Reports: Volkswagen AG directors visit DRB-Hicom, looking into technical collaboration with Proton

Reports: Volkswagen AG directors visit DRB-Hicom, looking into technical collaboration with ProtonReports linking Volkswagen with Proton have emerged, with the national carmaker’s new owner playing host. According to Business Times, DRB-Hicom is understood to have hosted two Volkswagen AG group directors last Thursday. The duo met with key stakeholders of DRB-Hicom, including its top management.

“They also reviewed all Proton Holdings Bhd’s models,” the publication’s unnamed source revealed. BT says that the Volkswagen directors came down to evaluate the possibility of having a collaborative technical agreement on technology transfer with Proton.

“This is the first step and I think that there will be many more such meetings before a deal could be struck,” their source added.

As all of us know, this isn’t the first time Europe’s biggest carmaker Volkswagen is being linked with Proton; the previous marriage attempt broke down because of issues over majority stake. With a new owner in place (DRB-Hicom is VW’s local assembler), will this latest “on” in the “on-off” relationship stick, or will it fizzle out like it always does?

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Datsun on Feb 01, 2012 at 9:24 am

Still the same…still priceyy..

• Potong is better close or do their own low quality cars and pls don’t bother other companies !

VW pls don’t try this ! u’ll destroy we VW owners image and i’ll trade my VW ! i cant imagine how horrible this happen Savvy re-badge Polo,Satria Golf GTI,Neo Scirocco or Passat Waja ! disgusting with the tiger logo !

• Nakal on Feb 01, 2012 at 9:30 am

Haram. VW just allow Proton to rebadge their car. No technlogy transfer. Nothing DRB-Hicom can do untill VW can control majority share of Proton.

Even before this, the only ‘technology transfer’ from Honda/VW/Mistu/other to DRB-Hicom is just setup an assembly plant. Haram lagi.

• taboogen on Feb 01, 2012 at 9:36 am

if PROTON re-badge VW GTI i will be first person to order… or who knows they transfer the tsi engine to proton… more engine variant to the current line up.

• waahh.. after spend so much time and m/billions of euros for engine RnD, you think is that simple they wanna give it to others? look at those perodua engineers, do they know how to develop engines from scratch? or they just know how to setup engine to engine bay?

• Protong Inferia on Feb 01, 2012 at 8:07 pm

Dream that to happen for cheapo alike

• BADboy on Feb 01, 2012 at 9:43 am

So… those Golf GTI owners better watch out….. soon you will see Golf GTI with Proton logo on it….. or worst… Scirocco with Proton logo on it….
      Better stop buying VW now…. otherwise will end up like those Lancer owners….

• Danny on Feb 01, 2012 at 1:35 pm

Dude, this will not ever happen! Have u see an Audi sell in cheap price since it own by VW?

• tiadaid on Feb 01, 2012 at 4:21 pm

Hello – Audi is a premium segment car la, of course la Audi is expensive!

• BeemerFreak on Feb 01, 2012 at 9:54 pm

Agreed with you. Since VW AG themselves are responsible for bringing in cars for Malaysia coupled with the plan to eventually assemble most RHD VW models with DRB, they will never allow Proton to rebadge their cars. Likely will do like what they did for Seat and Skoda, allow Proton to design their own cars but provide the powertrain and chasis

• BADboy on Feb 01, 2012 at 9:31 am

Yeahhhhh baby…. soon there will be Proton GTI….. turbo engine…. and so on…

• I’ve no offence since we will get a good quality car….tired with current proton except exora bold and definitely myvi will be my last resort….

• vw good quality car? I had the same thought 1 year ago…but not today…my Polo got so many issues…hon tak jalan, button power window broke (cheap sial…), do you know you cannot lift your wiper under the hot scorching sun? your wiper holders will scratch the paint on your hood…stupis German designer, taulah German sejuk…takyah angkat wiper, air cond dah rosak, fuhh….tu baru setahun…baik aku tukar CRZ..sial VW..mujur ada warranty 5 tahun…kena jual sebelum 5 tahun nih!!

• Wowww….again no offence bro…i’ve no ideas vw quality issues, maybe u just 1 in 1000 unlucky owner….as for crz, just test drove, just so-so only…..send your polo to SC and blame them….at least proton will get advantage here….who knows under drb command they will get better…liaoooooo

• kenari on Feb 01, 2012 at 6:05 pm

Banyak complain buat apa simpan. Jual saja loh….

• ryuki on Feb 01, 2012 at 10:16 pm

Dear sales man,
          Kalau kau betul betul ada polo, dlm manual book dia ada tulis wiper on service mode la bodoh… jgn senang kutuk org bodoh

• peeps on Feb 02, 2012 at 12:16 am

you’re making a fool out of your self and obviously the German’s are way smarter then you.. there is reason why the wiper is hiding under the hood. is for safety and aero dynamic purpose… if you got money to buy polo, u should have money to change wiper..

• Haiz u’r so unlucky and sad to hear that ur Polo hon tak jalan,power window button is broken…My 1 years ‘ 2010 ‘ old Polo is high quality and no problems at all…i bet u bought the CRZ is the same too if u have no luck lolx :D i’m confused wiper scratch the paint on your car hood coz u put on it?! lolx omg u’r so childish ! baik u tukar CRZ sebelum ur Potong Savvy fake Polo car breakdown hahaha

nas-T
      i’ll trade it and i know no one stop me lolx if someone force me drive a Tiger Logo then i rather go by bus :(

• tiadaid on Feb 01, 2012 at 9:41 am

VW is so hell bent on a “partnership” with Proton – wonder what is their real intention for wanting Proton? Any sane person would have washed their hands after being jilted so many times before.

All I hope is that it’s not going to be another rebadge exercise – Proton’s just begining to improve so a regression back to being an assembler is not good – Inspira notwithstanding.

• Danny on Feb 01, 2012 at 1:38 pm

Perhaps is due to the Lotus own by Proton?

• Surely NOT because of Lotus. What shall the owner of Bugatti, Porsche & Lamborghini do with a company like Lotus?

• history dictates that I should not keep my hopes up – hope is after all the first step on the road to disappointment

• abdul123 on Feb 01, 2012 at 9:44 am

Proton is an old maid. You think VW are fools?

• maman on Feb 01, 2012 at 9:44 am

that was fast….

• not a car enthusiast on Feb 01, 2012 at 9:47 am

Wow Paultan just created a nice new Proton Logo!

• Why VW wants to collaborate with Proton so bad?

• totenkepf on Feb 01, 2012 at 10:22 am

Because proton owns lotus??

• Alex Lee on Feb 01, 2012 at 1:14 pm

Hi Guys, do you think the reason behind VW want to collaborate with Proton is because of Lotus Technology ?

• joepng on Feb 01, 2012 at 2:18 pm

ya, it is in my mind..they only interested in Lotus..plus Lotus now join F1, VW?.. nothing!!

• No, it’s most likely because Proton is located in ASEAN and VW doesn’t have a factory here.

• DenFire on Feb 01, 2012 at 3:06 pm

I think mostly is because of their tanjung malim factory. With that VW can push their CKD product into reality and become the fastest way.

• peeps on Feb 02, 2012 at 12:21 am

1st thing VW would do it to drop lotus, fire some dumb nut ceo and make full use of their proton plant… maybe provide technical knowledge just to boost some sales. VW is not that stupid to buy a company which doesn’t benefit them.

• makeitmine on Feb 01, 2012 at 9:50 am

If there is a possibility of technology transfer from VW to Proton, DRB-HiCOM as a new owner must quickly reciprocate to support VW business goals for mutual benefits.

One thing that DRB-HiCOM can do is to see whether the superior aluminium chasis technology from Lotus can be licensed to VW.

Lotus and VW cars got concept car of the year (2011) kudos. The Lotus Eterne copped the 2011 Production Preview Vehicle of the Year and the Volkswagen Bulli was deemed the 2011 Concept Truck.

Perhaps, Proton/Lotus/DRB-HiCOM and VW can start discussing how they can mass produce/collaborate and add these cars into their stable.

• Exciting!

This is definitely trollbait.. Can’t wait to see how it progresses.

• buhaderbuddajesus on Feb 01, 2012 at 9:54 am

future of proton = puppet of vw and drb

• Jonathan on Feb 01, 2012 at 9:54 am

Is it me or does that new badge actually looks decent?

• tunguuu on Feb 01, 2012 at 9:58 am

too much ego in proton. not even creating world class cars n yet want to act arrogant?
    with proton we loose so much opportunities. businesses looks elsewhere to set up like indonesia n thailand. how many more jobs we could have created?

and what bout tech transfer? tech from mitsu what happened?? at least use that and learn?? cant even do efficient engines UNTIL NOW??

DRB should just sell some proton stakes to VW. SELL! then we can c competitive market enviroment, create more vendors. creates more jobs and so on…creates more FDI!

• tech is something really hard to get. Lots of money, lots of hard work. Nobody in the right mind would want to transfer their trade secret to another party that easily. I wont see it happen even if VW holds stake in PROTON.

FDI wise, we have almost none of the restriction on semiconductor manufacturing business for example. And my god they sprouts like mushroom. In fact in the 90s it will be weird if the chips didn’t have the name “MALAYSIA” stamped on it. But come the 2000, where are they now? as you guess it INDONESIA, CHINA, VIETNAM. They moved out anyway protection or not.

Business is business. They’re here when cheap labours were available. Remember when we’re considerable cheap. But would you want to live again on 12hour shift at 600 ringgit per month.

The only way to survive is to move our asses and start creating something ourselves. Which at the end still takes a lot of time, money and hard work. And Proton at least for better or worse have move theirs.

• ive said that earlier. FDI from other country only interested to expand their businesses like getting lower operating cost, and we only benefit on jobs opportunity for locals, however we hardly see any ‘transfer technology’ actually. our assemblymen only can handle those technology, but they never have chance learning to build one from zero. never. RnD is too valuable to give others.

the better way to master tech is by setup country’s own firms and make our own RnD, like proton, silterra, mimos, sembcorp, keppel corp, chartered semic, or else no one gonna teach us.

so don’t believe those ‘developed together’, ‘joint venture’ of our firm with outside firm. those only look great on media, actually we probably only give a manpower to do simpler things, the part where needs serious expertise, 100% foreign party are doing it. at the end, we may know how their tech works, but we’ll never know how to develop one.

• Medusa on Feb 02, 2012 at 2:46 pm

Did Silterra develop their own chip? I don’t think so mate.

• silterra like TSMC, do you see TSMC chip anywhere?

• Medusa on Feb 03, 2012 at 12:13 pm

As far as I know, they buy the ‘license’ from other company (e.g. TSMC) to produce the chip. Please correct me if I am wrong that Silterra staff designed on their own the chip – up from masking, etching korek longkang way to polish.

• tech is something really hard to get. Lots of money, lots of hard work. Nobody in the right mind would want to transfer their trade secret to another party that easily. I dont see it happening even if VW holds stake in PROTON.

FDI wise, we have almost none of the restriction on semiconductor manufacturing business. And my god they sprouted like mushroom. In fact in the 90s it will be weird if the chips didn’t have the name “MALAYSIA” stamped on it. But come the 2000, where are they now? as you guess it INDONESIA, CHINA, VIETNAM. They moved out anyway protection or not.

Business is business. They’re here when cheap labours were available. Remember when we’re considerably cheap. But would you want to live again on 12 hours shift at 600 ringgit per month.

The only way to survive is to move our asses and start creating something ourselves. Which at the end still takes a lot of time, money and hard work. And Proton at least for better or worse have move theirs.

• tunguuu on Feb 01, 2012 at 11:43 am

we lose business opportunistic because of bureaucracy….as simple as that.

we r always number one in FDI interest, because our stable politics (much better than other SEA countries) and also our strategic locations and much better infrastructure.

n yeas business is business, so y burden we the people by having a company that artifically makes money because its protected? how many years its a so called infant industry?

how come MODENAS can do a better job?? do they have protection? nope, they built their name. n yet in my family we had 3 modenas bikes, n they lasted a great deal…
        no protection n they strive hard..

after 25 years u built a new so called high tech car…cant even do basic car, so much problems…my new neo….already having so many noises..not even 6 months old…crap.nn the car is so basic…

so what u think of a new high tech loaded car? i wonder how quick it will break.fall apart…

create is gud, not at the expense of the people, expensive cars n heck no public transport..only now they think bout it.

vision 2020 is crap…. all the little kids drawings will never happen..we r heading to debt, quickened by companies like proton, and cronies. perwaja steel one example, what happened? whose money? my tax paying money, n it went bust… mahathir can quickyl blame others. smart. n now he support proton when his sons are in oil buiness…

cut this crappy n money bleeding companies, n create money making companies, with the tech of knowhow, internet, and also so many graduates im sure it can be done if its a free hand of the gov…once the gov meddles in it thats it..its crappy…

• haha. you have a lot of crap in your post.

• tunguuu on Feb 01, 2012 at 2:50 pm

i would love for u to explain how my opinions are crap…thks

• Chill out dude.
            I not judging your opinion. I’m just saying there’s a lot swear words in your writing. Which IMO isn’t really necessary. :)

• Nissan on Feb 01, 2012 at 10:00 am

Doesn’t care who is in control. Just make a REAL ppl’s car…………..i don’t wan’t to choose Myvi when i change my car in future.

• AlCapone on Feb 01, 2012 at 10:02 am

Actually,the badge looks like VW owned by Proton..VW for sure will not allow that..hahaha..

• VW will build up Proton just like what they did we SEAT & SKODA…..not just a mere re-badge but as a compliment to the VW brand with their respective own distinct brand and character….just look at the VW Sharan and the Seat alhambra…twins but different character.

Hope they can develop Proton along that line

• kenari on Feb 01, 2012 at 6:27 pm

At least we have someone that understand the business works of VW. If WV takes over, the PROTON name will remain, just like SEAT & SKODA. Look at them now. Successfully selling more cars that are better in terms of quality, safety and fuel efficiencies. Don’t understand why so many out there that’s so GUNG-HO with the PROTON name!!! It’s time to move on and live the future!!! Leave the auto business to the pros since we don’t have the deeeeep pocket and expertise. 25 years of trail and error, yet back to square one. Enough is enough!!!

• jawabandar on Feb 01, 2012 at 10:34 am

we’ll see what’s gonna happen when the deal is materialised…

• DRB should fired all the current proton car designer exterior/interior and try to input VW designers/ideas into new P1 models with new better design direction.

• rosdi on Feb 01, 2012 at 10:44 am

Nanti sure akan jadi like Suzuki lah!.. Sure one… Volkswagen is a corporate entity and their only interest is to make profit… why share their technology to others? Before long Proton will be dumped once Volkswagen got what they wanted.

• Just Another Dude.. on Feb 01, 2012 at 11:50 pm

Germans are not Japanese, they are actually interested in developing the talents as they see human capital as investment, not cheap labor to make quick bucks. The technology they transfer to Malaysians are not 15-20 years old, unlike japanese companies. All the cool shit and latest technology are valiantly guarded in Japan, they won’t even share them with their oversea branches.

And yes, I have worked for both.

• Alinda on Feb 01, 2012 at 10:44 am

This is great news. I hope the marriage between Proton and VW will work. Can’t wait to see how the offsprings will look like.

• NoParking on Feb 01, 2012 at 10:49 am

PROVOLKS ….i like!

• VW very gungho nowadays bcoz they want to be worlds no 1 in terms of car sales. Thats why they want to do jv left n right.

if they do engage in a collaborative agreement, i hope it wont turn sour like between vw n suzuki. Suzuki now wants out bcoz they claimed there was no technology transfer as agreed. Vw only wanted a slice of suzuki’s market share in india for its swift model.

• Yes, yes never trust this orang putih. They will squizz the juice out of you and leave you flat. Lucky Suziku they realised that before they are squizzzzed. Just wonder what potential they see in Proton?

• I prolly get lots of thumb down due to this opn. But i find the logo very symbolic because VW appears over “malaya tigers” which is the symbol of malaysia’s pride. It appears to serve as a subtle reference to germany pwning malaysia’s @$$.

• kenari on Feb 01, 2012 at 6:34 pm

Japanese tak mau percaya. Mat Salleh also don’t trust. In the end trust who ah?????

• Hah.. what happened to the story of how Suzuki betrayed VW and went for Fiat.

• tunguuu on Feb 01, 2012 at 2:53 pm

hmm..seams like skoda n seat r doing rather well under VW…

• Maybe VW wants a local assembly for Skoda cars. At present Skoda’s prices are close to VW. With local assembly the price will be lower and won’t be a direct compitition for VW cars which give us an optic looking for continental cars.

• kc8ch on Feb 01, 2012 at 12:21 pm

to VW: U have plenty of choices, why die die must protong?

• Aiya, whatever la. On, off and everything in between. As long as we the Malaysians don’t have to continue subsidizing them until our children’s children gone to the graves.

I’m just so sick of seeing my tax and non tax money used without much accountability by the powers that be.

• Jaybond on Feb 01, 2012 at 2:05 pm

Rebadged is highly if not, extremely impossible. Engine & chassis dev. commonization as well as TGM plant utilization – possible..

• tommy on Feb 01, 2012 at 2:18 pm

DRB should sell some stake to VW and make proton like skoda in asia, use their drivetrain and engine but design more sporty and prices remain below RM100k then export to whole asia and middle east.

Look at how VW is progressing in Malaysia right now , in every major town you can see VW showrooms coming up.

• Wisdom on Feb 01, 2012 at 2:29 pm

I guess Proton wont be as bad as Suzuki coz Malaysian is not that suicidal..

• pravin on Feb 01, 2012 at 4:41 pm

I am amazed that some ball carrier have the guts to compare
    Suzuki and Proton. Suzuki developes their own small engines
    and have their market share in India to protect
    but Proton has nothing to offer except for their crappy outdated Campro,
    Do some reading b4 blindly posting comments about the
    failed Suzuki – VW saga….rosdi esp u !!!

• Now its clear already…who is the funder for DRB take over..

• Protong Inferia on Feb 01, 2012 at 8:04 pm

Maybe the main target is to get Lotus. Protong is just a stepping stone.

• BeemerFreak on Feb 01, 2012 at 10:17 pm

VW group does not need Lotus, in terms of chasis and engine development they are way ahead of Lotus and further more they have Lamborghini and Audi.

• peeps on Feb 02, 2012 at 12:31 am

Why do they need lotus when they already got the best.. lotus is a money sucking company.. only proton is stupid enough to buy it..

• MAI Apprentice on Feb 01, 2012 at 10:02 pm

please bring in the hot stamping tech.. we really need it.. local automotive engineers looking forward for this type of tech transfer..

• Isn’t Tanjung Malim have already had that installed for the upcoming P321.

• badge on Feb 01, 2012 at 10:06 pm

careful with the badge sketching, could be brought to court by both VW and Proton for messing with their trademarks

• Jimmy on Feb 01, 2012 at 10:21 pm

Welcome Proton Passat at Perdana’s price.

• There are lots of possibilities like a new Perdana from Passat, selling some Lotus shares to VW, getting petrol and diesel engines for future Proton Cars and Proton making platforms for VW (cheaper making it here)?

• Lim Kopi on Feb 02, 2012 at 1:21 am

You know what people, I have become so numb by this sort of news in the past …

Will just sit and watch what these guys can do…. without getting overexcited.

These big organisations are after all, still controlled by one UMNO crony or another…

therefore …. expect the Same sh*t ….

• faisal on Feb 02, 2012 at 10:18 am

Teknologi Eropah manja sikit. Tidak seperti Teknologi Jepun. Tahan Lasak. Nanti keluar lagi isu Proton banyak masalah. Fikir-fikirkan lah…

• picasso on Feb 03, 2012 at 7:54 am

Ko pernah pakai kereta conti ke? cakap biar ada fact. Aku pakai citroen picasso dah 6 tahun tak pernah tukar suspesion part lagi..kalau honda dah banyak yang rabak…

• faisal on Feb 03, 2012 at 10:04 am

Bapak aku guna 230E. Member aku guna E200. Try tanya pulak org pakai BMW.Tau la sikit-sikit bila pegi workshop untuk maintanance dan kosnya. walaupun tak husler pasal Conti ni. Pernah dengar tak org cakap kalau nak feel memandu bawak kereta Erope dan kalau nak start dan jalan bawak kereta Jepun. Sorry kalau salah fact. Ini berdasar kan my Exp la.

• samsam on Feb 02, 2012 at 10:23 am

i know its not my problem but i think should sell it as soon as possible uk citizen hates proton

• kamaji on Feb 02, 2012 at 2:54 pm

There are 2 possible reasons for VW here.First the a functional plant & the gomen protection.Imagine that if VW polo will to rebadge & sell around 55K, then who still need the Myvi. As for Lotus,VW will never be interested as they are far more superior in both chasis,engine & racing technology.

• Ash Menon on Feb 03, 2012 at 2:49 am

Proton – VW – DRB. What does this teach you, boys and girls? If the relationship isn’t working, make it a threesome.

• Vincent on Feb 04, 2012 at 11:32 pm

VW looking into technical collaboration with Proton???

Sudah lar… just a normal visit before the rebadge project start.

If not because of VW confirm rebadge project, will DRB buy P1?

When P1 in troblem, they sell it off…now, got potential profit, quickly buy back…

Part of the national political game!