GALLERY: 2015 Toyota Camry 2.0G CKD, first pictures

2015 Toyota Camry 2.0 CKD 3

You’re looking at the first pics of the 2015 Toyota Camry 2.0G, one of three variants of the locally-assembled refreshed Camry that will be launched later this week. The other two are the entry-level 2.0E and the Camry Hybrid 2.5HV. The latter, which we showed you a full gallery of last week, is the first hybrid Toyota to be assembled in Malaysia.

The CKD Camry 2.0 gets a new 2.0 litre VVT-iW D-4S engine. The direct-injection 6AR-FSE unit, making 167 PS at 6,500 rpm and 199 Nm of torque at 4,600 rpm, has separate twin injectors for both direct and port injection. It is mated to a six-speed torque converter “Super ECT” automatic gearbox with manual mode.

Both the engine and transmission are significant upgrades from the outgoing 1AZ-FE 2.0 litre VVT-i (150 PS/190 Nm) and four-speed automatic combo.

2015 Toyota Camry 2.0 CKD 13

Equipment wise, it looks like the 2.0G will come with HID projector headlamps with LED daytime running lights, twin-tailpipes and 16-inch multi-spoke wheels with 215/60 Bridgestone Turanza ER33 tyres, plus front and rear parking sensors. The bodykit seen here is optional.

Inside the black-themed interior, Camry 2.0G occupants get black perforated leather seats; wood trim on the dashboard, centre console, gear knob and door pulls; dual-zone auto air con; steering buttons; cruise control and keyless entry with push start button. There’s also a cool new Optitron instrument cluster with a full-colour multi-info display between the two dials. The DVD-AVN head unit seen here is optional.

Things like the twin-projector LED headlights, 10-speaker JBL Green Edge Tech sound system and Qi wireless charger are reserved for the range topping Camry Hybrid, which could retail for RM175k. More details coming your way soon, but for now, browse our live gallery of the 2015 Toyota Camry CKD.

2015 Toyota Camry 2.0G

2015 Toyota Camry Hybrid 2.5HV

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Mar 31, 2015 at 12:37 pm

Wow, with the 2.0G and the 2.5H Camry, no one will buy kimchi Sonata anymore.

I am in deep trouble now, coz the supply of used Sonata’s 18 months down the road will taper off

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 83 Thumb down 45
    • nopoint on Mar 31, 2015 at 5:10 pm

I dun really get the point of this car, even it can save 2x fuel of same cc cars, so shame. It is due to its price. Waiting for 10 years to get the hybrid advantage over the FC is nothing good.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
    • PAULTAN.org please band this FCKING IDIOT.

• Sam Lorrrr on Mar 31, 2015 at 12:38 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 166
  • Toyota Salesman Crying on Mar 31, 2015 at 12:43 pm

I prefer the Accord 2.4, more dai fong.

Either way, I will never ever by a kimchi again

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 86 Thumb down 17
  • Obviously (Member) on Mar 31, 2015 at 12:45 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 145
    • fuglycamry on Mar 31, 2015 at 1:49 pm

I vomit terribly during lunch!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 30
      • Why u vomit? Don’t vomit la. Not that you can afford this car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 17
    • eVaz88 on Mar 31, 2015 at 2:07 pm

to be honest, i don’t hate it tho. Looks nice with white car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 12
    • Sam Loo (ori1) on Mar 31, 2015 at 3:46 pm

There are 3 Sonata owners that vomited near the Hilux after i told them that their 18 month and below Sonata 2.0 is now only accepted at RM43k, down from RM45k last week

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 9
    • fukken yiu khad on Mar 31, 2015 at 3:48 pm

agree yoo..that plastic bits will discolored in a few months

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 13
    • Aero (Member) on Mar 31, 2015 at 7:22 pm

@Obviously

I agree, whoever approved those ‘cat whiskers’ is either blind, retarded or desperate for attention. No sensible 40 year-old uncle or auntie will like this new Camry facelift, the Honda Accord and Nissan Teana both look far more elegant and understated. Even the pre-facelift Camry looks better !

Sam Loo and his cybertroopers can dislike my comment and yours all they want, but there’s no denying that this Camry facelift is the UGLIEST CAMRY EVER.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
      • Obviously (Member) on Apr 01, 2015 at 10:04 am

Looks like my simple question has angered the Toyota online/paultan.org sales team. They’ve somehow sunk my post that tried to gauge if there are any who actually likes those attachments. It’s really quite funny.

Actually, I kind of like the new Camry’s styling. It looks more aggressive and less blocky than before which is quite refreshing. It’s just the…cat-whisker things – don’t even know what to call them, that don’t sit well with me. They don’t even make an effort to look like side air-intakes.

• Obviously (Member) on Apr 01, 2015 at 10:05 am

Or I can see the massive downrates as people misinterpreting my post and my “poll” actually did work. There are many, many dislikes. hahahaha

• boschinit on Apr 01, 2015 at 4:43 pm

It’s thumbdown from Toyota SA i believe. See other topics of Toyota and you get the idea

• arkay on Mar 31, 2015 at 11:58 pm

It kinda ugly… but honestly, the whole car looks ugly… it is even worse than the worst design…

• That aftermarket toyota headunit doesn’t fit well on the dashboard. Hybrid one Looks good a lot !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 13
  • WTF with that black plasticky thing on the front bumpers ?!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 11
    • It’s the “make you feel sportier but useless black plastic thing”.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 5
      • KarTiN (Member) on Mar 31, 2015 at 8:42 pm

Cheaper option than vent it be be functional.

Sure go faster with this sporty option.

• kington on Mar 31, 2015 at 3:02 pm

Hints of the Mirai hydrogen car.

• EcoBoss on Mar 31, 2015 at 12:59 pm

2.0 litre VVT-iW D-4S engine. The direct-injection 6AR-FSE unit, making 167 PS at 6,500 rpm and 199 Nm of torque at 4,600 rpm

Wow. Toyota 2000cc VVT-iw D-4S Direct-injection 6AR-FSE.
    167PS and 199Nm of torque!

Dont talk about Hybrid.
    Accord and Mazda 6 only 155hp.

Toyota, ECoBoss.
    Powerful yet fuel saving in it’s very own segment.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 19
    • Toyota 6AR-FSE 167PS @ 6,500rpm / 199 Nm @ 4,600rpm
      Honda 155PS @ 6,500rpm / 190 Nm @ 4,300rpm
      Mazda Skyactive 155HP @ 6,000rpm / 200 Nm @ 4,000rpm
      Ford Ecoboost 245 hp (183 kW; 248 PS), 275 lb·ft (373 N·m) #toyotawhat?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 3
      • As NAME stated, Toyota do have have power output and torque compared to Honda and Mazda. However, you have to rev Toyota’s engine higher (a bit) to achieve max output. It is all about how much usable power you can use during normal usage. Hopefully, the low end torque of Toyota’s will be good or better than Mazda and Honda. Not only making the car more fun to drive, but saving fuel as well.

• kington on Mar 31, 2015 at 3:01 pm

I’m surprised of the 6 speed torque converter gear box offered for the 2 litre models. I was expecting CVT.

Good job.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 4
    • Sam Loo (ori1) on Mar 31, 2015 at 3:30 pm

Guys, please don’t add salt to the wound of kimchi fellas.

They are now beyond hailat with the new Camry launching

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 8
      • harkmee on Mar 31, 2015 at 4:21 pm

sam loo you should thank those holy bashers for how powerful their words are until UMV have to have this replacing that previous shameful overpriced dinasour camry! everyone can rejoice now! and you can dump your undergarments promoter job now! welcome back UMW!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 26
      • Toyota Salesman Crying on Mar 31, 2015 at 5:28 pm

As a kimchi victim myself, I would now jump ship as sell Hyundais instead.

It will be interesting to see a Hyundai Salesman driving an Accord

• http://paultan.org/2015/03/23/toyota-camry-facelift-hybrid-line-off/sony-dsc-2134/ -> Summary of all Camry drivers..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 18
  • FIST (Member) on Mar 31, 2015 at 1:10 pm

Whaaa only 16 inch rims?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 13
  • sudonano (Member) on Mar 31, 2015 at 1:12 pm

Are they actually going to call the Hybrid the 2.5HV? Name seems a bit odd, I’d rather have Camry Hybrid V instead, drop the 2.5.

But for the 2.0G, dump the bodykit, this car cannot pull off go faster bits. Otherwise it seems reasonable, I’m waiting to see the final safety kit, cause I don’t see the SRS Side Airbag tags on the seats – potentially blocked by the B pillar in the photos but yeah…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 15
    • Toyota Salesman Crying on Mar 31, 2015 at 1:42 pm

First Camry Hybrid was AHV40 basing on ACV40 model, now I believe that the basing on ASV50 model, it is code named AHV50

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 1
  • For some reason Toyota lost its charm compared to its competitors in terms of looks inside out.

Thanks to UMW for being a catalyst in Malaysia.

Lot to think for the think-tanks….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 19
  • sudonano (Member) on Mar 31, 2015 at 1:25 pm

Just saw the power figures of the new 6AR unit, I must say, those are pretty impressive for a 2.0, thanks to the direct injection tech. What I am very curious to see is how Toyota’s direct and indirect injection system will be. One of the thing with direct injection is the clatter – something very famous on pure direct injection cars – and on German ones, I wonder if Toyota’s one will stop the idle clatter of it…

• kington on Mar 31, 2015 at 5:38 pm

I doubt so. My neighbor drives the current RAV4 with direct injection. Clatters. She asked if there was something wrong with her engine.

• Sam L00 on Mar 31, 2015 at 1:27 pm

trouble now..many cases come find me..all korea car trade in..my manager spend me lunch dinner..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 15
  • cajun on Mar 31, 2015 at 1:30 pm

not quite sure about the bodykit..
    can i untick it?

• akulah on Mar 31, 2015 at 1:33 pm

“It is mated to a six-speed torque converter “Super ECT” automatic gearbox with manual mode.”

Is there a doctor here? help..I’m having a heart attack..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 6
    • Sam Loo (ori1) on Mar 31, 2015 at 3:29 pm

I have a defribilator in my yard meant for kimchi owners that has bee shown the Hilux

Come over and i will personally give you a jump start

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
  • cajunized on Mar 31, 2015 at 1:38 pm

not quite sure bout that bodykit, can i untick it?

• Amran PEKIDA Ori on Mar 31, 2015 at 1:42 pm

macam taxi// like one in UAE…owh wai.

• Yeap.. Boss Car.

Dubai Rich fella know how to treat rich fella well.
      Luxury comfort and prestige.

• camrynoclass on Mar 31, 2015 at 5:13 pm

Dubai Rich fella use luxury cars
        Camry no class!

• KarTiN (Member) on Mar 31, 2015 at 8:40 pm

Maybe some save money whole life and hope to drive a Dubai taxi, here is your chance.

• Takesalah on Mar 31, 2015 at 6:35 pm

This is a place where a humble Corolla is also considered luxury… a Camry even more so.

• KarTiN (Member) on Mar 31, 2015 at 9:05 pm

And this is also a place where humble people pays very high tax for cars and compared to per capita income, top of the charts.

• Zoom Zoom on Mar 31, 2015 at 1:52 pm

Wish this camry comes with 6 airbags and VSC as standard.
    Design wise Accord still looks better. Now Camry/teana/M6 all with 6 speed. Accord still using the dated 5 speed.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
  • Rubbish, ugly look exterior and interior

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 9
  • Forgo the wood bits, replace them with brushed aluminium and you’ll get a modern interior fitting for a car in 2015. Also, get rid of the unnecessary body kit, it’s not Evo X.

Wood just reeks of pak cik and uncle taste.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
    • momoi on Mar 31, 2015 at 4:31 pm

I prefer Luxury..

keep the m’modern’ for Ford.

• Luxury? Want luxury, get a Lexus or a BMW. This is an everyman’s car.

• momoi on Mar 31, 2015 at 6:12 pm

in chinese view.

wood is better than metal.
      wood also better to the eye than a metal.

metal is too bold and strong. Wood is natural, soften the harsh interior.

• carazy on Mar 31, 2015 at 2:49 pm

Woww, spare tire also god sportrim weh.

• fake plate number? Selangor should be BMYxxxx right?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 24
    • S2accord on Mar 31, 2015 at 11:51 pm

number plates after BYY wud be B xxxx A. (My assumption bcause no. plates after WYY start wif W xxxx A and so on)

• Daryl on Apr 01, 2015 at 11:00 am

any one can shed some light on this plate no please. First i saw DLCW aventador with B1S plate, then i saw another RR with B1A plate. Does Selangor offer special bidding on this plate no?

• fukken yiu khad on Mar 31, 2015 at 3:30 pm

demmmitt..i’m holding my accord purchase to wait for this car. and now i’m deeply dissapointed. odd looking front, boring interior and lousy specs.
    gonna hold my purchase until i test drive this car, after that then i’ll decide whether to go for H..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 36
    • KarTiN (Member) on Mar 31, 2015 at 9:08 pm

What comparison, if you like the Accord, don’t wait, go get it, in the looks and ergonomics, win hands down. Honda engines are good too.

• fukken yiu khad on Apr 01, 2015 at 8:44 am

thanks for the vouch. gonna pay my booking fee today. plus the post-GST price, i know i’m not gonna regret going for accord

• Joe Hung on Mar 31, 2015 at 3:31 pm

yummy…should have listened to sam loo’s advise not to buy Honda accord and wait for this bomb.
    reason: 1) RV 2) Reliability
    Really regret now…damn

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 17
  • Golf_Shop_Travel on Mar 31, 2015 at 3:36 pm

No mention on the 6 airbags and VSC as standard.
    Look closely at the gallery, under the driver’s right side aircond vent, there are four buttons.
    The second button is the VSC traction control button on the 2.5 model but not on the 2.0 model.
    Malu la, even a RM40k Iriz pun ada six airbags and traction control.
    Toyota will never learn, they are more interested on putting silly trims like chrome, fake woods, roller blinds, tinting and stuffs to increase profitability while ignoring safety. And also only 3-year warranty. Epik fail. In terms of sales this year, Toyota will definitely behind Honda by a large margin. Mark my words.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 10
    • Toyota has gived up on number games..
      Toyota has enough shares in Perodua to Capture malaysia market. With the new Launch Perodua Axia..

Toyota happily pocketing in money.

Perodua – the public car.
      Toyota – the executive car.
      Lexus – the luxury prestige class car.

This is Toyota strategy in Malaysia.

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Mar 31, 2015 at 5:23 pm

At least when you get a Toyota, you don’t have to worry about RV

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
      • Golf_Shop_Travel on Mar 31, 2015 at 6:15 pm

I am happy to hear you agree with my views that they’re not chasing for sales. Then what’s the point of setting up an assembly plant with not VSC?

• i think, they just placed back the vsc button at the central console. http://paultan.org/2015/03/31/gallery-2015-toyota-camry-2-0g-ckd-first-pictures/2015-toyota-camry-2-0-ckd-15/

• see here http://paultan.org/2015/03/31/gallery-2015-toyota-camry-2-0g-ckd-first-pictures/2015-toyota-camry-2-0-ckd-15/

• 16 inch rims on a Camry? what is this 2007?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 13
    • Sam Loo (ori1) on Mar 31, 2015 at 5:21 pm

All Australian Camry Hybrid AHV40 and AHV50 also using 16″ rims. No issues here.

Kimchis that come with 18″ rims, you will have another hailat face when you see the price of the tyres when its time to change

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 5
      • KarTiN (Member) on Mar 31, 2015 at 9:13 pm

If you are into ZERO personality car, look no further.

• In Papua New Guinea they are using 16 inch too. No problems so far.

• KarTiN (Member) on Mar 31, 2015 at 9:11 pm

Lucky it’s not four speed, then it’s 1987

• kenot on Mar 31, 2015 at 3:47 pm

Toyota Camry XV40 is look better than the current version. still look classy. This FL Camry look messy with chrome here and there. too complicated.

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Mar 31, 2015 at 5:17 pm

Yes and No.

Yes in a sense that ACV40 is a solid bugger and the fact its Thai Assembled with Japanese Quality, the car is solidly built with quality component and parts. However, the internal specs is basic.

The ASV50 has better internal specs. The only concern is high content of local parts which may not be of the same quality as the Thai components

• Megane on Mar 31, 2015 at 3:51 pm

Front , side , back , interior – everything about it is distasteful .This is like a 60 yr-old trying to wear a TYR compression top . Yucks !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 10
  • maybe on Mar 31, 2015 at 3:51 pm

UMW chasing after kimchi car drivers

• exterior & interior design.. BORING

• it seems on Mar 31, 2015 at 4:13 pm

UMW is chasing after kimchi car fans

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 9
    • Sam Loo (ori1) on Mar 31, 2015 at 5:22 pm

I am dem dulan with UMW now. Sor hai tai lan ngongs will buy the Camry instead of new Sonata.

Dem, my pipeline of used Sonata is now dwindling

• shawal on Mar 31, 2015 at 4:36 pm

Bodykit optional…..thank god….

Dvd nav optional…. What d hell…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 23
  • Didn’t know that selangor car’s plate has already reach B 001 A lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 5
  • domainicus on Mar 31, 2015 at 5:15 pm

Fussy busy front.But better than the old one. Agreeable look IMHO.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
  • Kenny Goh on Mar 31, 2015 at 5:32 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 130
    • Takesalah on Mar 31, 2015 at 6:31 pm

You know what? I kinda agree with you. I’m beginning to think that the RV cliche is a mere excuse to justify what is otherwise a relatively crap car. :P

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 17
    • Sam Loo (ori1) on Mar 31, 2015 at 7:13 pm

Many ex and current kimchi owners on this forum venting out their frustration.

Most of all, you should thank them for being so open and honest.

Hope that one day you die hard kimchi fans will do the same

• Sam cb number 1 on Mar 31, 2015 at 6:28 pm

Sam is good at thumb down other comment. Too free toyota sales man.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 16
  • Takesalah on Mar 31, 2015 at 6:38 pm

Not ugly… not ugly… not ugly…
    Yep, it’s ugly. Sigh.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 15
  • is these number plate ( B790A, B2475A) valid in malaysia..? why camry photo frm paultan keep on showing these no plate on the road..?

• trade plate ma, these cars are unregistered. u see no road tax on windscreen.

• Many dislike the black plastic thingy or whiskers or whatever haters called it. If it happened that I own this car in the near future, id spray it the same color as the body. Problem Solved…