Euro 5 diesel to be made available outside Johor – MAI

SONY DSC

Malaysia Automotive Institute (MAI) CEO Mohamad Madani Sahari has announced that there are plans underway to introduce Euro 5 diesel fuel in other states outside of Johor. Currently, BHPetrol has 11 stations that offer the high-quality diesel fuel in Johor, while Petronas has one, according to Madani.

Selangor and Kelantan were among the states mentioned to be next in line, though no timeline has been given for the roll out programme as of yet. In Johor, Euro 5 diesel carries a 10 sen price premium over the standard Euro 2M diesel, which is now sold at RM1.93.

Back in November 2014, Minister of International Trade and Industry Datuk Seri Mustapa Mohamed revealed the updated timeline for the introduction of upgraded fuels in Malaysia: Euro 4 RON 97 in September 2015, Euro 4 RON 95 in October 2018, Euro 5 diesel in September 2020, Euro 5 RON 95 and RON 97 in September 2025.

Shortly after, it was announced that oil companies can start selling such fuels earlier than the gazetted dates – just as what BHPetrol (and now Petronas) has done with Euro 5 diesel in Johor, six years ahead of schedule.

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• Looks like Euro S on the tanker :) Anyway good news it’s coming out of Johor. Thank GOD!

• Same L0rrrr on Jan 12, 2015 at 3:41 pm

Look at GLC, when comes to marketing, they are the best. When you wanna look for action, they hide far far.

Only 1 Petronas offering Euro5? It remind me of the Proton Hybrid.

Years of talking/show making, nothing done.

Well done BHP!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 10
      • kzm (Member) on Jan 12, 2015 at 5:26 pm

BHP imported those Euro5..petronas dont have any available Euro5 refinery in boleh..the one in johor 2017 will be online.

• Hahahahaha…BHP IS A GLC! it Boustead Petroleum Mktg SB, 100% owned by Boustead Hldgs Bhd, majority owned by LTAT. Check ur facts first bro…hence, both BHP & Petronas are GLC which is THE only petrol station offering EURO5…where’s SHELL/CALTEX..etc..etc???

• Should have made available long time ago. What ‘s with the delay? Cant get allocated budget? Or have to overstate budget for self-sustain purpose? Hmm?

• Erwinkarim on Jan 12, 2015 at 3:07 pm

oil companies don’t want to pay for converting this refineries from euro 2m to euro 5.

Now gas is floated instead of fixed price. They are more inclined to do it. Better for the environment. And better for the consumer because you’ll get those ultra efficient euro diesel cars

• RAPID is one of the project that can allow us to produce better fuel instead of buying that fuel from Singapore refinery. I’ve seen the proposal years ago, the RAPID refinery can produce future fuels even better than Euro 5. Goverment should speed up the development of RAPID and stop pussyfooting just because the opposition oppose this project.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 6
      • kzm (Member) on Jan 12, 2015 at 5:29 pm

those RAPID project get hindered by u know who..say destroy environment la, white elephant project la, waste money la…

• susukotak on Jan 12, 2015 at 2:32 pm

When the petronas feel the hot.

• Pimai on Jan 12, 2015 at 2:39 pm

Sorry lah MAI, we won’t believe in your crap anymore.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 5
  • pomen on Jan 12, 2015 at 2:45 pm

I think by 2025, Europe country already use euro 15 petrol/diesel…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 5
  • abdullah on Jan 12, 2015 at 2:47 pm

Free market at work. Good for the consumer.
    Our car industry should also be like this.

• SG is moving towards EURO 6 liao for their diesel, and in Malaysia still waiting.. waiting… waiting….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
  • tishaban on Jan 12, 2015 at 3:16 pm

After all the promises I’ll believe it when I see it.

I wonder what the motivation is for this though since there’s no regulation in Malaysia to push for Euro 5 diesel? Euro 5 petrol pun tak dak lagi. Does BHP get higher margins when selling Euro 5 diesel?

• kzm (Member) on Jan 12, 2015 at 5:35 pm

motivation might be that they dont get guaranteed money since subsidy is no more..when subsidy still available they confirm getting those 20-30 cent from govt..just my speculation la.

• I hope our oppo will stop acting like petulant child. When there is a good idea from gomen that will benefit rakyat, they should be backing it. When there is a bad idea, then you oppose it. Sadly, our oppo only oppo everything.

For example the recent price drop on fuel, they should be supporting it. Instead dumbo Mr Rafizi make statement on FB saying the gomen is causing petrol dealer to make losses. Those petrol dealers had been making money all this while, let us rakyat have our day!!!

• SavvyKL on Jan 12, 2015 at 3:33 pm

If KL/Selangor/penang start selling Euro5 diesel, all car make and truck manufacture can introduce Euro 5 diesel car and truck.

• Bring it on…car manufacturer will be able to offer more model for diesel soon. Customer will benefit most.

• come to kl, I will make sure my diesel turbo flood with your OIL BHP!

• longjaafar on Jan 12, 2015 at 5:05 pm

We knew about these “plans”long ago. What we want to know is when will it be available outside of Johor.

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Jan 12, 2015 at 8:27 pm

With this, diesel Hyundai Santa Fe will have slightly better RV.

Unfortunately for all KIA and Ssanyong diesel/petrol engine car owners, the scrapyard option appears to be the only avenue for you

• It’s better to let the competition decide. People will choose to buy from whichever brand or stations that offer higher grade of fuel.

• Oil price dropping.. diesel passenger cars later la.. enjoy gasoline 1st.. lol

• darkermarker on Jan 12, 2015 at 11:08 pm

why the guy in red shirt feeling his own crotch??

Syoik sendiri ka?

• Sparcov on Jan 13, 2015 at 9:04 am

Euro 5 implemented just exclusive in Johor is not because of the Petrol Station wanted to implement or the Government wanted to implement earlier.

It is because of the logistic and transportation company are refuse entry by Singapore due to the use of low quality fuel by us.

Hence, thousands of Malaysian registered vehicle are affected by this.

If it is not because of Singapore bylaw, Malaysia still far away receiving the Euro 5 standard fuel.

Yes, Malaysia may not have the refinery hub for a better fuel, but why not implement in stages? we are oil producing country.