Next generation 2011 Ford Ranger unveiled in Sydney!

The next generation 2011 Ford Ranger has been unveiled to the world at the 2010 Australian International Motor Show in Sydney! We have shots of the double cab XL model at the moment, and it looks like the Ranger is back to its macho square looks with a big three bar chrome grille at the front, and we do see a little hint of the F150 at the front end, which is no surprise considering the new Ranger’s design team was led by Craig Metros, who was also the lead designer on the F150 team.

Why Australia? Apparently there is the birthplace of this new model – the project was led by Australia’s Ford Product Development Center. Australia’s terrain was also used in the truck’s development testing, along with the other countries where the truck will be sold of course. However, the first factory to build the new “T6” Ranger will be none other than the Thailand plant up north beginning summer 2011, followed by South Africa and South America.

The new Ranger is a larger truck than the one it replaces, and it’s the longest in its class. Its wheelbase is 8.6 inches longer (for the Double Cab), and dimensions-wise it’s 1.7 inches wider, 2.5 inches taller, and 7.5 inches longer. Luckily Ford didn’t attempt to apply any futuristic “Kinetic Design” kind of surface patterns on the Ranger – although Kinetic Design looks good on the Ford Kuga SUV I don’t think it would work so well on a truck body.

On the interior, the design team took inspiration from items such as power tools from Bosch and DeWalt for the interior styling elements, and the instrument cluster is supposed to be inspired by Casio G-Shock watches. The parking brake is now operated by a regular handbrake lever. There’s plenty of storage space – Ford claims a total of 20 different interior storage areas, and the glovebox is said to be big enough to fit a laptop computer, though they didn’t say how big of a laptop.

There are 3 engine options, with two of them being diesel and one of them being a petrol. The petrol version will probably never be seen in this region – it’s powered by a 2.5 litre Duratec petrol that produces 166 PS and 226Nm of torque, mated to a 5-speed manual. The smaller diesel has been downsized from the current Ranger’s 2.5 litre size – the new T6 Ranger with the smaller diesel engine is equipped with a 2.2 litre turbodiesel 4-cylinder engine making 150 PS and 375Nm of torque.

The larger turbodiesel engine option is a 5-cylinder 3.2 litre engine making 200 PS and 470Nm of torque – that should be very fun! The diesels can be fitted with either a 6-speed manual or a 6-speed automatic.

Look after the jump for a small photo gallery of the new T6 Ranger.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=1624]
[zenphotopress number=999 album=1616]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• tiorrrr on Oct 14, 2010 at 9:39 pm

walaweii,, cun ler………………

• rapidshifter on Oct 17, 2010 at 7:29 am

really looks tough…. cannot wait to see the real thing!!

• mini cooper freak on Oct 14, 2010 at 9:40 pm

Looks a lot better than the boxy current model, looks like Ford is doing very well… Just that the all Ford car’s dashboard are dull.

• The Loner on Oct 14, 2010 at 9:48 pm

Whoa, Ford Ranger finally ditches the underpower 3.0L Duratorq engine with this new 3.2L. Just the torque already beaten Nissan’s mother trucker.

• Chris on Oct 15, 2010 at 12:37 am

Hmm what I see is, it probably killed the 3liter hilux with the 2.2liter! Why do you need 3 liter when you can have the same torque with a 2.2liter? Someone educate me please if I got something wrong…

• Jonnie on Oct 17, 2010 at 2:11 pm

Reliability? especially in the jungle.. hilux play safe not to push too much..

• Gajen on Oct 14, 2010 at 9:58 pm

finally a handsome looking ranger with superb interior…

• razee hussin on Oct 14, 2010 at 10:04 pm

i just hope ford can maintain its low price pick up truck in malaysia as the rest are considerably higher.. but it looks macho as its bigger especially at the passenger seat back there..i luv ranger for its durability interior design and price but for sheer size and comfort its a turn back for me..hope this one is better

• shawal on Oct 14, 2010 at 10:14 pm

A for Awesome!

• subhero on Oct 14, 2010 at 10:24 pm

hye new ford ranger, are u will come to malaysia?

• tiorrrr on Oct 14, 2010 at 10:26 pm

paul,, have engine spec detail??

• ko malu saje... on Oct 14, 2010 at 10:31 pm

manlier than ever!

• ah yat on Oct 14, 2010 at 10:31 pm

ford ranger now resemble f150, it looks like what a truck should be… go ranger… no wander sd drop the price so much to finish old stock…i hope to get the new ranger boss… hehe

• Dangdut Fan on Oct 15, 2010 at 4:28 pm

This is what Ford trucks in Malaysia should look like. We’ve been getting plain boring designs from Ford for so long.Why cant Malaysian Ford trucks look this good? The Design factor is one major reason why the top trucks by sales volumes in Malaysia are Hilux and Triton. Arguably, these 2 brands are miles ahead when compared to the other bottom feeders.

• type-x on Oct 14, 2010 at 10:41 pm

nice..lets kill the hilux!

• M-mealin on Oct 14, 2010 at 11:31 pm

another contender 4 navara

• campro on Oct 15, 2010 at 12:20 am

far pretty than the 2011 Mazda BT-50 pick up…this Ford look great in interior & exterior design…MAZDA pick up after look really want to vomit especially the rear…

• mirror mirror on Oct 15, 2010 at 1:07 am

oh yes.

• Front looks, not much different from the current – tough looking.

The sed view, reminds me of Hilux.

2.2 Diesel? Good, but does it come with Automatic Transmission?

• 2.2liter with a 374nm? amazing.

• rossi46 on Oct 15, 2010 at 11:26 am

more powerful than toyota hilux new 3.0 liter diesel….and its just a 2.2 liter…those Japs are way behind in oil burner tech

• JonLing on Oct 15, 2010 at 8:58 am

Looking waaaaaaaayyyyyyyy better than the trying-too-hard-to-be-trendy-but-looking-more-like-nonsensely-cartoonish current model. way to go ford! Finally, a pickup truck that deserves the “Built Ford Tough” nameplate again!

Not the same to say about BT-50 though……..sigh~

• zanggief on Oct 15, 2010 at 12:10 pm

it is more tougher than the current model, the engine sounds reasonable. This model consider navara challenger in terms of engine output with smaller diesel engine. It is carrying the look of F150+Explorer, guess this is d latest ford family look.
    Should this be the replacement of existing model? Strong player to the japanese rivals in bolehland…also curious on the VW amarok

• Dugati on Oct 15, 2010 at 1:42 pm

for sure after this ranger out..
    ford everest and escape will have similar face like this ranger.

• Damn macho truck. This bad boy will look good in black.

• mirror mirror on Oct 15, 2010 at 2:04 pm

This is seriously tempting, hope to see it soon in Malaysia.

• jinbesar on Oct 15, 2010 at 2:08 pm

damn it… so many awesome choices… now its even harder to pick one…

damn

• what about the back interior, is it the space have been revised comparable to hilux and triton?

• off road user on Oct 15, 2010 at 10:11 pm

it’s look great…really!

• Paul Tan on Oct 16, 2010 at 12:58 am

Engine output: http://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=10150296304085195&set=a.10150295279815195.536765.14779190194&ref=fbx_album

• anakSarawak on Oct 16, 2010 at 5:22 am

WWWAAAAAA……..!!!!!!!!! When coming to Malaysia aaahhh????? Will get one surely…(being a former Ford Hurricane owner….)Hopefully within our pocket’s power too…..

• Paul,

Is this model gonna be produced in Thailand for asian market?? Hope to get the Thai CBU for this new model with various choices of engines n trims spec..

Aaa.. now got so many choices of pick-ups.. need to wait n test drive this model 1st la.. : )

• stanley on Oct 16, 2010 at 10:52 am

i will get one if can get in malaysia

• CocoBear on Oct 17, 2010 at 9:14 pm

Compare to 2011 Mazda Fighter, this is for the real MAN.

• Danial Farouk on Oct 20, 2010 at 10:36 pm

Love this…awesome!

• west meets east on Nov 20, 2010 at 7:13 pm

ford australia also sell falcon cars. not trusted? check ford falcons in australia. new ranger will based on falcon sedan.

• Bosou on Jan 11, 2011 at 11:00 am

If this thing come to Malaysia, i will definitely trade my 2nd generation Ranger with this 2011 ranger…seriously…3.2 liter,200 ps, 470 nm…whoaaa…

• Ranger on Jan 17, 2011 at 3:43 pm

When is this T6 coming to M’sia soil ? Been looking and considering a pick-up truck for some time now.

• Lanun on Jan 25, 2011 at 6:26 pm

Yehaaa…finally, this model rock !! I get one for sure, bring in to malaysia fast ford, i decided this model instead of other trucks in malaysia….hoolllaaaaaa….

• finally ford do something amazing….T6 just like T90 tank…for me…moden, power,speed,durability…..sure when it come to malaysia i will buy it…i just plan to buy xlt but when i look T6….it just make me crazy about this…

• Woooo i like it soooo much… can wait to have one…

Come On Ford Malaysia…Bring It On..

• the new Ranger truly look different than the models before it. like to see it roaming here soon……

• Sadfully, the 2.2L don’t have reverse sensor and camera. It is dangerous if we reverse. Hope Asia built one have it!