Mitsubishi Attrage – now in showrooms nationwide

Attrage

The Mitsubishi Attrage has made its way to Mitsu showrooms nationwide, and is available for viewing and test drive, so you don’t have to wait for its official launch in November to get to grips with the car. It’ll also be available for test drives this weekend, October 4-6 at the Matrade in Kuala Lumpur as well as KSL Mall in Johor Bahru.

UPDATE: The Attrage is now launched in Malaysia – click here for the launch report.

We know the full specs of the inbound Thai-built car, as offered during a static display run at Paradigm Mall recently. The Attrage is available in three variants – SE, GS and base GL variant, all with CVT, and there’s also a five-speed manual GL version. All are of course powered by a 1.2 litre 3A92 three-pot with 80 PS and 106 Nm of torque.

All variants come with dual airbags and ABS with EBD – the GS trim features items such as keyless entry with push-start button, leather-wrapped steering wheel/gear knob and automatic air conditioning. The SE adds more in the way of kit, with a sporty body kit, LED daytime running lights, security window film, leather seats and a two-DIN touchscreen audio unit with USB, AUX-in and reverse camera.

Order books have opened for the Attrage, with estimated prices starting from RM 59,000 for the 1.2 Manual (M/T), RM 69,000 for the 1.2 CVT GS and RM 75,000 for the 1.2 CVT SE-variant, on-the-road without insurance. The first 1,000 bookings will receive a Garmin GPS. You can read our preview drive report of the Attrage in Thailand to find out if it’s your cuppa.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Hidden due to lowcomment rating. Click here to see.

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 197
    • toyolta on Oct 04, 2013 at 10:25 am

vios for me

Hot debate. What do you think? Thumb up 142 Thumb down 135
      • rippers on Oct 04, 2013 at 12:28 pm

lol……………..go for dugong

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 78
        • landcruizer on Oct 04, 2013 at 4:36 pm

I’ll Go for good FC, bad experience with Vios,coz they made the acceleration so powerful but fuel are wasted, we actually dont need that powerful acceleration and is freaking dangerous when i first step on the gas pedal and

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 50
    • OMG…Little dugong born in wrong timing. Vios, City and Almera are better than this expensive crap..puihh…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 68
    • Sam Loo on Oct 04, 2013 at 9:20 pm

Please do. I will be the one you come begging to trade in your car a year from now

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 7
    • Sam Loo on Oct 06, 2013 at 10:11 am

Consider a used 1 year old Elantra.

It would be around the price of a new Rio

• 1.2 CVT GS = EXORA BOLD STANDARD

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 17
  • A proper sedan with only 1.2 capacity. Would like to test drive it.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 93 Thumb down 5
  • very expensive!!! puiiihhh!!!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 45
    • I thought its still a better car than the so called chick-magnet car in malaysia where for the same price you can only get the lowest spec.
      I would buy this if im looking for a car other than local brand.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 77 Thumb down 11
      • azhar on Oct 04, 2013 at 4:00 pm

are u sure its a better car?..its 1.2 for 69k worrr..think its as overprice as Vios..but compare only these two, majority will pick Vios cos of better performance and roomier cabin

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 77
        • UpYours on Oct 04, 2013 at 5:15 pm

Sat in it, rear leg room actually feels roomier than the lancer

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 70 Thumb down 2
        • Obviously on Oct 04, 2013 at 7:27 pm

There’s more to cars than engine displacement, sir. Here, have my dislike.

• Similar Thai GL manual variant with 1 airbag already overprice..come here surely overprice

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
    • why? because its only 1.2?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 0
    • Yup, for me, in this case, vios is better choice..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 30
  • Alahai on Oct 04, 2013 at 11:44 am

QMV 1221?

• This car is obviously build for fuel economy mind conscious. Not drag race or smoke other slower cars on the road. I wonder why people just don’t get it.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 148 Thumb down 5
    • Because people want power too, not just frugal car. Why they don’t put turbocharger or supercharger like Ecoboost?

• Obviously on Oct 07, 2013 at 5:48 am

Ahem, because that Ecoboost turbo would price it higher than a non-Ecoboost model.

You think turbocharging an engine is cheap eh? The ecoboost is designed to withstand the higher stresses of being turbocharged (this raises cost). Also, turbocharging would make the FC worse than the claimed 21km/l which is the primary draw of the vehicle. Malaysians would look to the Almera which has higher capacity engine and more space as a better alternative.

• Daniel on Oct 04, 2013 at 3:09 pm

why engine is low powered one like 1.2 vios 1.5, proton 1.6. So y mitsu 1.2 sory cos I don’t know much about engines if my question is noob

• Continental lover on Oct 04, 2013 at 10:14 pm

I went to MATRADE this late evening and their SC(or maybe their manager not sure) said the power is quite sufficient due to powerful MIVEC engine, DOHC, CVT Transmission with INVECS.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 0
      • rdgear on Oct 05, 2013 at 9:25 pm

not enough, this is not turbo engine

• Alexxx on Oct 06, 2013 at 3:15 pm

I test drove at Mitsu Puchong. Quite a good car. Not bad for a 1.2 engine.

The damn thing is the cancel the initial plan to sell the GL CVT version @ RM65K (tentative price) CVT model. Now only left GL Manual @ RM59K which is insane because most people do love CVT.

• Low powered engines basically give low fuel consumption at the expense of slower car. But then again you can save on fuel :)

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 64 Thumb down 2
      • Underpower can cause high consumption.. its all about engine efficiency, technology, and power delivery from engine to gearbox to the wheels. Low power doesnt always translate to better efficiency.. another thing to consider is power to weight ratio..

torque is the new mantra now in fuel efficiency especially low rev high torque like diesel engine..

• Obviously on Oct 06, 2013 at 11:09 pm

Yup. You are right, sir. From those that have tried the car, though, they didn’t seem to think that it’s underpowered. Let’s see how it fares as loads increase, though.

• Aerro on Oct 04, 2013 at 3:13 pm

Very fuel efficient car but punished by stupid tax more expensive than Thailand price? Bravo NAP Bravo MITI Bravo DRB

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 2
  • daniel on Oct 04, 2013 at 4:06 pm

smaller engine but fuel effiency of 21km/l is very impressive

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 70 Thumb down 2
    • Low Buget on Oct 06, 2013 at 5:29 pm

Wait for new P2 Viva next year, they say its 35 km/l, consumption figure almost like motor cycles.

• BaN PROTON on Nov 12, 2013 at 9:35 pm

hahaha.klakar la u low budget,,,nanti proton keluar supkancil to be able to match that 35km/l car leh….hahah

• Ricky on Oct 04, 2013 at 4:14 pm

would like to test drive this… looks like the trend now is car with small cc engine, and gear box will play a major role..

• ELLLL on Oct 04, 2013 at 4:22 pm

Great ! price level same as proton and perodua, but Japanese brand , and lagi Jimat

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 0
  • Joyrider on Oct 04, 2013 at 4:23 pm

I like the Red & Blue test drive stripe on white car. It reminds me of Martini Racing Stripe.

• landcruizer on Oct 04, 2013 at 4:31 pm

ehh, dont la, now a days my petrol station business getting worst u know, coz all these car are so jimat minyak, like my cousin’s Mirage, 1 month only pump 2 times only wei..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 80 Thumb down 1
  • Definately my next car !!! Currently driving Preve. Fuel consumption quite high. I drive in city area and seldom go out. Perfect car since minyak mau naik lagi. Bodoh laa siapa beli enjin besar-besar lepas ni !! Who needs 1.5 and 1.6 anymore. Lepas itu komplain every time minyak naik. Malaysian ohhh Malaysian…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 76 Thumb down 1
    • cruisr on Oct 05, 2013 at 1:16 am

When on highway with full load, please line up on the slowest lane with lorries. 1.2l is underpowered and big no no.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 27
    • Alexxx on Oct 06, 2013 at 3:17 pm

Will only be my next car if they rescind their decision and start selling GL version with CVT.

• Low Buget on Oct 06, 2013 at 5:32 pm

There are still some 2nd hand old Kancils around, fuel consumption is superb and it is ideal for those who want to save on fuel.

• Was waiting for 1.2L sedan. This exactly fit my daily use to work, fetching up my kids and some easy daily shopping.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 1
  • vee-oh on Oct 04, 2013 at 5:50 pm

actually for daily use and sometimes go back hometown it’s just nice already…so good job..will test drive soon and maybe book one..aiyaa don’t talk about power laa..you want power go buy evo 10 la

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 0
  • Obviously on Oct 04, 2013 at 6:46 pm

People are very weird. I saw some comments about the car being overpriced for a 1.2L engine. Erm, you’re not paying only for the engine right? The engine is only a part of the cost. I now believe the majority of the cost really is paying for the development of the car. Research and development takes a lot more money than people think and it’s what makes any car good. Among petrol cars in Malaysia, this one really stands out of the crowd in terms of efficiency. It doesn’t lack so much in technology either. True, I lament the fact that it doesn’t have mitsubishi’s version of ESC and they really could have done better if they included this feature into their car but this would likely have prevented them from pricing it at this low (comparing to other import cars, don’t bring in Proton and Perodua, they don’t have ESC either).

Think, my fellow Malaysians. Engine displacement isn’t everything.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 0
    • deemer on Oct 05, 2013 at 1:35 am

lame hp and torque with small cc, less power to pull the car with load or climb genting

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 11
    • dgfkjo7u6589467dgfklj on Oct 05, 2013 at 8:50 am

“ENGINE DISPLACEMENT IS NOT EVERYTHING!!!” Yep, tell yourself that when you’re struggling to overtake that stock Kembara on the highway.

Or when you’re getting honked at a T-junction cos you lack the confidence to turn into traffic due to the slow pickup of your ‘just enough’ 1.2l engine.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 10
      • Well my vrrdict on highway with full load it would be:
        1.have to push the pedal more to get more power. If 1.5 or 1.6l engine can do it at easy at 2700rpm it should be pushed more till 3000rpm

2.the top speed will be reduced. If 180km/h then only 150kmh. If climb hill, reduced more

3.acceleration also reduced. If it takes only 13 sec now 16 sec

4.of course with higher rpm, the fuel consumption is not as good. Worse in city

Better settle down with other car if the usage of city/highway is 50/50

• cobest81 on Oct 06, 2013 at 6:00 pm

I have mirage dont worry about the engine. In hiway on 110km/h~120km/h the rpm is 2100. Just push a little pressure on ur pedal!!!

• Obviously on Oct 05, 2013 at 10:07 pm

Your argument doesn’t make sense. Why do you want to overtake that Kenari? If he’s going at your cruising speed, just stay behind. If he’s slower than your cruising speed, then just dodge him. If you’re the type that overtakes every car you see just because they’re in front of you, then I suggest you look elsewhere.

Also, you pass judgement too quickly. It really depends on the efficiency of the whole drivetrain.

• Human on Oct 09, 2013 at 9:29 pm

If this car is 1.2L and cannot over take Kenari with 1.0L. Better don’t drive the car out!!! Higher cc and so call new technology in it. But cannot over take a Kenari with lower cc and old technology. Better buy Kenari instead with the current price of 3 times lesser than this car!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7
          • Obviously on Oct 10, 2013 at 8:56 pm

Sounds like you just don’t like the car. Or hardcore Kenari supporter. Don’t worry, we all have our likes and dislikes. I prefer something more solid than a Kenari, though. Old tech and still cost around 20k.

• kl_guy74 on Oct 04, 2013 at 7:04 pm

Might be the company selling car in Malaysia think Malaysian is really an idiot.. 1.2cc for RM59K and above??

Better take MyVi

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 12
    • Low Buget on Oct 06, 2013 at 5:36 pm

Oops, of course-lah, MyVi is consider local and thus slightly cheaper than Mitsubishi.

• Tested this car at Martrade today. As my personal opinion, acceleration is not so bad for 1.2L engine. For those who already test drive, any feedback? Hoho.. Would like to consider this car beside my 2.0L inspira… Minyak makin mahal.. Koyak mehhh…huhuhu

• Alexxx on Oct 06, 2013 at 3:21 pm

Quite okay car. Generally good for its price and drivable even for a 1.2 sedan.

My only complain is that the salesman told me that has decided that the GL CVT version (tentative price @ RM65K) will not be available at the launch.

There is a good possibility for me to get this car if the decide to RE-introduce the GL CVT version.

• Majuperak on Oct 05, 2013 at 12:07 am

Damn …. difference of MYR10k between auto and manual ?? Either the manual one is underpriced or the auto is overpriced ?? MYR10k is a lot of money for this segment car ….

• Obviously on Oct 05, 2013 at 10:01 pm

The difference is 4k. You just compared the manual entry level car with the non-SE top spec auto car. Should compare entry level manual with entry level auto, bro. 61k for manual vs 65k for auto.

• Alexxx on Oct 07, 2013 at 6:39 am

The RM65K GL CVT will not be available (at least at launch). That is what the salesman told me.

• Bapak ikan keli on Oct 05, 2013 at 9:54 am

ini pun adik dugung jugak ni wahahaha

• Green on Oct 05, 2013 at 5:59 pm

sadly, it’s 1200cc 3cylinder.

but.

1. Ford Ecoboost best engine of the year = 1000cc 3 cylinder.
    2. 1200cc that give u good acceleration approximately 1500cc due to engineered paring with CVT.
    3. 1200cc, but top Speed achievable at 180km/h. not just another powerless Kancil.

• No.2 , you are wrong. The power is only like 1.3l. Please don’t make your liking towards the badge blinding your right mind.

• Obviously on Oct 05, 2013 at 10:29 pm

for the 1.0L Ecoboost, that turbo makes all the difference.

Top speed has more to do with the overall car design than engine displacement alone (things like stability at high speed, aerodynamics, etc). Engine displacement will influence how fast it gets to top speed, though.

• fengs on Oct 06, 2013 at 1:19 am

Ecoboost 1.0l is like n.a 1.5l lor, cannot compare with n.a 1.2ll. CVT won’t make the power increase to 1.5l though. The most hatred Malaysian engine CFE/Campro turbo 1.6l is like the power of n.a 2.0l engine.

• Priced Too close to Almera’s comfort which is roomier n 1.5 litres.

• cobest81 on Oct 06, 2013 at 5:39 pm

Its just 1.2l but dont worry the performance like 1.5l this is my experience. 1.2l just for FC only, when looking the engine spec u feel this car underpower….test drive please u will be feel different!!!

• already talk to mitsu saleman, sit inside,open bonnet, and read the spec, you know what? this car is lighter than MYVI, so i do belief that this car not underpowered.. not testdrive yet..maybe soon.
      but inside, feel like cheap plastic..which i feel saga flx have better material(maybe). front n back seat, not the best, but good and roomier.
      Go and test drive. Not ask u guys to buy, just test and give feedback to us, NOT JUST see pic and bash.
      for me,i’ll not buy it, coz still have a 7years loan to pay :D for my PE.

• Even mirage is fuel saving, wonder the tech use for this car. Looks average but p.myvi fuel also not bad. My own exp with p.myvi, 1L =13.5 but still new. If mmc claimed 21. I dont think so, suppose to be around 17 or less. Long term usage for 3 pot will be issue arrise esp engine knocking like most 3 pot in malaysia. Still prefer 4 pot over 3 pot.

• I test drive last week. feel ok. but the engine gegar a lot when open the bonet. like my kancil 660 engine. but if you sit in the car, tak rasa pun… anyway betul ke 21km per litre? proven?

• Human on Oct 08, 2013 at 7:23 pm

Test drive. The handling is even worst than my Saga FLX. Worth to buy? You decide.

• Weaychuang on Oct 08, 2013 at 11:05 pm

Why cancel the gl spec 65k,I already want order this spec. Now mitsubishi cancel, bye-bye lol. I plan other car.

• Human on Oct 09, 2013 at 9:14 pm

They always like that de. The popular one don’t want bring in. Like Colt and Eclipse are hot model. Never see them bring in.

• Obviously on Oct 10, 2013 at 9:00 pm

I think it’s due to past experience with the mirage. When the Mirage came out, most people either ordered the GS spec or the GL manual spec. the GL CVT spec did quite poorly, from what I could gather. So it’s just a business decision. It wasn’t really popular because of the standard Malaysian mindset of “if I just top up a few more K’s, I can get more!”

• I don’t like because of high stroke 3 cylinder engine with 5-speed CVT. Anyway, if sell lower price and rebadged under proton, might be another success like Wira. But impossible, it will affect Persona B-Line and SAGA FLX 1.6SE

• Sapundal on Oct 21, 2013 at 1:40 pm

Just nice even 3 silinder same like New civic. 5 speed cvt much better auto 4 speed.some more jimat minyak.

• Justsaying on Oct 21, 2013 at 7:11 pm

Ive had test drive d car twice. First sight on the exterior, not attractive at all. Then, went to see the interior (full specodel) i considered it better than almera. Why? 2din touch touch screen, reverse camera, security tinting, leather seats n no weird looking round thingy/button on d dashboard like d one on almera n vios. Attrage’s interior design looks simple n modern with d push start button (unlike honda city). Full specs for attrage is around rm79k (swak price), after rebate honda city rm83k (no push start button, no reverse camera, no 2din touch screen, n so on), almera rm82k (non-digitalised air cond, no reverse cam, no 2 din touch screen bla bla bla), vios rm84k (no reverse cam, no security tinting, no digitalised air cond). Attarage exterior may be not dat eye catching, but who cares for city driving only? Save fuel…and yes, depends on ur driving pattern. This car is made for fuel efficiency not performance. Btw, pick up is still good even there were four of us in d car went up d hill!

• Andrew on Oct 24, 2013 at 7:22 pm

if only Attrage can be sold at a lower spec like vios J auto.. then it can be sold at an even lower price .. and thus.. more suited to its price of maybe rm66-67k.. i really dun want to pay rm70k plus for a 1.2 litre engine when i can go for 1.5 litre ones.. please introduce a basic spec for auto..tq

• Alexxx on Oct 25, 2013 at 9:28 am

Initially the have this GL variant at RM65K but at the last minute decide not to open booking for this variant. I just don’t know why.

• Dicky on Nov 11, 2013 at 2:46 pm

driving pattern affects fc:
    1) city driving ( constant traffic jam), constantly does not exceed 80km/h: 580km every full tank
    2) city driving, step on pedal like hell, likes to speed more than 100km/h constantly: 450km every full tank
    3) Highway Driving: 700km every full tank

• This is a car for lady’s, why? because it cant accelerated faster and quick response as vios. I know this is 1.2L car but it won’t act or behave like a 1.5L machine. I drove attrage recently to Penang and twisting road to Frazer’s Hill and back to KL. The most drawback I noticed during high speed i.e 130-140km/h is the car starts wobbling, shimming,feel unstable and uncomfortable. Although the car’s power steering is very responsive and easy to manourver during cornering, the lack of stability and roll over is concerned here. The sales person from Mitsubishi response to this matter by saying that I have to change to a stiff absorber. What a heck! This is a brand new car from a high reputations of Mitsubishi from Japan cannot rectify this problems in their labs? What a shame.
    Why should one forked another few thousand of ringgit for such unnecessary new sport absorber. In my opinion, Mitsubishi should recall all the new attrage which was now on the road for safety inspections and get the vehicle full checked thoroughly espescially the wheel alignment, camber, drive shaft, spring as well as the absorber itself.
    Best Regards
    PUTRA JAYA 8646

• fatouallin on Oct 13, 2014 at 6:42 pm

can someone can tell me who better mitsubishi attrage or kia rio i plan to buy one car next year