Tata Nano Europa: a high-spec Nano for Europe!

Tata Nano Europa

Tata has unveiled a more regularly-specced version of the Tata Nano that it intends to sell in more sophisticated markets such as Europe. It will be a car that has all the creature comforts that you’d expect, unlike the 1 lakh version that it intends to sell in India which will be stripped bare of even an air conditioning unit.

This high-spec version has been exhibited at the 2009 Geneva Motor Show and is called the Tata Nano Europa. While the Indian Nano rides on a wheelbase of 2,230mm, the Tata Nano Europe has a stretched 2,280mm wheelbase and measures 3,290mm long and 1,580mm wide (the Indian Nano is 3,100mm by 1,500mm). It’s actually shorter both in terms of length and wheelbase compared to the Kancil but is wider. Powering the Nano Europe is an inline-3 fuel injection engine mated to a 5-speed automatic and it will also come with a power steering system.

[zenphotopress number=99 album=156]

Tata Nano Europa Viva Kancil
Length 3,290mm 3,575mm 3,365mm
Width 1,580mm 1,475mm 1,405mm
Wheelbase 2,280mm 2,390mm 2,280mm

Other features that the Nano Europa will get include ABS, ESP stability control and airbags, which already places it above many small cars in terms of equipment, especially the presence of stability control. Of course with all of this extra features the price will be far from the original pricetag that gave the Nano its “1 lakh car” nickname, but I doubt the European customer will accept driving something as bare as the Indian Nano. Who knows, we could even end up having this Nano Europa sold in Malaysia by the new Tata franchisee, whoever they may be.

Tata of course has other aces up its sleeve for Europe, and it begins to make sense why they acquired Jaguar once you see what else they are exhibiting at Geneva, coming soon right after this story.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• bangkhai on Mar 05, 2009 at 8:59 am

looks promising.. omg did i just praise tata? haha..

but hell yeah its look good..

• willpower on Mar 05, 2009 at 9:00 am

such a cute car…

• bangkhai on Mar 05, 2009 at 9:01 am

oh forgot to write "FIRST" lah as for typical comment starter.. sorry guys.. haha..

• MyviKiller on Mar 05, 2009 at 9:14 am

tatanannononininana…

• MyviKiller on Mar 05, 2009 at 9:16 am

I'll have it when it launches here, surely better looking than the boxy Viva.

• Rizal on Mar 05, 2009 at 9:31 am

It does look much better than the base version. Looks good.

• wow.

Airbags and stuff..

stuff we dont get from Proton!

time to set up Proton.

• tansri on Mar 05, 2009 at 9:50 am

if they can price it half of the smart car in europe, or maybe 20-25k in malaysia of course they will have a good market share..

• osh_kosh on Mar 05, 2009 at 10:05 am

still the tyres look too small for the car, but somehow it look not so cheap anymore… not like the pics on 1lakh car thread previously… thanks Paul, on Viva & Kancil dimensions, it help for fast comparison.. :)

btw Paul, why can't comment on Naza's "Fabulous in White’ thread? any special reason?

• eh quite nice wat the design…

• mohdazizee on Mar 05, 2009 at 10:45 am

may i know if proton & produa also participate in geneva motor show. this place is very good for advertising. or they just to shy to join because not enough car to show. in that case, start from now they must introduce more new model (3 models for 1 year at least).

• mystvearn (Member) on Mar 05, 2009 at 10:55 am

airbag or not, the car will crumple easily

• achai on Mar 05, 2009 at 11:14 am

the car suits better for makcik2 to go to pasar or pick their child from school..save more on fuel..safer than moto what..

• Adly (Member) on Mar 05, 2009 at 11:17 am

its TATA,

so I DONT WANT ONE!!.

now is tata..

• I read somewhere that u can't open the boot from the rear, but through the rear seats…so cheap it's like a toy car

• micheal on Mar 05, 2009 at 3:48 pm

dont blame produa for viva!

its daihatsu's Mira '06 model…

its quite boxy…

• micheal on Mar 05, 2009 at 3:49 pm

[quote comment="217456"]still the tyres look too small for the car, but somehow it look not so cheap anymore… not like the pics on 1lakh car thread previously… thanks Paul, on Viva & Kancil dimensions, it help for fast comparison.. :)

btw Paul, why can't comment on Naza's "Fabulous in White’ thread? any special reason?[/quote]

because we will coment on the sexy wearing guests…hahahaha!

• micheal on Mar 05, 2009 at 3:51 pm

[quote comment="217450"]wow.

Airbags and stuff..

stuff we dont get from Proton!

time to set up Proton.[/quote]

you can get it la bro,

you just have to pay, for the higher end, like this one, this is the higher end for tata nano 1 lakh..

• micheal on Mar 05, 2009 at 3:51 pm

can i have a bigger wheel arc nano please?

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Mar 05, 2009 at 4:07 pm

An Upscale Nano?

Wow, it does look good though…or has our expectations been lowered so much by the stripped out Nano that this looks good?

IT does resemble Mitsu's i, including the RR layout. Which isn't a bad thing.

• The name sounds like some kitchen stove.. Europa..hahahaha

Is it fitted with a moon roof btw?

• wiraperkasa on Mar 05, 2009 at 4:57 pm

[quote comment="217443"]oh forgot to write "FIRST" lah as for typical comment starter.. sorry guys.. haha..[/quote]

its more glory to write "FIRST" at proton entry u know..because it will have more comment…:p

• farghmee on Mar 05, 2009 at 5:16 pm

crash test passed?

• nighttrain on Mar 05, 2009 at 5:30 pm

Europe market… maybe foreign workers(PATI) there will buy. PATI car haha..

• Mig29_ria on Mar 05, 2009 at 5:40 pm

Re-scale Toyota Estima? Event the front emblem.

• Anand on Mar 05, 2009 at 5:43 pm

Testing..

• Anand on Mar 05, 2009 at 5:51 pm

Helo..atleast india have the capability to enter geneva Motor Show (Europeans already salute them long time ago)..not once proton or perodua (know only hw to copy others)…dont complain too much…dont talk like u all know everything..atleast india done the most cheapest car in the world…which entered guiness records..its a big success for india..the technology they have far more better than malaysian so called cars..

• Environmentalist on Mar 05, 2009 at 6:17 pm

Great little car..save the earth ..

As a buyer, the biggest concern is 1) spare parts easily available and costs 2) support and service

If the distributor has only a small network of branches (bearing in mind the current financial turmoil we had to have), spare parts will be hard to come by.

If someone or you smash the car, do you have to pay thru your nose to get it fix? will the insurance premium be high due to front/back smash cost?

Let see who will it be? (current distributor tata (i think it is scott & english) is not good lah only a few branches)..

• sick and tired on Mar 05, 2009 at 6:26 pm

Most of u do not understand that the Nano is catered for the lower end market. What do you expect for this price? A Ferrari? There is a reason why the Tata Nano has been generating a lot of buzz, and its because of the price, not its looks (which I personally think its not too bad)

• Fridz (Member) on Mar 05, 2009 at 7:16 pm

[quote comment="217483"]dont blame produa for viva!

its quite boxy…[/quote]

Our Perodua Viva is from Daihatsu Cuore 2002 version..the 06 model is nicer and not boxy.looks like malaysian viva is 7yrs already..(while Savvy only 4yrs old)…Pity

• BanyakMasukWorkshop on Mar 05, 2009 at 8:50 pm

[quote comment="217518"]Helo..atleast india have the capability to enter geneva Motor Show (Europeans already salute them long time ago)..not once proton or perodua (know only hw to copy others)…dont complain too much…dont talk like u all know everything..atleast india done the most cheapest car in the world…which entered guiness records..its a big success for india..the technology they have far more better than malaysian so called cars..[/quote]

ermm.. technically, anyone can go to the geneva motorshow.. it all depends if it meets your business needs or not or if you are willing to pay the money to show your car there. you dont need to meet certain criteria to be there. its not an exclusive country club.

also, you cant compare tata with proton (cant compare perodua, since they're not a manufacturer). Tata as a company is more than 100 years old. They are such a HUGE company and extremely diversified. When you talk about domestic market alone, they have hundreds of millions of potential customers.

tata should be compared with the other established global brands, like toyota, GM…etc.

• bmpower on Mar 05, 2009 at 8:58 pm

Just look nice…

far away better choice than VIVA!

• kimi_ on Mar 05, 2009 at 9:36 pm

this nano looks good…..VIVA sucks like hell !!!

• osh_kosh on Mar 05, 2009 at 10:00 pm

hmm… why not Proton try making world cheapest sedan? hey, if SAGA already selling like hot cake then try imagine a much cheaper car… of just sell to 3rd world country… ops… right, we are in that group.. LOL :)

• BanyakMasukWorkshop on Mar 05, 2009 at 10:37 pm

[quote comment="217595"]hmm… why not Proton try making world cheapest sedan? hey, if SAGA already selling like hot cake then try imagine a much cheaper car… of just sell to 3rd world country… ops… right, we are in that group.. LOL :)[/quote]

tata can do it, because they have a ready market domestically in india that will be willing to take a no frills car.. dont forget india has a population of over 1 billion people many of which cannot afford to own a regular car today.

and malaysians will never buy a car like the 1 lakh nano.

• muryadi on Mar 05, 2009 at 10:39 pm

[quote comment="217568"][quote comment="217518"]Helo..atleast india have the capability to enter geneva Motor Show (Europeans already salute them long time ago)..not once proton or perodua (know only hw to copy others)…dont complain too much…dont talk like u all know everything..atleast india done the most cheapest car in the world…which entered guiness records..its a big success for india..the technology they have far more better than malaysian so called cars..[/quote]

ermm.. technically, anyone can go to the geneva motorshow.. it all depends if it meets your business needs or not or if you are willing to pay the money to show your car there. you dont need to meet certain criteria to be there. its not an exclusive country club.

also, you cant compare tata with proton (cant compare perodua, since they're not a manufacturer).

Tata as a company is more than 100 years old. They are such a HUGE company and extremely diversified. When you talk about domestic market alone, they have hundreds of millions of potential customers.

tata should be compared with the other established global brands, like toyota, GM…etc.[/quote]

It's not fair to compare Malaysia and India. India also has nuclear weapon, bollywood and others as well. But if they ask where to stay and leave, I would rather be in Malaysia.

• muryadi on Mar 05, 2009 at 10:42 pm

[quote comment="217616"][quote comment="217595"]hmm… why not Proton try making world cheapest sedan? hey, if SAGA already selling like hot cake then try imagine a much cheaper car… of just sell to 3rd world country… ops… right, we are in that group.. LOL :)[/quote]

tata can do it, because they have a ready market domestically in india that will be willing to take a no frills car.. dont forget india has a population of over 1 billion people many of which cannot afford to own a regular car today.

and malaysians will never buy a car like the 1 lakh nano.[/quote]

I also think that Malaysian standard of living is higher than the majority of Indian.

• bmpower on Mar 05, 2009 at 11:53 pm

RM100 (your money) can feed a family (of 4 +-) in India for a month!

understand?

• muryadi on Mar 06, 2009 at 12:23 am

[quote comment="217638"]RM100 (your money) can feed a family (of 4 +-) in India for a month!

understand?[/quote]

Yes, that is the good part…others may not be so…

• micheal on Mar 06, 2009 at 12:57 am

[quote comment="217545"][quote comment="217483"]dont blame produa for viva!

its quite boxy…[/quote]

Our Perodua Viva is from Daihatsu Cuore 2002 version..the 06 model is nicer and not boxy.looks like malaysian viva is 7yrs already..(while Savvy only 4yrs old)…Pity[/quote]

——————————————————————

be noticed, its mira cuore, like others mira, Mira Cuore Avanzto ain it too long to write?

• micheal on Mar 06, 2009 at 12:58 am

in adition, fridz,

they keep on renewing the mira since 2002, an the last mira model launch (viva look alike) was 2006…

• micheal on Mar 06, 2009 at 1:05 am

[quote comment="217518"]Helo..atleast india have the capability to enter geneva Motor Show (Europeans already salute them long time ago)..not once proton or perodua (know only hw to copy others)…dont complain too much…dont talk like u all know everything..atleast india done the most cheapest car in the world…which entered guiness records..its a big success for india..the technology they have far more better than malaysian so called cars..[/quote]

——————————————————————-

capability? you mean money? yes…

rpoton sent somethng… lotus?

FYI, produa wasnt copying,

they actly sent some enginners there to work with toyota and daihatsu, to build a car, since toyota has more money, toyota tested the market for Passo first (MyVi). Its joined RnD, not copying…

work with produa, you will know.

you want malaysia cheapest car?

then you wud complain also, proton or produa wasting money to do RnD to build such car that just slightly better than motocycle.

Excuse moi?!

technology they have better? like wut?

car?

you buy two ex5, you combine it both, you put a seat in the middle, then you got a tata nano 1 lakh rival…

think before you talk, build a car cheapest in the world, doesnt mean you are good in everythg…

• nighttrain on Mar 06, 2009 at 1:21 am

If you can afford a Proton in India, you're a master of 30 servants.

• mitlanevo (Member) on Mar 06, 2009 at 1:24 am

good, now that's better…. looks nice, cute and somehow futuristic….

how about the price? guys, any estimation?

• micheal on Mar 06, 2009 at 2:08 am

[quote comment="217672"]If you can afford a Proton in India, you're a master of 30 servants.[/quote]

hahaha…own an S500L, you are the master of all of the Indian servants in india…

• lambov12 (Member) on Mar 06, 2009 at 2:45 am

how expensive when this car come to bolehland ??

50k perhaps ??

this looks more better ..

better than the original version, which looks like a pikachu ..

and it's smaller than a kancil ..

i dun think europeans, especially jeremy clarkson will buy this car ..

this car is super small, smaller than a kancil and only designed for super small asian ..

i think this is another city car with milo tin grade steel ..

• 7213209 (Member) on Mar 06, 2009 at 3:39 am

[quote comment="217452"]if they can price it half of the smart car in europe, or maybe 20-25k in malaysia of course they will have a good market share..[/quote]

even if the price in India equal to 20-25kRM, IF come into our country, don't dream the price will be the same.

• achai on Mar 06, 2009 at 3:43 am

[quote comment="217616"][quote comment="217595"]hmm… why not Proton try making world cheapest sedan? hey, if SAGA already selling like hot cake then try imagine a much cheaper car… of just sell to 3rd world country… ops… right, we are in that group.. LOL :)[/quote]

and malaysians will never buy a car like the 1 lakh nano.[/quote]

they spent a lot to build the nano..compared with what proton has spent for SAGA..I dont think it is feasible for proton to build a cat like nano..it is better to build a very cheap sedan like SAGA..can be sold anywhere..we dont have a huge market like TATA and Bajaj have here..

• Celicazz on Mar 06, 2009 at 3:58 am

Indian cars have good quality?

bet not… just look at Mahindra Scorpio, joined developed with Renault and how many do you see on Malaysian roads despite low price?

the car keeps on breaking: clutches, water pool at ignition coil no3 and everything else…

bet u wont be satisfied with nano later, 5 speeder with what displacement of the engine???

do u had ever tested the nano on ride comfort or performance or passive safety features? do not conclude yet that this is a good car… it does look like it, but, showcars are well built and painted with more-than-enuff gloss coating…

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Mar 06, 2009 at 6:10 am

Do you really think P1 and P2 will allow this car to come to Malaysia?

• tansri on Mar 06, 2009 at 9:16 am

[quote comment="217719"][quote comment="217452"]if they can price it half of the smart car in europe, or maybe 20-25k in malaysia of course they will have a good market share..[/quote]

even if the price in India equal to 20-25kRM, IF come into our country, don't dream the price will be the same.[/quote]

ya..that's right..otherwise the saga and viva sales migt drop to half maybe..hehe..

• u guys really like nano? tink so..

50 comment already…

• Slumdog Billioner on Mar 06, 2009 at 9:42 am

Don't talk about a country by knowing just a small portion of it's ecosocial.

Malaysia is standing top on the global market for various industry (related to bio,as physic & chemical sector aren't focused much by current gov).

India on the other side is focusing on all sectors,and it's noticable that today their ecosocial are developing fast compared to Malaysia)

Re: banyak masuk workshop,bmpower,michael,nightrain,lambov12,celicazz

You'll have to know that tata products are among the best in manufacturing industry as they are leading on innovation and material technology as par of the global industry revolution.

Show me prove of your rm100 idea.it doesn't make sense as even slums can't live with it in India,huhu.that's 12 years before macha.

• Slumdog Billioner on Mar 06, 2009 at 9:51 am

and there are more luxurious cars on the road in India compared to Malaysia. You have to be among those who live luxuriously on both continent to comment such statement, huh!God is Great!!

• mct (Member) on Mar 06, 2009 at 10:54 am

do you all miss 1 thing ??

its power by a inline-3 fuel injection engine but mated with an 5 SPEED AUTOMATIC TRANMISSION.

our proton still using 4 speed even for perdana

• micheal on Mar 06, 2009 at 6:35 pm

[quote comment="217836"]and there are more luxurious cars on the road in India compared to Malaysia. You have to be among those who live luxuriously on both continent to comment such statement, huh!God is Great!![/quote]

——————————————————————-

dear so smart sir,

what i s the ratio of population of india to malaysia?

1 indian to 38 malaysians?!

this enables them to get low cost labor, to establish such industry?! are you an economist?!

too estblish an industry, we need technology, and capital, labor!

wut luxurios car they have?! they drive maybach? like malaysians do? they drive Phantoms? like malaysian do? the drive Hummer? Chrysler? S500L? you knw how much these cars in malaysia and india izit?

if they are among the best why Mahindra scorpio have problems? becuz they are among the best car manufacturer izit?

they are among the best, thts y some ppl lives in slum kids kidnapped and sold as prostitutes? if they such a good manufacturer they shud can provide enuff jobs for their own ppl!

• you can check the sales figures of all luxurious brand like rolls jaguar etc.it is far far huge in India compare to malaysia…India is most fastest growing economy in the world…peoples are buying scorpio’s because it is indigenous…Why malaysians buying crappy protons…the same reason though…India is in huge economical reformation at current situation…Now middle class families is growing up 8% every year mean while current middle class growing to upper class…same time purchasing power of common man is very high at this time…Human trafficking in huge problem in entire world not only india…

India have poverty mean while huge economic growth…IT and other technologies India way better than malaysia..but infrastructure lack in India compare to Malaysia

Lot of luxury brands now under Indian Management…

• micheal on Mar 06, 2009 at 6:37 pm

[quote comment="217845"]do you all miss 1 thing ??

its power by a inline-3 fuel injection engine but mated with an 5 SPEED AUTOMATIC TRANMISSION.

our proton still using 4 speed even for perdana[/quote]

——————————————————————-

sir,

perdana was an old model, and you expect it to updated in just a day? to have 5 speed? buy a nano, we will see… how they will be crushed by Scania, Volvo, or Mercedes trucks here.

• Fridz (Member) on Mar 06, 2009 at 8:14 pm

[quote comment="217656"]in adition, fridz,

they keep on renewing the mira since 2002, an the last mira model launch (viva look alike) was 2006…[/quote]

Better you check this link..
    http://www.daihatsu.com/catalogue/cuore/index.htm…

our viva is from 6th generation cuore which was made in 2002.check this out.maybe someone will say wikipedia is not reliable.but not 100% of the infomation are wrong.

this is 6th gen cuore aka our viva
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/File:Daihatsu_Cuore_…

and this is 7th gen cuore form daihatsu.
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/File:Daihatsu_Mira20…

maybe daihatsu use same body structure or re-skin their cuore/mira.but viva is totally from 6th gen 2002 version

• Slumdog Billioner on Mar 06, 2009 at 8:57 pm

Michael,you shouldn't argue with things you don't know. It's better you understand and learn about the other side. You shouldn't compare Malaysia to India or China based on the situation around you as the situation wouldn't be alike on the other side.

Honestly,you sound like a retard person,it's better you stop before it get worse.

• osh_kosh on Mar 06, 2009 at 10:49 pm

[quote comment="217518"]

think before you talk, build a car cheapest in the world, doesnt mean you are good in everythg…[/quote]

sleeping? who's said anything about being the best by simply having capability to make world cheapest car? where u get that idea? hmm.. but to be fair, they must be good at something… selecting the right combination of good materials + cheapest cost + acceptable safety…

[quote comment="217749"]Do you really think P1 and P2 will allow this car to come to Malaysia?[/quote]

of coz not.. don't be silly… LOL

• Berbaik-baiklah on Mar 23, 2009 at 7:45 am

Jgn jadi sombong la kwn2 ku semua…mentang2lah kita mampu membeli keta beharga RM30k keatas… perlu diingatkan bahawa, byk lagi org malaysia yg berpendapatan amat rendah yg tak mampu beli keta walau ianya hanyalah sebuah kancil 660 terpakai.. kadangkala, aku sedih melihat org tua yg menggunakan motorsikal semasa hujan menghantar anak2 nya pegi ke sekolah tatkala aku sedang memandu sebauh kereta beharga RM60k keatas, berlindung dari hujan dan panas.. kerajaan malaysia boleh bawak masuk Nano ni dan jual dgn harga RM8k… sememangnya utk mereka..

jgn bimbang, P1 & P2 xkan terjejas oleh Nano ni.. tgk je dari pemikiran org malaysia yg mampu menggunakan keta RM30k keatas.. mereka xkan sanggup utk memandu Nano ni, apatah lagi nak membelinya… tapi apa nak kisah, keta ni bukan utk diaorg.. keta ni utk org yg berkemampuan rendah yg cuma mampu membeli motorsikal yg berharga RM4-7k… biarlah Nano ni menjadi keta yg mampu milik utk golongan yg berpendapatan amat rendah.. jauh disudut hati mereka, ingin sekali hendak memiliki kenderaan yg dpt dinaiki seisi keluarga yg dpt melindungi dari hujan dan panas.. xder a/c? motorsikal pun xder a/c.. tapi kalo boleh, bawalah masuk nano yg ada a/c… atleast, nano ada atap berbanding motorsikal…

soal keselamatan… membawa 2 org anak menaiki motorsikal lebih merbahaya dari memandu Nano dgn 2 org anak sebagai penumpang… apa nak kisah, kelajuan Nano pun bukan dpt melebihi 100km/h… nak cecah 90km/h pun lambat.. lagipun, soal hidup mati ditgn tuhan…

Kalo Nano masuk ke malaysia dgn harga RM8k… aku rasa, semua org yg berpendapatan rendah akan gembira :)

• alansmithz (Member) on Mar 25, 2009 at 7:49 pm

Setuju dengan Berbaik-baiklah. Not for millionaire apparently. Suitable for people who do not travel long distance & want to save some money on petrol too. Those driving >1.8CC car should go to other post & look up on the latest BMW, Benz, Bentley, Ferrari or Exora etc… This car is for poor folk who can only afford motorcycle or public transport (not cheap to ride LRT this day too!!)

• Saravanakumar Perumal on Dec 08, 2011 at 11:48 pm

i would like to know how many billionares are there from malaysia in forbes top 10 list and i think we have fromindia more than three………….indians are everywhere.why do u want professionals from india….i cant think malaysia can match up to india in many ways…may br u cud visit malaysiaand have a gud time.india is very diverse and rich….if you really know the truth…..its potential you cannot even dream of