GALLERY: Ford Mustang 5.0 GT on display at Publika

2015_Ford_Mustang_Malaysia_ 005

As expected, the sixth-generation Ford Mustang example on display at Publika is a 5.0 litre GT Premium variant, but it turns out the Fastback is a left-hand drive model – interestingly, the Competition Orange preview unit is also loaded to the brim with kit, contrary to what was thought earlier.

The six-speed manual S550 variant does come with a Performance Pack for the 5.0 GT, which adds on a 3.73:1 Torsen helical gear differential, Brembo six-pot front calipers and 380 x 34 mm vented front discs and a Gauge Pack (oil pressure and vacuum readouts).

There are also new front springs. unique chassis tuning bits (including the front strut bar you see in the engine bay pix) and 10 double-spoke 19-inch Ebony Black wheels wrapped with 255/40 front and 275/40 rear Pirelli rubbers.

2015_Ford_Mustang_Malaysia_ 013

A “Shaker” description on a panel located underneath the four-gang drive mode toggle-switches on the centre console denotes that the particular car is also equipped with an Equipment Group 401A pack, which adds a Shaker Pro Audio System with 12 speakers and amplifier, driver’s seat/sideview mirror memory feature as well as BLIS with cross-traffic alert.

With the exception of the EG 401A pack, the car is essentially kitted out as per the Australian-specification version of the GT. The 401A set will certainly not be seen in our local-spec Mustangs.

Some other info gleaned from visiting the showcase earlier today. Specification literature lists only the six-speed 6R80 automatic for the 2.3 litre EcoBoost and 5.0 litre V8 models in both Fastback coupe and Convertible body styles that will be sold here – it remains to be seen if SDAC will bring in the pony car with the MT82 six-speed manual.

Exterior colour options stated are Oxford White, Absolute Black, Ruby Red, Magnetic and Deep Impact Blue, five of the 12 shades on call for the Mustang – while Competition Orange isn’t listed, there’s mention that it might be one of the available shades when the time comes.

The showcase also hints at an indicative price range for the Mustang variants for Malaysia, but this shouldn’t be taken as definitive, more for gauging possible pricing from public interest on the car – in any case, a RM350,000 to RM400,000 range is given for the 2.3L EcoBoost, while that for the 5.0L V8 is RM550,000 to RM600,000 (the Convertible should sit highest in the scheme of things).

Earlier, a sub-RM300k price was being bandied about for the 2.3 EcoBoost, and so the pricing should actually be very close to what’s being expressed now, considering that the US Dollar has climbed around 10% from its late 2014 exchange rate to the Ringgit. Still, pricing should be clearer as it gets closer to the car’s market launch in early 2016.

Read our Ford Mustang review, which covers both 2.3L EcoBoost and 5.0L V8 variants.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Mar 11, 2015 at 5:52 pm

lol 350k? and people complained about the toyota 86 for being too expensive…thanks better buy 428i

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 12
  • DonkeyKong on Mar 11, 2015 at 6:04 pm

At that price, I think people who want a classy but powerful & sporty coupe will go for a BMW 4-Series or a Mercedes-Benz E-class Coupe.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 16
  • Full-Value (Member) on Mar 11, 2015 at 6:23 pm

lol 350k? and people complained about the toyota 86 for being too expensive…thanks better buy house

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 8
  • Noone on Mar 11, 2015 at 7:02 pm

Oh please, 4 series and e-class coupe is nothing compare to the mustang, funny people

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 5
  • cendol (Member) on Mar 11, 2015 at 7:04 pm

All who laugh at RM350k price of this car can’t really afford this car.
    Work harder in this unfair world.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 5
    • Maseratits on Mar 11, 2015 at 7:40 pm

“Buy a Hilux better. At least got value when resell.”
      – Sam Loo

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 5
  • JDM4life on Mar 11, 2015 at 7:30 pm

on an overall aspect would rather save for the new Honda Civic Type R

cos its gonna eat this car alive

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 22
    • martin on Mar 12, 2015 at 5:01 pm

seriously? i bet you don’t know mustang at all…

• budakhalia on Mar 15, 2015 at 12:21 am

i want to see how a 2L engine is going eat a 5.0L engine alive. ha. must be interesting.

• shawal on Mar 11, 2015 at 7:33 pm

SEQUENTIAL TURN SIGNALS!!!!

• Quarter-Value on Mar 11, 2015 at 7:38 pm

lol 350k? and people complained about the toyota 86 for being too expensive…thanks better buy 10 Apple Watch Editions

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 14
  • speedlimit on Mar 11, 2015 at 7:44 pm

to whoever implement speed cut at 110km/h on this car, i will cut his xxxx.

• shinn on Mar 11, 2015 at 7:50 pm

The girl is pretty…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 3
    • Yea that girl is fine, tall and just enough meat unlike those scrawny girls u see these days!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 4
    • venven81 on Mar 12, 2015 at 8:39 am

haha was about to comment that the model looks hawt eh! :D of course the mustang too if it’s not even hotter ;)

• MrPoppyplants on Mar 11, 2015 at 8:50 pm

Idiots, if you price this from RM350k then you guys only deserve to sell less than 10 of them! This is priced not much more than the Ford Focus ST in the USA.

Quit ripping us Malaysians off just because you think a car is ‘exclusive’, you give it a f***** up price.

• Jimmy on Mar 11, 2015 at 11:14 pm

The prices are simply too high.
      Unless you are emotionally bound to ‘Mustang’ for whatever reasons, otherwise as a rich man who can afford > rm350k easily, you will just top up some more to get something else more branded.

• RM350k for the 2.3 litre Ecoboost?After GST,can buy the 8.0 litre terus

• sudonano (Member) on Mar 11, 2015 at 10:37 pm

350k whut.

These people are mad. In Australia, the base 2.3 Ecoboost comes in at just under 50k AUD, while the Focus ST comes at around 38k AUD. And the pretty impressive in the metal FG X Falcon is just between the 35-50k mark.

Clearly positioning the 2.3 Ecoboost at what is essentially the price of a BMW 428i, is not a smart move one bit. Which may cost Ford Malaysia dearly.

• vincent on Mar 11, 2015 at 11:07 pm

the base mustang ecoboost model is only 24k usd

• gt500 on Mar 12, 2015 at 12:27 am

Will definitely buy one if have 20million. This and c-class amg for family car = dream garage

• Shaman on Mar 12, 2015 at 4:13 am

Wow…what a hike in price. I have the ecoboost in the USA and got it for USD28k that’s around RM103k based on a 3.7 conversion rate. Only in bolehland…

• thefact on Mar 12, 2015 at 9:35 am

CBU car..u expect it to be tax free?
      and do u think, the gov gonna sanction low tax on a sports car?

• shaman on Mar 13, 2015 at 9:00 am

that was my point….tax..why?

• MrPoppyplants on Mar 13, 2015 at 12:52 pm

You have zero idea how tax works. Prices are more driven by profit and controlled by big players. Do simple mathematics and see what number you come up with.

• Corey on Mar 12, 2015 at 4:39 am

RM350k = USD90K for 2.3 Ecoboost Only?
    2016 Shelby GT350 Mustang in US only cost $52,995 and the Tech package adds a further $2,995 on top of that.

• laughedsohardsakitperut on Mar 12, 2015 at 7:08 am

Will wait till 2020 can afford to buy 2nd hand one ready… Malaysian roads going to be crowded with with this beast for sure

• Jazzy on Mar 12, 2015 at 8:50 am

350K for the one sit on it is much worth!

• buzzy on Mar 12, 2015 at 9:29 am

girl name please

• the car is so so…but the girl is okay!!

• limot on Mar 12, 2015 at 3:45 pm

the car is meh..the girl is hawt tho..

• blaster88 on Mar 12, 2015 at 4:48 pm

erm…which mustang shall I ride??? Heeehaa!!!!

• Notang on Mar 12, 2015 at 5:11 pm

I just save the picture lo

• yewcho82 on Mar 12, 2015 at 6:50 pm

~*NEED FOR SPEED*~

• US sell for 80 k usd
    When come to malaysia 350 k wow
    Malaysia proton,selling for our own country is expansive than other country
    Nothing can complaint in this unfair world lelx

• shaman on Mar 13, 2015 at 9:02 am

correction..its not 80K USD. It starts from USD24k onwards and max’s out around USD50k

• Ricconater on Mar 13, 2015 at 3:08 pm

The girl’s name is Skykikijung on instagram

• dick tracy on Mar 14, 2015 at 4:14 am

why they show case in publika? there are all hispters there. they only will buy VW, mini cooper cars or bicycles

• Suka Kereta on Mar 19, 2015 at 11:15 am

American muscle.Still overpriced car in Malaysia,but i like this car a lot.It’s a muscle,very rare one.Finally,its enter Malaysia market.Sportier,faster,agile and looks more “playboy” rather than BMW 428.

• uslhwzero on Mar 25, 2015 at 2:24 am

I love ford since focus htback. keyless, handling & steer, command base. & this car hv 2.0 engine no turbo. But hv powershift selector tht make its not like normal auto car( service cntre said it originaly from manual gearbox, thtwhy its pick up when shifted). Now, mustang hv come… i love this car because THE LOOKS & 435HP(5.0 coyote) but not good cause of very tight rear passenger seat… but the other of mine why dont choose bmw 328i m sport? ~ hv 245 hp, good rear seat & bmw drive & handling feeling.. Wht i know is bmw handling is superb to others.. so, answer is test & sprint drive first. Then, decide.. tht alls.

• cendol (Member) on Mar 25, 2015 at 4:13 pm

A new cars costs USd22000 in USA.
    sigh.
    RM22000 can’t even get you a Axia.

• Now ford US and dodge US are filled workers who loves and support manual transmission cars, compare to back than in 1960s. they built this car base on great performances. I can’t believe those ford CEO that loves manual transmission enthusiasms would ditch the manual transmission for a car like this here.