Proton Preve R3 bodykit due September – RM1,500

Proton_Preve_R3_1

A bit overdue, this. We finally have word on the official Proton Preve R3 bodykit, a whole year after the Preve R3 Concept was shown at the 2012 Malaysian Rally. Proton Preve owners who were asking for the production R3 kit will only have a month more to wait, and the price is expected to be around RM1,500.

Proton Motorsports posted these three pictures on its Facebook page. The one above shows the Preve decked out in R3 kit next to the Satria Neo R3 and Inspira R3. Very little detail can be seen with the dead-front angle chosen for the Preve, but there’s no denying that it cuts a dashing figure in R3 trim.

The second shot gives a close-up look at the front bumper addition. Quite a bit has changed from the Preve R3 Concept, but so has the price. The earlier concept had an indicative price of RM3,xxx, while this one halves that when it goes on sale sometime in early September. UPDATE: Picture of the new 17-inch R3 wheels added; expected pricing is RM2,500 for a set of four.

It appears to be a lot more subtle with a cleaner, simpler design that fits the rest of the car better. R3’s signature notched ‘splitter’ element is present here, painted in non-glossy black. Works a charm to make the Preve’s standard honeycomb lower intake grille a lot more sporty than it first seemed, right?

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• ben yap on Aug 02, 2013 at 2:12 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 562 Thumb down 897
    • anti red bean army on Aug 02, 2013 at 2:43 pm

stupid people with stupid comment…shame on u..nuff said.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 565 Thumb down 86
      • chong on Aug 02, 2013 at 3:13 pm

if only your father can afford condoms……

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 321 Thumb down 40
      • joanna on Aug 02, 2013 at 3:32 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 254 Thumb down 455
        • Butthurt comment from hardcore PR fan.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 233 Thumb down 57
          • joanna on Aug 03, 2013 at 2:54 pm

So does it mean Proton fans = BN supporter, Proton criticizer means PR supporter. Kah kah another lunatic comment from Proton hardcore fan.
            #ps you cant bash proton. Their fans are super hyper sensitive.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 120
          • solenoid on Aug 03, 2013 at 7:28 pm

bashing without brains is stupidity

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 90 Thumb down 6
          • james on Aug 04, 2013 at 10:28 am

no joanna..u’re not PR..but u’re mother F..haha..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 64 Thumb down 11
      • nandakumar on Aug 04, 2013 at 11:53 am

who is stupid?until today you don’t know proton has been cheating the rakyat? you support proton? you go Mahathir house.its shame on you for supporting rip off company like proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 103
    • Najib on Aug 02, 2013 at 3:40 pm

Another stupid comment by a stupid person.

UBAH yourself first!!!!! Then only can progress.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 335 Thumb down 36
      • Please UBAH yourself first. Trust me, the people will be pleased with that.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 53
    • Wow that maroon color Neo looks great!

I mean the color but not the car sorry.

Hot debate. What do you think? Thumb up 135 Thumb down 137
    • Those cars worth RM1500 but not the bodykit!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 131
    • Someone on Aug 04, 2013 at 7:02 am

Seriously, you are a huge shame to PR.

I myself am also a PR supporter and I’ll be honest. I hated the ori Preve’s looks myself but the bodykit looks like it’ll fix some of that ugliness.

So please la, stop politicizing cars. We don’t need that.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 63 Thumb down 6
    • haidar on Aug 07, 2013 at 7:00 pm

u sendiri pun takda product, takda company..moron

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
    • ur brain must UBAH first

• Hidden due to lowcomment rating. Click here to see.

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 147 Thumb down 332
    • DUrgong on Aug 02, 2013 at 2:54 pm

Yeahhhh totally agree with u,go buy 4 supid Bios….

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 174 Thumb down 17
    • safety_first on Aug 04, 2013 at 9:48 am

at least Preve achieves 5-star NCAP safety rating rather than Vios 4-star safety rating. no point your vios can last 100 years or has good RV if you lose your life in a collision in your Vios sportivo.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 149 Thumb down 3
    • MrLoco on Aug 05, 2013 at 11:03 am

Typical Malaysian…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 9
  • infinity on Aug 02, 2013 at 2:19 pm

I was hoping for the chromed grill (wing) seen in the Preve Sapphire.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 124 Thumb down 6
  • Machine on Aug 02, 2013 at 2:24 pm

THIS IS PROTON MAN

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 44
  • SteveJobs on Aug 02, 2013 at 2:28 pm

still didn’t fancy the rear.hope the facelift is better V_V

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 202 Thumb down 1
  • WHY?! on Aug 02, 2013 at 2:32 pm

Looks alright actually, other R3 kits didn’t catch me but the lower front lip on the preve looks great!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 100 Thumb down 3
  • kadajawa on Aug 02, 2013 at 2:33 pm

Proton power window still lifetime or reduced to 10 years warranty?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 116
  • ntahla on Aug 02, 2013 at 2:34 pm

moar pic pls…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
  • azrai on Aug 02, 2013 at 2:38 pm

RM1500 is quite affordable for OEM bodykit. No R3 BK for Exora and Saga?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 85 Thumb down 12
  • _xXx_ on Aug 02, 2013 at 3:11 pm

brp kk dpt ngan kit ni?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 73
  • LIEW YEN HONG on Aug 02, 2013 at 3:16 pm

I am ready to install it on my new elantra!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 91
  • capt. on Aug 02, 2013 at 3:24 pm

satu ja pic ? sgt lah review!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 17
  • joanna on Aug 02, 2013 at 3:30 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 173 Thumb down 283
    • Sid Alias on Aug 02, 2013 at 3:38 pm

This Joanna care soooo much about what she called “fugly” item/ body kit. she even comment TWICE. you FUNNY girl. :P

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 173 Thumb down 7
      • gOOsh on Aug 05, 2013 at 8:17 am

let this Joanna be in his/her own world arr bro… dah dasar BONGOK…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 3
        • Mantoya on Oct 19, 2013 at 10:34 am

I can imagine this Joanna ugly fugly face…just liake pig ass.

• keleboq on Nov 14, 2013 at 9:11 am

Joanna drive almari/bios, she jelly peloton with bodykit moar hensem. :P

• Pak Joule on Aug 02, 2013 at 3:37 pm

kalau tak suka proton, takyah baca pasal proton.. tengok tajuk pasal proton jer, toksah baca.. saya pemilik preve.. saya kecik hati ada yang kutuk2 kereta saya..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 221 Thumb down 21
    • joanna on Aug 02, 2013 at 4:02 pm

Sorry boss

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 102
    • SadekSegaraga on Aug 03, 2013 at 5:58 am

Tapi ramai juga owner proton yg masuk tajuk kereta lain kemudian mula pangkah membangkang sampai buat owner kereta lain marah

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 100 Thumb down 16
    • vios owner on Oct 19, 2013 at 10:53 am

How bout the ppl insult or attack vois…vois owner x kecil hati ke….compare ia good but dont make it ugly..lets respect eaxh other

• civicEK on Aug 02, 2013 at 3:37 pm

bro Hafriz Shah, proton just released another pic of 17 inch R3 rims. estimated RM2.5k rim only

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 62 Thumb down 2
  • daniel on Aug 02, 2013 at 3:41 pm

kenapa tak habis2 nak tutup proton? Kalau kerajaan ubah pun Proton dah jadi swasta sebab DRB memiliki 90+% pegangan saham dalam Proton.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 89 Thumb down 4
  • paul79 on Aug 02, 2013 at 3:41 pm

prepare for haters to bash proton. if you are so happy with your overprices jap cars which give you crap features, please stfu.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 78 Thumb down 11
  • afagfg on Aug 02, 2013 at 3:50 pm

PROTON: Powerwindow Rosak Oooh Tidaaaakkkk Ohhhh Noooooo!

Hot debate. What do you think? Thumb up 126 Thumb down 140
    • english teacher on Aug 02, 2013 at 9:06 pm

if “Power Window Rosak Oooh Tidaaaakkkk Ohhhh Noooooo!”
      then it should be PWROTON..

stupid basher who doesn’t know how to spell words… haha… pity u!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 6
      • preve salesman on Aug 05, 2013 at 2:14 pm

preve is the best car in the world! better than subaru,vw, bmw and others japs car coz u can see all preve stay on the right lane at highway..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
        • Agak2 la best dari Subaru…. I pon sokong proton gak ekekekkejke

• am i the only 1 around here who prefers whole bumper replacements instead of cheapo bodykit add ons?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 38
    • me too bro..at least have an option for bumper upgrade as well..the more option the merrier..

• This is sure make Preve owner very happy!!!! Yayy!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 2
  • Hokkien Mee on Aug 02, 2013 at 4:48 pm

I love Preve, finally can kick A250 ASS!!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 75 Thumb down 14
  • ProtonSuck on Aug 02, 2013 at 4:56 pm

Why bother….. So, with the bodykit, the car can go faster and can pikat those mat minah kat factory ?

Better save the money and get a better car than wasting rm1.5k. At least the saving also can pay for the condom bocor and need abortion.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 65 Thumb down 75
    • this is not cheapo TRD sportivo or ah beng bodykits. prolly tunnel tested, it’s functional rather than mere grooming.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 2
  • hafizrahim on Aug 02, 2013 at 5:49 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 131
    • gOOsh on Aug 05, 2013 at 8:22 am

bro hafizrahim… kau pegi honda check tengok…
      full bk utk honda is not less than RM8K…
      get some life arr bro…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
      • preve salesman on Aug 05, 2013 at 2:19 pm

u got the powerful car with only cost u 1.5k for bodykit…worth buy..preve without bodykit can cucuk subaru..with bodykit can cucuk ferrari! believe me.

• Anti.lge on Aug 02, 2013 at 5:53 pm

went for a test drive proton preve. seriously a good car. worth to buy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 12
    • kayosz on Aug 03, 2013 at 8:17 am

yup everything ok except for the gearbox.. functions not according to the driver will.. little bit disappointed..

• Garfield on Aug 04, 2013 at 8:29 am

Can I offer you an insight bro? I have tested Preve and I know what you mean. I own a boring but refined Jap, probably with the most reliable and efficient CVT in its class, and on the other side a German with a 6-spd DSG with the most satisfying gearchange that even the drift king Keiichi Tsuchiya vouched for it.

I found the best way to enjoy the CFE Preve is to use the paddle shifts when you start off, and when you’re in the turbo range after 2000rpm (flat 205Nm torque) you can let the CVT move things along efficiently. I won’t bother with SAT, the reason probably why you’re disappointed. Yes, the Preve is not even in the same league with the two cars I own, but should I need a third one I wouldn’t mind to buy this car at all. Cars are expensive in Bolehland, so make the most of what we can afford la bro….. I missed the time I literally drag myself out of sleep every morning in my manual Saga 1.5 Knight at the traffic lights…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 0
  • IMO 17-inch wheels still looks a bit undertired but looks kinda good in gunmetal grey.

• thebosssedangbercakap on Aug 02, 2013 at 8:41 pm

R3, a company that has been in the scene for years, but only managed to sell rims/body kits. what a shame. even those kedai in sunway also can make these kind of things. even better.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 32
    • unsopen on Aug 03, 2013 at 12:29 am

those are not tested by official tuner like R3. huge difference of quality

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 3
    • ahbeng on Aug 05, 2013 at 1:09 pm

The are brother accessory competitor. Probably hire designer from there too.

• along on Aug 02, 2013 at 8:42 pm

Horrrayyyy…

Finally this is released…. Actually all the 200 spyshot, the testing around town during the day, night, rain and shine, Proton was testing the preve bodykit…

Now, it has been confirm that the bodykit is OK…

haha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 23
  • saiful nizam on Aug 03, 2013 at 12:30 am

what an improvement made by proton…. still waiting for this r3 preve to enter the market… hopefully with this modification it also can increase it hp

• thedarkside on Aug 03, 2013 at 1:04 am

kemon proton…make some for exora please

• paul79…u are so funny…dont u noe that in msia jap cars overprice is bcoz of stupid BN’s tax to protect national cars? if without all those stupid taxes jap cars and even national cars would be A LOT cheaper..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 105 Thumb down 45
    • Hondasalesman on Aug 03, 2013 at 5:59 am

Even the gomen start phasing out proton from their offical car for high ranking officer. If give excuse perdana no longer in production can still except but replacing inspira?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 74 Thumb down 8
      • eterna on Aug 03, 2013 at 7:10 pm

perdana is too old and reaches eol, hence the maintenance will be higher and sourcing the spare parts will be diffcicult

• Peyno on Aug 05, 2013 at 7:16 pm

Inspira is D segment meh??? Proton n honda are under drb… If u ask why nit inspira… Then i ask .. Why not civic or city?? Why accord?

• yahoo on Oct 19, 2013 at 11:00 am

Well say….no choice ma…this ppl dislike facing the fact

• Norman on Aug 03, 2013 at 3:18 am

U go Korea elantra 1.8 cost less than Corolla Axio 1.5 and K3 1.6 premium cost less than Jazz 1.3 and you know why?Their govt really protect their products and interest first before any others.Dont be surprised American cars suchs as Buick and Ford cost the same as Japanese car due to their trade partnership.You go USA a brand new Chevy 3.5 liter cost the same as Camry 2.5

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 0
  • presna on Aug 03, 2013 at 3:23 am

so 5K for bodykit nice looking rims, that’s not bad right?
    though, think the large grille like in the satria would be nice on the preeve….

• shame_Loo on Aug 03, 2013 at 6:50 pm

Good for Proton Lover, yes we need you to keep Proton alive….but to me, it’s a junk to fit into a junk…..Don’t get me wrong, I also own a pre facelift Saga, trust me….I use it like a junk. I can park it anywhere I like, go anywhere without worry it being scratch, damage & etc. But whenever I drive it, I keep on curse it….But I still need it, because I/we need something to be a junk for some “junk” purpose….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 24
    • bestest on Aug 03, 2013 at 7:22 pm

the name suits you and your life best – junk

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 71 Thumb down 1
      • Shame_loo on Aug 03, 2013 at 11:20 pm

Your reply tells me you are just another junk lover. You are nothing better but just another junk.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 16
    • Green on Aug 04, 2013 at 10:06 am

Yes, Proton builds some bad cars and this applies to Proton Saga (2000 models and above), Proton Juara, Proton Arena etc…..

Proton Preve is a vast improvement in 2012. Cannot be compared to Toyota Vios, City or Forte. Performance Preve wins, Comfort Preve wins, QC Preve loses, Interior design it is in the middle better than Vios or City i would say. Handling Preve Wins, Pricing Preve Wins as well.

Overall Proton Preve is the best Proton car with some flaws for sure but with time they will improvised. Anyway Proton need to upgrade their Quality Control for a better quality.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 80 Thumb down 0
  • CuriousJack on Aug 04, 2013 at 10:16 am

So for the updated part, Rm2500 i know is it the final price for the whole R3 kit (including the 4 rims?)

• Paul Chin on Aug 04, 2013 at 9:08 pm

RM 2500 for rims only, bodykit is around 1500 full set~

• Pre_Ve on Aug 05, 2013 at 11:31 am

R3 17″ rims = Rm 2500
        Bodykit = RM 1500
        17″ tyres = estimated RM 1600

Total damage = RM 2500 + RM 1500 + RM 1600 = RM 5600

• Joe Radzif on Aug 05, 2013 at 9:45 am

R3, Please make one for my V6….
    Perdana do not have the R3 yet…
    Kesian la kat kitorang…

• gua punya rasa on Aug 05, 2013 at 11:47 am

design nice. no problem. but gua prefer inspira r3 bro. better than lancer gt. luv inspira!!! ini aku punya rasa la bro smua.

• 1malaysia on Sep 15, 2013 at 10:25 pm

i review some of this comments. For those who critics this national car, i do believes most of you start with this product before you use another car. But more worst, some of you who critics to much, your people or your races still sell this related product for your own profit and income. shamed on you

• 1malaysia on Sep 15, 2013 at 10:28 pm

no argue that the previous proton car have several weakness and lackness. But to all of you guys, at least now we see Preve has a lot improvement than previous.

• zackaguero on Oct 21, 2013 at 3:15 pm

kaler tu, kalau warna hijau r3 lotus mcm satria neo lotus racing kan bertambah ummphhhh.. tp, cub la preve LE ni, suprima xnk wat LE ke R3 ke? gua nk angkut sebijik… kang beli yg sekarang kang, kua r3 plak, rugi la gua.. gua peminat tegar proton r3 punya disign…

• My Preve is Great on Oct 22, 2013 at 1:10 pm

Where can I get the bodykit?

• casper on Nov 19, 2013 at 7:12 pm

hah..if u can “blanja” all ur families and friends makan2 n u own imported car then thumbs up for u.. but if u own an imported car n u are really “kedekut” to buy at least a cup of coffee for your family n friends, don’t talk so big la macha.. its better u own a cheap proton but u can still afford to buy at least a cup of coffee for ur friends and family sometimes compared own an imported car but too stingy to “blnja”..huh..

• fadli on Jan 06, 2014 at 5:21 pm

Sir, where can i buy the bodykit?

• zin uban on May 01, 2014 at 10:24 pm

to owner preve and suprima let show your power on the road
    to make all toyota and honda shut up…

• Eizad on Dec 22, 2014 at 2:53 pm

soryy..where can i buy the bodykit? Pm me pls..tq..

• mano..nak beli bodykit..