The wait is over. Proton has officially introduced its latest addition to the fold with the arrival of the Prevé. The car was launched an hour ago by the Prime Minister, Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak, at the Mines Malaysia International Exhibition and Convention Centre in Seri Kembangan.
It’s a huge car for the company, as its managing director Datuk Seri Syed Zainal Abidin stated at the launch. “The Prevé is a very important milestone for Proton in many ways. It represents a new and higher level of standard for Proton cars in all aspects encompassing safety, performance, comfort, build quality, technology, overall design and convenience,” he said.
“More significantly, it reflects on Proton’s maturity, technical knowledge and technological capability as a car manufacturer and to evolve from a domestic and regional player into a global car company,” he added.
As mentioned in our preview article about the car, the Prevé is available in three variant forms at point of launch, with two engine permutations and three transmissions – the list is led by the 1.6 CVT Premium, in turbocharged CamPro CFE form, followed by the 1.6 Executive CVT and 1.6 Executive five-speed manual, which both feature the normally-aspirated CamPro IAFM+ mill.
Both CVT-equipped variants feature a Punch CVT drivetrain – the High-line CFE variant gets the seven-speed VT3, dubbed the ProTronic, while the Medium-line spec’d IAFM+ runs with the six-speed VT2. The VT3 transmission is a derivative of the VT2 – both share the same package, but the VT3 is capable of higher maximum input torques (215 Nm as opposed to the VT2‘s 186 Nm).
Speaking of output, the CFE – which features a low-pressure turbocharger – is good for 138 hp at 5,000 rpm and 205 Nm between 2,000 – 4,000 rpm, and performance figures include a 0-100 km/h time of 9.6 seconds and a maximum top speed of 190 km/h. As for fuel consumption, the CFE manages 6.6 litres per 100 km, based on a combined cycle.
As for the IAFM+, the mill equips the two M-Line versions of the car, and output numbers for this one are 107 hp at 5,750 rpm and 150 Nm at 4,000 rpm. As for performance specs, the CVT version has a 170 km/h top speed and a 12.5 second 0-100 km/h time, while the manual does 180 km/h tops and does the century sprint in 12.0 seconds.
Consumption-wise, Proton states that the IAFM+ offers 5.8 litres per 100 km for the CVT version, while the five-speed manual manages 6.2 litres per 100 km, both sets on a combined cycle measurement.
Prevé | Waja | Persona | |
Length | 4,543mm | 4,470mm | 4,477mm |
Width | 1,785mm | 1,740mm | 1,725mm |
Height | 1,524mm | 1,420mm | 1,438mm |
Wheelbase | 2,650mm | 2,600mm | 2,600mm |
Front Track | 1,542m | 1,475mm | 1,475mm |
Rear Track | 1,542mm | 1,470mm | 1,470mm |
Luggage | 506L | 408L | 430L |
Kerb Weight | 1,340kg | 1,235kg | 1,245kg |
Dimensions-wise, the Prevé measures in at 4,543 mm long, 1,786 mm wide and 1,524 mm tall, and has a 2,650 mm wheelbase. Both the front and rear track is identical at 1,542 mm each, and the car has a ground clearance of 155 mm, and all the numbers are universal across the Prevé model range.
As mentioned in an earlier story about its dimensions, the Prevé is larger than its two predecessors, the Waja and the Persona – here’s a recap of the comparative figures. The earlier figures were accurate, with only a single mm difference in the width (earlier reported as 1,785 mm) as well as with the boot capacity of 508 litres (earlier, 506 litres) being the only items needing revision.
Prevé | Inspira | Altis | 2012 Civic | Jetta | Forte | 2012 MD Elantra | |
Length | 4,543 | 4,570 | 4,540 | 4,525 | 4,644 | 4,530 | 4,530 |
Width | 1,785 | 1,760 | 1,760 | 1,755 | 1,778 | 1,775 | 1,775 |
Height | 1,524 | 1,490 | 1,465 | 1,435 | 1,482 | 1,460 | 1,445 |
Wheelbase | 2,650 | 2,635 | 2,600 | 2,670 | 2,651 | 2,650 | 2,700 |
Luggage | 506 | 475 | 464 | 510 | 495 | 485 | |
Weight | 1,340 | 1,335 | 1,315 | 1,295 | 1,417 | 1,359 | 1,269 |
Elsewhere, a recap too in comparing the Prevé with other C-segment sedans, including its own Mitsubishi-derived stablemate, the Proton Inspira, as the table below shows. The comparison is based on models with the biggest engines and specs (and thus the heaviest). The only thing missing from the table is the boot space capacity of the Inspira – it’s not the same as the Lancer, since the boot floor is raised to fit a full-sized spare.
Meanwhile, in terms of kerb weight, the 1.6 Premium CFE tips the scales at 1,340 kg, while the 1.6 Executive CVT is 1,325 kg and the Executive manual is the lightest of the trio, at 1,305 kg. The car comes with a 50 litre capacity fuel tank.
Suspension type is a MacPherson front and multilink rear, and all three variants wear 10-spoke 16-inch alloys, with GT Radial Champiro 205/55 series tyres, and features ventilated front /solid rear disc brakes. Water-resistant fabric seats feature across the range, as does hydraulic power steering – the choice for the latter was explained in our preview story.
Kit-wise, the Prevé comes with front and rear fog lamps, follow-me-home lights, driver’s seat height adjustment, vehicle immobiliser, projector headlamps with LED position lamps as well as ABS with EBD and dual SRS airbags as standard across the entire model range.
The top-of-the-range CFE gets brake assist and traction control, Electronic Stability Control (ESC), Isofix seat mountings as well as two side airbags on top of that found as standard fare. It also gets tinted window film as part of the kit.
As expected, the CFE also comes loaded with the bells and whistles in terms of features and functions, with a push-start ignition, cruise control, auto headlamps, auto wipers, auto climate air-conditioning, a rear spoiler and a CD/MP3 player with Bluetooth, USB and iPod connectivity and integrated touchscreen GPS navigation unit.
There’s also a leather-wrapped steering wheel, auto fold side mirrors and steering-mounted paddle shifters. Both the Executive variants don’t get leather for the steering wheel, but all three variants feature steering audio controls. Likewise, the CD/MP3 player on the two Executive versions come with Bluetooth, USB and iPod connectivity, but the GPS navigation is an external (portable) unit.
The vehicle is also equipped with a Smart Information Display system (SID) that displays information such as average fuel consumption, distance to empty, battery health and faulty bulb indicator, gear shift lock indicator, home lamp indicator and vehicle intrusion warning, among others. And also on is on the move WiFi – the Prevé comes YES 4G-enabled.
Six colours are available across the range for the Prevé, and these are Blue Lagoon, Fire Red, Genetic Silver, Solid White, Tranquility Black and a new shade called Elegant Brown. Ah, yes, prices are as follows (on-the-road, inclusive of insurance):
- The Prevé 1.6 Premium CVT: RM72,990 (metallic) and RM72,540 (solid)
- The Prevé 1.6 Executive CVT: RM62,990 (metallic) and RM62,540 (solid)
- The Prevé 1.6 MT Executive: RM59,990 (metallic) and RM59,540 (solid)
A first for Proton – the Prevé comes with a full five-year or 150,000 km warranty (whichever comes first). As of tonight, there have been 1,200 bookings for the car, with around 75% being for the CFE-equipped version.
By the way, about the surprise mentioned in our preview … we still don’t know what it is, because it was never mentioned during the launch!
Update: More pictures of launch in the gallery, and studio shots as well as brochure scans incorporated. Also, the official TVC of the Proton Prevé in all three languages, as seen below.
Proton Prevé Official TVC: English
Proton Prevé Official TVC: Bahasa Melayu
Proton Prevé Official TVC: Mandarin
Report by Anthony Lim, Danny Tan and Chris Ng. Photos by Sherman Sim.
It reminds me of the China’s J-20 Stealth Fighter
This is what I call “Lagi power, lagi best!”
forte and elantra beat this car in every term bro…even VW need to do catch up….proton?pui…..
support.
looks like 5 year old model inside out ie touchscreen like ah beng fitted unit
lagi pandang lagi boring…moving backwards
now lets see how the sales report card another 6 months
The only VIP who was excited up there is Mahathir. Thou i respect him as an ex PM, but when it comes to proton, it is hopeless. Maybe its time to find a new advisor. An advisory board of AUTOMOTIVE EXPERTS like what Lotus had assembled would be beneficial.
Yeah so now malaysia is the 1st ranking politicing enviroment 365 day 24 hour running.even you jamban rumah runtoh it couse of your pm,bulshit malaysian
I wont conclude anything until i saw the car in flesh…. and driven it.
Impressive specs & features.
Not bad on the price as I compared 10 years back, 72K can only get a Waja 1.6X plus higher interest rate (those days).
Those are definitely dust gathering rims. And very difficult to clean. Rims should be clean and simple design.
Who’s gonna read all the 482 comments? (except Anthony of course)
Now it become 821 comment.. hahah..
saat paling tension malam tu…
“…maknanya apa lagi saya boleh cakap pada malam ini. maknanya tiada banyak lagi yang saya boleh cakap pada malam ini…”
ingat dah nak launch dah lepas tu tapi ada sambung lak lagi…
just st*u and launch the damn car already!!!…
One more blunder…….idiots…..!!!!
why dont u go back to ur country and buy one there.
The Red color looks especiall nice to me , not very happy with the tail lamps tough..
Good attempt by Proton but for this to be considered a “world” car it should be priced like one as well. RM73,000 is equivalent to USD23,548 where for the same price you can buy a Volkswagen GTI in the US. Ask yourself, for the same price would you rather drives a Proton Preve or a Volkswagen GTI?
Top spec should sell no more than RM40,000 otherwise it’s only destined to be another Jaguh Kampung.
I would rather drive the Volkswagen GTI !! Car prices is so high and distorted here no thanks to BN government policies to protect cronies that most Malaysian loses perspective on real car prices!
Let’s vote smartly people!
which professional car reviewer ever compared price of car in different countries? they know about car and they really only talk about cars and not about world-wide price or economy subject. even if they talk about price, they only compare the car with whatever available in their market.
only stupid ‘reviewer’ do the ‘price comparison’ like this OMG guy. they’re not saying anything useful, but just revealing how stupid they are.
He is not stupid but he just don’t understand why he had to pay so much more for the product which is made locally than overseas. We knew it’s due to different TAX structure, but this is what make us sad & not proud of when you see those people half the globe away get a much better offer than your proud proton offer you here.
most boring & unwanted part of the launching is to have politician to give his nonsense speech. keep politic away from Proton, then only you can improve.
Yes right keep all those politicians away. It is time to change.
Mofaz AGAIN ?
Guys go look at this guy’s comments when the INSPIRA was launched:
http://paultan.org/topics/special/proton-inspira/
The INSPIRA sales is totally collapses today. Now he is talking again.
Mulut macam Meriam zaman Belanda menjajah Melaka
Yes, just ignore him. He sounds like one of those idiots who cannot survive without Government handouts. That’s why he’s darn supportive of all the taxes and duties imposed on the cars here.
you again? which statistic are you reffering to, mr statistician?
as i know, sales of Inspira is very close to Honda City last year. top 50 models : Honda City at no 10 followed by Inspira at no 11. only 1,000 units difference for Jan-Dec sales.
Honda production in thailand was badly affected last year bodoh. delivery was badly delay everybody knows about that except you
you’re even more stupid. you think mitsu is not affected in japan’s quake & tsunami?
Why is your nickname MoFaz? Are you related to the MoFaz group?
If yes, then we know why u support the tax structure. U have to much to lose. If not, please explain why.
i was merely stating the fact that our cars are expensive due to tax, just to share the info so that you can come out from the dark corner in your brain… i’ve never mentioned anywhere or any time that i support the tax! in fact, i don’t buy expensive car because i don’t want to pay such a huge amount of tax!!
i don’t know why Malaysians always jump into conclusions far too easy. i talk about tax so that means i support the tax?? what if i talk about your wife? that means i’ve slept with your wife…?
Quote from MoFaz
“you again? which statistic are you reffering to, mr statistician?
as i know, sales of Inspira is very close to Honda City last year. top 50 models : Honda City at no 10 followed by Inspira at no 11. only 1,000 units difference for Jan-Dec sales.”
I truly think that most of the inspira bought are for goverment (PDRM) usage…that factor contributes for its so-called-high-number…very seldom sees inspira used by public on the road lah bro…
You are a real joker. Which one of you is a professional car reviewer? All a Malaysian care about is getting a decent, affordable car worth the money whether it’s a local car or not.
All the car prices here are severely high and distorted no thanks to BN government tax policies to protect cronies at the expense of local citizens. Are you one of those idiots which depend on government handouts?
I agree with OMG, at least whose brain is functioning perfectly & not like those balls carrier.
Let’s compare, I went over to see the latest Elantra 1.6 NON TURBO & yet deliver 130 hbp….hence what’s so big deal for Preve Turbo……..
Last time Honda’s B16A/B16B DOHC VTEC can deliver 160-180 bhp.. what’s so big deal with Elantra’s 130 bhp? hehehe..
Can’t really simply compare like that ler Mr John..
100% agree with you, John….heard that Preve non -Turbo only generate 106bhp…hahahaha….what a joke from Proton…..with this you want to conquer the world….proton must be out of it’s mind.
I think most people still don’t understand that in normal driving, horsepower figures does not give the real indication of how powerful a car is. The true feeling of power comes from the amount of torque an engine delivers, and at what rpm it actually delivers it.
And in todays scenario, normallly an engine is is managed by an ECU, whereby, depending on the chip and the setting, the same engine can deliver 110 hp till as far as 160hp depending on application of the vehicle, normal sedan, sports sedan, mpv , etc.
Normally, to produce higher hp and torque, the ECU/chip is tuned to give a higher piston compression ratio. It;s possible, but long term reliability may suffer. A civic can be tuned for 160 hp ? ,,, of course it can be done. But observe it’s reliability …. So my piece of advise, get a package, depending on your preferrence. If your using the car for drag race, then by all means … pump it all the way to 180hp , with 250Nm torque if possible. If not, then what the boys at Proton did for Preve CFE, is … very acceptable. I’m not working for proton by the way. I’m just the guy from the streets, and very proud being a Malaysian,
138hp but 205nm torque . torque like subaru brz? you know what is that?
i think you don’t even know what car it is
Proton on the same level as the Subaru BRZ. Never was, not today and never will be.
Different countries have different tax rates. The Malaysian price of 73k MYR is mainly due to the 85 percent Malaysian tax. If the tax rate in US is 0 percent, then its US price should be about 12k USD.
Even Malaysian cars are taxed very high in Malaysia. No way can they make a car that cheap, in Malaysia. And of course they charge as much as they can anyway, and since I’d take this over a Vios even at the same price, I’d say it is rather competitive… even in Malaysia (C segment car with better equipment and safety at a lower price than the B segment competition, except for the Fiesta sedan which in terms of safety could equal or better the Preve).
In other countries I believe the Preve will be priced competitive.
Also… American prices are insane. For the price of a GTI in America a German would probably get a lowly Golf 1.4 without TSI or anything.
its possible to buy cheap car in malaysia….we as consumer…BOYCOTT buying new car for 6 month..sure they will decrease the prices…
ya ya..whatever bro. still talk about old stuff..boring lah.
Grow up man. We are talking about Malaysia, not US. You can keep on brag that GTI cost 23K USD, but so what. Proof to us that you can get it at that price in Msia and then you can start to brag about it here
U live in the wrong country. Sorry. Honestly.
we chose the wrong government, perhaps? he he.. come on!! more comments please!!
our target –> 2,000 comments
OMG I dont have the final cost + profit = export selling price for Preve but I have the Exora (Selling Price SGD 114k or RM 279k after taxes, PARF, COE) in Singapore.
Proton exports it at RM 31k (including profit). So are you willing to pay RM 279k for an Exora? You can’t compare at face value or worst after conversion!
If you compare Golf GTI RM 73k, Proton has RM 42k more to improve its features, handling R&D to meet your GTI standard. No doubt quite difficult for Proton to uplift to VW status.
Cause Proton aslo kena excise duty (if I am not wrong 75% (50% discount for national car) & sales tax 10%.
Assumption
Fikir Fikirlah – US personal tax, social security etc +/- 40% you kena tax every year. But you buy/change cars maybe every 10 years.
DO NOT CONVERT CURRENCY (NOT A FAIR VIEWPOINT FOR LIFESTYLE PARITY BAROMETER)
Let’s say your income as a Manager in USA is USD 8.3k/month or USD 100,000/year x 10 years =
USD 1,000,000 x 40% = USD 400k.
Take home pay = USD 600k.
Assuming car depreciated at 10% per year. ZERO value after 10 years & you buy cash. Leave out other parameters for easy comparison.
10 years – BMW 528i USD 47k
Your net cash = USD 600k – 47 = USD 553k.
In Malaysia, if your income as a Manager RM 100k – net tax after deduction EPF etc would be RM 75k.
10 years x RM 75k = RM 750k take home pay. But EPF is your mandatory savings by government. Extra EPF employer portion 12% RM 120k.
BMW 528i RM 370k
Your net cash = RM 380k + EPF employer/employee (RM 100k + RM 120k) = RM 600k.
You DECIDE where you want to live your life –
Bear in mind, in USA other hidden costs of living are rather high eg medical cost, legal, car maintenance, home improvement & most importantly children’s education cost etc.
Unless you decide to plan your work life to claim the unemployment benefits in USA or change cars every 2 -3 years, Or you are a natural born philanthropist!
How GERAM you work daily but your neighbor (claiming unemployment benefits) is not.
United States cost of living, in general, is lower than Malaysia. If you earn USD 3,000/month in the US, you can easily live a comfortable life.. and you cannot say the same thing in Malaysia with your paltry RM 3000 salary.
You have to remember, on average, engineering fresh graduates make USD 4k – 5k a month, whereas in Malaysia, you’d wish getting paid so much right after college.
My salary is 3000, I live comfortably in Melaka
With such easily satisfied kampung boys like you, what hope has Malaysia becoming a developed nation by 2020?
But U cant in KL !!!
Woi ts bodoh!, is it wrong to be satisfied living an average and humble life in kampong? if he is happy, so what? I’d rather life in kampung than becoming a stupid consumer and slave to the capitalists!
Sebab bila semua orang berkejar nak jadi kaya, itu pasal la semua barang harga naik. Tamak haloba, semua tak cukup. Nak barang semua yg paling mahal. American lifestyle. Ptuih! Go to USA la if you want american dream sgt!
Bila politicians nak barang mahal, korang marah! kata guna duit rakyat.. habis tu kau sebagai rakyat sibuk nak benda2 mahal apa bezanya?Put yourself in the leader’s shoes and we’ll see how you life your life!
Wow the village idiots are really out in force. Wonder why they always come out when potong is mentioned.
in a company, there’s a majikan(boss), and there are workers. both are dependant on each other. if every person in this world pandai2 and became a boss, who’s gonna do the cikai2 job? respect each other, every human being are doing their part in this world. simply labeling villagers as idiots is not right.
awesome, I really hope OMG read this and feel how dumb his comment was.
da best
Dollar per dollar, ringgit per ringgit, pound per pound, quite simply, most other nations have it better than us, it’s the purchasing power that counts, which we do not have that much….sigh
very informative. i heard people say you only buy a proton if you intend to use it until it’s beat because its resale value is not really enticing. buy an import (like toyota, best example) if you have other plans (and good income) in the future.
oops! am i being irrelevant to the comment?
WOW!! As im typing this there are 60 thumbs up and 0 thumb down.
Thank u for educating idiots in this world
P1 PREVE….BEST BEST BEST…
No proton pay full if not they kene kawkaw by thai last time AFTA rules..thai give proton higher tax compare to others as punishment
you go to us and buy one volkswagen gti,try make your own car and should put same spec as preve then you sell at price rm39999 if you can.
73k is Msia price plus 85% tax…..US have different tax system……if not mistaken tax in US only 6%…..so this car will may sell at 10k – 13k USd….:)
just my opinion…
*and don;t ever talk bout y proton sell its car cheap outside Msia. The answer is DIFFERENT TAX SYSTEM….
exterior looks impresive from sides.
sloppy in front
horrible at the back
well at least to me.
Even proton cars are taxed at 85% so if you remove that 85% it would be around that price range.
http://www.maa.org.my/info_duty.htm
excise duty + sales tax 85%
Still I cannot afford to buy proton. In the end I end up buying a 2nd hand BMW 318 for 13.5K . Have ABS, airbag and auto . Can still do almost 200kmph on the highway. Maybe one day when I earn enough I might ‘UpGrade” my car to a Proton :)
I think its not fair to compare those prices in Malaysia since Jaguh Kampung is an absolute winner in term of price; compare to Golf GTI in Malaysia thanks to … (you know what; super tax). Unless Jaguh kampung is on sale in other county where the Golf GTI is USD23k, then we should see that Jaguh Kampung might end up at USD 12k…who knows? And its spec is good too minus the legendary Golf GTI engine of course.
Gti is not cheap , cost about 12k in labuan…
73K is inclusive the excise duty and sales tax 85%. In global market, they can price it lower than vios, city, forte. Please get the fact right first before comment lah.
lets see ,
Preve is priced at 72k MYR ..
there is a 85% tax for local 1.6l cars .. http://www.maa.org.my/info_duty.htm .. 75% excise duty, and 10% sales tax .. (+30% for imported cars)
72k/1.85 ~= 39k
so, real price of preve is 39k .. and thats about 12k USD
that is correct
Well Sir, Proton mostly rely on domestic market, they cannot afford to price it below that, or they will definitely lose profit (which they currently are), unlike Volkswagen and such, those companies are well established, and are actual global companies, whereby this car specifically, is Proton very first attempt at that….may I remind that Proton should concentrate on selling their cars in third world countries and other developing nations, that would definitely help sales. Forget first world nations, as they have way better choices. And hopefully they kick off AFTA (though I don’t think they would) so the playing field is level, which in turns kicks Proton’s behind to create even more globally competitive vehicle. One more thing, Proton has to find is a stable partnership as the current trend shows that no single global car company is alone nowadays.
proton can, as long as they work hard to sell their models in big market but NO!!
they still depents on malaysia as their biggest supporter and hence after 25 years they still dont have the economy of scale.
so, they can never sell the cars cheap enough like toyota, kia or VW.
US got very huge market, unlike malaysia. The tax scheme to american aren’t same with malaysian. Be realistic! The tax isn’t fix by p1. go ask Gov la..
rege tinggi sebab TAX & Comission, ada faham?
U go n live in US lah….then only u know that most of ur income will go to thier Super TAX …then you will use a public transport due to not afford to buy a Golf GTI there…then you will crying to come back in M’sia…
I agree with you man but living in Malaysia.. Must just learn to suck it up.
The Korean is buying their own top of the line high spec Hyundai Sonata at the price of 25.95 million Won (RM74,800).
Why is our national car selling a smaller mid-range car so much more expensive to our own citizens? Stop ripping us off!
Malaysian are not stupid, but maybe you’re “exceptionally” stupid. go study more about tax and also economy.
just for your info, Exora CPS without tax is only RM30k+.
So are we STUPID enough to just to roll over and accept this?
i accept the fact that our cars are expensive due to tax. but i’m not stupid to just accept or reject the tax. be reasonable la kawan.
or are you implying that all people in UK are stupid because they have 170% tax for their petrol?
Mofaz, u are really one super top idiot who got no hope and enjoy talking nonsense with o brain in your head. U are not logical but try pretend to be smart. Come on Mofaz, continue to enjoy your kampung boy dream in this country with lots of subsidy to you.
Mocat pls la jangan jadi apek pasar sangat…
Taxes. And a bit of ripping of from Proton too, I guess. But mostly taxes. 65% IIRC, same as cars build in the ASEAN countries, CKD has slightly higher taxes (75?) and CBU higher yet. But even 65% is madness.
In the US it’s usually maybe around 7? (though Americans IIRC never list the tax when listing prices, since every town has a different tax rate).
Dude, how cheap is cheap for you and how expensive means expensive for you?If Proton selling it at RM30k then you bash the quality should be equal to China brands. Its up to the person how to accept it.
Yes, we are not. But just as ignorant.
Proton also been taxed with excise duty. The price without it should be cheaper. Ever wonder why proton in Saudi Arabia is much cheaper? The Saudi’s is tax free country. You’re being rip off by the one you voted.
Anyway, Paul, Anthony, No picture of Preve Sapphire?
lol..so u wanna tax free? free education? then how govt want to pay workers salary? i bet u never went to saudi. saudi is well Americanized country.
Did I say I want all that? Its just a rebuttal for the ignorant comment that were previously made by the Malaysian are not stupid. If you want cheaper car, vote for someone who actually willing to lower the tax. Is that even hard to digest?
And yes I lived/worked for 5 year in Jeddah. Your point being? Americanized? Still didn’t get your point.
Thank you for actually showing your stupidity thru your comment. One that I did trying to denied.
I would rather drive the Volkswagen GTI !! Car prices is so high and distorted here no thanks to BN government policies to protect cronies that most Malaysian loses perspective on real car prices!
Let’s vote smartly people!
The Korean is buying their own top of the line high spec Hyundai Sonata at the price of 25.95 million Won (RM74,800).
Why is our national car selling a smaller mid-range car so much more expensive to our own citizens? Stop ripping us off!!
Why is our national car selling a smaller mid-range car so much more expensive to our own citizens? Stop ripping us off!!!
Interior looked cheap. Just look at those dials.
If 73k came with 6 airbags,then it’s worth ! 73k without 6 airbags and low Tax so this is so expensive ! 65k for full spec is still ok lah !
just wat i was telling my fren that day…
still, u don’t want to see this jet over pulau layang2.
Preve is benchmarked against Inspira, Altis 2012, Civic, Jetta, Forte 2012, MD Elantra…….
These cars had been in the market 2~5 years.
Go to P1 showroom la, the Preve is nowhere near all these marques !!!!
ONE PROOF – KINDLY CHECK THE IP, THE GAP THERE IS LIKE PANAMA CANAL !!!!
X PERCAYA ???
probably the best Proton cars so far..good job lads!
benchmark was set quite high this time..now over to you P2, T and H!
Alamak you wanna compared with the Japanese ? Toyota make 15 billion RM last year kawan. You mabuk ke ?
Obviously you don’t know what he meant by “over to you”. What the whole English-speaking world meant by it, even.
So due to their profit, we can’t compare our national car at all? Are we talking about the car itself or the company here?? If you think that you are forever inferior to them, just keep that mind set for your self. Because, I do believe that we Malaysian can exceed their achievement one day. Let me and the others be the believer n you just stay as the japannesse supporter.
Well, can u ask all M’sian to work as hard & as smart as the Korean??? Until that day arrive, you can only dream LOL
worked with Koreans before.. not impressed..
typical Malaysian only wants work less, relax more & high income expectation.
no way to compete with South Korean…
if i may add….
Msian wants things to be cheap or free….lucky no one ask Govt to give free cars as they say Msia is so rich.
now asking for free education…later what else they want for free? free food? free houses? free public transport?
just wait and see….:)
what national car, proton owns by private company.
so what? you think japanese will be on top forever?
Hyundai’s net profit last year was USD7.2 billion or more than RM21billion la kawan. Sony already losing money for several years in a row. Sony and Sharp both posted losses that together equaled USD11 billion… but Samsung has gain more and more market share. Korean has shown that it is not impossible.
Malaysian should follow the korean quickly to be closer and closer.
Dream on….please be realistic. Malaysia will never ever be like the Korean let alone the Japanese. Malaysian following the Korean? How to follow with this kind of government mentality that bring our country backwards in so many areas? A good car company needs good hardworking people and good leader.
yeah, malaysian gov just agree with whatever the people want and thus spoil them too much. everything want cheap, free but good quality and what not. this is what brings malaysia backward. wanna move forward,the people themselves have to work hard like the japanese.
Malaysians are following Korea closely.. very closely I may say. Following their K-pop industry, that is!
Lantak ko la nk bandingkan dgn Toyota ka, make 15 billion ka…yg penting murah, barang2 canggih semua ada..cukup laaa…kanaweii…nih beli VIOS, esok bumper sudah melambai2 ….ape barang..
I have read in other articles it has been stated that :
“The Preve is also the first Proton model to receive a five-star rating from the Malaysian Vehicle Assessment Programme (MyVAP), with its official certification presented at its launch by Wong Shaw Voon, director general of MIROS.”
After a while i thought to myself and concluded that If this car was to be a GLOBAL car TRULY… it will have to be tested by Crash Test Institutions testing cars by International Standards.
In a previous Video posted in PaulTan’s site, the EX Director General for MIROS was interviewed and this is what he said…
Prof Dr. Ahmad Farhan (EX Director General, MIROS) :
“The difference between MyVAP and NCAP, MyVAP only uses secondary data”
“We actually refer to the manufacturers record on the crash test that they did overseas”
“If the crash test was for a NCAP similar requirement of course it is not sufficient”
“It is not for NCAP purposes”
[ **Note that today the Director General is Professor Dr. Wong Shaw Voon ]
The Video can be seen here:
http://paultan.org/2010/05/17/video-what-is-miros-and-the-myvap-crash-test-rating/
I applaud Proton’s desire to improve its products but at the same time i really feel this car’s SAFETY should be tested by EURO NCAP or ANCAP Standards.
Afterall, it wont be the first Proton to do so as the Waja was tested by those Standards a long time ago.
Agreed. That’s the single most important part that Proton always missed out. I wouldn’t want to buy a car with fully loaded specs and features but failed in many Ncap rating especially the most stringent Euro ncap. Heck, even that little Mazda 2 achieved maximum 5 star Euro Ncap, the highest safety standard. Now, that’s the main and most important area where Proton still need to learn. Many car components can be bought by OEM supplier but you can’t buy 5 star Euro Ncap.
As oppose to this Mazda 2, Proton Impian (Waja) only received 3 star adult rating and only 1 star for pedestrian…and no star for child!!??
If proton is sincererly care about safety> pls get euro ncap star rating , if not it only try to cheating on bolehland rakyat malaya> let rakyat see how mach star you could archieve!!!!
Euro NCAP will only test cars that are available in Europe. you’ll see the result if Preve is being sold there.
Preve IS now being tested for NCAP. So PLEASE wait for the result ok? Be patient TQ!
its a good idea to get ncap evaluation first in order to improve before the car goes on sale in europe. no need to wait until last minute.
Wow another Malaysia Boleh moment. Cannot pass NCAP? Never mind! We create our own crash assessment programme and pass our own cars. Viola!
ko g mabuk kawan.. kalau ko suke sgt T and H , ko beli la, takde sape paksa ko beli PROTON….spec dah ok,styling pon not bad..ape lagi ko nak??….dgn harga yg same ko bole dpt vios J je….ape pon takde…asal beli T and H je ko dah belagak..kat jepun tu vios tu mcm sampah je….
You know what? What you wrote there is totally irrelevant. Comparing how much Toyota made versus best model from Proton so far, dude which school did you go to??
well proton says eac of their cars as the best during the launch, lets see how it goes, plus the company will sell quite a number of car without a doubt, and since the government supports it too much by raising the prices of good imported cars and selling proton cheaper obverseas than here( probably the only carmaker in the world), the company still will be in debt!..wonder why..whats wrong?
eh bro, go read the above comments on tax structure la deyyyy
they say ignorance is bliss..but in your cases, ignorance like you was indeed stupid..read more la bro..
Dont be so stupid..compare these to that, come in la..
Sakit hati baca komen here..so many stupid and fool in malaysia, no wonder we were left behind..
And now let see whether this can echos Myvi’s 6k cars sold every month or not… (I mean in a sense of a ‘bit high’ priced M’sian made car of their respective category).
Proton Preve… Proton ??? ?
actually it is quite hard to pronounce for those who don’t speak english
Preve ~~~ bilif ?
I will pronounce it as “Pi Vi”, if it’s my car, I like to pronounce anything I want , cause used to pronounce “My Vi”
The korek way to pronounce ‘Preve’ is like pronounicng ‘Preview’ without ‘eyu’ — Pre-Vi
If your tounge is quite stiff, say it like — PiBi
No la. its should be Ploton Pleve
i belive!
i believe..
Good job proton. Proud of you.
RM 73000.00 for a PRO-TORN ? What kind of pricing strategy ? Who are they actually targeting ?
targeting people with a budget of RM73k for car la….
its a c segment car.. same size as civic..etc.
definitely going to kacau inspira sales. bcause inspira is a C segment car. i always like proton’s car..but i never understand why they love to sell different model in the same segment.
What to do? 1.6 is the biggest modern engine Proton has. You can’t expect them to produce a D segment car with the old Perdana’s engine. BTW, just wait and see since Proton says they are going to have a few more new cars to be added into their product line up. If they can’t have new engines at different segment, I don’t think they are going to success.
Why? It is now hard for you to justify buying a Vios at the same price?
92k for a so called re”T*RD” vios?
haiyaa… if people afford, they buy… if not afford… don’t buy… easy as ABC…
If the price not suite you just buy Viva
viva is also overpriced.
milo tin summore
and than buy tolak car with 2 tyre.it cheapest than chipsmore
totally agree… small viva big price… dafuq!
dun talk too much la…they r a lot of msians want to buy Preve!
alwez complain about PROTON…its far better than vios n city!!
biasa la..Msian kan suka brg free…kalau kata locally made items tu mest nk free je….:)
Congratulations !!!
Good Luck Proton, keep it up!
Great design overall…yet test-drive will prove the rest.!!!
please paultan do details comparison for interior dimension with other cars such as waja, persona, inspira, civic, altis, forte, elantra, mazda 3, sylphy. thnks, huhu
First.!
epic fail..
Nop, too bad kid. You in 50th or something like that.
excited salesman there —> Okay Prevey
palotak ko first~
external GPS for M-line is quite a let down right? other than that, drool-worthy car.
i dont know..
do you get GPS device when u buy city, vios, altis, civic??
u can get an “external GPS” for honda with additional RM1400…
and for Toyota, GPS is an optional.. thatz mean u need to pay more too…
external GPS for M-line Preve is free for you.. yet u complaint???
-_-‘
haha i really LOVE your comment raven!
ehhh..i buy vw need to top up 12k for touch screen head unit with gps…sudah ksk free lg mau komplen ka..knn tns
haha i got your point. im all positive abt Preve but i also hv the right to opine right? so cheers mate.
n tht being said, i had a chance to visit d showroom just now, am baffled as to why proton didnt use d same material in the interior finishing of the front n back passengers doors (Premium variant). if u’ve noticed, d front doors r wrapped in better quality plastic (or rubber?) finishing with wood trims, like d whole cockpit, but the back ones are made of hard plastics. its not bad, but kind of an anti-climax to the relatively splendid interior!
cool!
No comment yet? it’s my time to shine..
anthony, you also approve this kind of comments?
It’s not just me approving the comments, ghj. But yes, that one does look kinda out. Thanks for the feedback.
so sorry. i was under the impression tht the article writer moderated the comments section too! :)
It’s not that I don’t support Plotong but feature wise and engine performance looks to be good (for now). However if you see the interior, it’s just horribly ugly. Why the heck are the designing the gearbox like a 1987 SAGA? Seriously, they should look at how well KIA does it for their cars. Although KIA engines are crap, their design makes people buy them.
Plotong on Plotong, if you can spend so much of time doing research for the engine, why not setup a R&D team to get a better interior for the car?!!!
i agreed with u, the interior is way so uglyyyy!!! =.=
your car ugly too
of course la..im driving waja..hahaha
I believe the team initially thinking of much better interior design… and when the boss (u know who) will usually ban those better design because lower margin (this is Malaysia, money first) and come up with this “YES I AGREED IS UGLY LOOKING INTERIOR”!
for me choosing a car my highest priority is interior because I’m the one who sit inside every day and driving it!
the whole car design only the front is good looking the rear is big no no and interior is disappointment!
Your argument and your English are both a disappointment my friend.
Mr. Crude do u see the photo in facebook that the interior button fall inside the compartment? LOL!!! i don’t wanna say this but proven that not only ugly but the interior quality SUCKS!!
Crude, is your English very good? :) It’s not good to lie to yourself if you’re not.
The exterior look ok (but not the rear obviously, KIA Forte beat it anytime). The shitty part is the rubbish dashboard & speedometer design…… Look like some China-design.
Maybe Proton want to market this to Mainland China LOL…..
Rich Mainland chinese would prefer the European, Japanese & US brand than this Proton Preve….
OMG…come on…P1 1 to follow VW footstep – simple and boring interior design.
Don’t buy it if you not like it… FAHAM??
well done Proton….i supported you since day one..Bravo.
of coz la support coz no $$$
whoa no need to be harsh. i think he’s just being patriotic, no wrong in that. its not always abt money. so just smile, and drive along.
Don’t buy it if you DON’T like it, not “not”, faham?
It uses cvt gearbox.. Since when 1987 saga have cvt gearbox?
Later if I say you’re stupid, you angry :) I’m talking about the gearbox design inside the car, not the type of gearbox used. Do you even understand English at the first place?
U mean the gear lever/gear stick is it?And the panel surrounding the lever/stick?Say la..:)
in. Do you understand English IN the first place. Pot, kettle, etc.
He is talking to his chipmunks laa…. No need to argue with him.
His chipmunks already take away his gear knob for another roadshow. Leaving only the gearbox…. That’s why he cannot pronounced it properly…
How can you pronounce something on the Internet? :) No wonder Malaysia is so backwards because we have no brainers like you, lol.
is your problem Alvin…that thing is gearshifter…not gearbox
alvin bro, are you referring to the gear knob?
its gear lever la.. not gearbox. aiyaa.. please do not easily label anyone as stupid.
Wallawee Mr Alvin…
Lucky you can get gearbox design inside the car from Punch
lu la bodoh! itu bukan gearbox. itu gear stick shift! stupid!
typical msians mentality…alwez look at design n price 1st…JDM in your mind??
kihkihkih
It’s weird for a guy to comment on a car’s design based on GEARBOX…
even wierder when got so many comment without actually look at the real car
No wonder Plotong is so screwed up because there are still people like you that doesn’t think interior design is important. Malaysia Boleh!
gearbox design eh? try google that and what do you see? alvin, it is ok to be dumb, just don’t show to others.
True. Only smart people like you thinks Proton is doing a great job. Do you think this car will sell well globally? :) No wonder our Proton is so fcked up, it’s because their management have the same mentality like you – build a piece of crap car, sell in Malaysia enough (because we got supporters like awan).
Tak payah jual overseas pon x pe. Org Malaysia akan support :p
Dah lah tu, just admit your fault. I faham. Tak perlu cover malu dan ubah topic nak bash p1. Yang penting anda sudah tahu beza apa itu gearbox dan gear knob. I’m pretty sure you are cool dude and not as dumb as your comment was.
I bukan nak bash Proton bro tapi hakikat dan realitinya, Proton ni masih not up to par lagi. Cuba tgk kete ni, launched in 2012 tapi design interior masih teruk. Macam mana nak compare ngan brand lain dan masuk global market? Kalau tak masuk global market, camane Proton nak maju? That’s my point :)
Mmg I tersalah tulis, I nak cakap pasal gear level dia mcm design kete Saga dulu (panjang, tertonjol) padahal kete zaman moden, gear level tu lawa dan cantik. Itu pandangan saya, kalo x setuju jgn marah, lol.
Saya tak marah pun pasal proton, saya tak kisah apa pandangan kamu tentang proton. Tapi yang penting kamu salah tentang “gearbox design” dan kamu dah mengaku salah. Itu saja. Settle. Tak susah kan?
awan, x payah lah nak tunjuk bagus macam awak ni pensyarah bahasa inggeris. Kalau saya tersalah tulis pon, apa yg saya nak sampaikan ialah design interior kete ni mmg teruk. Mmg la awak bole bercerita ttg silap saya menulis “gearbox design” sampai mati tapi ini tidak akan menukar realiti di mana Proton masih tidak dapat membuat sebuah kereta yg mempunyai potensi dalam “global market”.
Suka tak suka, inilah hakikatnya. Pada saya senang saja, ramai org kat sini buat bising pasal diorang bawak kete Proton, dia kata Proton is the best. Saya x faham, buat apa nak tipu diri sendiri? Tepuk dada tanya selera – kalo kete Honda Civic dan Proton Preve sama harga, nak beli mana?
How to comment if dun’t know what gearbox mean??? there is no gearbox inside the car dude.
Alvin, dont say others stupid before you do a research..it is simple go google..that thing you wanna call gearbox is gear lever or gear knob..not gearbox..you cant see gearbox looking from interior…later it will show how stupid you are..just accept your fault and other will forgive you..it very easy
Ok, I admit my fault but does the rest admit their faults? I’m just being honest that the interior is horrible :) I don’t understand what’s wrong by agreeing to a plain fact? Well, maybe everyone thinks Plotong is really that good and I should agree to it too.
In that case shouldn’t the government reduce the tax rate for foreign made cars since Proton is so good and competitive now or should we increase Proton’s tax rate to be equal with foreign cars? :) Come on Proton supporters, what’s your say on this?
How arrogant this man is. Be honest with your apology after you made mistake and everybody won’t even remember it.
Now you wanna overshadow your humiliation by bringing up tax thingy again. Boring. Talk about technicals, performance and QC please, boleh tak?
En. burung, I am honest in my apology but at the same time I’m also honest about the fact that even today, Proton is not producing the sort of car good enough to compete in the global market. What’s the point to have people like you agreeing that this is a good car when it can’t even sell well anywhere else? Are you saying people like you are the best while other humans around the globe are silly for not buying Proton?
The easiest way for Proton to learn is by looking at KIA/Hyundai. Look at how fast they move to the global level because KIA/Hyundai started commercializing about the same time as Proton. If you talk about technical/performance, there’s nothing to shout about. The engine isn’t super powerful and century sprint is 9.8 secs (is that very good to you?)
The tax policy is just a simple way to show you that if Proton is really competent, why are having a double standard tax rate for different cars? Do you see our neighboring countries practicing the same double standard tax rate policy? If not, please just admit Proton is still not good enough – plain FACT!
Lastly, I’m proud to be a Malaysian and I want/hope Proton would be better someday too (the faster, the better). However, there’s no point to “hoo-haa” for a car like this because it’s really not up to the global standards. It might sell well in Malaysia but no where else. If you don’t agree to what I say, it means you are agreeing to what Proton management’s view – sell in Malaysia is enough, don’t have to be global so that’s why Proton is still so SCREWED UP.
I dislike Protons but you have to be blind to not see that the interior of the Preve is a whopping Hulk like step forward compared to the Saga. It looks decent enough to be finally called a worthy Malaysian vehicle in my opinion. I like bashing Proton when they are crap. But this, you gotta give them credit. Don’t expect too much, don’t be asking why the fit and finish not like Volkswagen, why the behind so abrupt looking…..No! They tried to improve and I can see positive changes. Stop talking shit and drive your Vios.
they have improve a lot on engineering. maybe later they will gain more on design and ergonomics.
How long is that? another 25 years?
For RM73k, the interior is a lot better than the RM72k you’d get on the lowest spec Vios. It’s on par, if not better than the lowest spec Altis, priced at RM103k.
your wife might look stunningly beautiful to you but to others she might look stunningly fugly.learn how to appreciate subjectivity or atleast use your pea brain first before you utter a word.
thank you.for nothing.
i like ur comment :D
ok, i know there is small button for “liking”.
design is very subjective.
Thanks for putting this up but think again what you’ve just said. You already mention that design is subjective so in my view, the design is horrible. You can have your own opinion but just because I have a different opinion than yours, you are ticked by my comments?
Where did I say everyone must agree to my views/comments? It’s only you being overly sensitive and unable to understand that it is the liberty of others to give opinions just like you think the bloody interior is beautiful. I did not mention that it is wrong to say the interior is beautiful :)
Some guys would think their ugly wife is pretty so you’re right but the person that needs to use brains while talking would clearly be yourself because:
1. You cannot agree on other people’s opinion and you come barking like a mad dog.
2. You already mention that design is subjective so in my opinion it’s ugly. Did I stop anyone from thinking the design is good? Please think before you reply and don’t humiliate yourself. Read again my comments clearly!
ayat mcm jeles je, if just look thru pic, CASE backhoe interior lg cantik, but went to showrm just now, speechless, interior ok, feel almost like conti. Exterior for me subjective. This is the car i want to drive, even the car have no brand. This is it, now I Believed…
cakap byk xgne….xsuke xya beli…design sndri le bro!
Yes, I agree….beside the car overall performance, people will buy a car because of it’s appearance. We live in a world where to impress other is a must for each and every succesfull person. Nak balik raya, jumpa kawan-kawan lama – how dare are you to go for a gathering in an ugly car? Overall, I think the design inside out is just ok, not so excellent. Kia Forte is better; Preve still can’t beat a Civic’s layout.
please la Proton, we Malaysian had suffer all this while with your poor layout car – Juara, Savvy, Iswara…can you design it more stylish and handsome pleaseeeee? I will put my money in preve if they enhance the look a little bit. Before then, I will stick to my 9 years old Wira 1.5GLi.
Medusa, I agree with you. Besides, everyone should see the welding on the Preve yourself:
http://static.lowyat.net/uploads/attach-94/post-574194-1334749316.jpg
Tell me, is this quality?
You can see the gearbox when you sit inside the car? Seriously?! Whoaa!!
Sometimes people makes stupid mistakes (like myself) by saying “gearbox” instead of “gear level”. However it is worst for people which are unable to tell the mistake by others (like yourself) and if I’m considered as “stupid”, you should be “more stupid” :)
Will place my booking tomorrow, and good job Proton!!
love it
Looks pretty nice actually . Look forward to taking it out for a spin.
The ultimate acid test….let Jeremy Clarkson review this car
why must him? it is not that he is one of the main person in developing a top car in the world. instead why not let those superior from conti car management to judge, that’s just wise.
why can’t be him?he’s a car journalist from a highly respected car magazine..plus he’s very frank and honest in his review. Since he always stereotype Proton as cheap useless cars, if the Preve manages to convince him otherwise, then Proton has really done one heck of job this time
haha, thinking the same. Waiting for this straight to the point review
Arghhhhh. I want this! Just bought Inspira 1.8 last month. :(
My friend, Inspira 1.8 is not really that bad. At least it consumes less fuel than Preve and yet you have 140hp compared to 138hp in Preve. Appreciate your Inspira 1.8. =)
Agree with you. Have seen the car in flesh but I believe Inspira is still a little bit ahead in term of front design. MIVEC is still leads in current proton lineup
Arghhhhh, I ingat you baru keluar dari tandas.
Ini kereta mano boleh pakai punya. 1.6 liter kena tarik berat lembu dua ekor.
apa la bodo. tak semestinya tengok cc je. zaman batu
you’re just “memalukan” anthony lim.
you mabuk ke?
too bad for u. performance wise ur inpira still faster than preve..or if u not satisfied..BOT ur inspira bam! there u go 200bhp inspira. hehehehe
Juz back from Proton showroom…
Preve’ look nice to me.
this is more worth it ! but still, kinda disappointed with the rear lamps. nonetheless,, thumbs up !
Actually the rear lights are growing on me (have they made them wider?). I’d still change the part in the boodlid (make the white area extend a bit into there), but other than that it looks decent. Quite VW’ish.
sad eyes/face and fussy rear end. pity
what d you mean sad? Both got smile lah, the face & the butt, haih… the one that’s sad is yours…
finally it’s arrived!!!! white n silver looks stunning man!
Awesome! Entry car for me :)
Fuel consumption at RM 0.125 per km for a 1340 kg turbocharged car ? Lu tipu gua tak pernah makan durian ah ?
angkat satu test la bro!!
hehehe.. the fuel is pro-rated at 90km/hour lah bro… if u mcam i suka tkn2 + 140KM/h in hway not gonna be like this aledy maa… even my viva also telan over.015 if pecut
Bukan la, ini memang tipu budak kecik punya orang. Mano ada 0.125 sen kalaupun 90 km/h
aiyo fren…bukan 0.125 sen la…rm0.125/km baru ngam…
atau RM0.125 x 100KM = RM12.50 untuk 100KM. :)
I’m definitely Preverted now!
eerrrr…comeynyerrr
when can we can a more luxurious and more advance interior? Not excited by the look of the interior
get a lorry….
Looks awesome man…
Heard the price is cheaper during launching….wonder how much issit?
woo man, read the entry above lah if you want to know the price
wow, it’s pretty heavy meat.
Good job proton! Nice car!
but looking at the steering wheel, it looks like it is straight up. Shouldnt it be like slanting a bit? is it adjustable? just asking
cant wait for more pics!
good!! nice!!
i like how DSZ did his presentation, ala steve job (rip), can really see and feel he and his team determination
i would say proton finally ready to shift into next gear, hopefully drb is align with proton’s new vision n mission, n not the other way around
Ya wei, that Khamil guy really boring macam guru besar bagi speech, damn sleepy and dunno wtf he blabbering about.
But come DSSZ, 1000% attention given. Spectacular presentation style, he really studied how to charm viewers just like how the great Steve Jobs did. That’s my man, man!!
Makes me sad to think he might leave Proton. Damn you DRB if you throw him away, ALL HAIL DSSZ!! ALL HAIL DSSZ!!! ALL HAIL DSSZ!!!
He wants to quit because DRB wants to get rid off Lotus and that stupid sponsorship of Renault F1 Team. That’s Proton’s money!. Sack him DRB.
speech summary of the night:-
guru besar speech…
people champion speech…
election speech…
and then speechless…good job proton…
He is leaving. Confirmed by Doktor Mamak in TV3 last nite. Too bad. Was really hoping that he would be given the chance to stay. Damn u DRB …
Congratulation Proton! Well done; This is really rakyat car, <75K with huge spec!
Yeaaaah! Finally, just when to the showroom at my place just now at 8.30pm, the car is really nice, really big. Test driving tomorrow.
May you share it still using timing belt or using timing chain?
It’s still using timing belt. Just test drive it just now, feels underpowered, the engine performance is quite a disappointment. Overall quality is just so-so, very plastic. Go see for yourself, few items you would wanna notice, the glove box need 2 times to close, the gear knob feels like a kid’s toy from kedai RM2, and did i mention that my test drive car’s alignment is off !! C’mon, for a new car! Try see in detail of the car, a lot of things has just a big gap or off-alignment.
I wonder why the manual versions still get the “low-class” treatment in terms of engine option (no turbo) and non-premium trim level and accessories.
Was looking forward for a manual turbo but oh well, its a let down for me again.
if u can wait, rumours say a manual cfe version will be coming soon, just like how a manual inspira 2.0 is coming
Wait next year, rumour say P3-22, the Preve hatchback, will have CFE + 6-speed getrag
You got a point about why manual version is still getting “low-class” treatment in here. It’s a pity that manual transmission cars receive this kind of treatment in here. I mean look at other countries/car makers, even the new F30 BMW has a manual version offered in overseas. C Class, 5 Series and even luxury cars like Panamera, Cayenne has a manual version. Take note, manual version of those cars are not offered only offered for lower spec trim levels. Even high spec versions of those cars have manual transmission as an option. You see, if luxury car makers like Mercedes Benz, BMW and Porsche are still not giving up on offering manual transmission in their new cars, why can’t Proton follow their footsteps and offer a manual version for Preve with CFE?
*even Porsche is still making an effort in developing a new 7 speed manual transmission for their new 7th generation Porsche 911.*
susah nanti polis nak kejar…
Hi Ken,
I dunno about others, but we penangites are facing cruel traffic jam everyday. Most of the people who have money gotta grab the auto mode. So the auto has become the more valuable here.
Yes, you are right. Traffic jam is one of the reason why people choose manual over auto. This is the same at KL too. I’m not living in a city that faces cruel daily traffic jams but many people that I know who lives in my city still prefers auto over manual. But still, this doesn’t mean that manual transmission needs to be put aside. Look at the new Myvi SE/Extreme 1.5. That car offers manual transmission too even though that was the highest trim level available for the 2nd generation Myvi.
You got the point right. Even I will trade in my manual 1.6 blm with the base model. Just a little twitch and…. you won’t regret with the hidden power it has.
On an entirely different note, the Preve is rather tall, don’t you think? Haha. Almost the same height as the Myvi as I’ve checked it out just now. I’d be happier if it is about the average of the competitions’ height. You work hard and aim higher. Go aim for continental cars. You’ll never regret. Trust me. Once you go continental, it’s very hard to turn back.
er… not really impressive for the interior….
bro, you better go and have a look lah.seriously.
went to the showroom just now and ohh my..
just try to have a feel on the steering wheel and paddle shifter, then you try the rest..
you wont believe its a proton:D
unfortunately the seats, a bit boring:/
Steering copied frm Honda Civic… Imitation is still the best form of flattery,well done Proton
Dumba$$, steering is from exora, not copied.
emlem on steering better that inspira.. no more ugly plastic stamp..
This is the mind changer for proton,with the value for money concept.Thank Proton
waiting for your second test drive review… :)
What’s with the funny looking gear knob?
Lol, did not see the black part of the knob at first, only saw the silver part.
at leas it looks way better than altis.. altis is an old frog.. looks better than civic the ‘senyum lebar’ too..
A bulk of comments will be here.. let’s start haha..
i want to trade in my 09 saga . but, please give me advise. i put adjustable and 16 rims. do i have to reinstate all the stock parts with 14 rims back before trading in or not? afraid the kedai might have bad impression with my saga if its like now.
You’re right about that. If you change the rims and tyres, still okay. As soon as you put in adjustables, or if you have an open pod filter under the hood, loud exhaust tail pipe or worse still, have stickers on your door, your boot, etc… most car dealers will immediately assume that you’re a boy-racer that trashes the car.. most car salesmen will think the same.
The red looks stunning on that angle. If the rear is more aggressive, then it’s perfect.
The price range for Preve should be RM30,000 – RM40,000, that’s true 1Malaysia spirit, fairness for all races. Malaysians should stop paying ridiculous price for cars. RM73,000 is just crazy for majority of people especially now our property prices just went crazy.
There’s always a perodua viva yo
It a fair price and fair to other manufacturer who pay same tax
Myvi 1.5 SE price is RM62,000
what u say about that??????????
if this huge heavy loaded ‘C segment’ car should priced RM30,000 – RM40,000..
how much for a tiny compact car, low spec, small displacement car like Myvi????
and dont tell me that you never know about malaysian duty structure on proton??
75-85% taxed??? what??? you dont know about that???
oh c’mon…. -_-‘
everybody has to pay the same price if they were to buy PREVE’ regardless whether they are white, yellow, black, blue etc. seriously dude what are you thinking?fairness to all?
Just came back from showroom. Few findings:
1) The Preve looks better in real life compare to photo.
2) Build Quality is not top notch with some noticeable detailed flaws, but overall acceptable.
3) The rear ain’t that back in real life, just not photogenic enough.
4) Comfortable to sit in compare to Persona.
5) It actually looks better than Inspira.
6) Quite spacious and easy to get in, especially the rear seat.
The rims could be better..
amazing but need to test drive to beleive it
The wait is finally over..
Brace yourself..
Proton bashers are coming…soon….
proton best car so far
normal…
I have watched the launching on TV and the cars are stunning! i’m looking forward to hear from those early buyer of this Proton Preve. Good luck Proton! the speech given by all the “orang kuat” Proton are really convincing.
good value for the long spec list. Hope the after sales service will improve as well.. Kudos to proton!!
This piece of iron more look like a soulless washing machine.
Mesin basuh yang tiada roh
Then you have a very interesting mesin basuh at your house mister.. A very interesting soulless washing machine indeed.
mesin basuh suppose to have roh ke?
Thank you very much for your pessimistic comment. Well, haters gonna hate
at RM73k with such amazing equipments, comfort, ride and handling with a 1.6 turbocharged engine! Makes you wonder how would anyone still want a Vios or City… Reliabilty? well, my 2 year old Neo CPS hasn’t been giving any problems whatsoever! Thumbs up to Proton and keep up the good work…
Good work Proton for the car. Still too expensive for most Malaysians!
Given the number of Vios, City, Altis, Civic, Forte, etc, and this Prevé offering, i beg to differ.
If this is still expensive, go for Saga.
Or your nearest used car dealer.
blue lagoon colour lawa lorh.. ^^
U missed to say the 5-year or 150,000km warranty. A great step by Proton. Good job !
Not to mention cheaper pricing than previously stated of RM62k – RM75k. Announced price RM59k – RM72k
Preve Premium (CFE with ProTronic) = 138hp, 6.6 litre per 100km.
Inspira 1.8 CVT = 140hp, 6.2 litre per 100km.
1.6 litre turbocharged engine consumes more petrol than 1.8 litre naturally aspirated engine? Do the maths yourself. I’m not bashing here, I’m merely just comparing between Proton and Proton.
Look also on the torque dude…..dont be snob
I know. 215NM in Preve Premium VS 177NM in Inspira 1.8 CVT. Well, all I can say is, both cars have their own advantages and disadvantages in certain areas. If acceleration and speed matters, choose Inspira 1.8 manual or Inspira 2.0 CVT. Top speed is higher than Preve Premium(190kmh) VS Inspira 1.8 Manual (202kmh)/ Inspira 2.0 CVT (198kmh). Preve Premium is faster in acceleration at 9.6 sec from 0-100kmh while Inspira 1.8 Manual(10sec), Inspira 2.0 CVT (10.5sec). Well, to be frank, do we really need the slightly faster 0-100kmh time or should we put more emphasis on a better fuel consumption? It all depends on what we want.
215Nm rpm at 2000 vs 177Nm at much higher RPM you mean? ask urself, usually people drive at what RPM? torque is matter nowadays la dude….HP even in TC car also come at higher RPM….TC provide maximum n flat torque at low RPM circa 1250(F30)-2000(cfe) these are the standard rpm for most of our daily driving…
I know Inspira is lacking behind Preve Premium in terms of torque. But like i mentioned earlier at above, both cars have their own advantages and disadvantages in certain areas. I din’t mention anything at all about Preve Premium’s torque being inferior nor did I mention anything about Inspira’s torque being superior over others. Torque is not everything, there are still other factors to be considered when buying a car. Factors like fuel consumption, reliability and many more.
that 1.6 CFE produces 2.0L engine power, so compare that with other 2.0L cars. do research more.
2.0 litre cars? Okay, I’ll take Inspira 2.0 CVT as example then. Inspira 2.0 CVT consumes 6.3 litre per 100km and produces 150hp with 197Nm of torque. Torque wise, Preve Premium is ahead of Inspira 2.0 CVT because Preve Premium is using a turbocharged engine while Inspira 2.0 CVT’s engine is a naturally aspirated one. In terms of horsepower and fuel consumption, Inspira 2.0 CVT is still better than Preve Premium.
Different is 0.4ltr, And the price different?
Torque also la. N/A needs to be revved highly to feel the power while the turbo variants feel the mild surge from 2k rpm onwards. It is always preference la. You go get the Inspira since you like it more. :D
I saw your comment above about Proton deserves a credit even though you disliked Proton. To me, it sounds honest and unbiased. Meaningful enough. Thumbs up for you Ayecaramba!. Inspira is a good choice for me to consider but since I’m still a student now, it is still not within my budget to be able to purchase one. Perhaps on someday in the future, I might be able to get myself a Inspira 2.0 Manual when it has been launched to replace the Inspira 1.8 Manual. Hope to see more sensible comments like yours in the future of this blog.
safe design for the dashboard?…maybe it was good if this car was launched 2 years back..and the lack of digital controlled aircond makes the dashboard looks even more dull..
why evo 7 to 10 dont use digital aircond controller?
the evo 1 to 6 use digital one?
mitsubishi use safe design for the dashboard also?
think about it
i would say this dashbod is very much modern.
neo-modern.
i was amazed that in recent years, most dashboards design are gen2-alike.
i love gen-2/persona dashboard.
that y i bought 1 :D
As for fuel consumption, the CFE manages 6.6 litres per 100 km, based on a combined cycle.
NOT BAD, HUH?
Fuel consumption stats can be very very misleading… SAGA claimed to be fuel efficient… in real life..not even close..
super agree with u..but perodua fc figure is much more trustable..the myvi 1.5 auto is rated only at 12.9km/l..but ive driven it..and it can easily get between 15-16km/l highway..
that’s 12.9km/l for city driving.
i want to trade my kancil for this new proton car, but sad, my kancil only got rm3k for trade in, not enough for down-payment preve
same with me
sad indeed.
sell to me your kancil ah…i’ll buy rm3.5k
wait for launch of preve sapphire…then u buy preve premium by marking up the loan using sapphire price…get it? huh?
this is what the salesman told me…
if you book n apply loan within this week..
the bank still follow the previous price which is 75.5k..
so u actually can lower your downpayment..
if you NCD = 55%.. then you can cut another 1.4k from the downpayment..
Old Price use by bank : RM75500
Original Price : RM72990
90% from old price RM75500 = RM67950
DP : RM72990 – RM67950 = RM5040
NCD 55% around Deduct another RM1400
DP after deduct Max NCD 55% : 5040 – 1400 = RM3640
Go trade in you kancil and book now!! haha..
Oh mai, can’t wait to go to the showroom tomorrow :)
like the front not sure about the back though… got to see it in real life first…
hebat
I think a lot of people still go for Dugong and Bandar at that price. Dunno why. =.=”
Brand, image. You’ve “made it” when you drive a T/H, and of course resale value is so great and the cars never go wrong, there is never a problem with them.
bcoz its a Japs car….:)
interior build has improved a lot
i take that back, after viewing the closeup pict its looks like a chery..so very china car interior, plasrics switches badly printed..looks bad
Nice specs.. Nice interior.. but rear side i think need some improvement.. Just my cent.. Maybe the are some minor changes for rear side after this.. Waiting for Facelift next 2 years from now..huhu.. Good job Proton.. still love my Persona Elegance H-Line..
amazing spec. but have to test drive to believe
the red one…
so sexy
The price is high for that car, ntg to shout about as usual from P1. Forte is the winner for sure.
In malaysia Forte will be loser. yuur Vios is like dugong. empty.
dont just barking here and there happily say ur stupid protong is good…in term of tech,surely proton is ahead forte and vios..but in real life,just wait and see..moron..dont just too overconfident..
Well done Proton!
The next step for Proton R&D is Direct Injection. Implement direct injection on all CamPro engine.
Btw Iafm+ with CVT achieve 5.8l/100km (combined cycle) ??!! Isit true ??!! But in Saga FLX SE spec list, Proton showed higher FC compare to Preve. Isit possible ??!!
I not gonna say the rear urgly, the rear has it own character but it just don suit my taste.
Everything looking good for this car, Proton basher please go have a test drive before you give silly comment =)
test drive is good. but only if we can test drive it for 2-3 years. nway thumbs up proton. i’m not gonna buy it since i prefer a hacthback..so pls replace satria neo..hehehehe
p3-22 is ur answer bro….coming soon in 2nd Q of 2013..5door hatchback…like volvo v40 design cues….if not change la…
really? demmm…if like v40 sure nice…
how about, it comes with 8dsg, supercharger/Turbo charger, Direct injection,
in the lotus mag, it was mentioned that direct injection was put aside due to lower quality fuel.
Page 45 of Lotus magazine:
http://www.lotuscars.com/engineering/en/proactive-issue43
“Gasonline direct injection (GDI) would seem an obvious choice for such an engine but this was ruled out due to durability concerns relating to fuel quality standards in some of their key export markets.”
oh my, 150k km and 5 years warranty?? I can’t get any better dude, even my Inspira’s warranty only last till 75k km.. T_T
no worry bro….of all the current proton lineup; inspira will b the best car investment ever made. trust me ^_^
went to the showroom. black colour is awesome. interior is nice with some nice gimmicks. e.g when u push the hazard button , the meter pointer will light out and the sid panel shows something. overall, i felt like sitting in another high end japs/conti car
I thought there is Special/R3 version like what they do when they launch Exora… ~sigh~
Thanks for the article mate.. however in the previous article (the first impressions one by Chris Ng) it was stated that…
“One last thing to chew on, it has been revealed that the Prevé has one last card up it sleeves, and it’ll be made known during the launch.”
What was the suprise? Lol.
4g internet
the price la… apa lagi. it’s lower than their initial ‘tentative’ price of RM75k
congratulation to proton..the first global malaysian car..very nice design exterior and interior..see u preve tomorrow at proton showroom..
All the VIPS are not so happy in the pictures…….sedih
they happen to met a set of better orator who managed to convince the crowd…
and felt inferior…
it was a good presentation from DSZ and team!
Looking forward to drive it to believe it!
I will not trust proton for whatever they do. Preve or not. I bot a top spec inspira in 2011, and now the car suspension is making funny “kok… Kok” noise. The nvh of the inspira really sucks even at 80kmh. If proton can even rebadge n assemble cars properly, how could one trust them with their own products? Am really pissed, paying 90k for inspira with such lousy quality.
BS! My family’s inspira is working fine, unless you go crazy hit potholes like you drive a Rally Evo X
Go nearest proton service center for suspension bushing warranty claims. Mitsubishi recall that part. Dont you ever find out? All inspira owner knew bout it except you.. fyi, that part comes from mitsubishi japan and not proton.. just because proton logo, u bash.. i would bash u first.. its ur car.. find out the problems.. if not.. service centre n warranty dept wont exist dumbo.
True, even the original lancer gt is affected.
i bought civic 2010 1.8.. after 3month car suspension making funny sound ” krek,,krekkk..kokk..” in my mind better buy persona… huh i dont think all japs car are good..
Dashboard buruknya
halo kawan
pergi google design dashboard evo 4,5,6 dgn waja..
dashboard preve dgn evo 7,8,9
ada persamaan x?
knpa x kutuk mitsubishi?
Nissan slyphy dashboard are the worst! Macam dashboard lori..ha ha
sebab dia tak tahu apa apa
hell lo… sekarang 2012 la…really ugly for 2012 car.fullstop.open your eyes n your mind.
the best part of the night was dsz delivery speech…its so enthusiatic and moving…its shows from the crowd reaction…he will sorely be missed…thank you dsz…
News about him leaving are fake. I agree with you on the speech. A true malaysian.
Ask an expert for Proton car problems,you will need this!
Well done Proton! Can’t wait to test drive.
just saw this car in kulai doing test drive, impressive!
Bigger luggage?
No point if it is not d same as Persona luggage type
Besar bro, besar lg dari persona, look it to believe it. 506 litres. Its 5 seaters+ 1 sleeper inside boot :)
They’ll also need to prove that the whole proton ownership experience does not leave a bitter aftertaste after the keys are collected. They have scored well with the styling, it is spot on. Do not wreck it with crap after sale service. I’m also really surprise with the 5 year, 100 000km warranty, that is some pretty aggressive figures. I truly hope their QC have tested and analyse the components MTBF accurately.
good job proton…better than inspira…wakaka
Protong Prebet, blakang punye design mcm made in Guangzhaou
eh how come this babi fella got through ya?
kesian the parents are babi tak pandai ajar dia manners.
can comments like this be deleted/screened guys?
I must honestly say that Proton had FINALLY put in some effort and thought in the design of the Preve. Really does look great overall especially in that fire red paint job and larger rims of the second photo. Hate to say this but the Preve will definitely turn heads when it goes on the public roads.
I know everyone is complaining about the plain and boring interior. I must say so too, but then take a look at the interior of the Horrendously Awful interior of the Exora. Now compare that with the Preve’s and the Preve is a decent improvement over previous Protons. My only complain by looking at these photos, is that ugly steering wheel with that overly bulging center. They need to redesign the steering wheel.
I Really Really hope that Proton is keeping their word and the Preve will be their very first step in producing more quality cars with affordable price, just like the Koreans are now. I really hope that from this new model onward, all future Protons will get even better and better. I really wanna be proud of our local cars and all the previous models are almost an embarrassment to us Malaysian. Hope the Preve and future Protons will change that.
Have already seen Proton Preve just now and I must say that I’m totally impressed. However, there are several issues that need improvement:-
1.) The space inside is quite crampier than the B-segment Honda City (maybe because I’m quite tall)
2.) The navigation system does not use the route numbers
3.) The lower-spec model uses IAFM+ engine which has already been proven to be lethargic to pull this 1.3-tonne car
Anyway, good job for DSZ and the entire Proton staff for producing the Preve which has already proven to give the best value for money, if and only if buyers buy the CFE variant :)
hi
just wondering
the way datuk zainal talking bout preve
just saying that preve is the 1st car in all the proton series thats proven 2 b in the standard isued by international standard
its meant that all cars until now is not in the international standard
cuz i own both national car, proton n perodua n i admit, perodua cars are better than proton(the 1st car manufecturer)
just saying
finally the true identity of proton just come out.
For now i already used persona, Saga BLM, satria neo CPS and Exora Bold. maybe this car will be on my list next year. The one who just know ‘kondem’ please be more realistic.
you must face the truth that proton hs changed alot. Eventhough Proton is not popular as other europe or Japanese maker, i am quite believe proton in on the right track rite now.
Proton as an automotive player made from Malaysia (3rd World country). You should know that. This is the only company which is Controlled by our Malaysian people to develop product from A-Z. I am sure the biggest value RND malaysia is in Proton. NO more company have a complete RND team in Malaysia.
I believe in our people, they all working hard in 22 months to develop this awesome product in term of engineering esp. Proud to be malaysian which is ‘we’ have our own Car developed by our people.
As a one of Proton fan, i am Excited. congratz to DSZA. He is a good leader and mayb Proton will lose him soon. such a good leader, it will hard to find someone like him. Good job proton.
sounds like from proton R&D ppl :)
Toyota Motor Australia fired 350 employees. Proton launch new model. Go go Proton.
The rear of the car not looking so hot …. Interior looks plain & simple which is not too bad but the gearbox design is another big let down, check out the space between the manual mode, + – , such a huge gap, going to get coins falling in !!!!
Let’s hope the build quality, engine & handling of the car is of global standards !
Gearbox inside the car cabin? Hmmm… I wonder how do they design and put the gearbox inside your v6 car
wait ye, another 6 month special edition and type r come out…ahaks
“More significantly, it reflects on Proton’s maturity, technical knowledge and technological capability as a car manufacturer and to evolve from a domestic and regional player into a global car company,” he added.
May I suggest you get a global car designer first?
The man behind Preve’s technology is Mr Wolfgang who is also the man responsible for developing E90 series…..
by looking at your comment I felt that maybe you have better design in your mind than this, why not submit your resume to them
Good job overall proton. At least this the car that is called a car from proton after so many years being bashed. Step up from failures will never be late. Knowing how to sniff and imitate features around the brands in the market and combine them into one.
Thumbs up to Proton for making I would say the first national car equipped with Traction Control, Electronic Stability Control (ESC), Isofix seat mountings and two side airbags as part of the option for safety pack. It is a big milestone for Proton to be competitive in the automotive industry and always keeps listening to what their customers really want, which is improvements. Wish them all the best Proton.
Maybe its just me, kinda like the rear design… Unique i guess.
Kereta rakyat? gaji 3 ribu pun tak mampu la…gila2…
There’s always an affordable and value for money Saga FLX for those who cannot afford this Preve yet.
Preve have same quality as city or what???
Quote from the article:
“0-100 km/h time of 9.6 seconds and a maximum top speed of 190 km/h”
Unquote:
1.6l engine with turbo can only do this?
Chev Cruze 1.4l no turbo can reach 220km/h….
RM 72k for this car of is definitely not worth it for Malaysian Money.
Also, not to forget, a secondhand Honda Civic 1996 looks way better & perform way better than Proton Preve. Thats is the fact. So S*ck it up Proton.
Malaysia want to be known for its Quality but I am deeply sad to see this product for its crappy exterior design & boring interior design & rubbish engine.
Also better buy Alza or Avanza for better looking, good engine n same price.
Only 1 word I can describeD Proton Preve i.e. “LAZY JOB CAR”
what a stupid comment
Gonna trade in my dugong for the Premium and use it for many years..
thank God i bought a used full spec dugong for 66k and still can sell it for 65k after using it for 1 1/2 yrs..
dont think this proton could hold the same value but i just need to drive a feature-packed vehicle at this price range…
Beli 66k, jual 65k 1.5 years later… hahaha… orang bodoh mana nak beli 1.5 years old car for only 1k less than brand new???
Either that person is that stupid, or you are stupid to think we are that stupid.
read carefully dude, he said he bought a used car.. apalah…
guess you are the One :D
Very spacious for my family with 2 kids. 138hp i think that’s quite fast…feel confident to over take. Still thinking to get between Preve premium and the new nissan slyphy 2.0 or Forte 2.0. Somebody help me pls pls pls. Not planing to buy civic cos my wife is driving it and not interested in toyota. TQ.
why lahhh malaysian people always easily be cheated by gov’t n proton..haiya… so sad…
anyway that so call preve is so damn ffffffugly for 2012 car… opennnNN your eyes malaysian..open your minddd…wide open! PREVEnt URSELF FORM BUYING THIS CAR!
so..what do you want to preve here?
I wish you open yours ;)
Toyota salesman is here!!!!!!