European Honda Civic to get new 1.6 litre turbodiesel

As hinted earlier, Honda will soon debut a new small 1.6 litre diesel engine, which is currently slated for use in the Honda Civic in Europe. We also expect the same diesel to be installed in Honda models in India, especially the Honda City.

Honda currently has only one diesel engine to slot into its cars – a big 2.2 litre 4-cylinder, an oddity in Europe where pretty much half of the cars of the Civic’s size that are sold come with a smaller diesel of about 1.6 litres in displacement.

Honda needs to push the new Civic hatchback in Europe and expects the new 1.6 litre Honda Civic i-CTDi to account for 65% of Civic sales. A 1.6 litre Civic diesel was offered in the past with a previous generation model, but that Civic diesel used an Isuzu engine.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• hanifhamzah on Nov 17, 2011 at 12:43 pm

cool man!!!

• lemon on Nov 17, 2011 at 12:43 pm

so the question for us is whether it will come here, when and wats the price.. :)

• The answer is the new Civic hatchback won’t come to Malaysia, the title above stated clearly. Yes for new Civic but no for hatchback.

• ultrajo on Nov 17, 2011 at 5:01 pm

It will come…not from Honda Malaysia but from grey importer just as Civic Type-R Euro

• hanifhamzah on Nov 17, 2011 at 12:43 pm

white-hot- hatch

• Masked Ryder on Nov 17, 2011 at 12:51 pm

DRB Honda, We want this one please !!

Not the US Version Thank you.

Honda should consider make a Sedan Version of this & launch in asian market, then we can greet “AHNNYOUNGHI KASAE YO” (Farewell) to Forte & Elantra.

• Seriously, get a life. I know it’s hard to gain more sales now, but please stop bashing Korean cars. Look at the number of Sonatas on the road now. And your name should be changed into Masked Salesman imo. Thanks a lot.

• korean cars are good, no doubt about that.

but their fanboys have some problem

• Masked Ryder on Nov 17, 2011 at 6:38 pm

Ah Ha thgh who fail his UPSR English is here as well.

Now please check Sonata Sales Figure, ya i too see lot’s of Sonata Taxi on the road too.

• as usual lah on Nov 17, 2011 at 2:28 pm

forte & elantra suck..nuff said…

• LatukBandar on Nov 17, 2011 at 4:15 pm

Couldn’t agree more. I dislike Korean products, they have no R&D, only R&C – Research and Copy.

Name me one original product from Korea, I bet most can’t. And Samsung have the guts to counter-sue Apple for the iPhone thing, and no, am not an Apple fanboy. Here’s how I see the world of products:

German – RM10 product you get RM15 quality
        Japan – RM10 product you get RM10 quality
        China – 10 cent product you get 10 cent quality
        Korea – RM1 product you get 50 cent quality

Me bought a few korean products, totally gave up on them. My friend into selling generators, and he says the same thing also. Korean products are overpriced for the quality. German is the best, Japanese is affordable, China as you know is cheap.

• Maserati on Nov 17, 2011 at 12:56 pm

Awesome car! The koreans were never a serious threat to the japs anyway.

• ultrajo on Nov 17, 2011 at 5:04 pm

and the japanese will never be serious to sell ‘serious’ car to Malaysian…just a bunch of crap car (CRZ excluded)!

• sxtrail on Nov 18, 2011 at 12:03 pm

Maybe our goverment impose some policies that forces Japanese Manufacturers to sell the cars at less quality?

Who Distribute Korean Cars and the Japanese cars? It aint secret right…

• blue-traveler on Nov 17, 2011 at 1:09 pm

not going to happen, Malaysia’s diesel going to Euro4 is put on hold till…2012 nope..2014..maybe…2015/16 could be…2020 might be… ( all D engine for eu have to be min euro4 class and above)
    When it finally comes into place, D euro4 class, all the international cars engine would have a euro6 or 8 or whatever class, thus again would not come to Malaysia. Say thank you to our current gov’t. After all we have our own bio diesel to promote. Speaking of which, have anyone tried it before,…..Paul? And what cat. would it be? euro2 or 4 or on a class of its own?

• Out of Luck on Nov 17, 2011 at 10:37 pm

Our biodiesel would still be at Euro 2 because addition of 5% palm oil won’t change the sulphur level by any significant way. Most probably you won’t feel the difference when using 100% diesel compared with B5 diesel.

• ttooyyoottt on Nov 18, 2011 at 4:31 am

i have tried the shell biodiesel last week and it SUCKSSSSS!!!!!!!!

• H4dRi on Nov 17, 2011 at 1:11 pm

finally, a honda,
    with turbo, from the factory

• yes, we want small diesel engine for Malaysia. Thus, no need for smaller car if a C-segment car is economic and frugal enough.

• kereta lembu on Nov 17, 2011 at 1:30 pm

Its the European Civic….so it won’t be brought into Malaysia. I think we’ll only get US varients of the Civic sedans. Your only chance is through the grey importers like the current Civic hatchbacks. But then again, its diesel. So, that just killed all the hopes of it coming unless they import the petrol version.

• Its really boring to see the same guys keep bashing Korean no matter on what posts lol. For those salesman, the number of sells mean everything. If that is true, you should go to India and have a look, Mahindra sells well at India. Does the Scorpio is great? NO! Sells doesn’t mean everything, so shut the f up and get a life silly salesman Masked Salesman.

• Masked Ryder on Nov 17, 2011 at 7:41 pm

Again & Again i see dumbo statement from u.

The best selling car in India is Maruti/Suzuki, followed by Tata, The best selling Mahindra SUV is Balero.

Car Mfg made car to sell, what u think they make car for ? deco ? ur ignorant syndrome is getting worst.

Company made car that doesn’t sell will end up like Volvo, Saab, Ssangyong, Daiwoo, Samsung ==== ” Auctioned “

• good car lover on Nov 17, 2011 at 2:37 pm

the rear light is to big, really spoil the car look

• likehondanotsomuch on Nov 17, 2011 at 3:25 pm

I prefer this diesel over CRX.,,,,,i meant CRZ.

• uncle honda on Nov 17, 2011 at 4:20 pm

if you see the above pic, seems like very cun lahh..
    but the rear design is pretty horror. go search the real pic at goolge. you know why said it it horror.
    don’t bring it here…i really don’t like it.

• Honda Malaysia should bring this Euro CIVIC to Malaysia…. not the boring civic from US….. & bring on the force induction engine….

• crashoverload on Nov 17, 2011 at 5:38 pm

1. So MINIMUM how long will it takes to be deliver to our door step this time? New City minimum 6 mth (if next year tak banjir)
    2. Exterior well done.. Interior?? same as before? i tot now new millennium? please not another same old oven