‘WWW 1’ sets number plate record – RM520k!

It’s no big surprise that “WWW 1” has set a new record as Malaysia’s most expensive vehicle registration number, but the all-time high bid of RM520,000 for that number plate is shocking nonetheless. Yes, someone bid RM520k for the bragging rights, as revealed by Transport Minister Datuk Seri Kong Cho Ha.

RM520k for “WWW 1” is enough to comfortably eclipse the previous record – RM300,100 for “MCA 1” in 2010. It’s not just the coveted #1 however; the “WWW” series broke all sorts of registration number records as well.

First, 13 of the successful bids were worth more than RM100,000 and three of them went for RM300,000 each. The total amount of bids received so far is more than RM64 million, and the “WWW” series is estimated to rake in RM11.3 million.

Kong revealed that of the 10,000 numbers in the series, 4,908 received bids while the remaining 5,091 will become running numbers that will be sold to the public. “The highest number of bids (in this series) goes to “WWW 333” which received 84 bids,” Kong added. Total bids? 18,243.

The full results will only be released via JPJ’s portal on Monday, and letters informing bidders of the results will be sent out from June 6.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• anti-vios on May 25, 2012 at 12:57 pm

sape cakap orang mesia xde duit?

• anti-dugong on May 25, 2012 at 1:14 pm

ramai orang malaysia kaya. tapi yang slalu buat bising orang yang tak kaya.. sebab tu ada saja yang asyik komplen tax mahal la, kete mahal la… kete masuk malaysia jadi harga mahal la… dah bosan la wei.. benda sama je

• Orang Bukit2 on May 25, 2012 at 1:31 pm

Good for JPJ.

• d.o.b 1887 on May 25, 2012 at 1:08 pm

Hopefully this plate will not own by UMNO or BN ppl

• ta-boo-gen on May 25, 2012 at 4:01 pm

why not?

• senna101 on May 25, 2012 at 6:25 pm

Why do people like you have to turn everything into a political debacle? So what if UMNO, MIC, MCA, PAS, DAP, Keadilan, Bersih, Kotor, red shirt, yellow shirt, singlet etc. etc. owns this number? Can’t you leave our country in peace?

• Always look alike on May 25, 2012 at 9:30 pm

Never taught how to think before open mouth. Badly brought up!

• i dont see any problem.

• Lim Kopi on May 30, 2012 at 11:19 am

According to a Chinese paper, this plate belongs to Johor Sultan ….

U would still say its used from taxpayers money?

• Johnny on May 25, 2012 at 1:12 pm

Pls donate to charity rather than buy number plate.

• wuttaheck on May 25, 2012 at 3:59 pm

he/she made 5 mil donation to charity maa…520k only 10% of it…so okay loorrr

• Always look alike on May 25, 2012 at 9:32 pm

Don’t teach people how to use their money.

• albag on May 25, 2012 at 1:18 pm

it’s crazy to see how malaysians are so crazy about plate numbers… kalo guna illegal font donno kenak saman tak…

• Hakikatnya kemiskinan bandar amat meruncing di negara ini.
    Golongan hartawan abaikan tanggungjawab sosial, malah sanggup tabur duit untuk nombor plet.

Kita tengok hartawan yang menang nombor WWW ni nanti.
    Kalau kaya dengan wang sendiri, ikut suka dia.
    Kalau kaya dengan hasil rakyat, maka siaplah untuk dikerjakan.

• jalan54 on May 25, 2012 at 1:29 pm

stupid! It is only a damn number plate!

• Orang Bukit2 on May 25, 2012 at 1:31 pm

Good for JPJ

• SagaBLM on May 25, 2012 at 1:33 pm

Where does Malaysian money goes? Out of the country, government taxes for cars, and car plates.

• Orang Bukit2 on May 25, 2012 at 1:34 pm

ok

• yybbnn on May 25, 2012 at 1:53 pm

Don’t tell me the picture is true? The old 3 series wearing WWW 1 plate?
    :-O

• seriousdude on May 25, 2012 at 1:54 pm

wa…with that money i can buy a luxury car…why buy a plastic card with numbers ^^

• Always look alike on May 25, 2012 at 9:37 pm

You won’t understand the mind of the SUPER RICH people. When or if ever you can reach there, you will understand.

• seriousdude on May 26, 2012 at 9:16 am

seriously, if i’m rich i still wont give a damn about number plates ^^
        i admit it makes u stand out, it also makes u an easy target for kidnap/robbery etc ^^

• economy recession what?….

• JeremyNg on May 25, 2012 at 2:16 pm

This will become the rich people game …… damn !!!!

• gila_TOTO on May 25, 2012 at 4:41 pm

yes yes..also no-brainer ppl who pay more than a bungalow nx time for PUK1

• Antistupid on May 25, 2012 at 6:16 pm

More like “morons-with-too-much-money-and-too-little-brain” game

• Kuang on May 25, 2012 at 2:28 pm

Entah Menteri Mana yang bagi tender :'( Makan duit rakyat untuk plat kereta.

• Naji$ Bin Tun Ro$mah on May 25, 2012 at 2:30 pm

How about the plate number (W 1)?

I saw it mounted on a SL last time. it was not the most expensive plate?

• Cosmo Artemis on May 25, 2012 at 3:23 pm

I wish to see the WWW1 owner put the number at his honda kapcai mata bulat, wear a short and singlet and wear an apollo helmet. Do you think people will believe that the number is his?

• senna101 on May 25, 2012 at 6:30 pm

Why not? He/she spent his/her entire savings to get this number, so now all he/she can afford is a Honda kapcai mata bulat. Itu pun kena beli second-hand and then ask for loan some more…

• souless_soul on May 25, 2012 at 4:38 pm

JPJ is saying most expensive number plate tender amt, not market value….W1 is prolly almost 80-90 yrs old and it most prolly wasnt tendered but registered on the 1st car officially in Msia tat time….even WW1, BB1, JJ1, KK1 including our ex premier’s MM1 most prolly was tendered at a much lower price at that time…rmbr, it’s be a collosal amount for someone to pay even 1k for a number back in the 40’s or 50’s….that’s when few cents can buy a decent meal….
      Resale & market value is a different thing altogether….rumour has it that TAN was tendered 200k but later sold off at 500k!….go figure….

• d.o.b 1887 on May 25, 2012 at 7:44 pm

lol, havent seen W1 before, the oldest plate I seen is B 2841, and it is a 50’s Morris Minor

• i’ve seen W1. silver porsche. boxster if i am not mistaken. coming out from low yat plaza KL. one of their director i guess.

• After this wait for selangor registration , although is still to far to wait but it is really valuable for the owner, BMW all series , right now BLM rite.

• MrDDR on May 25, 2012 at 2:49 pm

After BMW than wait for BMX specially for bicycle.

• Ah Long on May 25, 2012 at 5:18 pm

Right now it is BLS. My Prediction that BMW 1 will more than RM 520k. The reason W is so fast due to many runners buying number plate at Wangsa Maju rather than going to Padang Jawa.

• Kayo Den on May 25, 2012 at 3:03 pm

Plate no ni bakal jadi sasaran perompak atas jalan…sebab dia tau pemilik duit banyak..plate no plastik pun boleh bayar setengah juta…tak kan tak leh rompak sikit..jaga jaga sapa bawak kereta ni. Pastikan ada escort kereta kebal haha

• Half a Mil for a number plate.. Rich Malaysian’s are crazy!
      The poor struggle to pay toll, road tax and petrol.. while the rich just splurge on number plate! grrr…!

64mil from bidding for WWW alone. How much has JPJ got from other bids? Why not remove tolls and ask this ****** to fund the highway cost..

• Yep, totally idiotic and how selfish of those people. Not only the winner but those who bid for it too.

• junaidi on May 25, 2012 at 3:18 pm

would be nice to know where the money goes to.

• '76 Hemi Barracuda on May 25, 2012 at 3:29 pm

BAPAK MAHAL!!!!!

• oditorburok on May 25, 2012 at 3:33 pm

any firm audits JPJ?
    MACC/BNM screens this buyer?

• putra_rider on May 25, 2012 at 4:37 pm

This is another way on how rich people donate to the country.
    Surely the car they put their number is more expensive than their no.plates.
    I think it is their self satisfaction of achivement to own such numbers..
    Its like why someone buy BMW rather than forte/kia/vios because both are car?
    If u could use a non 3G nokia as your daily handphone, than why buy tab/smartphone?
    Just throwing my free opinion..tq.

• The reason you buy a bmw over a kia is because you get better quality, safety and performance. You can’t put a price in safety especially.
      But a number plate – wtf?!?!?!?

• what an idiot!

• Among interesting numbers in malaysia

Penang:
    PUK 1, PUK11, PUK111, PUK1111

Selangor:
    BAB 1, BAB 11, BAB111, BAB1111

• WWW 1 on May 25, 2012 at 6:09 pm

RM520K just to buy a number !!! Crazy…..

• Honda Power on May 25, 2012 at 6:11 pm

With RM520K, I can buy a double storey bungalow. It’s just ridiculous to pay more than RM 0.5 million for a number plate.

• Kalun on May 25, 2012 at 6:21 pm

use that money to pay off my JPJ saman

• hahaha..actually im the winner of WWW1 number plate..and i plan to put it on my VIVA

• Ah Long on May 26, 2012 at 3:56 pm

hahaha…… I believe WWW 1 will bought by Agong. JPJ claim that WWW 1 reserved and bought by Agong.

• go-every-where on May 25, 2012 at 7:50 pm

the rich is so rich. hopefully with more of this people to pay for the plate, the gov can reduce our taxes.

• V12Kompressor on May 25, 2012 at 8:37 pm

WWW1 – WWW9999

Only 9,999 numbers, mana dapat 10,000?

Unless ada WWW 0… haha

• 1000horses on May 25, 2012 at 9:35 pm

Haha must b typo la the bid n open nos add up to 9999 which is correct….

• Statistician on May 25, 2012 at 10:37 pm

This is only the bidding price with JPJ. after market price is even more expensive. As I understand the after market price for TAN 1 is unbelievable high

• DArkerMarker on May 25, 2012 at 11:42 pm

bila mati, can take the plate together izit?

• Azydy on May 26, 2012 at 12:23 am

paid money for nonsense thing.. what the hell

• incognito on May 26, 2012 at 4:03 am

WWW 1? What a waste. I was hoping for WWW 666.

The Internet is evil I tell ya….

• TamJin on May 26, 2012 at 4:05 am

I am so sick of the way they did this. JPJ should sell the plate number as ‘First come First Serve’ instead of bidding like having Auction ! This doesn’t make sense at all. It’s not that jealous of those rich peoples,but think back before you became a rich person,you were once a average income person as well. Feel as how people feel. See as how people feel.

• you wish to feel special.. you have to pay for it.. not work for it..

• meanwhile our gap between rich n poor class gets closer..hidup BN!

• Norrafi on May 28, 2012 at 10:30 am

Should above WWW 1 pic change to Blue White Bugatti, I think you know who owned it now.

• aegisshi on May 28, 2012 at 11:23 am

ha such a cute plate number n the kontroversi one..sume org sibuk psl plate number ni kn..excited plak nk tau ownwer dia..:)

• La Hami bin Ahmad on May 28, 2012 at 12:17 pm

Here’s my favourite pick

MCE – SPM predecessor.
    DCA – Good for Kelantanese who work at Department of Civil Aviation.
    WWE – Fans of wrestler John Cena, etc.
    WWF – The one with pandas.
    WTA – Tennis freaks
    WTC – For those who watched the movie on NY’s fallen landmark.
    WSJ – Wall Street Journal
    WHY – as in “mengapa”,”bakit”,”kya hua”.
    WUT – as in “Apa?,” “Ano Ba?”,
    PEN – Penang Airport
    KBR – Sultan Ismail Petra Airport, Kota Bharu.
    KCH – Kuching Airport
    JHB – Senai Airport
    PHG – Pahangites who work in Penang
    PAY – bayaq
    PDF – type of document in Adobe Acrobat
    NBA – US basketball league
    CBS – US TV network with an ‘eye’
    NBC – US TV network with a ‘peacock’.
    MH – MAS
    AK – AirAsia
    ACA – MACC predecessor.

Has anyone spotted AFC703 or WLT311?