Tata Nano officially goes on sale, delivery in July!

Tata Nano

The Tata Nano is officially here and on sale! Bear in mind this is the Indian domestic market version and not the larger, more well-equipped version that was showcased as the Tata Nano Europa recently.

The Indian version of the Nano will go on sale from the 1st of April onwards at Tata Motors Passenger Car dealerships and other select authorised outlets, available in 3 variants – Standard, CX and LX, with a 24,000km or 18 month warranty. The cheapest one is priced at 1 lakh as promised, but only when it leaves the factory, after that it gets some other costs tagged on including shipping, taxes and registration.

The Tata Nano has its engine mounted at the back, a 624cc 2-cylinder aluminium multi-port fuel injection engine mated to a 4-speed transmission. The engine produces 35 PS at 5,250rpm and 48Nm of torque at 3,000rpm, with a top speed of 105km/h.

Not much power, but the car weighs only 600kg. It can negotiate a maximum of a 30% grade incline. Fuel efficiency is rated at 23.6 km/litre, certified by the Automotive Research Association of India (ARAI) under mandated test conditions – this is said to be the most fuel efficient petrol car in India.

Tata Nano

The Nano measures just 3,100mm long, with a width of 1,500mm and a height of 1,600mm. Tata claims despite it having the smallest exterior footprint of any car in India, it is 21% more spacious than the smallest car available today.

The Standard is very bare, with 3 colour options, single-tone seats and a fold-down rear bench. If you notice, it doesn’t even have side view mirrors. The CX adds 2 more colours, climate control, two-tone seats, a parcel shelf, boost-assisted brakes, and a fold-down rear seat with a nap rest.

The highest grade LX model adds complete fabric seats, central locking, front power windows, body-coloured bumpers and etc, fog lamps, an electronic trip meter, a front console cup holder, a mobile charger point, and a rear spoiler.

There is limited capacity at the moment, as Tata’s Sanand plant is not ready yet in terms of capacity. The State Bank of India will be managing the Nano’s bookings. Application forms will be sold at Rs. 300 from 30,000 locations in 10,000 cities – Tata Motors Passenger Car dealerships, State Bank of India and its branches, its subsidiaries and associates, other preferred financiers, and outlets of Westside, Croma, ‘World of Titan’ and Tata Indicom exclusive stores.

Tata Nano Interior

After one obtains the form, he can either pay the entire booking amount themselves or seek financing of the booking amount. Financing is available from 15 financial institutions, where a Nano can be booked for Rs. 2999.

After 60 days of the closure of bookings, Tata will use a lottery system to allocate the first 100,000 cars to be delivered in phase 1 of the delivery process. Deliveries will start in July 2009.

If you do not get selected for the first phase of delivery, unlike here where your booking fee gets stuck for ages if your car takes a long time to get delivered, customers will be eligible to interest on their booking fees – 8.5% for retention period between one year to two year and 8.75% for a retention period of more than 2 years.

Look after the jump for a full gallery of the Nano.

The Tata Nano: how did they manage to make it so cheap?

[zenphotopress number=99 album=198]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• will they sell it here?

• Littlefire on Mar 25, 2009 at 7:00 pm

I tot TATA Nano is going to sell in Malaysia.. But after i read it, only in India… Haiz..

If this car price under RM20k, i think it can sell in Malaysia! But take the Europa version, more better a bit.

• sick and tired on Mar 25, 2009 at 7:08 pm

1 lakh= ~RM7k!! (1 lakh = 100,000)

• Is this car safe to drive??

• arr_TanSri on Mar 25, 2009 at 7:10 pm

safer than motor i think

• arr_TanSri on Mar 25, 2009 at 7:11 pm

safer than motorcycle

• bmpower on Mar 25, 2009 at 7:27 pm

somehow.. their interior especially the dashboard.

ARE WELL NICER THAN TOYOTA VIVA! (err P2 Viva)

Seriously!

p1 or p2 should try make an RM10K car, for town usage only. might help reducing traffic jammed. perhaps… someday…

• WhyNotHyundai on Mar 25, 2009 at 7:41 pm

"might help reducing traffic jammed"

Not think so! I just imaging 6 of this type of mini car squeeze in 3 lanes road!

HaHa!! Malaysia also BOLEH!

• alansmithz (Member) on Mar 25, 2009 at 7:44 pm

The interior is better than Saga too. We are conned for so long….

• kokwai on Mar 25, 2009 at 7:54 pm

[quote comment="224093"]somehow.. their interior especially the dashboard.

Seriously!

p1 or p2 should try make an RM10K car, for town usage only. might help reducing traffic jammed. perhaps… someday…[/quote]

I will cause nightmare traffic jam !

Imagine 50% of the motor riders upgrades to a Nano, there will be 50% more vehicles on our roads, and since Malaysian drivers like to squeeze, it will be a very interesting sight to see 4 Nano squeezing side by side on a 2 lane highway.. :P

• newbie on Mar 25, 2009 at 8:07 pm

[quote comment="224099"][quote comment="224093"]somehow.. their interior especially the dashboard.

Seriously!

p1 or p2 should try make an RM10K car, for town usage only. might help reducing traffic jammed. perhaps… someday…[/quote]

Imagine 50% of the motor riders upgrades to a Nano, there will be 50% more vehicles on our roads, and since Malaysian drivers like to squeeze, it will be a very interesting sight to see 4 Nano squeezing side by side on a 2 lane highway.. :P[/quote]

hehe… agreed… agreed…..

but in my view…. i think i would not be suitable to sell it in msia… as

Most Malaysian like to drive fast….. afraid this car would make the death toll statistics even higher…

• 4G63T DSM on Mar 25, 2009 at 8:08 pm

Lol. 8.5% interest?

I would just book like a bunch of them and hope I don't get picked. hahahah

I can forsee a bunch of new varients…..the TATA Nano pickup, TATA Nano Wagoin….etc…

This is cheaper than a golf cart.

• newbie on Mar 25, 2009 at 8:08 pm

sorry … got error…. " it would not be….. " not " i would not be…"

• Environmentalist on Mar 25, 2009 at 8:10 pm

Good job Tata for delivering a 'people car'. The many comments posted have missed the mark as the purpose of this car is to 'save lives' and an alternative transport to motorcyclists carrying their family of four. When it rains, the road condition will cause motorcyclists to fall off easier (e.g potholes, oil and wet condition). Tata is no charity company.. it has to build a car that will not cause Tata to lose money. The car is kept to its basic without losing its main functionalities and friendly to the environment. (Proton is still producing cars such as ISWARA and old SAGA that are carbie based thus polluting to the environment).

Tata nano is an economic car has high mileage per liter of petrol and affordable for the people in ASEAN countries.

Bravo Tata..

• Annihilated on Mar 25, 2009 at 8:14 pm

A commendable move from TATA. This Nano will slot in a new category which non of other automakers had explore before (Smart falls under luxury – at least in Malaysia and the rest of the 3rd World countries – thus it doesn't count).

I will buy this for short commuting purpose IF it is sold and priced well in Malaysia. You don't have to be in the lower income group to drive this. Look at your neighbours, some of them own a motorcycle for short commuting purpose instead of their MPVs, or sedans.

For the level of safety and comfort – which I believe matches the price and the category – it is a bargain even if it is sold for RM20K. Even kapcai today easily cost you RM6-7K.

Does anyone know where I can buy a bit of TATA shares? ;)

• sutheshkumar on Mar 25, 2009 at 8:20 pm

this thing has CLIMATE CONTROL.

even our proton doesnt have that.

learn a thing or 2 lar proton.

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Mar 25, 2009 at 8:27 pm

its definitely a viable alternative for a person who owns a bike today and wants to upgrade, but cant afford even a viva for example.. so this car definitely needs to be priced lower than anything from perodua..

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Mar 25, 2009 at 8:29 pm

[quote comment="224104"](Proton is still producing cars such as ISWARA and old SAGA that are carbie based thus polluting to the environment)..[/quote]

errr.. are you sure proton is still producing those cars?

• pulge on Mar 25, 2009 at 8:42 pm

Look nicer than a Kancil.

• Esteemed on Mar 25, 2009 at 8:43 pm

CRASH TEST? –> FAILED ..why? use low tensile steel… no cut more cost..

FC maybe good but maintenance?

better to buy motorcycle and raincoat…. RM5000+ RM30… avoid traffic jam.. avoid toll..

• [quote comment="224109"]its definitely a viable alternative for a person who owns a bike today and wants to upgrade, but cant afford even a viva for example.. so this car definitely needs to be priced lower than anything from perodua..[/quote]

isn't that so easy? they would need to tax this car 300% in order to match the most basic viva (RM28k)

so if shipping and taxes cost hikes up the price by even 100%, this car still can sell at less than 15k.

• [quote comment="224102"]Lol. 8.5% interest?

I can forsee a bunch of new varients…..the TATA Nano pickup, TATA Nano Wagoin….etc…

This is cheaper than a golf cart.[/quote]

they should come out a premium version without doors and compete with golf cart..LOL

• [quote comment="224109"]its definitely a viable alternative for a person who owns a bike today and wants to upgrade, but cant afford even a viva for example.. so this car definitely needs to be priced lower than anything from perodua..[/quote]

can buy 2nd hand kancil wat…

660 kancil white RM 6-8k also can get..lolx

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Mar 25, 2009 at 8:46 pm

[quote comment="224119"][quote comment="224102"]Lol. 8.5% interest?

they should come out a premium version without doors and compete with golf cart..LOL[/quote]

even a golf kart sells for more than RM10,000 if i'm not mistaken.

• scottloeb on Mar 25, 2009 at 8:51 pm

[quote comment="224104"]Good job Tata for delivering a 'people car'. The many comments posted have missed the mark as the purpose of this car is to 'save lives' and an alternative transport to motorcyclists carrying their family of four. When it rains, the road condition will cause motorcyclists to fall off easier (e.g potholes, oil and wet condition). Tata is no charity company.. it has to build a car that will not cause Tata to lose money. The car is kept to its basic without losing its main functionalities and friendly to the environment. (Proton is still producing cars such as ISWARA and old SAGA that are carbie based thus polluting to the environment).

Tata nano is an economic car has high mileage per liter of petrol and affordable for the people in ASEAN countries.

Bravo Tata..[/quote]

Check your facts bro. They have ceased production of Wira and (old) Saga ages ago. The only new carb vehicle on the road is Kancil.

• biggie on Mar 25, 2009 at 8:55 pm

the basic version will not make it here as no side mirrors

• mukhri88 on Mar 25, 2009 at 9:18 pm

The way to win the hearts of rakyat. Build the car here ckd. Sell at under RM10k. Tell rakyat govt is helping to save lives especially suburban and luar bandar folks with low income. Good job TATA.. Good idea.

Here's a question, maybe you can own it, but does it cost more to maintain than a kapchai? The engine is developed by Bosch, right?

• izaman on Mar 25, 2009 at 9:19 pm

[quote comment="224102"]Lol. 8.5% interest?

and don't forget if it is sold in malaysia, some creative malaysian will introduce the sport version of this car. maybe add some turbocharge, spoiler and bodykit, bigger rim, slick tyre, HID, and so on. ahhahaah.

• leonardo on Mar 25, 2009 at 9:38 pm

[quote comment="224104"]Good job Tata for delivering a 'people car'. The many comments posted have missed the mark as the purpose of this car is to 'save lives' and an alternative transport to motorcyclists carrying their family of four. When it rains, the road condition will cause motorcyclists to fall off easier (e.g potholes, oil and wet condition). Tata is no charity company.. it has to build a car that will not cause Tata to lose money. The car is kept to its basic without losing its main functionalities and friendly to the environment. (Proton is still producing cars such as ISWARA and old SAGA that are carbie based thus polluting to the environment).

Bravo Tata..[/quote]

Where have you been man? Just out from Timbaktu? Proton no longer produces Iswaras or old Sagas.

• goguncas71 (Member) on Mar 25, 2009 at 9:40 pm

It's interesting to note that Suzuki (who is no 1 in India) won't be building a Nano rival. The Suzuki boss said that they could make a car that cheap, but it won't meet suzuki's standards of what a car should be (safety and comfort aspects). Seriously it's a no brainer, you want a cheap car? Get a used car…

No brake servos… :(

• leonardo on Mar 25, 2009 at 9:46 pm

Paul, the car has got just ONE side mirror, on the driver's side. Look again at the photos. However in city driving i noticed many cars have their side mirrors knocked off by motorbikes or other cars in a tight squeeze. (I was in Mumbai and Delhi recently).

• ahlaplap on Mar 25, 2009 at 10:03 pm

if not mistaken, one of the top model does have an airbag…

wonder what would the ppl in malaysia think about the lovely perdana…with limited edition, special edition and etc…still cant put an airbag in the car…

• bmpower on Mar 25, 2009 at 10:06 pm

[quote comment="224099"][quote comment="224093"]somehow.. their interior especially the dashboard.

Seriously!

Imagine 50% of the motor riders upgrades to a Nano, there will be 50% more vehicles on our roads, and since Malaysian drivers like to squeeze, it will be a very interesting sight to see 4 Nano squeezing side by side on a 2 lane highway.. :P[/quote]

no it's not.

if you can calculate like that.. let me calculate like this.

by that size, the space of 'long jammed' was shortened by twice!.

That's also mean, everytime traffic light GREEN, for actual time, let say only 10 car can go passing by. but this time, 20 car can passing by.

Other than than, we also save from 'waiting' a big mpv or bigger car to pass the corner, that we have to wait.

And also, if that was a road repair, usually only 1 car can go thru, but this time maybe 2 or 3 can go thru.

And many other posible things to figure out.

Oh btw, just imagine, there's 10 big car with only one person inside just happen right now. Such a selfish in 'other view'. ;)

• bmpower on Mar 25, 2009 at 10:09 pm

[quote comment="224122"][quote comment="224119"][quote comment="224102"]Lol. 8.5% interest?

they should come out a premium version without doors and compete with golf cart..LOL[/quote]

even a golf kart sells for more than RM10,000 if i'm not mistaken.[/quote]

because the most expensive part in Golf Cart are ..

Battery system.

that's why.

• slimershine on Mar 25, 2009 at 10:10 pm

[quote comment="224096"]The interior is better than Saga too. We are conned for so long….[/quote]

are you blind or what. do you see recaro and momo in there? radio also don't have then its better than saga? sigh.. for sure saga is safer than this 'tata~'.

• I think India is a major trading partner for Malaysia. Malaysia is promoting it huge palm oil export to India with a request of tax incentives. Therefore I think India too is as well will request for low tax for its Nano.

• Coyotito on Mar 25, 2009 at 10:35 pm

Seriously!

So let's hope P1 and P2 will produce cars which are as small as 'Smart for Two'?

lol, haha….'Perodua for Dua' and 'Proton for 2'…. :p

• kimi_ on Mar 25, 2009 at 10:40 pm

What??? Fuel efficiency is rated at 23.6 km/litre….That's COOL…

Even better than most hybrid car…

Will consider buy this if oil Price up to 100 …HAHAHA

• kimi_ on Mar 25, 2009 at 10:44 pm

I just got about [quote comment="224093"]somehow.. their interior especially the dashboard.

Seriously!

Agree! VIVA sucks like hell….

• initial R on Mar 25, 2009 at 10:54 pm

[quote comment="224096"]The interior is better than Saga too. We are conned for so long….[/quote]

yup… coz saga body also strong. There have cd/radio player, tick seat, lotus handling, boot also big. 15 inc wheel. also can seat 5 people inside, engine 1.3. what else proton conned people ekk ?…. oh ya… have side mirror for both side for all line. wahh…. so many proton conned ppl… proton should do like nano with thin seat, take out player, side mirror, put small engine, reduce wheel base & last less price to RM12k…. wah so safe budget….. :)

• Jong88 on Mar 25, 2009 at 11:02 pm

Fu*k! This mean more stupid people on the road. Sure got as*hole drive this sh*t on the fast lane at it's top speed of 105km/h!

• the stik on Mar 25, 2009 at 11:07 pm

macam kepala dragonfly laaa beb..

• Chris Chong on Mar 25, 2009 at 11:07 pm

I'll wait for the Jaguar version with leather seats, satnav, supercharged inline-6 and loads of chrome… :)

• This is Ratan Tata's personal initiative, there is a lot of corruption in India, but the Tata Group and Ratan Tata himself is highly respected for his integrity.

In India its difficult to miss a family of 4/5 in scooters or motor cycles and its highly dangerous to travel with kids/babies like this. This must have been the motivation for Ratan Tata to build this car.

Companies like Bajaj have been selling 3 wheelers used as rickshaws without an iota of innovation or safety standards for 30 years plus unchanged at Rs 150,000 plus, when seen in this perspective the Nano begins to make sense. Its a superior alternative to the choices families on two wheelers currently have.

The main arguments are about increased congestion in India's already congested cities with poor infrastructure but this would apply to most cars, saying that a low cost car should be available to lo income families because of congestion is a bit hypocritical and selfish for those who contribute to congestion with their more expensive cars.

• >>> Off topic

PT, no news about Modenas new model?

If I not mistaken its GT128, Kawasaki Tech he he :D

• i remember in top gear show~

jeremy mention this car~

compare it with pikachu~

pika2~ pikachu!!

kasi kna karen sama org~

hahaha~

• [quote comment="224088"]safer than motorcycle[/quote]

If U drive like motorcycle BUT what happened if drive like a car and collide with other car or wrost with truck. BTW most worst case (fatal) accident involved KANCIL.

• [quote comment="224088"]safer than motorcycle[/quote]

maybe selamat kalau keta ni guna laluan motor. camne kalau guna laluan kereta biasa?

• rubbish car on Mar 26, 2009 at 1:27 am

aiyaa u all this car even dont have power steering, power windows, air conditioning for price of 1 lakh car… what a rubbish!

• initial R on Mar 26, 2009 at 1:35 am

Berita baik untuk mat rempit, lepas nie kita bleh tengok mat rempit racing ngan nano atas jalan. siap bleh whelly & wekang… hahahaha…. harga dah murah tu macam beli kapchai. :)

• initial R on Mar 26, 2009 at 1:36 am

[quote comment="224183"][quote comment="224088"]safer than motorcycle[/quote]

maybe selamat kalau keta ni guna laluan motor. camne kalau guna laluan kereta biasa?[/quote]

alah. macam tak biasa tengok motor naik federal highway…..

• bmpower on Mar 26, 2009 at 1:47 am

[quote comment="224182"][quote comment="224088"]safer than motorcycle[/quote]

If U drive like motorcycle BUT what happened if drive like a car and collide with other car or wrost with truck. BTW most worst case (fatal) accident involved KANCIL.[/quote]

I second that.!

kancil was the most family killer.

(but govt protect them too)

unsafe underpowered car.

• osh_kosh on Mar 26, 2009 at 1:54 am

the stardard version don't even have side view mirrors? owh come on, that's cheap… LOL :)

• nonengko on Mar 26, 2009 at 2:05 am

If price is the sole determining factor when one decides to buy a car, then go for it.

• da'Kongzter on Mar 26, 2009 at 3:09 am

Wah, this car will sell like hot cakes if it's priced below rm20k. Cheaper too if you would consider that it can accomodate 4 people compared to motorbikes.

Whatever people might say, it's still safer than a motorbike.

This will help the poor. Our local carmakers should also consider on this kind of project. Maybe universities could actually come out with something?

• initial R on Mar 26, 2009 at 4:15 am

Please used this car with D Licence not B full licence. it's a car, not a motorbike. hehehe… :)

• According to wikipedia this car accelerate from 0-70 kph in 14 seconds.

Wonder how much it takes to accelerate to 100 kph, if only it possible.

• mystvearn on Mar 26, 2009 at 5:18 am

The only place where I see this car is being used as cars at driving school. Cannot see why Malaysians want a lower spec car then already low Myvi. Remember those china made cars which were cheaper than Kancil or around there. What happend to the cars? I have not seen any on the road

• initial R on Mar 26, 2009 at 5:24 am

[quote comment="224247"]According to wikipedia this car accelerate from 0-70 kph in 14 seconds.

Wonder how much it takes to accelerate to 100 kph, if only it possible.[/quote]

According info, this car can go to 105km/h.

• Prismo on Mar 26, 2009 at 5:38 am

[quote comment="224110"][quote comment="224104"](Proton is still producing cars such as ISWARA and old SAGA that are carbie based thus polluting to the environment)..[/quote]

errr.. are you sure proton is still producing those cars?[/quote]

maybe he still live in the 90's, jgn amik ati la kwn…. but i live in 09, and i think proton already stop the production of ISWARA and old SAGA since a couple years ago… err….

[quote comment="224130"] The engine is developed by Bosch, right?[/quote]

No my friend, BOSCH only supply this parts

*Starter motor

*engine-control module

*injectors

*sensors

• Celicazz on Mar 26, 2009 at 5:44 am

Indian car made for Indians, who are migrating from bikes to cars (although you can say that it shoul be called 'twobikes attached side by side but an engine taken off')

It said it passed the safety tests, but that's only for the Europa version…

the 1 lakh? i dont think so… dont just look at the price, look at the quality, comfort and reliability (or even style…) please do give brainly comments…

if it is to be localised in malaysia (CKD?) i doubt if the price will go down… materials in msia are expensive, not like india… and i do want to know if it is eligible to pass the Type Approval by the JpJ… (donno what Type Approval is? ask your friends at JpJ)

cheap does not always mean better…

P2 and P1 can make such car, and it will took them less time to design and produce one (mind you, Saga was developed in only 18 months)… but, could they compromise on our safety n comfort? how are these cars tested? what had they compromise to keep the cost down? they shouldn't, thus, there are no cars like this should be made in Malaysia.

ours are better, still some are better than the japs had given us. just compare myvi and their siblings, passo/boon/sirion. even the bumpers are not rigid enuff compared to myvi…

• Prismo on Mar 26, 2009 at 5:59 am

[quote comment="224167"]In India its difficult to miss a family of 4/5 in scooters or motor cycles and its highly dangerous to travel with kids/babies like this. This must have been the motivation for Ratan Tata to build this car.[/quote]

ya, i think that Indians really need this car… atleast it's safer than riding motorbike/scooter with his wife, 2 kids and baby onboard just on one trip… i just wonder what happen to them when the day suddenly raining? or, riding in a very hot day? if i were cannot afford any above RM30K car… i should also consider Nano aswell (if i live in india) :)

give em a break will ya guys… stop calling this car rubbish, junk or what so ever… "1 lakh standard very bare vehicle", I think it's better than motorbike/scooter in india…

Syukur aku kerana dpt membeli waja RM60K keatas… tak pernah aku terfikir apa akan terjadi kalo aku berada ditempat mereka (india) yg tak mampu memiliki keta yg boleh dikira murah dikalangan org malaysia…

long live TJCC… i'm a proud owner Junk Waja.. it's make me feel lucky to have it… eventhough it's a junk, i know it's was better than Nano… again… LONG LIVE TJCC :) :)

• Prismo on Mar 26, 2009 at 6:22 am

[quote comment="224264"]long live TJCC… i'm a proud owner Junk Waja.. it's make me feel lucky to have it… eventhough it's a junk, i know it's was better than Nano… again… LONG LIVE TJCC :) :)[/quote]

"JUNK" word just for TJCC members… only our members know what the actually "JUNK" meaning among us… it's not mean to bash proton.. :) besides that, TJCC members love our rides… it's a PROTON!! :)

• Tiadaid on Mar 26, 2009 at 6:26 am

[quote comment="224139"]if not mistaken, one of the top model does have an airbag…

wonder what would the ppl in malaysia think about the lovely perdana…with limited edition, special edition and etc…still cant put an airbag in the car…[/quote]

Perdana old model. New Protons have airbag option wat…

• adunadun on Mar 26, 2009 at 6:46 am

Have u been to India, you know how was their attitude on the road? with this car, i cant imagine how bad its going to happen, one thing for sure, i believe their will throw out the door, that door is useless for them :)

• Don't think Proton is able to make this kind of low cost car…

Remember the price of import car price in langkawi, I think proton still have long way to catch up that, first, proton cannot produce mass production to reduce the cost… so we bear it for them…

• Gajen on Mar 26, 2009 at 6:57 am

wats with ppl complaining about no radio,power steering,thicker seats, etc etc…this is meant for those who ride bikes and cant afford cars…so for those who can afford cars, pls be considerate…

• [quote comment="224255"]

maybe he still live in the 90's, jgn amik ati la kwn…. but i live in 09, and i think proton already stop the production of ISWARA and old SAGA since a couple years ago… err….[/quote]

Have a good news to those ppl own a old edition car, they can sell old ISWARA and SAGA with 5K to buy a New SAGA :)

The Tata Nano are light weigh, better change to battery motor engine, it more light weigh, dont need to drink petrol and good to environment. Could save a lot of many and more cheap then drive a motorcycle. :S

TJCC(The Junk Car Club) members could live longer than TMCC(The Motor Cycle Club) and TBCC(The Bike Cycle Club) members. Thy dont worry to sunshine and rainy days. :(

• saya budak baik on Mar 26, 2009 at 7:32 am

i bet it would be cheaper if it ever came here. why? because no indicator light. nobody uses it anymore. might as well take it out

• i doubt its that simple over here. malaysia will probably think of this as a cheap car to run so will buy it for their kids to drive or to better utilise the freed up cash.

so in short we will see alot of nanos here. not just short commuting etc.

but base price 7k, come down here, tax and stuff i suspect price will reach 20k.

• Finally I can afford to open a private driving school. Just need RM80,000 to buy 10 nano.

• tokmoh (Member) on Mar 26, 2009 at 8:27 am

[quote comment="224255"][quote comment="224110"][quote comment="224104"](Proton is still producing cars such as ISWARA and old SAGA that are carbie based thus polluting to the environment)..[/quote]

errr.. are you sure proton is still producing those cars?[/quote]

maybe he still live in the 90's, jgn amik ati la kwn…. but i live in 09, and i think proton already stop the production of ISWARA and old SAGA since a couple years ago… err….[/quote]

Environmentalists live in Ice Age. They seriously think switching off lights an hour this Saturday will make a difference to global warming? Yohohohoho

Btw, how was ur honeymoon? :) Had a great time in Bali? :D

Yes indeed, we're proud with our junks :D TJCC ROXX!!!

[quote comment="224273"]Have u been to India, you know how was their attitude on the road? with this car, i cant imagine how bad its going to happen, one thing for sure, i believe their will throw out the door, that door is useless for them :)[/quote]

You know, I've always viewed this nano as a "tuk tuk" (or however u spell it) with doors n…… nothing much else. Oh, with 4 tyres too, cuz I remember tuk tuk has 3 wheels.

I hv no intention to insult nano, bt I think that's the basic idea Ratan had that made him thought it possible to make a 1 lakh car. So aside from upgrading from motorbikes, its also an upgrade from tuk tuk.

• kcchiok on Mar 26, 2009 at 9:06 am

It's always a dream for a middle/low income family to own a car so that everyone can go out for a ride… I came from this category, the man behind the creation of Tata-Nano deserved the credits… despite the pollution that's going to happen…

• Farhat Haniff on Mar 26, 2009 at 3:06 pm

They should make a car with

1) 3 wheels (each with 2 bolts)

2) Body made of recycled PET bottles

3) Chassis of a BoonSiew Honda motorcycle on steroids

4) No Transmission (it just goes – 1 speed)

5) Plastic seats

6) Bicycle breaks

RM 5500 + RM400 OTR tax

Proton Everi

• James on Mar 26, 2009 at 4:21 pm

You guys, don't get fooled by Tata products. My personal experience, My dad purchase a brand new Tata wagon before. The car is fine and wonderful to drive when new. BUT… only after 1.5 year the car felt as old as a grandpa! serious… The car was able to accelerate to 80km/h (not even 100km/h) with relative ease when it was new. After 1.5yrs, It could barely do half the speed at the same amount of time!!!

Compare that to Japanese car, you need a 30 year old car to feel that bad to drive!!!

Don't get ripped off with a cheap tata nano, You'll love it first year and be disgusted on the second year!… Trust me.

• Prismo on Mar 26, 2009 at 5:31 pm

[quote comment="224310"]Environmentalists live in Ice Age. They seriously think switching off lights an hour this Saturday will make a difference to global warming? Yohohohoho

Yes indeed, we're proud with our junks :D TJCC ROXX!!![/quote]

TJCC ROXX!! long live TJCC's members!! :) … my honeymoon was great… as sweet as honey :) … thank you for asking :)

How last TTS was going? do u taking any picture that time? can share with me? :)

Global warming campaign this saturday… ok, why dont we unite, all TJCC members switch off our home light just within 1 hour… agree? :)

• Prismo on Mar 26, 2009 at 5:38 pm

[quote comment="224257"]cheap does not always mean better…[/quote]

a cheap new saga is better than an expensive myvi and viva la kwn…. it's should be, "expensive does not always mean better" :)

• autojohndoe on Mar 26, 2009 at 6:41 pm

Proton is still producing cars such as ISWARA and old SAGA that are carbie based thus polluting to the environment

it still selling… not producing….

• autojohndoe on Mar 26, 2009 at 6:59 pm

[quote comment="224275"]

Remember the price of import car price in langkawi, I think proton still have long way to catch up that, first, proton cannot produce mass production to reduce the cost… so we bear it for them…[/quote]

u understand term mass production or not?

• Tata Nano need to use electric so there is no emissions problems will come out.

Imagine if half of the cars on the road are this Nano with electric version.

So it is very friendly environment.

But electric car often will increase the cost, sigh -_-

• vasudeo joshi on Mar 26, 2009 at 10:50 pm

dear sir, thanks to tata. they make a such small car for low budget holders.I wanr to book this nano small car for my familly . pleases send me the booking form through email. I may great thankful to you.-vasudeo joshi from merta city-rajasthan.

• Rattan Tata (CEO) go the idea for the car when he was stuck in traffic. seeing all the young indian (travelling to/from work) who are on bikes and the very high rate of annual fatality rate, he thought he needed to change something to prevent/lessen the lose of youth… such need gave birth to the Nano.

if you ask the accounts, they will tell no one can mass produce a 1 lakh car.

some times it takes a bold person to shove it to engineers and accountants and tell them to do what they are good at.

VW Beetle had similar humble beginning.

• Global warming campaign this Saturday.

All TJCC need to off junks engine 1 hour, to members cant stop car while driving, at lest switch off the front lamps…agree?

This is the best time to see the star in the sky :)

LOOK THE SHINNING STAR IN THE SKY……….(@@)I

THE RULING METEOR…HOPEFULLY COULD SEE YOU…(@@)I

• Prismo on Mar 27, 2009 at 2:07 am

[quote comment="224545"]Global warming campaign this Saturday.

All TJCC need to off junks engine 1 hour, to members cant stop car while driving, at lest switch off the front lamps…agree?

This is the best time to see the star in the sky :)

LOOK THE SHINNING STAR IN THE SKY……….(@@)I

THE RULING METEOR…HOPEFULLY COULD SEE YOU…(@@)I[/quote]

kah kah kah… :D that mean, switching off front lamp will automaticly switching off rear lamp also mah…. that good.. switch off our home light oso ma.. if the night really dark, then we could see the star in the sky… but i will turn off my junk engine that night… save petrol ma… :)

how about u tokmoh? eventhou it's not making any different with the global warming, atleast we can experienced "hidup zaman batu, xder elektrik" hahaha… :)

• raybrig85 on Mar 27, 2009 at 3:01 pm

[quote comment="224093"]somehow.. their interior especially the dashboard.

Seriously!

i think ure wrong…that will increase traffic prob in the city..

• tokmoh on Mar 27, 2009 at 5:11 pm

[quote comment="224381"][quote comment="224310"]Environmentalists live in Ice Age. They seriously think switching off lights an hour this Saturday will make a difference to global warming? Yohohohoho

Yes indeed, we're proud with our junks :D TJCC ROXX!!![/quote]

TJCC ROXX!! long live TJCC's members!! :) … my honeymoon was great… as sweet as honey :) … thank you for asking :)

How last TTS was going? do u taking any picture that time? can share with me? :)

Global warming campaign this saturday… ok, why dont we unite, all TJCC members switch off our home light just within 1 hour… agree? :)[/quote]

Yeah, e-mail me at tokmoh(underscore)2000az(at)yahoo(dot)co(dot)uk

They hv better PR this yr…… knowing well that just switching off lights for 1 hr didn't work cuz the power plants are still running as usual (the main cause of greenhouse gas) n the power surge that comes after that kills off the savings, this yr, Earth 60 promotes itself as just a "symbolic vote", lol.

I dunno lor…… my mom always do her "symbolic vote" at 11pm everyday lol.

Mayb I will switch off TV n computer for an hour to get all these UMNO GA stuffs out of my head lol. Urggh….. KJ winning was kinda predictable but it still makes me feel sick……

• The seats are so thin…. not good for long drive balik kampong. How about a crash test? Can it enter the UK market?

• osh_kosh on Mar 28, 2009 at 12:05 am

"KJ Rocks On!"

that was the frontpage headline on MalayMail the next day… yeah right…

• tokmoh (Member) on Mar 29, 2009 at 7:47 am

[quote comment="224826"]The seats are so thin…. not good for long drive balik kampong. How about a crash test? Can it enter the UK market?[/quote]

U get wat u pay for. So it's rather pointless to hv any expectation at all in this car aside from cost-saving measures.

I doubt any British wants to buy it, nt when they're v badly affected by d credit crisis. My lecturer told me last yr's car sales in UK is lowest since 1961, n if u watched TG's latest season, there was an episode where those 3 clowns discussed abt how bad the supercars' 2nd hand value.

• Anggota Kerajaan India bolehlah gantikan kereta Ambassador (model 50/60 an) ke yang terkini…. Nano.

• Prismo on Mar 31, 2009 at 5:44 pm

[quote comment="225161"] there was an episode where those 3 clowns.[/quote]

haha… instant clowns :)

• Robert Ganapathy on Mar 31, 2009 at 8:02 pm

Definately better than riding a bike. Got 4 wheel and can carry 4 person.

Malaysian must try this. I'm waiting to see it.