Volkswagen Jetta 1.4 TSI – first drive impressions

Showing all your cards at one go is a bit of a double-edged sword. It’s undoubtedly great for effect, where the blanket covers significant acreage in one swipe, and it also allows one to understand the philosophy and underlying values at work in much more complete fashion.

It can also prove to be a distraction, not so much for the person sampling the wares, but rather in how each is perceived – there’s a distinct difference in taking each on an individual basis, as opposed to when they’re all lumped together. The danger, of course, is that it ends up showing each other up in some areas, even if the products in question don’t ply their wares in the same category and class.

Such was the case with the three vehicle spread that Volkswagen Group Malaysia launched a couple of weeks ago. The Passat 1.8 TSI, Jetta 1.4 TSI and Cross Touran 1.4 TSI are markedly dissimilar in tone, even if they do share common family traits in behaviour and characteristics. By the end of a two-day drive, however, there was much to be gleaned subjectively as there was objectively.

To improve clarity, we’ve decided to separate the first impressions of the trio into three individual pieces. Granted, there’ll still be observations on each vis-a-vis, especially with regards to the Jetta and Passat, but let’s see if we can dissect and take each on their own strengths and make it easier reading than together as a collective whole.

Full report after the jump.

The drive, which took us to Penang and back, began with the Jetta sedan. Equipped with a 1.4 TSI twin-charged mill offering 160 PS at 5,800 rpm and 240 Nm from 1,500 to 4,500 rpm, mated to a seven-speed DSG tranny, the sixth-generation Jetta – which is made in Mexico – is tagged by VGM as the most powerful sedan in its category.

For RM149,888 (on the road, without insurance), the A6, Typ 1K is equipped fairly well enough, though a bit on the sedate side. There are no Xenons and corresponding LED DRLs, but the on-board kit is more than serviceable.

Not much where the exterior is concerned. The headlamps are of the halogen variety, you get front foglamps, twin exhaust tailpipes and Navarra 16-inch five-spoke alloys shod with 205/55 series tyres, and that just about sums it up with this one, which is 90 mm longer than the previous generation model.

You do get a number of exterior shades to pick from, eight in this case, made up of two solid (Candy White and Tornado Red, the last as seen on the Golf GTI), five metallic (Platinum Grey, Silver Leaf, Reflex Silver, Toffee Brown and Tempest Blue) and a single pearl effect colour (Deep Black).

It’s all in keeping with the presentation – the exterior shape, which VW is proud to say doesn’t share any common panels with the Golf Mk VI (and thus, should not be viewed as a Golf with a boot, so it goes!), has an austerity about it, much of it to do with the strong shoulder line, which is supposed to make the car look lower and to lend it better athleticism.

I wouldn’t go as far as to call the Jetta sporty; the simplest way to describe it would be that it’s all business-like with this one. I quite like the rear though – there’s a fair bit of Audi A4 in there, especially with the rear lamp arrangement.

Interior items include a Climatronic air-conditioning system with two-zone temperature control, a RCD310 audio system, a three-spoke leather steering wheel with paddle shifters, Park Distance Control (PDC) for the front and rear, rain sensing wipers, cruise control and seats covered in ‘Sienna’ fabric. There’s less sense of occasion compared to the Passat, but that’s pretty much to be expected.

In the safety department, there’s the usual mix of ABS, EBD and BA, as well as TCS and ESP, and six airbags (front, front side and front/rear curtain), Isofix points on the rear seats and Hill-hold control. Elsewhere, other numbers for the car include 510 litres of boot space, an 8.3 seconds 0-100 km/h sprint time, a top speed of 221 km/h and a combined fuel consumption of 6.0 litres per 100 km.

Despite its 1,417 kg kerb mass, the Jetta never felt sluggish – it’s no rocket, but what it serves up should be pacy enough for most in this segment. The 1.4 TSI mill was its eager and willing self, as is the case with the mill, and that willingness to run offers the car good midband energy. During the drive up to Ipoh, getting back to higher running speeds from the more sedentary moments at 120-130 km/h, to accommodate slower overtaking traffic, was never an issue.

Some thoughts about the car’s suspension. In terms of ride and handling, I thought it was the best balanced of the trio, sitting midway in how it presents things in terms of compliancy and performance, hinting on the side of firm. At the higher end of the speed spectrum, all three vehicles have a sterling composure about them, as expected of the breed, but across a wider speed range and conditions, it is the Jetta’s that remains the most uniform and appealing.

This lends the car the best drivability of the lot, with the overall tone being brisk, dynamic and even cheerful in character, something you wouldn’t expect as you give the exterior the twice over when you walk up to the car.

You can even push it into corners and come out feeling very respectable, the steering is quite precise and the car fairly grippy, though the caveat is measured sensibility and commitment once in – the suspension, in what is just about its only less than desirable moment, comes undone if you carry too much speed in and attempt to correct midway. All lovely if you think those big pitch and wobble moments are great giggly fun, less so if you happen to have folks strapped on at the back. I had fun, but can’t say it wasn’t hairy.

Of course, like as with all good, no-nonsense family sedans, this isn’t what most Jetta owners are likely to do, be a bit scatter-brained about it all. Away from those hijinks moments, which should theoretically be few and far in between, the car accomplishes its intended brief very respectably – the thing is, you come up to it expecting less than what you eventually get, from a driving point of view at least, and that surely can’t be a bad thing.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Coolken on Nov 04, 2011 at 5:49 pm

This car looks really boring.. As good as the engine sounds, i dun want to be seen driving this uncle car..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 37
    • as usual lah on Nov 04, 2011 at 5:54 pm

same here…hmmmm…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 29
    • well u can always convert it into a jetta GLI

http://paultan.org/2011/02/18/volkswagen-jetta-gli-is-the-golf-gti-with-a-boot/

• yeah..and for that kind of money..
      i would rather take honda accord..
      because the interior and exterior in this car is really….. b o r i n g

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 28
      • vwster on Nov 04, 2011 at 9:28 pm

I’m driving the predecessor and I’ve shamed countless Accord at the traffic light. You wanna be 1 of them?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 8
        • accord for me is one the best japan car around..
          just look at the review for it…even UK review praised the accord..
          come on i am not a fan really of japanese car..especially toyota..dugong=__=
          but accord is just a nice family car… the exteior is nice..interior is just awesome.. compared to this jetta..

but of course..vw tsi engine definitely the best engine around..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 5
          • Honda Power on Nov 05, 2011 at 10:07 am

Yes, I agreed with you. For almost RM150K, I’d rather buy Honda Accord 2.0 for about RM143K with RM7K more to spare. The Accord is really huge.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 15
          • gomok on Nov 05, 2011 at 12:50 pm

Feature wise, jetta is more than accord 2.0…dont try look at dashboard button, just browse in MFD.

• artworkz on Nov 07, 2011 at 1:36 am

did u remember 1 case of “My Honda Tak Guna” ?? hahaha

• ray-den-O on Nov 06, 2011 at 10:18 am

accord are shit…
            camry/altis/slyphy/teana/ better choice better cars…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 9
          • ron99 on Nov 09, 2011 at 9:35 pm

totally agree with you! accord quality is very bad

• accord owner are more mature than you do.

and i’m sure wira turbo shamed more vw vehicle than you did

• Pls have urself a more critical thinking … A fully tested vw cars and a jpj endorsed wira turbo ?? Can they b conpared ? If it happens to b comparable why theres still so many wira condemned in proton factory unsale? Can a turbo wira sustain a high enough top speed all the way like vw car ? In terms of money pay it cannot b argue , pls . No offence

• The ‘R’ version of the Jetta is more interesting…

• adultaver on Nov 04, 2011 at 6:42 pm

couldn’t agree more, it’s even More Boring than the good old Camry….and the number of incidents on the rather unreliable gearbox, why should anyone risk trying one..

• rally_fan on Nov 15, 2011 at 3:47 pm

5 year unlimited mileage warranty.. includes the gearbox. VW sells millions of cars with DSG since they first adopted it.. does a few incidents with the gearbox means its unreliable?

• Only fuel consumption figure intrigued me, nothing more…

• gomok on Nov 04, 2011 at 7:22 pm

Msian people tasteless, they just prefer spaceship dashboard and fancy2 design. Suspension, engine and gearbox they dont care….that is why T & H always make money frim tasteless people…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 0
      • BeemerFreak on Nov 04, 2011 at 8:09 pm

Agreed. Somehow i Prefer to be in something that look stupid and when on the road, my performance make the others look stupid

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
        • RedBeanBun on Nov 05, 2011 at 12:40 am

ya ya, driving a fast ugly car so no one can see the car ugly :P

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 17
          • VWsupporter on Apr 27, 2012 at 12:19 am

understood how you feel and think. can’t blame you as you are not that level yet.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 1
      • Landen on Nov 04, 2011 at 8:54 pm

Tasteless? So in your context, someone with taste is the one who choose continental car?

• The Enthusiast on Nov 04, 2011 at 9:25 pm

I think he’s referring to those who tend to go overboard with their car mods. You gotta admit, some do tend to go a bit excessively.

• Its called being smart.. We buy car for ourselve not for others to enjoy… So if our taste want fancy design over performance so what?

• franksz on Nov 05, 2011 at 11:48 pm

so you’re saying this boring exterior is so tasteful, really funny

• ahmad loy on Jun 20, 2012 at 3:38 pm

..I do agreed with you, very good analyse..even Toyota Altis 1.8G 2012 can’t beat VW Polo Sedan 1.6L MPI CBU made in India.

• 508 is comparable to a mercedes, quality, performance, luxury, drive, comfort. jetta is an every ones car

• Suren on May 20, 2012 at 4:44 am

Hye guys,

I just test drove both the Pug 308 Turbo and VW Jetta. Segments aside, I am more concerned with cars below RM150K. To start off, the Jetta driving experience was a sheer driving pleasure. From acceleration response, gear shifting to engine quietness; it was splendid. Tried the paddle shift feature and it was awesome! without realizing I was clocking 185km/h on JB road (the stretch from VW to Danga Bay). I am a big fan of paddle shift and this car really met my expectations… Handling was quite sturdy too, no lags and responsive when you need them… I was worming between lane 1 and 3.. ;)

The interior and exterior may look ‘outdated’ but to me its rather practical. The ‘hidden’ USB/AUX and tabs to conceal ISOFIX points was quite nice. The seats may look cheap but once you are driving the car, you’ll forget all about the seats.
      If only VW had changed the daylights with Audi-like LEDs, cleaner/single tone seat fabric and throw in a full bodykit; its a package that will make eyes turn!

On a end note, this car is a much better drive than the Pug 308 turbo.

Before making any comments on this car, I would suggest you have to test drive it first..
      It does make the difference :)

BTW, I’m 25 and I got no issues with the car’s looks… :D

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 1
      • Yovaraj on Nov 18, 2012 at 4:25 am

Owning a Polo Sport Tsi 1.2… I was in the middle of choosing Honda Civic 1.8s-l, altis , fiesta, and polo. I had test drived altis, civic and Polo (eliminated Fiesta). I found for a lower cc of 1.2 with twin charge, it is extremely worth for money and the driving experience was indescribable . Eventhough there is CVT tech in Altis, it really stand below somewhere at the bottom compared to the DSG of Polo. The sound prove of the car where I only can hear the aircond is blowing. Anyway, this is my first car, and my first continental car, and the smallest VW car, so, I believe the qualities and performances are exponential to the larger version of VW if you get what I mean compared to any other Asian cars at the moment. P/s: by the way, I’m a Honda civic FD model crazy fan but end up with Polo.. Hehe..

• RadzLee on Nov 04, 2011 at 5:55 pm

the looks so much beefier in the adds… =(

• Boring car and it Need bodykit !!!

• VGM have confirm Cruise Control is not available for those customer unit.

How about the CKD program (CKD prices) and also seemingly higher Jetta price compare to rest of the world’s Jetta.

• Gavin on Nov 04, 2011 at 6:24 pm

Basically in summary point A to point B car

• hippo on Nov 04, 2011 at 6:37 pm

The car interior is very dull, reminds me of 80’s car. Wonder who will buy

• odi862 on Nov 04, 2011 at 6:54 pm

Except for the engine figures, the rest not very impressive. It won’t hurt VW if they throw in some gadgets. Maybe in the midlife facelift?

• gomok on Nov 05, 2011 at 12:57 pm

What gadget u want? This jetta is more gadget than accord 2.0 and camry…no need to compare with civic and altis

• gomok on Nov 05, 2011 at 9:38 pm

Come on la, dont simply click dont like…..hhhahahaa, list down all gadgets that camry and accord 2.0 got……hhahaahahaa, scared ka?

Typical Msian la, less button meaning less gadgets….hahahahaha, nowdays hp also less button la…….get a live la dude……

• Leon Loke on Nov 04, 2011 at 7:05 pm

Boring is the word meant for Jetta. How to justified the purchase of this car with this kind of trim quality than can only match by the BLM Saga. One will be very surprise or even stunned with the quality of the interior fitting that is GERMAN. Infact , we have created much attention to purchase the Jetta, however after seeing the car , many are turned off by it. Some are comparing it with the Golf, some are looking 508 with a much prestige interior. The decision the buy the car was put off.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 9
    • gomok on Nov 04, 2011 at 8:10 pm

Trim quality match with BLM? Hahahahaha, jokes of the year…….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
      • Zippy Polo on Jan 10, 2012 at 11:05 pm

U got to be kidding me… Jetta compare to the BLM… Helooooo !!!!

• BeemerFreak on Nov 04, 2011 at 8:12 pm

This compared to BLM saga junk, i’d rather get a bicycle. Damn no face to be seen in a BLM. Imagine you are 30 and you come out of a BLM, the only word to describe u is failure in life…. damn bloody unsuccessful and no drive for excellence.

Thumbs down for all u like people… but the truth is the truth and the truth always hurts

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 22
      • Mr Wancer on Nov 04, 2011 at 9:30 pm

I rather drive a BLM and live in a comfortable 500k property.

Not everyone can be ‘like’ you. If everyone can become ‘rich’ like you then who is going to do your laundry, do your garbage, wash your car, wash your disgusting ‘arse’…

People who loves looking down @ other people are normally the ones have less friends and become a keyboard warrior on the net.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
      • Oh really “beemerfreak”? Btw do u really own a beemer? DOUBT IT ;)

• fique D on Nov 06, 2011 at 6:28 am

he owned beemer of coz…. fully mods liao… in need 4 speed games actually… nerd!get life..

• i own mclaren mp4-12c in my real racing iphone games..
            so i won :)

• autojohndoe on Nov 04, 2011 at 10:49 pm

my boss have several houses, have some businesses, a petrol station… and he has a BLM… so what?

• Expatriate VN on Nov 06, 2011 at 8:41 pm

Ha, ha,………………. I think your boss is typical “Chinamen” style damn stingy look at 5 sen big like bullock cart wheel!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 7
      • Basikal_Buruk on Nov 04, 2011 at 11:39 pm

You determine someone’s success in life by looking at their car? Sorry, I doubt it sir. I’ve met professionals driving “junk” cars. They don’t care what car they drive, as long as they can contribute to the community with their knowledge and skill rather than showing off.

By the way, with the intelligence of yours from your comment, I really doubt you have a Beemer. Maybe you are the one that is driving that “junk”.

• You place too much value on image alone.

• nebula87 on Nov 05, 2011 at 1:02 am

dont say like that…cars depreciate values…
        if really rich ppl only buy expensive car, and dont critic those poor that can only afford a saga blm…
        and watch ur words…

• Cars2lover on Nov 05, 2011 at 2:04 pm

this beemer freak has E36 with all 2nd spare part inside, i think.

• droll on Nov 05, 2011 at 1:12 am

how old are you?

• VWsupporter on Apr 27, 2012 at 12:21 am

fren. depends where u are coming from la..

• gomok on Nov 04, 2011 at 7:36 pm

This boring car, increase sale 74% in US compare with previous jetta…

• Rambo on Nov 08, 2011 at 12:48 am

This is not the US, different market and different pricing startegy…

Tell me gomok, since u are a VW salesman…why should we buy this car?

The Golf TSI is a golf….this is boring boring jetta….no legacy, no history…..16″ rims, silly fabrix texture, halogen light, no LED, boring entry level japanese like interior for 145k++…Where is your market analysis over competitors and strength other than “TSI” and “DSG”??

Your Marketing Team should be fired!!

• quality is the eye of the beholder! Every person have different view and priorities. The thing that important to you may not significant for others. You may perceive design is so important where others prefer technology and performance. Quality have many dimensions i.e performance (the core technology= engine), features (secondary), reliability, durability, serviceability, reputation/image. The level of important for every dimension is difference for difference group of people based on their education level, social class etc. So never force others to accept your opinion because our need and want is difference.

• Zahar on Nov 04, 2011 at 7:40 pm

What this car needs is 18″ wheels like the test units running around Klang Valley prior to its launch. Can help but feel shortchanged when I saw the car in the showroom looking so “uncle” and “dainty” at the same time with minute 16″ wheels which can be deal breakers (in my case, at least).

• I agree.no trade in for current wheels.VW offers dual tone 16″ RM1400/pce. quite a bit of money for nice looking wheels

• BMW POWER FOREVER on Nov 04, 2011 at 7:57 pm

i rather have the golf thank you.

• BMW POWER FOREVER on Nov 04, 2011 at 8:01 pm

does the malaysian version come with four-link suspension instead of torsion beam?

• Merc=Real Euro on Nov 04, 2011 at 9:37 pm

torsion beam…for malaysia model ….. independent four link suspension is too expensive to offer for a car costing 149K++….

• jetta or passat? on Nov 05, 2011 at 9:12 am

it should be multi-link here
        torsion beam only for american market
        we are getting the euro version

• gomok on Nov 05, 2011 at 10:50 am

That is our problem, never go to show room even test drive, simply say torsion beam….ello this jetta using multilink suspension….

• gomok on Nov 04, 2011 at 9:59 pm

Independent suspension bro….torsion beam for tasteless people only…

• Civic 1.8 Sport rims. *sigh*

• gomok on Nov 04, 2011 at 9:39 pm

Audi A4 tyres sighhhhh

• Honda Power on Nov 05, 2011 at 10:14 am

Looks more like my Honda City i-VTEC Grade S rims. LOL. I was amused that an almost RM150K car can have rims like Honda City i-VTEC Grade S which is the cheapest Honda car in Malaysia. This VW Jetta surely won’t sell well. T, H and N salesmen are smiling now knowing that their car sales won’t be affected by this overpriced German car!

• gomok on Nov 05, 2011 at 11:40 am

Same look doesnt mean same quality…..ciplak LV vs LV….your call sir….

• Adrian on Nov 05, 2011 at 9:15 pm

Not really smiling… No stocks for now due to floods. And plenty of the sales ppl are flocking to VW for jobs..

• november RM101k which i bought at 2008. n i bought jetta 2011. i pump RM100 (RON 95) can go for 750km but accord only 480km. somemore accord got a lot of problem.Driveshaft,absorber,power pump,arm and manything i spent a lot of money to repair. accord 2.0 is under power…..

• u better test try jetta and accord b4 u comment.i just sold my accord 2.0 at november RM101k which i bought at 2008. n i bought jetta 2011. i pump RM100 (RON 95) can go for 750km but accord only 480km. somemore accord got a lot of problem.Driveshaft,absorber,power pump,arm and manything i spent a lot of money to repair. accord 2.0 is under power…..

• satrian on Jan 04, 2012 at 8:20 pm

Hi Mr Jack…….

Currently im driving Camry 2009 2.0 g spec…..thinking to push the car and getting eithre used 2009/10 bmw e90 or this brand new jetta. i test drive the car and everthing lovely like people say dont judge the book by the cover…

Bro wats ur personal opinion about this car? and so far the camry dont have any prob and my self just feel boring driving bulky car……

• Masked ryder on Nov 04, 2011 at 8:31 pm

UMW, DRB, TCM, sales staff is smilling, with this VW can tapau already.

Not a single reason people would chose this. zzz.zzz.ZZZZ

• think on Nov 04, 2011 at 8:36 pm

Even myvi got leather seat,accord and camry also got how to compete summore its not cheap to mantain

• kenot on Nov 04, 2011 at 8:39 pm

look overhang…

• Merc=Real Euro on Nov 04, 2011 at 8:53 pm

The only issue I have with Jetta is DSG….reliability is questionable..and
    worse of all the price 149K, Everybody know cars are expensive due to tax and duties in malaysia but selling 149K is gone beyond that . It should be priced around 120K.
    A car that cost 149K ++ I would expect minimum HID…..

• droll on Nov 05, 2011 at 1:13 am

for the sake of the point you mentioned, let’s hope the CKD version can hit a sweet spot in pricing then.

since jetta is a boring point a to point b car, i wonder what the maintenance cost will be like. will it be GERMAN-like expensive??

• h4dRi on Nov 04, 2011 at 9:00 pm

will those driving german made vw think this jetta is worthy wearing vw badge?

• afabar71 on Nov 04, 2011 at 9:26 pm

i just wonder , this is 150 K car , i m expecting more from it,, for instance gps system , start button , leather seat , i gues that s to much for malaysian buyers , this car is designed for performance and compromising other aspects obviously interior acessories,

• gomok on Nov 05, 2011 at 10:54 am

How about accord and camry? Got gps? Got 6 airbag? Twincharger? Ayoyoyo

• gomok on Nov 05, 2011 at 12:55 pm

Feuture wise, jetta have a lot than accord 2.0 and camry 2.0….and this feature u can find in MFD which is u can change via steering control….no need physical button in dashboard…

• Mr Wancer on Nov 04, 2011 at 9:34 pm

No doubt car is good in terms of quality, handling and performance wise…

Other than that, based on the specs given to us @ RM149k, this car does not really worth it. No leather seats, no HID / Xenon lamps, no simple body kits to make car more attractive than boring. RM120k @ best if you ask me.

• matrxe on Nov 05, 2011 at 7:35 am

Right on.. I used to have a 1995 golf mk3 and driven some other newer VWs. No doubt the quality,and finish are top mark but they are not without issues. It is a plain standard car and it is what it is. Slapping another 30K just because it is a continental is like taking a piss at us Malaysians.

• hyundai rules on Nov 04, 2011 at 9:38 pm

In a country where looks matter most and vehicle prices are blood sucking….VW will not appeal to the mass market!!! Like the tech but the look really turns me off. Not gonna waste RM150k for a ‘biasa-biasa’ look of jetta. No wonder why a friend studying in Germany says VW and Proton have one thing in common-VW to Germans is like what Proton is to malaysians…yet their cars hv premium price tags here!!! Save your hard-earned money guyz!!!

• gomok on Nov 05, 2011 at 12:47 pm

Hyundai in korea also biasa-biasa….but here owner think their hyundai is superior than others……

• kusochon on Aug 13, 2012 at 6:42 pm

it’s not just biasa-biasa… it’s shit. korean shit.

• didn’t u see the video clip or VW CEO Martin Winterkorn checking out a Hyundai i30?

Well here it is: http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=YpPNVSQmR5c

I’m no fan of Korean cars, but don’t be a german car plastic fanboy. Not everything Germany shits out is great. Malaysia is a funny place where we think Honda’s and Toyota’s gives us the best resell value. But what they don’t see is DRB and UMW is feeding us crap cars. Low specs, high price. Koreans are doing a great job buy keeping specs high, and cost low.

We gotta open our minds to newer things.

• tiadaid on Nov 04, 2011 at 9:41 pm

Anthony, if we put bootspace considerations aside, which one would you choose, the Golf that costs an extra 6K or the Jetta?

• Anthony Lim (Member) on Nov 05, 2011 at 3:45 am

Personally, I’d take the Golf TSI, but that’s me and personal preference – I’ve been on hatches for yonks. The previous three were, the current one is. :)

• Abg O on Nov 07, 2011 at 8:00 pm

Haiyo.. U punya bunga lagi byk meh. Lagi tak paham.. Actually i tgh plan between prius or jetta. N of course nowdays, mileage + fuel saving factors really important. If jetta can give more fuel efficiency + low maintenance than prius, why not.

• The Enthusiast on Nov 04, 2011 at 9:42 pm

One have to agree these VW trio (Jetta, Passat, Cross Touran) are dull looking because at the end of the day, one would prefer to drive in an attractive looking rather than driving with a particular brand name. Of course you can’t be continental cars in terms of ride and handling, and if Jeremy Clarkson is any indicator, one wouldn’t mind a dull looking car if it is unsuspectingly fast. But a bonkers-looking car with mind-blowing performance? That’s a catch. In this segment, VW is banking on its brand name and track record to promote their cars because honestly, there are better and cheaper cars of this segment out there. If you’re a fan of German cars, better stick to Audi, BMW, Merc-Benz instead.

• Gunner Buy A Car on Nov 04, 2011 at 9:58 pm

I agree with you guys….what a boring looking car…in 2 years, it will feel like a 10 years old car. Ride, handling and fuel consumption might be good but give us a car with the looks to go with it…149K is not cheap for most people, to be a successful, give us a package that looks and worth more than we pay for..

• Maserati on Nov 04, 2011 at 10:04 pm

Boring is the other for jetta.such a boring and uninspiring car.vgm is definately riding on its success of the golf gti. But this is a utter ripoff.

I rather get a civic 2.0 with cash to spare

• gomok on Nov 06, 2011 at 2:43 am

Civic 2.0 is more BORING slow engine, NVH very poor, less airbag, no MFD, no rain sensor, no twincharger, no auto lamp, no rear aicord, no air cooled glove box, no auto dim mirror, no tyre monitoring pressure, small rear space and list go on………

• gomok on Nov 06, 2011 at 4:03 am

More boring when inspira can ‘cucuk’ ur civic 2.0…hhahhaha. Look younger but speed like grandfather…..

• Anwar on Nov 04, 2011 at 10:48 pm

Compared to Passat, Jetta has a ‘cheap’ feeling due to lack of bi-xenon cornering lights and no leather seats. It’s also priced wrongly – similar price bracket like Camry & Accord 2.0. It should be priced around highest spec Corolla and Civic.

• gomok on Nov 05, 2011 at 10:46 am

6 airbag,, 7 speed DSG, twincharger, rear aircond, 8 speaker, DRL, MFD and german technology, yet u expect same price with civic and altis? Hahahaaha…what a joke

• VWsupporter on Apr 27, 2012 at 12:25 am

dude ..don simply compare la… sit in and drive and feel the quality first …if want to compare, compare with japanese car la….

• Chris on Nov 04, 2011 at 11:16 pm

2002 called, they want their car back.

• matrxe on Nov 04, 2011 at 11:28 pm

I think the price should be around civic-altis range to be competitive. My guess is that not many will touch this, depreciation value is going to be horrible.

• Victor on Nov 04, 2011 at 11:49 pm

Anthony,

You wrote “it’s no rocket”…

You must drive a Ferrari for your daily ride. I don’t think any Japanese car below RM200K can match its performance, especially in the real world.

Friend had a Camry 2.4. After the test drive he commented – “damn. My car feels so slow now”

BTW the other day a friend’s Civic 2.0 RS blew his piston trying to catch up with a Polo 1.2 up Genting. It’s all in the torgue.

Leather seats. I think it will shoot the price up if fully imported (taxes). They can’t fit the leather seats in Malaysia (unlike the Japanese) as there are airbags in the front seats.

So you want gaya or a face? LOL

To all those negative comments – try before you talk. You’ll think Honda and Toyota are the most boring cars and have ripped you off in the quality – even with the leather seats.

• Anthony Lim (Member) on Nov 05, 2011 at 3:39 am

Victor,

If you take the entire para in its entirety, you’ll get what I mean:

‘Despite its 1,417 kg kerb mass, the Jetta never felt sluggish – it’s no rocket, but what it serves up should be pacy enough for most in this segment. The 1.4 TSI mill was its eager and willing self, as is the case with the mill, and that willingness to run offers the car good midband energy. During the drive up to Ipoh, getting back to higher running speeds from the more sedentary moments at 120-130 km/h, to accommodate slower overtaking traffic, was never an issue.’

Never said it was slow. Far be from it. It is fast, just doesn’t feel it coming off the line. To wit, we can go back to something like the Fiat Abarth Ritmo 130 TC from 1984. Only 130 horses and a shade under 8 secs to the century, but what poke from the get go, and uninhibitedly so. The Jetta’s delivery is not lacking, just inherently linear and shifted higher up the scale.

• adultaver on Nov 05, 2011 at 10:58 am

Mr.Victor,

I pretty sure you never drive a Ferrari before you commented above, if u do, u will 100% agree with mr.anthony’s statement that the Jetta 1.4 above “it’s no rocket”.

go test drive one and come back here later.

• Jimmy on Nov 04, 2011 at 11:52 pm

Majority youngsters, wanting young stuff.
    For people who really like VW, most will probably top up a little bit to get Passat. Jetta is good, but alang-alang. True?

• akupunya on Nov 05, 2011 at 12:37 am

for me…I like VW design.it looks like old style, but for me it is simple.
    no messy finishig and it shows tidy arrangement on the dashboard.
    this is not sport car, but it is for executive, high level family car and for educated people.
    I like VW.

• RedBeanBun on Nov 05, 2011 at 12:39 am

Honda sales man : Jetta RM149K? mmh….mmh….ok, i think we should be quite safe.

Toyota sales man: Jetta Rm149K? HA HA HA HA!!!

VW sales man: may the force be with us….Return of Jetta! (inside wonder….WTF? RM149K? I gota look for camry sales man job man!)

• Civic1.8L on Nov 05, 2011 at 12:51 am

everytime new cars launched, there must be these “Malaysians” keep on feedback negatively, non-competitive comments and complain complain complain only… but in reality, most of these “Malaysians” are not afford to own this… even worst, you guys are totally insane, how come comparing a continental car with a japanese/korean car or even a local proton/perodua car??? i believed most of the ppl feedback here has really no knowledge of outside world other than only in malaysia… no doubt buying a car in malaysia is expensive but do you know owning a car long term in malaysia is cheaper than overseas??? for example, our petrol, insurance, roadtax even carpark is cheaper than singapore and hong kong… and some comparing VW is cheap in europe BUT do you know the price tag in EU is for basic car (meaning they are getting standard equipment car) and not what we are getting here in Malaysia… now i know why malaysians are categorize as one of the top “MOST COMPLAIN” people in the world…. MALAYSIAN BOLEH!!! keep on complain, do nothing and let outside world laugh at you jokers !!!

• adultaver on Nov 05, 2011 at 11:02 am

u urself also complaining here no? why u complain then? ur comment contributory meh? LOL

• Agree,just like some typical old bigger engine tech world people and might think my VW 1.2TSI is slower than his N/A 4/5 speed transmission 1.6~1.5 local cars and Thailand make Japanese cars lolx my friend 1.8 Inspira makan asap je…

• Someone who understands what the Germans are moving towards! Salute!

Engineering, practicality, simplicity, ingenuity, innovation. The list goes on.

They develop the cars for the best driving experience. The engine for the best efficiency.

What Toyota and Honda are doing is catering to people that wants loads of nonsense in the car. Selling them old engines that are so lazy, burn fuel less efficiently and don’t even have a proper NCAP rating.

Germans are first building their engines for the future and give the driver basics before they move on the proper German big cars in such segment cars.

Jetta is surely less appealing than the Golf and that’s just normal or VW will be shooting their own foot. Golf itself is in a driving class of its own. No road hatchbacks feels as close to it.

The real ripping off is Toyota and Honda. They put in the least effort to develop any cars that SELL in Malaysia. They just give what the customer thinks should be in the car.

Germans are giving you what a CAR should have and be.

Toyota and Honda = Use old stuff, make it look new, and call it brand new. Nobody will know. And it will SELL!

Germans = Give them the latest and newest. Every other nonsense is a distraction to the driver and will make roads even more dangerous. All about engineering. THE CAR

• Not so fast on Nov 05, 2011 at 2:10 am

mm… just wondering with the price tag, can I compare it with Ford Fiesta Sport Hot hatch or Sedan? Drove one and loving the double clutch engine… But price wise lesser than Jetta?

• vansgoh on Nov 05, 2011 at 11:42 pm

tax makes them so much different mah…

• kentji on Jan 30, 2013 at 1:30 pm

not sure the difference of the dct and dsg tho, but revving a twin clutch with 1.4 twin charge is something extraordinary yo

• German tech is building the cars for people…. DAS AUTO.

In China, the VW is top seller… not H or T
      I was a fan of H but changed after i test drive Nissan. even Nissan engine is better than H or T.

then I tried VW Golf and straight got it because of the superb handling and features…

VW rules!

• EC, i love your comment 1000000000%. I have H. civic but will this car is nothing to shout about if compare to jetta. The technology in jetta is much more advance compared to civic. Yess car is about driving experience. Those who know what is car, will choose VW and not T or H.

• Abg O on Nov 05, 2011 at 1:01 am

Dey mr author.. Why your articles bahasa banyak bunga2 meh.. Please straight to d point, u suka atau tak?

• Anthony Lim (Member) on Nov 05, 2011 at 3:55 am

Kalau cakap tentang Jetta tu, I think boleh figure that suka, tapi adakah ‘banyak suka’,’fuyoh suka gila’ atau ‘suka tapi tak tau nak kahwin dengan dia sekarang juga type of suka’, that one leave up to you to figure out leh. First drive, bro. Macam first date. :)

Dan kebetulan tu, bunga amat menarik. Especially daffodils. :D

• nebula87 on Nov 05, 2011 at 1:05 am

to those bashers, plz la…ur life dont hav mirrors?
    plz make sure u can afford this kind of cars before you critic…if u find that this car is cheap, go and buy others that r better and u prefer..and i think u wont afford as u bash for syok only…
    go bck n drive ur proton wira la…=.=

• droll on Nov 05, 2011 at 1:09 am

i did some work for toyota before and man i tell you…….to get them to CHANGE is more difficult than getting a pig to fly. it’s their culture and philosophy. i suppose that’s also what makes them reliable – they use tried and tested technology which unfortunately is OLD TECHNOLOGY and then rebrand it as new.

too bad toyota. consumers today are more demanding and there are a lot more choices in the market. if you don’t buck up, you will end up being a forgotten dinosaur.

kudos to the germans (and koreans) for pushing the bar ever upwards!

• Interior looks cheap but when u try to sit into the Jetta and compared to Vios,City or Myvi leather seats or normal seats,i think most of you will choose the Jetta coz it’s so comfortable and feel safe! i own 1 Polo TSI and 1 Myvi Extreme 1.5 …

• Ollie on Nov 13, 2011 at 12:20 am

Hahahaha…myvi extreme 1.5…the only ‘extreme’ car in the world that is slower than the regular version due to extra airport landing strips, side bumpers, and pieces of junk thrown in

• Merc=Real Euro on Nov 05, 2011 at 9:26 am

The problem with German they push techonology which is not ready due to stiff competition among european brand.
      Few years down the road all start to fail. Where as Jap have extensive testing program
      and by the time hit the market it seem old. But one thing for sure it will be reliable.
      Where as German….50 50 chance of failure.

A real life example :
      Just look at DSG…..new technology yes ……reliable….aah yes and no..

Go to DSGPROBLEMS.CO.UK OR

Just google and dont be shocked by the number of forum worldwide…
      A new technology is worthless if it is unreliable.

• contishallrule on Nov 05, 2011 at 9:42 am

as of my posting date, i checked out that 20+ comments were found on the Cross Touran and Passat but 60+ on Jetta alone? i guess even the formidable VW is not safe from T&H salesman.

one can safely deduce from the negative comments that all three cars offered by VW is not a threat to T&H because of the seemingly high price.

but one can also deduce on the contrasting amount of BS posted on Peugeot-related threads by T&H salesman. Peugeot is eating up on T&H market share slowly but surely with better offerings on the table with T&H offering nothing of value in return.

this led me to think that T&H seems to operate like a government department (play it safe) rather than a private company (driven to excellence).

BTW, these are nice cars offered by VW…keep it up VW!

-contishallrule-

• oveerpriced..thats all i can say. With RM160k, there are a lot of choices better car out there.

• Rosmah on Nov 05, 2011 at 7:44 am

Alamak! it’s even pricier than me WA Pearls.

• I am already test drove Golf at VW dealer due to Jetta unavailable as someone else drove it . For daily i am driving the current honda accord 2.4, comparing it with Golf 1.4 TSI, the torque was much way better than my accord. The safety spec was impressive with 7 air bag compare with mine 4 .The handling also much better i think because GOLF lighter kerb weight and it shape .

• Adrian on Nov 05, 2011 at 9:27 pm

So, are you buying or?…

• RedBeanBun on Nov 06, 2011 at 9:17 am

you are changing from Accord 2.4 to Golf 1.4?….thats interesting..i mean not interms of car performance…but the size of the car..

• kentji on Jan 26, 2013 at 2:58 am

if you’ve been hooped into a golf or jetta you will realize that it is actually not that small

accord is just 9cm wider and 30cm longer compare to jetta, and golf is basically a jetta without boot and 9mm shorter in rear cabin space, so yeah, you get the picture

• Unforgiven on Nov 05, 2011 at 10:07 am

why are they doing this to M’sia? I mean the price of rm150k. Is it because we need to protect P1/P2? Or Honda/Toyota? It should be the same range as Civic/Altis 2.0.

• gomok on Nov 05, 2011 at 11:35 am

Third world country – got chap ayam leather seat meh? How many button in dashboard meh? This design can attract ah moi meh? Can install ah beng body kit meh? I want design sporty mehh can show off with trd stiker meh, eventhough slow poke meh….If doesnt i dun like meh…..

Euro country- Ncap 5 star? How many airbag? What type of suspension? How about FC? Engine power and torque? How about safety? How about NVH?

No wonder la……

• Someone earlier hit it right on the head!!!

DSG gearbox is too unreliable. Too many problems, kaput gearbox usually means being stranded somewhere…

Replacing it is a very expensive proposition. Go surf and read up get the facts before commenting.

The DSG problem extends across the whole VW range, esp the bread & butter models.

Haiyaa, take a risk & buy if you really love it.

• gomok on Nov 05, 2011 at 12:22 pm

Have u seen any VW stranded somewhere? Hahahahahha….why u are so scared? Not enough quota for this month sale? Hah hahhahaha. Maybe u can stalker at VWclubmalaysia.net and search how many car stranded somewhere…..get a life dude…

• Merc=Real Euro on Nov 07, 2011 at 10:22 am

knowledge is power…especially car forum where ppl share their experience with a brand….nothing wrong in doing some research before considering a car….

• Merc=Real Euro on Nov 07, 2011 at 10:28 am

Yes I have ….

• Bystander on Nov 05, 2011 at 1:56 pm

I’ve test drove the Jetta in Singapore and KL, as well as the Golf TSI in KL. Really impressive cars, compared to the cars that I test drove as well, including the Accord 2.0, Mazda 3 2.0 etc. Performance, handling, fit/finish was just great. One thing which is great for families would be the ISOFIX points for baby seats.

150k RM is alot of money for typical Malaysian wage earner, not to mention overall cost of ownership, so do check with VW service centers or 3rd party workshops on typical maintenance costs as well to see if it fits within ur budget. The only thing that’s reall cheap would be the roadtax, RM70 I believe for 1.4 engine.

Comparing the SG/MY Jetta models, SG has keyless entry “KESSY”, *locally fitted* leather seats and trim as well different rims among others. Yes, MY/SG Jettas have rear multilink suspension. I don’t buy the local SA’s excuse for the poor “Sienna” fabric that really feels rough and cheap. I said the Golf TSI’s fabric felt much better, and he sed one made in Germany and the other in Mexico. Wtf right? It could be made in Timbuktu and still have nice fabric if they wanted to! Jeez! Only consolation was that the dealer was willing to arrange for leather fitment prior to car collection.

Overall, I think it’s a great car for those that are ok with the looks and pricetag. To each their own I guess, no need for bashing :)

• honga on Nov 05, 2011 at 2:30 pm

Yes it’s certainly a very good car inside. Twin turbo charged, great torque, superb safety and built quality. But the looks is not so amusing for a brand new model. Golf, polo, passat, tiguan all looks nice and has the recipe to success. But rm149k for jetta seems abit too much to ask from malaysians if they plan to do well here. Maybe if VW CKD it like Pug, then the game will be more competitive. Pug gained lots of popularity since CKD-ed. Look at the new 508 at rm170k.

• gomok on Nov 05, 2011 at 9:31 pm

What happen with 508? Already success ka? How about CKD 207 and 407? Hot cakes ka?

• jaybee on Nov 05, 2011 at 2:43 pm

I just booked for a jetta, i was initially shop around for an accord or camry.

jetta fit my requirement for a simplicity and practicality all year round car. I ops for a reliable, safe and comfort car. I dont need all the bling bling and buttons.

1.4l engine which is more a less equiv with a camry 2.4v in terms of horsepower…now where can i find that?

its more economical in the long run compare to a hybrid, i dont need to worry about the battery replacement.

and it come with 5 years warranty for parts and 5 years on road assist! If i do get stranded, at least i am covered.

this is my opinion and i am glad that i am going to own a VW.

• gomok on Nov 05, 2011 at 9:44 pm

For sure your jetta got many features than camry and accord 2.0….dun worry la, their bling-bling button is useless….just for radio only….

• jaybee on Nov 06, 2011 at 2:14 am

Yea. I’m driving a honda civic 1.7 2002 and i know how much i can spend just to service and parts replacement.

a continental car is different from japanese car. its like local car compar to japanese. its a major upgrade from me.

Im in my early 30s and i am planning for the future, jetta surely fit my requirement. do the calculation compare to a 2.4L japanese car and tell me which one is more economical and safe in the long run.

• BeemerFreak on Nov 05, 2011 at 2:48 pm

No matter how much people bash it here, it will still be a sales success. Just look at the Golf TSi, also wrongly priced but they are crawling every where on our roads. More malaysians have taste now compared to the olden days.

• jolly_idiot on Nov 05, 2011 at 10:30 pm

Its not that nowdays malaysian have taste. It’s now we have better choice compared to olden days. Malaysian always have taste

• RedBeanBun on Nov 06, 2011 at 9:18 am

Klang valley does not mean Nationwide. Look at the sales figure.

• BeemerFreak on Nov 06, 2011 at 11:39 am

Means you are from Klang Valley. Because it is likely that you have not been in a place called Penang and Johor. They are everywhere around there as well( I live in JB so do not argue). The figures showed on this website by AAM shows the registered cars, not the amount sold.

Try walking in to any VW showrooms nowadays and ask for a Golf GTi, Golf TSi or Passat CC the likely hood is at leasts 2 months waiting list. VW does not have as many AP permits as other car makes hence limitting their ability to register as many cars as others. Worse still if you ask for a Polo GTi, they would not even entertain you now. No test drive unit, and earliest you can get the car is by next year May.

• Merc=Real Euro on Nov 06, 2011 at 10:25 am

Yes and No….. Just see how many MK6 GTI and TSI for sale in Mudah.
      Strangely 2010 and 2011 model…. VW is the only car ppl sell very fast… and why is that???. Pls say upgrading ….. yeah after one year…dont tell me all the ppl are upgrading…
      Check other brand and u will notice ppl sell after 3 years but VW after 1 year.
      Maybe they are truely upgrading and maybe not… do some research and see for yourself.

• gomok on Nov 06, 2011 at 1:30 pm

I bought accord before, selling it after 6 month…lalalalalal

• Jetta owner on Apr 07, 2012 at 6:15 pm

I think this just because those people not afford to own this car then keep complaint. If their afford to own this car then sure they will go for this. What I want to say is they jealous the VW owner ^_^

• Mentari-o-korea on Nov 05, 2011 at 9:28 pm

Can’t wait for optima or k5 to hit the town, with relatively better package and bang for money! For this jetta pricing, i feel cheated!

• “…the exterior shape, which VW is proud to say doesn’t share any common panels with the Golf Mk VI (and thus, should not be viewed as a Golf with a boot, so it goes!)…”

yeah, its no longer looks like golf with boot.. but now it looks like a polo with boot, minus the size…

• I’m from Europe and I can confirm you that the Jetta is one of the most borring cars around and it always was. Also in Europe it is seen as an Uncle car. It was a bit different with the 2.8VR6 edition a while ago but not that much.

However a Jetta does what it supposed to do > Easy driving, comfortable, lots of space (I bet better than a Civic) and it is fuel efficiant. Hey that’s all an Uncle wants.

You might get all that cheaper from another brand but not with that engine power….and that’s where that Jetta doesn’t look that bad.

• Boring but can makes it looks interesting and sporty! change the bigger wheels,install body kits and white lamps for sportlights and headlights ‘ small lights ‘ don’t worry ur car won’t get any saman :) if not afraid u can install HID !

• Faris ToneDeaf on Nov 06, 2011 at 12:58 pm

Im sorry but the car will look better with bigger rims and maybe the chromed front bumper (just like the ones in the brochure,advert) . VW Malaysia just practice bad marketing. At least they should have optional accessories instead of selling only one BORING model

• Gabriel on Nov 06, 2011 at 3:28 pm

Totally agreed! The Jetta is NOT a bad looking car at all actually! It’s just that Malaysia doesn’t know how to market it and it made it utterly BORING! Look at the brochure and then the real car, you’ll know what I mean. Typical Malaysian doesn’t like Simplicity..that’s why you can see so many chinabengs driving around their T & H cars. I’m surprised some jokers here claiming the cars are too “uncles”. Of course it’s “UNCLES” which is why only “UNCLES” can afford that kind of price. The so called “YOUNGSTER” would be driving FORTE, CIVIC AND MAZDA 3 around which cost them about 30k-40k less. So, please stop telling me the car looks like uncles unless you have money to afford it. And I find it a lot of kiddies around posting silly comments about their knowledge about cars. I doubt they even have their driving license..and of course everyone is subjected to their own opinions.

I’m actually deciding between Mazda 6, Golf, Jetta and Peugeot 508. Could anyone please give me some suggestions? I’m 30 years old and looking for something which provides smooth riding as I’m travelling to work from Shah Alam to KL everyday…I thought of getting something below 160k now and then pass it over to my wife after 3-4 years. I want something which gives you the feel of “Exclusive” and “Premium” where people would notice you at the highways…any thoughts?

• Mentari-o-korea on Nov 07, 2011 at 8:30 am

Gabriel, yes people will look at u n then think ‘why u shud waste ur money with such low specs car’!

• Get the 508 Gabriel. I have sat in all of the cars listed above and i felt the Pug offered the best “Exclusive” and “Premium” feel. Driver’s and passengers alike will feel the car is worth more than the price.

• i just sold my accord 2.0 at november RM101k which i bought at 2008. n i bought jetta 2011. i pump RM100 (RON 95) can go for 750km but accord only 480km. somemore accord got a lot of problem.Driveshaft,absorber,power pump,arm and manything i spent a lot of money to repair. accord 2.0 is under power…..

• ahmadfaris93 on Nov 06, 2011 at 1:28 pm

Im sorry but the car will look better with bigger rims and maybe the chromed front bumper (just like the ones in the brochure,advert) . VW Malaysia just practice bad marketing. At least they should have optional accessories instead of selling only one BORING model

• Zaifman on Nov 06, 2011 at 2:01 pm

In fact, I’m not a fan of exaggerated looks. The Jetta is just a simple and modern car.

In my opinion, I think this is a better buy than the top of the line Corolla and Civic as you get loads of extra features, namely 7 airbags. Something you can’t find even in the priciest Accord.

• woklt on Nov 07, 2011 at 10:56 am

Agreed.
      But some how the price is really over.

• ahmadfaris93 on Nov 11, 2011 at 12:36 pm

I have to agree with you but I just have to highlight that VW just put a better looking spec/trim in their adverts. I think some consumers should be eligible to get those stuff too. Some people wouldn’t mind paying more for accessories such as bigger rims and different coloured seats(just like in the brochure).
      This is a good car and I can’t deny that. They should give us options. Look at Volvo(this could be a bad example) they provide options for additional accessories. This is up to the consumers to decide whether they should spend more for their satisfaction.
      By just writing a fine print “specs may vary” at the bottom of any adverts or brochure is just a good VW marketing strategy but bad for consumers.

• Vincent on Nov 07, 2011 at 12:42 am

Managed to get my hand on it yesterday…test drive for about 5km.

To those never put your hand on it, pls do so before u want to compare it with accord and campy. Anyway, it is two different market. Japanese car buyer is looking at good resales value, cheap spare part and low maintenance cost.

Continetal car buyer is after the technology and driving passion.

I bet those say accord and camry better are those technology blind. Dsg and TSI, they don’t even know the different between dsg vs shiftronic… Twin charge is something new word in their dictionary.

To those who feel meters boring look, keep your word till u see it fit with after market led light and bodykit.

To those who buy one, u make a right choice.

• Vincent on Nov 07, 2011 at 12:43 am

By he way , pls don’t cop are a c segment car with d segment, it is not a fair comparison as both target for different market.

• marcuslee on Nov 07, 2011 at 12:47 am

it’s really a good car man!
    if i able to afford it, sure i will buy one.
    the features VW offered are much better than T & H.
    powerful engine, DSG gearbox,6 air bag, hill hold control, 2 zone temp…YUMMY!
    i love its interior dashboard design, simple and tahan to see.one of the nicest design.
    you will get bored faster with those T & H interior.
    thumb up VW!

• I agree with what marcuslee said:
    ….the features VW offered are much better than T & H.
    powerful engine, DSG gearbox,6 air bag, hill hold control, 2 zone temp…YUMMY!
    i love its interior dashboard design, simple and tahan to see.one of the nicest design.
    you will get bored faster with those T & H interior….

I WAS previously a H and T supporter but sadly I have to say, their engines were PAST… even Nissan is better…

Trust me, go and test drive VW and be prepared to drive back one after the test drive…
    it happened to me… test drive and bought the car straight!!

• Merc=Real Euro on Nov 07, 2011 at 10:38 am

Dont get me wrong the Jetta doesnt deserve to be put up in a pedestal
    just like Civic and Corolla doesnt deserve it either.

Knowledge is power….pls do some research… many forum in Malaysia.

Like I highlighted earlier…there is quite a few 2010 & 2011 GTI & TSI for sale in mudah.
    Why sell a relatively new car,?.
    Dont be biased…. Check other makes as well…you will notice latest model available for sale is 2008 & 2009 model.

• Having owned a Mk5 GTI and a 1.4 Scirocco TSI, im speaking from actual experence when i say that the DSG problems are real. My roc DSG konked at 15k km, and have 1st hand stories from many owners of both the 6 speed and 7 speed having problems.

BUT….i really do love the Jetta. It oozes quality and for that price, there isnt much to compare it with, i would love to upgrade my wife’s 2009 Focus to the Jetta. The day b4 seeing the jetta, we went to see the CT200h…which is a car that only brand blinded ppl will buy, it has lousy leather, cheap interior and doesnt feel premium at all….sat in the Jetta later that day, and the car feels so much more expensive then the Lexus

• CK200H on Nov 16, 2011 at 9:19 am

jwrx,

I doubt u really try to sit in a CT200h, soft leather wrapped front panel, side and seat.

New Jetta? hard plastic feel overall, and come with standard button every VW has. Jetta got worst new car of 2011 cause of the interior; u said u love the new quality it provides?

• overpriced and over rated hype from mexico. trying to leverage on german this and german that to add a massive premium on this blandest of bland cars…

all VWs look the same….you can have any vw as long as the front looks the same from a polo to a toureg….joke

• waaay overpriced and poorly spec’ed car…..trying to con malaysians with so called german premium motoring…..please la….

if i wanted german premium motoring there are only 3 brands worth considering – audi, bmw and merc.

and the best bit is that these brands dont ever shout about thier german heritage….

vw has made the whole german thing sound vulgar……

• you sound so sour grapes.

FYI

VW owns Audi, so technically its more German then Audi. The Sub RM200k Passat is better speced then a RM245k BMW 320

BMW’s are made in Kulim, mercs are made in Pekan so how?

B4 BMW moved to the Kulim plant, they were made in Shah Alam, next to Ford Rangers.

• BeemerFreak on Nov 07, 2011 at 4:25 pm

what u mean 3 brands only worth considering for german premium motoring
      You forgot the most important one….. Porsche

• Neutral on Nov 07, 2011 at 5:49 pm

I just got a Jetta in Singapore, since I’m working there ! But the specs were different from Malaysia, the Jetta here have leather seats, N510 Navigation system which come with GPS, also with the KESSY (Keyless) system etc. It’s not worth mentioning the price here as it can’t be compared. But I still feel VW Malaysia should offer better specs to attract more potential buyers who are looking for new car. No doubt there will still be buyers, but can be more if add in those extra specs !

• philip on Nov 07, 2011 at 7:23 pm

last week , i was driving along jalan ipoh where there were the volkswagen, proton, honda and hyundai sales center all near each other, planning to change my 8 yr old chevy optra ( still going strong)

among all the cars i saw with my kids , the jetta is the most boring both the exterior and interior — please who gives a shit about horsepower , torque etc , all most of us are concerned about are looks, reliability and fuel consumption .

for nearly RM 150,000 the jetta is not worth the money – for that kind of money you can getb an accord or camry or sonata while the civic, altis, forte and cruze which all look better than the jetta are much more cheaper

i think we should boycott VW for pricing their boring looking cars ( jetta, passat and tiguan) at rediculous prices — the only vw vechiles which look beautiful are the passat cc, siricco and the tuareg- all the rest crap
    a crte
    i saw , honw sa

• Ahh, DSG problems, so many ppl just want to buy based on looks and specs.
    Reliability takes a back seat.. only until it happens to them. And its not there if they dont see it!! How simple logic.

• Merc=Real Euro on Nov 08, 2011 at 6:15 pm

spot on…..I hate to buy a car which has reputation for Gearbox failure..
      50-50 chance it can happen…of course there is warranty but the time taken
      to go to service center for repair is complete waste of time.
      Not forgetting ignition coil issue…on 1.4 TSI…..

I dont know………… too much baggage for a car costing 149K++

• Chuckz on Nov 08, 2011 at 11:45 am

I think I saw this car at the Bayan Lepas expressway in Penang last Friday evening. Was it you driving it?

• Honda Freak on Nov 10, 2011 at 11:24 am

wanna share my experience with you guys as i am considering of getting a new car myself…i’ve tested this jetta last week…tested also pug 308 turbo and mazda 6 2.5…
    to me, driving experience is best with this jetta..but i prefer the interior and accessories of the mazda 6..n the hamdling of the 6 was also impressive…while pug 308 turbo failed to impress me in so may ways..despite the claimed 156hp power rating and doesnt handle well to..

i hvent decided yet as i plan to test golf TSI and civic 2.0 this weekend…im not in a rush.
    Im currently driving a 97 civic with 99 integra type R engine, in the process if getting a new owner…i gave up manual tranny :)

• a new jetta owner on Nov 10, 2011 at 2:56 pm

pick jetta . fully support you . no one will know how good volkswagen’s car unless you really sit on it and test drive it . dont heard of other bullshit around said that jetta not worth for money … you pay what you get for volkswagen car.

• Honda Freak on Nov 11, 2011 at 8:49 am

errmmm…so far, jetta is on the top of my list but my other half prefer the mazda 6…
        if only the 6 have something like 2.0 TSI engine in it instead of the conventional 2.5L NA…. that will be sweet :)
        btw, i am also considering a used passat cc but maybe have to stretch my budget a little bit more and of coz have to wait a little longer la…

• a new jetta owner on Nov 12, 2011 at 11:18 pm

mazda 6 have nice design . b4 i booked jetta . mazda 6 is one of my list : ) , depends on you lah .. design or performance … for my little opinion . design will outdated , but wat you driving everyday is TSI and DSG … : )

• Honda Freak on Nov 15, 2011 at 9:24 am

i’ve made a mistake by test-driving a golf GTi instead of the TSi version last week…now i cannot sleep thinking of the car edi…damn!

• a new jetta owner on Nov 15, 2011 at 10:37 pm

haha … GTi pulak … my dream also …. haha . my top list . sweat …

• buyunghensem on Nov 11, 2011 at 8:32 am

Wow

• Winns on Nov 21, 2011 at 12:37 pm

anyone got their newly booked jetta? the distributor are telling that the jetta doesnt come with auto cruise now…is that true?

• wllim on Nov 21, 2011 at 8:53 pm

I haven’t received it yet (booked on Sun 23 OCt). Was auto-cruise speced in the brochure?

• jetta owner on Nov 28, 2011 at 8:32 am

i just received my jetta, yes it doesn’t come with cruise control , and they auto discount 1k for you . anyone here get more than this ?

• jaybee on Nov 29, 2011 at 8:49 pm

got my jetta last week. it came with auto cruise with the ori price. i made a big fuzz over it and even complained to vgm for not informing the customer on the diff. i refuse to take it without auto cruise.

and yes, they deduct 1k for the auto cruise. also, please take note some salesperson would deceive you by saying they deduct 1k for the auto cruise and need to add back 1k for the alarm motion sensor. that is not true, motion sensor come with it for some apparent reason ( another f issue with vgm for not informing)

it seems that vgm doesnt roll down the info to the disty in right manners. GTM strategy gone hell.

I’m still sore with vgm over this but i love my jetta!

• scrybe on Dec 12, 2011 at 7:33 pm

Jaybee, so your car came with the cruise control and they added 1k discount? That’s fantastic. When i paid my downpayment, they deducted 1k straight away saying that its additional discount. Didn’t say that it was because no cruise control.

Getting my Jetta this Wednesday, praying hard it comes with the cruise control cause that’s one of the reason which I bought the Jetta.

• jetta owner on Feb 20, 2012 at 9:54 pm

Hi jaybee & scrybe , my jetta also wo cruise , when i ask salesman they pretend don know also, and the broucher look diff with the real unit, upset! But i really enjoy driving feel. Today hav 1 new accord chasing me, unfortunely it only can smell smokes till he give up to chase then i slow down is 2.4 accord. Just to check wif ur is ur jetta speed 105km got noise of wind, i not sure either fix solar film they din fix it complete, i hate it, so how abt ur car?

• Hi Jetta owners, how is your car so far? Any reliability issues such as gearbox problem etc.?

• wllim on Nov 23, 2011 at 10:33 pm

It seems that the first batch they forgot to install auto-cruise… i have mixed feeling about this.

• to the guys who’ve booked the jetta,

what would u guys feel if DRB Hicom announce a CKD version of the car at RM20k-30k cheaper than the CBU one?

Maybe u guys should wait first and see the CKD specs before paying a bomb on the CBU..just my opinion..

• 508 is comparable to a mercedes, jetta is not

• Any hints when CKD model will launch in Malaysia?

Still patiently waiting….

• MY_KL on Jan 06, 2012 at 12:23 am

banyak nya keyboard warrior.. :)

• ChrisG on Jan 30, 2012 at 10:12 pm

You know my friend recently got himself his dream Camry and now he only pumps ron 97 because his camry’s engine is noisy whenever he pumps 95. So to save cost, he has reverted to 95 but is buying a local made petrol additive for rm40+ a bottle, can be used for 2-3 full tanks apparently.

Im driving a Golf TSI, i am using only 95. No probs. if i opt for 97, the manual says it produces slightly more power, indeed true.

One is really uncle’s car vs Golf TSI, really subdued in its styling. Gadgets and safety features, Golf wins hands down. Camry is an exec car you may argue, but price range for both about the same (camry 2.0 variant)

But typical Malaysians, they go for larger car, must be T or H. Fake wood fascia is a must. Beige interior is a prerequisite. They feel grand.

Talking about grand, it reminds me of alphard- one of the world most awkward looking van, ugly, terrible handling and overpriced. Yet. We Malaysians love it. Yes the interior is plush, but it is easy to make comfy seats and make your engineers utilise the space inside because it is built on a huge platform.

But getting the real engineering (the ride,handling, ergonomics etc) right is harder to do. And the Europeans do this part very well.

Alphard or Vellfire like van keranda really.

So go blindly continue buying T+H. At least consider Mazda, better products and handling really. Please always compare the spec sheet, test drive and educate yourself about the latest techs and offerings, do not be influenced by the Ah Bengs or chinaman towkays.

Go try Skoda, VW, rich enough Audi. It matches your ah long sling bags very well.

• pyrite on Mar 02, 2012 at 7:28 pm

Initial taught to get Camry/Accord, But, after test drive Camry, Accord and Jetta, finally placed booking for Jetta today. Just want to share with you the performance of Jetta is really great, almost no lag at all when you accelerate and the break is excellence. go and try it out, You will feel the same after u test drive all these 3 cars, Camry, Accord and Jetta. Once you drive continental car, you won’t look at Jap cars anymore.

• Welcome to our jetta group….

• ah lim on Mar 08, 2012 at 11:39 pm

hey guys , please help me maa ,,my list accord/camry/jetta none of them i’ve test drive …i,m looking for speed , safety , comfort , handling, fuel save .i used to travel malacca and kL…need some opinion from sifu or expert which one i should buy ..

• Ah lim, sure u hav to test drive 1st then u will feel the different, practical.

• Driving a German car is like wearing a Swiss Made watches, never wanted to try Japanese brand anymore

• anonymous on Mar 29, 2012 at 9:22 am

I drive the latest camry 2.4 and civic 2.0.
    test drived golf, jetta and polo.
    will be trading the camry for a golf

• whats wrong with the styling? i love it. T+H design are ugly even the koreans making more good looking cars.

• Hardly see jetta and touran on the road at all. The numbers on the malaysian feb and jan 2012 sales dont lie. Both cars do not make it to the top 5 in their respective categories. Malaysian public smarter than you vw. Jetta is really not a nice car.my foot on your famed tfsi engine!

• do u have something against VW? sounds like you hate them..

but yeah i agree, hardly see any jetta on the road. so far ive only seen like 2 or 3 OTR.

• Civic owner on Apr 23, 2012 at 12:56 am

Civic 1.8L hp = 103PS, fuel consumption is approx. RM0.20/km
    Civic 2.0L hp = 114PS
    Accord 2.0L hp = 115PS, fuel consumption? RM 145k
    Accord 2.4L hp= 135PS, fuel consumption? RM 167k
    Jetta 1.4L hp = 160PS!, fuel consumption is approx. RM0.11/km!! RM150k

Japanese car service every 5,000 km, ave RM250. Think about the appointment and trouble waiting for long que car service.
    VW car service only every 15,000 km, ave RM450. You do the math.

Never compare Jetta to Accord or Camry. Jetta is same category as Civic and Altis, except it is a better car. Just like BMW 3-series & Mercedes C-class same segment..

Passat is equivalent to Accord and Camry segment, except Accord and Camry have lower build quality and performance.

Toyota always good at using obsolete engine design to fool Malaysian. 2012 Camry newly launch with 4 speed transmission? Korean did better now. For a Toyota engine to achieve 160PS hp, probably they need a 3.5L engine with fuel consumption of RM1/km. Go drive VW and u will know what is call turbo power, fuel efficiency n engineering.

And u talk about depreciation, car with good quality, reliability, fuel efficiency and low maintenance cost always has strong re-sale value.

Grow up and know what is car before u comment about car. Most Malaysian don’t know how to compare car. Sigh.

• drenB9 on May 12, 2012 at 11:41 pm

Totally agree with your statement but I believe you got mixed up with the PS/kW rating.
      Japanese cars suck to the max. Toyota is just milking the cash cow now. However much they can. And to me, that is just personal. How stupid do you think I am??
      Heck, I’ll rather go for any Proton (except the Satria Neo, because I do have a head, unfortunately) any day rather than any car by Toyota or Honda.

• Singh on Apr 27, 2012 at 7:52 pm

Test drove the Jetta….phew…awesome feeling than i went i to testdrove the new K5… Pretty nice but behind leg room n head space has been compromised…
    Booked the Jetta n yes it doens t come with cruise control anymore n got a discount on it…
    Checked in the web for jetta in euro n saw some ppl modified thier rims n lowered thier ride.. a small audi like spoilers at the back just imporved the look of the car with a slight solar tint…almost a perfect family & sport car

• singh, Yoyo, ur make right choice , well come to our jetta club. Kindly share any relevent info …

• Danny on Jun 20, 2012 at 1:44 pm

Hi Singh, Mind to know how much discount your salesman give and can you share with me the contact of the salesman ?

• Hi to all jetta owners.I am very interested in getting the new jetta as the engine and gearbox are really impressive. But can i know does the jetta comes with cruise control? it is one of the basic requirements for a car worth around RM150k. Between, does the Radio 310 system support bluetooth connections? thank you..

• airpool on Sep 06, 2012 at 2:42 am

Hi guys,

bought my jetta on end march this year..it comes with an auto cruise yet still they give me rm1k discount.day after receive the car i change interior to smoke black leather interior,a week later find my self a brand new 17″ scirocco rims with 10 spokes..change it to my jetta..at the price of +-rm155k i got a complete superb jetta with leather interior,nice bigger rims and auto cruise version..and believe me,i drove a civic 2.0 before this..now i only drove my jetta..pass the civic to my wife to go beli barang dapur purposes..

• Alfred on Sep 30, 2012 at 11:58 pm

Hi Airpool,

I just booked mt Jetta, would like to know how much u spend for your leather seat?

• IT is beeter to buy a new brand jetta than buying overpriced recond Japanese car such as estima ,wish or vellfire..which is more expensive than jetta…

• Alfred on Oct 01, 2012 at 12:00 am

I have read all the comment above, I also went for test drive camry, nissan, mazda, friendly speaking, the price you may say is slightly higher than camry, teana, but in term of quality, handling and technology, it worth for it..

Besides, you may feel camry and teana slighlty cheaper, but when come to fuel consumption, camry and teana will spend you more about RM200 per month for 2500km to 3000km. Finally, you just pay extra approximately RM100 to own Jetta.

• I have test drive the following cars:

1. Ford Focus 2012( Not to bad got a lot of gadgets but the drive was not as good as I expected)
    2. Civic (Meh)
    3. Altis (Mehhhhhh- previous drive of a 05 model)
    4. Slyphy (Not bad)
    5. Golf ( NICE!!!)
    6. Lexus CT200H (Not too bad but cabin area too small for me, not much vroom)
    7. Elantra( Nice shape, but on test drive car cannot start have to change car)
    8. Optima( Wow like Korean girl dem chun, not bad drive but not as smooth as expected)
    9. Forte ( Nice looks, good drive but handling like a bit wobbly)
    10. Jetta

Needless to say I decide on the Jetta, among all the cars I have driven I did my research. The Jetta was the best for me as it give me what i want. Simplicity and good power. I had a 10K discount at WV TTDI. So booked it right away. I havent got it yet and went for 2 more drives and i love it. So addicted to the feel.

Just go test drive all the cars. Once you find something you like you will buy it. Its like spending a bit more for the girl you always wanted. Nothing comes without problems. Yes I read a lot about the DSG and TSI but do you know how they drive. Some of these fellas dont take care of the car and drive without brains.

Once you pass that limit, any car also kaput la. Look at F1, have to change engine also right. I am not claiming that Jetta is the best car. Beauty is in the eyes of the beholder.

Jetta is a very girl next look. The K5 is like a one hot Korean girl you see on TV. So its up to you. Stop the bashing..

• AK, your comments make me book the jetta already…tq

• mtDan on Dec 30, 2012 at 7:58 am

Yesterday i just test drive jetta at VW jalan Ipoh and its a fantastic driving experience!
    Yes its look simple, no leather seat and looks ugly at cost of $150k car..not much accesories if u compare to Korean car
    Fyi, i’m die hard fan Civic since Ek99 and own FD 2.0 in 2010 and own Altis new model 09, now im willing to let go Altis for Jetta. And kept my FD 2.0 for my wife..
    I choose driving experience and sacrifice Jett looks coz i know i can make up my Jetta soon. Hahhahaha and its worth to buy Jetta. Dun believe me? Book and test drive ..then u will know

• Shasyi on Jan 09, 2013 at 10:32 pm

this Malaysian model, is it front or rear-wheel drive ?

• I booked my jetta already at VW Sg. Besi, cannot wait to get it. Normally how long to get after you have settled the loan balance?

• Azlan on Jan 23, 2013 at 7:19 pm

Abu how much discount they give you? Are you buying 2012 jetta or waiting for 2013 car?

• atz1999 on Jan 25, 2013 at 1:15 am

i have friend from germany working with norske kaeser hvac shipbuilding…i ask him among german car which is the best he said “of course mercedes .when you drive mercedec you would not want to drive other car” …i realize his statement he talking about sedan car….
    i hv driving exp camry 2.4,volvo s40 2.4,merc c200 ,bmw320i,vw polo 1.2 tsi
    i would prefer buy merc and if don’t have much money go for vw….ahaks

• jasper on Apr 15, 2013 at 3:22 pm

i need to plan to purcchased VW GOLF or Peugeot 508 sedan Thanks

• JETTA TERBAIK on Jun 05, 2013 at 10:24 pm

HELO SEMUA..
    I DAH PAKAI JETTA ALMOST 4 MONTH, INILA KERETA TERBAIK SEDAN YG I PERNAH JUMPA COMPARE DGN BMW 325I YANG I DAH BAWA 4
    YEARS E90..
    PROBLEM YG KORANG AKAN NAMPAK ADALAH TAK DAPAT NAK BAWA SLOW PSLING KURANG 130.. PERFORMANCE TURBO YG MENJIMATKAN MINYAK MEMANGLA SANGAT2 TERBAIK.. COMPLAIN N CAKAP BANYAK XDA GUNA COZ ENJIN 1.4 BRO TAMBAH MODE SPORT S LG MANA NK DAPAT.. DULU I PUN TAKUT NK DOWNGRADE DR BMW KE VW TP I DAH RASA BEZA DIA..XGUNA CC BESAO TP MINYAK HITAM MAKAN MCM BMW.. BANYAK KELUAR DUIT LG BEB.. TRY JETTA BARU TAW TENGOK KORANG PANDAI DRIVE LAJU YG PALING SELAMAT DENGAN 1.4 YG KORANG KOMPLAIN BNYK SGT.. KALU RASA LAJU JETTA NI LEBIH DR 220 BUAT KORANG KECUT TELOR SO LEBIH BAIK KORSNG TRY DULU KETE YG BUKAN SEWAKTU DGNNYA.. TQ

• Howard Tan on Jun 09, 2013 at 5:55 pm

Hey Guy, This Jetta selling as much as Toyota Vios and Honda CITY price in China. That mean in china 3 of the cars consider the same range car, why go for it with that expensive price…

• SZFOO on Jun 11, 2013 at 2:09 am

I FEEL JETTA IS A NICE CAR BUT ONLY ONSIDE TOO NORMAL

• MSJetta on Jun 14, 2013 at 11:01 pm

Hi Guys..
    ..bought Jetta on Feb 2013,with auto cruise.previously owned Peug 308T 2009,very satisfied with the performances,handling and fuel consumption..can easily get 650km with RM98 Ron95..40% hiway.Just want to share with you the performance of Jetta is really great, no lag at all when you accelerate..tried once to 220kmh..still can go with 3 ppl on board..so far no DSG issue,,according to SC only 2011 model and can be fix with system upgrade..complain only wind noise at around 120kmh..already fixed

• I’m driving one and it’s really awesome. But strongly don’t agree with the pricing in this country. It should be around 60k-80k. And should have imported much more variants of course.