Malaysia Automotive Institute 2014/15 review, insight

MAI_14_15_review_ 001

The Malaysia Automotive Institute (MAI) has provided its review for 2014 as well as its forecast pertaining to several criteria and undertakings for 2015. For 2014, the total industry volume (TIV) for Malaysia has seen an increase of 1.5%, to a total of 665,675 units – a step up from 655,793 for the year 2013.

Several factors for the growth were mentioned including the introduction of new models with better fuel efficiency and safety, more competitive prices and on-going promotions by manufacturers. Perodua continues to maintain dominance of the market share – with a TIV figure of 195,000 – despite falling slightly by 0.5% to 29.4% this year.

Proton remains in second position despite a more significant fall in market share with percentages slipping by 3.8% to 17.4% compared to the 2013’s figure of 21.2%. It records a TIV figure of 115,000. In total, local manufacturers make up a total of 46.8% of the market share.

While UMW Toyota occupies third position with a TIV figure of 102,000 and a market share hold of 15.3%, it is Honda Malaysia that is listed as the biggest gainer as it now holds a 11.6% market share over 2013’s figure of 7.9% – an increase of 3.7%.

In total, sales from the top four manufacturers represent a 65% share of the market with the Perodua Myvi chalking up 82,000 sales, followed by the Alza at 55,000 and newly-introduced Axia at 29,000 units. The Saga remains Proton’s best-seller with 56,000 units sold while sales of the Persona and Exora total at 21,000 and 15,000 units, respectively.

For the year 2015, MAI has stated that its forecasted TIV figure of 700,000 units will be “maintained” – which would signify a growth of 5.1% from 2014. A further increase to 750,000 units is touted pending the viability of various consumer incentive schemes – chief of which is a ‘Cash for Clunkers’ programme.

Several key issues were also brought to light including the appreciating US Dollar (US$) against all major currencies. The immediate impact felt by manufacturers would stem from materials and supplies – which represent 30% – being traded based on current Forex rates. According to MAI, a committee has been set up to monitor the situation across the supply chain.

Looking forward, several key initiatives to further expand the local automotive landscape have been given the green light. The list consists of the development of fundamental technologies including the manufacturing of engines and transmissions, lithium-ion battery technology, electric vehicles (EVs) as well as the introduction of Euro 4 and 5 diesel to several states.

Gregory Sze

An “actor” by training, Gregory Sze realised that he has had enough of drama in his life. Following his number one passion (acting was actually number two), he decided to make the jump into the realm of automotive journalism. He appreciates the simple things in life – a simple car with nothing but back-to-basics mechanical engineering and minimal electronics on board.

• Burong on Jan 12, 2015 at 2:43 pm

Fuel price no subsidy, car excite duty maintain, anounce to increase next year to due to strong USD. So Putrajaya will take all the gain while rakyat continue to suffer.

When election is near, only drop in the car price little. For show and to gain some votes. Malaysia boleh.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 108 Thumb down 4
    • Game Over Proton on Jan 12, 2015 at 3:03 pm

Bad year 2015 ahead for Proton. Decreasing market share despite Iriz heboh sana sini, while Lotus posting at least RM300 million loss.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 4
      • What is the rational in protecting Proton if the sales of its cars are declining?

• MAI - The Con Artist on Jan 13, 2015 at 9:57 am

Madani Sahari is actually a puppet used by the Government to confuse the car buying community to con them into paying high car prices.

Before Madani comes out with all his predictions and analysis, may I remind you Madani, whatever you have told us in the past has not come out at all. In the past you told us that the Government was moving towards EEV. Many people took your advice and bought Hybrids. Then suddenly, Government themselves pulled the plug on the tax issue and said no more tax benefits on hybrid. So many people were left stuck. Honda also took Madani’s advice and set up billion dollar plant to CKD the Civic and Jazz. That also went down the drain. Billions wasted because Madani gave “false” direction to all the local companies to set CKD Hybrid in Malaysia. Those who bought Hybrids also now suffer because Insurance premiums have gone up (Insurance companies now value your car not RM150,000 but RM250,000) and to replace a stolen Civic Hybrid would cost that much. So, current owners of Hybrid suffer with higher premiums and also nobody wants to touch these cars in the 2nd hand market because the price is like yo yo. So what happened Madani? You always come out with heavy duty charts to show Government encouraging EEV and Hybrids, now apa jadi?

Second issue is, Madani should, before coming out with all his usual nonsense from his mouth, he should ask his boss Najib, what happened to Najib’s promise to reduce car prices by 30%?

Najib, before the elections last year promised all MAlaysians that he would reduce car prices by 30% if we voted BN in. He said not to trust PKR because PKR was dishonest. he further stressed that BN always kept their promises and that it was 100% sure he would reduce car prices by 30%

So what happened to Madani’s boss Najib and his promise?

Madani, instead of kipas Najib and waiting for your Datukship, do something for the rakyat. Even the AP issue also you have not sorted out. the PEKEMA theives are stealing so much from the rakyat and MAI and MITI and the Government close an eye. 30 million people suffer just for 20 PEKEMA members to make billions per annum each.

So, why Madani you come out with all this analysis and prediction when two most important things you have not done

1) Najib’s Promise to reduce car prices 30%
        2) Abolishing the PEKEMA AP conmen

• Same L0rrrr on Jan 12, 2015 at 3:37 pm

Here come the figures and facts!!!

Proton sells what car the most: Saga, Persona and Exora. Do they have 7 airbags and VSC? NOOOO!!!!!!

So when Proton fanboys huuhaa bluff syok sendiri on Proton’s safety, please think again: What is point Preve/Suprima S/Iriz have so much safety features as they are merely SHOWROOM cars?

And those who keep on saying Toyota sales drop bullshit… Sales figure tell. Wake up.

Loser still lose, hater still hate and Syok Sendiri still Syok out of NOTHING! And my Toyota still sell like hot cakes!

That’s why I always said “You won’t go wrong with sushi cars”. Again the market and statistic has prove this.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 14
      • wayangkulit on Jan 12, 2015 at 4:48 pm

For many years I heard Malaysian “car enthusiast ” says perodua and Toyota will tarpau soon.
        No safety rubbish car
        The loud mouthed 1% of the market who always thinks their view represents the others and think they are always smarter
        Very soon some of these 1% will claim that the figures are rigged and demand mai to be abolished

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 6
      • Low Budget on Jan 12, 2015 at 5:15 pm

Proton sell more Sagas than all other models, but at RM500 profit per Saga, how to be profitable?

• kzm (Member) on Jan 12, 2015 at 5:39 pm

hehe..

• kzm (Member) on Jan 12, 2015 at 5:44 pm

wira/gen2/arena/juara/neo/satria/perdana/waja oso no 7 airbag..VSC oso no..add that oso Same L0rrrr

• Albert on Jan 12, 2015 at 5:49 pm

Same Lorr,at the beginning of 2014,I predicted Proton’s sales to be about 120,000 units.
        Oh,no….it is even worst than my prediction,slipping to 115,000 units where almost 50 percent comprise Saga sales.
        I can now safely predict Proton will lose RM 500 Juta coming end march 2015.
        If you lose half a billion Rm annually,do you dare to SYIOK SENDIRI,CAKAP BANYAK KERANA PERLINDUNGAN ,without any KEMALUAN ?
        Proton hardcore fanboys,give yourself 2 more years to syiok sendiri..after that when proton’s sales dipped to 50,000 units end 2017,there is nothing more to bash them cos proton has become insolvent and defunct.
        What happen to game changer IRIZ?
        Mow with perodua ,launching its facelifted MYVI,and blockbuster AXIA still hot,tell me…isn’t the shithole too deep.Mr.Botak of Proton?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 7
        • jemah on Jan 12, 2015 at 6:06 pm

kepala bapak kau berapa kilogram?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 11
          • undone on Jan 12, 2015 at 8:44 pm

Wait wait so Same Lorrrr wants to say T is the best car because its so popular, right?

Yeah, rrrrriiiiiiiggggghhhhhttttttt

Lolololol

• mama jemah on Jan 13, 2015 at 1:55 am

Mahu kepala bapak org buat apa? Jika hutang instalment kereta, bayar dgn kepala sendiri lah

• Powerpoint slide done in 5,4,3,2,1. DONE!

Can I recruit me into MAI a.. sit there do less earn lots.

• cendol (Member) on Jan 12, 2015 at 3:10 pm

Any power point slide talks about car price reduction??

• kar hoe on Jan 12, 2015 at 3:53 pm

i cant even remotely remember when the price of cars went down.
    and recently car prices are going up with VW taking point. i voted for bn so i could get a cheaper car, i’m still driving the same corolla as before the election..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
  • jimmy on Jan 12, 2015 at 4:20 pm

i think that numbers show something strange, as GST will ask malaysian to save money. may be that numbers is just let ppl happy to show malaysia is strong……..

• Takashi Hibi on Jan 12, 2015 at 4:52 pm

WTH, why 1st slide have to show his face!!?? Haha!

• Semi-Value (Member) on Jan 12, 2015 at 9:46 pm

seriously this guy thinks too much of himself…he’s not SWAG like me

• darkermarker on Jan 12, 2015 at 11:06 pm

honestly, hippo face is more hansum than this guy…..

Self promote ka? Please dont do it if you are not handsum….or worst, zero in the head

• Low Budget on Jan 12, 2015 at 5:18 pm

Year 2014 – P2 wins by a mile.
    Year 2015 – You guys think P1 gonna win with the Iriz and new Saga and also with superior safty specs. in 2015?

• Albert on Jan 12, 2015 at 5:58 pm

Low Budget,2015 will be another scary and nerve cracking year for Proton,even with the Iriz where sales are stagnating due to bad reviews about its CVT gearbox.
      With a new facelifted MYVI and blockbuster AXIA hot on its heels,Proton cannot breathe.It will be downhill all the way for Proton as the rakyat still wants fuel efficient cars inspite of lowered petrol prices.

• reverb on Jan 12, 2015 at 8:49 pm

As usual, same lorrr came with his p1 cars list. Oi same lorrrr why you didn’t include older cars as well?Unleash your stupidity come on

Oh as p1 give options by safer iriz and preve, why your altis and vios give poor safety in its same segment? Why why why?

Lel

• alldisc on Jan 12, 2015 at 9:44 pm

i am very much surprised at Toyota record of hitting the 6 figures mark under the challenging times when 95% paultan readers bashing UMW for 4 speed gearbox and dual airbags (read Vios and Camry)

even though Honda managed to increase by 3.7%, that did not affected Toyota at all so I believe Honda marketing team were successful to steal sales from other makes in the 85-90K segment (Mazda 2, almera, city, jazz, kia cerato kx, mitsubishi attrage, proton preve/suprima, vw polo sedan) and also the 150-180K segment (nissan teana, vw passat, hyundai sonata, mazda 6)

• wayangkulit on Jan 12, 2015 at 10:31 pm

You’d be surprise if you only listen to those so called “car enthusiast” esp the 95% of the paultan readers
      The rest of the 99% arent surprise and know why it is so.

You see, the 95% of paultan readers buy cars/recommend cars based on spec only
      So now it is very easy to be a car reviewer as well.

Car A- 4 airbags, 7 Speed DSG, Traction control,
      Car B- 2 airbags, 5 speed auto, No traction control
      Buy car A!!!
      Logon to the internet and rave that car A will tarpau car B soon.
      Car B is a moving coffin, no safety, drive liao confirm die
      Hint: Iriz vs Myvi

• bragh on Jan 13, 2015 at 5:47 am

Good sales don’t mean it’s the best car.

• Josh Ling on Jan 13, 2015 at 9:52 am

ya, but who’s gonna laugh till the end?? in any kind of business, profit rules, in case you don’t know.

i guess sooner or later the proton people will jump out and blame malaysians are not patriotic enough to not buy proton, and keep complaining about proton, and buying other cars etc. keep on blaming on others lah, proton, and see who’s suffering.

• wayangkulit on Jan 13, 2015 at 10:23 am

What you define as a best car doesn’t necessarily applies to the rest of the car buyers
          Your definition may only apply to you and a small minority of the buyers out there.
          The sales figures shows what it means to be best car for the majority of car buyers/owners

• Takashi Hibi on Jan 13, 2015 at 2:02 pm

Good post, wayangkulit!

• tiger on Jan 12, 2015 at 9:53 pm

how will we know the sales figures WHEN THOSE GENIUSES at MYCC (My Competition Comiittee or something) prohibited car manufactuers TO PUBLISH THEIR MONTH SALES BY MODELS? how do we know real or not if Car brand X claimed it sold XXXX number of XXXX models in XXX month?? MYCC threatened to impose FINE equal to 10% of the parent company if they “share” their MONTH SALES FIGURES BY MODELS to the public!!!

• Super on Jan 13, 2015 at 12:44 am

The sales figure is based on car registed on the road. This figure MAI source it frm JPJ, not frm automotive company.

Automative company always cheat with booking figures but not sales figures.

• dugongx on Jan 12, 2015 at 11:53 pm

Vios still sells more than city? You gotta be shitting me. Now I agree with UMW that malaysians deserve shitty low spec empty coffins.

• IrizX on Jan 13, 2015 at 1:33 am

And Saga still selling more than Iriz? You gotta be kidding if more Malaysians are buying the local made moving coffins

• wayangkulit on Jan 13, 2015 at 10:30 am

Thus we can conclude that people like you should stay at home
      Because the majority of the cars on our roads are moving coffins and unsafe.
      If you go on the road who knows suddenly one of these moving coffins hit you and tarpau u together.

Your car got 10 airbags?
      If have confirm no need sked if one of these moving coffins hit you
      The 10 airbags in your car will ensure you immortality

Your car have VSC?
      If have confirm no need sked as well
      The VSC will double confirm your immortality

• AutoUser on Jan 13, 2015 at 9:09 am

Good sales because customer prefer to low prices car

• pondan on Jan 14, 2015 at 11:28 am

looks like proton fanboys are fairly quiet after the facts are all blown out wide.

may be they are still too occupied to “shiok sendiri” at the back yard..

• zainuddin on Jul 05, 2015 at 3:58 pm

Saya nak minta tolong,sesiapa tahu mana2 kursus berkaitan automotiv untuk adik saya kerana gagal dalam spm…dan kos dia rendah atau free dan mudah diterima kerja