Lexus RC coupe launched in Malaysia – RC 350 Luxury for RM526k, 5.0 V8-powered RC F for RM782k

Lexus RC 350 Malaysia 6

The Lexus RC has been officially launched in Malaysia. Details of the RC coupe were released by Lexus Malaysia in September, and nothing has changed since then – we get the RC 350 Luxury for RM526,000 and the RC F for RM782,000, OTR excluding insurance.

The sharp-suited Lexus RC is based on the IS sedan, and is positioned against the BMW 4 Series and Audi A5 in the premium coupe segment. The rear-wheel drive coupe made its world debut at the 2013 Tokyo Motor Show.

Lexus RC Malaysia Launch 9

The RC 350 Luxury is powered by a 3.5 litre V6 that produces 312 hp at 6,400 rpm and 378 Nm of torque at 4,800 rpm. Mated to a “Sport Direct Shift” eight-speed auto, power from the 24-valve Dual-VVT-i NA unit is sent to the rear wheels. It sprints to 100 km/h in 6.3 seconds on its way to a 230 km/h top speed.

Standard equipment include triple L-shaped LED headlamps, LED daytime running lights, 18-inch rims, Smart Entry with push start, Remote Touch Controller with touch pad, navigation, Bluetooth, power adjustable steering wheel, shift paddles, dual-zone auto air con, semi-aniline leather seats, eight-way powered and ventilated seats (lumbar and memory for driver) and a 17-speaker Mark Levinson sound system.

Lexus RC 350 Malaysia 29

Safety wise, besides the expected ABS, EBD, BA and VSC parked under Lexus’ Vehicle Dynamic Integrated Management (VDIM), the RC coupe comes with eight airbags, Blind Spot Monitor with Rear Cross Traffic Alert, two ISOFIX anchors and a pop-up hood for pedestrian protection. One also gets clearance and back sonar, and a tyre pressure monitor for convenience.

Enthusiasts will turn to the RC F, which is powered by a naturally-aspirated 5.0 litre V8 engine paired to an eight-speed auto. With 470 hp at 7,100 rpm and 530 Nm of torque from 4,800 to 5,600 rpm, the BMW M4-chaser is capable of 0-100 km/h in 4.5 seconds and a top speed of 270 km/h. The 2UR-GSE is 12% more powerful than the IS F’s V8, on which it’s based on.

Lexus RC Malaysia Launch 3

Except for fog lamps and the pop-up hood, the RC F gets all the RC 350 Luxury gets, plus a Sport+ mode in the Drive Selector (ECO, Normal, Sport for RC 350), torque vectoring rear differential (Standard, Slalom, Track modes), all-round ventilated Brembo brakes, Sachs F adaptive suspension, F spec stabiliser bars, F steering wheel and F sport seats. The F rides on 19-inch wheels, with 255/35 tyres up front and fat 275/35 ones at the back.

The RC F looks very aggressive as it is, but some might want to pay RM71k extra for a Carbon Fibre Package that adds on a carbon fibre-trimmed bonnet, roof and active rear wing. To really stand out, pick Lava Orange or Heat Blue, two of four unique colours for the RC F, which didn’t show up at the launch event.

Imported CBU from Japan, the Lexus RC 350 Luxury and RC F come with a three-year or 100,000 km factory warranty.

Lexus RC 350

Lexus RC F

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• weeee on Nov 25, 2014 at 3:24 pm

I’m not really a fan of Lexus but my god this is pretty. Definitely a good alternative to the 435M Sport & the M4

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 11
    • weeee on Nov 25, 2014 at 3:28 pm

But then again the M4 is RM30k less…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 17
      • darren on Nov 25, 2014 at 4:36 pm

if you have the budget to purchase half a million RM sports car, RM30K more or less is not an issue to the buyer. Buyers for RC will tends to opt for its striking design, whereas M4 is a very mundane look, no difference from the usual 4 Series, only minus 2 doors from the 3 Series

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 8
        • BeemerFreak on Nov 25, 2014 at 6:20 pm

The M4 will smoke this shit to bits…..not to mention a Nissan GTR at the same price. For loonies only

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 25
          • Over Priced Toyota on Nov 25, 2014 at 7:50 pm

A Toyota for 800k ? Good thing is no problem with spare parts… can interchange parts with the UMW Camry

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 26
          • weeee on Nov 25, 2014 at 9:02 pm

People like you should really stop dwelling in the past

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 6
          • King of RV Depreciation on Nov 26, 2014 at 9:16 am

What a wase of money. Even if I win the lottery and have RM30 million ringgit, I would just buy a 2007 Ferrari F430, now going for RM450,000.

The Ferrari will bring more prestige to me, more fame, and a real chic magnet.

This Lexus, just like any Lexus, will drop in RV so fast that, in 2 years time, it will be sold for RM200,000.

That is why you see even the prestigious LS460L, once sold for RM800,000, now, you can buy a 3 year old car for RM300,000

Lexus is truly King Of RV Depreciation

Go and buy the Ferrari at RM450,000. 3 years down the road, you can sell it for RM350,000

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 25
          • weeee on Nov 26, 2014 at 2:26 pm

lol you tell me how much the F430 cost when it was new. As Top Gear says it, the F430 is now known as the idiot’s Ferrari

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
        • reall on Nov 25, 2014 at 9:20 pm

If I had the money I wouldn’t mind spending the 30k just for the true sound of a V8. But the M4 is 200kgs lighter, much more economical, cheaper road tax, more torque & more practical. You can never go wrong with an ///M car.
          If you’re thinking the GTR can smoke these cars, then I say yes it can but one thing the GTR lacks in comparison to these two is class. Just don’t expect James Bond getting out of the Nissan. And if you don’t have the cash for the big boy M4, the 435i is actually quite a brilliant car to drive especially with the M sport pack.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 7
          • reall on Nov 25, 2014 at 9:25 pm

However, if you’re all about 0-60 & standing 1/4 miles AND you’re on a budget, just wait for the Mustang GT

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
          • lembu jinni on Nov 26, 2014 at 12:43 am

Toyota should have revived the supra rather than this RC=Rubbish Car!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 8
        • King of RV Depreciation on Nov 26, 2014 at 9:18 am

All Lexus in Malaysia are known as King of RV Depreciation la

• toyotafan on Nov 25, 2014 at 3:42 pm

We already know the answer.

Is the M4 or Lexus 5.0 V8-powered RC F a better driver’s car?

Google for the youtube video.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 12
  • daddyiwantthis on Nov 25, 2014 at 3:51 pm

aiseymen…now this kluar, i have to convince daddy i want this Lexus instead of the M4. headache oredi… :-(

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 4
  • Matrix on Nov 25, 2014 at 3:59 pm

NO RV..
    don’t know why ppl stills want to buy it.

Get City la. good RV.
    my old savvy has good RV than this lexus.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 31
    • Aerodynamic bro on Nov 25, 2014 at 4:16 pm

I wonder if it was a joke or not, but you still deserve to eat Lexus’s smoke…..

• BLT_Club on Nov 25, 2014 at 4:20 pm

Dooode… someone that can afford a RM782k car is not thinking of RV. And you’re comparing this to econobox City? Seriously? Man, I hate the school holidays… to many kids with nothing to do…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 3
    • If you so lucky pick a rim of this car, you can resell the rim and buy another old Savvy

• Aerodynamic bro on Nov 25, 2014 at 4:17 pm

Hope there will be “Becasue Racecar” package later…..

• eVaz88 on Nov 25, 2014 at 4:54 pm

Definitely attractive design with its Triple L headlamp.. Good efforts from Lexus but still, price wise, a bit disappointing. Will definitely get this if price is competitive. But for the 30k diff, its better than rip off 3 Series design, Mr 4 Series~

• Kemono on Nov 25, 2014 at 5:04 pm

The model on the left is so cute!
    Anyone with a name?

• TheDuh on Nov 25, 2014 at 5:14 pm

Half a million, and that cheap plastic dashboard is the best that you can do?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 13
  • Jimmy on Nov 25, 2014 at 5:19 pm

No objection to these and those high prices.
    But if we command high prices, there are certain things that customer expect or want.
    You want to spec your cars, you yourself must have taste.

• Toyota Camry Upgrade to 5.0 lites engin! Vrooommmm Power.!!!!!

• Don Juan De Marco on Nov 25, 2014 at 5:54 pm

The exterior is too striking but the interior is conservative-looking..
    Lexus needs to do something about the front grille..the vertical strakes on the RC350’s front grille makes the front end a bit fugly..I thought the front grille of the Lexus ES was their best spindle grille design.

• shawal on Nov 25, 2014 at 5:59 pm

RC 200T f sport…
    friendlier roadtax and resale value

• Semi-Value (Member) on Nov 25, 2014 at 6:31 pm

f sport bodykit better

• The RC350 Luxury is already equipped with the F-Sport body kit.

So, our RC is priced quite reasonably, given that the F-Sport kits cost quite a lot.

• VWfanboi on Nov 25, 2014 at 6:43 pm

i would take RCF over the boring BMW anytime…….only if i have the cash…………

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 6
  • darkermarker on Nov 25, 2014 at 7:57 pm

the rear bumper is sooooo ah beng!!!

• banda suri megawan on Nov 25, 2014 at 8:13 pm

we wish we could get the 2015 mustang or 2015 camaro please RHD

• lembu jinni on Nov 26, 2014 at 12:29 am

LEXUS trying too hard in the luxury sport segment against BMW M4 or AUDI RS5 or AMG C63.

In the west, RC is also known as the “beluga whale”

• my modded vios can beat this piece of $h!t

• spock1976 on Nov 26, 2014 at 12:19 am

Awesome pic 291193! Thanks Danny!

• Josh Ling on Nov 26, 2014 at 12:36 am

regardless of handling whatsoever, i will choose this one over 4 series at any one time. my favorite lexus to date. the look is worth all the “premiums” it commands already.

• cars from japan are exempted from import duty, it should be cheaper than its rivals. knowing umw is too greedy. probably better go lexus as bmw are known to be unreliable

• Seeing this car i think i can wait for ford mustang next year

• jackchaivoonchoon on Nov 26, 2014 at 11:43 am

So many dreamer and whiner……..if I strike lottery,ask father to get it etc.Oh wait !My BMW Z5 Quad Turbo 0-100 3 sec 10 Pot Brembo Brake will still smoke this gorgeous ride.

• BMW 3281 are RM300K, 0-100 in 5.9 sec, can seat 5 people, top speed 250 kmh, road tax and insurans so much cheeper. compared to this RC-350 RM550K, 0-100 in 6.3 sec, can seat 2 people. Alamak who want to buy this car???

• Saya Ada Duit on Nov 26, 2014 at 2:42 pm

People who are genuinely rich and not wannabes like you. If everyone follows your principle then all will go for Golf R instead of M3/M4, Cayman, F-Type, RCF, etc.

• dugongx on Nov 27, 2014 at 9:11 am

Only sohai will buy this overpriced junk. So many other better choices. Would have been ok if each were priced 100k lower.