Apple Car reportedly in the works; codenamed “Titan”

apple-titan-render

The rumour mills are alive with the buzz of tech giant, Apple, and its apparent automotive-related project. The Cupertino-based firm is reportedly so far in on development of a fully autonomous electric vehicle, sources close to the firm are claiming the Apple Car already has an internal code – “Titan”.

While details of the project remain a mystery, it appears that Apple has already hired “several hundred people” to work on Titan at a “secret lab”, as understood by Reuters, citing The Wall Street Journal. Said lab was unveiled late last year and is located “a few miles from Apple’s headquarters in Cupertino”.

A closer look into the firm’s portfolio of talent would reveal a surprising amount of automobile designers. One of Apple’s designers, Marc Newson, was responsible for penning the Ford 021C concept car (pictured below) that made its debut at the 1999 Tokyo Motor Show.

ford-021c-concept

Apart from Newson, the firm also has the talent of Julian Hönig, responsible for the Audi RSQ concept and Aaron Von Minden, who styled the BMW Gina concept car. An unsolicited email that found its way to Apple also stated that Tesla personnel were “jumping ship” to work at the firm, as reported by Business Insider.

The same report states that about 50 of the hired individuals were specialists in the field of mechanics, manufacturing as well as robotics. Perhaps the biggest indication of just how serious Apple is at this project lies in the same email, in which the unnamed Apple rep claims that it will “give Tesla a run for its money”.

In addition beefing up its portfolio of designers and engineers, reports are also in that executives from the firm have recently met up with key personnel from notable automobile contract manufacturer, Magna Steyr. Is Apple capable of seriously posing a threat to Google’s stillborn autonomous car as well as going up against Tesla? Let us know what you think in the comments.

Gregory Sze

An “actor” by training, Gregory Sze realised that he has had enough of drama in his life. Following his number one passion (acting was actually number two), he decided to make the jump into the realm of automotive journalism. He appreciates the simple things in life – a simple car with nothing but back-to-basics mechanical engineering and minimal electronics on board.

• satu indonesia on Feb 16, 2015 at 9:52 am

will cost more than its superior rivals, can only be driven using proprietary fuel, for no reason will turn slow after 6 months, you can’t start it if you do not update to a new and buggy OS, but somehow will sell very well

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 72 Thumb down 8
    • pussibalone on Feb 16, 2015 at 10:30 am

satu indonesia is obviously petty and confused. your complaints shows u are penny smart, pound foolish. if what u say really carry weight, apple will not sell so well to put it in the most valuable company in the world.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 35
    • Same L0rrrr on Feb 16, 2015 at 11:29 am

This one will be launched before the Proton hybrid for sure.

But the car can only be started with latest iPhone (security reason), then you are willing to spend RM2500 for your “car key” every year? lol

Get a Toyota better. 15 years Vios still running fine on the road!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 18
    • RicoT on Feb 16, 2015 at 11:43 am

So long as it has a bitten off apple logo, iFags will buy it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 7
  • Wow..
    can fight with Tata Nano.

• so i need to slide to unlock this car?
    and can i jail break it?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 2
    • MacchaGreen on Feb 16, 2015 at 11:34 am

I think they’re gonna ditch keys altogether. All door handles will come with fingerprint scanner!

• durian on Feb 16, 2015 at 10:08 am

This is the end of automotive industries once this Apple car is launch.

Apple will start suing everybody coz they are the firstto invent round wheels and a car ewith 4 door shape.

Blood sucking lawyers is rubbing their hands now. …It is going to be a wonderful year.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 8
    • Samseng on Feb 16, 2015 at 11:03 am

With phone, Apple sue Samsung.

With car, Apple sue Hyundai and Kia.

Apple just can’t stand kimchi progress. Hehehe.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 3
  • Use touch id to start engine ? Hmmm

• BettyChewThousandRinggitUndies on Feb 16, 2015 at 10:16 am

Only LGBT people would drive this car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 18
  • Ultra2Disk on Feb 16, 2015 at 10:18 am

iDon’t want lah !
    MANA TESLA,GIMME ME TESLA MOTORS PLZ !

• pussibalone on Feb 16, 2015 at 10:33 am

can’t wait

• Paul Si on Feb 16, 2015 at 10:38 am

The car pictured is the Ford 021c concept by Marc Newson.

http://design.designmuseum.org/design/marc-newson
    http://supafly.com/images/journal/ford_o21c_image1.jpg

• frossonice on Feb 16, 2015 at 10:38 am

That Ford 021C still looks fresh and modern after 16 years. No wonder Apple hired the designer.

• qwerty on Feb 16, 2015 at 10:55 am

The question is will it bend or not?

• Low Budget on Feb 16, 2015 at 2:22 pm

The car need to update to the latest Apple OS every year, and sometimes the car may stall in the middle of the highway after update, because not enough memory installed in the car engine.

• Lanhb on Feb 16, 2015 at 11:04 am

Wonder if it has the BITE…

• lembut on Feb 16, 2015 at 11:11 am

This one bend’able’ or not?

If bend’able’ then i consider to buy.

• TheDean on Feb 16, 2015 at 11:17 am

I personally think that Apple will not build a car, rather corroborate with a car maker, impose its design signature, and apply its technology. That’d make more economic sense.

• 4G63T DSM on Feb 16, 2015 at 7:26 pm

Well..plenty of Chinese manufacturers for Apply to choose from then.

• sudonano (Member) on Feb 16, 2015 at 11:41 am

Giving Tesla a run for the money?

Not sure if that will happen.

But of all people, Magna Steyr? Past history (old BMW X3, current MINI Countryman) suggests the substandard build quality from those lot.

• heybadigol (Member) on Feb 16, 2015 at 11:52 am

You can ask Siri, “where can I go to buy a Samsung phone?” Then, Siri will ask the car to drive over a cliff or into the river.

• nabill (Member) on Feb 16, 2015 at 12:07 pm

i will wait for the maxis package !

• Bristol on Feb 16, 2015 at 1:14 pm

Bullshit laa Apple Car…

• I definitely gonna buy this car. It will complete my life style together with my other Apple products.

• spongewai on Feb 16, 2015 at 1:44 pm

1st gen to call iCar
    2nd gen to call iCar 2
    3rd gen is iCar Air

swt…

• submarine on Feb 16, 2015 at 5:45 pm

So this car produces 80bhp, if u jailbreak it it’ll give u 200bhp :)

• CyberPatrol on Feb 16, 2015 at 8:32 pm

Everyone has heard of story of Internet Of Things, we seen watches products end of 2014 and in 2015.

I’m not surprised because Apple has US billions of funds to do it may even apply Tesla’s Open source EV technology. All new generation cars has SOC (Single On Chip or System) and more powerful of SOC chips has been released for the adoption to Internet of Thing, now just Apple iOS team have build it for EV (aks robotic car).

Lastly Nissan and NASA join venture has similar visions, more and more companies are brewing such ideas in R&D but yet to release news.

Are we there yet?

• Looks like a clown’s car.

• No more Value on Feb 16, 2015 at 11:29 pm

I dun need an apple as my car.

• so i need to bring powerbank if the car running out of electric power

• Zandorion on Feb 17, 2015 at 11:50 pm

I thought the Apple car would generate ( construct ) itself out of thin air, after installing the Apple-Car ap and running it…? – U push the car “button” on the screen and the car appears…
    Did I misunderstand ?