GALLERY: VW Golf GTE coming to Malaysia in 2015

VW Golf GTE Malaysia 6

As revealed at yesterday night’s Volkswagen Das Event, the Volkswagen Golf GTE has been confirmed for Malaysia in 2015. Unveiled at Geneva 2014, the GTE is VW’s plug-in hybrid hot hatch sister to the petrol GTI and diesel GTD, and it boasts impressive vital stats.

The Golf GTE is powered by a turbocharged, direct-injected 1.4 TSI engine offering 148 hp, paired with a 101 hp electric motor. Total combined output is 201 hp and 350 Nm, and power is channeled to the front wheels through a six-speed DSG designed specifically for hybrid applications.

It can do the 0-100 km/h sprint in 7.6 seconds and top out at 222 km/h. Not bad numbers, considering that the GTE weighs 1,520 kg, nearly 170 kg more than the petrol GTI (6.5 sec, 244 km/h).

But the impressive thing about the GTE is that it can operate in pure electric mode at up to 130 km/h, and can travel 50 km on a single charge. The 8.8 kWh lithium-ion battery takes about three and a half hours to charge from a domestic socket, or about an hour less through a wall-mounted charging station.

Of note is the fuel consumption and operating range of the GTE – based on the European NEDC test cycle, it uses a claimed 1.5 litres per 100 km (67 km/l), good enough for a 939 km running range. Expect less in real world conditions, of course, but the GTE should still be an amazing combo of performance and efficiency.

Visually, the GTE gets the usual GTI cues, but with blue replacing red as theme, unique wheels and C-shaped LED DRLs on the lower bumper to set it apart. It’s the same story inside the five-door cabin, which has plenty of blue stitching and a Boost/Charge meter in place of the rev meter, which has been shrunken to sit within the former. Very interesting, and we’re really looking forward to this one coming.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• dodgeviper88 on Dec 10, 2014 at 3:42 pm

I wonder if you CKD this car would it be considered as a hybrid? If yes they should consider CKD-ing this car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
    • kzm (Member) on Dec 10, 2014 at 4:39 pm

CKD or CBU… Golf GTE is an Hybrid..n it will fall under EEV scheme if CKD in bolehland..

• Same Shit Different Day on Dec 11, 2014 at 12:00 am

VW become kampong car oledi… satu kampong hadir kenduri

• No thanks since price of oil keep sliding everyday, beside electricity bill will be subject to 6% GST April next year.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
    • RicoT on Dec 10, 2014 at 5:33 pm

The oil price fell because the West wants to “punish” Russia for the downing of MH17, as well as avert another winter gas crisis in Europe, which their new ally Ukraine, is struggling to keep up with the payment to Russia for continuous gas supply. A lower gas price will help Ukraine too. Effectively, killing two birds with one stone. Next year after spring, the oil price may regain its balance, although the price might not be as high as this year, but enough to keep USA shale oil at bay.

Time will tell if this car is worth buying next year.

• alldisc on Dec 10, 2014 at 10:37 pm

again and again, i would like to emphasize the reasons of hybrid cars existence in the first place. it is not about fuel saving.

its about the emission produced. this is the only reason for hybrid cars, LEV,ZEV, PZEV… and so on and so forth. and EV cars. and start stop technology. many major cities had gone thru unhealthy air. California for example, some 20 years ago. London, Paris. even KL has some effect of the so-called global warming thing. 30 years ago, it is still reasonably cold in the morning. we dont get that anymore even at 8.30am. even cameron highland is warm nowadays

i am not arguing on the fuel saving of course, a bonus that comes with it.

• Kenny on Dec 11, 2014 at 8:35 am

fuel saving might be true but not $$ money saving! Dude, you already paid extra 30-50k for a hybrid car. 50k is already enough for at least 10 years fuel consumption of a non hybrid car.

• Then, wait for next few year. Not this or next year.

• weeee on Dec 10, 2014 at 4:08 pm

just hoping the price would be good. In the UK its about the same price as the GTI but since this has a smaller petrol engine it better be cheaper.

• FireAce on Dec 10, 2014 at 4:08 pm

How much is the electricity consumption when charging battery from zero to full? The electricity bills might be more expensive than we think.

• Like many ppl said, the cost of replacing battery > petrol saved.

• najib on Dec 10, 2014 at 4:22 pm

let’s see the price first before hand! as usual, will kena slash like shit.

• Battu on Dec 10, 2014 at 5:02 pm

i think plug in hybrid is the least effective solution of a hybrid. its a pain in d ass to keep charging the car like a damn smartphone everyday.

• Kangkung Hebat on Dec 15, 2014 at 9:17 am

plug in hybrid is better option than usual hybrid.
      You got 3 power source.
      1. Conventional Petrol
      2. Plug in to house /wall mount socket.
      3. Braking electric regenerative.

U may use plug in hybrid without plug in as well.
      Plug in electric cost save lot money compare to conventional petrol combustion engine. Even our fuel price drop, it still cheaper than that.

In Japan, Full charge a tesla cost is less than JPY1000.
      Means it cost around RM30 or less. RM 30 can cruise about 300km. you can imagine how efficient of plug in hybrid.

As a VW owner, what i do care and worry about is after sales service. VGM able to diagnose, repair, claim and solve these new tech problems?
      For combustion engine, VW cant do well to reach basic level. How to achieve high tech plug in hybrid service quality?
      It’s a BIG BIG BIG doubt.

• IGotGut on Dec 17, 2014 at 12:25 pm

I agree with you, plug in hybrid is definitely better than the normal hybrid, Plug in hybrid will be more efficient. Hope VW will keep on developing on this type of technology. Anyway, this is a good move for VW.

• TheAnonymous on Dec 17, 2014 at 1:00 pm

I have the same concern with you which is the after sales service. Recently, i can see there are few statement about the initiative of improving VW after sales service. Well, I hope VW can really rectify all the mistake and issue that had done in the past.

• PonyTail on Dec 17, 2014 at 2:49 pm

I have some minor issue with my car last time but i won’t raise the issue over the internet because it will influence the resales value and aftermarket. Some of the people keep complaining about the low resales value, in fact, it’s because they keep airing the issue over the internet even some very minor issue. Hence, all these results were done by the car owner. If really had a problem, it’s better for you to send your car to the service center directly and you can always talk to their branch manager or drop an email to their HQ for a fast and effective solution. Remember that customers are always right, if the staff don’t serve you, speak to the branch manager or even the HQ manager.
        P/S: I didn’t mean to speak for everybody but it’s my own opinion.

• Golfanatic on Dec 10, 2014 at 5:39 pm

Only 50km on a single charge??? I hope it’s a typo.

• DSG= direct spoil gearbox

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 9
  • seancorr (Member) on Dec 10, 2014 at 9:44 pm

Bring in the normal hybrid and not this plug-in version…heck I can’t even charge a car like this where I live and I bet its the same for most of us.

• normal non hybrid pun kuat rosak, lagi this..loll

• Ferocious on Dec 12, 2014 at 3:47 pm

Aik how sure are you? The car is not yet in Malaysia and you already make your own conclusion. When petrol price increase, you ppl complain. When car company like VW do hybrid car, still also complain. At least must give credit to them for introducing new technologies. About the price we won’t know yt. But if expensive then u know la..our country tax the imported car kaw kaw wan..

• alldisc on Dec 10, 2014 at 11:19 pm

the blue theme on the external of the car is not something like VW suka-suka to put as a matching colour scheme but rather an international standard for hybrid cars.

it is also a sign to be aware of, as what UMWT had trained our rescue workers (Bomba and JPA3) in an event of collision they cannot simply cut the body in order to rescue trapped motorists. they may accidentally cut the high voltage cable (orange in colour) and may kill themselves as well as the accident victim with 500-600 volt current.

• Kangkung Hebat on Dec 15, 2014 at 9:20 am

Nice post.
      Hybrid high voltage need “tricks and skill” while rescue cramped car.

City bomba might get training, kampung bomba get trained?
      worry they can not remember.
      The high voltage is extremely dangerous.
      Some engineer was killed during hybrid technology development in early stage in Japan.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Dec 11, 2014 at 12:14 am

i rather have tesla

• Kangkung Hebat on Dec 15, 2014 at 9:21 am

can i pay u some,
      u give me the permit to import tesla ?

• what kind of statement some ppl said hybrid is not about fuel saving.. Are blind and stupid? hybrid car is developed for better fuel consumption and emission + bonus is powerful. So for those who wanted car with so much of power but minimize fuel than u should consider this car.