Toyota Camry SE Sport – US market limited edition

The US-market gets a special 2012 Toyota Camry SE Sport, which reaches showrooms this week. This limited edition is available only for the base engine, a 178 hp 2.5 litre four-cylinder Dual VVT-i unit paired to a six-speed automatic gearbox.

The Camry SE Sport edition has a MRSP (Manufacturer’s Suggested Retail Price) of US$25,995 and includes 18-inch alloys with smoked finish and 225/45 tyres, eight-way power seat with power lumbar support, power sunroof, and Display Audio (6.1-inch touchscreen) with navigation and Entune.

Exterior colours offered include Barcelona Red, Attitude Black, and for the first time on this latest generation Camry in USA, Blizzard Pearl. The cabin can be in black or black/ash. Production of the red and black models started on 6 August, while the pearl white will be available for only three months from the start of production on 12 September to 12 November. All American Camrys are made at Toyota’s Kentucky plant.

The Camry XV50 was launched here back in June, but with different front and rear designs. Read our first impressions here.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• rakyatbiasa on Sep 03, 2012 at 4:34 pm

Talk about getting from bad to worse, Toyota.

• sorry toyota. i cannot accept the design, so boxy, come on toyota now it’s already 2012, not 90’s

• dstl1128 on Sep 04, 2012 at 8:57 am

It is far cheaper to draw straight line with ruler than do curved car design.

• MeAgain on Sep 03, 2012 at 4:38 pm

for heavens sake guys…STOP converting US$25,995 to Ringgit….u will feel alot better!

• Dr Kervokian on Sep 03, 2012 at 4:40 pm

at only 178hp. its kinda like a ahbengfied proton saga without the turbo

• Sam Loo on Sep 03, 2012 at 5:09 pm

Camry not meant for Ah Bengs

• Suarez on Sep 03, 2012 at 11:18 pm

It is actually, only you don’t realize it. IS FOR AH BENG CHINAMAN like you!!!!

• ae101 on Sep 04, 2012 at 11:17 am

dont be like typical basher la. where on earth tell you that adding bodykit is meant for chinaman or ah beng? a lot of manufacturer did that nowadays. first come out with plain model. then add bodykit and sell it more expensive to earn more profit from the base. last time bodykits and accessories used to be after market product. can you imagine a piece of fiber or pu from thailand/china can earn you at least 50-80% profit? manufacturer see the big money here and of cos they wont let other ppl taste their pie. everyone here feel annoying because of the chain effects started from p1 last time.end up malaysian eye sored when see similar tactic from other manufacturer.

• Delan on Sep 03, 2012 at 4:42 pm

25k USD? Well maybe due to its local production (CKD) then.

• mohsin on Sep 03, 2012 at 4:44 pm

I tot a new Altis

• Still a better looking one than ours!!

• the el no on Sep 04, 2012 at 10:58 am

both are ugly..so sharp my eyes hurt..i’d rather slow down and change lane than drive behind “that thing”.

• Megane on Sep 03, 2012 at 4:54 pm

Hahaha …this Camry make me laugh .Why the exterior body quality looks cheap like Myvi and Altis ? Jimat besi ka Toyota ? Besi naik harga ka ? The back is hideous !

• How to judge quality by looking at the pic?or you just want to bash?lol

• kington on Sep 03, 2012 at 5:53 pm

It looks cheap coz it’s a flat piece of metal. Don’t be like one of those that’ll fall for chrome finishings or rubber strips to enhance the looks of the car.

The front looks good. Way better than ours.

• We will never get that type of specs from UMW toyota. They just wanna rip off every single cent from us

• blackbox on Sep 03, 2012 at 5:19 pm

There are no way to link camry to the word “sport” you can link it to comfort, very comfort, ah pek, ah beng….. but never link it to “sport”. Just like Porsche 911 will have GT2, GT3 RS CUP, Carrera but never have Porsche 911 Comfort.

• kington on Sep 03, 2012 at 5:55 pm

There has been.. Remeber the Aurion based Camry with the supercharger? That was fast and is still one of those non V8s that could live with the Falcons and Commodores in Oz.

• You know, wannabes are everywhere.

• x-vios on Sep 03, 2012 at 5:46 pm

don’t look sporty at all….

• 1st look like Civic FD..
    2nd time looking like Impreza..
    After that, cant shake that Impreza-ish look..

• armandd on Sep 03, 2012 at 7:33 pm

Well.. It’s still a fat, FWD and boring old Camry…

• kancildriver on Sep 03, 2012 at 8:06 pm

of course. positioning & target sales group talk: it is meant for that, to be fat and boring. if they change it into something sporty, they wont call it camry. same like a civic, honda wont produce a civic with comfort and body like an accord. same like kfc wont sell ikan bakar. if you’re looking for something sporty, get yourself a GTR.

• Darn! on Sep 03, 2012 at 7:58 pm

The design Is getting worse!

• dstl1128 on Sep 03, 2012 at 10:21 pm

So this Camry also comes without ESP?

• Alex Chan on Sep 03, 2012 at 10:34 pm

this is the most awesome design for 2012.remember guys..its retain its high resale value more than those stupid looking europe cars..
    only business man use toyota camry..a very prestiges brand that everyone crave into…i love the superb handling of my trd vios..anytime can tapau those ugly VW golf..sorry guys..we chinese only appreciate what really true car..other can buy cow cart (proton n perodua)

• Ah Beng spotted, praising a milo can Vios without knowing the fact that its actually a ‘cheap car for asean market’ project

• ferras on Sep 04, 2012 at 2:46 am

you have to tell everybody here that your TRD vios can tapau ferrari and lambo too lol

• maggimee on Sep 04, 2012 at 8:16 am

‘i love the superb handling of my trd vios’ hahahahaha ah beng really outdated these days, vios got handling meh? lolol

• civicEK on Sep 04, 2012 at 12:19 pm

VIOS TRD?? U SERIOUS BRO?? LOLOLOLOL :D

• omg, does he really know wat is car? TRD Vios is having same absorber and suspension as d normal vios, no different, some more it is rear torsion beam only. This kind of joke really come only from Ah Beng!!!!!!

• kusochon on Sep 04, 2012 at 3:34 pm

oh yes love the sampan handling!

• NeverEnough on Sep 03, 2012 at 10:57 pm

The Americans love our Camry..

• Trust me guys. No matter how ugly it is. There will be still so many Camry on the road . LoLs . This is Malaysia

• the greed toyolta on Sep 04, 2012 at 1:16 am

toyota has lost the passion to build proper cars.
    toyota loves your money more than anything else. that is why the save cost by hiring 3rd world designers from myanmar to design this hideous fugly 2012 camry.
    it is IMPOSSIBLE to design anything worse than this fugly junk.
    i almost puke every time i see this damn fugly junk on the road.

• alex chan on Sep 04, 2012 at 9:09 am

seems like u guys cannot accept the fact..hahaha..in 1 years time..malaysia road will be fill up with new toyota camry again (just like before..and the yearss before..and the yearss before…no worries there is always another alternative (proton/perodua = cow cart) for you guys who cannot afford a prestigious brand = toyota OK

• So, must everyone buy a Camry? Stupid.

• ahbeng on Sep 09, 2012 at 12:40 am

why not…the camry is the good brand..we look at brand…not a car

• Suarez on Sep 04, 2012 at 10:21 am

Which milk powder that you take when you’re young? Toyota is not a prestigious brand, LEXUS is. Lolzz, ppl like you and Sam Loo will think driving a Toyota will give you a upper class. Get a life, dream bigger my friend!!

• alex chan on Sep 04, 2012 at 11:54 am

nahh we chinese will always drive toyota..it is the pretigious brand compare to other car…because we got money maa..if u cannot afford..work hard (i doubt other races can be on par with us) until die ok!

• Suarez on Sep 04, 2012 at 6:37 pm

Lolzzz….Sorry, Im chinese but im not on the same boat with you. Toyota is nothing to me, i don’t feel proud if im driving one. Toyota is just an everyday car for ppl to get to point A to point B. If Toyota brand is prestigious, what is LEXUS then????!!!!!!!
          Don’t be racism my fren, your are disgracing the chinese!!!

• ghete on Sep 04, 2012 at 8:59 pm

can we just talk about cars here, no racism please

• dreaming of maserati on Sep 04, 2012 at 12:18 pm

haha….only to you and ah beng it is considered prestigious. Some people drive dugong vios also can feel prestigious. shiok sendiri only.
      you are the laughing stock to the rest of the world.

• i think he is toyota salesman. when u read his previous comment above, u will ask him go fly kites

• still looks like a box, a robot, so squarish ouchh!

• interesting..but no coverage on the new launching of vios 2012?

• Summicron on Sep 04, 2012 at 2:48 pm

Like that call sporty? Looks like a car my kid draw on his doodle.

• oldpassater on Sep 04, 2012 at 2:52 pm

now this piece looks better than the f10 !!!

• Onkyou on Sep 04, 2012 at 4:50 pm

It is called Sport Edition because it has sport-tuned shock absorbers, springs and solid stabilizer bar, which differs from others.

Also got leather-trimmed tilt/telescopic sport steering wheel with paddle shifters.

• ABTguy on Sep 04, 2012 at 5:14 pm

Yawn ……… boring Toyota …

• no matter what..still as ugly as hell!

• Sahipul on Sep 05, 2012 at 10:38 am

I wish UMW Toyota can come out with this trick-out model here, make it as a limited series, I’m sure it will be a hit.

• sudahtua on Sep 05, 2012 at 4:44 pm

I don’t know why most of the guys here think it’s ugly.
    For me, it ok. May be because my age – 47.
    If there is a chance, I will get one.

• Just now brought home the limited Camry! Bad ass car! Love our toys