumanSanzz.

But if you LOOK carefully, I never said that the CD player being in the center is copying the Accord. The position was a minor factor, not a major factor.

……… Hard to explain, Look at an Accord's interior and tell me the upper part of it's dash.

• damion on Nov 29, 2005 at 11:05 am

definitely a japanese model….

it only shows 180kmh on the speedo..

and from my experience with JDM cars, we should be getting a different dashboard as the JDM models are integrated with GPS and touchscreen modules…

MOST JDM models have this as standard backdating to years ago…

so its not much to hoohah over..

design wise, the rear looks like the new lexus IS350… not much hints of design hues from any honda that i can think of yet.. accord/inspire included..

similiraties in designs from manufacturers only show how they react towards market demand…

don't be surprised and upset that manufacturers of different continents might come out with almost similiar but slightly designs despite wearing the different badge…

IMHO, japanese manufacturers are now designing cars with more EUROPEAN feel in mindset to challenge the luxury car market segment internationally…

it's a big piece of pie that everyone wants a bite of..

examples being: Honda Legend, Toyota Crown, Nissan Fuga….

this model won't be coming to ours shores so soon, last i remembered the Malaysian market CAMRY getting the facelift last year so expect to see it MAYBE in 2007 for Malaysia?

unless UMW Toyota plans something aggresive..

and also, internationally, the ASEAN Honda Accord(JDM INSPIRE) has received a facelift…

so perhaps, expect a minor facelift Accord from Honda next year… 3 years should be about the time for it…

slightly longer if the Accord proceeds to sell like hot cakes as it is now…

• damion on Nov 29, 2005 at 11:07 am

slightly designs = slightly different designs…

typo mistake.. ;)

• kimberlycun on Nov 29, 2005 at 11:38 am

eww…is it just me of the front part reminds me of Gen 2? i like the current camry so much more

• repsol on Nov 29, 2005 at 4:17 pm

another rebadge model by TOOYOODAAA,..

rojak version to be exact,..

• Homer Simpson on Nov 29, 2005 at 4:31 pm

bet it can sell as good as the Chancellor! LOL

Now the Government servents are really really confused! Hahahaha….

• Well most of ya having the feeling tat u are lookin on an accord…well me too..could it be toyota 'korek' the designer from honda??? wuahahahaha :P

SEE FU: YAO MOU GAO…..CHOR…….!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• mahagurusia on Nov 29, 2005 at 6:11 pm

Wah Sui man!! Look a bit like the 5 series beamer! lottery strike lottery! lol

• fatjohn on Nov 29, 2005 at 6:26 pm

Go check on this website http://www.hyundaiazera.com/, see the similarity!!!!

• peter on Nov 29, 2005 at 6:49 pm

Nice! I don't think it's at all close to the Accord. It's totally different to my eyes. The Rear is more Lexus than Honda, and the front grill and lights couldn't be more different to the Accord's.

I think it's a very cool looking car, and if I were Honda I'd be worried. The new Accord is years away and this Camry will hurt Accord sales badly.

• Michael Chua on Nov 29, 2005 at 7:40 pm

Lovely. Looks a bit like Mazda 6. Best-looking Camry to date.

• SaDdNesZ.jc on Nov 29, 2005 at 8:00 pm

just love the curves….

• SkyHigh on Nov 29, 2005 at 8:19 pm

Nice Car Indeed, i would like to drive around using at least a 20'" inch rims and a black night tint, Oooo……'Slurp' Slurp'

• Comfort – go for camry

Performance – go for Accord

Reliability go for Camry

Handling – go for Honda

Resale Value – of cause Honda

Fuel Comsumption – of cause Honda ( for the rising fuel price)

Looks – Honda

Class – of cause Toyota previously, but i think now it's Honda

Passion – Honda

Dreams – Honda

My test scores for the above is CAMRY 2 pts / Accord 8pts

I think Accord would be a better buy…….if you're thinking of reliability & space then i suggest Camry. Definitely Accord is no match in this class.

In the other segments I think Accord is better …. from my point of view

The choice still depends among individuals !

• Cumry on Nov 29, 2005 at 8:27 pm

Cant wait to see the Bling Bling version of Camry. 22 inch rims with spinner… Even if u r a nerdy math lecturer, u can instantly become Papa Pimp hahahaha!

• intermilan on Nov 29, 2005 at 8:38 pm

buruk 3x…

the light-coloured wood panel remind me of plywood.

then match wif grey colour interior.. eee..uuuu..

if potong design interior like this most probably kena wasted like hell.

• To me, no two cars are alike. However, i dont think this camry looks like our current (sucky) Accord. Yeah, the front echoes Mazda 6.

Toyota actually have 3 ways of making their cars, there is the Avanza, Vios vehicles where Toyota cares nothing about awards, they knew they had the edge and thus sells on their badge alone. Interior trimmings were of the lowest, acceptable quality (thou quality control is as always – Toyota). Why did i say so? Rub ur arms against Vios' plastic panels and look at your hair got stick up by those static electricity, these are low quality plastics for vehicles, because these plastics attracts dusts, particles and sticks there, making your car looked very unpleasant. Such quality materials is not present in Camrys.

Second type of cars Toyota made are Camrys and Corrollas, which are all time best sellers, compromises had been disguised always to attract every Tom, Dick and Harry. These cars had very limited 'extra' accessories compared to other Japan variants. And these Camrys, Corrollas always echoes something from their Toyota stables, they dont really allocate top engineers, designers to come out with something revolutionary or superbly outstanding; these segments were just made to maintain there market share, and is the biggest contributors to their profits.

Next, are enthusiastics. Where by Toyota put wholesome of efforts on them, design wise, quality, performance and accessories wise; and of course they demand higher prices, but one can note the differences once sitting inside one. These cars are such as those Toyota Altezza (Lexus IS200), Toyota Caldina GT-4, Toyota Mark X, Toyota Crown, Toyota Wills….. etc.

Hence, we cant really ask that much for a Camry. Oh ya, by the way, to those who do think that this 2006 Camry looked better than the current on-going one, take a look at this. :)

http://competitions.ninemsn.com.au/competitions/i…

• kimberlycun on Nov 29, 2005 at 11:30 pm

why nobody considered nissan cefiro?

• Kymberly i am a nissan fans obviously. But the resale value has made my past 2 nissan a second handed 1…cheap but still reliable and durable kekeke

aiming next car could be X-trail rather than the current cefiro…juz feel its quite 'builky' compared to the previous version of cefiro (97-01). The resale value kills nissan market but neverthless they can overtrade ur cars if u opted for a new nissan ;) or buy a second handed nissan which cost u 25 – 30% less after 3 years old.

• I dont understand the local Nissan dealer still getting this cheap skinned Cefiro 2005 that we're getting. The 2005 Cefiro that Singapore is getting and very well received is damn good looking, its called Nissan Teana in US. If that came, i guess Camry and Accord will have to strive to keep up with it.

• 2005 camry owner on Nov 30, 2005 at 10:36 am

Aiyo..regret d….should have waited one more year… TT

• EDDIE FANS on Nov 30, 2005 at 3:37 pm

I'M A TOYOTA ALTIS DRIVER, BUT SINCE I SAW THE NEW HONDA CIVIC WHICH JUST LAUNCHING AT SINGAPORE LAST WEEK, IF FINANCIAL APPROVED , I WIIL GET A ONE. ITS OUTSTANDING !!

• LONG LIVE ACCORD! Still the best especially with fully bodykit and double exhaust.

• zanggief on Dec 01, 2005 at 8:24 am

hope 2 get the hybrid edition!

• Well the exterior is nice. But the interior especially the steering and gear looks cheap! This is a camry. Even a vios shouldn't have that sort of wood finish. The so called luxurios wood finish looks more like a piece of cheap brown plastic!

• karim alias on Dec 03, 2005 at 12:07 am

mmmm, it's ok to me.

• Mr.6800 on Dec 06, 2005 at 8:05 pm

One word to describe this CAMRY, "AWESOME!!"

just hoping UMW wont disappoint we Malaysian, USDM Camry have a sportier look & why can we Malaysian have one too???

• Piece of ART

compare it to the stupid chancellor

l am sure our leaders will slammed it with a 300000000% tax

l am selling my kidneys, cornea , mortaging my house, ask the loan shark, sell my protons and work 24 hours a day to get this car,

or l migrate to USA and open a restaurant so l can buy this car cheap

NO MORE PROTON and EON

• Camry sells well in US but not in UK…. why???

• Tom said,

December 7, 2005 @ 8:53 am

Camry sells well in US but not in UK…. why???

Europeans love hot hatch, hatchbacks, small cars. Sedans? sedans are for boring individuals i guess.

• vhtan on Dec 10, 2005 at 9:51 am

The current Camry model is a Daihatsu in Japan.

http://www.daihatsu.co.jp/showroom/lineup/altis/i…

• This camry looks like a winner

• adamking on Dec 10, 2005 at 8:56 pm

i might change my accord…..

• Daihatsu Altis…. wtf~

• get_a_life on Dec 12, 2005 at 11:10 pm

Who cares….if my accord takes me from A to B w/out any problems so whats the worry? lol good luck honda and toyota fans…i still love my honda its got sporty feel. Camry its for old ages scared of minute bumps on the road. ouch my knee is hurting damn bump i better get camry.

• Biscuit on Dec 21, 2005 at 12:45 am

i think the camry is nice although i have a honda accord, i think camry is trying way to hard to top accord but it aint goona happen! Copycats get no love!

• Looks like combination of Accord+Current Camry+BMW 7 series…I like it.

Anybody know when will this model available in M'sia?

• GT27 (Member) on Jan 20, 2006 at 9:58 pm

The rear kind of like a bit of the rear of Hyundai Sonata? But this is still the best looking camry… So, it probably will launch soon in US…

• ryk (Member) on May 18, 2006 at 7:28 am

when it will launch?

my daddy want buy a new car,like jazz or yaris..

buy he scare if new style camry launch this year,so cannot buy already.

• cherasman (Member) on Jul 05, 2006 at 2:42 am

hi, just wondering since honda stopped production of the current accord, any avenues for buying a new car of the current model

coughing thanx for your help

• mypayeeji (Member) on Aug 29, 2006 at 11:48 pm

wondering when this new camry is coming out..seen the similiar model in singapore..very very impressive..but very X aslso..starting pricing S$93000..