MAA releases 2014 TIV – 666,465 cars sold in Malaysia

maa-tiv-figures-2014

The Malaysian Automotive Association (MAA) has released the official total industry volume (TIV) for the year 2014. A total of 666,465 units were sold, a slight increase from 2013’s 655,793 units.

It wouldn’t have been so if not for December, which ended up with the highest monthly figure of the year with 64,660 units, a year-on-year growth of 6.9% over the 60,493 units quoted for December 2013. Aggressive promotional campaigns by car brands were behind the increase.

Who sold what in 2014? Malaysian Automotive Institute (MAI) showed us the pie at its 2014/15 review earlier this month. Perodua recorded a market share of 29.4% (195k units), ahead of Proton’s 17.4% (115k units), which adds up to a combined market share of 46.8%.

2014 malaysia market share

It means that non-national automakers now command a dominant share of the Malaysian market, the first time this has happened. Toyota leads the non-national charge, but Honda was the biggest gainer in 2014 thanks to the City and Jazz. See the pie here.

As bright as the future looks, MAA has predicted a slump in sales for the month of January this year, citing “excessive year-end offers given by car companies in December 2014.” However, performance is expected to improve in February with the introduction of promotional campaigns for the Chinese New Year celebrations.

For 2015, MAI has forecasted TIV figures to break the 700,000-unit barrier, representing a leap of 5% over 2014’s figure. The think-tank is also predicting a reverse in the national vs non-national race, 52% in favour of the local players. MAA’s 2015 TIV forecast is 680,000 units.

Gregory Sze

An “actor” by training, Gregory Sze realised that he has had enough of drama in his life. Following his number one passion (acting was actually number two), he decided to make the jump into the realm of automotive journalism. He appreciates the simple things in life – a simple car with nothing but back-to-basics mechanical engineering and minimal electronics on board.

• No.. they wont, non national cars will still lead the way..
    Honda Toyota and Nissan are gaining market bcos of the RM70k+- range vehicle.. given tat proton have preve, but ppl still choose Vios Almera City and Jazz.. wat difference can proton made this year?.. Iriz will just substitute aging saga sales figure or grabbing sales from potential myvi owners tats all. Sedan market sale left untouched.

There are more demands for SUV and D-segment but p1p2 dont produce them..

Non national cars still lead the way..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 6
    • Why Proton still not close shop?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 42
      • Ah Beng (Member) on Jan 22, 2015 at 2:08 pm

RTD need to enforce all safety features as requirement in all B-segments car for Perodua, Toyota and Nissan as it will make fair competition with PROTON. On the other hand, PROTON is now developing direct injection engine which will have better fuel consumption and comply with emission Euro 5. It will boost PROTON sales in global especially Europe in coming 2 years.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 42
        • IrizX on Jan 22, 2015 at 2:38 pm

“better fuel consumption”…as if the Campro has not suck enough fuel mercilessly and pollute the country the last what…15 years???

And the “new” VVT is nothing more than an un-CFE Campro in disguise.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 3
          • Same L0rrrr on Jan 22, 2015 at 4:06 pm

You guys don’t buy Proton? Proton might as well ask the money from government (RM1600mils in 2014).

One way or other, you are subsidizing Proton.

Proton won’t fall before government fall.

Government won’t fall because every Malaysian fall.

So asking Proton to close shop? You better file yourself bankruptcy first.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 10
          • Maserati(Official) on Jan 22, 2015 at 4:17 pm

I don’t know why the Government and MITI pay MAA to exist. All they do is compile data from each manufacturer of their sales. But Government and MITI pay them hundreds of millions per year on staff salary.

Even a Form 5 boy can collect all the sales figures from each car manufacturer and give you sales figures.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 6
          • Maserati(Official) on Jan 22, 2015 at 4:40 pm

This is all our dishonest Government trying to show people economy is good and everything is well.

We all know better. 40% of Gov revenue come from oil and oil is about to be US$20. Government got no more money. Near bankrupt.

Adding to that, they got to spend tens of billions to fix the flood damage.

MAA and MAI will come out with many charts and predictions this year giving you a feel good feeling and telling you economy is doing great. But all lies. MAI and MAA are puppets of the Government

You want to buy good car? Wait until year end. Many people predict that so many cars will be tarik balik, 2nd hand car dealers going bust and so on.

Good deals are year end 2015

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 6
        • MAI and Madani - Pls Be Good Leaders on Jan 22, 2015 at 3:28 pm

Both Madani and Aishah are bum worshippers and are dishonest and give crap.

Aishah used to fight a lot for consumers and better car spec and prices until she got her Datukship. After she got her Datukship, MAA started to sing a different tune and became pro government and pro high car prices.

Madani, don’t talk lah. All that comes out from his mouth is bogus lies and no benefit to consumers.

MAA and MAI, especially their bosses Madani and Aishah, dont talk about TIV. What is more important is, where is your boss najib’s promise to reduce car prices by 30%?

Both you MAI and MAA, always talk rubbish. But making your boss Jabib to honour his promise to the rakyat to reduce car prices, that you all so scared to do. Be brave. Be leaders.

Both of you cannot be all the time kipas Najib all the time. Act with dignity and ask you boss Najib to honour his promise of 30% reduction in car prices.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 15
          • Close MAI & MAA down on Jan 22, 2015 at 5:05 pm

Better close both these organisations down. They do nothing. We are still paying 3x the price of cars based on global car prices.

Honda Accord and Toyota Camry in the US only cost USD$20,000 for the 2.4 and 25 units. But here we pay RM180,000.

MAI and MAA are the biggest crooks to support high car prices.

• HAMEED KOYAKUTTY on Jan 23, 2015 at 9:11 am

Agree with u…
            Dato Aishah oredi a changed figure…

MITI, check Madani’s qualification and experience….uninspirational dude..

• Dhivagar on Jan 22, 2015 at 3:51 pm

Why proton boost here and there about safety but Malaysian still dont buy Proton??
          Because of terrible quality and unreliable engine and Cvt gearbox.

People rather get Honda Jazz or City full spec,safety also 6 airbag and VSA.
          But it is more reliable and better quality than any Proton so called global car laa game changer laa all bull shit.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 4
          • Close Down Proton on Jan 22, 2015 at 5:31 pm

Better to just close Proton down. It is solely because of Proton that for 30 years, 30 million people in Malaysia suffer. Everybody’s biggest payment per month is their cars as we are paying overpriced cars because of the Protectionism given to Proton.

You see, in the 80s or even in the early 90s, you can get a brand new Nissan 130Y or a Toyota Corolla for RM20,000. Now, the same car is RM139,000.

In truth, the past 30 years, car prices have come down a lot and have not gone up due to inflation. It has come down due to economies of scale. This is proven by the fact that you can get a brand new purely Japan made top spec Toyota Camry 2.5 with 9 airbags in the US for US$22,000. That is about RM60,000. The normal B segment car like the Almera is sold in the US for US$9,999. (RM30,000). Mind you, this is after Toyota and Nissan of the US has made their margin and profits and the US government has collected taxes and duties from Nissan and Toyota. The direct from factory prices is far cheaper. UMW will get the above 2.5 Camry for US$15,000 from their principal in Japan. As our Camry is CKD, the price is even lower than that.

So, in actual fact, most Malaysians can enjoy cheap and reasonable cars but because of Proton, all the other car prices have been raised up tremendously to protect Proton. Pro Proton pondans will say that even Proton pay duties and taxes but every Malaysian know that MITI has clearly instructed all other car brands to price their cars no less than RM20,000 higher gap than Proton to protect the dying Proton.

Malaysians have already suffered so much. For 30 years, 30 million people suffer so much. We struggle paying for our high car prices all because of Proton. And it will suck all our money dry. Every now and then, Proton will ask our money to support the company.

In 1985, Proton was conceived to lessen the burden of the rakyat. That was the speech Mahathir gave on that launch day. If so, why do Proton cars get higher interest rates?

It looks like Proton is not to benefit the rakyat. Infact, besides making the rakyat suffer, Proton bleeds the rakyat. Every year, Proton gets hundreds of million of taxpayers money as form of research grants to keep the company afloat. Last year, Proton even asked the government to give them 2 billion ringgit. Government said no in a sandiwara show. But we know, they will get the money quietly. Now, they are openly asking even more for the Research and Development. How long must we Malaysians suffer? Isn’t 30 years of free money into Proton coffers enough?

Proton also cost us hundreds of billions in ringgit in investments from car companies who moved to Thailand and Indonesia. Car companies got fed up with Malaysia’s MITI for protecting Proton and telling other companies what to price their cars. They all moved their operations to Thailand making it the AutoCity of the world.

Recently GM announced that they rolled out already 1 million cars from Thailand. Imagine if GM was in Malaysia and we taxed GM RM10,000 per car. Calculate that with 1 million cars. Just from GM alone, we lost Billions in USD. That is just one company. Imagine all the different car brands from Cadillac, Ford, Buick, VW etc

Because of Proton, we lost hundreds of billion of ringgit in investment and trillions of ringgit from jobs lost. If Malaysia was the autocity of Asia, hundreds of thousands of jobs would have been created for Malaysians. In the 80s and 90s, we were heading to be the Detroit of Asia. Everybody wanted to CKD in Malaysia. We lost all that. Trillions.

Close down Proton. Open Malaysia back again to all the car manufacturers. They prefer Malaysians as opposed to Thais because Malaysians can speak well and are more intelligent. We will see billions, of not trillions flow into our economy vs to now, where Proton is just sucking our money.

Time to close Proton down. It is a waste of of taxpayers money supporting an organisation that loses money every year and sucks our tax payers money daily

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 22
        • Dhivagar on Jan 22, 2015 at 3:54 pm

Will Proton sell this year??
          Let the sales figure tells.
          No need those shiok sendiri Proton supporter shout here and there.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
        • Adik manis on Jan 22, 2015 at 5:15 pm

“It will boost PROTON sales in global especially Europe in coming 2 years”

Wow, make loss still wanna dreaming again kah?

Better accept your new gaji minimum RM850 at new Proton Bangladesh factory lah.

• Maserati(Official) on Jan 22, 2015 at 5:21 pm

Proton is an utter failure. Don’t know why we are supporting a company that is a total failure Even force Malaysians also to buy by protection still can fail.

Failure.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
      • Proton is dying slowly and later on looking for big boys as buyer.. dont worry they r dying soon..

• Because there will always be people like us who supports true innovation. Unlike you, you parasite.

• ProtonGSC on Jan 22, 2015 at 1:42 pm

Proton ego and arrogant make by the management end of to-date result “total failure”.

DrM will continue to blame Rakyat or ask more R&D from Govt??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 8
    • Dhivagar on Jan 22, 2015 at 3:48 pm

Sales statistics wont lie,very simple.

People now smart already,they wont kena tipu and fall into Proton global car trap.

Malaysia people just want a reliable and jimat minyak car to own and drive.

So Honda City or Jazz automatically become their choice,rather than Preve and Suprima and Iriz.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
      • Adik manis on Jan 22, 2015 at 5:18 pm

With new factory in Bangladesh, Proton can cut down cost and sell car at more cheaper price.

Finally Ah Beng can tell proudly his Proton is CBU fully imported car (made in Bangla lah).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
    • Saga sells only because it’s a sedan. Iriz? save it.

• SkullJuJu on Jan 22, 2015 at 1:14 pm

How are we going to protest against the car prices if people keep buying them?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 3
    • takNakP1 on Jan 22, 2015 at 2:40 pm

until the buying stop, the price will never go down.

G controls the car selling price. Distributor will then strip out features to increase profit margin.

Unless the buying stop, there will be no pressure from both party to adjust the price & provide more value for money car.

Well, one may argue the price may not go down even if sales drop drastically. Well, better everyone feel the pain instead of just the people feeling the ridiculous 9yrs & and near to 1k monthly loan repayment.

Basic economic – supply & demand

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
    • Wat do u expect? Msia public transport crap.. and you expect ppl stop buying cars n walk to work, schools, grocery shop, holiday?

I rather eat bread everyday than buying a plotong..

• takNakP1 on Jan 23, 2015 at 1:17 am

I would expect ppl to stop change car with new car lower maintenance cost mentality and learn to maintain & drive their car properly. But I believe the majorities real reason is “upgrade & look cool”.

• Abu Sayur on Jan 22, 2015 at 1:21 pm

655,793 cars sold even if they collect Rm1000 tax on each car. They would earn themselves Rm655mil in taxes. Crazy if u think about it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 6
    • takNakP1 on Jan 22, 2015 at 2:46 pm

what RM1000?
      the last reported tax collection was like 7-8bil.
      It is easily more than RM10k per car on average.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 6
    • Mozilla Chrome on Jan 22, 2015 at 3:23 pm

Read “if”..

• P1NakSonglap on Jan 22, 2015 at 3:39 pm

If P1 is still around, cronies will continue to run the country

• dodgeviper88 on Jan 22, 2015 at 1:36 pm

I think the car manufacturers are playing the gst tactic thus more people who are planning to buy this year might expedite their vehicle purchase.

• toyotafan on Jan 22, 2015 at 1:49 pm

Have you ever wondered that the number of cars produced or sold is even more than the number of new pupils entering standard 1 or the number of people taking PT3 (circa 350k to 400k) per year?

Think you can afford a car it it? You have 2 years before USD120 per barrel. Guess, there will be more people whining about cost of living then.

Having the $ in the bank beats servicing the loan anytime.

• Low Budget on Jan 22, 2015 at 3:33 pm

Price of Mineral Oil dipping below US $30 is a reality withing the next few months, if that happens, many people will be out of jobs, bank got no money to lend and people will stop buying new cars.

• U think after u buy 1 car can last you for life meh.. there are always repurchase from existing car owners mah..

Price of commodities like metal and oil are going down as price are correcting itself after all the artificial inflated by futures and options.. days of baby boomers are over, price of commodities need a very long time to go up again as population growth are not as aggressive as the our parent’s generations..

As more and more renewable energy invented, cars are getting more efficient like hybrid, ev and hydrogen.. public transport is improving.. internet is improving and more ppl work from home n less commuting..

The world is heading aging population with lesser children per parents like china Japan n europe, economy growth is really slowing..

We might need a few more decades to see the raise in commodities price..

Do read up more about economy and demography

• lvlau on Jan 22, 2015 at 1:57 pm

Gov will be even happy if foreign car sales increase. More income for the country.

• Nenek Kau on Jan 22, 2015 at 1:59 pm

indirectly, the non-national graph shows malaysian household economy…yes (up) or no (down)?

• Low Budget on Jan 22, 2015 at 3:38 pm

If economy goes up, people will not take 9 year loan to pay for their car, my prediction is towards end of this year, many people will default loan, some 2nd hand car dealers will go ‘kaput’, there will be plentiful of repossess 2nd hand cars for sales end of this year.

• Economist on Jan 22, 2015 at 3:57 pm

Something is not right, Proton still not close shop even when losing money?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 11
        • Low Budget on Jan 22, 2015 at 6:28 pm

Prop up artificially with some nationalistic and foolish pride that goes against business logic.

• Economist on Jan 22, 2015 at 6:57 pm

Proton want to wait until 1% market share ah?

• 4G63T DSM on Jan 22, 2015 at 4:30 pm

Correct.

People only take 9 year loans expecting the economy to improve, their jobs are secure and the yearly increment and bonus comes on time. If one has to take a 9 year loan to buy a car, its already a given they are in no financial condition to own one (or at least of that price).

2015 is a year that everyone expects the economy to slow down if not worst. Expected increase in cost will dent the consumer market and confidence and those with car will likely hold on to them a few more years longer. Those that need cars will likely pick up a 2nd hand unit.

Not sure how MAI can forecast growth in this market. The engine that the economy runs on is almost empty.

Given this, demand can only go up if price goes down. The only way the TIV can grow is when the taxes are removed…and people changing into safer more fuel efficient cars. Perhaps MAI knows something we dont. Election is coming up in a few years, the incumbent government is sure to throw out some expected candies.

• takNakP1 on Jan 23, 2015 at 1:24 am

“Perhaps MAI knows something we dont”

common sense says the G body always want us to think other wise for the cronies benefits.

• yess that’s what i thought exactly. I dont really understand how car sales could improve this year given economic forecast. Actually I even fail to understand how car sales even managed to break 600k figure last year. I thought people are more careful with their spending coz that’s what i’ve been doing these years. Malaysia household debt is already one of the highest in the world.

• cendol (Member) on Jan 22, 2015 at 3:56 pm

Proton sales has been dropping for 14 years straight.
    Congratulations Proton.
    Keep up the good work

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
  • Protong dying lah, close shop lah.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 7
    • syiok-syiok on Jan 22, 2015 at 5:00 pm

Calling others coffin cars, now Proton is going to grave without coffin

• masimo on Jan 22, 2015 at 5:14 pm

Proton better convert its factories as kilang roti, sell roti at Tun Mama bakery shop.

Time to compete with Gardenia, not Perodua.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 6
      • Low Budget on Jan 22, 2015 at 6:24 pm

His bakery shops also not profitable. His employees stealing money from the cash boxes, his bakery managers also submit false sales figures.

• Azlan Sharif on Sep 17, 2015 at 12:10 am

Saying is easy. Try to run a small manufacturing then you know how difficult it is. FYI Perodua is not purely “national car”. Most of the components is CKD! Don’t believe let put everything on table.

• rosdi on Jan 22, 2015 at 5:16 pm

Why Perodua is national?

• Wilson on Jan 22, 2015 at 6:23 pm

Before: Proton is selling cheaper, people sure will buy. In fact, Proton’s sales is going down every year.

After: Proton is selling too cheap, people tend to buy high price car! In fact, people are forced to buy a better built car.

• I think the tables are missing some negative signs. E.g. total production fell both in Dec and YTD yes?

Anyway, its very ambitious that they predict sales will top 700k when the economic outlook is not good, weaker RM could force CBU car price hikes, GST will reduce disposable income.

• Faridz on Jan 24, 2015 at 10:36 am

When currency weak CBU price increase. When RM was strong against US dollar, Euro and Yen. Fucking cronies didnt seems to bother about lowering the price. Those on top, ur days are numbered. Dont treat rakyat like dirt. Only import 2nd hand cheapo Alphard and Vellfire but sell at high price. Even the street id flooded with luxury cars, it doesnt mean G can remain the excise duty and penalize the rakyat. Some of the riches afford by own means and not makan suap from G. Excise duty is a very unhealthy thing and please abolish it.

Judging by their greedy nature, reducing all CBU and CKD car by 15% – 20% is more than enough for most of us.

• The day Proton declare bankrupt. There will be some celebration somewhere I bet!