KLIMS 13 – Major brands coming out in full force, plenty of local launches and previews planned

klims-13-logo

The year 2013 has been a crazy one so far in terms of motor shows. We’ve had the customary season opening Detroit show, followed by Geneva and New York, plus shows in Bangkok, Seoul and the ongoing Auto Shanghai 2013. We’ve provided exclusive live coverage for the above-mentioned three Asian shows, which we hope you’ve enjoyed.

In the midst of all this action, it’s easy to forget that Malaysia is set to have its own motor show later this year after a three-year hiatus. Officially announced in January, the Kuala Lumpur International Motor Show 2013 (KLIMS 13) will be held from November 15-24 at usual location Putra World Trade Centre (PWTC), KL. The theme for the show is “Efficiency n Motion”.

“The automotive industry players are positioning themselves to crystallise their strategic plans following the result of the general election and in anticipation of the new National Automotive Policy (NAP) announcement. The automotive landscape is also shifting into higher gear in the EEV or energy-efficient vehicles market,” said Datuk Aishah Ahmad, President of the Malaysian Automotive Association (MAA).

klims13-01

Major brands have signed up for KLIMS 13, and among them are Chevrolet, Ford, Hyundai, Infiniti, Lexus, Nissan, Peugeot, Proton, Toyota and Subaru. Needless to say, we can expect plenty of local launches of new models, as well as a few concepts to wow the crowd.

Ford is expected to unveil a new powertrain and “a class-leading vehicle” at KLIMS 13. David Westerman, Ford’s regional manager said: “Ford’s participation at KLIMS 13 aims to excite and engage visitors with an interactive showcase at the Ford stand, as well as our full line-up of One Ford vehicles in Malaysia with class-leading features, design and smart technologies.”

One can expect a world-class display from Peugeot. “We are pleased to be participating in the most anticipated motor show of the year in Malaysia. Peugeot is often in the limelight at international motor shows and Peugeot’s display at KLIMS 13 will be no different,” said Datuk Samson Anand George, COO of Nasim.

Nissan’s theme for its KLIMS 13 stand is The Innovation that Excites. “Nissan will also be showcasing its latest innovation in producing zero emissions while still providing uncompromised driving pleasure as well as upholding ETCM’s commitment towards preserving the environment,” said Datuk David Chen, the new executive director of Edaran Tan Chong Motor.

It’s shaping up to be an exciting show in KL, even for relatively seasoned motor show goers in our team. There may not be any major world debuts or fresh concepts, but there’s this special buzz about covering a motor show on home ground that we enjoy. Here’s a flashback gallery from KLIMS 10 and stay tuned for more updates on KLIMS 13

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Before this one, we CHANGE!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 25
    • Jimmy on Apr 26, 2013 at 3:59 pm

Though I have been commenting here for sometime, I feel sad to know that our car industry has lost out to Thailand because of our corruption and cronyism. Even in International car shows, we have also lost because our car show is nothing but the promotion of shampoos, car wax, car rims, fuel saving kits etc. Such a disgrace. Our car industry is so palat that nobody launches anything in Malaysia. Thanks to corruption.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 2
    • Mahathir & Co on Apr 26, 2013 at 8:38 pm

Look at all those cronies and their wealthy and uninspiring looks on their face? Is that Dr M’s daughter? She even dare show her face in our car industry ???

I bet this carshow is going to be worse off than our Thai and Indon counterparts!

• I wonder is it pretty obvious that Ford’s new powertrain is the sub 2.0l Ecoboost, either the 1.0 or China’s 1.5l and I’am putting my money that the “a class-leading vehicle” on the new Ford Mondeo.

That aside, there’s still a clear absence of anything European aside form Peugeot. Hope that it’ll be as good, if not better than the 06′ show, I don’t want to experience another cardboard Bat-mobile again like the one in 10′

• Swedish muck on Apr 26, 2013 at 10:42 am

It should be the 1.6 eco boost in the ford kuga. But its not really new to malayaia because Volvo introduced it in the t4 s60, v60, xc60 long ago

• jeremy on Apr 26, 2013 at 10:21 am

Perodua not joining? Itu Bezza concept apa cerita?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 0
  • of all the international motor show, i thk this is by far the most pathetic :P

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 10
  • how about ferrai, lambo, posrche, maserati, merc, bmw, audi? with so little brands, this is just a no show.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 7
  • unforgiven on Apr 26, 2013 at 10:54 am

We will never be as good as the rest of the motor shows, simple stuff that kill us all:
    1. Nap
    2. P1
    3. P2
    4. Naza
    5. Inokom
    6. Etc

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 8
    • Painter on Apr 26, 2013 at 12:25 pm

Add in the paint seller, the car polish seller, the audio system seller, the anti theft seller, the astro dish on car rooftop seller, the aftermarket steering seller, the aftermarket gear knob seller, the sports rim seller, the bodykit look like mitsubishi evo 7 seller, the car insurance seller,

and you get yourself Malaysia’s version of Motorshow.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 0
    • humpback on Apr 29, 2013 at 12:26 pm

I believe it should be in this order today.. since P2 sells way more cars now than anyone else including P1, they benefit the most from NAP policies.. likewise their Japanese partners.

1. Nap
      2. P2
      3. P1
      4. Naza
      5. Inokom
      6. Etc

• oh man! cancel the show. don’t bring down our malaysian standard further.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
  • mr_em on Apr 26, 2013 at 11:25 am

What is so “international” about this KLIMS?

Judging by the entrants/exhibitors and also the absentees (Honda, Perodua etc) it should just be called a national motorvehicle exhibition…. obviously the manufacturer is a mix of foreign (Peugeot, Ford, Toyota etc) and local (Proton etc) but this motorshow somehow does not attract participants internationally or even regionally (Thai, Indon etc)…

• azrai on Apr 26, 2013 at 11:32 am

I think MITI will also have one booth there to explain the gradual abolishment of excise duty 20% per year after the election. :-)

• dewaSemut on Apr 26, 2013 at 11:57 am

The number of automakers joining the show will tell how insignificant Malaysia is in their marketing blueprint… :P

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
  • KillBox1Alpha on Apr 26, 2013 at 11:57 am

Major brands?….where are the Germans….hopefully they will be represented….not going there to see P1 or P2…already see them daily..

• Where is Mazda, VW, BMW, Merc, Audi, Volvo, Subaru, Mitsubishi, Kia, Suzuki etc. Juat waste money to go KLIMS

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
  • Fagly on Apr 26, 2013 at 12:03 pm

I think it’s unfair for MITI to slap same rate 75% excise duty to cars with better fuel mileage and fuel guzzler cars.

Ini curry lah OK

• Will they display the new Vios ?

• Dalvin tan on Apr 26, 2013 at 1:19 pm

the malaysian motor show is very poor even worse than thailand. tree years once only compared to thailand one year twice.

• Wheres is merc, bmw, vw? International car show? and how much gonna charge us this time? pay money and see the same car, same model in the showroom?

• pak jabit on Apr 26, 2013 at 3:00 pm

sorry la…klims still cannot compete with bangkok and jakarta motorshow…too many cosmetic job and no real auto manufacturer launching…

• Abg Long on Apr 26, 2013 at 3:04 pm

wow! so many major brands!

• U know.. we can’t really call it a credible motor show unless there’s participation from Principals such as Audi, VW, Mercedes and BMW. They were noticeably absent from the last show. Of course, Naza will bring the conti models out, but its not as good has having the Principals there.

• darker marker on Apr 26, 2013 at 4:20 pm

instead of KLIM, please call it “Kuala Lumpur Existing Car Showroom Gathering (KLSG)”.

Previous so-called KLIM were lame, dissapointment, waste of time and simply waste of money for buying the ticket.

I get better info about latest cars by surfing the internet or reading car magazines.

• Alex Chan on Apr 26, 2013 at 4:35 pm

yeah..the palce is crawling with insurance sellers and accessories sellers…maybe they shud called it KL Auto acessories show..really feel money being wasted there…

• Malaysian should enjoy a better build quality, reliability, comfort, more luxury, environmental friend, safety, more variety n last but not least, more affordable vehicles. No doubt our Nation needs income n taxes, but it has to benefit to entire Nation instead of few peoples alone, aka cronies who suck the big amount of our Vitamin “M”. Don’t you n your family want to enjoy a better product purchase by your Hard Earn Money at a reasonable n affordable price?

• revolver on Apr 26, 2013 at 9:41 pm

KLIMS sucks..

• ryuki on Apr 27, 2013 at 8:47 am

To have a proper international motor KLIMS must call Volkswagen AG so ..they can bring
    1) Volkswagen
    2) Audi
    3) Bentley
    4) Bugatti
    5) Lamborghini
    6) Porsche
    7) Skoda
    8) Seat
    9) MAN
    10) Scania
    11) Volkswagen Commercial vehicles
    12) Ducati
    13) Ital Giugario design house for concept cars

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 0
    • VWG not allowed to bring the above brands, cause our beloved Naza already have these cars in their stables, all in recond form…
      Naza will display all their musuem cars from pj222 showroom at this klim

• Ahmadfaris93 on Apr 27, 2013 at 12:21 pm

“Major brands have joined” Toyota, Hyundai,etc. Expect this will be another marketing expo. They are all there to sell the cars, not to promote upcoming models, concept or whatever they had in Bangkok,Jakarta. We are nowhere that level for motorshow. the previous one was poor.

• Imran Iskandar on Apr 28, 2013 at 12:33 am

Thanks to Tun Mahathir in protecting local car industry, we are losing foreign investment in the automotive industry. Thailand has become the car factory for the world. Contrary to gov propaganda, our economy is not that great. We need foreign investment. I dare not envisage the country few years down the road if it is still under the same gov. Ubah!!!

• remember batmobile in KLIMS 2010?

• KLIMS is an epic fail. i been to there in year 2004 or 2005 at PWTC. I think that was the best with big brand like BMW, Merc, Audi and many more. Of course, with alot of cheapo hot showgirl shaking their ass off.. But this time is realli off, if KLIMS wants to only focus on jaguh kampung.Please rename the show as KLJMS=Kuala Lumpur Junk Motor Show. Please keep up to international standard if we really wanna compete in the real world.

• Veneno on Apr 29, 2013 at 12:00 pm

hopes that this year’s show will be better than past years..

• KLIMS has always been the same, never changed. Why you guys so excited? Nothing different from seeing a roadshow at a shopping mall. And it’s at PWTC, I bloody hate going to that 3rd rate and bloody ridiculous place.

KLIMS 2010 was one of the worst shows I have ever been to, bloody disgrace.

• rustynails on Nov 15, 2013 at 1:57 am

Was there at pre-opening. How can this be an international motor show when familiar brands like Audi, BMW, Mercedes-Benz,Volvo, Mazda, Mitsubishi, Suzuki, Kia, Chevrolet, Renault & not to mention, Proton – is absent!