DRIVEN: Mitsubishi Attrage tried out on a Thai track

Mitsubishi Attrage-48

When we first learnt that the Mitsubishi Mirage‘s sedan-bodied counterpart was going to be called the Attrage, we were rather amused, to say the least. Knowing Japan’s unique way with English words, the reflex assumption was that the name was a portmanteau of the words ‘attractive’ and ‘Mirage.’

As it turned out, we were right – according to Mitsubishi, it was indeed contrived based on that complimentary adjective, and although no official mention was made of the other contributing word, I think we can safely rule out ‘rage’ and ‘age,’ don’t you?

UPDATE: The Attrage is now launched in Malaysia – click here for the launch report.

With its Thai launch on the horizon, we leapt across the northern border in late June to join the international media test drive event, where we had a chance to briefly try the new Mitsubishi Attrage out on a race circuit.

Mitsubishi Attrage-23

The Concept G4 sedan, which the Tokyo-headquartered carmaker uncovered at the Bangkok show in March and which you’ll be able to see at 1 Utama until this Sunday, couldn’t have been a more accurate crystal ball to gaze into. Save for the futuristic internals of the head and tail lamps and all that blue sparkle, the road-going Mitsubishi Attrage has stayed pretty loyal to the concept.

Built alongside the Mirage at the Laem Chabang Industrial Estate in the Thai province of Chonburi, the B-segment sedan, like its five-door sibling, holds eco-car status in the Kingdom, which lends itself to benefits where taxes are concerned.

This isn’t all that easy to achieve – what’s needed is a fuel consumption figure of 20 km per litre or better, Euro 4 compliancy, a local production investment of over five billion baht and a manufacturing rate in excess of 100,000 units annually after the fifth year of production.

Mitsubishi Attrage-32

Study the vehicle in more depth and you’ll see why it hasn’t simply been called the ‘Mirage Sedan’ – sure, more than a couple of the Attrage’s design elements are quintessentially Mirage, but it’s not until you line them both up that you realise just how much they differ.

For a start, the new car eschews the Mirage’s simpler and daintier face in favour of a little more presence and pizzazz. There’s a prominent triple-slatted chrome grille within which the Mitsubishi badge sits, more chiselled headlamps, bonnet creases, a wider and more angular lower intake as well as claw-shaped fog lamp housings.

A quick dimension comparison divulges more disparity than you’d expect – the Attrage measures 4,245 mm long, 1,670 mm wide and 1,515 mm tall (Mirage 3,710 x 1,665 x 1,500), and its wheelbase is actually a whole 100 mm longer than the hatch’s 2,450, bringing with it more legroom in the back.

Mitsubishi Attrage-65

Also upped are the front and rear track widths (both +15 mm) as well as ground clearance (+10 mm). There’s a 42-litre fuel tank (Mirage 35), and the turning circle is 0.4 metres poorer than the hatch’s 4.4. Obviously, boot space is up. There’s 450 litres of it – almost double the Mirage’s 235 litres.

Thanks to extensive use of high-tensile steel in its body, the Attrage weighs between 885 and 930 kg (Mirage 825-850), depending on the variant. The lightness contributes towards a claimed fuel consumption figure of 22 km per litre on the New European Driving Cycle.

Underneath, it’s all a mirage – 78 PS/100 Nm 1.2 litre 3A92 MIVEC twin-cam three-cylinder unit, five-speed manual or INVECS-III CVT, electric power steering, front discs/MacPherson struts and rear drums/torsion beam – you’ve heard it all before. Same cockpit too, although the rear bench gets a central armrest with two cupholders.

The Bonanza International Speedway in Khao Yai is quite a short track, with considerable elevation and potential for high speeds, but we didn’t get to blaze the whole length of it uninhibited – cones were placed in certain sections of the circuit, creating stations for slalom, lane change and handling tests that we had to progress through.

So it was that I found myself in the CVT-equipped version, lining up for the first slalom. The Attrage leaps off the line eagerly and smoothly enough. The rapidly-rising engine note, although not harsh, does make its presence felt quite strongly in the cabin when you give it the beans. Snaking the car through those cones uncovered a considerable degree of body roll, albeit civilised and kept in check.

The steering, although above average in terms of response, is very light and could offer much more feel and feedback, but then again I was driving a B-segment runabout on a race track, which is like taking the tiger out of the (urban) jungle, so to speak.

Mitsubishi Attrage-1

Out of the slalom and we pick up speed. The rev-happy engine, coupled with the CVT, exhibit the characteristic ‘rubber-band’ trait to its fullest, so I push the gear lever down to S. Now the gearbox pretends it’s a stepped automatic, and I’m allowed into the further end of the rev range. Peak power resides at a heady 6,000 rpm; peak torque at 4,000 rpm, so you do have to find some spin if you want some grin.

The grin gradually comes, as you learn to carry more speed into the corners in a bid to keep the motor on the boil and conserve whatever little momentum you have. This can be a strangely fun activity only afforded by little-engined cars like this, even though you know they were designed for the low-speed, stop-go motions of the urban environment.

I power through the lane change station and tackle the curves ahead with little drama. Because there isn’t much weight in the nose (or indeed anywhere else), directional changes can be effected easily and quickly. I won’t pretend the Attrage packs much in the way of sporting intentions, but doesn’t it hang on determinedly to those corners!

Mitsubishi Attrage-22

The final hairpin before the main straight is a rather steep climb, and it was this that the Attrage found most challenging. The engine, as you’d expect in such a situation, provides more shout than shove – but it really isn’t bad for a little three-cylinder. You still get to the top of the hill – only not so quickly.

Generally the Attrage is smooth and easy to drive. Contributing to this are the seamless operation of the CVT, the featherweight steering that’s loath to communicate vibrations of any sort, and good all-round visibility – not to mention cabin airiness – afforded by a low window line and considerably thin pillars (by today’s standards).

Put simply, it’s a B-segment sedan with all the city driving qualities – nippiness, fuel efficiency and ease of use – of an A-segmenter.

Mitsubishi Attrage-67

Thailand gets GLX M/T, GLX CVT, GLS CVT and GLS Ltd CVT variants, priced from 443k to 582k baht. Standard-across-the-range kit includes electric folding door mirrors, piano black interior trim, multi-info display and keyless entry. In terms of safety, GLS versions get dual airbags; GLX only one. ABS and EBD are standard.

GLS versions add fog lamps, LED indicator door mirrors, chromed inner door handles, keyless start and auto air-con, while the posh GLS Ltd boasts a leather-wrapped steering wheel with silver trim and audio controls, bright-coloured leather seats, a reverse camera and a 6.5-inch touch-screen with navigation, DVD, MP3, Bluetooth and USB.

GLX cars roll on 14-inch steel wheels wrapped in 175/65 tyres, while GLS gets 15-inch alloys and 185/55 rubber. Accessories offered are aplenty, including a subtle bodykit, boot spoiler with integrated third brake lamp, DRLs, parking sensors, interior illumination and garnish, scuff plates and a Ralliart gear knob.

Our Attrage line-up is likely to emulate the Mirage’s, i.e. GL M/T, GL CVT and GS CVT. Some accessories should be offered, too. Revisit the Malaysian Mirage range and its equipment sheet and you could probably extrapolate to some degree the kit our Attrage would get.

In the Land of Smiles, the Mitsubishi Attrage has direct eco-car rivals in the forms of the 1.3 litre four-cylinder-engined Toyota Vios (not the new car) and the 1.2 litre three-cylinder-engined Nissan Almera. Unfortunately for it, the playing field at home won’t be so level, what with our Vios, Almera and City all wielding more powerful 1.5 litre four-cylinder engines.

But if it could undercut the Almera in price, it could aim for a market half a segment lower, and while it won’t come anywhere near our national carmakers’ smaller offerings, the Attrage would then be the least expensive (and smallest) import sedan on sale in Malaysia when it arrives towards the end of this year.

UPDATE: The Mitsubishi Attrage has been officially launched in Malaysia – full local launch report and gallery here.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• AlitStar on Jul 18, 2013 at 9:01 pm

Its so depressing to see the kind of designs coming out from Japanese plants. What on earth is happening to Japanese designers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 23
    • LowerExpectation on Jul 18, 2013 at 10:21 pm

one do not simply put high expectation on mitshubishi design, since when they have build a good looking car? except for the so so looking lancer/evo.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 33
      • SepuCT9A on Jul 18, 2013 at 10:51 pm

So so looking lancer/evo?can u give example of very good looking cars by ur standard, i’m really curious to know them..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 8
        • Theanswer on Jul 18, 2013 at 11:10 pm

Evo is a good looking car. Except the interior design n material used.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
          • FC is 20km/l but have to trade-in with slow pick-up, 0-100km/h in 15secs. better if have 1.5/1.6l.

• Dik Low on Aug 02, 2013 at 12:59 am

agreed. Lancer/Evo 10 exterior look fierce and sport…but the dashboard design really make me sweat…>.<"…

• congrats on Jul 19, 2013 at 3:09 pm

by my standard,GTR35…poor mitsubishi fans have got bad taste !!! s*ck on

• Dru-Zod on Jul 18, 2013 at 11:59 pm

so so looking lancer/evo?? I am sure you can design a better looking car.

• Enthu on Sep 09, 2013 at 9:28 pm

at this day and age? a 10 yr old design like lancer/evo IS so-so.

• frenzyaustin on Jul 19, 2013 at 12:35 am

Lancer and Evo looks very good when they launched. ASX is not bad too. Grandis looks simple yet futuristic, the clear combi lamp works well with the body. Some old model such as GTO (Some never heard it before). Don’t forget Triton, till now still the best looking pick-up.
        Mirage was developed in Thai and is designed specially for developing country and 3rd world country. Japan and Europe can get it probably excess production so they sell it there. Whether the sales volume is good or bad doesn’t affected them. Want better car? Wait till Malaysia become 1st world country.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 0
        • porselinaheart on Sep 10, 2013 at 11:58 am

totally agree with you on the GTO. was my first car, :D ( bought a 2nd hand one for RM26k when i was studying in the US ) I’m always surprised though that most people have never heard of it and ask me what the heck i’m talking about, :P

• Adnoh on Jul 19, 2013 at 5:28 pm

for me lancer/evo design is just ok only, nothing to shout about..

• Hey look! This is better looking than the Almera!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 8
      • Anonymous on Jul 19, 2013 at 12:34 pm

I beg to differ, this might make the Almera look good

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 23
      • Speedzter on Jul 19, 2013 at 4:47 pm

How can this better than Almera?
        ‘Tits’ on the bonnet, non-grip type door handle and lap belt for rear passenger?
        These all are dated!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 9
    • frenzyaustin on Jul 19, 2013 at 12:26 am

Ehhem…”Thai” designer.

• Speedzter on Jul 19, 2013 at 8:58 am

This crap looks as cheap as Datsun GO!
      Please don’t bring this to Malaysia.
      We want low-priced but not CHEAP car!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 25
    • gOOsh on Jul 19, 2013 at 11:53 am

100% agree…

• otachi on Jul 30, 2013 at 9:12 am

yeahh…all these small sedan design are horrible…in fact almost all new japanese car design today are weird & too much eco design…i think the 80’s & 90’s japanese cars have much better design

• From the front 3/4 view, it actually doesn’t look half bad IMO, compared with the likes of the dugong Vios and Almera. But the rear lets it down….a lot. But I don’t think the car is actually half bad, the specs well its not good by any stretch of the imagination, with the cars below the 70k mark on sale here, the specs seems okay-ish.

What got me here is the weight, 880kg is quite light for a 1.2 manual, could be quite nippy in the corners. So like with all cars, if the price is right, I’ll say below RM70k for the high spec. It could be a recommendable car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 1
  • sudonano on Jul 18, 2013 at 9:06 pm

What is good, is that they managed to get rid of the pokemon like looks of the Mirage. Finally!

• Kinokunia on Jul 18, 2013 at 9:26 pm

But pikachu is cute! I really want to see a mirage pikachu edition.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
      • sudonano on Jul 19, 2013 at 10:32 am

Looks is depending on individual. For me, the Mirage’s Pokemon looks are really dinky and a bit stupid. So yea.

• Kinokunia on Jul 18, 2013 at 9:38 pm

You cant really blame the designers for such design.. Its a typical A segment hatch turn sedan.. The wheel base + trying to fit a boot will surely end up like this.

Please tell me if im wrong, but isnt only the japanese making a-segment sedans? I can’t think of any Kia/Hyundai.. Imagine a i10 sedan…ergh and Rio sedan still has that weird elongated over hang..
    But theres the Aveo/Sonic sedan, with still ugly rear..

I would still find it difficult to add a boot to a hatch, plus, fitting a less awkward tail lamp, and everything must be to a specific length..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
    • alldisc on Jul 19, 2013 at 11:34 am

actually japanese ppl are as crazy for small hatchbacks as the europeans.

but just like Honda City, it was sold only in hatchback form from the early 80s and only the last gen got a boot that was designed in Thailand instead of Japan. Even Japan got the cars from Thai assembly plant.

Japan market has a good mixtures of hatchbacks, sedan and estates/wagons which many ppl not knowing. almost every Toyota passenger sedan will have an equivalent wagon model – Camry, Corolla and Corona which is known as Caldina.

• Gary Yap on Jul 18, 2013 at 9:40 pm

3-cylinder with ungainly tall body… thanks, but no thanks. I’ll have a used City or the Almera.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 18
    • Green on Jul 18, 2013 at 9:48 pm

Dont get 2nd hand.

Almera. take 3 year extended warranty.

u are so gonna enjoy Almera with at least 6 years, peace of mind.

else, get a Attrage, best on earth FC. U will never regret, and shall love to drive it everywhere with just 20km/L city mode.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
  • Josh Ling on Jul 18, 2013 at 11:49 pm

i really don’t like the look of the lower specs. the highest spec looks ok, the lower specs is simply not good. i don’t understand why they always wanna make such an obvious void to tell the world “oh here we suppose to put the foglamps but because of lower spec we choose to leave it empty”. do they have to be that obvious??

• frenzyaustin on Jul 19, 2013 at 12:38 am

If Mitsubishi facelifted the Mirage with te Attrage looks, I think it looks good too. Not beautiful, but comfortable to look at and don’t hurt your eyes like Vios.

• This design really ugly!!!! Can participate in “The Most Ugliest Cars” contest such as Almera, Vios!! Proton Car even look better than this a lot lot lots.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 9
    • Absolutely agree with u.. The BLM side profile is far better

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 5
      • BLM design stage got consultation from a korean company. koreans are better designers than japs

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 7
        • Kia and Hyundai designer is a German and he’s Peter Schreyer. the ugly car ssangyong design by a Korean designer.

• Peter Schreyer dies not work for that consultation company.

• typo : does

• Tredia Cordia on Jul 19, 2013 at 7:34 am

Let see if MITI tell Mitsubishi to sell it at RM70K first

Then Proton will rebadge it as new Saga price RM45K

Bravo MITI Tahniah Proton!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 11
  • Jonathan,
    Did you by any chance manage to look at the under-side of the bonnet?

I noticed that the paintwork there was very patchy and inconsistent when I took a Mirage test drive some time ago. It was d same for both test car and showroom units.

• fel33 on Jul 19, 2013 at 8:05 am

Looks attractive. Lagi lagi with DRL. MMM, please consider to introduce this vehicle in Malaysia ya!

• Perfect vehicle for new family. 20km/litre… wow….

• Yes, exactly! Finally a car for a young family that has really good FC. 800km per full tank, that’s impressive (on paper figure of course!)

How i wish Proton could at least create a car with decent FC. My only drawbacks to Proton cars now is FC, the rest I can live with.

• farghmee on Jul 19, 2013 at 9:45 am

20km/l tu load dia berapa kilo bang?

kalu full load ble dpt 20km/l, mmg cantik la.

dia test 20km/l ni ikut standard ape?

• intess on Jul 19, 2013 at 8:34 pm

If full load sure decreases the FC efficiency. Try that on vios, it will give same effect. While vios has better engine (1.5) this car make it worse with lesser displacement (1.3). Only suitable for one or two person in city driving. For full load balik kampung or long traveling session, it’s not that good.

• “Haha..Our design is more superior than them..” – Honda & Toyota.

• Henry Ford the XII on Jul 19, 2013 at 8:48 am

I really like the whole idea/strategy of:

Ask the carmakers for
    1) Cars which is a fuel consumption figure of 20 km per litre or better
    2) Euro 4 compliancy
    3) a local production investment of over five billion baht
    4) a manufacturing rate in excess of 100,000 units annually after the fifth year of production.

and in return give them
    1) for their cars eco-car status in the Kingdom, which lends itself to benefits where taxes are concerned.

• van driver on Jul 19, 2013 at 8:54 am

damn proton cannot made a car good fc like this one.my saga flx MT FC IS 10KM/LITRE.DAMN DAMN PROTON.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 8
    • gOOsh on Jul 19, 2013 at 11:56 am

kau bawak macam F1, patut la FC saga kau tinggi…

• JeremyNg on Jul 19, 2013 at 5:25 pm

I noe how u feel !! Mine is BLM Manual SE I average 9.9km/l average for city driving …..

• Adnoh on Jul 19, 2013 at 5:31 pm

my saga fl can go up to 15km/l.. drive not more than 100km/h.. almost 3 years, no problem at all :)

• Managed to test drive this vehicle at Thailand. One thing that attracts me is the interior speciousness (especially rear seat space) Power wise…. So so…. should be sufficient for city and highway driving.

• Tak sokong B.N. dan Inspira/Preve on Jul 19, 2013 at 10:08 am

Opps. They did it again!! Soon the weak sales of the car and it will turn into next Saga replacement model, and it will call Proton Attrage. Promise me, Proton, be gentle to treat tis car well and price it reasonably like Ex rapped Proton Inspira/Lancer-Mum.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
  • they copied vios design.. mitsubishi no idea?

• gOOsh on Jul 19, 2013 at 11:57 am

proton dah tak kawan dengan mitsu lagi la bro…

• noname on Jul 23, 2013 at 10:15 am

apa dah jadi ngan orang jepun sekarang nie??? dah abis idea ka??? dem

• hasnol on Jul 24, 2013 at 10:07 am

Paul, you have written earlier (5 June 2102) that our Perodua will be making a sedan. Do you have an update when will it be?

• Meet Perodua Jaguh, the rebadged Toyota Etios sedan which will soon be launched in Malaysia.

• monkeymo on Jul 30, 2013 at 3:05 pm

At least it look better than ALMERA :)
    Don’t have UFO radio button….

• fredo on Sep 03, 2013 at 11:56 am

this will only split the pie even more

• Hello Kitty on Sep 09, 2013 at 7:38 pm

Attrage is not handsome, better than the Almera which is the most ugly sedan in the mkt.