Proton Waja CPS spotted!

Waja_CPS_Spyshot_1.jpg

I think we have spyshots of all of Proton’s upcoming models now. Reader Kevin Lee has sent in these shots of what most likely is a Waja CPS. Notice the badging on the top left of the boot lid is taped up, and there is a double tailpipe exhaust that gives away it’s sportier intentions. Previously twin tailpipes were only available on the Proton Waja 1.8 with the drive-by-wire Renault engine. One more frontal shot after the jump.

Waja_CPS_Spyshot_2.jpg

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• sutheshkumar87 (Member) on Jun 22, 2007 at 7:47 pm

cool! waja always look good in twin pipes, as per the 1.8 versions which is all ceased out.

and is the cars using xenon headlamps? it looks white frm here.

• khimfoh (Member) on Jun 22, 2007 at 7:56 pm

It would look even cooler if it had tailpipes from either end.

• kanazai2001 (Member) on Jun 22, 2007 at 8:01 pm

WAH~JUNK!!!

• normaluser (Member) on Jun 22, 2007 at 8:10 pm

aaah not the thermometer rear lights again!

• torishimeyakuin (Member) on Jun 22, 2007 at 8:11 pm

mr. proton said,
    June 22, 2007 @ 4:16 pm

argh.. to those bashers… jus shut ur f… mouth if u dont hav intention to buy it.. previously when they stick to old design then u all said “apa ni design lame” i don get it la with u all bashers.. always talk bullshit like u all hav the capabilities to design a car.. why not u all form a company.. then build a car that everyone admire… c’mon… proof it dun jus bla..bla..

Mr. Proton,

The way you express your unsatisfactory only reveals immaturity quality of yourself. Hopefully you are not Proton’s staff. Yet if you are, darn..Proton is doomed !! (BTW my instinct tells me… you are. Oooh man..)

One more thing, i hope from now on, guys here are wise enough not to compare Proton and Perodua flatly, particularly in terms of car performance, technology and so forth unless the models are in the same segment and class.
    You might argue in the perspective of business strategies, sales & marketing or management though.

The fact is Proton and Perodua is not something we should barking and tormenting for each other side since the both establishments intended for the good of Malaysians for the god sake !! (Try to sound more decent though as i try to exclude those morons political involvement). While Proton should cater for the mid-size sedan and above (1600 cc & above), Perodua on the other hand will manufacture starting from A-segment, K-car class and until compact car class (660cc~1500cc). This was the ideal objective to establish Proton and Perodua at the first place. But things went wrong and crossfire happened when Proton started interfering into Perodua’s market by introducing those bloody Tiara, Savvy..blabla etc when their survivability shaken up back then. Hideous act such as Perodua had been back stabbed !! WTF.

Several years back then, Proton and Perodua are brotherhood. All medium level until top management personnel in Perodua drove Proton cars but now not anymore..since the day they have been betrayed during day light ! They switched to Toyota made resulting Perodua’s MD to drive a Royal Crown now instead of Perdana executive.

However wind of change has come, since Syed Zainal stepped into Proton. Behind the scene, most of Proton and Perodua staffs are having good relation indeed. They are changing informations, know-hows etc. One day some Proton staff shift to Perodua, and on other day, some Perodua jump to Proton. Malaysian car manufacturer industry is still small, and that’s how the things work otherwise where else they will go..except to the less appearance, Naza or other minor car assemblers.

So please from now on, stop cross firing unconditional thing between Proton and Perodua. BTW bashing should be allowed as long as it has fundamental value argumentation.

• happymeal (Member) on Jun 22, 2007 at 8:11 pm

should give black chrome – ie gloss black treatment instead of chrome on that oversized grille. at least got some sort of differentiation …. well..the smoked headlamps help too.

still looks jacked-up from the rear though…

• The Unicons (Member) on Jun 22, 2007 at 8:16 pm

The exterior and interior should be no different with the current one. Only install with new Campro 1.6 CPS engine. Correct if I'm wrong. Dual front airbags and ABS fitted as standard?

• si-fu (Member) on Jun 22, 2007 at 8:23 pm

The Unicons, the interior of the waja cps wont be the same as there current one, there will be some difference especially at the center console and the gear shift. What i can say for now, anyone who sits in the car will love it instantly and the interior quality has improved alot. To understand wat i mean, wait till its launched…u guys wont be dissapointed. Cheers!!!

• si-fu (Member) on Jun 22, 2007 at 8:24 pm

The Unicons, and another thing…all safety equipments comes as standard…dual airbags, ebd, abs and so on. Cheers!!!

• freeze (Member) on Jun 22, 2007 at 8:41 pm

What xenon lights??? Lights are not even turned on!

Difference in the centre console and gear shift?

Let me guss new head unit and gear knob?

• e-nabilll (Member) on Jun 22, 2007 at 8:42 pm

Front Lights Looks Like HID

• bugbear (Member) on Jun 22, 2007 at 8:44 pm

haha~ the front looks like our current 27k saga…

• Vengeance (Member) on Jun 22, 2007 at 8:55 pm

im quite impressed by the safety features, and CPS too, will there be a 1.8 CPS?

• The Unicons (Member) on Jun 22, 2007 at 8:58 pm

Thanks for the info si-fu.

• drebar (Member) on Jun 22, 2007 at 9:01 pm

with this kind of design, even if they put a ferrari's engine in it… i doubt the sales will be even average…let alone good…

• Vengeance (Member) on Jun 22, 2007 at 9:07 pm

yup, design is a little unattractive, gen 2 looks better than this…hehe

too bad gen 2 sedan doesnt come with CPS, i prefer they put the 1.6 CPS into the gen 2 sedan instead of gen 2 hatch, since the sedan will be more attractive in the market…its more practical with more space, the new features like remote boot opening n such…

• ilmondo (Member) on Jun 22, 2007 at 9:08 pm

i think dis car deserves a better look lar..

look at ford focus, honda civic..

but improvement in d interior n better engine, eco, reliability wil b welcoming.. n also improve d already good ride n handling..

• syir1@porsche-centre (Member) on Jun 22, 2007 at 9:12 pm

yesterday,while i was travelling north to bertam,penang, i saw one of the gen 2 sedan.it was in black with trade plates heading south…might see waja cps afterwards….

• bobdbilder (Member) on Jun 22, 2007 at 9:52 pm

Thank God my R3 'zos tips is not on the new Waja. It still gives the R3 an air of exclusivity. The question now is it lowered or is anything done to fill up the wheel arches?

But since the CPS and VIM is now on their website, it implies they are now ready for production. Looking at their performance curve, the days of my 4G18 is now numbered.

I like

• Kevin Lee (Member) on Jun 22, 2007 at 10:14 pm

hey guys, spotted this car while passing tanjung malim, it was raining heavily, the best my digital camera can do, yeah i was suprised to see the waja passing by, i only noticed it by a different color scheme and the taped letters, was my lucky day.

• kei9 (Member) on Jun 22, 2007 at 10:20 pm

is that flash or what? not from the headlight i think……KeV ? any answers? for the pic u sent?

• floyd (Member) on Jun 22, 2007 at 10:36 pm

kei9, kevin said it was raining, so i think it's the smaller lamp turned on. I think the headlamps look quite okay for proton standard.

IMHO, as a non-waja driver this car looks no different from the existing waja, based on exterior views; Interior is yet to be verified. So i dont think this can be termed new; maybe just facelift.

• theking (Member) on Jun 22, 2007 at 10:38 pm

Paul,

FYI, campro engine is drive-by-wire too.

• kei9 (Member) on Jun 22, 2007 at 10:39 pm

yeah..its just a facelift in terms of engine i guess…..

• thecrash (Member) on Jun 22, 2007 at 10:51 pm

Campro cps + tiptronic gear box… so stay tuned…

• razor_clawzz (Member) on Jun 22, 2007 at 10:56 pm

Tiptronic? Maybe 4-speed.

• kevyeoh (Member) on Jun 22, 2007 at 10:58 pm

wahh… this might be the car i am waiting from proton all this while…

campro cps + tiptronic gear box??? fuuyoohh…

i've always like waja for it's steady and solid looks… might be old design but till today…i'm still ok with the car design…current face lift with the front chrome grill…errm…that maybe i don't really like la…but overall still ok…

my dream car is still honda city…but this waja…might give city a run for it's money… now lets wait till the actual release day and judge for ourself….

• kei9 (Member) on Jun 22, 2007 at 11:03 pm

city is smaller than the waja lar…

• syir1@porsche-centre (Member) on Jun 22, 2007 at 11:04 pm

got tiptronic ker?mcm porsche la pulak…make it a 5-speed or 6 speed please…if not,dont make any tiptronic at all….

• japankiller (Member) on Jun 22, 2007 at 11:09 pm

This is a continental look design, might not be suit to everyone taste just like other european car.

• kei9 (Member) on Jun 22, 2007 at 11:13 pm

true meh? everyone got different taste……….so cannot really judge waht some felt wit this design….

• proton GL (Member) on Jun 22, 2007 at 11:34 pm

previous waja is 'purist' but this front grille… dont like it,

,should revise it grille design, bumper integrated grille is proton way of doing,

less restrictive exhaust ready for cps enggaged for higher end,

not bad

• cratzelogy (Member) on Jun 22, 2007 at 11:54 pm

Si-Fu, finger-cross to your comment! I like the old WAJA very much AFTER the new exterior make over. It gaves the "eagle-beak-grille" range of WAJA a better value in the 2nd market! If you have a survey which looks better, I'll pur my money on the OLD WAJA!

Smoke headlamps with xenon, looks good but still can the manufacturer pls add in the signal lamp into it. It is very ugly to have the signal lights on the bumper, i believe the R3 people finds it ridiculous to have additional lamps on the bumper = adds on weight!

Atleast take this design for a study case:
    http://www.mx.autocosmos.com/noticias/expand.asp?…

• cratzelogy (Member) on Jun 22, 2007 at 11:57 pm

BTW, what happen to the fabulous centre-located-exhaust-pipe? ;)

• Grey_Fox (Member) on Jun 23, 2007 at 12:02 am

Who cares? The waja is such an old model!. Why even bother coming out with different variants and bullshit facelifts?. Wheres the replacement model?

• The Unicons (Member) on Jun 23, 2007 at 12:07 am

cratzelogy said,

June 22, 2007 @ 3:57 pm

BTW, what happen to the fabulous centre-located-exhaust-pipe?

——————————————————————————–

For me, it's fine. Many car manufacturers still locate their car models at the side or even 'integrated' it to the bumper. Example, Honda Civic for US. Located both sides and 'integrated' to the bumper.

• mr. proton (Member) on Jun 23, 2007 at 12:16 am

argh.. to those bashers… jus shut ur f… mouth if u dont hav intention to buy it.. previously when they stick to old design then u all said "apa ni design lame" i don get it la with u all bashers.. always talk bullshit like u all hav the capabilities to design a car.. why not u all form a company.. then build a car that everyone admire… c'mon… proof it dun jus bla..bla..

• The Unicons (Member) on Jun 23, 2007 at 12:17 am

To Grey_Fox. Mind your language.

Have you ever watch TV programs such as Pimp My Ride, Kustomise, OverHauling? I watch it once a while at my friends house when we are hanging around. Even very old car can be overhaul such as using better materials, fit and finish, changing new engine to give more power / more fuel efficiency / cleaner emissions, changing brake system with better stopping power as engine power increases and so on.

• The Unicons (Member) on Jun 23, 2007 at 12:26 am

I agree with mr.proton. Well, a basher always a basher, never change. Even Proton becomes competitive, has good designs, good quality and safety features on their cars…. Proton bashes will always bashing it.

When Proton came out models with old Mitsubishi models, they said rebadge (still oklah), then Proton start to build car from ground up…. they say design ugly, Campro (including new CPS)….they say no power and wasting money, when more and more new models / replacement models coming out… they say wasting money, ugly etc. When Proton late launching new model(s)…. also complaint.

• bs (Member) on Jun 23, 2007 at 12:30 am

What good is a CPS campro engine going to benefit the Waja?

It is not like this technology is totally new, maybe NEW to Proton but NOT to others.

Even Perodua cars already have this for quite some time now, i.e DVVT.

Will you buy a Waja just because it has CPS…come on WAKE UP! Proton.

• wei bs, ko kasi try dulu la CPS baru blh cakap.
      cakap byk mcm tin kosong talak guna la…

• ~wj~ (Member) on Jun 23, 2007 at 12:31 am

hmm.. do you guys think it will be better if proton will actually reconstruct WAJA .. ? .( just my opinion ) .. u noe.. more sportier ?.. a 2 litre engine .. hand paddle gear like those in Honda Civic.. i think it will be selling like hot cakes .. =)

• armandd (Member) on Jun 23, 2007 at 12:33 am

i have no problem with the rear, but the front grille is really ugly. even a high school student can come up with a much better design. what a shame..

• BW (Member) on Jun 23, 2007 at 12:35 am

Ayo… y wanna use the new design for the CPS version? They should use the old batch Waja la… Looks so damn much nicer….

• waimak (Member) on Jun 23, 2007 at 12:53 am

It's about time for the Waja to have a new body now or in other words a totally new model to commemorate the new engine.

• Infinitt (Member) on Jun 23, 2007 at 12:54 am

I like this new waja front so much compare to old. No hidung one.

• chaku/maru (Member) on Jun 23, 2007 at 12:56 am

improved interior…better be good..or….

• cratzelogy (Member) on Jun 23, 2007 at 12:58 am

apology if u find my comments seems to be more of a basher. I love cars all my life, just to clear the air I'm impress what proton did on the new exterior waja especially on the new bonnet & front bumpers. So far down the line (if my memories serve me right), proton has not make a major changes like this before! lets not consider replacing the SAGA with ISWARA.

It's just that to me they could have done more for the WAJA. I am saying this because I know what it takes to build a car from nothing to something as I was involved in the auto industry.

• japankiller (Member) on Jun 23, 2007 at 1:22 am

If you look carefully, the front some how a little bit look like old VW Passat.

If for me, compare between Gen2 and Waja, i will choose Waja.

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Jun 23, 2007 at 1:24 am

The new Waja is doing it's production now, my friend works in Bosch penang told me this morning that they already sent a few lorries of new Waja headlamps to the factory since a few months back!

What i wish is that..New Waja with 1.8L CPS + VIM engine, 5-speed auto with tiptronic or AMT, whole new design dashboard and interior! Pls if want naik harga promise more better quality products!

• eezarm (Member) on Jun 23, 2007 at 1:37 am

new waja…

why not just come with a new pair of wipers like the new honda civic?

hehehe..just suggesting…alang-alang nak keluarkan kereta wajah baru…

why not, right?

i'm attracted to it…as i also own a waja..an old waja…hehehe…

• Dogster (Member) on Jun 23, 2007 at 1:39 am

bs said,

June 22, 2007 @ 4:30 pm

What good is a CPS campro engine going to benefit the Waja?

It is not like this technology is totally new, maybe NEW to Proton but NOT to others.

Even Perodua cars already have this for quite some time now, i.e DVVT.

Will you buy a Waja just because it has CPS…come on WAKE UP! Proton.

————————————————–

bs,

IMHO, what perodua did was to cut and paste the engines from Toyota / Daihatsu cars and put it in their Myvi cars and rename it to DVVT. So nothing to boast about. And also dont just judge the book by its cover.

This i must applause Proton for coming up with their OWN VVT system. Good job to the management of Proton at least your making some effort compared to the previous management which are totally lazy a**es. Sit there and suck our money…

Looking forward to the performance of this new engine..^^

• xstan (Member) on Jun 23, 2007 at 1:56 am

Wake up BS!! P2 engine is Daihatsu Engine not self made. Campro CPS is self made. Anyway DWT is just name iwise but cant perform…nama DWT but run anytime weaker than old Campro. P2 Myvi cant run, can move only & town use..u have definately not drive the old Waja Campro. With the CPS , Campro excel in both town & highway use way better drive than certain International cars of its category.

Now the price..how much will it be?? Gen2 CPS version is not more than RM55K launched by 22nd July 07 as confirmed with all dealers. Been witholding my purchase for the launch since early this year. Hope the quality improvised.

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Jun 23, 2007 at 2:29 am

mr. proton said,

June 22, 2007 @ 4:16 pm

argh.. to those bashers… jus shut ur f… mouth if u dont hav intention to buy it.. previously when they stick to old design then u all said “apa ni design lame” i don get it la with u all bashers.. always talk bullshit like u all hav the capabilities to design a car.. why not u all form a company.. then build a car that everyone admire… c’mon… proof it dun jus bla..bla..

———–

What you mean by don't have intention to buy it! Yes, to many consumers they don't have intention to buy it if the pricing is like Langkawi/Labuan. But the naked truth is P1 under NAP force many consumers to buy this junk for the last 20++ years!

You make pathetic statement as anyone have the capability to design car only have the "credibility" to comment on the design! Come on lah dude, by your "freak-same-principle", do any guy in the world who comment any girls "ugly" must have to change their sex to "girl", take hormone to enlarge boob, etc , etc, to look like J Lopez only can said any girl is beau or ugly?

Do u get it now "blind-supporter"? A person who are ignorant or can't differentiate on the customer expectation (demand) for products and the role of or the capability of manufacturer (supply) like P1 to meet what customer!

Go and blah, blah as much as you want until one day P1 close shop just like Rover!

• torishimeyakuin (Member) on Jun 23, 2007 at 2:30 am

Yeah i am kinda agree with you Dogster. I could see there are some efforts of good movements since Datuk Syed Zainal stepped in. He's somebody to keep Proton's hope alive unless those morons keep on interfering.

BTW, do you guys have any ideas when all those Proton's replacement, facelift, tuned up…bla bla models are going to be launched ? The only thing i heard was Gen2 Sedan is going to be launched by end of June or early July…a hearsay though.

Anyway, frankly speaking..the only model i am EAGERLY looking forward in Proton's line up is Perdana replacement or any Proton's flagship kinda model. Sound a bit cocky aye ? Hehe..but really…from the flagship, i'd see the whole spectrum of the Protonians. Kanpai !!!

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Jun 23, 2007 at 2:32 am

xstan said,

June 22, 2007 @ 5:56 pm

Wake up BS!! P2 engine is Daihatsu Engine not self made. Campro CPS is self made.

————-

Campro engine is self made on the name only, but in term of technology, there is no cam profile tech in this so call "CAMPRO"! Pathetic ya …! Just like quite some time a go there are coffee maker in the northern state selling coffee but get cought by health department after experiment show the content of this "coffee" don't have any coffee ingredient!

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Jun 23, 2007 at 2:38 am

The Unicons said,

June 22, 2007 @ 4:26 pm

I agree with mr.proton. Well, a basher always a basher, never change. Even Proton becomes competitive, has good designs, good quality and safety features on their cars…. Proton bashes will always bashing it.

—————–

If what you said is truely truth, then P1 can stand on it own feet and why still need NAP, go and conquer the world market, no more sucking RM from rakyat, but earn USD, Yen, Yuan, Ruppe, Bath, Sing D, GBP, etc, etc?

Improvement? then the stone age milo tin on the wheel shall cease production immediately! Cock talking as you like, the reality is P1 lost by Millions a day! But Perodua if not make million, but at least make thousand by a day!

• chaku/maru (Member) on Jun 23, 2007 at 2:52 am

im sorry but i think Perodua is no better than Proton.P2 also produce milo tin cars…

but then, choose what best for you. Dont bother about others ppl choices. No need to argue.

• nizam80 (Member) on Jun 23, 2007 at 3:05 am

thecrash said,

June 22, 2007 @ 2:51 pm

"Campro cps + tiptronic gear box… so stay tuned…"

Tiptronic gearbox would be nice. But how many speed? Any info on this? The tiptronic gearbox will still be from Mitsubishi, rite?

However, i think the Waja's design looks a bit dated. But, if they say that the new improved interior looks and feels excellent, then it would still be an improvement, to me. Who knows, maybe Proton will surprise us with the inclusion of Paddle Shifters as well in this Waja!!! (maybe thats y its above RM65K)

Ok, finally i think the Waja should be replaced with a new 2nd generation Waja model before 2010. Will Proton consider?

• watchurback (Member) on Jun 23, 2007 at 3:13 am

this joe oii maybe got problem. please la joe talk about car not gov,nap,politics n please do respect other opinion. this proton has become better so gave some face la

• nizam80 (Member) on Jun 23, 2007 at 3:14 am

chaku/maru said,

June 22, 2007 @ 6:52 pm

im sorry but i think Perodua is no better than Proton.P2 also produce milo tin cars…

Agreed. The doors of the VIVA alone feels like sardine tin.

• Dj_VaniLLa (Member) on Jun 23, 2007 at 3:16 am

hey guys..com' on..

Please don't make a difference betwen P1 n P2,bcoz both of them were producing a car that got different type and categories…

this what u can call a good competition…they trying to compete with diffrent type of cars..

eh paul..i seen 2 days ago on news paper,there was a topic about P1 n VW..

but, there is no topic from u on this blog(or might be i just miss a sight)..

it's quite weird,bcoz u always follow this situation..

• Dj_VaniLLa (Member) on Jun 23, 2007 at 3:47 am

agreed with xstan…

there is so much to be proud with this campro system..

-it's a local product and it's lotus&P1 engineering(if i'm not wrong)..

-the performance was a high standard not similar with ordinary waja that used tech from mitsu..

-compared the torque,it's better than ordnry waja..(check out the P1 website)..

-so,i'm not suprise when somebody came out saying that campro using much more petrol..it's worth with the campro tech..

it's great engine..it's high performace engine..

-then now,come another suprise…CPS..it's a solutions for the wasting petrol dedicated to campro from P1..

-it's a good development from P1..

what can i say, jus "Well Done" P1:)

• tec96248 (Member) on Jun 23, 2007 at 3:56 am

hahaha………so many supporter yet so many basher. hmm……interesting.

to me before or after the facelift, i don't like it. it don't look nice and the finishing is poor. quality wise, the old is lousy, the new i really doubt on it. just my opinion. the bright side is still some buyers still get a waja.

Dj_VaniLLa……..i agreed with both p1 n p2 are different in categories and markets. but very funny someone compare a 1.6 with a 1.3 car, believe forgotten to use his brain when commented.

selfmade car or rebagded car, doesn't matter bcos reliability for daily usage is more important. wondering proton cars can deliver this or not? hmm..??

getting a lot unreasonable and ridiculous comments overhere. i believe paul either feeling dizzy or laughing out loud………so difficult to have a car lovers that understanding cars. hahahahaha.

• mystvearn (Member) on Jun 23, 2007 at 4:32 am

Anyone from P1 can leak the performance of the new engines?

• raybrig85 (Member) on Jun 23, 2007 at 4:56 am

ok…i agree wit mr.torish…wut he said was true…for me…we hv to bash n comment proton or perodua 4 improvement…but like mr torish said…has fundamental value agrumentation…

mr.proton…

kalau x tahan kene bash or comment…lebih baikla x payah kuar kete sendiri…eventho we're not proffesional to comment n bash…but we are the consumer to them…u igt manufacture lain like bmw,merc,honda tu sume x kene bash ke if drang kuar kete baru???kene gak…but they take it positive to improve theirs….barula maju…kalau u x cayela…g surf kat mane2 blog kete jenama lain…kn gak bash…xdela sume yes sir je….ure unmatured la mr.proton…jz think positivela…sume org kt blog nie bash kbanyakannye bkn sbab membuta tuli je bash…bt wit reason n some of them xperience it…so…terime jela…kalau x thn…susahla…kalau sume proton staff perangai mcm u…x thn kene bash…lingkup la proton..xde improvement…

• chaku/maru (Member) on Jun 23, 2007 at 5:20 am

haiyo…this p1 n p2 thing causes perang saudara d.

• nizam80 (Member) on Jun 23, 2007 at 5:59 am

thecrash said,

Tiptronic gearbox sounds nice, but how many speed? Anybody can confirm this?

The exterior has nothing to excited about. If its true that the interior will look and feel better, then its good. Who knows, rite. Maybe Proton wants to throw in a surprise by including Paddle Gear Shifters in this new Waja! (maybe thats y the price is RM65K)

My personal opinion is i think that the Waja should be replaced with a 2nd generation Waja before 2010. Better still, if Proton want to sell it at RM65K – RM70K, might as well throw in a 1.8 CPS engine. RM65K to RM70K is a bit pricey for a brand like Proton (no offence), because usually people within this budget are more likely willing to pay more for a Vios or City (for brand sake). For RM65K to RM70K, most people i know will go for the Avanza 1.5 Auto. But, if i have that budget, i'll go for this baby!! Just my opinion.

• kei9 (Member) on Jun 23, 2007 at 6:07 am

i just do what i like …keep it cool……..

• The Unicons (Member) on Jun 23, 2007 at 6:29 am

Joe Ooi, if Proton made from Milo Tin, say the Waja (Model:2000) received 3-Star EuroNCAP. The Chevy Aveo (Model: 2006) one scored 1-Star. So Chevy Aveo made from aluminium can lah, is that what you mean? Use hand squeeze enough not need to hit like milo tin need more presure. But why I never hear you bash that Chevy Aveo?

If Proton cars = milo tin as you said. Please use your feet to kick it. See the "milo tin" will fly / drop how many meter from you feet or see the "milo tin" will flip over or not? If yes, then I surrender.

However, the above statement you make me to say it. Milo tin lah vs aluminium can lah. I NEVER give such a stupid statement like you. You make me say one.

Please give logic statements, Joe Ooi. Bashing cars even until human one day also want to bash?

Anyone? Agree? Dj_VaniLLa, tec96248, mr.proton and others. Since we don't know each other. Is Joe Ooi right or I'm wrong.

• nizam80 (Member) on Jun 23, 2007 at 6:33 am

The Unicons said,

June 22, 2007 @ 10:29 pm

Joe Ooi, if Proton made from Milo Tin, say the Waja (Model:2000) received 3-Star EuroNCAP. The Chevy Aveo (Model: 2006) one scored 1-Star. So Chevy Aveo made from aluminium can lah, is that what you mean? Use hand squeeze enough not need to hit like milo tin need more presure. But why I never hear you bash that Chevy Aveo?

If Proton cars = milo tin as you said. Please use your feet to kick it. See the “milo tin” will fly / drop how many meter from you feet or see the “milo tin” will flip over or not? If yes, then I surrender.

However, the above statement you make me to say it. Milo tin lah vs aluminium can lah. I NEVER give such a stupid statement like you. You make me say one.

Please give logic statements, Joe Ooi. Bashing cars even until human one day also want to bash?

Anyone? Agree? Dj_VaniLLa, tec96248, mr.proton and others. Since we don’t know each other. Is Joe Ooi right or I’m wrong.

Joe Ooi likes to drink milo.

• kei9 (Member) on Jun 23, 2007 at 6:38 am

nizam80 (Joe Ooi likes to drink milo) so funny lar u! hahahaha!

BTW WE ALL DONNO EACH OTHER……

• nizam80 (Member) on Jun 23, 2007 at 6:41 am

thecrash said,

Tiptronic gearbox sounds nice, but how many speed? Anybody can confirm this?

The exterior has nothing to excited about. If its true that the interior will look and feel better, then its good. Who knows, rite. Maybe Proton wants to throw in a surprise by including Paddle Gear Shifters in this new Waja! (maybe thats y the price is RM65K)

My personal opinion is i think that the Waja should be replaced with a 2nd generation Waja before 2010. Better still, if Proton want to sell it at RM65K – RM70K, might as well put in a 1.8 CPS engine. RM65K to RM70K is a bit pricey for a brand like Proton (no offence), because usually people within this budget are more likely willing to pay more for a Vios or City (for brand sake). For RM65K to RM70K, most people i know will go for the Avanza 1.5 Auto. But, if i have that budget, i'll go for this baby!! Just my opinion.

• nizam80 (Member) on Jun 23, 2007 at 6:44 am

kei9 said,

June 22, 2007 @ 10:38 pm

nizam80 (Joe Ooi likes to drink milo) so funny lar u! hahahaha!

BTW WE ALL DONNO EACH OTHER……

I'm only joking lah. Everybody so serious nowadays. Lets loosen up shall we?? :)

• kei9 (Member) on Jun 23, 2007 at 6:51 am

actually im not serious…hehehe…loosen up and lets drink milo! in tins not packets…….hahaha!

• raybrig85 (Member) on Jun 23, 2007 at 6:56 am

kei9….i cup of milo 4 me plz….kaw punya…hehehek

• Vengeance (Member) on Jun 23, 2007 at 7:02 am

nizam is rite, lets loosen up, its like world war 3 in here…

there's a chinese saying, "be content n u'll always feel happy"

y torment urselves with all those unsatisfactory? of course we can sound out comments to the errors P1 n P2, but lets make these comments civilized..who would listen to barbaric shouts? No offence here, juz saying my thoughts

• torishimeyakuin (Member) on Jun 23, 2007 at 7:13 am

Kei9 & Nizam80,

Haha both of you guys right. Sometimes we need to chill out. So Paul, c'mon man.. serve us more with entries about those great supercars, big boy's luxurious toys..those stallions from Deutchlanders, Japanese, Italians, French and Uncle Sam…

Somehow i was so lucky to watch Mercedes Benz new TV CM for it's New All C-Class debut in Japan. Damn fabulous man !! Ooh it feels like i see Angelina Jolie half-bare appearance after 2 weeks of no meeting with woman…Damn nice ain' t that !! Rejuvenating….

• cratzelogy (Member) on Jun 23, 2007 at 7:16 am

ironic how things turn out to be. I have always wondered about this but I know it is not a place for me to say as I was not one of the "designers" nor i owned any of the car company.

Is it so hard to have a WAJA with the improved suspension, new exterior and interior by just using the same chassis?

It is a proven practise by other major or minor car manufacturers. Cut down cost, time and also boost sales! If SAGA was with a better fuel comsumption CAMPRO 1.3 and with the current price tag? That would be a leap but then I still need to test out the reliability.

• Vengeance (Member) on Jun 23, 2007 at 7:20 am

hmm, im wondering wat happens when cps fails? whole engine fail?

proton quite famous for problems, now its their first time producing cps engine…wonder wat kinda problems will come out…hehehe

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Jun 23, 2007 at 7:51 am

Yeah i got a bad feeling of mass product.. The Test engines and vehicle usually have specific quality control to let the JPJ/Puspakom officer to test.. But the consistency is a doubt.. I heard a lot of cases that the first badge of new cars usually have less problem, compare to the rest of the badge that come rushing when customer are a lot… Like i heard a lot of complains of myvi a few years back… Even my wira spoilt a lot of things when i purchase it, not even day 1 the power window suis already got problem! Why?!? Where is the QC!

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Jun 23, 2007 at 8:14 am

The Unicons said,

If Proton cars = milo tin as you said. Please use your feet to kick it. See the “milo tin” will fly / drop how many meter from you feet or see the “milo tin” will flip over or not? If yes, then I surrender.

———-

OK, dude, I try to give logic statement purely on my personal opinions and experiences: –

1. Whether American's poor 1 ton Chevy Aveo got 1 star or the strongest 60 tons 1,500 HP Abrams M1 (M1A1 – 67.6 tons or M1A2 – 68.7 tons) Main Battle Tank got "50 stars" Euro NCAP star rating is none of my biz.

This is simply because I don't buy Aveo or can't afford this M1 MBT. But I drive Waja, which to the best of my knowledge the export version have better safety feature (but itu pun NCAP 3 star only) compare to local model like the one I own lousy Waja need to open door pay toll! I paid RM 64K (Premium around 70K), that in US + another RM 5K can buy you a Toyota Camry 2.4. So, by same price comparison with American counterpart, who in this logic world can accept the fact that the same amount of monies can get Camry with at least NCAP 4 star (maybe 5 star) but we are squeeze dry to get 3 star open door pay tol junk. Please take note that my experience driving P1 cars are more than 11 years and I "practice open door pay tol" for almost 10 years!

2. For Aveo or M1 MBT, they don't use American tax payer monies, let alone use ours tax payers monies to produce this junk Aveo (indeed make by Korean Daewoo) or the best of Abrams MBT in the world! So, I don't give them a damn whether they are the worst car or the best fighting machine! For me, Aveo is suck, and M1 MBT is design to be the worst killing machine, as we can see in Iraq invasion by US. Both are the worst American invention in our present time!

3. The Unicons, this is not make up but my truth experience. Around 2 1/2 month ago, I drove along Jalan Tun Razak and intended to turn in Jalan Yap Kwan Seng. I stop at this T junction traffic light and when it was green, I start to turn left with very low speed (less than 10km/j) but suddenly there was motorbike rider (2 person) on the left want to go straight and suddenly the rider leg just scratch (not kick as you said) and the damn bumper drop down ot the road just like I drop my ex girlfriend panty in "split second" in bygone time. I have to stop at nearby and temporary tie it back with rafia string! So do you "surrender" even it is not kick but scratch only?

4. Another experience is around April 2005, when I drove north almost reaching Juru tol gate but another Waja tailgate me at around 140 km/j, due to high speed, I let the car overtake me but I put up high beam as a "gesture of disagreement on his danger driving"! However, the person throw some object (believe to be drinking item – perhap drinking aluminum can), hit my front and when I stop, I found there is palm size kemek! Shish!!!!!

5. So, personally I am in the opinion (i.e. in legal perspective, opinion is not necessary is a fact and may not admissible as evident!) that the 1st car I own (Iswara) and current Waja were damn "MILO TIN ON THE WHEEL" quality!

Lastly, car is one of the product make by human, if they use tax payer monies yet claim national pride/icon but produce junk without the concern for welfare of the rakyat, then I am responsible tax payer (never hutang LHDN) and with more than 10 years owning and driving this junk, bashing shall encompass the product and those irresponsible cronies who prduce it under crappy NAP. This is our right as concern citizen and also our consumer rights for not gettig the right quality with the price we paid!

STOP THE BUYING! STOP THE SUCKING!

Good luck to you.

Anyone? Agree? Dj_VaniLLa, tec96248, mr.proton and others. Since we don’t know each other. Is Joe Ooi right or I’m wrong.

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Jun 23, 2007 at 8:25 am

nizam80 said,

June 22, 2007 @ 10:33 pm

—————

OK come to this statement! You are 150% right, I even mix 50% Milo when drink 100% 3 in 1 instant coffee but not vice-versa!

——————

raybrig85 said,

June 22, 2007 @ 10:56 pm

kei9….i cup of milo 4 me plz….kaw punya…hehehek

—————–

So, I belanja everyone here kaw kaw punya "internet Milo" specially in this cyberspace only.

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Jun 23, 2007 at 8:25 am

Yeah.. That the QC problem.. They want to save cost, so the pillar is strong but the steal is soft.. Anywayz the power window thingy i never use back the proton, i usually take it from the Half-cut shops.. Even it is secondhand, it last longer then the original P1.. QC problem again…

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Jun 23, 2007 at 8:28 am

It is damn truth, my present Waja absorber also got from kereta potong Honda Accord, use it for more than 2 years still good condition! unlike "original" kong after 1 year ++. QC really suck!

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Jun 23, 2007 at 8:46 am

The absorber used by Proton & Nissan is from the same supplier, APM. APM is a subsidiary of Tan Chong Motors. The absorber they provide is normal type absorbers, either gas or oil. APM normal absorber cannot tahan long 1, if want better must take the performax absorber.. Anywayz japanese absorber are more lasting, try GAB, Tokiko, TEIN, CUSCO & Kayaba. Prefered Gas type absorber and if can get adjustable absorber. Adjustable have proven to last longer then normal absorbers… Try go get a set of them from half-cut, last time i saw 1 set of TEIN adjustable for Wira/Lancer only RM1400 at Mun Lee auto.. But out of $$$ that time… T.T

New 1 cost over RM3000!

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Jun 23, 2007 at 9:04 am

In many instances, component supplier (OEM) just produce according to their client specs and budget! Even certain product clearly stated it is for specific market only. Last time when I bought NGK plug, it is specifically mentioned for "Malaysian market" only. Therefore, it is not surprising the technical performance of same OEM source cmponent is differ for different brand of products!

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Jun 23, 2007 at 9:07 am

chaku/maru said,

June 22, 2007 @ 6:52 pm

——————

I saw in the comment of UK car site, one of the post on P2's Kelisa is "Tissue Box On Wheel"!

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Jun 23, 2007 at 9:20 am

torishimeyakuin said,

June 22, 2007 @ 8:11 pm

Mr. Proton,

The way you express your unsatisfactory only reveals immaturity quality of yourself. Hopefully you are not Proton’s staff. Yet if you are, darn..Proton is doomed !! (BTW my instinct tells me… you are. Oooh man..)

———————

This Protonian specy statement clearly shown he can't differenciate between the "consumers and producers" @ players and spectators". His argument is so childist that if it is apply in EPL football game. Then when there is a big match like MU vs. Chelsea, he can go to Bangsar and shout to everybody shut up your mouth and keep quite (cannot comment) simply because no one is player, but only football maniac enjoy beer while watching the game! So the pretty and sexy girls at Bangsar also cannot make any comment simply because some of them never kick even one time the ball in their entire life?

Really poor soul Protonian putting up "jaguh kampong" fight in this borderless cyberspace!

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Jun 23, 2007 at 9:28 am

If Mr. Proton is Proton's staff, then thumb down to you for not doing a good job, but thumb up to MD SZ for his effort to make good the sad state of P1!

• bugbear (Member) on Jun 23, 2007 at 10:54 am

joe ooi, u got point… ;)

and thx for d milo…

• PTAllTheBest (Member) on Jun 23, 2007 at 2:08 pm

good reasonable point from joe ooi.

there is so much quality issues from proton cars. many of my relatives and friends has already suffer for this. power window and gearbox problem on a new car especially on the 1st batch of gen2.

after so many years of producing cars but still in this level of poor quality control does not need to be proud of.

lets everybody say: STOP THE BUYING. STOP THE SUCKING.

• PTAllTheBest (Member) on Jun 23, 2007 at 2:09 pm

joe ooi. hantam depa teruk teruk. n also thanz for ur milo

• raybrig85 (Member) on Jun 23, 2007 at 4:27 pm

wut u said abt waja..dats truth…my uncle owned waja…one day his son hit the rear side with a bicycle handle…gosh…kemek…n btw…ive gt a same problem as u…for 3 years ive own my satria…i already change the absorber for 2x….horrible man…tula aku cakap dulu2…eventho aku pakai alfa or murano….xyah amik muranola…alfa aku cukup kalau nak compare ngan satria aku…satria aku tu asik jumpe doctor je..pastu byk lak duit kuar tukar ni tukar tu….i hope proton will improve their QC…

• cratzelogy (Member) on Jun 23, 2007 at 5:38 pm

GREAT, I think we have a great business oppurtunity here. We should get to know each other, open a shop. Take the old waja, turn the car around with the recomended parts and give our customer a better 2nd hand value car then! Hopefully no politics involved! :)

• tec96248 (Member) on Jun 23, 2007 at 7:03 pm

==hmm…….someone mentioned me?

The Unicons said,

==is it waja different category/segment to chevy aveo? hmm…….chevy cars also have own problems and volume of this car in malaysia is less compared to other makes so we also heard less……..ok?

basically is very difficult to comment of the car shell and the steel their using. unless we have to test the strength, thickness, stress, etc. another thing is the antirust coat, undercoat paint, finish coat paint, which we should consider also of its applications, layers, preparations, process, etc……….don't forgot the design and structure of the frame, metal sheet, welding, joints, etc…..

wow, so many things to think and so technical……..just forget it…hahaha.

Joe Ooi said,

June 23, 2007 @ 12:14 am

Please take note that my experience driving P1 cars are more than 11 years and I “practice open door pay tol” for almost 10 years!

Another experience is around April 2005, when I drove north almost reaching Juru tol gate but another Waja tailgate me at around 140 km/j, due to high speed, I let the car overtake me but I put up high beam as a “gesture of disagreement on his danger driving”! However, the person throw some object (believe to be drinking item – perhap drinking aluminum can), hit my front and when I stop, I found there is palm size kemek! Shish!!!!!

==really salute u, for 10 years open door pay tol……to me encounter once of power window failure, i modified it and sold it off. don't even wanna practice it. what for having power window if can't use it? problem free make us happy unless u know how to modify it. hahaha…

at around the speed of 140km/h, any car also might not stand the hit or impact of the object. try with other makes too, believe it or not? hahaha.

joe ooi is unhappy with his car, makes him release anger and unhappiness overhere sometimes. just that overdone sometimes. so unicons, don't worry about it. i guess we should enjoy and love cars. hahahaha….

• The Unicons (Member) on Jun 23, 2007 at 10:06 pm

To tec96248.

Don't worry. I'm fine. I'll just leave Joe Ooi's comments as it were. Write back then fight back again.

Just for the info. Toyota has been having serious problems with quality control. Last year it recalled 1.76 million vehicles worldwide. (NOTE: Not trying to compare with Proton). Anyway, they are the world's No.1…. for now. BMW like to buy Volvo and Alfa Romeo too. Anyway, hopefully we can discuss it in other post next time.

Can anyone please tell me how to post a new disccussion in the Paul Tan's forum? TQ. Happy motoring…

• The Unicons (Member) on Jun 23, 2007 at 10:12 pm

I agree with you, tec96248. When some thing hit any cars at more or less 140KM/h, sure got damage. Even just a small rock. Remember the car is moving toward the object that hit the car, the impact greater. Anyway, just bought few car magazines this morning. Got the previous info from it.

• kei9 (Member) on Jun 23, 2007 at 10:53 pm

The Unicons…u must be a member 1st..then u can post. dun for get to c me there! giv u a clue……c*y*n

• joe203 (Member) on Jun 24, 2007 at 1:27 am

I bought a 3-years old Honda and my friend bought a brand new Waja.

One of the cars had a defect within a month. Guess which one?

• The Unicons (Member) on Jun 24, 2007 at 1:43 am

Thanks kei9. Next time when I need more info, I'll ask your help. Who knows I might have something to share with in this forum about the auto industry worldwide. Thanks again.

• nizam80 (Member) on Jun 24, 2007 at 4:12 am

If i were to experience what Joe Ooi here experienced with his Waja for 11 years, i too would pissed off with Proton. However, i think currently i'm just lucky not to have those experiences.

Joe Ooi, just my suggestion. Why not just change to a new car? (non-Proton)

• Paul Tan on Jun 24, 2007 at 4:36 am

my guess is the 2nd hand value of his waja has dropped so much that he is unable to cover the differences between what he gets if he sells it versus the amount he owes the bank for his loan

• kei9 (Member) on Jun 24, 2007 at 6:11 am

The Unicons said,

June 23, 2007 @ 5:43 pm

Thanks kei9. Next time when I need more info, I’ll ask your help. Who knows I might have something to share with in this forum about the auto industry worldwide. Thanks again.

u can also share ur opinoins in

http://forum.lowyat.net/TheFast&TheFurious

me also there…hehehe…..

• ed0r (Member) on Jun 24, 2007 at 6:37 am

Joe Ooi said,

June 23, 2007 @ 12:14 am

…Please take note that my experience driving P1 cars are more than 11 years and I “practice open door pay tol” for almost 10 years!…

roflmao! sorry dude poor you but I really can't help laughing lmao! buy the smart TAG? oh ya the sucking will continue since someone makes money 'single-handedly own' from that prepaid thing eh? lol

by the way, on the topic, since I drive the so-called enhanced waja… i expect a wajetta-like waja … the waja model is old already… more than 5 years rite? about time for proton to come up with a 2nd gen waja… then all those cps xyc will be more meaningful… IMHO. cheers!

Milo tarekkk satu…! lol

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Jun 24, 2007 at 8:04 am

The Unicons said,

June 23, 2007 @ 2:06 pm

To tec96248.

Don’t worry. I’m fine. I’ll just leave Joe Ooi’s comments as it were. Write back then fight back again.

———–

Dude, as I emphasize in my statement, this is my personal OPINION that is not necessary is a fact. You can always disagree with me whether you even accept or needless to say reject my personal opinion!

Good luck and cheers to you and has a cup of Milo!

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Jun 24, 2007 at 8:14 am

Paul Tan said,

June 23, 2007 @ 8:36 pm

my guess is the 2nd hand value of his waja has dropped so much that he is unable to cover the differences between what he gets if he sells it versus the amount he owes the bank for his loan

—————–

Agree with you on first part that the Waja drop so much at around RM 26K for year 2003 model. But can't agree with second part because I settled my 3 year car loan ahead of 7 months! Now is to waite and see that by next year hopefully international trade will put "pressure cooker" on NAP to lower the sucking tax, then i will consider to change to non-P1 car!

Toyota Hilux is on my shopping list! Ha, ha, ha, once and for all no more open door pay tol and seat relatively taller than any car make by P1 on the road. Perhaps can "intimidate" any P1 models on the road, especially this built tough thingy lawn mover Savvy! See see and look look who is "tougher"! "Unfair" comparison lol, but the fact is P1 never fair at all time!

• topgunthang (Member) on Jun 24, 2007 at 8:34 am

having cars like this around shows that the country is going backwards.

another round of re-releases of bad cars.

• raybrig85 (Member) on Jun 24, 2007 at 8:38 am

the unicons…

where did u find the news abt beemer wants to buy alfa romeo???any source??btw…i think dats wrong coz i cannot find it…btw…alfa is still safely under fiat n now more share tech with the maserati 4 their upcoming models….

• Grey_Fox (Member) on Jun 24, 2007 at 9:37 am

To: The Unicons

Sorry if i sound harsh but FYI i drive a waja too! I'm not bashing proton or anything. My Waja is serving me alright. It's just my opinion. Like Joe Ooi said, must i own a company or be a car designer to voice what i think?

• Paul Tan on Jun 24, 2007 at 9:57 am

joe ooi: then why are you not selling the waja now and buying the hilux straightaway?

• The Unicons (Member) on Jun 24, 2007 at 4:04 pm

To raybrig85. I bought the AutoCAR Asean/Malaysia Edition June Issue. Cool. Lots of BMW and Mercedez upcoming model.

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Jun 24, 2007 at 8:01 pm

Joe Ooi dont buy hilux if u want FC! Hilux is worst FC compare to Mitsu, Nissan and even the new Ford is better then it! I saw the new Ford Ranger already Cool! If u want comfort, better take mitsu.. He have both the power n comfort.. But i think u better prefer the 5 speed manual, even u think manual i troblesome.. The torque of the Diesel engine is so high that even at gear 2 or 3 u also can pick-up. So changing gear is less.. I tried it in a Nissan frontier using gear 3 n 4 driving around Penang town area..

Anywayz have anyone here see the new's paper new today! After this year the scap issue will be finalize for cars which is 15 years old.. The money will be paid for RM5k when purchasing new cars.. Which the money they pay is from the Sales Tax of new cars! This action is not forced! So i think after 15 years old car is will be very cheap.. I think this is bad of some of us who want to sell ur old car for high value…

The AP issues also got new 1! Asian AP will not be AP anymore, So Japanese, Korean, China, Thailand cars can sell in our country without AP! This is a good way of going toward open market! Ap will only implement on Europe n American's car only!

So P1 are u ready to take in on?

• The Unicons (Member) on Jun 25, 2007 at 3:15 am

Well, I think you guys have to spend a little bit of time for this. It’s my RM1 opinion. Please continue read until finish? It’s my RM1 not my 2 cents. Hahaha….

First, I didn't read about the news. So, guys if this is true please don't blame our government, NAP / AP etc. always. This is because no matter what, our government has to follow the AFTA policy. I know our car taxes really high which I also feel very upset. Trust me caused I don't like it either like you guys. Government using tax payers money to help Proton, I also disagree.

Second, I don't care if VW took over Proton as many manufacturers do the same thing for cost cutting and faster technologies transfer and sharing or other purposes. For me Proton is one of the car manufacturers and NOT pride of anything. If Proton close means no NAP, I don't think so because still got Perodua, Naza and Inokom etc. Even if Proton close means no NAP, we can get cheaper cars but our road tax sure increase and income tax too and so on because that's one way where government earn money to develop our country. If Proton closes, try to think about the workers. Our economy sure down, no job…. then crime even more and get worse because those who can not get a job need money to survive. So they rob, steal, kill or even rape etc. So, are we feeling safe even though we have cheaper and safer cars to buy?

Third, if VW really can help Proton by helping them in designing, R&D, improving quality, safety etc for Proton cars, why not? Just hope Proton will makes profit then our government no need to use tax payers’ money to help them. It's a WIN-WIN SITUATION. Proton lives, workers secure their job, government no need to help Proton via our money and our country's economy stable. What do you think? Proton cars with Lotus Ride and Handling and VW quality and safety. Not good enough? OKlah right? You win, I win, everybody wins.

Well, please understand and think about my RM1 opinion. Thanks for reading.

• The Unicons (Member) on Jun 25, 2007 at 3:25 am

To Joe Ooi. I'm not really a 4×4, truck / pick up fans. However, you can compare some of the trucks from other manufacturers. Go to visit your nearest showroom and test drive it. All prices more or less.

1) Ford Ranger TDCi 2.5 XLT (Manual) as what LittleFire85 told you. – RM85,388

2) Toyota Hilux 2.5G – Your shopping list – RM85,321.70

3) Mitsubishi Triton 2.5L as what LittleFire85 told you. – RM84,335.80

4) Isuzu D-Max 3.0L – RM86,778.10

5) Nissan Frontier 2.5L – RM82,859.78

Well, Paul and anyone. Can you guys create a new forum topic as this is not about the pick-up / truck? Perhaps can give some idea to Joe Ooi for his new car? TQ.

• floyd (Member) on Jun 25, 2007 at 5:26 am

~wj~ said,

June 22, 2007 @ 4:31 pm

hmm.. do you guys think it will be better if proton will actually reconstruct WAJA .. ? .( just my opinion ) .. u noe.. more sportier ?.. a 2 litre engine .. hand paddle gear like those in Honda Civic.. i think it will be selling like hot cakes .. =)

==========================================

* try Waja Chancellor 2.0L & see if that fits your requirement.

dont know which market segment did proton targeted this Waja but sure it didnt sell good! And, the price too wasnt that good; talk about double the ex waja @RM120k++. Blunder??

• Prem3377 (Member) on Jun 25, 2007 at 8:52 am

hey joe ooi…dun simply just talk la k!!get ur facts right 1st!!yah i do agree proton has poor quality..but not as what u claim!!!u are going at 100km/h plus so obviously it will be a dent…simple physics will tell u!! if u r driving at 100 km/h and the weight of the ting that was throw at u,,just assume a half filled mineral water bottle…around 250 gram..da momentum which da bottle hit ur car is 250 gram times 100 km/h…so its equal to 25kg of weight hittin ur car..obviously it will cause a dent even on a bmw!!so dont blame proton..dont know if u still remember or wat..but when waja was 1st lauched..da steel of which da body panel was stamped was da strongest in its class..just that our r&d is not as advance so we could produce a better and safer car!!besides the power windows what other problem do u have???i think u shud get a german car!!then u might stop complaining!!i dont why u are excited in getting proton to close shop!!we all wont get any benefit..the G will continue their NAP and etc…atleast we are still driving waja,wira and all but if proton close shop..motorclyce will be da next choice!!joe ooi if u dont like what others say..just ignore them..dun humilate them!!many dont like what u say..but they dont comment or humilate u..be a gentlemen!!what mr proton said was his opinion!!most malaysian only know how to complain and complain..but no action punya!!i bet u also da same…i do agree i am like that!!but i m determined to change that!!ok back to the topic..waja cps…cool…but the proton logo at da front is just a little oversized!!but last week i saw a new waja…the owner painted the front grill to black all da way down like golf gti..it was kinda cool…and cheap modification…so i m looking forward for it!!

• mr. proton (Member) on Jun 25, 2007 at 4:25 pm

wahhhhh…….. so many bashers angry with me… hahahahahaa. i wont comment for ur assumption im proton's staff. what im trying to say is why everytime paultan open new tpic about proton the first thing in your mind "ahh.. another junk from proton" bazir duit rakyat"..bla..bla.. thats why i disagree with u all.. i can acept a reasonable bash. im also thrash proton on the poor quality material used in gen2 fastback. so is not everytime i jus "e'thing good".. giv some good comment if u wanna critic bcos it can help proton to rectify the prob.. besides, new md datuk syed jus not more than 2 years in proton.. ofkos needed some time to cure proton.. c'mon bashers…. be rational….

• The Unicons (Member) on Jun 25, 2007 at 4:47 pm

Prem3377 & mr.proton.I agree.

• Infinitt (Member) on Jun 25, 2007 at 6:33 pm

Joe Oii..just sell your Waja n buy Hilux asap..then u ll see..Hilux the most worst security system haha..easy to stole..

• Infinitt (Member) on Jun 25, 2007 at 6:36 pm

The Unicons said,

June 25, 2007 @ 8:47 am

Prem3377 & mr.proton.I agree.

Agree too..

• tec96248 (Member) on Jun 25, 2007 at 6:47 pm

agreed too. when i read this autoblog, i thought was interesting about automotives. but then found out more interesting, a lot of nonsenses and yet laughing at funny & weird comments. the most interesting is debating on P1 and P2. whahahahaha……

is more like bashing and defending competition then complaints, what u all think? hahaha.

• The Unicons (Member) on Jun 25, 2007 at 7:15 pm

To: Prem3377, mr.proton, Infinitt & tec96248

Never mind lah. Not Proton supporter but Just want Proton to do well if not more people will say Proton tut tut our money and so on. My RM1 opinion as I posted above. Haha….

TQ

• xstan (Member) on Jun 25, 2007 at 7:33 pm

Yup…luv & learn from the debating comments.

I really look forward for the improvisation on Proton & especially Waja. As said, if I can afford I'll go for Japs or Continantal Cars. But with my budget within RM70K Waja CPS is within my reach but then if its new price close RM70K I would rather add extra for the New Toyota Vios launching few month later to WajaCPS. Price factor here. I've no complaint on Proton as it never fail me over the years after having already own Proton Satria & 2 Units of Wira 1.3 & 1.5 fo 10 years already.Disposing my 1.5 Auto as the FC is high at RM0.22-0.25 per kM, nevertheless lower that Chevy.

I look forward for Mr Proton's view as against Joe's.

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Jun 25, 2007 at 7:37 pm

U know why a lot of p1 basher?

P1 strategy = Sell more, Earn more, Money come fast, Problems? Solve later..

competitors = Confirm any potential problem before new car sell, study the market, do polling on what people want most, safety issues, better durability, better quality, friendly on environment. more testing and QC in production.. before rolling out, calculate the price of the car and sell it at a strategic place..

Sound familiar? Is from the Toyota way book.. Has anyone told me got The Proton way book? LoL… Read it and implement in ur company.. Ur future will like protonians..

• The Unicons (Member) on Jun 25, 2007 at 7:47 pm

To xstan. Haha…. today I agree with so many peoples' comments including yours. Proton is not a "bad" car.

Perhaps you can wait for a while until the new generation of Toyota Vios launches as there will be 3 variants mainly J, E and G. J is the base line model. If not mistaken J comes with 1 driver airbag, ABS with front disc brake and rear drum.

So, stay tune.

• quest (Member) on Jun 25, 2007 at 7:55 pm

Different look, same JUNK.

I missed a few weeks, what is CPS?

But seriously, whether twin looking exhaust pipe of single, if it's junk, it's still junk.

Can anyone help me with what CPS is?

• The Unicons (Member) on Jun 25, 2007 at 8:04 pm

To quest. CPS = Cam Profile Switching, comes with Variable Valve Timing which can be found in VVT-i or i-VTEC.

That's all I want to explain as for you sure you will say it's a junk. So, I don't want to explain to much as it will wasting my time. Hahaha….

• Kalam (Member) on Jun 26, 2007 at 1:29 am

Dare to Change ? Tidur jangan mimpi apa-apa ! Unless Waja quality issue has been solved…(more than 100 category – start from high noise and vibration of cabin,wind noise at high speed, poorly accelerated engine, high fuel consumption, gearbox failures, poor finishing, uneven gap of door,boot and bonet (use 10 sen coin to check), substandard accessories such as air cond, radio, sensors etc, poor wire harness layout (you can see colorful wires not fixed ) famous power windows, substandard brake pads, substandard brake pumps etc-etc…

Sudah 3 kali kena tipu dengan proton – pakai Saga. Wira dan Perdana… semuanya ada problem !

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Jun 26, 2007 at 2:05 am

Prem3377 said,

June 25, 2007 @ 12:52 am

hey joe ooi…dun simply just talk la k!!get ur facts right 1st!!yah i do agree proton has poor quality..but not as what u claim!!!

————–

Dude, already make clarification it is my personal opinion! And explain also on the different between opinion and facts from legal perspective. Yes you can disagree on what I claim as per my personal opinion as this is "one-off naked eye observation", not back up by convincing scientific proof as mentioned by you!

This is the level of intellectual argument put forward by you that is backup by scientific evidents, therefore it is acceptable to me if my opinioon is not consistent with the facts. Facts always take precedent over opinions!

• xstan (Member) on Jun 26, 2007 at 2:41 am

Kalam….all the problems u mentioned are of other models lah..mainly Gen2. Present Waja Campro has minimise its problem. Different car made of Proton encounter diff parts problem & most have improved. U seems to list all (incld Gen2 to Saga) down under Waja Campro..check it out Waja Campro not Mitsu engine. The earlier version model do gave problems but not present unit. Well as said..once Basher all time Basher. Too bad Kalam u r not top basher..ur facts not right.

• kei9 (Member) on Jun 26, 2007 at 5:29 am

its called trial and error……

1st thing on it it not good but it kept improving….

• cyborgx (Member) on Jun 26, 2007 at 6:22 am

lol kesian kalam. I thought 2 times already enuf to make ppl backoff from such product. You need to kena 3 times baru sedar? haha.

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Jun 26, 2007 at 8:19 am

kei9 said,

June 25, 2007 @ 9:29 pm

its called trial and error……

1st thing on it it not good but it kept improving….

——————–

Only R & D truely can improve any new products. Mercs spend more than USD 3 Billion annually for R & D in order to come out with trend setter and sometime ahead of its competitor that fascinating the motoring world!

Trial and error! Huh, such high investment techno chic products based on this crap way will definitely have 101 problems come with this product.

Do you really have basic understanding and know how to differentiate between "trial & error" and "R & D"! Don't post crap statement that "pollute" PT Blog!

• cetait (Member) on Jun 26, 2007 at 12:54 pm

#

LittleFire85 said,

June 25, 2007 @ 11:37 am

competitors = Confirm any potential problem before new car sell, study the market, do polling on what people want most, safety issues, better durability, better quality, friendly on environment. more testing and QC in production.. before rolling out, calculate the price of the car and sell it at a strategic place..

Sound familiar? Is from the Toyota way book.. Has anyone told me got The Proton way book? LoL… Read it and implement in ur company.. Ur future will like protonians..

——

1. Get Govt to finance your startup with taxpayer money.

2. Have Govt enact legislation giving you major market advantage. Then buy some outdated technology from foreign company.

3. Begin making outdated cars. Save Quality Control money and put into pocket.

4. Buy new mansion, buy self new Merc/BMW. now that you have money, can't be seen driving crappy local car.

5. Give all your cronies contracts no matter how overpriced/shoddy their work, they need mansions and mercs too.

6. Take half of R&D budget and put into pocket along with QC money. Kids want to study in London, wife and mistresses want new designer clothes.

7. Take other half of R&D budget and squander on half-baked ideas.

8. Uh-oh no R&D money, it's ok, don't need to update old designs for next year, people will still buy anyway cause no choice. Save lots of money by not improving safety, styling, interior, while raising price.

9. MAKAN MAKAN MAKAN

10. Go to step 2 and repeat.

• kei9 (Member) on Jun 26, 2007 at 10:44 pm

how bout you then? crap…

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Jun 27, 2007 at 2:08 am

Feel offended, OK lah dude, So I retract back the "crap"! You have your own opinion and always can disagree with me. Just maintain your "trial and error" argument! That is your right.

• sacker85 (Member) on Jun 28, 2007 at 3:05 am

haiya, face the true la, proton is going down,proton is going down,proton is going down,proton is going down,proton is going down,proton is going down,proton is going down,proton is going down,proton is going down,proton is going down,proton is going down,proton is going down,proton is going down,proton is going down,proton is going down,proton is going down,proton is going down,proton is going down,proton is going down, yeah! NO BASH NO IMPROVEMENT , THAT IS TRUE, V ARE D CONSUMERS,IS ANY 1 OF THE CONSUMERS WANTED TO BUY A OUTDATED DSG CAR? HUH? ANY1?

JUST LOOK AT PROTON WIRA,IT'S A CETAK ROMPAK'S CHASIS AND SOLD` OVER 10 YEARS BUT IT'S STILL IN PRODUCTION LINE, WHAT DE HELL? THIS MEANS FAILURE AND THIS IS THE FACT

• jcw9960 (Member) on Jun 28, 2007 at 5:48 pm

The old lady still soldiers on. The Waja is approaching 10 years old now. Its time for a make-over. Proton's done a decent job with the Satria NEO (though its pretty much the same car underneath as the previous Satria). Lets see some of that work into the next-gen Waja.

I'm quite looking forward to the much-talked-about CPS Campro engine. All that hype when Campro was in the making didn't amount to much when it appreared first in the Gen2. I had a go at both the 1.3 and 1.6 versions over couple of weeks and I'm not impressed. There's a distinct lack of torque in city driving (its OK on the highway), its very noisy and isn't fuel-efficient enough. I much prefer the old 1.6 Mitsubishi-sourced engines, especially the ones fitted to the old Wiras. The 1.3 Campro was no better – very lethargic, noisy and no better on fuel compared to its 1.6 version. Dissapointing.

In contrast, the Myvi's 1.3 is sweet. So much better than the 1.3 Campro.

The Savvy's 1.2 is good too – fiesty little bugger that's ready to pick a fight with bigger cars.

So, the 10 years taken to develop Campro…hmm…not impressed. Lets see what the CPS has to offer. I'm sure there's going to be improvements.

• kevyeoh (Member) on Aug 03, 2007 at 4:08 pm

anyone got any updates on this new Waja with campro CPS?

i really hope it’s not going to be another fake rumours….

• Lim TT on Sep 28, 2009 at 10:52 pm

OMG, another piece of Junk on the road.

• yeong ngiap on Apr 17, 2010 at 11:24 pm

My proton Wajah 1.6 2004 model is having problem with high fuel consumption.
    Any ideas what is the cause and how to rectify it ?