Ford Focus – 3rd-gen C346 debuts, RM116k-RM129k

We’re reporting live from the PJ Exchange in Petaling Jaya, where the third-generation Ford Focus has just made its Malaysian debut, nearly six months after it made its ASEAN market premiere at the Bangkok Motor Show.

The C346, to give the new Focus its official code designation, arrives in both sedan and hatchback forms, and in four trim guises, translating to two for each body style. Incidentally, SDAC also sprung a surprise by launching the Focus ST at the event.

The hatch versions are the Sport and Sport +, while the sedan variants are known as the Titanium and Titanium +. The ‘plus’ versions get higher specification kit, but let’s cover what’s standard fitment across the board first.

Thailand, where the car comes from (production there began in July), has the Focus in four trim levels (Trend and Ambiente are the two others) and two normally-aspirated engine choices – we’re not getting the 1.6 litre unit, so it’s left to the 2.0 litre Duratec Ti-VCT GDI to carry the day on all four versions here.

The direct injection and dual variable valve timing (both on intake and exhaust) lump offers 170 hp at 6.500 rpm and 202 Nm at 4,550 rpm for output figures. The unit is paired to a six-speed Powershift dual-clutch gearbox, with manual override coming in the form of SelectShift buttons, located on the gearknob itself.

Measurement-wise, both the hatch and sedan have the same width (1,824 mm) and height (1,466 mm), with only the length being different – the hatch is 4,358 mm long, while the sedan stretches the tape 4,534 mm.

Standard equipment across the range includes keyless entry with push-button start, automatic and electronic dual-zone climate control, a leather-wrapped steering with audio controls and a 4.2-inch TFT colour multifunction display.

Also on, Ford’s SYNC system, Bluetooth connectivity and voice control, as well as a Sony MP3/CD player and nine-speaker system, replete with USB/iPod connectivity.

Standard safety kit across the range includes front and side airbags, ABS, EBD, brake assist, TCS, ESP and Isofix points. The + models add rear curtain airbags.

All versions also feature an Active Shutter Grille, electric power assist steering and Torque Vectoring Control as standard. Linked to the car’s cooling system temperature, ASG – which has 16 possible positions – shuts the lower bumper centre grille for better aerodynamic efficiency at high speeds.

On both hatchbacks, the seats are finished in semi-leather, and seat adjustment is of the manual variety. For the sedans, leather seats are regulation issue, as is a four-way power adjustable driver’s seat.

Different wheel sizes too; the hatchbacks are dressed in 17-inch units, with 215/50 series rubbers, while both Titanium sedans run with 16-inch alloys and 205/60 profile tyres.

Besides the previously mentioned rear curtain airbags, going the + route adds on bi-xenon HID headlamps (the non-plus makes do with halogens) with auto-on function and follow-me-home lighting, cruise control, auto dimming rear view mirror, variable dimming for the instrument cluster and auto rain sensing wipers.

That’s not all. The + gets a powered tilt/slide sunroof, Active Park Assist and Active City Stop (read more about these in Danny’s comprehensive first take on the Focus), and in the case of the Titanium +, a Blind Spot Information System (BLIS).

As for colours, the variety is less than found in Thailand (which has eight) – we get five exterior shades in all, with Frozen White being the only one available for all four trim versions. Candy Red and Midnight Sky feature on three models each, while Ingot Silver is exclusive to the sedans and Panther Black, the hatches.

Lastly, pricing. The Sport hatch and Titanium sedan go for RM115,888, while the + versions for both retail for RM128,888, all on-the-road including insurance. It’s very competitive pricing for a comprehensively-equipped offering, topped off by the introduction of a five-year or 200,000 km warranty for it, a first for Ford in Malaysia (the Fiesta, Mondeo and S-Max registered from now also get the five-year deal). As it goes, the arrival of the Focus should stir things up in the segment very nicely.

Read Danny’s take on the new Focus hatch and sedan here.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Seriously, it is worth to have one.

• Apa apa sahaja on Sep 13, 2012 at 10:46 pm

depan lawa… belakang out habis…

• Basikal Cabuk on Sep 14, 2012 at 11:34 am

The black portion of the back bumper look so ugly and no sportier compared to Vios, Civic, Forte, Inspira, Preve etc.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 75
        • BMW BEST on Sep 15, 2012 at 10:28 am

I wonder where the hell part back of the Vios looks sportier.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 0
          • Taiko on Sep 15, 2012 at 3:34 pm

You can find it on Vios TRD Sportivo. Its rear bumper in particular is way nicer than this Focus although in general Vios is just like a dugong.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 39
          • ghett on Sep 15, 2012 at 4:54 pm

enough with vios

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 0
        • Lapeno on Sep 24, 2013 at 1:12 pm

Says the design expert… /sarcasm

• samsamsam on Sep 14, 2012 at 12:02 am

agree…

bye bye honda civic

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 0
      • theanswer on Sep 14, 2012 at 12:30 am

actually in terms of handling..focus is already well known as a rival beater..even since previous gen model.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 0
    • Janji da 3rd Parti on Sep 14, 2012 at 11:13 am

Great car at good price….

Only thing that will screw it up is Sime Darby’s dealership and after sales service.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
    • Hmm thinking to trade my VW for this coz i’m tired of the DSG problems…breakdown is so dangerous and shame! Ford is getting better and better !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 0
      • junior driver on Sep 15, 2012 at 12:38 am

sure u own a VW? or just keyboard warrior/bragger..
        go claim ur hotel stay/car rental/temp car (under their 5 years premium road side support)..
        if u have VW u sure get those :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 21
        • Youratard on Nov 29, 2012 at 2:55 am

Your an idiot. First of all, if you buy an automatic like a dipshit, expect to break down. Thats what happens when hydraulic pumps fail. Second, VW along with Ford (focus is german engineered), and any German manufacturers all produce quality cars. You are an idiot.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 10
      • Janji da 3rd Parti on Sep 15, 2012 at 2:41 am

Ford is less reliable than german made VW.

And Sime Darby doesn’t do it much justice… u want reliability go for a boring Japanese car mate!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 10
        • Janji ada3 party- wrong mate. VW is not as reliable as Ford. Dsg gearbox problems of Vw and high engine oil consumption of gti & tsi engines are real issues worldwide

• Pimp Daddy on Sep 15, 2012 at 2:44 am

YEAH RIGHT !!

AS IF THAT GIRL CAN DEEJAY !!

Just press play oni laa!! LOL!!

• Mozilla Chrome on Sep 13, 2012 at 8:06 pm

We will see a lot of this on our road.

• shawal on Sep 13, 2012 at 8:07 pm

ooooooooohhhh!!!
    and a honda civic has none of that!

• polo saga on Sep 13, 2012 at 8:22 pm

finally, been waiting for this long time!!!

• danedz on Sep 13, 2012 at 8:37 pm

between sedan and hatchback , which one more handsome??

• Maserati on Sep 13, 2012 at 8:42 pm

Yucks,damn ugly and neither here nor there kinda car.
    I cant see this car selling well here.It just doesnt have something that can make it standout.Boring

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 19
    • Hyundai de la junk on Sep 13, 2012 at 10:31 pm

Inokom Elantra will kill Focus like it used to be, challenging Civic ? Dream on.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
      • Elantra is typical korean design – design not elegant and the handling suspect. Civic?….hmm gone are those days mate! Civic cars nowdays are just like plain vanilla

• As usual, you make rubbish comments again.

• Betul betul betul… Rubbish Remarks…. Focus offers a really good alternative for those Japanese made… With 3 years free service & 5 yrs warranty, legacy issue with its Service Centers is at least being addressed…. Nice !!!

• polo saga on Sep 14, 2012 at 9:21 am

agree!

• fireblade on Sep 14, 2012 at 12:18 pm

if im the buyer,between civic/elantra i’ll choose this anyday.put a side resale value as current civic is an ass and elantra just a hopeless.

• TurboMan!!! on Sep 15, 2012 at 4:10 am

You know what is the most “neither here nor there” car in Malaysia at the moment?

Its your favorite Honda CRZ.

• napster on Sep 19, 2012 at 8:37 pm

Such a loser.

• libralcl on Sep 13, 2012 at 8:43 pm

Superb spec and reasonable price (with our tax system). The only problem with me on this car is the exterior looks (this is very subjective tho). Overall is a great car. :)

• presna on Sep 13, 2012 at 8:54 pm

when will Ford introduce its Ecoboost engines in MY??? that would be so sweet….

• Jilbaber on Sep 13, 2012 at 8:58 pm

the hand brake position look awkward to me..

• aihh, why no manual? cannot afford ST and dont need all that extra power. frust…

• Definately will be my next car… No doubt.. High spec yawww..

• beng chan on Sep 13, 2012 at 9:08 pm

horrible car…better get a vios trd.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 60
    • vios trd.. lol overprice junk

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 1
    • seriously? you compare a vios to a focus??? seems like u dunno anything

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 1
      • the greed toyolta on Sep 15, 2012 at 1:52 am

why not? vios TRD can smoke this overrated focus anytime. just meet me in LDP and i’ll prove it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 48
        • Yokoyoko on Sep 15, 2012 at 4:21 am

Vios trd vs saga flx lar…lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 1
        • Tall Pan on Sep 18, 2012 at 1:30 am

wanna race better go track, ah beng… and don’t talk about racing in Vios ffs. embarrassing lol

(sorry hit the wrong REPLY) :p

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
        • Hoi toyota boy- can you provide any article in Uk or US or European magazine that rates TRD vios better than the Ford? If u cannot then better go to sleep

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 0
        • Preve Rider on Aug 30, 2013 at 4:40 pm

Hello “The Greedy Toyota” i wonder where your brain is a) toilet bowl or b) you dont hv any! Bring you Vios i will make you cry with my CFE PREVE even a Persona can slap the shit out of your dugong. Hello boy Focus is beyond comparision. Show some repect to Ford ya!

• Tall Pan on Sep 18, 2012 at 1:28 am

wanna race better go track, ah beng… and don’t talk about racing in Vios ffs. embarrassing lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 1
    • fireblade on Sep 14, 2012 at 12:19 pm

sure ah beng one.

• beng chan on Sep 13, 2012 at 9:08 pm
      horrible car…better get a vios trd.

Beng Chan, you’re jolker but not funny..

• Davincci on Sep 14, 2012 at 3:17 pm

LOL Vios TRD… Compare viva ok la

• Seriously..VIOS TRD? hehehehh gelak sampai guling guling..VIOS Tu Rupa Dugong..

• jefferson on Sep 14, 2012 at 4:23 pm

yeah you can live with your fugly vios trd for the rest of your life as that is the only car you can ever afford.

• napster on Sep 19, 2012 at 8:39 pm

There isn’t a clearer indication that Beng Chan is an idiot. Focus vs Vios. Like OMG dude. Go jump in front of a Vios.

• Typical ah beng- vios keleta sayur

• tungguuu on Sep 13, 2012 at 9:11 pm

maya karin and patricia k! n that price…compared to a 137k MADE IN MALAYSIA HONDA CIVIC, 129k is like much cheaper since its a CBU!

• Apa apa sahaja on Sep 13, 2012 at 10:49 pm

murah becoz of low brand image and not premium car.
      can see the interior build quality..
      but ok la can give alternative option to those rm5-7K/monthly income earner…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
      • beatnik on Sep 14, 2012 at 8:31 am

Have you seen the car in flesh? the materials are miles better than the previous model.. and of course better than the plasticky jap cars.

pricing is right, not like overpriced civic.

• junior driver on Sep 14, 2012 at 4:00 pm

still a cheap material/finish..
          thats why cheap price :)
          see 2-3 years time all fall apart..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 10
          • Junior driver- i think you dont know about quality since yr a junior driver. Takpa i let u grow up then u will know whats a quality car is about

• pg td pergi tgk focus dan civic
            focus nmpk lebih meyakinkan
            Civic mcm tin kosong. Xde apa2, spec sama mcm myvi

• Davincci on Sep 14, 2012 at 3:10 pm

What car you driving bro…

• What a non serious comment. Low brand image for Ford compared to Honda??? If you look world wide, Ford is among the top brands. Honda only produces cars, Ford produces everything from trucks vans, diesel or petrol.
        This car Ford Focus is one of the best in its category. if we add a nice price into it, it is unbeatable. Thats it.

• 4g63tdsm on Sep 13, 2012 at 9:15 pm

Fairly good value for money with all the toys loaded on the + versions.

The GDI powered lump don’t look particularly torque happy. Surprisingly since GDI engines with higher compression pistons tend to do well in that area. The Mazda skyactive g Looks to be making about the same torque much lower on the rpm band.

Nice warranty though but I shudder to think of servicing costs at The dealer…..

Missing the diesel though

• brazbuz on Sep 13, 2012 at 9:17 pm

seriously very tough contender to civic….

• Ecoboost or nothing! on Sep 13, 2012 at 9:18 pm

Why do we always get the suckier engines?

• biglama on Sep 14, 2012 at 2:37 pm

apa pasal cakap camni? Kalau nak ecoboost beli la FOcus ST… rm208k. Kalau tak mampu, beli la version Titanium Ti- VCT direct injection pun dah bagus dah tu. Aku dah pernah pergi ‘Exclusive Test Drive’ di Holiday Inn bulan lepas. Memang superb la walaupun bukan Ecoboost.

• vti-I on Sep 14, 2012 at 11:40 pm

tak best, torque lambat masuk, nak la macam preve 2,000rpm dah masuk, tak pun macam prince, lagi cepat

• theanswer on Sep 16, 2012 at 11:33 am

lol n/a vs turbo.

• clevy on Sep 17, 2012 at 11:07 am

proton’s engine cfe is not inferior to underpowered other engines lol

• artworks on Oct 08, 2012 at 5:40 pm

preve my ass…my fiesta pun tak mampu makan, ni nak lawan lagi dgn focus
          …hahahha

• Preve Rider on Aug 30, 2013 at 4:47 pm

Artwork i respect Ford but Fiesta is nowhere close to Preve Cfe. Hello Bro you punya brek belakang tu “Drum” tahu tak? Kalau you main dengan Preve Cfe, preve drive selamat drive Fiesta kepala meletup. Belajar sebelum buat komen ye Boy!!!!!!!

• Chris on Dec 09, 2013 at 3:49 pm

Preve Rider..i’m sure you know drum brakes provide stronger initial grip while discs provide better sustained braking. Sure…they could slap on four discs but seriously? You really don’t need more than that for a car of this specification.

You want optimised engineering..putting in more than necessary would make it no different from an ah beng mod which has massive spoilers and massive disc brakes and the lot..it’s all overkill.

Your alias says it all, you must be fond of the Preve for some reason but just suck it up. You’ve got yourself a decent family car which isn’t the worst, but it’s sluggishness says it by no means offers a dynamic driving experience like the Fiesta does.

• nak enjin 2.0 turbo? apa susah, beli inspira pastu bubuh engine evo X. habis cerita

• Seancorr on Sep 13, 2012 at 9:28 pm

This car needs more promo to introduce the brand to the public in Malaysia. Worth to note that Top Gear sang praises to this car. Hope it does well here!

• pelar on Sep 15, 2012 at 1:12 am

Read topgear for entertainment. Paultan.org is more down to earth.

• MrPoppyplants on Sep 13, 2012 at 9:29 pm

Seriously?? Not bringing in the blue colour?

What’s with car distributors omitting certain colours from coming in? If a certain colour like white sells hot, then bring more of it in, it doesn’t mean you ONLY bring in the hot selling colours and totally ignore other colours.

• Gavin on Sep 13, 2012 at 9:30 pm

how is SDAC after sales? that’s what matters to me

• amirad on Sep 13, 2012 at 9:37 pm

Tempting. Got to resist the temptation and wait for the Focus ST if it ever does reach here. So far rarely do the ST and RS hit our shore, well except for lynx RS.

• amirad on Sep 13, 2012 at 9:41 pm

Opps. I take back my comments. The ST is here. Now where can I view this sledgehammer of a car.

• JeremyNg on Sep 13, 2012 at 9:59 pm

When I read it……. I feel that those Japanese manufacturer cheated our money quite badly!! Even the standard spec is much more well equip den high spec civic..

Btw did they publish any FC figure ??

• sepul on Sep 13, 2012 at 10:06 pm

your excitement is just as tempting as mine amirad.. i never thought SDAC would bring the ST here at all.. with such pricing.. though i can never afford one for sure

• alberttee on Sep 13, 2012 at 10:13 pm

the car is good,but the before and after sales of the sime darby ford since the last lesson……I reserved to comment.

• sudonano on Sep 13, 2012 at 10:14 pm

Ford just killed the Civic and Altis. Flat.

• pelar on Sep 15, 2012 at 1:16 am

I don’t think T&H are really bothered. Otherwise, they would have done something. T&H relies more on after sales service & rv.

• Jimmy on Sep 13, 2012 at 10:23 pm

Who designed the interior?
    What, empty spec Civic is now RM137OOO already?
    Greedy!
    Focus: spec quite good, look so so, ugly handbrake.

• I don’t like the hand break. It’s so fugly.. nowadays every car maker uses electric hand break like Citreon C4.

• theanswer on Sep 16, 2012 at 11:35 am

not every la..but only premium brand. even pug 508 got 2 options for handbrake.

• Redwings on Sep 13, 2012 at 10:37 pm

Focus ST also launched?

• shawal on Sep 13, 2012 at 10:46 pm

wuts d boot space anyway?
    and izzit possible to get the sedan with the sport’s rims..?

• aiya no need to ask la. almost all c segment cars have big boots nowadays. always more than 450l-5++l

• xflow on Sep 13, 2012 at 10:48 pm

SDAC sure spent big..getting both the gorgeous Maya Karin and Patricia Sue-Lin Knudsen..now I dont know to choose which..lol

• Happy LIm on Sep 13, 2012 at 10:49 pm

looking for duratorq range, any idea will SDAC bring in diesel version?

• Manfurb on Sep 13, 2012 at 10:49 pm

I used to own a TX3 way back in the 90’s….it was my lasf ford. That model was such a big hit then…this one right here now is quite tempting but specs wise but the look….hmmmm just doesnt stand out well in the crowd

• Dr Mamak on Sep 13, 2012 at 10:55 pm

Alamak, that 2 triangle holes still there!

• michelle GTI VW on Sep 13, 2012 at 11:05 pm

vios trd? seriously? blind indeed you are…
    this is C segment car dude… the looks, specs and feature definitely challenging CVC and Alt….. ST will be superb…

• Anonymous on Sep 13, 2012 at 11:13 pm

Maya Karin looks stunning!

• i don’t like the design of this car, but the rest of the ford design is doing well

• Chow 1 on Sep 13, 2012 at 11:34 pm

Solid Global Car.

• Bell&Ross on Sep 14, 2012 at 12:37 am

i am puzzled why they decided to give the sport+ version only a manual adjustment seat and no blind spot information system.

• Tycoon88 on Sep 14, 2012 at 1:14 am

Doomsday is near for Altis, Civic and soon to be launched Slyphy! Seriously, how many cars in this world can actually “park” themselves!

Ford is legendary for being the pioneer in automobile manufacturing.

• RedBeanBun on Sep 14, 2012 at 7:28 am

hahahaha sure or not? i bet how many of this will get out of the factory…

• suarez on Sep 14, 2012 at 1:37 am

Very af-FORD-able!!!!

• ahmadfaris93 on Sep 14, 2012 at 6:38 am

Impressed with the gallery but Not impressed with this gallery yet. Where’s the hatchback version(not ST)but(Sport and Sport+) ? Dont they show it at the launch ? WHy just focus on the sedan. Maybe not yet uploaded. Waiting to be impressed

• Anthony Lim (Member) on Sep 14, 2012 at 10:02 am

ahmad, the main launch cars housed under the tent were the sedan and ST, hence the most photos of those. Usually, we wait patiently until everyone else has gone (sometimes up to an hour) to take photos of a car so we don’t have bodies and bits around it, but inclement weather last night put paid to any plans to shoot the other cars outside (primarily, the hatches).

We were the first to go live with full launch reports of both the Focus and Focus ST, and worked the launch photos in as it went along, mostly on site – can’t always win it all. As it stands, the Thai cars from Danny’s Krabi drive (http://paultan.org/2012/07/21/driven-new-ford-focus-hatch-and-sedan-in-krabi/) are primarily identical to what we have here in terms of trim and outfitting, so they represent what it is you can expect to see in the showroom. Speaking of which, nothing beats looking at it in the metal. :)

• ahmadfaris93 on Sep 14, 2012 at 2:28 pm

Thanks for the clarification, Anthony. But I am really surprised they omitted the blue and the yellowish/greenish colour. It doesnt give much choice if you want to compare with the Fiesta which gives people variety of cheerful colour.

• ahmadfaris93 on Sep 14, 2012 at 6:40 am

correction: impressed with the *CAR but not the gallery yet

• RedBeanBun on Sep 14, 2012 at 7:27 am

sit things up? sure or not, at least the Civi Hybrid I see is everywhere…Mazda3 many where, Corolla still many…Focus…keep it in show room more i guess…

• Davincci on Sep 14, 2012 at 7:51 am

Ini barula panggil Kereta zaman terkini.

• Unforgiven on Sep 14, 2012 at 8:24 am

Hopefully we’ll be seeing better spec Altis Civic, just like those US or UK spec. Peug 308 and Jazz hybrid are good spec too. Don’t compare p1 p2.

• Disappointed with no Ecoboost in the lineup. Any plan for a Thai made ST?

• Hantu on Sep 14, 2012 at 9:18 am

nice car with good specs. just hate the darth vader-like front. maybe some people like it.

• isuzuki on Sep 14, 2012 at 9:18 am

What? No TDCi? Later?

• optimus on Sep 14, 2012 at 9:20 am

wow…did not expect the basic hatch sells at RM116k…really tempting to buy it…

• optimus on Sep 14, 2012 at 9:22 am

i wonder can we change the front bumper to focus ST bumper ^^

• xanderstab on Sep 14, 2012 at 9:28 am

the rear looks like the kia K3. But certainly with this kinda price. Is better to buy this instead of elantra or k3. i want sell my honda now.

• Extrimist on Sep 14, 2012 at 9:58 am

C-segment car with STABILITY CONTROL below RM120k in Malaysia:

Proton Preve CFE (RM72990)
    Kia Forte 1.6 SX (RM85800)
    Kia Forte 2.0 SX (RM 98593)
    Hyundai Elantra 1.6 Hi-Spec (RM 98888)
    Chevrolet Cruze 1.8 LT (RM 107716)
    Hyundai Elantra 1.8 (RM 111888)
    Kia Forte Koup (2.0) (RM 115800
    Ford Focus Sport, Titanium (2.0) (RM 115888)
    Honda Civic 1.8S (RM 115980)
    Honda Civic Hybrid (1.5L) (RM 119980)

• OilChange on Sep 14, 2012 at 10:01 am

and people still want to buy honda and toyota?

they must be very crazy

• batumudo on Sep 14, 2012 at 10:04 am

Tempting specs & price. Make civic and altis look like jurassic. The only setback is the manual override using button + no paddle shifter.

• Ohhh Dear….
    Memang mengoda habis la…. civic 2.0 aku pun dah 2 bulan belum dapat lagi ni ….. apa nak buat ….kan aku kansell kan …..

Good looks, good spec, good offer and good price too!! FORD have own style and spec …Dont talk about RV, its paid off by your dream and satisfactory

• bongek on Sep 15, 2012 at 8:12 am

damn,, aku baru nak gi book civic bulan depan…a very good spec aa…macam mana ni?

• henry on Sep 14, 2012 at 10:41 am

I disagree with some comments here stating the car is gonna flatten the civic/altis sales. To compete, the ford brand still needs ground work to establish its name here as many sceptic people are weighing serious consideration when it comes to shopping. My American friends used to tell me FORD is “abbreviated” as FIX OR REPAIR DAILY.

• polo saga on Sep 14, 2012 at 11:20 am

my girlfriend has been driving fiesta around one year, so far so good!

• tungguuu on Sep 14, 2012 at 12:17 pm

thats your usual american fords…very unefficient n low in quality..but the recents Fords in US has been much better…

but if u care to research our Fords in Asia especially are also the one made for UK :) way different.

• I read a lot in forum that after sales services are lousy compare to h and t, is it true bcoz I really interested to buy this car and hopefully I can used it more than 5yrs..any ford fiesta users here?, can give view…

• Tiuniasing on Sep 14, 2012 at 11:00 am

That’s an error in the context:
    The device which has 16 possible positions – shuts the lower bumper centre grille for better aerodynamic efficiency at high speeds is called ASG (Active Shutter Grille) instead of ASC.

• Anthony Lim (Member) on Sep 14, 2012 at 11:57 am

Ah, many thanks for spotting it. So many TLA (three-letter acronyms), there’s bound to be limited slip, without the differential, TNS! :D

• optimus on Sep 14, 2012 at 5:31 pm

nice nick :)

• protonsucks on Sep 14, 2012 at 11:24 am

PAUL!!! where is the vote thumbs up or thumbs down ??? please put that back on

• what is the wheelbase for this superb car?

• gracke on Sep 14, 2012 at 11:57 am

Ford Focus is reborn…finally!! It’s all about handling and very glad to see the great price too! Welldone! Sime Darby, good boy.

• How long is its wheelbase? Not stated anyway seems. And is it using torsion beam on its rear? As the naming of its rear suspension is quite unique so can’t make a good guess here.

• Wow…nice pricing and specs….now i regret buying Fiesta…it’s only 20k difference….

• oldpassater on Sep 14, 2012 at 12:02 pm

Ugly design inside out…especially the dashboard…yuckz!! Hope they can have a better design team in the future.

• Rajaking on Sep 14, 2012 at 12:13 pm

i’ll buy this if ford fit it with the 1.0 ecoboost :)

• I bought a Mondeo 240ps 3 months back…it is still an unfamiliar name to the uninitiated. Many people were curious why I choosed Mondeo instead of Passat or Camry 2.5..which are well known and good resale value…Well, I trust the review and comment from the car magazine journalists and my own test drive experience.. as simple a car test drive will speak for itself…
    Honestly speaking, the car’s is very much better than I would expect in term of comfort and performance. I’m in age of 41 (not really a speed enthusiast) but the exhilarating fun of driving with the euro style of ride quality has make me feeling young in every moment I drive this car.
    The “power shift” dual clutch system is so intelligent so much so may ignore to toggle the (+/-) gear knob..the gearbox always engages in the right gear ratio in the right time. The ecoboost engine always standby to deliver the endless power..
    Build quality is incredibly nice, decent interior touch and the Sony sound system is fabulous…
    I am not so sure about Focus, however, 2.0 GDI delivers 170hp/202Nm is a great deal,I believe the German engineered global car (most popular in Europe) will truthfully making a great car unlike the korean cars look fantastic in the engine spec sheet but feel no punch at all in the actual test drive….
    In short,
    if u are looking for a Wow effect car, Hyundai/Kia is the chioce..
    if u are looking for a good resale value but fair performance, H/T brand..
    if u are looking for driving spirit, Ford/VW/Peugeot are the choices…

• Davincci on Sep 14, 2012 at 2:39 pm

Totally agreed. But you forgotten Mazda, which is good in handling, wow in it’s new design!

• gracke on Sep 14, 2012 at 5:34 pm

I definitely agree what is CS mention about, the Mondeo is very high build quality and in terms of handling are the best too!

I wonder how the new 1.0liter Mondeo will be…..it’s fantastic!!!:-)

• mentari driver on Sep 15, 2012 at 12:44 am

yes Ford is such a great brand.
        frankly speaking from owning both the Mondeo turbo and E90 325i..
        I would say Ford has the best and better ride/comfort then the BM.
        Due to its turbo you can feel the power rush compare to BM straight6..
        Also it does not have issue on both engine and transmission.
        No worries when drive around; not like BM the engine can just die suddenly :(.

• I give a thumb up to CS for his sincerity in making a comment.

• amirad on Sep 17, 2012 at 10:17 pm

You drive a Japs car because you need to go somewhere. You drive a conti (for me its the VW/Ford) because you want to drive it. The feeling is unexplainable.

• For wow effect, design, engineering handling dont forget Citroen cars eg Ds3 won the 2010 Top Gear Award

• What is the price for the Focus ST? Cant seems to find in the write up.

• But the important of all is the preve is better car compare to other conti or jap or koreans car. Yeah!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
  • ahmadfaris93 on Sep 14, 2012 at 2:38 pm

The Focus’ price is very interesting. Very competitive against the Korean and maybe Japanese cars. I want to see if Hyundai Malaysia has the courage to bring in the Veloster around this price without compromising the specification of the car. There might even be a chance that the Veloster wont be brought in, who knows. There are rarely news for it. Yeah, I know the Veloster is a coupe but it shouldnt really expensive. Keep the price competitive because in Malaysia cars are KIND OF price sensitive products.

• breyton on Sep 14, 2012 at 2:58 pm

ford is trying real hard to poisiton itself as a german wanna be. its competitors already offered esp, safety, higher torque with downsizing efficiency.
    as usual malaysians got the crappy 2.0 engine.
    worst still the silly st wants to compete with an established icon the golf gti….

• brembo on Sep 15, 2012 at 12:05 am

it’s ok enough with 202nm, just behind pug’s prince and preve’s CFE. what more you want to ask? this is not turbocharged engine.

• Breyton- the UK press reviewed and all agreed the Ford Focus ST beat the Golf Gti…

• kelvin on Sep 14, 2012 at 3:49 pm

Really like this car, but anyway it is still expensive for me. Look forward for another government.

• kelvin on Sep 14, 2012 at 3:52 pm

Side note, Maya Karin is hot.

• tok-kok on Sep 14, 2012 at 4:08 pm

Good car but poor after sales service.

• Davincci on Sep 15, 2012 at 2:12 am

Yes, sales service is very important, we don’t want to hang our car in wrong workshop..

• I wonder how much my Focus MK2.5 can fetch if i wanna trade in for this beauty…

• gerald on Sep 14, 2012 at 6:16 pm

wow…. good deal. I will check it out.

hope now with 5 years warranty the ownership costs will be cheaper. also good to see the ST launched. good pricing. now Sdac has made the right moves, just need more service centers outside klang valley especially in Penang.

• kingston on Sep 14, 2012 at 7:37 pm

How can this car go wrong?It’s the best selling car in the world la please!Respect for the focus & I suspect it’s gonna be a great car to drive as well.

• The lowest spec is definitely a better buy over the new Elantra 2.0, with better safety features, and absolutely far better than Altis and even Camry.

Way to go Ford !

• voonvoon on Sep 14, 2012 at 11:44 pm

saw the car dimension from Ford UK website.

http://www.ford.co.uk/cs/BlobServer?blobtable=MungoBlobs&blobcol=urldata&blobheadervalue1=attachment%3Bfilename%3D%22Focus+Marketing+Dimensions+16-05-12.pdf%22&blobheadervalue2=abinary%3Bcharset%3DUTF-8&blobheadername1=Content-Disposition&blobheadername2=MDT-Type&blobheader=application%2Fpdf&blobwhere=1214422430650&blobkey=id

• PetrolLeg on Sep 15, 2012 at 11:00 am

Great job Ford. Looking forward to see more models and setting the pace for us end user the bang for our buck.

• StopProtectingProtonByPayingYourLivernKidneyForACar on Sep 15, 2012 at 12:11 pm

For this price? 5 years or 200km. 6 air bags, abs, esp, tcs, blind spot monitor, auto dimming to name a few. Hey, its a bargain! Even a full spec Civic dont offer you this spec. Even a Camry comes with 4 air bags only. Despite the after sales of Ford, people will still opt for this car cause of the price. But seriously? It is still overpriced.

When Pakatan take over the Federal government. We will slowly move into an era of way cheaper cars and less BS from the BN

• Rafizi on Sep 15, 2012 at 9:33 pm

Dreaming is free. Serve yourself.

• StopProtectingProtonByPayingYourLivernKidneyForACar on Sep 19, 2012 at 1:33 pm

True, before you achieve on something. Dreaming comes first. Totally agree. :)

• anti-tifosi on Sep 15, 2012 at 3:26 pm

where’s our 1.4 ecoboost ford? believe us there are people who want a superb handling car with an efficient engine. please just don’t think of bigger profit margins only when you decide to just bring in 2.0 plants only… and no i dont want the 2.0 ecoboost

• Seriously on Sep 15, 2012 at 5:32 pm

they don’t come with full black interior? That’ll be very sad, cause the beige honestly isn’t appeal.

• Sports come with a black interior. Titaniums come with a 2-tone beige interior.

• indomee on Sep 15, 2012 at 9:17 pm

jz saw a hatchback version at bukit jalil today. Dun quite like the front bumble. The back is nice though. But jz feel the interior is a bit compact to my size. But overall still a nice car to be in.

• Berann on Sep 16, 2012 at 9:17 pm

Just back from Bukit Jalil and is quite disappointed with the Focus interior space.Is so so small like B segment car and rear legroom even shorter than Honda City. Interior quality is good , dashboard abit too “messy” for me…

• rusty on Sep 16, 2012 at 9:51 pm

it’s normal for conti/ conti-inpired cars to have smaller cabin than equal segment from jap/local cars. if you want more space, just go for mondeo

• 200,000km warranty??? that’s double of wats normally given (except VW 5yrs unlimited mileage warranty)….good news for those with high mileage use like me clocking avg 60k km a year..wat abt service interval? 15k km? Less frequent servicing also means lower cost of ownership in long run….
    Competitive price, 200k km warranty, low cost of ownership n powerful NA engine…..hmm…..imagine if the brand is T or H..sure sell like hot cakes…..Ford? well, hope this model can live up to their tag “Ford Does it Better”….

• I kind of like this car. It appeals in every region. But buying this car literally cost me my whole bank account. On this problem, i thought of the H brands.
    They probably have the higher resale value than this.
    But the ford is just “RIGHT”.

So, go for my mind (resale value for my future) or my heart (everything that is a car)

• amirad on Sep 17, 2012 at 11:26 pm

6 years ago faced the same dilemma. Altis 1.8 or focus ghia 1.8. In the end followed my mind and got the Altis. 6 yrs from then now the focus is worth RM40k and the Altis still worth RM60k despite both cost the same when new. With the current focus and altis, I’ll take the new focus anytime. I just need to work extra harder to absorp that slightly heavier depreciation of the Ford. That’s the sacrifice I have to make for that driving enjoyment.

• Thanks mate. But i think the best thing i could do is just go out and test drive all the cars in this category (well, most of them). Than i will probably discuss this choosing problem with my mates and also family members. But in the end, whatever that floats my boat is the one i will go for. I hope this ford won’t dissapoint me on the road, the hype of the launch is making me edging to go.

Anyhow, nice tips.

• Leong on Jan 03, 2013 at 4:36 pm

Bro,things to consider before we start measuring tangible man made stuff.
        1.Ford Focus has more safety feature than an UMW corolla,at least you know you got the best safety you can buy for your family.
        2.Free maintenance for 3 years,bumper to bumper.
        3.Hassle free service centre.You can’t turn back clock don’t you?
        4.Joy of actually driving a real car.

Your deprciation is 20k. So 20k minus item 1,2,3,4…I think you know the maths,you sure you loss anything?

• Test drove the Titanium without the high specs – it was superb! Car was full with 4 adults and 2 kids – but still the pickup and handling was really good. The salesman allowed me to test the VTC at the Assuntha roundabout – wow! didn’t slip at all even at 90-100 kmph! The only thing I’m not too happy are the doors – sounds empty for this price – doesn’t have the Jetta tutth! but nothing dynamat can’t change! hahaha – gonna book it!!

• bonbon on Sep 19, 2012 at 5:03 am

how did u test VTC at assuntha roundabout? u drift at 100km per hour?

• bonbon on Sep 19, 2012 at 5:05 am

ok,another thing which one u book? normal or +?

• Rain Rain Go Away on Sep 24, 2012 at 1:45 am

Assuntha roundabout at 90 – 100 kmph? hahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahah

• bystander on Sep 19, 2012 at 11:19 pm

I dun understand y Ford’s GDI engine can take RON95 but not Hyundai’s one. With this chassis & engine, even the non + model is a bargain compare to all those rubbish new models from other brands…

• mirror mirror on Sep 21, 2012 at 9:27 am

Went to test the Focus yeaterday at PJ and must say that this is not bad at all. The quality of the interior fixtures and fittings are much better than the Honda Civic. This is coming from a Honda fan. The entire car feels really solid, wort taking a closer look.

• Hillarious on Sep 25, 2012 at 12:01 pm

This is defo a great deal for the next gen buyers looking for a speced up car. Forget civic, this is heading for the next record! Get ur hands on it now, before prices start increasing after ford realises the high spec model is priced way lower than its competitors.

Also, the focus was out of reach to most before, now its for everyone. A true volks wagen :)

• I drive fiesta and don’t mind to upgrade to this lovely Focus Hatchback

• Car-Highlights on Nov 03, 2012 at 7:33 am

…hmmm..that’s why they use Maya Karin as an attractor…because the car have a rather dull design…making ‘people with taste’ (who have money), quite not interested to continue get to know the car (came because heard it have different technology such as auto parking system; be one of it, which soon will be followed by others as well). Well, on my part (as a businessman related to computer design & implementure), i think i’ll pass by ford without problems (not bother to think hard why did i do that). no use if the design doesn’t really suits your ‘solid need’ (if value for money, if not then go ahead just enjoy the technology; for me it is rather advanced, hard work that take years from ford) – correct me if i’m wrong: that IS Maya Karin, right? (pity her..almost no malaysian are ‘man enough’ to make her lie down to surrender her love at her own will – being a happy woman which by comparison to other women, her beauty deserves that. The more the beauty, the more u have to be ‘A MAN’ – and that’s very, very hard.)

• Where is the DIESEL????

• sobakasu on Nov 18, 2012 at 12:31 am

anybody have already own the new focus sport?
    the after sales n services really that xxx??….(review from internet)…5yrs warranty or 200km which ever come 1st indeed a good deal.

• sobakasu on Nov 18, 2012 at 12:32 am

anybody have already own the new focus sport?any review or feedback?
    the after sales n services really that xxx??….(review from internet)…5yrs warranty or 200km which ever come 1st indeed a good deal.

• No Japanese make whether Camry or TRD vios or Honda Accord etc can match the quality and techno of the Ford Focus. At this price its a real bargain

• HidupdalamBlues on Dec 20, 2012 at 11:30 am

once i sit in the car Ford focus titanium, i felt WOW! almost similar to Lexus CT200H, 7/10 ! i will get it soon!

• Which one is better, focus or mazda 3? Please advise me.

• I have not test drive the car yet, by photos and reading introduction at here seem like worth for the money. The only thing I wondering is, is Titanium Plus come with GPS?

• Just went to see Ford Focus. It is a piece of Junk! So bloody tight no no space. If price cheaper Rm15K also not interested. Have a nice day.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 9
  • Ali, if you choose between Focus and Mazda, DEFINATELY MAZDA~~!!!! MAZDA MORE SPACE THAN FORD FOCUS THE JUNK~~~!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 9
  • Have driven Focus the other day, i really like the way it handles, the cockpit, dashboard..im a computer guy, seeing those buttons and function making me wanting to explorer more on focus… i am considering to buy this… However, the 4S centers have to be good and par with other main player in malaysian market..atleast respect the engineers came out with this invention and have proper expertise in maintaining their invention in malaysia…

• I have got this car for 2 weeks now. Daily commute to work about 100km and recently went back to JB from KL with my family. B4 decided to get this car, I’ve tested Chevrolet cruze 1.8, Elentra 1.8, Mazda 3 2.0, forte 2.0, Prius and Peugeot 408 2.0. All I can say Focus can give u a bit more satisfaction compare to these cars in terms of handling and tork. The material is also better than the Mazda, forte, Prius and Elentra. The fuel consumption is fairly good. I paid RM85 and its get me going for 750km which i think it will do just fine but FC Prius is the best laa. The design is not pretty compare to Mazda 3 but the feeling of driving satisfaction makes me get the focus. I think I term of spacious, Peugeot 408 2.0 and Prius are better. Test drive it first and decide. So far Focus is giving me a bit of everything. The price is reasonable for 2.0 cars…mine is titanium.

• Dr Ady on Mar 09, 2013 at 9:05 pm

What can i say here after test drive this latest focus few days ago is SUPERB. I currently have 325i E90 since 2007 and Mazda CX7 since 2010. I also previously had focus 2.0 from 2008 to 2010. Handling is good with almost same composure as my bmw. Comfort is also very good. Interior material is as good as my bmw and better than my cbu mazda cx7. The only drawback is steering is light and less feedback and gear is level is positioned quite backward. This new focus is so much different from previous model that i had before and that changes are the good one. I will definetly recommend this car if the budget is around civic or altis

• i just got this car last week ..very good car and very smooth driving went in sport you can feel the power..if its come with touch-screen audio system like US spec it could be perfect ..my other car is 2007 630i penin now with gear box oil bocor..

• also i saw the flat tire warning on dashboard sign it is equip with this feature ?

• I have Fiesta Sport. I prefer Fiesta anytime compared to my Merc E240. If feel so dynamic and handles so much better, compared to that heavy beast. The feels so powerful despite having only a 1.6. The transmission so smooth on highway, cant feel gear shift at all. If I dont notice the speedo, it easily pass 140km/h. Best buy at this price range.

• Oh! Faiz on Sep 16, 2013 at 5:25 pm

Hi paultan team! How can i be a part of the team? I bleed and sweat cars. I read paultan & automotive mags every single day, everywhere I go.

• Ford has its own weakness too if compare the DCT and manual automatic Torque converter which Japanese car is owning. My fofo sedan is having the grinding sound from the DCT. Some other issues include the gear transmission not smooth during low speed or go up ramp/hill condition. I understand the service center will tell u to wait till break-in the car or to reset the programming. But this will not help much, i saw a 18000km mileage Fofo is having the same issue.

However, be fair, Ford focus is a god for heavy foot and high rpm driver. But not for those who aim for resell value and comfort car driver.

Remember, its a American car, not a Japanese car.

• LancerGT on Sep 29, 2013 at 6:11 pm

Dear all,

No need to argue or make any stupid remarks on any make or models.
    Sales figure globally will tell the hard facts & truth abouth Focus. For those who X know, for yr info Ford Focus is 2012 World best-selling car. Even as at sept 12, 737,856 units of Focus were registered worldwide.
    Even it’s younger sibling Fiesta is fierce at 560,061.
    Other makes, pls pull yr socks n transforms!

• Eximperiis on Dec 13, 2013 at 7:08 pm

Got my Focus Titanium plus since February 2013. Dual Clutch tranny needs some adjusting to, but shows its true potential on the motorway. Ride quality and handling is also very good. Combined consumption (urban + motorway) in my experience is in the range of 650 to 735 km/tank (dependent on driving style).

Interior doesnt look cheap at all and door closes with a quality ‘thump’ but not as original as the Germans :) Electronics + self parking is a major pull for tech heads.

Safety indeed a major pulling factor for me. Active city stop saved me from ramming onto someone yesterday. Finally i found out how it works!

Not perfect but does what it says on the box!

• uslhwzero on Aug 23, 2014 at 3:25 am

I just drive 1.5 fiesta jan 2014. Tht car was real urban car!! The best thing & practical is ford sync( say & dial itself incoming call also) , im music lover and fiesta got 6 sony speakers tht make sound was great!, stability in mid high speed 140km-160km is very relax uh! , fiesta cornering is superb main contender is peugot 208 only, keyless entry make much easier ( ur key is always in ur jeans pocket)!, auto rain sensing & auto headlamp! Very good in practicality!! Now im just book focus S+, because i really love ford ovearall features , i just want to experienes bigger space car & 2.0 engine from ford!!& some new features.s+ mybe More relaxing traveling jb to kl every weeks! =)