KL International Motor Show is back this year: KLIMS 13 happening in November at PWTC

klims13-01

After a three-year hiatus, the Kuala Lumpur International Motor Show is back this year. KLIMS 13 will be held from November 15-24 at usual location Putra World Trade Centre (PWTC), KL. The theme for the show is “Efficiency n Motion”.

The Malaysian Automotive Association (MAA) announced KLIMS 13 in a launch event this morning, officiated by Datuk Seri Mustapa Bin Mohamed, Minister of International Trade and Industry. The event incorporated a signing ceremony between Datuk Aishah Ahmad, president of MAA, and Datin Paduka Marina Mahathir, chairman of Interexpo, show manager of KLIMS 13.

“Malaysia is the third largest market for passenger cars in ASEAN. KLIMS 13 will offer Malaysia’s auto industry a chance to establish itself as a front-runner,” said Aishah Ahmad, who added that response from the auto industry players have been overwhelming.

klims-13-logo

Currently, 93% of available exhibition space at PWTC have been accounted for – and since space has been open to just MAA members so far, they should not have problems filling up the remainder. Slated to occupy 30,000 square metres, MAA expects KLIMS 13 to be a bigger show than the last, with exhibitors taking up bigger lots. Organisers are expecting 330,000 visitors.

Elaborating on the “Efficiency n Motion” theme, Aishah Ahmad said: “The theme echoes the ethos of this era. Efficiency, whether in product design or business operations, spurs the advancement of the auto industry. KLIMS 13 aims to fuel the excitement for automobiles with showcases of cars which transcend boundaries where mobility meets efficiency, technology meets imagination, and design meets desire.”

klims-13-interexpo

Looking back, we had quite a unique experience at KLIMS 2010, doing our usual motor show live coverage on home ground for the first time. Highlights include the five Pahlawan concepts by Proton (Tuah, Jebat, Kasturi, Lekiu, Lekir) and Perodua’s Bezza.

Click here for an assorted gallery of the showcars and here for the ladies of KLIMS 2010. Remember, it’s in November!

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• The last Motor Show 2010 was a poke-in-the-eye disappointment compared to 06′ where I touched an Ferrari Enzo.

So with Dr M there, expect to see Protons giving false hope [Lotus Esprit, Proton concepts], Perodua teasing us [That Bezza ,was it?, concept car and that sculptured mess] and a whole lot of aftermarket set up and the clear absence of anything other than Asian. AND THAT STUPID CARDBOARD BATMOBILE!!!!!!!

I really hope I eat my words when this comes, but with Thailand and stealing every EFF**ING Limelight in the region, things look bleak. but for now, if you want the best auto show in Malaysia, I suggest Super GT.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 81 Thumb down 7
    • sepul on Jan 22, 2013 at 6:09 pm

Yep, the batmobile one was a huge disappointment for me too.

• MycarMylife on Jan 23, 2013 at 9:05 am

Totally agreed , what to expect with the same old same old slobs and parasites holding reins in the industry. Shyok sendiri only.

• OMG…pls present more branded new cars and sexy models….

• Want a great motor show? buy a ticket fly urself to china motorshow, tat’s it. great cars, great titss. u name it. :)

• MUST.GO! BUT PLEASE bring manufacturers like bmw, merc, volvo etc etcetc. 2010 WAS A BORING YEAR!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 2
    • Ini kali lah. on Sep 08, 2013 at 10:04 pm

The Malaysian given recognition exp:Dato’ have no significant in influencing the quality of the show or bringing the best cars manufacturers in town. Good to tell people they can tapau many project public don’t even compete.

• Annihilated on Jan 22, 2013 at 5:54 pm

I guess I would not be able to see the Lotus 5ives anymore in KLIMS ’13 do I? :(

• Why it is on the SPM week? =.=’

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 3
    • they not target spm candidate obviously…spm candi can still make comment in paultan maa…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 3
  • Initially it was going to happen this weekend, after that it is postponed till March/April, and now it’s comfirmed to be on November? Hmmmm

Check out the notice on the organizer’s site

https://www.google.com.my/url?sa=t&rct=j&q=&esrc=s&source=web&cd=2&cad=rja&ved=0CDYQFjAB&url=http%3A%2F%2Faxiacom.com.my%2F&ei=-l7-UJKYI47krAe28oDACQ&usg=AFQjCNGgJlGx4tu8Mp0SNJD-85IN7yNvYw&bvm=bv.41248874,d.bmk

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 13
    • erm. i think is different show dude.
      the link u given is “KL Auto Show” and this is ” KL Internation Motor Show”.

• Abg Long on Jan 22, 2013 at 6:37 pm

i’ll b there!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
  • neutral on Jan 22, 2013 at 6:44 pm

hope it’s not the shitcase as of 2010….only a few manufacturers showed up….no BMW, Merc, Alfa Romeo, Volvo etc….boring as hell

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
  • darker marker on Jan 22, 2013 at 6:48 pm

Previous KL International motorshows were more like a collection of car showrooms under one roof. They were pretty much disapointment.

Hope this time it is better.

• jinkalo on Jan 22, 2013 at 6:50 pm

i just go for show girl

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
  • Painter on Jan 22, 2013 at 6:52 pm

We could do away with recycled Proton and Perodua concept cars. Also the already familiar models on the road. If it were to be a motorshow, let it be one, not some motorshow-room.

When’s Proton launching their EMAS concept? It’s been 3 years since KLIMS ’10.

Just slap in a range-extender engine and we’re good to go.

• go nazaworld…more cars to see

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 3
  • albag on Jan 22, 2013 at 7:25 pm

hahaha KLIMS is the CHEAPEST motorshow i ever witness… perhaps cardboard caravan this year?

• KLIM? oh I miss this milk powder haha..

• kl international embarrassment motor is it?other countries having exciting ones with world debut of new models while malaysia ones more like grey importer recon unit show……dont do it la pls…..malu wei…..both 2006 and 2010 also a joke for foreigners…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 3
  • PauKaya on Jan 22, 2013 at 8:32 pm

after the disaster of the last show. rest assured i wont be going. unless its really good. (doubt it)

• Seriously I’m telling all bro & sista here, sometimes I feel going Naza World are far better than KLIMS & u know why? Coz we really able to see all “makes” of cars! And last 3 yrs I went to KLIMS “damn it” most supercharge are “pinjam” from NAZA world “WTH”. I also hope this yr I can “swallow” my own words & “smack” in my face. Last 3 yrs same ppl also “promise” us that 2010 KLIMS would be or “A MUST” go motorshow, ended I wasted RM100++ coz I bring my all family members go & buying a car wash sponge instead!!! Pathetic :(

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 4
  • Autoshow should have a direction and its own theme/ trademark but for KLIMS I guess its only motorshow-room! *tuuut* * tuuut, tuuuuuuut* I rather stop here before Paul block my comment..*tuuuuuutttt**

• MrCounterstrike on Jan 22, 2013 at 11:22 pm

Lets hope that 2013 KLIMS would be better than 2010. Hopefully there are continental makes on display such as Volvo, BMW, Mercedes, VW, Alfa Romeo, etc which was not present in the 2010 KLIMS.

• For years they can’t even get BMW on board. I am not asking for Rolls Royce that even cannot be done so why waste time?

• d'arcy on Jan 23, 2013 at 12:31 am

Hope they bring in somethin’ like mercedes F700.. wicked car.

• Octavian on Jan 23, 2013 at 8:37 am

KLIMS, always be a proton showroom with new decal stupid name stupid bodykit..
    please, politician dont bother us..
    just petrolhead…

• ae101 on Jan 23, 2013 at 12:05 pm

I remember one section full of proton concept car. Really dissappointed. Please dont do this anymore.

• notexpectingmuch on Jan 23, 2013 at 12:18 pm

Was part of both the KLIMS 2006 and 2010. Organisers were difficult to deal with, expensive to be a part of, have lousy track record (promises of next show better than the last are all exact opposites). They are just trying to make a quick buck organising, open door and charge people and give half past six quality.

• Chow 1 on Jan 23, 2013 at 1:16 pm

I agree that last show was totally a ‘tipu duit’ show. It should change name to girl show 2013.

• paul tan's reader on Jan 23, 2013 at 10:57 pm

I hope MAA learn something from upcoming BIMS (march/april) and IIMS (september).
    Not neccesary same or better than those events, half or quarter is already good for KLIMS 13.
    Malaysian is hardly trying to forget what was happened in 2010.
    It was fully stupid event ever in the world with an International Motorshow title.

• I rather check out the cars on internet or paultan.org. In many ways, we are so behind in running shows that of high quality and recognize internationally. tidak apa attitude and low expectation on what the show can achieve. also poor leadership in organizing committees. again, Katak di bawah tempurung.

• omg…still at pwtc? what a crap n lousy cheapo venue..for an ‘international’ motor show

• Su Ann on Jan 30, 2013 at 9:11 pm

the tag us “efficiency in motion”, not “efficiency n motion” which doesn’t make any sense. :)

• BraderPET on Feb 13, 2013 at 5:54 pm

Gimik macam Bumblebee boleh terima lagi, tapi bukan serpihan-serpihan kotak kasut bercat hitam yang diorang panggil Batmobile tu la. Hahaha. Harap-harap dapat perbanyakkan model-model baru secara terus dari pengeluar/pemilik-pemilik jenama, bukan sekadar menghimpun showroom kereta-kereta import di bawah satu bumbung. KLIMS 10 satu kegagalan yang terlalu jelas. Sorry…