More photos of the Tata Nano

Tata Nano

Here are more photos of the new Tata 1 Lakh Car, the Tata Nano. The photos include some of the car’s interior, which is so basic that its seats do not have reclining functions, and the instrument panel lacks an RPM meter.

The red car in this post with the unpainted black bumper is the basic version, which does not include air conditioning. As you can see, its very basic with steel wheels and etc. The yellow car is the more “luxurious” version, if the word may be stretched this far. It includes alloy wheels, climate control and other features.

View all photos after the jump.

Tata Nano

Tata Nano

Tata Nano

Tata Nano

Tata Nano

Tata Nano

Tata Nano

Tata Nano

Tata Nano

Tata Nano

Tata Nano

Tata Nano

Tata Nano

Tata Nano

Tata Nano

Tata Nano

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• MisterBenjo (Member) on Jan 12, 2008 at 6:22 am

wahh…can put 2 toolbox on the dashboard

• kazai (Member) on Jan 12, 2008 at 6:23 am

waa.. no audio system ar? anyway for me the exterior looks ok for “luxurious” version but the interior looks sooo basic.
    its a cheap car anyway

• neveraproton (Member) on Jan 12, 2008 at 6:58 am

When you consider the fact that TATA had the foresight of building the people’s car, you cannot but commend them.

Personally, I think the car has a certain (quirly) attractiveness about it. Much like the smart fortwo, which incidentally started off as a people’s car project too, the Nano has that sort of an appeal, and at 1 lakh you can’t really go wrong.

My forecast is it will be a hit among younger Indians just in the job market. Wonder if local Tata distributors (DRB isn’t it, under Scott & English?) will bring this model to complement the rather ugly but also basic Telcoline….

• neveraproton (Member) on Jan 12, 2008 at 6:59 am

Apologies, I meant QUIRKY.

• rosnani hj abd rahman on Oct 14, 2010 at 2:47 pm

i like so much this car….but no radio set….ok…in malaysia which dealer i can contact? i want yellow….

• cole planet (Member) on Jan 12, 2008 at 7:02 am

the car exterior look kind of weird… it’s thin and tall… with small tire… look like cartoon car… unsteady car…

interior look cheap… anyhow… not bad for car that cost onli 1lakh…

• BigFish (Member) on Jan 12, 2008 at 7:13 am

Centre meter panel, just like Toyota practice. Easy to adapt to left hand drive. So this car can conquer any part of the world.

• BigFish (Member) on Jan 12, 2008 at 7:16 am

Engine must be “supermini lawn mover” since the space at the behind the back seat is so limited.

• azrai (Member) on Jan 12, 2008 at 7:30 am

Bring it to here and we can find a lot of it at driving school all around the country.

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Jan 12, 2008 at 7:33 am

Wow, a plastic moulding for the dashboard? Maybe its for crash protection otherwise if I were Tata I’d leave it like the dashboard of the early Minis – just a parcel shelf.

• BigFish (Member) on Jan 12, 2008 at 7:59 am

Tata already mentioned it is economical car, so all is low price and basic. Mainly target at those who want to upgrade from motorbike to car.

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Jan 12, 2008 at 7:59 am

Spiritual successsor of the 2CV?

Back to basics motoring. To me its no different from the Base Kancils.

• kazai (Member) on Jan 12, 2008 at 8:07 am

at least Base Kancil got air con in it.

• lolipop88 (Member) on Jan 12, 2008 at 8:13 am

i wonder whether just hv 1 side mirror?? how to drive? or this car really small and doesn’t hv blind spot at all..

• mdjqs (Member) on Jan 12, 2008 at 8:18 am

walawei!! got side air intaaakeee!! just kidding! not bad for less than rm 9k. meant for town driving anyway!

• weewitt (Member) on Jan 12, 2008 at 8:26 am

at least the steering wheels are tons better than proton’s for sure.. rite guys?!

• proton.com (Member) on Jan 12, 2008 at 8:44 am

weewitt said,

January 12, 2008 @ 8:26 am

at least the steering wheels are tons better than proton’s for sure.. rite guys?!

____________________________________________________________________________

Just can’t stop thinking about Proton don’t you?

• PTAllTheBest (Member) on Jan 12, 2008 at 8:48 am

wan more info from a US site?

http://www.dailytech.com/Tata+Motors+Unveils+2500+Nano+in+New+Delhi/article10298.htm

• noCar (Member) on Jan 12, 2008 at 9:05 am

if this car can really replace motorcycle at India cities, town planner really have to re-plan again. i don’t think India cities design can accommodate too much car.

India is a large country. train is also popular transport there, or overcrowded trains. this 1 lakh car will not solve long distance travel in India, unless it is 2 or 3 lakh car.

and what is the indian safety test???

• forestcat (Member) on Jan 12, 2008 at 9:06 am

the gear stick looks like a giant dildo!!!

• moha774 (Member) on Jan 12, 2008 at 9:12 am

Just sell it in India and hoping that It wont be brought in by Scott & English…. cant imagine how the cornering speed going to be especially the handling.. personally think this car is not suitable for fast road here in Malaysia…. Kancil is way better than this…

• hazri99 (Member) on Jan 12, 2008 at 9:16 am

maybe Naza will bring this car to Malaysia… hahahaha

• normaluser (Member) on Jan 12, 2008 at 9:27 am

The wheels are too small for a car this tall. I wonder what’s the size. 11″?

• aizat84 (Member) on Jan 12, 2008 at 9:35 am

Naza Nano (refer ti hazri99 comment) haha ..

look like the seat cant be adjust issit? huhu .. so if cant, try to press the pedal first before u buy. if u cant press it. dont buy. haha .. nice basic car but i think it not suitable for malaysia .. in malaysia we drove max 110km/h .. this car if touch 110km/h i think it will be trouble. :) my 2 cents

• MaverickNeo (Member) on Jan 12, 2008 at 10:19 am

No matter how crappy it looks, no matter how low-quality it may be, no matter how shitty it drives, once you wrap your mind around the price tag, everything is forgiven. But one thing for sure, you will never catch me sitting in one, never….

• bolo (Member) on Jan 12, 2008 at 10:26 am

I like it! This is the true spiritual successor of the VW beetle. Simple, minimal and basic. A car is just a mean of transport, gets you from A to B and that is exactly what it does. If it is on sale here at its intended price, I will get one myself. I will not complain if it comes with aircon. My personal MP3 player will keep me entertained.

• cecibo (Member) on Jan 12, 2008 at 10:50 am

don’t dare taking corners at high speed with this

• moto_moto (Member) on Jan 12, 2008 at 10:55 am

i think the design inspired by their own three-wheel taxi. it does look like it

• nizam80 (Member) on Jan 12, 2008 at 11:09 am

Why is there a lack of side mirror on the left side?

• moha774 (Member) on Jan 12, 2008 at 11:54 am

Original beetle is incomparable with this nano car…. VW beetle is an icon with properly designed dynamics which take into account basic comfort, good handling with good basic engine(at that time) and you would feel safe going into corners …. a car is not just a mean of transport when you are in it…. you are a part of the car when it involves in an accident…. so imagine… Smart fortwo have crumple zone and chassis that can withstand frontal collision impact with a Merc sedan…. this car… I dont think so..

• BW (Member) on Jan 12, 2008 at 12:34 pm

at least the luxury version has climate control

• sarawakguy (Member) on Jan 12, 2008 at 12:57 pm

Why….i found the yellow Nano shown here rather fascinating…!! Found that I like it.!!! Call me “yellow” but if sold at RM9K++..?,I’m in..I dont mind sitting behind the wheel of this one.Anyway,i’m not the “speed” concerned guy…It can just get me going places,cheaper,safer and CHEAPER..!!!! No offence though….just thinking of a cheaper mode of going to work maa…..Public Transport? Well…I for sure not thinking of buying ANY transport mode if Public Transport network is very good.

• cole planet (Member) on Jan 12, 2008 at 1:17 pm

try run your imagination guys… imagine if we lower the car… change the rim into a bigger rims… paint the interior black… definitely look better…

• bonoriau (Member) on Jan 12, 2008 at 1:32 pm

it really will reduce motorbike in this world

• kingglim (Member) on Jan 12, 2008 at 1:41 pm

Hmmm, this is what I call Vision and Execution…Tata determines to create a real people car for the Indian people at the right price, and he has done it. That’s what we Bolehland lacks and desparately needs, we need more people that really make things happen, not talk big talk empty nothing done makan duit sini sana…

Just one thing, since it is rear-engined and air ducts are so tiny, i wonder if it can suffer engine overheat problem?? Need to see first.

• BigFish (Member) on Jan 12, 2008 at 1:41 pm

This car accelerate car ownership but the ownership of motorbike likely stagnant or slow down.

• AmiR (Member) on Jan 12, 2008 at 2:15 pm

yellow suits the car very well…interior is ok but just missing an audio sistem..n the seats look uncomfy….first thing to do after buying this car is change ur wheels….damn small, not safe… :)

• aki_zz (Member) on Jan 12, 2008 at 3:57 pm

i think the reason the wheel is small bcoz the engine is small so the torque is not high. if u a bigger wheel the accel, fuel consumption will suffer. this car not meant to be drive fast. i think 60 is okay, maybe 80 is the max i guess. the dash looks like it has an unused compartment below the climate ctrl, maybe u can put a radio? :)

• aki_zz (Member) on Jan 12, 2008 at 3:59 pm

a cd changer at least nowadays, XD

• wsoonlye (Member) on Jan 12, 2008 at 4:14 pm

Will TATA NANO available in Malaysia????

• cecibo (Member) on Jan 12, 2008 at 4:40 pm

since its hasn’t got any storage compartment inside, the space under the front seat might be useful. i imagine if my mommy got one of this, she would probably cover it with curtain.

• cecibo (Member) on Jan 12, 2008 at 4:56 pm

aki_zz said,

January 12, 2008 @ 3:59 pm

a cd changer at least nowadays, XD

————————————————

no. u don’t need that as long as u have fm radio cellphone or an i-pod.

• sxe10r (Member) on Jan 12, 2008 at 6:23 pm

Mitsubishi COLT + Smart !!! … NANO ~.~ how much if include de tax n all … will be RM 20k ??

• hyundai (Member) on Jan 12, 2008 at 6:28 pm

The rear seat looks spacious

• renyeo (Member) on Jan 12, 2008 at 7:11 pm

I say what!? Would the car tip over if I brush my arm against it? LOL

• sarawakguy (Member) on Jan 12, 2008 at 8:02 pm

I’ve just back from the TATA NANO Microsite…and I rather found it quite interesting…especially this one below….hope some ppl out there also kinda like me…
    http://www.tatapeoplescar.com/tatamotors/car/base.html

• ksatria neo (Member) on Jan 12, 2008 at 10:52 pm

i think the reason the wheel is small bcoz the engine is small so the torque is not high. if u a bigger wheel the accel, fuel consumption will suffer. this car not meant to be drive fast. i think 60 is okay, maybe 80 is the max i guess. the dash looks like it has an unused compartment below the climate ctrl, maybe u can put a radio?

• jeanloo (Member) on Jan 13, 2008 at 2:30 am

another suicide car

• afroiq (Member) on Jan 13, 2008 at 2:54 am

what can we expect from a 1 lakh car..a navigator, leather seat, 17″ wheel, a DVD with monitor on board, Xenon lamp??..

this car is nice with its price already..no need to komplen other car have air con what not..

who said that it is not suitable for malaysia market..even kancil 660 with 33bhp also can cucuk proton car what..same bhp with nano

• king (Member) on Jan 13, 2008 at 3:20 am

complains, complains, complains…..how bout you make a new car n sell to tata at RM 8k if you are so smart!!!

stupid…wanna only pay RM8k but expect s-class interior!!!

no wonder proton is suffering to please malaysians

• cc (Member) on Jan 13, 2008 at 4:08 am

we don’t need this car man.. practically.. not in malaysia

• sarawakguy (Member) on Jan 13, 2008 at 5:52 am

Just take a peek at the TATA’s microsite,and customize your own TATA…I had fun..he he he…

• MisterBenjo (Member) on Jan 13, 2008 at 9:22 am

takde side mirror kiri mcm rempit lah…

• naikmotoje (Member) on Jan 13, 2008 at 3:22 pm

even the luxury model got no side mirror…

• torishimeyakuin (Member) on Jan 13, 2008 at 3:44 pm

What more do you expect from a RM 8000 brand new car ? Even some of the miniature Gundam’s para-model sold are excessively more expensive than the car.

It’s a peoples’ car for the Indian peoples of Republic of India and that speaks all. Have you ever been to India my friend, and look at how the vast majority of the society living their daily life ? You might think the car is ridiculous and bloody junky but that’s the car which might suits most of the population’s needs and interests for the time being. It’s a right car, for the right people, at the right place, and within the right time. If it can grab most of Indians’ heart, one thing for sure, Mr Tata is becoming filthy richer and richer hour by hour.

• ENZO (Member) on Jan 13, 2008 at 5:28 pm

juz like the 1st time’s p1’s saga, no left side mirror!!!!

• naikmotoje (Member) on Jan 13, 2008 at 6:06 pm

for p1 that 20 years back…. for this nano??

• nuajon (Member) on Jan 13, 2008 at 9:17 pm

tata bye bye….dont be a sutera la….

• szw (Member) on Jan 13, 2008 at 10:29 pm

got any foto of the car crash ?
    i would love to see it .

• kevyeoh (Member) on Jan 13, 2008 at 10:44 pm

at less than RM10k…what to complain?
    i think this is a good car to be used for running daily errands…
    i mean… if you wanna have a nice comfort drive during weekends…can use ur main car…
    or else…for normal daily driving, this one is good leh…fuel saving…basic car…serve the purpose…

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Jan 13, 2008 at 11:25 pm

looks like a SMART rip-off. but if its for the india market, i suppose it will work there. what do we know?

• vs.meda (Member) on Jan 14, 2008 at 1:33 am

after seeing those worst interiors anyone….let it be..who cant afford a car ..and is eagerly waiting for 1 lakh car…..he will not be interested…..
    see those seats …they simply look like…7seater auto…
    it is not possible ….with this model for tata to satisfy and succed in this segment….
    the car lags some important features that a is expected to haveee….
    in my opinion ….the tata ss….plant which is meant to build these 1 lakh carss…..ie in w bengal….is not getting ready…as expected because …tata is only not interested to complte the project…and creating such problems….
    MAY BE….ITS FOR 1 LAKH….BUT IN MY OPINION PEOPLE BETTER PREFER TO TRAVEL BY BUSES AND ….7 SEATERS

SRRY TATA

• author (Member) on Jan 14, 2008 at 1:53 am

Design wise, not too bad except for the wheels that are way too small to support the tall body (especially during cornering). The only doubt I have on this car is the quality and compliance. As you can see, they don’t really review the spec of the car. Not even a data sheet in Nano’s website.

Looking at the overall built, if a poor person have a little more money, I think he/she should go for Made-in-China’s Cherry QQ which looks more solid with better technology. And the obvious reason for such a cheap car is for the cheap labour.

The car is cheap is undeniable. But value for money, I don’t think so. Savvy might even be able to beat its milleage ratio.

• napps (Member) on Jan 14, 2008 at 11:25 am

if this car is made available in malaysia, the mat rempits could be buying this car in droves…rempit-ing will be re-invented….imagine, these milo tins zig-zagging kl streets….hahahaha

• des88 (Member) on Jan 14, 2008 at 2:38 pm

The QQ is still more expensive than this car. This car is made for a purpose, which is to offer a basic mode of transportation to the people who want to upgrade to a car…and no I dont think the QQ’s quality and build is great anyway, thats why it never sold that well in the first place. When a large car like the Brilliance BS, which was supposedly China’s foray into into the luxury car market can end up in such a disaster, then I dread to think about all the other smaller cars that come from there. You can check out the Brilliance BS crash test on Youtube. Its a disaster.

• MyviKiller (Member) on Jan 14, 2008 at 3:57 pm

The rear lights are from Tata Indica/Citirover.

• MyviKiller (Member) on Jan 14, 2008 at 3:59 pm

Very cute car. Now have to see Jeremy Clarkson’s reaction on this car then…

• MisterBenjo (Member) on Jan 14, 2008 at 8:56 pm

how can they left the side mirror….can sacrifice rm30 for basic safety??

• des88 (Member) on Jan 15, 2008 at 7:33 am

Have you seen how they drive there in India? Some may call it insane…others say it requires skill. No side mirror…no issue one…..
    If one really wants it…add on la.

• jamaican (Member) on Jan 16, 2008 at 12:41 pm

if this car made it to jamaica god help the traffic cops here lol this car is really cheap i buy my used car frm japan it cost me 8000usd so i what the tata nano to come here soon

• jamaican (Member) on Jan 17, 2008 at 7:47 am

i mean i wont the tata nano to come to jamaica soon

• paxter (Member) on Jan 18, 2008 at 3:39 pm

omg…. dun let this car here… all the rempits will rempiting in this car… NOOOOOOOO!

• paxter (Member) on Jan 18, 2008 at 3:44 pm

why got only one sidemirror one ah? so budget until cannot put 2nd one ke?

• BanyakMasukBengkel (Member) on Jan 19, 2008 at 12:44 am

wah…

i will sell my honda wave125 to get this car.
    Who’s malaysian dealer for this car? we find out.

Cukupla boleh bawak g kerja..

• Dogster (Member) on Jan 25, 2008 at 10:04 pm

My god. As india has quite similar tropical weather as in malaysia, NO aircond? WTH? Its basically an microwave oven!! Crazy man!! Who ever buys this car is looking forward to torture himself .:S

• Kiliman on Feb 28, 2009 at 2:51 am

Hmmm,

I prefer a bicycle, same options and healthier, besides the bike will not contribute to the global pollution with the millions nano that will be produced and used…

The good point is, that when you crash with a nano, you can be buried in it, that will save you the cost of a coffin.

• rajesh a mehta on Mar 01, 2009 at 12:16 am

what a car.

• NEERAJ on Mar 01, 2009 at 3:26 am

when it will be come in roads

• i agry with u man

i it's interior is so basic and i think this car is only for chip guys

and i don't think than this car desever a big autio system

so…………………………………………..

• daniel kiran on Mar 07, 2009 at 1:50 am

superb car by my indian no rich foregin nationals would release such cars thanks u ratan sir to give indians a good car

• Deepesh Kumar on Mar 14, 2009 at 8:56 am

wht the rate of nano AC model

& wht the top speed of nano

• Deepesh Kumar on Mar 14, 2009 at 8:58 am

i like this super & jhakash car

what a model i like

thank ratan sir

• payal on Mar 21, 2009 at 2:41 am

wow – it is really wonder ful car …..i like it….

• SAJI GEORGE on Mar 22, 2009 at 10:46 pm

please let me know the rate of nano AC model

& wht the top speed of nano, realy i want to book now

• SAJI GEORGE on Mar 22, 2009 at 10:58 pm

All Indians are proud of u Sir, because all ordinary Indians are surely enjoy with this Car. please provide more transperancy to understand about the CAR NANO, Thanks a lot

• Looks like a miniature Daewoo Matiz….very cute

• francis on Apr 30, 2009 at 6:33 am

if you want a car, not a house, then this is the 'car' we are talking about.

a car just a tool to bring you around. some people just want a car to get to job site, what they dont care if you put a multi million 3D sound system, or gps navigator to go space. so, this solve the problem. with the price tag, what you get is a real car, not a house that move around. aka, benz which worth RM450,000.

that is what it cost of my house and my car.

car RM100,000

house RM300,000

furniture and stuff, RM50,000

• what …..75 km for 1 galon…..oh my god….i can buy 2 le…1 for my wife another for my second wife la…he he…

• a lesson to Perodua and Proton…..Local car expensive….import car cheaper

• sastry on Jun 27, 2009 at 10:37 am

This is the car for people to upgrade to car and to run on roads of India.though u buy a car with high price,if ur fate goes down u will b buried n can save cost for coffin.nano is good to run in the town.no problm with speed coz traffic will never allow u to acclrate high,so its ok….try to appreciate wen u cant make one.

Thnx to ratan anyways….

• worth the money………what do you expect for 1 lakh….a merc?

• where i can buy this car at malaysia?

• Douglas Ledet on Dec 12, 2010 at 3:31 am

This car would solve a lot of the problems of city travel here in the U.S.
    I would love to see this $ 2200 car introduced here.
    It would shake up everyone.
    The basic model doesn’t contain an A/C but does it contain a heater. In the biggest cities in the US, it gets very cold.

• beautiful, simple, tough & cheap
    that can i say
    the dashboard also simple xD

• Plawok on Jul 22, 2012 at 12:47 pm

wooah…the dashboard looks so high and scary…this car is extremely basic and the kancil is way much better than this….