Live photos from Peugeot 408 launch in Beijing

We now have some real life photos of the new Peugeot 408 live from the car’s unveiling in Beijing. After all, professionally shot product images may sometimes be different from how the car looks in real life, so these live photos give us a better idea of how the car looks like and zooms into the small details as well.

The notchback styling of this ‘308 Sedan’ is definitely executive much better than the 206 Sedan or 207 Sedan. Because of the extended 2,710mm wheelbase, the roofline can be made curvier and more natural while still giving the car sufficient rear headroom.

The rear three quarter view reminds me a little of the pretty neat looking Peugeot 406 Coupe, which was referred to by PSA design director Jean-Pierre Ploué not too long ago as one of the last really good looking Peugeots – which will hopefully change with the new design language on the SR1.

Anyway, we also have a live video recording of the reveal for you to enjoy. Please head on to gallery and video after the jump!

[zenphotopress number=999 album=798]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• reubenhot on Jan 27, 2010 at 8:40 am

Nice !!! Eh, You, the girl…. Outta the way, wanna see the beauty(Car) behind you

:-P

• the back tail light……………………

• TheGunner on Jan 27, 2010 at 8:46 am

Paul, any idea what's the rear suspension architecture? I was told it's different from the 308, but the actual design is not confirmed.

• Simpan Buku on Jan 27, 2010 at 8:47 am

Nice FRENCH Flair design

• petrol-head on Jan 27, 2010 at 9:41 am

Nice design & car, but it also carries 2.0 more to like "replacement" of 407 but it stated is NOT, so I guess this is another brand new model. Hopefully our Government plan, in luring European car makers setting up manufacturing hub works well. Then at least we able to drive better quality cars, other than Japanese.

• Dhion Malaysia Datin on Jan 27, 2010 at 10:00 am

Nice, esp the girl who's standing next to the car LOL

• chaku on Jan 27, 2010 at 10:23 am

again with this kinda face?boring already.

• tienzyee on Jan 27, 2010 at 10:23 am

I've been waiting for Peugeot to make their presence more noticeable for long. Now bring on 207cc!

Does anyone knows how this "408" boot are opened?

I recalled most Pug can be unlocked by pressing the button 0 or the lion logo at the boot.

• joekunza on Jan 27, 2010 at 10:28 am

design same like proton persona.

• the real light look like putra. !

• albagmane on Jan 27, 2010 at 3:31 pm

the rear gives me a feeling tat its kinda out-dated though… wonder where i saw this design before…

• Aminbotak on Jan 27, 2010 at 3:50 pm

The front kinna smile also… not that Mazda kinna smile laaa…

• The Royal Academy of on Jan 27, 2010 at 3:57 pm

joekunza said,

January 27, 2010 @ 2:28 am

design same like proton persona.

kyy said,

January 27, 2010 @ 3:30 am

the real light look like putra. !

———————————-

fools who try compare everything with proton. idiots.

• azrai on Jan 27, 2010 at 4:11 pm

Quite nice for a hatcback turned into sedan. It resemble 406 really. Naza, bring it in.

• chaku said,

January 27, 2010 @ 2:23 am

again with this kinda face?boring already.

thats their identity….

• lowprofile on Jan 27, 2010 at 5:16 pm

tienzyee,

the 207CC has been available in malaysia since 2008.

• NiceCar (Member) on Jan 27, 2010 at 5:20 pm

design like persona? what a nice joke!

Overall design not bad, but i dont really like the car tail light and tail design.. it seem like previous model 405..

• i agree with Jeojkunza.. i does look like persona

• any turbocharged version?

• timber8115 on Jan 27, 2010 at 5:58 pm

Kyy,

Totally agree with you!

• Probably a new TAXI series gonna come out soon enough. May be we could see Samy Naceri drive this new baby. Hope Luc Besson and Gerard Pires come out with the new film.

• abit too cute!

• Perghhhh.. on Jan 27, 2010 at 7:22 pm

the girl picture not too clear.. damn… cannot see the beauty of the Beijing girl..damn…

But the side mirror mostly like Personas.. so, any comment from Basher? previously they said Persona side mirror got a lot of blind spot…

Perghhh…

• haha yup it design just likely like persona….haha

• "70 Plymouth Ba on Jan 27, 2010 at 7:45 pm

Nice "CAR"..mmmphhh….

anyway, talking about the car that used in movie like French movie taxi, why Malaysian movie does not used Malaysian car to be sidekick for hero, u know like to be drift, sprint, street race or whatever moves la.. i don't want to mention the particular movies..

come on Malaysian movie directors, do not under estimate Malaysian cars and our local tuner. I already saw with my true eyes that PROTON SATRIA doing drift at Dataran Merdeka long time a go..so, my suggestion, reconsider again about Malaysian car capability!

• Seriously i think its broing..

• kimi_ on Jan 27, 2010 at 8:36 pm

Why copy persona???

• hmmm.. no interior look ?

• Arashikage on Jan 27, 2010 at 9:10 pm

For a car with an "attached" boot, it's beautiful from the sides. Not like old Honda City or Suzuki SX4 sedan that looks like a plastic surgery gone wrong.

• aksMs on Jan 27, 2010 at 9:48 pm

Hmmm….I feel that the overall look of this new Pug is backward. Except for the front view. If put it side by side with the current facelifted 407, I'd still choose the 407 as a better looker. The rear very much look like the aging 406 Coupe. My family just bought a 407 just a month ago and somehow I don't feel like it's gonna be out dated by the new 408. Was it just me? Anyone else?

• nighttrain on Jan 27, 2010 at 10:06 pm

308 with a butt and call it 408? Whenever you attach a butt to a hatch, it's always ugley. Except for persona. I suppose the Malaysian version of 408 will be a standard executive sedan instead of this one?

• Mazda 3 MPS on Jan 28, 2010 at 12:39 am

this car similar to persona????????…very funny guys

• La Vecchia Signora on Jan 28, 2010 at 1:06 am

Cmon,comparing Peugt with P1?

Cmon la brader….mai mai ke?as if lu compare kasot Clarks n Bata lah Bai!!

• The Who.. on Jan 28, 2010 at 1:07 am

I thought it was a vios b4 i read the title..

• La Vecchia Signora on Jan 28, 2010 at 1:08 am

The Royal Academy of Proton Bahsers – U sir, I couldnt disagree

• Jimmy Dean on Jan 28, 2010 at 1:29 am

I think 407 looks much better as it is based on D-class platform while this 408 is derived from C-class platform. I don't think 408 is a good name coz 407 is much larger and more luxurious.

• SY0H (Member) on Jan 28, 2010 at 2:00 am

Arghhh, can't see the girls clearly!

• Perghhhh.. on Jan 28, 2010 at 2:27 am

SY0H said,

January 27, 2010 @ 6:00 pm

Arghhh, can’t see the girls clearly!

————-

Pstttt.. Paul, any close up picture of the girl.. hehe..

the rim sport sooo boring…

• lowprofile on Jan 28, 2010 at 3:16 am

the 408 does NOT replace the 407. the 407 replacement is the 508. the 408 is a new model that is more spacious than the 308 and is larger than its direct competitors in the c-segment. it will be sold alongside the 308 where both models are available.

• looks new but looks ugly…. poor choice by them.

• kanasai on Jan 28, 2010 at 8:03 am

looks like persona??? this is one of the funniest joke i ever heard.

go check you eyes la, hahahahah XD

• kanasai on Jan 28, 2010 at 8:11 am

why don't you say BMW also copy P1 design, hahahahahahahahah!!!!!!

• Mazda 3 MPS on Jan 28, 2010 at 8:53 am

lol….in similar fashion to the proton fanboys………..armani suit also copy the fabric use on proton seats

• FFIVE.GIVE ME FIVE~G on Jan 28, 2010 at 10:20 am

for those who comparing PUG with proton..

go get a life please!!!!

• The Royal Academy of on Jan 28, 2010 at 5:51 pm

the models also copy their dress from proton, the color of the dress like the one on persona XD

• pulltea on Jan 28, 2010 at 5:56 pm

How come still 4 gear AT ? It's already 2010, at least give 5 gear AT lah.

• kanasai on Jan 28, 2010 at 9:43 pm

not to forget that they also copy the tyres from proton. total 4 tyres attached to this car. OMG!!!

• mazdAstina on Jan 29, 2010 at 3:22 am

my opinon…. this car will flop. come on… even the 308 looks better both front n back. if the 408 is a PUG, it's a bull dog!

• BKS-KCH on Jan 29, 2010 at 7:00 am

The back light remind me of Proton Putra….. I hope I 'm wrong, but twice looks it seemed very close.

• intermilan on Jan 30, 2010 at 3:25 am

perhaps people only with local m'sia knowledge and exposure will said it look like persona or putra. *sigh*

if they have wider exposure, they might said the sweeping backlight look like the executive 607. alas, its kinda a 'safe' design.

but i guess the target market (i.e. china), largely prefer such design language. it is not a Peugeot with the most aggressive or sporty design language, that for sure.

• chunn… the gals la ;-)

• nice gals…

• nice… gals.

• Harry on Apr 04, 2011 at 11:44 pm

Wah never knew this car look so Handsome!