Tony Stark ditches his NSX to reunite with the Audi R8

AudiR8_IronMan

Tony Stark has been very loyal to his German supercar of choice, having driven the Audi R8 in 2008’s Iron Man and the R8 Spyder in the 2010 sequel. Most recently though, the billionaire philanthropist was spotted behind the wheel of an Acura NSX Concept in The Avengers – presumably a company car he received from his affiliation with Acura-sponsored S.H.I.E.L.D.

For the upcoming third instalment of the Iron Man movie franchise however, Robert Downey Jr’s sharp suited character will be reunited with his rightful sports car, the equally sharp looking Audi R8 e-tron prototype. Rather apt don’t you think, the arc reactor-powered super hero driving an electric-powered vehicle?

The Audi product placement doesn’t end there. Stark’s beau Pepper Potts, played by foxy Gwyneth Paltrow will be pictured driving an Audi S7 Sportback. Previously, the Audi A8, S5, and Q7 were all featured in the first and second instalments.

Marvel’s Iron Man 3 will be released across Malaysian theatres in April 25. Are you happy that Tony Stark is continuing his love affair with the Audi R8, or would you rather him stick to the NSX?

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• Hope i’m the first.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 20
  • Nah, go back the R8. The NSX, though I prefer the looks, is a car that is not on sale til 2015 and therefore, no matter how you like it or are prepared for it, you can’t buy or see it on the road, and when time comes when someone buys it, people will forgot about it.

The R8 is something you can buy and is road worthy, meaning those are lucky enough to cross path with it will recognize it as iron mans car. Like the Lamborghini in Batman or the Camero on Transformer. The NSX is like the RSQ in I- Robot, no matter how epic it looks we have forgotten it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 1
    • tricycle on Mar 08, 2013 at 10:04 pm

I will go for R8 since it goes on sale.

If NSX goes on sale as well then we will have another vote.

NSX upsets lots of car fans (not only Honda’s) when it is discontinued, last time.

• The discontinuation of the nsx is acceptable, the V6 mid-emgine car has bern soldering on since 92′ . The replacement was due on 2009 as a front engine V10 car to compete with the LFA. But the plan was canceled and that was a bummer. But that killed me less than the fact they’ve killed off the wonderful S2000. And with no replacement in sight, the RV value is rock steady, and being Honda’s sports car, it

• …..was their most reliable model

• Just watch the trailer, the R8 didn’t live a happy life. Oh, and my Gravatar is finally on!

• Petrolhead on Mar 08, 2013 at 8:07 pm

R8 FTW!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 37
  • GT-Rider on Mar 08, 2013 at 9:01 pm

GT-R FTW!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 95
  • Its amazing that after all these years the R8 still looks as fresh as the day it first went on sale. What a design masterpiece.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 322 Thumb down 197
    • Alpha on Mar 08, 2013 at 9:40 pm

Have you not seen a 1991 NSX or a 1999 S2000 before?
      Tell me, do they looks like something designed in the 80s and 90s respectively?

That,my friend,are true design masterpieces.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 4
      • Carl Wong on Mar 08, 2013 at 10:31 pm

Yes Indeed, I still envy the previous NSX very much.

The car in my dream is the exterior of the new NSX with an interior of CRZ + Insight with new Honda’s Full Hybrid technology but doesn’t need to be that powerful. That would be quite amazing :)……..!!!

• jilbaber on Mar 09, 2013 at 8:31 am

When I look at NSX and S2000 my mind only thought both are from 90’s and 2000’s era, but R8 is still way ahead of its time..

• Kalun on Mar 09, 2013 at 9:02 am

And Ferrari F40, Lamborghini Countach, Original Porsche 911.

These cars are legendary in term of looks and performance. That include Honda as well.

• Ah Beng on Mar 08, 2013 at 11:33 pm

Can he drive preve for a change?

• Lane tamer on Mar 09, 2013 at 9:51 pm

Mind you, even his hairstylist and make up artist won’t be driving a Preve for God’s sake.

• jay8393 on Mar 09, 2013 at 12:47 am

Get this people: the reason why Tony Stark used NSX is because Acura sponsored “The Avengers”. They also sponsored “Thor”, that’s why you can see Acuras in that movie.

• Dr.Strange on Mar 09, 2013 at 8:57 am

It doesn’t matter R8 or NSX, coz Tony Stark still got to lug around two heavy iron er…balls

• KillBox1Alpha on Mar 09, 2013 at 9:23 am

Tony’s got taste..very good taste…

• Michael Ammott on Mar 09, 2013 at 10:30 am

dont get confuse between Iron man in Avengers movie and Iron Man movie…. in iron man movies tony stark still using the Audi…but in avengers movie they already tide to Acura brand…means Acura brands exclusively used in Avengers movie..get it? not purposely ditch…

• But still, only the R8 is classy enough to be ironman’s car. The NSX, maybe faster than the R8 but it can only be another sports car (or super car, which ever you like).

• sAmloo on Mar 11, 2013 at 10:04 am

Ayo, why lar choose R8 ???? After the car cannot start or DSG cannot change gear. Damn embarrassing lar. What’s more, no resale value.

He should have opt for Toyota Vios. At least got 4 doors and he can have sex at the back seat. With R8, he can only DIY. Oh, toyota got more resale value :D

• If people paid you to drive a “not so bad looking” awesome sports car, why say NO?!

• The NSX is well cooler

• Fahmi on Mar 11, 2013 at 9:56 pm

People know R8 more than the “NSX concept”..
    Though the old NSX is a very good car indeed.. In fact it is in my wishlist besides E46 M3…