2012 Honda Integra to come with 700cc engine and twin clutch gearbox – yes, it’s a bike not a car!

Honda is bringing back the name Honda Integra to one of its products, but unfortunately it’s not the sports coupe with the screaming high-revving engine that we used to know and love. The 2012 Honda Integra is actually a motorcycle with a scooter-ish riding position which puts the rider’s feet further forward than a motorcycle.

The new Honda Integra uses a 51 hp water-cooled 700cc inline-two engine, which Honda says offers the compact dimensions of an inline engine and the character of a V-twin thanks to a 270 degree throw crankshaft. It’s a long-stroke engine, with a 73 mm x 80 mm bore-stroke ratio for its cylinders, so this should generally mean an engine designed to provide lots of low to mid end torque instead of being a screamer, which should suit this kind of bike.

The Integra also gets a second-generation Dual Clutch Transmission which is lighter and more compact than the version first used in the VFR1200F. It has a simplified hydraulic circuit, among other design enhancements. A learning function has been added to each selected running mode to detect a variety of riding environments from city streets to mountain passes and automatically performs the most suitable shift logic. You can also stick to a 6-speed manual if you want.

Honda estimates a fuel economy of 27 km/L for the Integra. Being a bike instead of a car, the new Honda Integra will debut at the 69th EICMA International Motorcycle Exhibition instead of the upcoming Tokyo Motor Show.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Terence on Oct 26, 2011 at 6:01 pm

WHAT??!!!

• Alpha on Oct 26, 2011 at 7:44 pm

As a DC5 owner,I’m mortified…

• hahaha, glass broken!

• donno on Oct 30, 2011 at 10:10 pm

If you are a true Honda fan, DC5 owner, you should know that the 1st Honda Integra is NOT a car, but a motorcycle.

FYI i own the 1st Honda Integra, a 1984 Honda VT250F Integra MC08, and yes it is a motorcycle, and you can find a few stil running around in Malaysia.

There are other nameplates that honda uses on a motorcycle before putting it on a car, some of it are the Jazz and the Stream to name a few…

• mehh…malaysia superbikes price are too high anyway..
      stupid G…nak kurangkan congestion kat bandar…
      turunkan la tax superbike…ingat ramai sangat orang teringin nak pakai cubcai ke…

• yes honda! next please make EX5 to a car

• Terence on Oct 26, 2011 at 6:02 pm

WHAT??!!

• i read the front of the title i was like fk yeahhhh…..and then i cont reading i was like mehhh

• honda dis’integra’ted

• FXXXer on Oct 26, 2011 at 7:06 pm

Hope Honda is not moving the Integra name from car to scooter, otherwise I must say: R.I.P. Honda Integra…….

• LOL

• modomodo on Oct 26, 2011 at 6:19 pm

What the fish!!!!

• altec on Oct 26, 2011 at 6:23 pm

Honda so good at trolling us.

• what tha heck on Oct 26, 2011 at 6:23 pm

hondowngrade disintegrated….honda kill its own model reputation…what next, honda s2000 scooter, honda nsx lawnmower etc

• Anti-Honda on Oct 26, 2011 at 6:59 pm

What next, Honda Civic superbike, Honda Accord tractor, Honda City scooter etc…

I prefer Subaru or Lexus over Honda.

• LOL LOL on Oct 26, 2011 at 7:25 pm

…and also honda civic generator set i-vtec for kampung houses, and also honda city hybrid water pump for car wash :D

• Chris on Oct 27, 2011 at 12:43 am

I’m waiting for a Honda Shadow roadster :D

Maybe they’ll release a Honda EX5 convertible to fight with Mazda MX5 :D :D

• OR Honda CBR1000RR supercar!!!

• fatty ah beng on Oct 26, 2011 at 6:26 pm

nice… :D

• xavier lert on Oct 26, 2011 at 6:36 pm

sad : (

• RadzLee on Oct 26, 2011 at 6:49 pm

No No No No NOooooOOOOOoooo…. T_T

• LOL LOL on Oct 26, 2011 at 7:13 pm

mat rempit say : vtec just kicked in yo!
    joking lah, jz wana trolling around ;)

• hondayoukilledintegra on Oct 26, 2011 at 7:33 pm

end of the world, 2012 is really happening. gg.com

• HAHAHAHAHAHAHAH!!!

• I think honda is in its dodobird years again. The last time it happened was when it made the Stupid looking prelude BB!

• When all honda cars cannot sell anymore, Honda accord, civic, city all become motorbikes and sccoters. ahahaha. Boon siew Honda accord!

• Honda Power on Oct 27, 2011 at 12:31 am

RSI again. All you do is bash Honda. I am here to bash you back. For every bashing comment you post about Honda, I am going to bash you back. Read my name, I am Honda Power! Got it?

• Honda where got power liao nowadays? :(

• sukasuki on Oct 27, 2011 at 12:33 pm

LALALALALALALAAAAAA~~~~ sukahati kami la maw bash? lu apa kesah??

• ojaykb on Oct 27, 2011 at 1:33 pm

ntah pa2…

• jay8393 on Oct 27, 2011 at 7:04 pm

I am a Honda fan as well, but using the Integra name on a bike is just a huge joke. Just when I thought things would not get worse when they scrapped plans for a new NSX this came along…

• Honda Power on Oct 27, 2011 at 1:02 am

Come on, RSI and you Honda bashers out there. Bash all you want. Honda is just going to laugh at your immature and stupid comments. First you bash Honda cars, now you bash Honda motorbikes. All you know to do is bash. Honda wants to use Integra for its motorbike, that’s its right. You are behaving like small kids. Shame on you bashers!

• Steve on Oct 27, 2011 at 3:59 pm

sorry but the issue is not the motorbike. it’s why use the name ‘INTEGRA’ when its supposed to be a high performance, rev happy sports car.

• nebula87 on Oct 27, 2011 at 3:27 am

Where the hell is my fav Honda Integra with 4 wheels…!!!!!?????

• drMpower on Oct 27, 2011 at 6:35 am

i was told theres no engineering synergy between producing bikes and cars
    and there is no way both can co exist
    by some sleepy head and a pingu

• Masked Ryder on Oct 27, 2011 at 6:52 am

Maybe these Korean loser fanboy is riding Honda Cupcai themself, at best that cheapo Korean made Naza Blade.

• albag on Oct 27, 2011 at 7:44 am

so that’s what we call engine downsize and Honda takes it even further from 4 wheels to 2 wheels… nice one Honda!

• phantom_works on Oct 27, 2011 at 8:51 am

Maybe they can apply not just their legendary model name such as integra into bike; why not apply a VTEC technology into kapchai? can’t imagine kapchai with ‘pranggggg’ sound with mat rempit screaming VTEC kickin y’all..lol XD…

• ThePolygon on Oct 27, 2011 at 9:12 am

I hope the next Skyline is still a car.

• Yuzdi on Oct 27, 2011 at 9:42 am

Cost cutting. Lack of parts due to tsunami in Japan and floods in Thailand. U only get 2 wheels, 2 seater, 1 headlight, 1 brake light, no air-cond. But u still get auto transmission. U shud b hepi maa

• Rob King on Oct 27, 2011 at 10:37 am

Its almost a motorcycle, but not quite. I think 700cc with a scooter riding position would not be a great ride…

• andrewk on Oct 27, 2011 at 10:38 am

Looks like a silver wing got together with a pacific coast and produced this!!

• Honda Enthusiatics on Oct 27, 2011 at 11:34 am

Integra is a car.Its a shame if you turned a big legacy into just a scooter!!!!

• Honda Enthusiatics on Oct 27, 2011 at 11:35 am

What next? Honda CBR Coupe?

• I miss the 90s. Honda with their EGs, EKs, Integras, Preludes & NSXs. Toyota with their Levins, Starlet Turbos, MR2s & Supras. Mazda with their rotary engines & MX5s. Nissan with the Fairlady(s), Silvias & Skylines. Even Proton comes out with Putra.

No wonder Golf GTI (& 350Z in the 00s) are selling like hotcakes. The alternatives are either too niche, too track-focused, not value for money or does not exist anymore. :(

I think the older generation will reminisce the 80s & 70s fondly as well.

• teelim on Oct 27, 2011 at 11:47 am

HONDA!! Why You No Make REAL Integra!

Why you play around with Integra name instead?!? *facepalm*

• Skunk2 on Oct 27, 2011 at 12:09 pm

honda civic eg & ek still the best…

• with rising population, rising fuel cost, rising cost of living, new growth in the most populous and congested part of the world like china, india, indonesia, brazil. I think honda is heading towards the right direction.

• BMW POWER FOREVER on Oct 27, 2011 at 3:11 pm

bad name choice. great looking bike.

• arcana on Oct 27, 2011 at 10:02 pm

oh yeah…..the next thing we know
    u got Honda Integra Type R 2 wheels edition….
    they just killed a legendary name in Honda stable by doing this.

• donno on Oct 30, 2011 at 10:16 pm

To all of you guys honda fan wannabe…

The 1st Honda Integra was not a car but a motorcycle!!!!!

I own the 1st honda integra, a 1984 Honda VT250F Integra MC08. And yes it is a motorcycle and there is still a few running around in Malaysia.

So the Integra name has come full circle…

Other Honda name such as the Jazz and the Stream is also 1st debuted on a motorcycle, before being put on a car…

• Wisdom on Oct 31, 2011 at 10:03 am

Looking forward for a Honda Accord microwave oven…

• 91_ls on Nov 11, 2011 at 10:02 am

This bike is nice, but Honda just screwed the Integra name up, i mean, what next?? The goldwing hatchback???