Malaysia to get Euro 4 petrol next year, while Euro 5 diesel is delayed to 2020 – Mustapa Mohamed

mustapa-miti

After seemingly endless rounds of postponements, we finally have an updated schedule for the introduction of Euro 4 and Euro 5 fuels in Malaysia. Minister of International Trade and Industry Datuk Seri Mustapa Mohamed announced the new timeline in parliament earlier this month.

As it stands now, Euro 4 RON 97 petrol will arrive first in September 2015, followed by Euro 4 RON 95 petrol in October 2018. Diesel fuel, meanwhile, will be upgraded straight to Euro 5 standard, but its introduction has now been delayed further to September 2020. Currently, fuels in Malaysia comply to Euro 2 standard.

UPDATE: It has now been announced that Euro 5 RON 95 and RON 97 are scheduled for September 2025.

DSC_3488

“This is due to issues regarding the large investments that are forced onto oil companies to replace their fuels from Euro 2 to Euro 4 standards,” said Mustapa, explaining the delays.

Last we heard, Petronas is still some time away from delivering Euro 4 fuel – its Pengerang Integrated Petroleum Complex is set to deliver higher grade diesel and petrol to Malaysians, but that won’t come online until sometime in 2017. Shell, meanwhile, hasn’t revealed its transition plans as yet.

Just last week, BHPetrol introduced Euro 5 diesel fuel in Johor, a good six years ahead of schedule. An expedited introduction in the southern region is required due to tightening emissions regulations in Singapore. The fully-imported (from Singapore) Infiniti Euro 5 Diesel is sold at a regulated price of RM2.30 per litre – 10 sen more than regular Euro 2M diesel – and is only available at selected stations in the state.

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• Roger Tan on Nov 17, 2014 at 4:56 pm

BOOOO

But not surprised one bit

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 62 Thumb down 3
    • TopsyBoXyTurvy on Nov 17, 2014 at 6:11 pm

So u see, under kaosaii BN with their kaosai ministers with their kaosai strategy and explaination,good things will never happen. By the time (if)they introduce euro 5 standard in 2020 and above, hybrid and electric cars would hv become more “main stream” and thus making fuel quality less significant already…i think this kaosai minister is trying to hint that even euro 5 wont be coming at all.
      Congrats Malaysia and BN , a “developed” country using euro 5 standard(diesel only, petrol not yet) in 2020!
      Dr M pasti bersyukur..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 101 Thumb down 83
      • Great Hocus on Nov 17, 2014 at 9:22 pm

BHP DOUBLE THUMBS UP to you guys !!

for Staying ahead of the curve and for not being a follower

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 7
        • Anti-Fuel-Price on Nov 17, 2014 at 11:05 pm

Let’s SUPPORT BHP, let them make profit & show PetPetNas, Shell, PetPetRon…… A great lesson. Let them suffer till 2020!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 2
          • Where is Madani? on Nov 18, 2014 at 10:03 am

Madani Sahari is used by the government to confuse the people with heavy duty analysis and charts. Where is MAI now?

Madani and MAI have been promoting EEV and cleaner environment for years now. MAI said Government strongly encourages EEV vehicles and we should all buy EEV vehicles.

Now apa jadi?

Si Madani, dirty diesel is causing a lot of health problems for every Malaysian. The fumes are choking us and actually killing the elderly people. Clean Euro 5 diesel should be given immediately and on the spot. All our Asian neighbours have clean diesel except us.

All because Government owns the National Oil company and Government don’t want their Petronas to invest in cleaner diesel but rather see Malaysians die of lung cancer and throat cancer.

All the bus companies and lorry companies that smoke us with thick black smoke also are owned by the BN Ministers through various proxies.

In Malaysia now, respitory illness is the No 2 killer. But Government don’t care. Let the 30 million people die, so long as we BN guys can enrich ourselves with Petronas money.

But the Government people are so stupid. The Government hospitals will bear the burden and cost of the many people with respitory illnesses and asthma, lung infection, cancer of lungs and so on.

Ask the European Union, sulphur and other hazardous materials in Euro 2 filthy diesel is so toxic and cancerous to society, it is the biggest ever crime that can be committed to society by a Government.

The microscopic hazard that enter your lungs and eventually your bloodstream is so poisonous, it is as good as you drinking some Roundup everyday.

Madani Sahari, where is the clean diesel for the whole nation? Important things like this you don’t address.

There above issues including clean diesel, Madani got no telur to tackle. The MAI guys are paid very high pay to confuse the rakyat with all sorts of analysis and charts but these issues, they don’t bother.

Our hard earned money is spent to support the fools at MAI. But no result. The last big paper so much was said about EEV.

Please Madanai and MAI, have some guts to serve the people of Malaysia and not just your own pockets.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 4
        • Why Must We Beg? on Nov 18, 2014 at 9:56 am

The people of Malaysia should not beg for clean air. To breathe clean air, it is our right. All over the world, governments are moving to hybrid to give their people cleaner air.

In Malaysia, government blackmails us to get clean air. One day tax incentive is on for hybrid, then another day, tax incentive is off for hybrid. 10 years ago, told us clean diesel is on its way. Now 2020 comes, they will say 2025 or 2030.

The Government of Malaysia blackmails its people for the right to breathe clean air.

The whole purpose of a government is to look after the well being of its rakyat and provide the rakyat security. That is the definition of a government. A government collects taxes from the rakyat, in return, they provide a safe, secure country for its tax paying rakyat.

In this case in Malaysia, Malaysians have been suffering with dirty fuel and higher emissions for over 15 years when all over the world they have upgraded their fuels to give their people cleaner air. They also promote cleaner hybrid engines to provide cleaner air and they give their rakyat cleaner petrol and diesels that emits very low Co2.

Don’t talk about cars now. Lets talk about the health of a nation. Because of the dirty petrol and diesel and not promoting hybrid cars, the air pollution is so hazardous to the rakyat, it is the result of countless of cases of lung infection, cancer and respitory illnesses. All our hospitals are full daily mainly because of respitory illnesses. Older people suffer most because of polution by the low grade fuel given by our government.

Have you seen your old mother and father pant and gasp for air?

That is because the government of Malaysia has failed its rakyat giving them cleaner air to breathe. They don’t care for the 30 million people suffer and the environment. They want you to use more dirty petrol and fuel and pollute the environment.

The Environment Ministry and the Minister has no balls. His job is to ensure a cleaner environment.
          All over the world, the oil companies are so scared of the governments and they comply with all the Euro5 regulations imposed by their caring governments. But not in Malaysia. Government does not care at all about the Environment at all. Besides Hybrids, government must ensure all companies come out with Hybrids to promote lesser emissions into the environment.

The Government of Malaysia has failed its rakyat in giving a clean environment, safe and secure country for the rakyat to live in. The government takes the tax payers money in vain here. It is not doing it job. It is as bad as some African war torn country. Don’t be fooled just because Malaysia has no war and is supposedly peaceful. The dirty air and environment itself is war on your lungs and respitory system and this war is far worse than your physical war of guns, mortars and tanks. It is a silent killer. The dirty fumes emitted from vehicles because of the dirty fuel and non hybrid promotion kills more people per annum than any war will.

It is even worse when not only we don’t get clean fuel, but in the capital city, we cannot even get clean and uninterrupted water as well as our women cannot even walk safely in the streets without feeling fear of snatch and rape. But our Government has time for big projects like Iskandar etc but not bothered about the cleanliness of the air, water and public safety.

Our government has time to play a chess game with people’s lives and health in Malaysia, gambling their lives away with their lalang attitude towards hybrid tax incentives.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 4
    • csko (Member) on Nov 18, 2014 at 7:12 am

https://my.news.yahoo.com/mp-low-quality-diesel-costing-lives-092154315.html

http://www.freemalaysiatoday.com/category/nation/2014/11/17/no-more-excuses-for-substandard-diesels/

• Aishah - MITI Director General on Nov 18, 2014 at 10:36 am

Why is Aishah from MAA always beside Mustapa? Aishah always say she does not know what MITI is doing about car prices. Before any announcement, Aishah says MAA hopes government will reduce car prices and all that.

But in all launches with MITI and Mustapa, Aishah is beside him all the time. How come MAA does not know anything about car prices then?

• aaron on Nov 18, 2014 at 1:16 pm

This is f***ing absurd. Even our less developed neighbour, Thailand has been using Euro4 and Singapore already been using Euro5 fuel for quite sometime. Meanwhile oil producing Malaysia wouldn’t stop postponing introduction of Euro4 until 2018, while we will only be getting Euro5 petrol on 2025. Full 18 years behind standards despite being an oil producing country. Whilst the governments were forced to introduce Euro5 diesel only at johor just to comply with Singapore’s strict emission rules. The government just don’t give a bull about the ever increasing pollution and the nation’s health. Malaysia janji boleh!

• RicoT on Nov 17, 2014 at 4:59 pm

Malaysia will still be using Euro 2M RON95 and diesel in 2020. Enuff said.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 78 Thumb down 0
    • Typo? shd be year 20200

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 2
    • Wan cheaper price on Nov 17, 2014 at 7:42 pm

2020 c them in hell man

• prabowi on Nov 18, 2014 at 9:42 am

“This is due to issues regarding the large investments that are forced onto oil companies to replace their fuels from Euro 2 to Euro 4 standards,”

Don’t be conned by these oil companies. With profits into the billions and filthy staff bonuses, Petronasty n co could easily have upgraded or build new refinery to cater for euro requirements.

But yet the real reason is because Petronasty n co dont wanna change their main raw ingredient: the junk grade sour crude oil they are using now to a better grade crude oil required for the euro standard fuel. By using rejected junk crude instead of better crude, they can keep their profit margin greedily high.

Don’t be conned by all the marketing of F1 and artificial reef PR gimmicks. Fueling with Petronasty and co will only lead to excessive profiteering and environmental destruction.

• me Gusta on Nov 17, 2014 at 5:01 pm

Dengan penggunaan minyak diesel Euro5, Wawasan 2020 sudah tercapai setanding dengan negara-negara Europa dan sekutunya!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 33
    • klata-klata on Nov 17, 2014 at 11:00 pm

Pada 2020 diesel Euro5 itu bahan buruk barangan dunia ketiga juga. Jadi Wawasan 2020 palsu.

• RicoT on Nov 17, 2014 at 5:01 pm

“Euro 4 RON 97 petrol will arrive first in September 2015…”

The time MyKad petrol pump system will be happened.

• Àlahai (Member) on Nov 17, 2014 at 5:05 pm

Please extend it to 4040

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 104 Thumb down 3
  • consrito on Nov 17, 2014 at 5:06 pm

Euro 5 Diesel in 2020!? Janggut dah panjang dah…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 0
  • Late to the party on Nov 17, 2014 at 5:09 pm

So for Petrol, Euro 4 was introduced in 2005, we will get in 2015 with widespread adoption only until 2018.

Then for Euro 5(2009), if we get it, we will only be able to get it in 2019~2022. How about Euro 6(2014), 2024~2027??
    By that time, judging by the fact that new emission standards take 4~ 5 years to introduce, the rest of the world would have started using Euro 9.

Malaysia, forever third-world.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 157 Thumb down 2
  • Mozilla Chrome on Nov 17, 2014 at 5:12 pm

1st world country vision but 3rd world country implementation. This is one of the example. Slow progression. By 2020, Europe countries already use Euro 10 lah bro.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 90 Thumb down 0
    • AcerMan on Nov 17, 2014 at 7:49 pm

By the time we reach Euro10, the rest would be running on fusion power lo….. :-p

• droll on Nov 17, 2014 at 5:15 pm

it’s strange that he uses the word force to describe the cost that the refineries have to invest in..
    that gives you an insight into how the government is thinking, which is a pity though. they tax higher cc cars because apparently these are gas guzzlers but they don’t introduce better quality fuel to improve fuel consumption. two contradictory policies

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 2
  • Please let RON 97 float then… I don’t mind to pump EURO 4 RON 97 according to market price… not the price “YOU” set!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 67 Thumb down 0
  • TooPissed! on Nov 17, 2014 at 5:21 pm

Where got next year, 4 more years la…

• nabill (Member) on Nov 17, 2014 at 5:29 pm

i just home by 2020,we are not being ruled by the same people as now…i pray to the almighty to have mercy on our souls…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 0
  • typical government stupidity…when they want to abolish the subsidy, they’ll do it very fast. when it comes to delivering good products for rakyat they want us to wait for another 6-7 years.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 0
  • jwrx (Member) on Nov 17, 2014 at 5:45 pm

Lol…u mean like how u guys said AP to be abolished in 2015? I think Anwar will get out of jail b4 we get Euro 4 fuel

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 1
  • ae101 on Nov 17, 2014 at 5:51 pm

Majority all use ron95. But this bangsat gomen delay it until 2018. Seriously I dont understand why he used the example of eu5 diesel. If not because of Sg gomen rules, you think they will give? MY asssss la!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 2
  • Let Thailand put restrictions on hi std carbon emissions then have to introduce Euro 5 diesel in DAT region. Meaning always pupit to implement Intl standards when other power forces to implement then terus no issue involve fr having heavy costs to implement Euro v fuel.
    Dis govt have no polices on their own to implement only like to eat banana when other monkey wan to eat n throw to Dis BN to eat.no words to condem

• kadajawi (Member) on Nov 17, 2014 at 6:09 pm

Malaysia boleh…

• payne on Nov 17, 2014 at 6:09 pm

And our beloved 1malaysia pm always talking about “high income advanced economy” bullshit thing. Too bad my truck “forced” to drink euro 2 diesel until 2020.

• payne on Nov 17, 2014 at 6:12 pm

And of course somebody already sleeping in the coffin by that time.

• Absolute Rider on Nov 17, 2014 at 6:21 pm

RON 95 Euro 4 petrol by October 2018? By then engine should be Euro 7, 8 or 9. Petrol EU already Euro 6 or later, by then, everything is just like today. We are far behind.

• mr1031 on Nov 17, 2014 at 6:38 pm

that ends my diesel car dream..puii

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
  • BN boleh on Nov 17, 2014 at 6:48 pm

hahaha by 2020 europe already euro 6 or 7…. or maybe using something else to replace diesel?

• sucks on Nov 17, 2014 at 7:13 pm

sucks…my diesel car dream long gone..
    using Euro 2 and Euro 4 petrol make much different meh ?

• emm… Mixed feeling… Happy when they want to upgrade it but… Pist of with the date they going to implement it. Implement je la! This is long term investment la! No matter when u implement its still going to be a cost ! U havent include future value
    Yada yada. By that time the cost will double and u will still not ready yet!

• darkermarker on Nov 17, 2014 at 7:44 pm

hahahhaah, wait till year 2020?? Cow will sure come back, and migrated to another country…

MAybe Mustapa can polish Dr M apple and would call Euro-5 diesel as Minyak Wawasan 2020…

• lembu jinni on Nov 17, 2014 at 7:45 pm

THANK YOU!
    Another project by BN to promote environment pollution.

• jakoon peninsula on Nov 17, 2014 at 7:49 pm

“sacarsm”
      please delay further so we will have more freak storms & unpredictable weathers in the making!

• Ron_99 on Nov 17, 2014 at 8:00 pm

By 2020, people don’t use Euro 4 petrol or Euro 5 diesel anymore laaaa. Can’t you think straight? I bet by that time 75-80% of the new vehicle will use electricity, fuel cell or other technology.

Otak macam sloth!

• Ini pukimak cepat pergi mampos…

• Paul Si on Nov 17, 2014 at 8:11 pm

I have a bridge to sell, one owner, hardly used, cheap.

• old dog on Nov 17, 2014 at 8:20 pm

retarded people with retarded mindset says it all…

moving the country forward is never in their mind

Bolehland will become a niche country itself, siok sendiri..

Dutch Disease country..

• Menteri, why even bother to bring in. We don’t need your help with EURO 4, BHP is gonna give us EURO 5 without your BODOH Brained help!!

• Jonathan on Nov 17, 2014 at 9:49 pm

Idiot government! Have to import Euro 5 Diesel from Singapore!!!???? We are oil nation Hello!!!! Import from Singapore pulak!!!!???

• We only need to change one thing to end of delay this and that…yeah i mean it is you!

• winwin on Nov 17, 2014 at 10:49 pm

BHP please bring in Euro 5 Diesel to KL. I am willing to pay extra 10 cent per litre for my pajero sport. At the very least I know that my engine will run quieter and my injectors wont need replacement so early.

• Lee Kong Hoong on Nov 17, 2014 at 10:49 pm

By the time we get Euro 5, everyone else will be using Euro 10. So, what’s the point again?

• Semi-Value (Member) on Nov 17, 2014 at 10:49 pm

2020….whole world using euro 20 diesel….malaysia…we have euro 5 diesel babes!

• I hope fuel prices go down to 10$. Gov will shit her pants.

• darkermarker on Nov 17, 2014 at 10:59 pm

hahahaha, this mustapa guy kena kutuk until 0.000005 cents value……

• panjang on Nov 17, 2014 at 11:09 pm

Notice what he said abour the diesel?
    He said it will cost a bomb for the oil company to upgrade their whatever equipment to produce Euro 5.
    What kind of excuse is that,that means by 2020 they can afford the cost.
    Dont be an idiot lah oil company…by that time it will cost higher.

• Only stupid people’s will swallow those stupid reason released by our stupid minister.. Blame everything on fuel producer that was very funny.. Malaysian nowadays not stupid like our minister line up, actual delay Euro 5 put into market due to our “Big Baby” can’t make Euro 5 engine.. The latest Irish only meet Euro 4 std as Tun M said so.. Do you believe fuel producer would spend 2x just to upgrade their refinery..1st Euro 4 than spend again for Euro 5.. ONLY STUPID BUSINESS MINDED WILL DO IT LIKE OUR MINISTER COZ MORE MONEY THEY CAN SONGLAP.. I’m 300% sure Euro 5 only available after our big baby a.k.a PROTON manage to built Euro 5 engine unless we kick out BN Govt in PRU14…

• seancorr (Member) on Nov 17, 2014 at 11:57 pm

Damn slow wei our country intro better fuel quality…rest of the world edi move to Euro 6 this year. Damn embarrassing for a petroleum producer.

• Yours Faithfully (Member) on Nov 18, 2014 at 5:55 am

Dear BHP,

If you are reading, this is the golden opportunity for you to start selling your Euro 5 diesel all over Malaysia and I am sure you will basically hold a monopoly of the diesel fuel business overnight. Cleaner diesel, lower maintenance and also better mileage!

Once the Malaysians are used to your diesel, even if the followers come in with their diesel later on, you will already have a fleet of loyal users!

So, take the bold move, bring the new diesel to all your pumps! We the Malaysian will support!

• roxas on Nov 18, 2014 at 7:57 am

apocalypse come dy we are still using euro2

• Sparcov on Nov 18, 2014 at 8:01 am

Now you can see the government spent no effort in upgrading the life of the Rakyat. Euro 2 and Euro 5 diesel the sulfur contain is so huge different. Our health in this country getting worse and worse. more private hospital coming up meaning more income for them?

Singapore and Thailand already far ahead. interms of the fuel quality. Don’t forget Malaysia is the oil & gas producing country with state of the art technolgy still unable to keep up with Thailand and Singapore interms of oil&gas production.

Rakyat getting suffer become of low fuel quality
    Rakyat suffer because of high maintenance of car due to fuel quality

While the excuse now is, oh Pengerang is delay, our refineries is delay until 2017 hence you will get Euro 5 by 2020. Please take note Malaysia still using Euro 2

• Sparcov on Nov 18, 2014 at 8:07 am

May I also suggest, followed Johor as example, why don’t they offer Euro 5 diesel on selected station at all states?
      So that the consumer can choose to pump euro 5 which is more expensive or stick back to the Euro 2 which is less expensive. I believe, all people don’t mind to pay 10 cents extra per litre for euro 5.

• 4G63T DSM on Nov 18, 2014 at 1:44 pm

When it comes to Crony or GLC, every dateline (and to the same extent, the budget) is amazingly flexible. Thats why you see long delays and hugh budget overuns.

Other countries. Don’t meet deadline? don’t sell.

But i’m thinking this has more to do with us trying to refine sour petroleum. So BHP has a golden opportunity to monopolize the fuel market. Hope they take the initiative and make better fuels available all over the country.

And another thing, why isn’t RON97 floated? wasnt that the case?

• Steven YONG on Nov 18, 2014 at 10:04 am

Delay lagi….
    So Malaysia alway outdated in technology ….
    Euro using Euro 6 …in 2014..
    Malaysia Euro 2 ….
    All car now day using Euro 5 above
    Malaysia are Reverse gear… Not in forward gear…..
    Last 6 months ago I done my engine fully overhaul and I noticed that my piston and cylinder all are cover by those carbon bulid up…
    Before that I try the decarbon.. Yes a lot of carbon is out..then my friend car also try… Less carbon because he alway pump BHP..
    NOW I ONLY PUMP BHP…THANK…

• truely malaysian on Nov 18, 2014 at 12:56 pm

Diesel Euro 5 by 2020, remember the vision 2020, by then European is using Euro 7 or 8 already…

• Propakatan on Nov 18, 2014 at 1:12 pm

Satu lagi projek Barisan Nasional. Rakyat didahulukan, pencapaian diutamakan…my foot…

• navarroone (Member) on Nov 18, 2014 at 10:18 pm

As Europe prepares to introduce Euro 6 on 1 Jan 2015 with Singapore and Australia following suit by 2017, it is a great shame that Malaysia, on the cusp of high income natiin status, will only introduce the already now obsolete euro 5 standard in one decade.

Environmental problems knows no borders and we will be better off running the more refined engines that thrive on euro 6

• Faridzf on Nov 20, 2014 at 9:17 am

Not surprise at all judging by the competencies of our Malaysian G. Everything delay and delay..2018? really? Im not sure whether are u all still ruling the country by then. LOL.. Syiok Sendiri.

• Sammy on Nov 21, 2014 at 10:29 am

Aiyoo…. 2020?? Was that our vision of a developed nation? To use Euro 5 that year?
    People all now talking how to implement hydrogen Fuel cell, and we talking how to implement euro 5??
    Shy to meet my Singapore friend for Christmas lah later.

• or alternatively, when the country is ruled by the opposition party. Fairly straightforward and obvious isn’t it?