Toyota Camry Hybrid previewed at KLIMS13

toyota-camry-hybrid-klims 070

Apart from the Toyota Previa, the Toyota Camry Hybrid was also on UMW Toyota Motor’s stand at the ongoing KLIMS13. Dubbed a “Malaysian concept”, the sedan features Modellista wheels and a subtle bodykit. That unique colour is borrowed from Lexus, and so is the perforated leather upholstery.

The Toyota Camry Hybrid is intended for local assembly, pending government rulings on possible tax breaks for large-capacity CKD hybrids. As it is, the current tax exemptions for hybrids with engines displacing under 2,000 cc is set to expire at year-end – read the latest in our report of yesterday’s press conference with MITI minister Datuk Seri Mustapa Mohamed.

However, the upcoming National Automotive Policy (NAP) revision is expected to offer more incentives to locally-assembled Energy Efficient Vehicles, regardless of engine displacement.

If all goes well, the 2.5 litre-engined CKD Camry Hybrid should therefore benefit from this; still, it’s expected to be priced a little higher than the current range-topping Camry 2.5V, which costs RM181k.

At the heart of things are a 160 PS/213 Nm 2.5 litre 2AR-FXE single VVT-i Atkinson cycle petrol engine, a 143 PS/270 Nm electric motor and an e-CVT – the same combination can be found in the Lexus ES 300h.

Total output is 205 PS, allowing a century sprint time of 8.6 seconds (2.5V does it in 9.7). Fuel consumption is rated at an average 19.6 km per litre compared to the petrol’s 13.0.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• Toyota never change the new look, if those are CKD hoping it should b less than RM 130k to 110k? maybe not

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 29
    • dino years on Nov 18, 2013 at 5:42 pm

ah beng bodykit for the ah beng unclish drivers.
      real uncles get an e class. :P

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
  • Sam Loo on Nov 16, 2013 at 1:38 pm

The Camry Hybrid seems to be the replacement choice for ex-Sonata owners that has been showed the Hilux.

For K5 owners can can’t trade in their cars, most will choose to buy a Vios instead and keep the cabbage to rot at home

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 53
    • Hi lat on Nov 16, 2013 at 4:18 pm

Sam loo = samshowedmethehilux.
      Shut it already. Everybody know u r parading as 2 different ppl. And all u keep repeating is hilux and rv.
      Even toyota quality is sht now. Don’t force ppl post kaki patah links here again.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 26
    • Sam Loo on Nov 16, 2013 at 5:06 pm

Nope, he works for me now, bizzy like hell today showing Hyundai owners the Hilux and using broomsticks to shove KIA owners out

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 29
    • Kereta on Nov 16, 2013 at 10:03 pm

Hey, Paul Tan, please do an interview with Sam Loo. Please include photos of the Hilux and the trade-in Kimchi cars. It will be a popular post, lots of people want to see if Sam Loo is real.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 6
      • sutrak on Nov 18, 2013 at 3:54 pm

i don’t give a damn. the sam i know is hiding in the loo.

• arghhh! my eyesss

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 15
    • dino years on Nov 16, 2013 at 3:45 pm

CKD + hybrid incentives, still cannot price it better? 200k? Don’t talk crap about tax or protectionism because 80k more gets you an audi a6 hybrid which is so much better than this scrap metal. however, at least they didnt try to hoist the 4 speed on us again, thats a plus…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 8
  • The gear level has “B” , what is the B function?

• domainicus on Nov 16, 2013 at 3:02 pm

It’s braking (engine?) extra function to harness energy to the alternator or battery or something for extra power conservation,IMHO.

• Jason on Nov 16, 2013 at 3:05 pm

“B” is braking for downhill.

• khairil on Nov 16, 2013 at 3:51 pm

I’ve drove this car before in Japan.. I got 1000km++ with single tank of just 50L.. The “b” stands for engine braking..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
    • bigman on Dec 15, 2013 at 4:05 pm

if u use “b” when u brake , u can charge ur car battery batter compare to when u using “d” gear

• Gat chance on Nov 16, 2013 at 2:16 pm

Fat chance. As seen in the article, expect it to be higher price than Camry 2.5. U didn’t know umw is blood sucker? Sucking the nation with high price kosong car so long.
    If not how they manage to create fake perception that toyota has higher resale value? We already paid for the resale value during purchase.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 4
  • anti toy on Nov 16, 2013 at 2:21 pm

Audi A6 Hybrid and BMW AH5 better than this.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 6
    • frenzyaustin on Nov 16, 2013 at 7:17 pm

Mercedes S class are better than those 2, because price

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
  • Sam Loo on Nov 16, 2013 at 2:36 pm

A right way to go Toyota, this vehicle will beat kimchis in terms of quality, durability etc. That way, the trade in value for KIA’s will nose dive further,making exports to Bangladesh viable.
    furthermore, in terms of built quality – Hyundai is definitely better, and in terms of after sales service, Naza sucks big time. So good luck to KIA owners

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 44
    • dino years on Nov 16, 2013 at 3:58 pm

this car’s nose is so ugly, i wonder whether it will dive faster than kia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 8
      • U kidding? on Nov 16, 2013 at 4:15 pm

U kidding me? It’s back is so ugly that the 2 big rectangle back light keep reminding me of Lady Gaga’s thing to wear special rectangle mask bras to concert.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 7
      • You Korean supporter.
        Go rot yourself in the Korea world.

Stop ruining the road by spamming kimchi and Kpop.

• FU Sam Loo on Nov 16, 2013 at 6:04 pm

dear toyota god,

please spare a place in heaven for sam loo..admittance a.s.a.p..he deserve it very much..earth is no longer a suitable place for him to stay..please..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 5
  • Honda should launch the 2.0 litre Accord Hybrid here…Logically, it wont be more expensive than the 2.4. Furthermore, its more efficient (almost as efficient as the Prius) than the camry hybrid, and has good power too.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 2
    • Honda is still looking at the current state of the Hybrid-tax-exemption’s future before commiting the Accord’s hybrid introduction but. I don’t know weather the Accord Hybrid is a premium over the 2.5l(like how the Camry is) as its only market now(Japan) only sells the hybrid exclusively without the NA version available.

• Bob_B78 on Nov 16, 2013 at 7:18 pm

I read a review on Accord Hybrid and actually is better than prius. Best FC achieved was 80 mpg = 3.5l/100km. The best recorded for Prius was 60 mpg = 4.7l/100km.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 7
      • u should read again, honda accord hybrid is around 50mpg, 80mpg is definitely not right.

• u shouldnt confuse Accord PLUG-IN HYBRID with Accord HYBRID….
        Toyota also has PRIUS PLUG-IN HYBRID, aside from Prius..

• It’s silly to think that this car will be cheaper than the 2.5 Camry. The cheapest it will be would be is around 180k

I predict it would be circa 200k CKD-ed

• jolly_idiot on Nov 16, 2013 at 2:42 pm

I think this won’t come cheap. Be prepare it’ll rocket the price to 250k ~ 300k

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 7
  • Jimmy on Nov 16, 2013 at 3:29 pm

The B is for BOOST ..like knight rider wan…Hahahahahhaah…

• We malaysian have been ripped off,

The prius c come at Port Klang priced at RM60,000. Then sell at RM97000. Price wise if sell at RM80,000 more appropriate.

This camry hybrid when come to port Klang at RM90,000… then they want mark up to RM181,000.

They say it duty import and excise free, but actually with hybrid models they earn lot lot of profits. Sad to the public. They make u think it cheap by remove the tax, but they price it they same as taxed car hence more profits for them.

The car price we pay now is double or more…..because of tax. In reality hybrid car should cost half the non hybrid. Because of extra component hybrid is usually around 3000usd more than none hybrid car price. In reality the camry should be priced 171000/2 =85000 + RM10k due to hybrid components that about 95K. With this price the already make a lot of profits……..but the want it at 180,000. This can only happen in Malaysia where so many corruption happen.

What we can do;
    1) Stick to you own car. After finish buying loan just use it.
    2) Wait another 5 year for another vote.
    3) Invest in gold….if u rich buy property.
    4) Educate yourself.

The government does not care about public interest, they much attracted to own personal interest. My opinion might sound a bit negative although we must thankful for peace country. But without critics and compare from those better than us, how can we improve ourself……..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 74 Thumb down 5
  • Whynot on Nov 16, 2013 at 4:16 pm

Why build hybird with a massive 2.5L engine? Shouldn’t that hybird should have tune down the engine capacity to save fuel or this model is just to show off the muscles?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
    • Its because Toyota uses the Atkinson cycle for its hybrid cars. Even after discounting the hybrid part, a 2.5l Atkinson cycle car is still more efficient than a 2.0l Otto cycle car assuming all else being equal.

• james on Nov 16, 2013 at 6:45 pm

it’s totally not logic if the price higher than petrol version if hybrid get full tax exemption.
    Do your math please Mr. Gov…..Do cheat blindly..

• PauKaya on Nov 16, 2013 at 7:32 pm

those rims actually look rather good

• sohai on Nov 16, 2013 at 9:05 pm

Just get a Hyundai i40, done.

• anything but blood sucking UMW toyo on Nov 16, 2013 at 11:27 pm

any other brand but blood sucking toyo.
      heck there are so many better car with better specs and features out there: mazda, Peugeot, ford, kia, Hyundai, CKD VW. heck even Honda is way above UMW now with better price and specs (except Accord).
      just avoid UMW like a plague. they need to hike up price 100% even after tax, to pay salesman like sam and showmethehilux(suspect same person?)

• seewhy on Nov 16, 2013 at 11:12 pm

The interior wooden trim (with ash tray?) and the gearbox is super fugly…

• wow..u can see the gearbox which is hidden underneath the engine in the engine compartment??

• toyota lover on Nov 17, 2013 at 8:14 pm

i m looking forward to own this for sure.

good move Toyota

• Tom78 on Nov 18, 2013 at 5:26 pm

I do like the looks more than the standard camry (especially the new wheels & LED headlamps) but UMW come on! Give us more airbags/safety feature. Oh another thing, what is with that cheap plastic on the media hub?

• zalendo on Nov 18, 2013 at 5:53 pm

if wan cheaper hybrid than need to wait proton&p2 to committ the market :)

• cloud85 on Nov 18, 2013 at 10:20 pm

UMW really blood sucking company….
    quick comparison base on US Toyota,
    highest spec Camry = USD 24, 855
    highest spec Camry hybrid = USD 27, 670

hence in Malaysia, hybrid get tax exemption (if Gov revise to include bigger size engine capacity), thus, Camry Hybrid should be cheaper than flagship 2.5L Camry at RM 181,000 (which is 2.41x than US Camry price which including tax)….

Gomen is one thing….but UMW really blood sucking…take advantage of average Malaysian mentality that think the price is expensive due to tax…but too bad, too many Malaysian worship UMW Toyota here…that’s why they can act like a boss….Camry and Vios quantity on the road already prove it malaysian worship toyoya UMW.