SPOTTED: New Nissan March with manual transmission, but it doesn’t belong to Tan Chong!

How apt for this to have happened in the month of March – this Nissan March in the hero orange colour was spotted by reader Kai Lit in Kota Damansara this afternoon.

A peek into the interior reveals that this particular car has a 5-speed manual transmission, which if Tan Chong decides to bring into Malaysia will be the most affordable offering. The question is, how affordable will affordable be? In Thailand, the price range is from 375,000 baht (RM38k) to 537,000 baht (RM54k).

As the March is built in Thailand, it will probably already be acclimatized to this region’s weather. We also think the March will more likely be a CBU import from Thailand instead of assembled in Tan Chong’s plants.

This PURE DRIVE badge on the rear made its debut on this model, which for Nissan signifies cars that focus on eco-friendliness and efficiency. The March is also classified as a Thai Eco Car, which means it achieves at least 20 km/l and emit less than 120g/km of CO2. Engine capacity must not exceed 1.3 litres if petrol-powered and 1.4 litres for diesels.

If a car is a Thai Eco Car, the manufacturer is rewarded by the Thai government with a 50% cut in excise duty, no income tax for eight years and no import duty for factory machinery imports.

UPDATE: Sharp-eyed reader Kent pointed out that the number plate on this car has been previously spotted on a Japanese Domestic Market Toyota Passo Sette. Follow the link to see which car we’re talking about – we know that’s a Passo Sette and not an Alza because it’s a JDM car with black tinted rear windows. In addition, the CKD Nissan Teana which had been undergoing testing prior to launch featured trade plates that began with the letter W (Wilayah), instead of B (Selangor).

Just like how some of us suspected that that Toyota Passo Sette was not being tested by Perodua but instead could be a benchmark exercise by Proton, we suspect this Nissan March might just be owned by Proton. This Nissan March and the JDM Toyota Passo Sette’s number plate is B2368A, and we’ve seen B2367A in the past on a Proton Waja CPS being tested.

This makes sense – after all, Proton is officially in talks with Nissan on a technical collaboration, as revealed by a signed MoU recently. There was word in the past that Proton was interested in using Nissan’s V platform, which so happens to underpin this Nissan March, to engineer the Proton EMAS.

Look after the jump for the rest of the spyshots as well as image galleries of the Nissan March, or Micra as it is called in some markets.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=2075]

[zenphotopress number=999 album=901]

[zenphotopress number=999 album=903]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• konoha on Mar 20, 2011 at 5:56 pm

Finally…. 1st!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• K3VET on Mar 20, 2011 at 9:23 pm

so counting on 1st 2nd 3rd, here is talking about car, not Maths

• Goniothalamus on Mar 21, 2011 at 1:50 pm

hey, this is not facebook!!

• Hameed Koyakuti on Mar 22, 2011 at 12:57 pm

I wag your back side then u know 1st or what…..hehehe……

This is just a normal benchmarking exercise.

Last time P1 also import EVO 6 for Waja and Eterna for Perdana benchmarking……

But the most important thing is, GOMEN will abolish the AP in 2012……then it will resulting in the doom of P1.

Yuhuuuuu, P1 will bungkus next year !!!!!

Did anybody check their 2008~2010 sales volume ???? Yeahhhh, going for close shop….

• ugly…

• Unforgiven on Mar 21, 2011 at 12:23 pm

If they ever re-badged it, then it’s gonna be 10 times uglier…

• deftones on Mar 20, 2011 at 6:05 pm

nice…another alternative for myvi buyers..
    i just hate to look myvi flooding on the road..
    hope they price this car competetively..55-60k will be a bargain respecting to the brand name..

• peYno on Mar 20, 2011 at 6:09 pm

ah soo and college girls have an option now instead of Myvi..

• Julian Lee on Mar 20, 2011 at 6:11 pm

Look like BMW

• freddie on Mar 20, 2011 at 6:34 pm

Julian Lee, the most hated person in PaulTan has spoken. Does he even know what BMW looked like?

• Julian Lee's Cousin on Mar 20, 2011 at 8:28 pm

he thinks bmw is god… so if he says this car looks like a bmw, then this is a good car… if this car looks like a mercedes, it wont be good…

• looks Ferrari better~ 0.0”

• i think u should go hospital to check ur eyes!

• thomas on Mar 20, 2011 at 10:11 pm

ya, both come with 4 wheel…………….

• hadi75 on Mar 20, 2011 at 10:11 pm

there’s something wrong with u man……

• MTM Biturbo on Apr 27, 2012 at 2:32 pm

man some people in paultan are just lifeless….having a grudge over someone that insulted them years ago. get a life.

• seancorr on Mar 20, 2011 at 6:12 pm

If they price it in the same category as the Hyundai i10 it will definitely kill haha and might even eat Viva’s for lunch too but seeing it might be a 1.2l engine…I guess the price will be just above the i10 price…

• gunigugu on Mar 20, 2011 at 6:16 pm

looks nice..a viable option other than the default myvi in this class and price range..if it is priced competitively and well kitted it will sell like hot cakes! it has been a good year so far for the local auto industry with the introduction of some new and interesting models that has been well priced..creates more options for us buyers and competition among the importers and dealers..hopefully it continues for the rest of the year and the years to come!!

• likehondanotsomuch on Mar 20, 2011 at 6:23 pm

Respextable fuel consumption however i stick with my livina for the time being…..

• blablabla on Mar 20, 2011 at 6:27 pm

This honestly looks better than the Honda Brio… But Still… The back feels… Unbalanced… Japanese designs are deteriorating…

• Fridz on Mar 20, 2011 at 6:31 pm

Nissan Pure Drive? Is it gonna use 1.2 DIG-S supercharger engine?

Like the green one.

• Paul Tan on Mar 20, 2011 at 6:39 pm

that’s probably going to be reserved for European market

• peYno on Mar 20, 2011 at 8:06 pm

and this engine will be used for proton EMAS as well

• akinablue on Mar 24, 2011 at 9:23 pm

i just came back from a visit to proton.and i asked them on this nissan car.p1 rnd engineer said that car is under benchmarking exercise. same goes to passo we saw sometime ago.

• Pepsiman on Mar 20, 2011 at 6:33 pm

Is there Impul 112S version for this march?

• oo

Honda Brio for Him. Nissan March for Her.
    Myvi is for? SheMale.

• nebula87 on Mar 20, 2011 at 6:45 pm

No surprise, this new model would be price between RM70k-90k in Malaysia…
    55-60k? in our dream la…

• ibex7 on Mar 20, 2011 at 8:23 pm

True! the Gov is going to suck our blood by excise duty n tan chong would like to hv big fat profit margin. f*ck both of them!

• alpha999 on Mar 20, 2011 at 6:48 pm

once myvi 1.5 officially out, it will be definately hard for this model to compete

• bourne on Mar 20, 2011 at 8:06 pm

I rather buy pure Nissan rather than Toyota in disguise

• peYno on Mar 20, 2011 at 8:10 pm

ppl looking for small car for the reason ofeasy ride and FUEL ECONOMY…

if 1.5l range .. ppl will go for sedan and bigger car

• what is myvi eco-ness then ?

• this car is actually quite big and spacious … very pratical.

• _xXx_ on Mar 20, 2011 at 7:15 pm

no thanks….I am waiting for the new Picanto/Morning

• bystander on Mar 20, 2011 at 7:20 pm

can replace i10 for most frugal mini car? seems perodua is so confident in their brand n product now, government should let nissan price it freely to compete head to head without pricing handicap! oh no.. .there’s proton n our broke G tt need the tax to survive! so i guess it won’t be priced below 60K after all…..

• pg qayyum on Mar 20, 2011 at 7:27 pm

better than brio

• harry on Mar 20, 2011 at 7:30 pm

this is the car worth waiting for unlike brio ~ Nissan body mass and build is very solid despite the not so outstanding looks.

• peYno on Mar 20, 2011 at 8:08 pm

perodua can’t enjoy protected small car segment anymore..

all this while perodua only compete with KOREAN small car… now, the more japanese base small car come in… perodua couldn’t enjoy the business like before

• peYno on Mar 20, 2011 at 8:11 pm

believe… to protect small compact car segment perodua like myvi and viva.. gov. will tax these car BRIO honda and micra Nissan like hell.. as what thety did to HONDA FREED.. just becoz to protect ALZA market

• Since this is a eco car, will the government consider tax break on this model? They should open up their mind on eco cars, not just limit it to hybrids, but also consider compact cars like these (Brio, March, i10) to be sold as ‘special vehicles’. After all, compact cars like this and the new turbodiesel cars are much more eco friendly than hybrids, if u factor into account the overall package and process of making these cars. Hybrids consume more carbon (and use more rare minerals) to produce than normal cars, and the battery disposal is an issue as well. But i’m not sure our politicians and policy makers are aware of this. haha.
      Besides that, now proton and perodua are doing well, so lets open up the market.

• yea.. Madam Rosmah… show ur support towards green technology!!

go get rid of all tax on fuel efficient car that drive above 1L/20km.
        come on. Dun just criticize Japan on the tsunami case.

• scoobylution on Mar 20, 2011 at 9:35 pm

yeah. so sad to see a small car like march and jazz are price as a premium car in Malaysia

• peYno on Mar 21, 2011 at 6:11 am

if japanese compact car jazz, march price like Myvi… so myvi sales will drop.. and can’t be JUARA KAMPUNG anymore
        gov has to protect our 2nd national car

• bunnybiru on Mar 22, 2011 at 2:05 pm

u guys are missing the whoel point.
      P1 is bringing in this model to be use as R&D for their EMAS vehicle.
      Not to sell it on the road..tht would be tan Chong’s job..wouldn’t it?

Btw, i saw Nissan Leaf in Japan and it was sold around 4million yen (around RM160k?). can’t imagine how much will it cost if it enters our local market.

somebody plz bring it electric car fasttt :P

• learner on Mar 20, 2011 at 8:12 pm

the new march is not that bad looking actually, i have personally saw several times last year on malaysia road, same color – orange, and with thais plat number. overall, i like the shape and it is slightly bigger than the previous march.

• freeze on Mar 20, 2011 at 8:16 pm

If I was a homosexual, I would definitely get this car.

• I’m after this model compared to Myvi PhaseLiftS (Phase out Lift the Sale) if the price is slightly above Myvi (priced really above Myvi though 20% premium from Thai’s version will see the price for the cheapest model is RM46k. For me is ridiculous to protect P2 since the party who benefit is Toyota Group while giving out their out of date engine and tranny.

If Naza dare enough diesel Picanto or new Rio will make boring Myvi not boring anymore. Can imagine Malaysians without choice settle for milo tinned Viva or slightly better Myvi at the expense of better small cars.

• alistair lim li wei on Mar 20, 2011 at 8:35 pm

any idea when it’s going to be launched?

• Paul, but the trade plate appears on a Perodua before
    http://paultan.org/2009/05/22/perodua-mpv-or-toyota-passo-sette-spotted-again/
    So, wonder if the car was brought in by Nissan or Perodua/Daihatsu

• urr… Paul… is the number plate for rent? instead of owned by a company?

• alldisc on Mar 21, 2011 at 12:50 pm

the plate is no bought, nor rent.

need to apply jpj first, with supporting documents saying why. example, if one mamak roti canai apply, definitely wont approve.

and then we need to insure anything that bears the trade plate while in use.

• Paul Tan on Mar 20, 2011 at 10:29 pm

nicely spotted! i have updated the story.

• the truth behind scene.. damn!

suddenly feel so poton steam about the Nissan March.

so.. When Emas coming out?

• pomen_gtr on Mar 22, 2011 at 1:06 pm

maybe emas using this engine and chasis floor/design???? (emas currently exist from outer skin design rite???)

• Jimmy on Mar 20, 2011 at 9:00 pm

Nobody in this world should expect telescopic in this kind of car (or Yaris, Brio, i10 etc) BUT, not to have TELESCOPIC STEERING in a RM170 000 car is brutally a sin. Don’t you think so Nissan?

• william wong on Mar 20, 2011 at 9:09 pm

nice !!!!!!!!!!! can i have one hahaha!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• ezalian on Mar 20, 2011 at 9:22 pm

What ever it is, this is an ugly car. I like the old model more. It have the iconic Mini design and cues. Saw it running on Brunei roads, Im not impressed with it.

• Brio vs March which can win?

• sproc45 on Mar 20, 2011 at 9:50 pm

surely G won’t let it sell below or at myvi price … if not p2 can bungkus …

• if people can buy new japanese brand car like nissan and toyota under 60k, people will buy these over p1 or p2, good choice for second car

• Nahar ARS on Mar 20, 2011 at 10:21 pm

Maybe Proton is using this car for testing?

• cyclopz on Mar 20, 2011 at 11:05 pm

good…another nominee for “ugliest car in malaysia”…
    1) savvy
    2) honda brio
    3) chana era
    4) juara
    5) …
    any other nominee…??

• Viva for me ugly too, just because the price is ‘affordable’ for the entry level one doesn’t make ugly car cool.

• nolan on Mar 21, 2011 at 12:06 am

maybe no 5 is your car la…..

• ayamxxx on Mar 20, 2011 at 11:26 pm

I think Proton become very envy to Perodua, cz Myvi still sell like Hot cake, even though they have made saga.

so last choice, Copy Paste This Nissan, and make a new rival for Myvi!

• peYno on Mar 21, 2011 at 6:01 am

ayammxx

u should think this way

proton has saga with lousy campro engine , bad reputation.. but it still can sell well and close sales competition with myvi

just imagine if proton using JAPAN ENGINE like nissan into EMAS…

prrrtfhhh

• BeemerFreak on Mar 21, 2011 at 9:19 am

Hope that Nissan also allows its use of the XTronic CVT….. so that proton’s crap 4 speeder is gone for good.

• scgtimk1 on Mar 21, 2011 at 12:01 pm

It should called be Mitsubishi sourced Proton 4 speeder.

• peYno on Mar 21, 2011 at 6:42 pm

don’t worry… proton will use superb CVT tech as well..
          perodua salesman have to find another point to bash proton beside CAMPRO engine to ensure ah soo will keep buying their myvi and viva

prrrrtfhhhhh

• Paul,

Between a Proton Proton’s body (Emas in this case) and Proton in Micra body which you (and other readers) prefer? Almost confirm that the Nissan will be offered here, this year.

• drMpower on Mar 21, 2011 at 12:01 am

so this march sits on the V platform, i guess?
    could be the replacement for the savvy is in the pipeline
    because it has been proton’s way of doing things
    since pak syed arrived
    that they gonna follow what most japanese makers are doing
    i.e 7-8 model cycle with a face lift model in between to refresh things up

the plot thickens tho and for layman like me
    this means exciting and interesting times
    because proton is doing something right

continue with the pleasant surprise, proton (if the news about u owning the march is true)

• rifle on Mar 21, 2011 at 3:13 pm

and i heard that p1 is developing a new savvy since last year..
      maybe this march is the new savvy’s platform

• nolan on Mar 21, 2011 at 12:10 am

truly car for ladies…..sexy shopping promoter would love driving this car….

• seancorr on Mar 21, 2011 at 12:15 am

Oh shucks so this March will not be brought in after all lol. Would be nice to see another small car brand running about in KL

• GreenEco on Mar 21, 2011 at 12:24 am

Waiting time in Thailand is 4-5 months. Wonder how long is Malaysia. It recieved 4 rewads from Japan.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PWHXZoKyg40&NR=1

• peYno on Mar 21, 2011 at 5:55 am

this car belongs to proton as they are testing nissan engine to be used in EMAS

perodua salesman is sweating now

now they can;t cheat ppl anymore
    ” our car engine so good.. from japan oooo.. unlike proton.. local campro only”

prrrrtfhhhh

• pulltea on Mar 21, 2011 at 11:53 am

Wah, hopefully Proton will rebadge and have Lotus tune. Then can price lower than new Myvi. I will buy one immediately!

• azrai on Mar 21, 2011 at 7:39 am

The upcoming Proton EMAS. I wonder what will Perodua saleman will do after this because previously they heavily selling pint is Perodua is Toyota japan maa…

• taboogen on Mar 21, 2011 at 7:54 am

hermmm have not seen this car yet in factory.. I’ve seen insight… prius but not this car.. wait I’ll find out

• theking on Mar 21, 2011 at 8:07 am

This is Proton EMAS in the making la…….
    Let the overpriced VIVA and MYVI RIP soon.

• a replacement for Protan Savvy?..

• kuching on Mar 21, 2011 at 9:46 am

another car on the cramped road.

• kuching on Mar 21, 2011 at 9:48 am

another boring car will be on the road. Designer no creativity. Useless

• akinablue on Mar 22, 2011 at 12:18 pm

so, go and change the situation.apply job there and design good looking car if u r creative enough

• kuching on Mar 23, 2011 at 9:07 am

no need for me to change job. they have their overpaid designer and engineer and they should know how to design nice car. Simple design for what? Rubbish….

• kuching on Mar 23, 2011 at 9:12 am

no need for me to change my job just to design a nice car as i have a money to buy few nice car. They have their own overpaid designer and engineer and they should know how to design a nice one. Rubbish to them.

• Seriously on Mar 21, 2011 at 10:14 am

woah, I think i just fell asleep for ahwile… If I had to choose between this and the brio, I’d choose the Brio (although it has a weird looking back) but It’s alot better than you being seen in one of these granny-looking carts.

• cheap look~

• Faisal on Mar 21, 2011 at 10:41 am

looks nice.. more options for us.. good!

• asheikh on Mar 21, 2011 at 10:43 am

savvy replacement ? hahaha………….

• learner on Mar 21, 2011 at 11:38 am

looking from the update by paultan, this could be the sign of new proton A segment car, maybe the engine will be in EMAS.

• carsut on Mar 21, 2011 at 12:10 pm

waw, manual.. like it very much!!

• now it make sense, these cars were tested in proton factory circuit with proton persona r and another models that resemble mitsubishi i,but in heavy disguise

• rifle on Mar 21, 2011 at 3:44 pm

so the equation is mitsu i + nissan march = proton emas ??
      persona r is tuah rite..

• azlan on Mar 21, 2011 at 6:31 pm

I’ve seen too much of this car in Phuket, sick edi

• peYno on Mar 21, 2011 at 6:56 pm

proton.. bring this engine to your EMAS and sell it between saga and persona price range

RM45k~RM55k

believe me, with superb 1.2l fuel saving and powerful (98hp)nissan engine… lotus handling and EMAS design.. this car will sell like hot cakes and RIP overpriced viva and myvi

prrrtfhhh

• asheikh on Mar 22, 2011 at 12:22 am

where is proton homegrown engine ? or another rebadge model ? p1 is only like p2 now…

• transformer on Mar 21, 2011 at 10:45 pm

still prefer Mazda 2 cute looks…. so sweet…. especially in green

• cyclopz on Mar 21, 2011 at 10:58 pm

in 2002, i’ve seen the clay model of savvy…it looked very promising…stylish with elegant lines….when myvi came out, i waited for savvy..having faith from my initial impression….
    but then, u all know wat happened…savvy came out & my dreams just shattered….its a damn ugly car…with nose @ the back? erkk….
    now, the emas looks very promising….pls dont shatter my dream again proton..plzzz~

• Saw this car in Penang while driving at Jalan Sultan Azlan Shah towards intersection of Jalan Masjid Negeri roundabout.

I talk to my wife, oh, its the NIssan March. We saw a lot of old Nissan March in Taiwan. I think nothing of it until I read this in Paul Tan. I guess it’ll come out very soon.

• oh by the way, its the same color NIssan March that I saw in Penang.

• ilyasadam on Mar 22, 2011 at 12:34 am

I love how the story develops over time by incorporating the readers view. this site is getting hot ! I must say well done Paul Tan !

• LOL Hard on Mar 22, 2011 at 9:58 am

when establish using Mitsubishi platform.. then somehow using Citroen to built Tiara… later use Renault for Savvy engine..after talks with VW failed then switch back to Mitsubishi… and soon will using Renault/Nissan platform as another collaboration.. soon will cooperate with Tata!

wow, finally Proton is automotive industry player now (major is talks and collaboration?)

somehow some fanboys happy that their beloved Proton soon will follow Perodua footstep

• sometimes, it’s hard to explain why this thing happen..

just like lotus.. they try to believe in their heritage.. lighter car means faster at corner @ straight line.. doesn’t need big engine for that reason.. but, it’s selling well? nope.. that why, Proton have to absorb all the cost.. i think re-branding lotus is a good idea.. new car which looks sexy &power enough to beat those big guys like ferrari, lambo etc.. their formula of survival is to be at par with those manufacturers..

as for proton, i do think they prefer to develop their own car rather than making cars with other.. but, in terms of RND cost, development time etc, it’s better for them to focus on their core model like Persona-R and Emas.. Persona-R is fully develop by themselves while Emas, they still need to do lots of work even already using nissan V platform as a donor platform. they have to design all the upper body exterior and interior, front and rear lamps, design wiring harness, do simulation and actual crash test, etc.. why? because this is not the same car as nissan march anymore. they may share the same platform, but the rest is different..

if you refer to inspira, proton doesn’t invest too much in that car dev, they just rebadge and re-tuned the suspension.. but why the cost is still high? Because they have to develops their vendors to achieve Mitsubishi standards.. even ex-mitsu QA/QC are there to control the inspira quality and not just quantity..

so, in this era, OEM doesn’t have to dev their own car all the time, sometimes they do, sometimes they share platform and sometime, they re-badge cars as wells.. why? To fully utilize every dollar that they have.. that their formula for survival.. =)

• Unforgiven on Mar 22, 2011 at 10:26 am

Do you want to buy this car with the original Nissan badge and for the price range from 375,000 baht (RM38k) to 537,000 baht (RM54k)?

Or must we use some other badge there and pay for a higher price? Meaning more expensive than RM38k?

It’s 2011 and we are still living in such auto policy? Weird…

• farghmee on Mar 22, 2011 at 1:25 pm

is the word “rebadge” ever appeared as the main discussion here?

go & read the paultan’s post again..plz.

sheesshh

• Unforgiven on Mar 23, 2011 at 11:26 am

Worried because the number plate is B2368A.

Not forgetting Inspira is more expensive than original Lancer in Langkawi.

If you think rebadge is cheaper, think deeper and think where the money gone…

• faisal on Mar 22, 2011 at 1:47 pm

1st, if nissan badge the price would not b 38k to 54k coz ada tax maaa..
    2nd, if rebadge to proton, price becomes cheaper not the other way around lah..

• if Cheaper & it is a P1 march, i will consider it over a Myvi…

• peYno on Mar 22, 2011 at 8:19 pm

more and more JAPANESE BASE SMALL COMPACT CAR come in to malaysia
    perodua can’t enjoy their protected small market anymore…

proton already faced it when so many japanese sedan car like toyota vios and city compete with persona and inspira

now time to perodua compete with REAL Japanese compact car

come on gov.. price these japs small car as myvi or viva….

• P1, why don’t u joint with Nissan and come out with P1 Sunny & March, I m sure these model will sell well if price reasonable…. Sunny & March are budget cars for family….