Toyota Camry Hybrid facelift on oto.my – RM200k?

Toyota Camry Hybrid oto.my

A trawl through our sister classifieds site oto.my threw up a surprise in the form of a listing for the Toyota Camry Hybrid, indicating an imminent launch. The ad (which claims that the order books are open) quoted a price of RM199,990, meaning that the previous indications by UMW Toyota – that the car would be priced slightly higher than the top-spec RM181k Camry 2.5V – were pretty much bang on the money.

Previously previewed at KLIMS 2013 and spotted last year – first at JPJ Putrajaya, then again out on the open road – the Camry Hybrid is expected to be locally-assembled to take advantage of the import and excise duty breaks offered by the government. Unlike the previous tax exemptions for CBU hybrids (which ended in 2013), there is no 2.0 litre displacement limit, meaning that the 2.5 litre Camry will be eligible.

toyota-camry-hybrid-facelift-japan-0005

It appears that the Hybrid will arrive here as a facelifted model – although the pictures provided in the ad were solely closeups of the car, the shape of the twin-projector LED headlights, the slim-profile indicators underneath them and the updated instrument cluster with a colour multi-info display mark it out as a revamped unit. Does this mean that a facelift for the regular Camry is also coming soon?

The ad doesn’t have a spec list but from the photos included, we noticed a button to deactivate a Blind Spot Monitor as well as a Qi wireless charging pad next to the gear lever.

Powering the Camry Hybrid is a 160 PS/213 Nm 2AR-FXE 2.5 litre Atkinson-cycle VVTi four-cylinder petrol engine mated to a 143 PS/270 Nm electric motor and an eCVT – the same combo as on the Lexus ES 300h. Combined power output is 205 PS, resulting in a 0-100 km/h sprint time of 8.6 seconds (1.1 seconds faster than a Camry 2.5V) and a fuel consumption figure of 19.6 km per litre.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Maserati(Official) on Jan 20, 2015 at 7:00 pm

Well priced for a high tech car! Japanese carmakers have gone above and beyond the technology horizon and now they have present to us the future

Meanwhile the Korean junks can’t even make a proper gearbox let alone a hybrid…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 55
    • RM200K for a Camry?! on Jan 20, 2015 at 7:18 pm

I’d rather get an Audi A3 or BMW 316i with that money, hybrid or not, is still an uncle’s camry

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 9
    • holofanboi on Jan 20, 2015 at 7:23 pm

“Well priced for a high tech jap car”! <—-

GAHAHAHAHAHA. XD

Oh maserati pls. You are easily more entertaining than sam loo these days.

Oh lord my stomach. T_T i laughed way too hard.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
      • Maserati(Official) on Jan 20, 2015 at 9:30 pm

whats so funny about it?

hybrid is the way forward and not all automakers have master this technology while toyota is leaps and bounds ahead

educate urself

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 11
    • Dinasaur’s teknologi mau jual lagi 200k kah? Tak tau malu ke?

• Bristol on Jan 23, 2015 at 9:32 am

Toyota max price only can go 136k, beyond that no worth it.

• ill just wait for the non hybrid facelifted camry..cheaper

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 10
  • heybadigol (Member) on Jan 20, 2015 at 7:10 pm

RM200k is an expensive price to be paying for being eco friendly. Was expecting a lower price tag since it does get tax breaks which the normal 2.5 does not get. Perhaps the manufacturing costs were very expensive for what is most probably a limited unit model.

• Lex Luther on Jan 20, 2015 at 7:12 pm

Might as well buy W204 C200 run-out unit @ RM200k.

How can this be a tax free price?

• Bob_B78 on Jan 20, 2015 at 7:13 pm

The purpose of hybrid is to reduce fuel consumption which also help us save money.
    IMHO, the best hybrid is priced below 150k (etc. prius, civic hybrid when tax examption exist). Anything above this price is meaningless to own a hybrid.
    You got to ask yourself, when you can afford an above 150k car, would you still be worried about FC?

• xiper (Member) on Jan 20, 2015 at 8:32 pm

i think this hybrid camry is not just target for better FC but for better performance too. This hybrid is over 200 horses and will be much nicer to drive than the 2.5V

• Bob_B78 on Jan 20, 2015 at 9:33 pm

Much nicer to drive? I think not
        The only thing noticeable would be the straight line speed improved, as I believe there is no changes in the suspension.

Much nicer to drive cars are about 10K++ cheaper.
        You guessed it right! They are Mazda 6, Accord, etc…
        They are still a lot faster, handles a lot better than this hybrid. FC should not be an issue as RON97 is a lot cheaper than RON95 last year price.

• maXref (Member) on Jan 20, 2015 at 7:18 pm

Toyota means poorly specced. But to ask for RM200k for a duty exempted car! How much profit margin they want la..

• Moruh on Jan 20, 2015 at 7:22 pm

just buy petrol version because for hybrids to cover ROi it takes 5-6years for that kind of price. That time, u need to spend another 10-12k to replace battery.

• BLT_Club on Jan 20, 2015 at 7:22 pm

You have to be seriously disturbed to spend RM200k on this car. Better stick with an Accord.

• Pay 200k for a toyota ? No thx.

• Coolken on Jan 20, 2015 at 7:32 pm

In US, this car is 28k. After conversion and sales tax and 20% margin, this car should be rm130k.. Only idiots buy overpriced Toyota

• Alonso on Jan 20, 2015 at 7:32 pm

So after this we can see more camry tailgating the likes of bmw on the highway.

• Stanley Free Makan on Jan 20, 2015 at 7:35 pm

Does it come with freebies?

• na bei on Jan 20, 2015 at 7:35 pm

useles korean car gear box cannot tahan our climate

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 11
  • Greenie on Jan 20, 2015 at 7:52 pm

Let us see how long it takes for a Camry Hybrid to pay for itself.

Assumptions:
    Hybrid Camry RM 200,000
    Petrol 2.5V Camry 180,000
    Petrol RM 2.31 per litre
    Driving per year 15,000 km

Let us say that the Hybrid uses 0,5 litre less per 10 km than the 2.5V does.

The hybrid is RM 20,000 more to buy. The hybrid saves 750 litres of petrol per year if you drive 15,000 km. The value of that petrol is RM 1732.5. After ten years of driving you have saved RM17,325 in petrol, still not enough to pay back the RM 20,000 extra cost.

You need to drive a lot for the hybrid to make economic sense. If you drive 30-50,000 km per year you are going to save money on the hybrid.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 1
    • Albert Sam on Jan 23, 2015 at 9:48 am

Toyota Macai dunno how to calculate this laa… they only know hybrid’ FC better than truck

• toyota curry on Feb 26, 2015 at 1:09 pm

Don’t forget owner needs a new battery by that time!

• Kevin Lei on Jan 20, 2015 at 8:18 pm

Don’t buy Toyota Hybrid car in Malaysia. I own a Prius Hybrid and I cannot recommend anyone to buy Toyota Hybrid because UMW Toyota screw up hybrid car by offering pathetic warranty. The Hybrid battery warranty by UMW is only 3 years as compared to 10 years in USA. The Toyota Hybrid technology is awesome but the pricing and warranty is so bad this car is not worth buying. A lot of existing Prius owners are shock by the repair cost for the Prius. Here are the real cost from different component failures: Hybrid battery Failure (RM8500)
    EV Inverter Failure (RM22K)
    Steering Shaft Spoilt (RM5K)
    Air cond compressor Failure (RM7K)
    12V battery (RM850)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 2
  • Ray (Member) on Jan 20, 2015 at 8:21 pm

I’d say that the car looks much better than the outgoing model with the new facelift, although it still won’t win any beauty pageants with the Mazda 6 and Honda Accord around. I don’t know what to say about the estimated 200k price tag though. If you compare it with the normal 2.5 Camry, the 20k increment for hybrid technology isn’t too bad considering that Toyota makes one of the best hybrids BUT we all know Camrys (and Toyotas in general) are way too overpriced here thanks to UMW Malaysia, which means that the normal Camry and its hybrid counterpart shouldn’t be priced so high in the first place considering the trim levels that UMW fits in their cars nowadays. So UMW, if you’re not revising the tags, you better make your cars worth the prices you charge.

• AxeFire on Jan 20, 2015 at 8:31 pm

only in Malaysia is Camry called a luxury car
    In USA its a large sedan not premium car
    premium = lexus/bmw/audi etc

they even use it as taxi

• soonlim on Jan 20, 2015 at 11:19 pm

sell with 20K rebate?

• Sammy on Jan 22, 2015 at 12:07 pm

UMW are you nuts?
    Hybrid with tax rebate sell higher then the normal model??

Curse you UMW… I hope this car get 15 recalls in 1 year.