Citroen’s new 3.0 liter HDi V6 diesel more powerful, less polluting and thirsty

Citroen C5

Car manufacturers have been revealing latest generation versions of their large displacement diesel engines one by one. We have BMW’s new N57, Volvo’s new twin turbodiesel, and another similiar unit from Jaguar.

The latest manufacturer to unveil a new turbodiesel engine is PSA Peugeot Citroen, who will be putting a new 3.0 litre HDi V6 turbodiesel in their C5 and C6. The new engine produces 240hp, up from 208hp in the outgoing 2.7 litre HDi, but is between 13 to 17 percent more fuel efficient and 12 to 15% less polluting in terms of CO2 emissions, also Euro 5 compliant. The engine also has an alternator that does brake energy recovery.

In the C5 and C6, the engine will be mated to a 6-speed automatic transmission. BTW I have more than one occasion spotted the Citroen C5 in Malaysia, although it has not been launched yet as far as I know. It may be due for a launch soon, if not already launched.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• altimi on Jun 16, 2009 at 9:11 pm

Why it's thirsty?

• nabill on Jun 16, 2009 at 9:43 pm

ive seem few times….looks great…design is almost flawless…got few recon car showrroms selling,nt sure how much..bt thy only jhavwe the 2.0cc petrol

• mockviper on Jun 16, 2009 at 9:55 pm

[quote comment="244878"]Why it's thirsty?[/quote]

it should be less polluting and 'less' thirsty…

• prolever on Jun 16, 2009 at 10:12 pm

3.0 is less thirsty…….errrr

with 3.0 diesel must have a big challage to enter bolehland…..yala 3.0 ltr rod tax almost 2000+ its diesel…….. plus insurans………haiooooooooo……….. mampiuh..

• beatnik on Jun 16, 2009 at 10:32 pm

Wah.. got KERS like equipment (brake energy recovery)

• kimi_ on Jun 16, 2009 at 10:34 pm

[quote comment="244882"]ive seem few times….looks great…design is almost flawless…got few recon car showrroms selling,nt sure how much..bt thy only jhavwe the 2.0cc petrol[/quote]

what are you talking about??? mind your words…

• arcryliss on Jun 16, 2009 at 11:05 pm

[quote comment="244887"]3.0 is less thirsty…….errrr

with 3.0 diesel must have a big challage to enter bolehland…..yala 3.0 ltr rod tax almost 2000+ its diesel…….. plus insurans………haiooooooooo……….. mampiuh..[/quote]

yes…extremely true..!!!

• 4G63T DSM on Jun 17, 2009 at 12:29 am

Its interesting how they would use the alternator for brake energy recovery.

In order to do that, on costing or braking, the torque converter must be fully engaged in gear (easy to do on an auto but how on a manual? leave the clutch in until just before it stalls) and the throttle butterfly has to somehow remain open, with the engine management cutting fuel to the injectors. Other wise there would be so much pumping loss/engine drag to make the energy capture not feasible. Makes for a jerky ride as well.

• 4G63T DSM on Jun 17, 2009 at 12:29 am

ah.. I meant valves instead of throttle butterfly

• Wak Rempit on Jun 17, 2009 at 3:15 am

Love the idea of the brake energy recovery system or KERS. But most of the systems articles I read are utilizing the flywheel to recuperate, store and later discharge a moving vehicle’s kinetic energy.

4G63T DSM,

Care to elaborate further? A little quizzed how they use alternator to operate their KERS.

• sutheshkumar on Jun 17, 2009 at 3:20 am

C5 is already here. Priced at RM199,000 for 2.0.

• Leseid Obrut on Jun 17, 2009 at 4:23 am

[quote comment="244882"]ive seem few times….looks great…design is almost flawless…got few recon car showrroms selling,nt sure how much..bt thy only jhavwe the 2.0cc petrol[/quote]

2.0 cc? Hahaha…how do you make such a tiny engine? Let's see…nano technology for the fuel injector and spark plugs…the intake and exhaust ports would have to be 1 or 2 mm in diameter…and…ooh…imagine the sound it makes!

• Mazda 3 MPS on Jun 17, 2009 at 5:16 am

[quote comment="244921"]C5 is already here. Priced at RM199,000 for 2.0.[/quote]

quite good pricing, this car is so sexy

• Gajen on Jun 17, 2009 at 5:32 am

[quote comment="244921"]C5 is already here. Priced at RM199,000 for 2.0.[/quote]

serious? C5 is in the same category as camry and accord right? hmm..199 for 2.0 is expensive…

199k can get a toyota mark x 2.5 v6..

• citroen will never drive like a camry, or i should say the magic ride of continental cars is always different.

• Bodow on Jun 17, 2009 at 6:29 am

199 la coz CBU from France and our MITI creative tax calculation ….. wait for few more years get 2nd la better …how to afford with our meagre salary and rising inflation ….

• sutheshkumar on Jun 17, 2009 at 6:41 am

[quote comment="244931"][quote comment="244921"]C5 is already here. Priced at RM199,000 for 2.0.[/quote]

serious? C5 is in the same category as camry and accord right? hmm..199 for 2.0 is expensive…

199k can get a toyota mark x 2.5 v6..[/quote]

I feel the same too. and with our malaysian mentality of seeing japanese makes as the greatest, I dont see why this wont sell well. but if it is fully equipped I think the price shud be ok.

toyota mark x is a recond and i think the parts will be harder to purchase.

• Paul Tan on Jun 17, 2009 at 7:07 am

[quote comment="244902"]Its interesting how they would use the alternator for brake energy recovery.

In order to do that, on costing or braking, the torque converter must be fully engaged in gear (easy to do on an auto but how on a manual? leave the clutch in until just before it stalls) and the throttle butterfly has to somehow remain open, with the engine management cutting fuel to the injectors. Other wise there would be so much pumping loss/engine drag to make the energy capture not feasible. Makes for a jerky ride as well.[/quote]

I might be mistaken, but I recall that diesel engines do not produce much engine braking?

• tunomura on Jun 17, 2009 at 7:08 am

It's a dream car and very expensive for nobody like me…

Why there so many and expensive taxes to buy a car..Why, why, why

At my salary I only can afford Malaysia cars, keeping my dream car…Why, why, why…Find a new job?? I'm not a job hopper…..Why, why, why

Unhappy malaysian

• Mazda 3 MPS on Jun 17, 2009 at 8:37 am

[quote comment="244946"]It's a dream car and very expensive for nobody like me…

At my salary I only can afford Malaysia cars, keeping my dream car…Why, why, why…Find a new job?? I'm not a job hopper…..Why, why, why

Unhappy malaysian[/quote]

blame the malaysian government

• Anyone has more info on the NEW c5 in Malaysia? RM199k is worth while if it comes well stocked. Post up if you know where to view it or the specs available.

• initial R on Jun 17, 2009 at 8:03 pm

[quote comment="244955"][quote comment="244946"]It's a dream car and very expensive for nobody like me…

blame the malaysian government[/quote]

Off topic. Actually blame to your self for been "pentingkan diri sendiri". You know you not enough money, so do some part time or start own buiseness. Always blame Gov, Malaysia have many choise of work that u can do by your own. Even indon can get rich in malaysia that u know before they came in Malaysia as "PATI" naik bot nelayan buruk seludup sini. Now coz of you all want oil price drop & no import duty to imported car, we all will have to pay GST when shopping. How stupid Malaysian. I think road tax for diesel are not expensive since Diesel price are not high, even this 3.0L Diesel are economic env friendly.

• Mazda 3 MPS on Jun 17, 2009 at 10:20 pm

[quote comment="245097"][quote comment="244955"][quote comment="244946"]It's a dream car and very expensive for nobody like me…

Off topic. Actually blame to your self for been "pentingkan diri sendiri". You know you not enough money, so do some part time or start own buiseness. Always blame Gov, Malaysia have many choise of work that u can do by your own. Even indon can get rich in malaysia that u know before they came in Malaysia as "PATI" naik bot nelayan buruk seludup sini. Now coz of you all want oil price drop & no import duty to imported car, we all will have to pay GST when shopping. How stupid Malaysian. I think road tax for diesel are not expensive since Diesel price are not high, even this 3.0L Diesel are economic env friendly.[/quote]

Are you out of your mind? Which Minister's son are you

• intermilan on Jun 17, 2009 at 10:33 pm

i admire the design of the new C5. well worth as replacement for the previous one. it feel like a huge jump has been made between them. and most european-based review basically like it. some dislike the C5 tv advert that shamelessly potraying it as 'german'. marketing gimmick. however, the build and parts quality does improve a lot and that what citroen want to convey.

nevertheless, a RM199k price tag for a petrol 2.0 cat is darn crazy. the normal price for a CBU conti at this level is RM160K (which is already represent a lot of $$$!). As an example, the CBU Peugeot 407 was priced OTR around RM160K.

to me, look like there is another party in the whole business line.. and that party cost circa RM40K… emmm..

• raybrig85 on Jun 17, 2009 at 10:37 pm

[quote comment="245162"][quote comment="245097"][quote comment="244955"][quote comment="244946"]It's a dream car and very expensive for nobody like me…

Off topic. Actually blame to your self for been "pentingkan diri sendiri". You know you not enough money, so do some part time or start own buiseness. Always blame Gov, Malaysia have many choise of work that u can do by your own. Even indon can get rich in malaysia that u know before they came in Malaysia as "PATI" naik bot nelayan buruk seludup sini. Now coz of you all want oil price drop & no import duty to imported car, we all will have to pay GST when shopping. How stupid Malaysian. I think road tax for diesel are not expensive since Diesel price are not high, even this 3.0L Diesel are economic env friendly.[/quote]

Are you out of your mind? Which Minister's son are you[/quote]

i think maybe we can blame gov for this matter..maybe they should revise n restructuring all of that things etc…but at the same time…we know we cant afford a 30k or 50k merc or audi in bolehland..its daydreaming..so…some of u cant say u cant afford it coz of ur salary is not enough to afford it…we have to work hard to hv a better life…thats a circle of life n accept it…if u work hard ull get a better life so plz think positive…

• Before we jump to conclusion, lets first find out what we get for RM199K.

For the individual who says diesel tax is not high enough, you clearly are the "pentingkan diri sendiri". Diesel cars should be priced cheaper and with cheaper tax as it is superior in so many ways. Better for ppl, for Gov, for enviroment.

If Malaysia wants to be a 1st world nation soon, it better start understanding what that actually means. Can't you see we are always bullied into buying what we don't what?

• some people in this country work really hard until old and then suddenly realize that they actually goin nowhere.how?moral of the story,dont be kuli the rest of your life.start your own business

• pelams on Jun 23, 2009 at 1:02 am

if every1 starts their own business,who will b d kuli?? the PATIs??

• nerdjack on Sep 23, 2009 at 10:15 am

Theres no point of being a patriotic guy if u use no brain. Lots of funny things in car biz in Malaysia. Pity on one who still not realize.

Remember aarr, Malaysia is no more 'negara contoh' in ASEAN. So use our brain to make the country and nation to go forward. Not to mumble and keep dreamin that we are always the best. So many stupid taxes just to ensure survivalibility of national car.

I gained small number of RM every month but still a citroneers. If dont have that kind of money, but 2nd la. Theres still nice and comfort model like xsara available for enjoyment. If u have no money, live like who u are la.

For Japanese users, dont compare la your machine with continental one. If you dont ever own and drive conti, better dont get involve in this kind of thread. Look stupid maa. Comparing new C5 with Mark x. Haiyoo, so stupid. Go to toyota thread laa.

• Been driving this c5 diesel 2.0hdi for a month in europe,and how i am impressed.
    Very torquey and a smooth cruiser.we drove thousands of km all over europe with 4 slightly oversized adults,an infant,stroller and baggages.driving uphill to grand alps was a breeze.200kmh on the motorway feels safe.and economical like any diesel should be!