Audi A8 L 3.0 TFSI quattro launched: RM658,800

There’s a new limo in town, and it’s one with four rings. Here to challenge the S-Class and 7-Series is the new Audi A8, which we first saw late in 2009, making it the youngest of the German limos. Euromobil has opted to import the long wheelbase A8 L version with a 3.0 TFSI engine, priced at RM658,800 OTR without insurance.

This price is rather reasonable, when one considers that the BMW 740Li, which like the A8 has forced induction and six cylinders, is priced at RM818,800. The less powerful Mercedes-Benz S350L is priced at RM835,888. The A8’s supercharged 3.0 TFSI V6 engine makes 290 hp and 420 Nm of torque from 2,500 to 4,850 rpm, which gives it a surprising turn of speed.

0-100 km/h is done in just 6.2 seconds while top speed is limited to 250 km/h. That young gun in his GTI will have to think twice…

The fact that the A8 L 3.0 TFSI manages to be just 0.2 sec slower to 100 km/h than the 740Li, which has more power and torque, is partly due to its lighter weight. Audi’s flagship uses the aluminium Audi Space Frame, which is about 40% lighter than a regular steel structure, says Ingolstadt. Claimed combined fuel consumption is 9.3 litres per 100 km.

Drive is channeled to the quattro AWD system (40:60 by default, up to 80% to the rear and 60% to the front depending on conditions) via a new 8-speed tiptronic automatic transmission. This gearbox improves fuel consumption by 6% over the old six speeder. Audi Drive Select is standard here.

Size wise, this 5.27-metre L version of the A8 has a 13 cm longer wheelbase to make 3,122 mm, which is about 90 mm shorter than the LWB 7er. Privileged rear seat bosses get to enjoy two power adjustable seats and a large centre console, besides four-zone climate control and selectable ambient lighting. Ventilation and massage functions, rear screens, a folding table and a cool box are options.

Another desirable option is the 19-speaker, 14-channel amplified, 5:1 Bang & Olufsen Advanced Sound System. If you don’t opt for that, a 14-speaker Bose system isn’t bad either. By the way, the MMI system on the A8 employs a touchpad that you can write on with your fingers, among other uses.

Images from the launch and official pics are after the jump. Look out for the unique gear knob and nice analogue clock.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=2104]
[zenphotopress number=999 album=2106]

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• swoosh3553 on Mar 30, 2011 at 7:13 pm

How come Audis can be priced so much more attractive than its competitors??? Way to go… I realy dig Audi designs… Muaks.

• I guess they will lose money with every A8 sold. In Europe, the BMW 7-series is the cheapest compared with A8 and S-Class btw. ;)

Possibly some kind of ‘on-road advertisement’? Many A8 on the road have the same effect for Audi as many TV-Ads?

• Koreancar on Mar 30, 2011 at 9:27 pm

What do you expect if they can not sell? sure drop price to compete, just like china’s product.

• Have any of you asked yourselves why BMW are pricing their cars so high? Look objectively at the data and the price points and you will find a glaring discrepancy as to how BMW Malaysia is charging so much higher than Euromobil for the same class of car. And don’t come come out with the ridiculous notion that Audi/Euromobil is selling at a loss. It’s BMW who is clearly price gouging it’s customers. Wake up!

• Wassaby on Mar 30, 2011 at 10:10 pm

Don’t be cheated guys. BMW and Mercedes are priced about the same. What you are paying for are the huge taxes. BMW and merc are two companies where the Germans are here in Malaysia, so the government doesn’t really give much face to the “pendatangs”. But companies like Peugeot, Kia, audi are sold here by connected Bumi companies. Naza and DRBhicom. So when these companies can price their products cheaper than the norm don’t say BMW/merc are profiteering, they are all making the same big margins, just that audi/Kia/Peugeot products doesn’t have to pay as much taxes.

• Koreancar on Mar 31, 2011 at 7:32 am

So, Audi will rebadge to Naza in future become Audi Waja?

• Tezza on Mar 31, 2011 at 7:33 am

Very true said, 1 Malaysia spiritual? Probably not…

• clutch basah on Mar 31, 2011 at 9:52 am

C’mon dude.. don’t think your racial sentiment comment is appreciated here in this forum. Please leave your hate and politics somewhere else. Chill out.. why so serious?

• Berza on Apr 03, 2011 at 3:05 pm

Saying out a possibly fact is a racism..oh my..please do a brain test before commenting anything here,please..

• losers on Apr 13, 2011 at 7:21 pm

dis true, in Brunei a bmw323 jes cost you less than 80k…………….c hw high margin n tax they make……….

• MCdog on Mar 30, 2011 at 9:56 pm

Will sell like hot cake haha

• deftones on Mar 30, 2011 at 7:15 pm

this looks far more cool & lively than their contender…
    but this car suits more to drivers car…bcause the tech stuff is too nice to play with..hehe
    with paul stated that the young guns gti might think twice,its like thic car is the father of gti..you cannot beat the sifu..haha

• HirumaKecil on Mar 30, 2011 at 7:32 pm

A8 always the best…..

• This car fuel consumption is less than my persona. 9.3per litre for 100km. My persona is 9.5 per 100km before 5k service. Amazing

• skiborne on Mar 30, 2011 at 7:34 pm

is that 200k cheaper than the entry level 7-series?

• venven81 on Mar 30, 2011 at 7:40 pm

Well well the price tag is certainly a very attractive point to consider the a8 given the package it comes with. Hopefully this will see more a8 on the road in the near future.

• Pull shirt on Mar 30, 2011 at 7:41 pm

Mamam!!!! That’s only 10% more expensive than a 535i!!!!

• Once more. Goes to show you how much BMW Malaysia is gouging on their customers. I can’t wait to see how much Euromobil prices the A6 3.0TFSI.

• now we’re talking!

Welcome A8…

• Nodame-chan on Mar 30, 2011 at 7:59 pm

Mukyaaaah~ but I see a projector headlamp..where’s the full L.E.D? JPJ didn’t approved that eh?

• german cars are cooooooooooooooooooooool!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! :D

• nighttrain on Mar 30, 2011 at 8:24 pm

Awesome car! Awesome price! BMW and Merc can go kick s**t! For the bosses who like to drive.

• how come the rear seats in the dark interior look so much more spacious than the crammed white interior? especially the one with the girl sitting.

• oops, just realized that the light one is the regular A8.

anyway…very very nice and futuristic interior.

• insperut on Mar 30, 2011 at 8:51 pm

Audi rucksss!

• BeemerFreak on Mar 30, 2011 at 8:52 pm

Boring and tasteless, macam ubi kentang. Sell cheap also not many people want to buy. S-class is the best.

• BeemerFreak on Mar 30, 2011 at 9:52 pm

Eh ubi kayu…. dun use my nick name…. cari sendiri punya……. PaulTan is for optimistic people, not pessimist like u who use my nick name….

• AudiLover on Mar 30, 2011 at 10:08 pm

You consider A8 is boring and tasteless??!!! Audi A8 is the hottest car in its class!!

• Koreancar on Mar 30, 2011 at 9:19 pm

bring in the Hyundai Equus and this boring Audi can tapao!

• As much as I love Korean cars, they still can’t compete with the Germans higher up on the luxury scale. This is especially true in the interior design with the materials they use plus the finishing.

• Kiddo on Mar 31, 2011 at 3:50 am

I don’t mean to be bias but Hyundai is still far behind when compared to the likes of BMW, M.Benz and Audi. Even Lexus, one of my favourite brands is working so hard to catch up with those i mentioned.

• tianshi on Mar 30, 2011 at 9:40 pm

Nuts would spend dollars on audi

• sir zoula on Mar 30, 2011 at 9:54 pm

600k is cheap??

malaysian are getting dumb and dumber each day.. Pity..

• AudiLover on Mar 30, 2011 at 10:09 pm

They actually meant cheap TAX !!!

• Critique on Mar 31, 2011 at 10:04 am

Cheap in comparison to other makes in the same class’lar…

• because:

1. that’s mean there are more and more rich people in malaysia.

2. in order to get something, you must visualize first. saying “cheap” is one of the technique. dont block your mind with too much reality. sometimes yo need the optimism in u to expand your mind.

so….anda bila lagi?

• sir zoula on Apr 01, 2011 at 4:09 pm

its ok.. im happy with my secondhand e46… thanks anyway..

• Lim Kopi on Mar 30, 2011 at 11:41 pm

HEY DANNY …

Think you forgot to mentioned one thing quite crucial :

HOW LONG’S THE WAITING LIST ?

Euromobil’s standard so far is ridiculously 10 months ….

• Danny Tan (Member) on Mar 31, 2011 at 12:14 am

We don’t know now, but I’m guessing that a car in this class and with this price won’t have the infamous Q5 style waiting list

• venven81 on Mar 31, 2011 at 1:54 pm

according to its chairman there’re 50 units available for immediate delivery. after this 50, don’t know how long the waiting period could be though.

• Harry on Mar 30, 2011 at 11:55 pm

This car has soo much grip for its price!

This makes BMW 7 series old in Malaysia market since this car is so much edgier and dynamic! on the road.

• mmouse on Mar 31, 2011 at 12:19 am

Optional Equipment:

LED headlights RM8,500.00
    Panoramic glass roof RM10,000.00
    Seat ventilation & massage function RM14,000.00
    Rear Seat Entertainment RM17,000.00
    Bang & Olufsen Advanced Sound System RM30,000.00

Got it from Malaysia Audi website.

• Chilavert on Mar 31, 2011 at 8:06 am

LOL ! all together can buy Kia Forte 1.6 EX
      damn expensive

• Critique on Mar 31, 2011 at 9:59 am

If you have to gripe about the price, then clearly you’re in the wrong segment. For now at least. :)

• lkf0512 on Mar 31, 2011 at 8:17 am

Add in all those options to A8L is still cheaper than 7er…

• dodgeviper88 on Mar 31, 2011 at 1:23 am

Audi could had priced it the same as a BMW and throw in a free VW GTi just for the heck of it!

• Kiddo on Mar 31, 2011 at 3:46 am

Paul, Audi’s 3.0 TFSI is supercharged, not turbocharged. :)

• Silwen on Mar 31, 2011 at 5:57 am

How does this compare to the Lexus LS 600h?

• Put it this way. The LS600h and the A8L 3.0TFSI have both near identical performance and fuel consumption figures. One is over RM900k and the other is over RM600k. ‘Nuff said.

• Kiddo on Apr 01, 2011 at 7:53 pm

The LS600hL also makes 439hp, housing a 19 speakers Mark Levinson audio system, 10 airbags, the centre console is fully covered with leather, and it’s a hybrid.

It can also parks itself.

• That’s my point in my later comment. You have all that power but you also carry all that extra weight, (a lot of extra weight) to achieve virtually the same performance and fuel consumption figures:

A8L 3.0TFSI: 0-60: 6.2sec, Fuel Consumption: 30.4mpg, Weight 1880kg
          LS600h: 0-60: 6.3sec, 30.4mpg, Fuel Consumption: 30.4mpg, Weight 2430kg

You have to ask yourself what a hybrid is for, and in this case it’s a poor application of the technology. They had to shoehorn all those batteries to make this hybrid work. The result is an absurdly overweight car that negates any performance or fuel consumption advantages that a hybrid drivetrain is supposed to give. The B&O sound system in the A8L is way cooler and Audi’s interior are just miles better than Lexus. In fact Audi schools them all when it comes to interiors, a well accepted fact in the car industry.

• Gemder on Mar 31, 2011 at 7:41 am

Go and buy the 3 pointed star or a blue and white propeller, why spend money on a logo that represents 4 CONDOM RINGS..

• Euro Machine on Mar 31, 2011 at 8:37 am

8 Speed Auto hmmm… so much for the hype over DSG……..ha ha ha.
    Heard DSG has reliability issue…. so they may have opted for safe bet….

• Danny Tan (Member) on Mar 31, 2011 at 12:20 pm

It’s not that. The smoothness of a torque converter auto is preferred in this class of vehicle. Same goes for the VW Touareg and Phaeton.

• BeemerFreak on Apr 01, 2011 at 9:12 am

If the DSG gearboxes have problem, why are Audi still throwing them into their newest RS models? Even the new R8 V10 GT has an S-Tronic gearbox. Clearly someone here isn’t aware about other happenings on Audi.

• Erran on Mar 31, 2011 at 9:40 am

drool…. OT here a bit.

paul, i heard from someone that Brunei is revising their import duty tax where 1.5cc is tax at 15%, 1.7cc to 2.0cc is at 20% and so on..

can u find out bout these? thanks..

• Tu Lan Proton on Mar 31, 2011 at 10:18 am

US version Audi V8, 4.2L, 372HP, 8 speed. USD84,000. Approx RM260,000.
    Shouldn’t we be angry at NAP, AP and whoever who extended the AP?

• albag on Mar 31, 2011 at 11:03 am

its sad tat Audi authorize dealer never reach Sarawak. Large sedans have huge potential here especially S class seem to be quite common here on Sarawak roads these days..

• dodgeviper88 on Mar 31, 2011 at 11:35 am

interesting to hear that. I would had thought over in Sarawak their vehicle of choice would be those ultra huge Lexus SUVs.

• 2fast on Mar 31, 2011 at 11:40 am

Boring, outdated exterior design. Audi needs to get creative with its cars and not just copy the same A4 design template across its range.

• swoosh3553 on Mar 31, 2011 at 6:20 pm

Bro…. its the design and marketing trend lar…to have an imprint of standardized “symbol”. Like the Kia “tiger mouth” strategy…or the Beemer kidney grill lar. Grow up bro….

• nonce on Mar 31, 2011 at 12:30 pm

sounds like a bargain.the car may looks dull in photos but in person it looks great. minimalist design i would say. still can’t defeat s-class for the crown though.

• Lexus LS600h beats this any day!!

• How does the LS600h beat the A8L 3.0TFSI? Give us some supporting facts to your statement. I have some for you:

A8L 3.0TFSI: 0-60: 6.2sec, Fuel Consumption: 30.4mpg, Weight 1880kg, RM658,800
      LS600h: 0-60: 6.3sec, 30.4mpg, Fuel Consumption: 30.4mpg, Weight 2430kg, RM998,500

The Lexus is an over engineered and over weight luxo barge compared with the Audi from the looks of it.

• I prefer S-class, A8 is weak in identity and very erh….communist.

• coolcar on Apr 01, 2011 at 11:48 am

don know why some ppl like to criticize audi saying tht its boring, slower or watever, my advice to them is pls read up more instead of juz looking what happen in malaysia, don be ”katak di bawah tempurung”, in malaysia, many ppl still buy beemer or merc saying tht got second value, its branded, etc, but they never learn, globally, Audi is greater than beemer and merc, i have been stayin in UK for yrs, Audi is considered the leader in luxury cars while beemer and merc is only taxi!!audi is best seller overall in European, i wanna know those ppl who love to critize blindly have ever tested audi b4?have seen the best interior quality of audi?i bet them never!!so pls don simply comment while u havent study anything, this will make u look like a moron who are yelling nonsense. im an A4 -B8 owner, b4 i opted it, i have tested 325, C200 CGI, IS250, Merc and beemer juz failed to impress me while IS250 is as good but juz a bit under power with its V6 engine and its limited in passenger space. i will buy good quality, good engineering works instead of worrying bout second value and forgo the good quality.

• pultat on Apr 02, 2011 at 8:15 am

All those who kutuk the Audi probably never seen on in real life. Just ikut what other’s tell..bmw and merc…

Go see and touch one your self and you’ll know what Audi is all about.

• lousy shit on Oct 02, 2011 at 12:23 am

ajax.. stop being a sohai in this debate.. every rband has its own uniqueness.. personally, i prefer audi as it gives the best quality and best engine in class. merc n bmw is good though. no doubt, but usually its ppl’s perceptions tat makes a car look and sound good.